You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

(AP Photo/Peter Morrison)

In pics: 26 PSNI officers injured in violent clashes in Belfast city

The disorder began when police attempted to block part of the route for the Anti-Internment League parade.

TWENTY-SIX PSNI officers and two members of the public were injured during loyalist rioting in Belfast city centre last night. Of those 26, five required hospital treatment for their injuries.

The disorder began when police attempted to block part of the route for the Anti-Internment League parade.

Officers were pelted with bricks and other missiles, as hundreds of loyalist demonstrators gathered to protest against the rally. A number of parked vehicles were also set on fire.

The clashes first broke out at the junction of Royal Avenue and North Street, Belfast. It then spread to Carrickhill, Peters Hill and Millfield areas and members of the public were advised to avoid the areas.

During the disturbances, officers deployed water cannon and 20 AEPs .

Assistant Chief Constable George Hamilton said attackers were “intent on creating disorder”.

“As Northern Ireland moves ahead, the effect of the violence has the potential to damage the local economy and the reputation of Belfast as a tourist destination,” Hamilton added.

Here are the clashes in pictures:

Clashes in Belfast
1 / 9
  • Clashes in Belfast

(AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Clashes in Belfast

Bricks litter Royal Avenue after rioting in the centre of Belfast. (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Clashes in Belfast

A Loyalist protester runs past a burning car during the riots. (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Clashes in Belfast

A Loyalist protester waits for medical treatment after being injured in the centre of Belfast. (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Clashes in Belfast

Niall Carson/PA Wire
  • Clashes in Belfast

Niall Carson/PA Wire
  • Clashes in Belfast

Police clash with loyalist protestors in Belfast city centre: Niall Carson/PA Wire
  • Clashes in Belfast

A police officer is knocked to the ground after being hit by a brick. (AP Photo/Peter Morrison)
  • Clashes in Belfast

Pic: Niall Carson/PA Wire

Related: PSNI officers hospitalised following Belfast rioting>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:07 AM

What exactly do they hope to achieve? Mindless violence, it makes me sick! This behaviour does nothing for NI’s future. The sooner these fools realise that the better.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:36 AM

It’s hard for people when they realise they ain’t the majority anymore, change is always hard.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Favourite Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:34 AM

we need Britain to have a major war so these loyalist thugs will go and fight and not come back.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:44 AM

This is nothing to do with who is in the majority/minority. These are mindless thugs who hate each other. There will never be peace in Northern Ireland. The hatred is too old and ingrained. Thankfully we in the Republic live in a different jurisdiction and don’t have to deal with this daily violence…I have huge sympathy for the PSNI officers trying to keep law and order. Both sides are as bad as each other.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:51 AM

jimmy,
    “These are mindless thugs who hate each other”

That’s bullshit propaganda i.e both sides are as bad as each other.

The loyalists are the thugs, not republicans who didn’t riot.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:52 AM

jimmy
    you are a propagandist tool.

it’s not about “both sides” it’s about loyalist skum.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:00 PM

Wuthering Shite. Both sides ARE as bad each other. The bitterness and hatred goes back centuries. There is no moral high ground. At least you are guaranteed there will never be a “United” Ireland in the Republican sense. That is cemented when you see these scenes. Leave the bigotry North of the Border thank you very much.

Mute Tiger Bay
    Favourite Tiger Bay
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:04 PM

Jimmy – ull find republicans are reaching out. Don’t be narrow minded.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:35 PM

Shite. You say you don’t have anything against Loyalists yet you call me a black propagandist. Irony much? I’m not a Loyalist or a Republican. I’m an Irishman. Do you mean to tell me that if the shoe was on the other foot you would be as quick to take the moral high ground. Give me a break! Republicans and Loyalists are as bad as each other. The best thing that could happen is to saw off NI and let it float off. See how long they would last without Britain and the Republic of Ireland….

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:59 PM

jimmy

push propagandists like you into the sea, that’s the best thing to do.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:00 PM

jimmy
    “I’m not a Loyalist or a Republican. I’m an Irishman”

Are you perchance a loyal Irishman with a british passport.

