You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pay rise of 10.25% over 2.5 years for public sector agreed after 'difficult' all-night talks

The pay increase will benefit over 385,000 public and civil workers.

LAST UPDATE | 26 Jan 2024

TRADE UNIONS AND the Government have agreed on a proposal for a public sector pay deal that will see a 10.25% rise in pay for workers over 2.5 years. 

Minister for Public Expenditure Paschal Donohoe has said that the overnight negotiations were a “difficult” process for all of the parties involved.

The deal stands to benefit 385,000 civil and public sector workers including teachers, gardaí, and HSE staff. 

The deal includes pay increases of 9.25%, with a provision for a local bargaining mechanism equivalent to 1%. 

Overnight talks at the WRC saw the unions and the Government land on the 10.25% figure after the Government initially proposed an increase of just over 8%, and the unions combatted the offer with an ask of over 12%. 

The Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU) said that it has briefed its 19 affiliate unions on the terms of the new public sector pay agreement, which was finalised following 22 hours of negotiations. 

The ICTU said that the pay increase secured by unions was the “absolute maximum achievable through negotiations. 

Affiliate unions have been asked to consider the terms of the deal and begin the process of organising ballots of union members. The balloting period is expected to extend until 25th March to allow the unions time to decide. 

It said that the unions’ negotiators have secured a higher pay adjustment for workers in 2024 (4.5%) than the Government was initially willing to offer. 

The ICTU said that details for the local bargaining mechanism that will be introduced in the deal will be agreed by 30 June this year, with local negotiations to take place between then and June 2025.

Speaking to Claire Byrne on RTÉ Radio One this morning, Minister  Donohoe said there was little point in going back into the WRC and asking Union reps to move on their position if he wasn’t willing to himself. 

He added that the negotiations were a “very difficult process for both sides of the table”, but one that all parties approached with “good will”. 

Donohoe said he was persuaded to make some “final changes” during the night because he believes that reaching an agreement on the value of public sector wages in the Irish economy over two and a half years is “vital” for stability. 

He also said the agreement means Ireland can continue to develop its public services, and retain public servants. 

Donohoe said that he has made a commitment to continue engaging with unions on local bargaining rights for separate public sector workforces, which the 1% mechanism agreed to in this deal evidences. 

He stressed that while 1% may seem like a small amount when viewed as an increase in an individual’s pay, it represents a cost to the public purse of well over €300 million. 

Talks on a pay deal began last November, and have broken down twice in the intervening months. The latest round of negotiations kicked off after WRC officials invited the Government and Union representatives to re-engage.

Antoinette Cunningham from AGSI, the union for gardaí, told Morning Ireland that officials in negotiations “do not understand garda work related issues” this morning after leaving the WRC. 

She said that unions had agreed on a “set of proposals” and that she would bring the details back to the AGSI national executive. 

Cunningham said that issues affecting Gardaí such as rosters are “very different from other sectors”, and that that is something that the union will have to “continue to address”. 

The Forsa trade union has sent further details of the deal to its members.

This is a breaking news story, we will have an update shortly.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

143 Comments
    Mute Patrick Presley
    Favourite Patrick Presley
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:03 AM

I know public servants frequently come in for criticism, but the majority are doing an excellent job and deserve to be paid adequately.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:18 AM

@John P Quinn: you’ve met all 385000 so John?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

@John P Quinn: We believe you.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Tommy O'Neill
    Favourite Tommy O'Neill
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:35 AM

@Mark Nolan: No, he’s only met 192,501…

Mute Mary M
    Favourite Mary M
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:39 AM

@Patrick Presley: oh give over! Laziest shower of Sh!tes

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:53 AM

@John P Quinn: FG politicians deserve a pay rise

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:14 AM

@Patrick Presley: Yes, I agree that those at the coal face generally do a good job.

But
    1) The last report I saw indicated public service pay was greater than 30% more than that of the private sector.
    2) The decision-making levels of the public service are grossly incompetent as well as being obscenely overpaid.

Bringing public service pay back into line with the private sector should be the priority, not keeping it in line with inflation.

