You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mask-wearing in Ireland is slipping, but compliance will likely increase as Delta rises

Mask-wearing in Ireland hit its lowest level in one year last month.

AS THE UK moves to end mandatory mask-wearing, will there be a knock-on effect in Ireland, or will the population double-down on basic public health measures as we navigate a fourth wave of infection?

Almost 60% of adults in Ireland are now fully vaccinated. A reduction in the level of personal anxiety and caution is therefore to be expected in the population as people feel more protected against Covid-19 and as restrictions ease. 

Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan remarked on 30 April – as Ireland emerged out of its third wave and as more and more people were vaccinated – that it was the “right time for us to move on” but cautioned that it was not the end of the pandemic and urged people to continue basic measures like distancing, mask-wearing and hand hygiene. 

In Ireland, fully-vaccinated people are now allowed meet a small number of people indoors without wearing masks. This week EU Travel Certificates were issued to this cohort, although the official advice remains against non-essential travel. 

As fears over the more-transmissible Delta variant increase, however, public health has warned that a large section of the population remains unprotected – and that people with two doses are not entirely immune to contracting Covid-19.

Meanwhile, the UK on Monday will end mandatory mask-wearing amid alarm bells from experts who have warned it is too soon to end practices we are all so accustomed to.  

As we navigate the start of a fourth wave of infection, has our behaviour changed in recent months, and what does the most recent research tell us?

Screenshot 2021-07-14 14.07.23 - Display 2 ESRI ESRI

Deirdre Robertson, a senior researcher at the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI), has noticed a decrease in people’s caution in recent weeks, although broadly levels remain high. 

The ESRI carries out a survey of 1,000 adults across Ireland every week to gauge social activity and behaviour. It includes asking people questions like what locations they visited and where they had been the previous day. 

Robertson uses what is known as a ‘Caution Variable’ – the probability that a person will be highly cautious or not when leaving their home regarding social distancing, mask-wearing, and hand hygiene. 

There are four categories of people in the ESRI research – people who say they are always cautious, people who say they are regularly cautious, people who consider themselves  sometimes cautious and people who say they are rarely or never cautious. 

Data collected between 14 June and 22 June by Robertson and her team shows that there has been a decline in that first group – people who are considered to be the most cautious. 

In April, about 50% of people surveyed were considered “highly cautious”, according to the ESRI, but this decreased to 41% in June. 

“That’s still by far the biggest group,” says Robertson. “We still have over 40% of people who are often or always cautious and then about 20% of people who are regularly cautious.

“Overall [compliance] is still quite high,” she said. 

The ESRI research chimes with weekly surveys carried out by the Department of Health and Amárach. 

The surveys show that last August, 89% of 1,900 people surveyed said they wore a face mask in public places. 

This figure rose to 94% in late January when cases erupted post-Christmas, but declined to 86% in June, the lowest level in a year.

Figures released by An Garda Síochána this week show that a total of 432 fines for non-compliance with mask-wearing have been issued since December 2020 when these fines came into place. 

The highest number of €80 fines (118) were issued in March this year with just 18 fines issued in June. 

Screenshot 2021-07-14 14.07.35 - Display 2 Department of Health Department of Health

Compliance with Public Health measures like mask-wearing remains a challenge for workers in certain industries, said Duncan Graham, CEO of Retail Excellence Ireland. 

“The guidance has not changed,” he said. “Until very recently compliance has been very high, but there was evidence during lockdowns of non-compliance with people who refused to wear a mask, or wanted to make a statement. 

“Some retailers are reporting that it is becoming more difficult to maintain protocols and that is a reality of people being vaccinated and standards slipping a bit,” said Graham.

He said a challenge for employers and businesses since restrictions were eased in May is ensuring new staff are trained in Covid-19 protocols.

More locations 

According to the most recent ESRI survey, adults in Ireland are visiting more locations outside of their household but this rise remains slow. 

The average number of close contacts is also increasing, but the biggest rise is among vaccinated people with at least one dose. 

Robertson said people move between ‘Caution Variable’ categories, a sign perhaps that as people are vaccinated they feel safer in their activities, and perhaps don’t follow as strictly measures like distancing and mask-wearing. 

Meanwhile, ESRI data shows that the level of worry in the Irish population has been slowly decreasing since March. “It’s not as fast as you might expect,” said Robertson. 

“Most people are very cautious, and even more cautious than you might expect,” she said, adding that Ireland is at an advantage because for 18 months we have often been able to see other countries experience waves of infection and restrictions before us. 

That could be important over the coming weeks as Ireland closely watches the UK. 

Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced this week that mandatory face mask-wearing in England would end next Monday even as the UK faces a spike in infection and a rise in hospital cases due to the Delta variant. 

His Transport Minister Grant Shapps subsequently rejected this rollback and supported a decision to make masks compulsory on the London Underground after London Mayor Sadiq Khan said he was “forced” to intervene to ensure continued compliance on public transport. 