Mute Kieran Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Staunton
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:05 PM

And I’m sure you’re going to enlighten us on the many years spent living in Northern Ireland to develop such a keen knowledge of how both sides act? I can tell you right now that both sides are not the same when it comes to comparing these groups. The loyalists are 100% the initiators of this hatred, they will fight to the death during the 12th of July celebrations and down with anyone else that want to parade during this time. The ordinary citizen has absolutely no interest in the crap that goes on, hence why so many NI registered cars are in the republic during this time period.

I will agree with one thing you say…I would love to see how long they would last without the input from both Great Britain and the Republic.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:53 PM

What has my passport got to do with anything? But since you asked, ill answer. As a citizen and resident of the Republic of Ireland I have an Irish passport. I also have residency in the US.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:57 PM

bullshit

you’re a brit

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 4:54 PM

Nope. I’m born and bred in the Republic of Ireland. Therefore I am an Irishman. Even if I was a “Brit” as you called me, what is wrong with being British? You say it like its a bad thing. Do you have a problem with every other nationality as well? French, Spanish, American? It’s narrow minded bigots like your goodself withering shite that are the problem in Northern Ireland, not the solution.

Mute john Gallagher
    Favourite john Gallagher
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:07 AM

Belfast, a city overrun by thugs!!!

Mute Robaird O Riain
    Favourite Robaird O Riain
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:15 AM

Royal Avenue. Home to such staunch loyalist hangouts as the Disney store,Footlocker and Penneys. Bravo lads. A glorious day for the sons of Ulster.

Mute flinders
    Favourite flinders
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:49 AM

I live in a council house on a social welfare pittance. I have no job and no prospect of a job. My children’s future looks bleak.

Instead of asking God how he might help me, I ask him to ‘save the queen’. This is a woman who, by no other reason than birth, lives in a sequence of castles which, if i had a job, my tax money would pay for.

I’m willing to attack my neighbor, with whom economically i have almost everything in common with, in order to protect the right of a fabulously wealthy elite to live a life I will never have and I get confused when the police try to stop my quasi-racist marching around the streets I share with all other races, creeds and religions.

Welcome to loyalism.

Mute IgotAheadRush
    Favourite IgotAheadRush
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:02 AM

Nice

Mute Mark Cullen
    Favourite Mark Cullen
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:08 PM

Played!

Mute sarah harte
    Favourite sarah harte
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:08 AM

Sad that with all the work that has been done in Belfast a minority of thugs feel violence is still the way to get what they want.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:49 AM

Republicans marched for anti internment, they were blocked by the PSNI, attacked by Loyalist thugs and remained peaceful and dignified at all times, well done showed the other side how to do it. Beir Bua

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:14 AM

Silly parades about events in 16something & silly parades about events in 1980sonething serve the same purpose, NONE, except to antagonise the other lot. There’s no higher moral ground for either side.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:22 AM

Wrong Thomas, internment is still going on I’m afraid, there is a number of people being held in HMS prisons in some cases over three years without any due process, this date was chosen to highlight this fact for historical reasons true, but it also serves to highlight modern day issues.

Mute Mark Hussey
    Favourite Mark Hussey
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:08 AM

What parallel universe are these people on.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo

VisitNI.com

……me hole

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:48 AM

Going to the fleadh Ceoil in Derry next weekend along with 300,000 other people Joey. Lets see if the media cover good news as much as bad news. These morons rioting need to be put in their place. And unionist politicians need to stop with the defening silence regarding loyalist violence.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:39 AM

Don’t be walking around like you are in your avatar, you’ll start a riot.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:48 AM

“Republican” protesters are as much to blame. I wonder do they see the irony in having the security services of a nation they despise protecting them.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:55 AM

jimmy/david Thompson Patrick lyons et al

you’re a clown and a bad propagandist, loyalist thugs are to blame.

When did republicans batter loyalist politicians?

loyalist politicians can come and go to west Belfast freely.