Having said that, average public sector pay is distorted by the pay of those at higher levels, so the greatest cuts should be made there.

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:19 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: . The “experts” are out in force this morning,

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:23 AM

@Mary M: speak for yourself!!

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:38 AM

@Mark Nolan: I haven’t met all 385000 but honestly of the 100s I have met over the last 26 years at least 50% perform in manner that simply wouldn’t be accepted or tolerated in the private sector.

There are people who I admire and really enjoy working with but I find that even they are fustrated and exasperated by the behaviour and inadequacies of many of their collegues.

In the last 7 years I have had 3 co-workers who were let go simply because they weren’t doing their job adequately.

That simply doesn’t happen in the public sector (in my experience).

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:49 AM

@Jimmy Wallace: what do you do all day apart from nothing, old chap?

Mute Sean Murnin
    Favourite Sean Murnin
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:56 AM

@Mary M: My wife is a civil servant and is often still working at 19:00 when I get home, long after her finish time. Are you including her in your flippant comment??? You haven’t got a clue so I suggest you keep your mouth shut!

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:09 AM

@Patrick Presley: I totally disagree. Every single public service is an absolute disaster and the staff only make it worse.

Mute TippMan
    Favourite TippMan
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:35 AM

@John P Quinn: Good man John. Excellent input. You should get an increase yourself for that alone.

Mute Alfred Ryan
    Favourite Alfred Ryan
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:46 AM

@Mark Nolan: that many. For a country with a population the size of Manchester.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:34 PM

@Alfred Ryan: check your maths Alf. Manchester has a population of 553,230 v Ireland’s 5.033 million so roughly 10% the size

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:40 PM

@John P Quinn: sign up for the Gardai there John if you could do better.

Mute Ian Lester
    Favourite Ian Lester
    Jan 26th 2024, 2:05 PM

@John P Quinn: So the majority of nurses, doctors, teachers, paramedics, Fire Service + Gardai are “pure lazy”? Sounds like you might be a small bit of a kn0b there Patrick. Let me guess, the system is rigged against you and if people would just look past your apparent lack of intelligence, education and patchy work history and took a chance on giving you a job where you could make all the important decisions, you’d be a fierce hard worker and would change the whole world. Which public servants do you hate the most? Fair chance it’s the Guards is it? Because they keep picking on you? We should probably consult you on all important decisions from now on in, you seem to really have your finger on the pulse of the nation.

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Jan 26th 2024, 2:15 PM

@John P Quinn: when is your dole day?

Mute Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:31 PM

@John P Quinn: I work in a school and I can only tell you about the experience there. I can assure you that the vast majority are nowhere near being labelled as ‘lazy’. There are a small number that certainly don’t kill themselves with work, but a very large percentage of them work really hard. If you don’t want to believe that, that’s fine, but that is my close up experience.

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:04 PM

@John P Quinn: and you know this how????

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:05 PM

@Bass Bass Is A Bell–end: maybe services are poor because of understafging because we don’t pay enough to keep them

Mute Johnny Styne
    Favourite Johnny Styne
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:10 PM

@Thomas Reddy: who pist in your cornflakes

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jan 26th 2024, 7:00 PM

@Bass Bass Is A Bell–end: That’ll be the unions’ fault.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jan 26th 2024, 7:04 PM

@Mark Nolan: Greater Manchester has 2.8M souls.

Mute maha freeman
    Favourite maha freeman
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:37 PM

@Mary M: and your clearly a troll!!

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Jan 27th 2024, 11:35 AM

@Pat Barry: absolutely correct Pat. But even if Alfred meant Greater Manchester, as opposed to Manchester City, he’s still very wrong

Mute Janette Downs
    Favourite Janette Downs
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:04 AM

Before the usual public servant bashing comments start let’s clarify that is over 2.5 years. With current inflation it will not even keep pace with cost of living. This is why there are not enough nurses teachers etc. all the young recruits are emigrating to where they will be paid better and respected.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:11 AM

@Janette Downs: if enough leave they’ll have to do something about it.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:14 AM

@brian o’leary: Yep. They will import cheap labour to replace the ones that left for proper salaries etc.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:19 AM

@David Corrigan: The irony the same people who moan about this will also moan about immigration.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:21 AM

@Janette Downs: the pay scales could be changed in favour of the younger new recruits at the expense of the older existing staff who are inbedded both in their careers and the country, I mean, where are they gonna go at this stage?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:47 AM

@Thesaltyurchin:
    Nobody has a problem with immigrants if they are bringing something to our country. Unfortunately that is not what is arriving lately, they bring nothing, some not even a passport. Stop the juvenile virtue signalling and open your eyes.