In the United States, international media reports that in places like Los Angeles and St Louis, authorities are begging people resume mask-wearing in public. 

Mask-wearing is considered another tool in preventing the spread of Covid-19 by significantly reducing the amount respiratory viruses emit droplets and aerosols. 

There is evidence to suggest that as mask-wearing is most effective as a “source control” because they can prevent larger expelled droplets from evaporating into smaller droplets that can travel farther, thus infecting another person. 

Speaking to The Journal, Professor of Experimental Immunology, School of Biochemistry and Immunology at Trinity College Dublin Kingston Mills said that – at least anecdotally -  compliance with mask-wearing in Ireland remains high. 

However, there is a risk that some people in Ireland who have been vaccinated may stop wearing masks, he said. 

“The irony is that a mask is to protect everyone else. The most-effective measure in mask-wearing is someone who is infected not spreading [Covid-19] to others,” said Mills. 

The ESRI’s Robertson said that typically people in Ireland worry most about the health of their friends and family. “If cases go up and we see increased hospitalisations, it’s not that worry will continue to go down, I suspect levels of worry will go up.

“I think people are still quite highly-aware of this virus.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:19 AM

I still wear a mask, just because you’re vaccinated doesn’t mean you should take chances, there are still people everyday in my local shop going in unmasked which pisses me off .

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:39 AM

@Nigel Hayden: Perhaps they’re going in unmasked because they’re fully vaccinated.

Mute Rob Foley
    Favourite Rob Foley
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:42 AM

@Robert Clifford: nah

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute alan hickey
    Favourite alan hickey
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:27 AM

@Nigel Hayden: well if you have your mask on your grand then

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:57 AM

@Robert Clifford: 1 in 20 people diagnosed with covid have been fully vaccinated. Half of those who got covid have long term effects on health. So no if you are vaccinated you aren’t safe for yourself or those around you. Wear a mask, very very very simple.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jul 17th 2021, 2:27 AM

@Robert Clifford: you wear a mask to protect others, not to protect yourself.

Mute Jacqueline berry
    Favourite Jacqueline berry
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:26 AM

@Robert Clifford: can’t they still carry covid and spread it to those that aren’t yet vaccinated?

Mute Graham McNamara
    Favourite Graham McNamara
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:28 AM

@Craic_a_tower: I do wear a mask but by your statement we shall be wearing masks forever

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:55 AM

@alan hickey: wearing your mask has little protection for you, it is worn to protect other people.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Jul 17th 2021, 6:23 AM

@Nigel Hayden: perhaps they have a medical condition

Mute Keith Blackmore
    Favourite Keith Blackmore
    Jul 17th 2021, 6:40 AM

@Nigel Hayden: your choice, their choice, live with it

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jul 17th 2021, 7:10 AM

@Nigel Hayden: Not wearing masks indoors is pure selfishness, that includes the wan’s who’s masks are deliberately worn incorrectly, people who cant wear masks can always wear face shields.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Jul 17th 2021, 7:12 AM

@Hear me now: Not a valid excuse, wear a face shield

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 17th 2021, 7:51 AM

@Hear me now: Only if arrogance is now a medical condition

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jul 17th 2021, 8:42 AM

It’s incredible that 16 months in some people still don’t know the basics.

Mute Effrafax of Wug
    Favourite Effrafax of Wug
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:04 AM

@Robert Clifford: what’s that got to do with it?

Mute Effrafax of Wug
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:06 AM

@alan hickey: a year and a half in and you still don’t get that the mask is to protect others, not you.

Mute Sara McS
    Favourite Sara McS
    Jul 17th 2021, 10:05 AM

@Kevin Thompson: over a year into mask wearing and some people still don’t get this.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:29 PM

@Graham McNamara: yes that is possible. The reality doesn’t change because you don’t like it. They introduced safety belts and people have to use them all the time, you brush your teeth daily, you eat daily…. Risks do not disappear because you couldn’t be bothered

Mute Robert Clifford
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:35 AM

Mask wearing in Ireland is slipping and mask wearing should slip to the point where you should be old enough and responsible enough to make a choice as to whether you would feel more comfortable wearing one in any given surrounding. Let’s call a spade a spade here. Nobody wants or likes wearing them. They serve very little purpose and only symbolise quite frankly a daft adherence to a set of rules that nobody on either side of the fence has any real grasp of.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:50 AM

@Robert Clifford: looks like you don’t understand.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:58 AM

@Robert Clifford: It should be clear to everyone by now that masks do sfa.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:20 AM

@Paul Furey: Looks like I don’t understand. The Oracle has spoken.

Mute Gavin Linden
    Favourite Gavin Linden
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:29 AM

@mar: unfortunately masks do something, they indicate compliance…….!

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:59 AM

@Robert Clifford: you don’t get to make the choice for me and you don’t see how selfish your view is because you don’t like restrictions. Luckily dangers like fires have visible light and heat to stop you sitting on a fire.