Mute nocturnal paramedic
    Favourite nocturnal paramedic
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:45 PM

Stop feeding the troll. If you ignore him he will go away!

Mute Peter Rice
    Favourite Peter Rice
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:50 PM

Well they pay for these security forces.

AT LEAST WITH THE PSNI THEY GET THEIR MONEY’S WORTH.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:59 PM

Shite. Absolutely Loyalist thugs are to blame in this instance, no question. Why do “Republicans” feel the need to march as well adding fuel to the fire whittling on about Republican “POWs”. I wasn’t aware that there is a war going on. Ad I said before, both sides are as bad as each other with nothing positive to offer society only bigotry, ignorance and hatred.

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Aug 10th 2013, 2:11 PM

It seems like SF/republicans are the ones being for the most part conciliatory in moving into a new future why can’t unionist embrace the peace process?

Mute Narelle Kennedy
    Favourite Narelle Kennedy
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:16 AM

This is so sad. I was in Belfast a couple of months ago. Such a beautiful city, it’s people were so proud of how well things had improved. Such a pity to see the actions of the mindless minority drag it back into the past after it was making such great strides forward.

Aug 10th 2013, 1:45 PM

Derry is much nicer than Belfast, more to see & friendlier people.

Mute Phoenix From Ashes
    Favourite Phoenix From Ashes
    Aug 10th 2013, 3:25 PM

I do like Derry

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:22 AM

Does this rioting by unionist thugs signal the beginning of death troes of British rule in Ireland

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Aug 10th 2013, 2:15 PM

Do the British even want to be there, bet the average Brit would like Dr. Who to come along and reverse history and dump NI.

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:16 AM

If only shit-stirring and bigotry were Olympic sports, then N.I. could be proud of this sort of foolishness.

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:19 AM

Was planning a weekend break there before the summers out. Not so sure now.

Mute John Buckley
    Favourite John Buckley
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:32 AM

No matter how many ads they run to say its safe again, i wouldn’t be willing to risk it just to see a Titanic museum & some rocks! Mental little country

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:44 AM

You do realise that this was a tiny minority of thugs in a very localised area who were hemmed in by the Police. Less than a mile away from the riots in the Cathedral Quarter my fiend had a very nice meal out in Belfast. She wasn’t aware there was rioting going on until she got into a taxi to go home and the taxi driver avoided Royal Avenue as the police had shut it.

Belfast is a nice city with the vast majority of people are lovely we are just let down by tiny minority of idiots

Mute Patrick McEneaney
    Favourite Patrick McEneaney
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:48 AM

Sure where else in Ireland would you get the opportunity to take part in a riot

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:53 AM

Lads, it’s a handful of morons. Would you discourage anyone from visiting Dublin because there’s a slight chance of being mugged? Go to Belfast. Enjoy yourselves and in doing so support the people who run tourist associated industry.

Mute Patrick McEneaney
    Favourite Patrick McEneaney
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:58 AM

I know I’m only being a smart ass. I actually regularly visit belfast. I find it a lovely city. It really is much nicer than Dublin and there is a much more relaxed atmosphere about it

Mute Robaird O Riain
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:36 AM

Regardless of how many were involved, you can hardly say its ‘confined to a small area’ with a straight face when that small area is Belfasts equivalent to Grafton St?

Mute Alan Duncan
    Favourite Alan Duncan
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:18 PM

Al someone who spends a lot of time up in Belfast, with a southern reg car, I can say it’s one of the nicest places in Ireland (woops the UK).
    It’s unfortunate that these thugs, who only use Loyalism as an excuse to riot, get so much media attention when they are definitely a minority that is contained.
    People should not be put off visiting Belfast because of this crap. It would be like telling people not to visit Dublin because some lad got shot on Kevin Street!

Aug 10th 2013, 1:46 PM

The cemetery in Mullingar!

Aug 10th 2013, 1:47 PM

That’s in reply to Patrick’s question about where else you could riot!