Mute James Moylan
    Favourite James Moylan
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:04 AM

@Janette Downs: they know what pay and conditions are before they go to college, should be made spent 5/6 years working here repaying the taxpayers who paid for their education

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:33 AM

@Regular John: ah there’s regular John making sweeping statements about people he knows nothing about, except that some have arrived with no documents. I presume you’re referring to international protection applicants. You say they bring nothing – how do you know this? Some in my locality help keep the town tidy – they’re not allowed to work so have a lot of time on their hands. Your prejudice is shining thru.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:48 AM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    … and your naivety shines through once again. It’s really incredible how easily some of you are fooled.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:57 AM

@Regular John: Enlighten me John – how do you know they bring nothing

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:20 PM

@Regular John: no news John?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:08 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    I’m not here to educate you. The dogs in the street can see what is happening. You educate yourself, start with the CSO website.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Regular John: Lol, fair amount of woke jargon their John lad, in the words of the great Donald Trump “… sit dooown”

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Regular John: ah the old dogs in the street argument. Let me rephrase that – the people who have absolutely no clue in the street. You know what John? You can stick your prejudice where the sun don’t shine

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 26th 2024, 2:44 PM

@brian o’leary: no they won’t. Not this government, not DPER. They rather run services into the ground than pay people what they should be paid. Cutting costs is more important than retaining staff…. Austerity mentality still alive and well while they flute away billions on project overspends, billions extra on an inefficient health service amongst many other things….. These lads should be sacked for mismanagement on a colossal scale

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:05 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    Soft lads like you are the reason this country is going to the dogs. Thankfully you are very much in the minority. You need to grow a pair, you’re an embarrassment.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:30 PM

@Regular John: well said, he most likely prances around with a rainbow feather boa around his neck

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:30 PM

@Regular John: you’re a sad excuse of a human being

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Rex Tynan:
    Yes, strikes me as that kind of bloke alright, although when I say bloke, I think he has more in common with a little girl.

Mute Magnificent Mongoose
    Favourite Magnificent Mongoose
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:06 AM

Nice for them. They work hard.

Mute Patrick O'Farrell
    Favourite Patrick O'Farrell

4.5% , before task, so 3% in real terms. What’s the inflation rate? 3.2%. Well done to the public sector unions in delivering a real time pay cut for the their members. The unions are buried so deeply in the government’s back pocket , the executives of the unions are so detached from their members that this is gone beyond farce with the last 30 years.
    The play out this farce every few years, agree on the middle figure of their respective demands and then the farce rolls on until the next performance from them. An utter waste of time and energy.

Mute Patrick O'Farrell
    Favourite Patrick O'Farrell
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:20 AM

@Patrick O’Farrell: *4..5% pa before tax.*

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:33 AM

@Patrick O’Farrell: I mean we all have to pay tax that’s just a reality of life… Also public sector workers are on a pay scale whereby they will receive increments each year which by the end of this deal will be a minimum 9.25% greater than they were before the deal was agreed. That should at least offset any inflation increases. Everyone in life would like more pay. Public sector workers enjoy job security and guaranteed pay rises that private sector workers don’t. I think it’s a fair deal all in all

Mute Roy Kenneally
    Favourite Roy Kenneally
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:54 PM

@Patrick O’Farrell: Are you seriously complaining that this isn’t enough? Those of us in the private sector, who pay for these increases, would love an increase of that magnitude. It’s not going to happen. Good luck to the public sector workers who are getting this. However, this increase for everyone model isn’t an effective way of using the available budget. If you have recruitment problems in nursing or other sectors, then they should get more. If someone is sitting twiddling their thumbs in Dept. of Enterprise, then they should get less.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:48 PM

@Roy Kenneally: you know public servants also pay the same taxes, with bonus PRD on top of it right? Does that make us self employed as we’re paying to fund our own wage?