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jul 17th 2021, 2:01 AM

@Robert Clifford: You don’t understand, they serve a purpose.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 17th 2021, 4:55 AM

@Robert Clifford: in fairness you don’t need to be “an oracle” to find fault and see the bs in your comments on this app. Just a basic grasp of science will do.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jul 17th 2021, 8:44 AM

@Robert Clifford: masks reduce spread, it’s as simple as that. Your complete ignorance of the science on the issue isn’t a defense 16 months into this.

Mute Effrafax of Wug
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:19 AM

@Robert Clifford: honestly, your understanding the of the issue is child-like.
    “you should be old enough and responsible enough to make a choice as to whether you would feel more comfortable wearing one in any given surrounding”. Thats like telling a child they can pee anywhere they like so long as THEY feel comfortable with It. Have you given up on living in a society then? What other areas of collective social responsibility have you given up on? Maybe your the kind of person who likes to park in Handicap spaces without a blue badge, but goes mental when someone parks in that public space right outside you house? Fly tipping is probably okay with you, so long as it helps you get rid of that pesky mattress and it’s nowhere near your house, right?

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:35 AM

@Effrafax of Wug: Eh, it’s not “handicap”. It’s disabled. And even that term is outdated.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Jul 17th 2021, 10:45 AM

@mar: Social media qualifications?

Mute ShaneO'Mac
    Favourite ShaneO'Mac
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:08 AM

Older people have been protected. Let’s move on with lives now.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 17th 2021, 2:01 AM

@ShaneO’Mac: the young people are getting sick and half with long term effects. If you want to kill off the young we should listen to you

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:59 AM

@ShaneO’Mac: the 60-70 year olds will be done in the next couple of days, bit still need 15 days more for second dose to fully work.

Mute Effrafax of Wug
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:44 AM

@ShaneO’Mac: yeah let’s do that
    BBC News – Why are so many babies dying of Covid-19 in Brazil?
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-56696907

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Jul 17th 2021, 6:17 AM

As of July 19th, vaccinated people arriving from Britian no longer have to quarantine or take a pcr test 72 hours in advance of arrival. Mask wearing or lack of , is the least of our problems when the powers that be are making decisions like this.

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:10 AM

If/When Pfizer and Astra wear off are we bolloxed? I think the masks are here to stay

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:46 AM

@Colin: No, we will have a booster to deal with the new variants. We’ll also have new therapeutics that will probably stop the virus from replicating for those who get infected. A tablet you can take to stop you developing symptoms. There’s billions going into covid research, so there will be a light at the end of the tunnel.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Jul 17th 2021, 1:58 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: some of ye are definitely walking towards the light

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:02 AM

@Colin: booster shots will probably be needed for another year or two until we get enough of the planet vaccinated. There will be more mutations but hopefully they will lessen the severity of the virus as vaccines start winning the battle worldwide. Viruses usually lose potency as they mutate to survive. This one doesn’t need to yet, although there are some reports suggesting that delta may not be quite as severe as previous varients and just much more transmissible. But make no mistake, we won’t beat this virus until the whole planet does and while we are looking like having a vaccine uptake in mid 90 percentile here there are plenty of countries that will do well to get half that without making them compulsory.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Jul 17th 2021, 5:22 AM

@Ger: A compulsory vaccine? What happened to freedom of choice?

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jul 17th 2021, 6:17 AM

@Darren Lambe: I never said what my opinion on compulsory vaccines so stop trying to make an argument where there isn’t one. I’m just saying that some countries will inevitably go that way if there isn’t a large enough uptake. France is considering it according to Macron last week. One of the central Asian countries, I’m blanking on which one at the minute, has already made them mandatory. The argument that they will use is that if there is not enough vaccinated people in their country then they can’t reopen it safely. There are lots of vaccines out there that are already mandatory, if you want to travel to certain countries or work in certain professions. This is no different. If we want to get back to normal we need to vaccinate for our sake and for the sake of those around us.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Jul 17th 2021, 7:14 AM

@Hugo Bugo: @Hugo Bugo: The remainder are unwashed Trumpafarians.

Mute AA
    Favourite AA
    Jul 17th 2021, 10:03 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: great positive comment Sean. Love it. Thanks

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jul 17th 2021, 12:35 AM

This growing trend towards the gradual emaskulation of the population is bound to give a lot of men pause for thought…

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Jul 17th 2021, 7:17 AM

@William Tallon: Ive read that some men view wearing masks as a threat to their masculinity :-)

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 17th 2021, 2:11 AM
    Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jul 17th 2021, 9:45 AM

@Stephen Grehan: she deserved it

Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Jul 17th 2021, 10:09 AM

Some dope in the vaccination centre the other day kept taking her mask off to make video calls and another hadn’t their nose covered. What hope is there for us?

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jul 18th 2021, 6:34 AM

Let’s be clear here, this cannot be accurate. People who wear masks under their nose would say they wear masks and the many people that “forget” their masks would say they wear them too