Mute John Dundon
    Favourite John Dundon
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:46 AM

Longstanding plans to visit on Sunday with family, primarily to see Titanic Experience. Still travelling. Forcing the majority to change to suit their twisted agenda is a win for them. Sod them.

Mute Robaird O Riain
    Aug 11th 2013, 12:06 AM

Same. Will be in Belfast tomorrow afternoon with partner and young daughter. Maybe not as enthusiastic at seeing the city as I have been in the past but will be landing there anyway so hope they hold to the ‘never on a sunday’ shite. Haha

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:30 AM

So many knuckle-draggers in the loyalist community. Afraid of the future in case nationalists treat them as terribly as they treated nationalists. Bitter twisted insular part of the country. Sooner we are United and we can sort it out the better. In fairness the British made a balls of it so can we do worse?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:42 AM

Nationalists will not treat them badly that’s a stone wall guarantee.

Mute Leonard Annett
    Favourite Leonard Annett
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:09 AM

Thank God I’m immigrating, I can’t stand being associated with these idiots anymore.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:14 AM

You could move to Ireland and be away from all that crap up there.

Mute Leonard Annett
    Favourite Leonard Annett
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:20 AM

That’s the dream Joe, but right now it’d be cheaper living in Monaco.

Mute Wuthering Shytes
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:10 PM

Bjoey,
    elfast is Ireland you clown.

Aug 10th 2013, 1:42 PM

Well if you are off away then you are Emigrating not Immigrating,

Mute Leonard Annett
    Favourite Leonard Annett
    Aug 10th 2013, 2:10 PM

Wow, you sure taught me a lesson.

Mute Ciara O'Halloran
    Favourite Ciara O'Halloran
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:26 AM

I had to leave work early last night because of the nonsense. Makes me sad seeing every doubt coming here.. To be fair that happened in the city centre but there’s so much more to Belfast than that.. Not a bother in south Belfast.. And I went to see the Coronas play in the Falls Park in west Belfast.. Not a bother there either.. Belfast has nice people and nice places to go.. The media portray the riots as the whole city but it’s not.. It’s a small part.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:43 AM

Anyone worried that first photo looks like a Hitler Youth style uniform and flag.

Mute Stiofán Ó Nualláin
    Favourite Stiofán Ó Nualláin
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:55 PM

It’s a Parachute Regiment flag flown to celebrate the murder of civil rights marchers on Bloody Sunday

Mute Right Wing Steve ©
    Favourite Right Wing Steve ©
    Aug 10th 2013, 6:17 PM

Maybe that’s why somebody set fire to car from Bavaria

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:34 AM

The PSNI sit back and let the loyalist’s cause havoc during marching season, but once the nationalist come out to play there’s blood and batons everywhere! I’m surprised they didn’t just shoot them with rubber bullets!

Mute Tomas Mac Donncha
    Favourite Tomas Mac Donncha
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:23 AM

A lifetimes’s education in violence and civic disobedience is hard to shake off. Everyone needs to be patient.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:22 AM

Crazy behaviour.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:37 AM

If that car in picture 3 has an Ireland reg plate that’s worrying ! And it has it’s lights on which presumably means it was hijacked and not just set on fire at the side of the street!

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:43 AM

Ciaran worse than that. Its German registered. I doubt they will be coming back to Ireland on holidays.

Mute Grainne Macklin
    Favourite Grainne Macklin
    Aug 12th 2013, 12:46 AM

Lol

Mute Rebecca Stuart
    Favourite Rebecca Stuart
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:50 AM

All thugs regardless of Creed or Religion should be photographed, arrested, and benefits suspended! Or bring back conscription, if they really want to fight a war, send them in there thousands to take place of the real soldiers, who give of their life to keep the world on the right side of civility! But then again they wouldn’t have the balls, with their scaves and hoodies up to mask their identity! Lived throught it and in it 70′s, 80,s and it is still going on, just wish the arseholes on both sides would crawl back into the sewers where they belong.