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:50 AM

Delighted, people working in the public sector deserve every pay rise they get

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 26th 2024, 7:28 PM

@Rex Tynan: we are a failed state, right? Right. That’s what Sinn Fein say anyway. So how can we afford this?

Mute derm
    Favourite derm
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:05 AM

An article we can comment on. #freeGaza

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:29 AM

@derm: Let’s hope that the ICJ’s today supports South Africa’s case. Recently we have witnessed people (both Palestinian and Israeli) being shot dead whilst waving white flags. We have seen parents carrying the lifeless bodies of their little babies. We have seen Gaza’s hospitals, schools, universities, mosques, churches and entire residential areas being bombed and blown up. We have seen the sick Israeli tiktok videos. We have seen an entire population punished for the crimes of Hamas. If this is isn’t genocide, then we may as well give up. Humanity is dead.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:41 AM

@Bass Bass Is A Bell–end: But…but…Hamas is the new but…but…the ra.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:52 AM

@Anthony Curran: who cares, not Ireland’s war, not Ireland’s problem

Mute SFmeansShyte4free
    Favourite SFmeansShyte4free
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:33 AM

@derm: it used its freedom to launch a terror attack on civilians in its neighbor. Fu c ked around and now finding out.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:12 PM

@Rex Tynan: So you support genocide? You know people looked the other way too in Germany in the 1920s and 30s.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:40 PM

@Bass Bass Is A Bell–end: In case it has escaped your attention Gaza is Palestinian and Hamas was formed to fight the terrorism perpetrated by the terrorist state of Israel.

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:36 PM

@derm: Why is the Stardust inquiry still going on? It feels like its been in the headlines all my life.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:49 PM

@Anthony Curran: I couldn’t give a shyte, and that’s being honest lol

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:34 PM

@James Carolan: On the other hand, fire safety has improved, so you benefit whether you were affected or not.

Mute Shane Dillon
    Favourite Shane Dillon
    Jan 27th 2024, 12:54 AM

@Bass Bass Is A Bell–end: Zionist bot

Mute Paddy Up
    Favourite Paddy Up
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:52 AM

The jealousy here is disgraceful. This is why the working and middle class never get anywhere because we are all looking at what everyone else is getting and complaining. Well if I don’t get it they shouldn’t. The elite class never turn on each other and that’s why they are where they are. they close rank and laugh while we fight for pennies. If you have a problem with this pay rise then why not organise your fellow workers into a union and demand better for yourselves rather than wanting it worse for others.

Mute furry01
    Favourite furry01
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:58 PM

@Paddy Up: Well said Paddy! The old begrudgers at it again. Fairplay for calling it out.

Mute peter mcdwyer
    Favourite peter mcdwyer
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:02 AM

Unbelievable! Only in Ireland. There isn’t a company or a country in world that would give >10% pay rise for no reason especially with no performance review or promise of increased productivity. You can’t make it up

Mute Boyne Shark
    Favourite Boyne Shark
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:08 PM

@peter mcdwyer: I’ve had reason to be in several hospitals over the past few years and, with few exceptions (everyone can have a bad day), I’ve found we’re fortunate to have the Public Servants (who ever came up with that name).
    Pick any major hospital and I suspect an independent an fair performance review will reveal the majority of staff would be entitled to substantially more than 10.25% over 2.5 years. Every hospital I’ve been in I’ve witnessed staff go above and beyond what we’d call their ‘job description’, from porters and cleaners willing to assist patients, nurses and carers who work, unpaid, far beyond their ‘clocking out time’. I’ve seen catering staff go that extra mile for patients in need, a pediatric nurse spend hours holding a lollipop for a special needs child. I saw a porter hold the hand of an elderly man who, in his last minutes, thought he was his son. So if you ask me do they deserve 10.25%? Absolutely, every damn year.

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:10 PM

@Boyne Shark: well said.

Mute aidan martin
    Favourite aidan martin
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:07 AM

aren’t politicians public servants too,won’t they get this rise??

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:12 AM

@aidan martin: yes….a rising tides lifts all boats. 10.25% over 2.5years won’t even ‘keep up’ with inflation. This is a GOOD/ fair deal for all.

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:53 AM

@aidan martin: and all the managers in the public service on huge salaries benefit most in euro terms. Unions sold out their low and middle paid members again. Increments should be based on salary to close the current massive gap rather than increasing that gap.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 26th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Mike 100: what would be the point of working hard to be promoted then?

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:15 AM

All night talks, working very hard, difficult negotiations etc. etc. etc.
    A fair deal but why do they dress it up with all of the blather!

Mute Ken Mc Carthy
    Favourite Ken Mc Carthy

@Padraig O’Brien: Well that’s the ‘go’ of it nowdays….standard playbook….. my favourite is towards the end of all those COP jolly’s— different negotiations/ some countries question the wording/ all night talks/ wording is changed/ more talks/ some countries agree to wording/ blah blah blah– I guess once you do the ‘dance’ at one COP you gotta do it for them all / optics

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

@Padraig O’Brien: Because the media need content… so we can complain, so they can sell advertising.

Mute M Ryan
    Favourite M Ryan
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:55 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: exactly, you will never see these increases capped at a certain amount for higher salaried people.

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:13 AM

Disgraceful they should be getting a pay reduction

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:20 AM

@sleepy joe: I thought you were against immigration?

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:23 AM

@sleepy joe: Did we wake you Joe? Go back asleep and stop with this claptrap.

Mute Dave Healy
    Favourite Dave Healy
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:47 AM

@sleepy joe: Tell that to a Garda and a nurse if you’re unlucky enough to get assaulted by one of the many thugs who roam our cities and towns.
    Tell that to the Firefighters and Prison Officers who worked tirelessly during covid with little or no ppe before vaccines were available….

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:21 AM

@Dave Healy: Ignore him Dave. You’ve better things to be doing.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:25 AM

@sleepy joe: they’re paying your dole!

Mute furry01
    Favourite furry01
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:56 PM

@sleepy joe: And what do you base that assessment on Einstein?

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:38 AM

It seems whatever public servants want they get.It is truly sickening to see deals like this for probably the most pampered in our society while the rest of us scrape by.

Mute Casey McQuillan
    Favourite Casey McQuillan
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:07 AM

@Gerry Lamont:

Mute I can see clearly now
    Favourite I can see clearly now
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Gerry Lamont: You are so ignorant it’s beyond comprehension. I’ve a friend who started working in a local authority, entry level clerical officer at just over minimum pay – @ €15 per hr. Look at the salaries on the gov.ie website..and don’t assume they don’t work, this guy is an extremely diligent and hard employee.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:15 AM

An extra 3.6 billion added to the pay bill, and not sure if this includes their pensions. I don’t think anyone outside of the Public Sector would mind if we had a proper functioning Public Sector, but we most certainly don’t get value for money, and god forbid if this country ever goes into recession again, as the public sector pay bill will bring us under.

Mute Alfred Ryan
    Favourite Alfred Ryan
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:46 AM

@The Firestarter: 100% it nearly did after the disastrous “benchmarking”.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:15 PM

@The Firestarter: Agreed, we could be making it a lot worse really. Personally I’ll only be happy with a return to medieval living conditions, I’d imagine you’re with me brother?

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:00 AM

An extra two billion of a mill stone around private sector workers

Mute Stu Doherty
    Favourite Stu Doherty
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:19 PM

@Max: as a public sector worker i for one salute you for the sacrifice you make to ensure we get paid more money… thank you so much Private Sector Man. That mill stone that the Private Sector alone support, must be very difficult to bear. They should make Public Sector workers pay Income Tax and USC as well to help you with that burden…. Oh Hang on, wait a minute..?

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Jan 26th 2024, 8:47 PM

@Stu Doherty: All the wealth in the country is created by the private sector.