Mute Marty Grenham
    Favourite Marty Grenham

The threat of a batton and a water cannon is not enough to deter these thugs,it would be sad to see after all these years but the army and heavy handed tactics is what is needed to make these morons think twice about coming out rioting again

Mute Garry Hayden
    Favourite Garry Hayden
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:21 AM

Yeah cos that worked a treat in the past didn’t it.

Mute Marty Grenham
    Favourite Marty Grenham
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:27 AM

Hit me with a better idea so

Mute Mark Hussey
    Favourite Mark Hussey
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:32 AM

The police are too soft on these thugs. Full force water cannon and tear gas should work wonders.

Mute Marty Grenham
    Favourite Marty Grenham
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:37 AM

I agree totally mark,all I seen on the news last night was the psni doing a bit of pushing and shoving while a mountain of bricks and petrol bombs came raining down on them,absolutely no deterrent to a rioters when they have the upper hand

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:50 AM

Why aren’t batons drawn and these fools bet off the streets?

Mute JP Foley
    Favourite JP Foley
    Aug 10th 2013, 10:54 AM

There are knuckle draggers on both sides up there. Violence for the sake of it. This achieves nothing other than alienating themselves and destroying their own city. Like with the morons who rioted in Dublin for the Love Ulster parade.

Aug 10th 2013, 11:06 AM

What’s the purple flag yer man in the first picture is carrying?

Mute Maurice Riordan
    Favourite Maurice Riordan
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:14 AM

Parachute Regiment.

Mute Keith O' Flynn
    Favourite Keith O' Flynn
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:10 PM

I have studied, lived an worked here in the north for 3 years I have good mates from both sides of the community my girlfriend is Presbyterian. Take it from me these are flash incidents this is a beautiful country dont let minority dictate. Most people up here just want to live their lives without hatred. If you planned to visit do just that please the north is a jem right on our doorstep

Mute Alan Dillon
    Favourite Alan Dillon
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:53 AM

Because contrary to what an awful lot of people like to believe The PSNI public order policing tactics have changed significantly . They now prefer to contain the rioters to a relatively small area and let them eventually run out of steam. The PSNI today are probably the most scrutinised and accountable police services in the world. All of this “accountability”to every politician with a big mouth and an axe to grind has led to them becoming largely ineffective and unwilling to deploy the force necessary to deal with these thugs in the manner that most right minded people would like to see.

Mute ptriley
    Favourite ptriley
    Aug 10th 2013, 12:40 PM

I don’t think I’ll go to Belfast for a weekend break. . . . . ever

Mute Chris Noonan
    Favourite Chris Noonan
    Aug 10th 2013, 11:43 AM

any one know what flag that is? Looks like a Nazi one

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Aug 10th 2013, 3:03 PM

It’s the 1 para flag, the regiment that murdered the people during bloody sunday in Derry

Mute Phoenix From Ashes
    Favourite Phoenix From Ashes
    Aug 10th 2013, 4:17 PM

and ballymurphy

Mute Kirby Matt
    Favourite Kirby Matt
    Aug 10th 2013, 6:59 PM

I think we have all wasted enough time, wondering what the hell these idiots want or need.

Simply outlaw all marches, there only purpose is to open old wounds on both sides that are history and should remain there.

They should Move forward and never look back, because behind both sides is such grief and misery it’s not fixable through any process.

‘Just move on’

Mute Rowan Murphy
    Favourite Rowan Murphy
    Aug 10th 2013, 1:04 PM

I was in Belfast last weekend. My first trip to Northern Ireland. Good timing or what?

Mute Conor McKenna
    Favourite Conor McKenna
    Aug 10th 2013, 2:24 PM

20 AEP’s, should of been 200 aimed at heads!

Mute Grainne Macklin
    Favourite Grainne Macklin
    Aug 12th 2013, 12:53 AM

Anti interment march is against the fact that you can arrest someone and keep them locked up without up representation! I don’t understand why anyone: Anyone = Orangemen, nationalist, unionist, republican whatever would agree that that’s OK. Fighting about it is even weirder! God bless the PSNI is all I can say they have their work cut out!