Mute Stu Doherty
    Favourite Stu Doherty
    Jan 26th 2024, 8:53 PM

@Max: so you must be very wealthy as a private sector worker..? Go and enjoy your millions

Mute Toby Thedogk
    Favourite Toby Thedogk
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:50 AM

Good deal for Public Workers – for the rest it just contributes to higher inflation – Pascal had to get this through as quickly and quietly as possible to show his EU masters that he is subservient and will fit in very well in Brussels.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:56 AM

@Toby Thedogk: weak conspiracy theory

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:22 AM

@Toby Thedogk: Election due.

Government parties need the Public Sector vote.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:07 AM

Got 10 percent over 3 years.
    Ridiculous as all prices took between 15 and 40 percent…
    Home insurance got a 39 percent hike basic , don’t let me start on diesel, petrol and energy hikes…

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Jan 26th 2024, 11:48 AM

Kept this kip afloat during COVID and the massive influx of Ukrainians over the last few years. Deserved

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly

I look forward to the pay-off – a 10 percent improvement in quality of public services. Starting with our health service perhaps

Mute Cormo R
    Favourite Cormo R
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:03 AM

Well deserved. Guess who’s going to have to pay for unfortunately though…..?

Mute Tilal Moore
    Favourite Tilal Moore
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:44 PM

Some good news at last & credit to those involved in the talks. This pay offer will help in the ongoing effort to recruit badly needed public sector workers. Much better for Donoghoe to negotiate this, than risk all out strike as is going on in NI .

Mute Dramafree 2023
    Favourite Dramafree 2023
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:00 AM

Have to ask and as anyone who knows me here knows I am not one for blanket increases etc but with the min wage increasing from 11.30 to 12.70 overnight, how does that work for payscales in the public service and why is this increase not reflected across the board overnight also? surely that would have been a good benchmark?

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:36 PM

Good work by all concerned & yes that includes the government.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 26th 2024, 1:05 PM

Always felt that percentage wage increases were unfair particularly to the less well paid and actually widened the pay gap between the lowest and highest.
    Would it not be possible say within the civil service to calculate the total cost of a wage increase and divide the up equally between the workers giving everyone the same amount rather than a percentage.
    There’s obviously some glaring problem with my idea which someone will explain.

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Favourite TheUnrepresented
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:59 PM

10.5% over next 2 years. 7.5% the past 2 years. Delivered in small chunks of 2%, 3% etc. – to give compound effect of 20% increase. No other private sector wages / salaries gone up by a blanket 20% over the same period. loads of people losing jobs in the private sector. Total greed by government and unions – a charade these talks.

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:07 PM

@TheUnrepresented: we are at full employment. Get a job. If it’s so good in the public service why don’t you get a degree, apply, do the exam, do the interview…. Why are you not??

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:31 PM

@Valerie J Mck: Making massive incorrect assumptions about my job status and education etc. I suggest you read the initial comment. Anyway, as a significant tax payer, one can pass commentary on how the government spend these tax receipts (free speech and all that) – and we are paying too much for the public service in general. That is pretty clear when you compare to pay in private sector, security of tenure and cost of pension arrangements. The private sector has not moved anywhere near 20% blanket pay increase in the period 2021 to 2025. Fact. Yes the public service has done so. Government has caved in too easily – trying to buy votes in upcoming election.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:48 PM

@TheUnrepresented: Why not unionise if you are taking on more work for less pay? Or change jobs?
    I don’t see the need to demand that someone else should earn less because you feel you aren’t earning enough. How is it “greed” if somebody else is getting a fair wage?

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:27 PM

@F Fitzgerald: Its got nothing to do with unions. In the public service the public service “negotiate” with the public service. The same people (public servants) are on both sides of the table. Need to stop personalising the commentary here. Nothing to do with my job and circumstances – no one is “taking on work” etc. We are speaking about the whole of Ireland here and todays news story. The simple facts of the matter even before these 10% plus round of pay rises – the public service are far better paid than private sector. On PAY alone. Before you consider pensions and security of tenure etc. See attached link to the CSO’s own figures – which states AVERAGE earnings public service is 57k approx (1,100 euo per week), whereas the whole population including the public service is 47k, which means the private sector AVERAGE is even lower still. Google the CSO figure – it wont allow me copy the link in here.

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth

I think the major issue he is what efficiencies will be achieved and how will the public service get better?

It’s just a pay rise for being in the public sector is makes no sense at all. You can’t have the public sector with higher wages than the private sector. It makes no sense as it’s fined directly by the private sector.

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth

@Mark Smyth: funded*

Mute Marco El
    Favourite Marco El
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:11 PM

@Mark Smyth: you understand that the most tax compliant sector is the public sector ?

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth
    Jan 27th 2024, 7:57 AM

@Marco El: of course it is, they are all paid directly by the state.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:23 PM

So public servants negotiate with other public servants ( government) to give public servants a pay rise.. makes perfect sense

Mute Daniel Buckley
    Favourite Daniel Buckley
    Jan 26th 2024, 7:26 PM

Its important to say the term Public Servant includes Nurses, Teachers, Doctors, Dentists to name a few. Civil Servants represent less than 10% of the total.
    Its fair to say the non civil servant…can easily acquire better pay & conditions in other jurisdictions..quite readily. In addition technically qualified Civil Sevants …can likewise easily acquire other positions equally well paid.
    Comparisons with the private sector exclude all Sole Traders, Partners..etc while the Public Sector includes High Court Judges in the metrics.
    As for “Lazy” maybe try CUH ED this weekend…as a nurse.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 26th 2024, 4:11 PM

Free extra money for doing Sweet FA work….Great country for wasters

Mute Valerie J Mck
    Favourite Valerie J Mck
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Paul: which work is sweet FA? Nursing in A&E? Cleaning up after puking drunk patients? Getting spat at when guarding our streets? Teaching kids whose parents don’t care?

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:38 PM

@Paul: Join a union if you’re not doing any better.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:08 PM

Well that’s good news all our over worked nursers and doctors will get a rise over the next two years plus whatever increment they are also due. Nobody should complain, as people are always saying our nursers and Gardai are badly paid. Only down side is all workers, including public and private will have to pay for it

Mute Stu Doherty
    Favourite Stu Doherty
    Jan 26th 2024, 2:18 PM

Thats all well and good but have we heard what the eurovsion hopefuls feel about this..? Surely their input is vital to ratifying ANY deal….?

Mute Hugo Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Martinez
    Jan 26th 2024, 9:07 AM

Bla Bla Bla disgraceful

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 26th 2024, 5:33 PM

Why do The Journal allow the publishing of uneducated nonsense in the comments section. All driven by people with political agendas and little to no intellect. It is embarrassing.

Mute Johnny frankson
    Favourite Johnny frankson
    Jan 26th 2024, 3:56 PM

First word they are taught when their join is „Dúnta“.

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan
    Jan 26th 2024, 10:47 AM

There’s a few people on here I love getting a rise out of lol

Mute Rex Tynan
    Favourite Rex Tynan

@Alan B: lol

Mute Bryan Mc Mahon
    Favourite Bryan Mc Mahon
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:18 PM

Pay increase is needed but the government need to be able to cut jobs as and when required.
    Serious waste with people in pensionable jobs for life with little or no return from there “work”.

Mute Ann Nugent
    Favourite Ann Nugent
    Jan 26th 2024, 12:42 PM

Is it back dated to last July?

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jan 26th 2024, 6:14 PM

Do these increases also apply to retired public sector workers on defined benefit pensions? Somebody told me once that their pensions will also go up by the 10% over the 3 years?

Mute PD
    Favourite PD
    Jan 27th 2024, 11:49 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: “Somebody told me once…..”
    Seriously ?

Mute Anthony Corbett
    Favourite Anthony Corbett
    Jan 28th 2024, 9:25 AM

It’s an inaccurate figure. The pay rise is 8.25% in within this pay agreement.
    So 10.25% is a down right lie and the way the unions and WRC have reported it outright misleading. SHAME

Mute D.Zag
    Favourite D.Zag
    Jan 27th 2024, 2:06 AM

A