You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/StockLite

Poll: Summer's here ... will you be getting more exercise?

We’re heading for an obesity crisis in this country, unless we significantly alter out lifestyles. Good a time as any?

THERE’S AN ALARMING new report from the World Health Organisation out this morning – suggesting nearly ALL Irish adults will be overweight by 2030.

If current trends continue, nine out of ten Irish men will be overweight in 15 years’ time – and 85 per cent of women.

With the arrival of the (slightly) warmer weather, it got us wondering – will you be investing in a new pair of runners, and heading out to get more exercise in the coming months?

Poll Results:

I get lots of exercise, year round. (2644)
Absolutely - see you in the park. (2396)
Maybe. Ask me again after lunch. (794)
No. (459)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Jul 31st 2015, 3:07 PM

Applications were open from 23rd April to 1st August.. Why moan now. What kept anyone from applying during that long period..

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Jul 31st 2015, 6:08 PM

geraldine, self employed need to submit a ton of documentation which may not be available to them.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jul 31st 2015, 6:12 PM

@Geraldine. They clearly state you can apply until 1st August, therefore they are obliged to facilitate applications until that date. They don’t state until 1st August or until the system collapses. Simple really.

Mute Caoimhe Lynch
    Favourite Caoimhe Lynch
    Jul 31st 2015, 8:28 PM

Clearly you’ve never filled out one of these applications, extremely time consuming and stressful, mine only got in last night having started it months ago

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Jul 31st 2015, 9:38 PM

I have actually..

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Aug 1st 2015, 4:50 PM

What kept the Government from introducing Universal Education like they promised in 1995?

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Jul 31st 2015, 2:40 PM

Is this not a perennial problem with SUSI?

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 31st 2015, 5:56 PM

I read that as

Is this not a perineal problem with Susi?

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 31st 2015, 10:39 PM

You would.

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Aug 1st 2015, 4:40 PM

College Grants processing should be given back Local Authorities.

Mute Blacksod63.
    Favourite Blacksod63.
    Jul 31st 2015, 4:48 PM

I think it’s hilarious that students leave their grant applications until the last minute! And they’re the bright young things? They’ve had months to do this . I’ve no major sympathy for them

Mute Bean Ui Mise
    Favourite Bean Ui Mise
    Jul 31st 2015, 4:48 PM

What will all the farmers do now after hiding all their income?

Mute Z
    Favourite Z
    Jul 31st 2015, 4:54 PM

Farmer’s get almost no grant when it comes to SUSI…

Mute Bean Ui Mise
    Favourite Bean Ui Mise
    Jul 31st 2015, 5:52 PM

My son posted the comment above without my concentrate. I think farmers love paying tax and never get grants and I want my son to find himself a nice girl with road frontage.

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Aug 1st 2015, 4:47 PM

Begrudgers should become farmers if there’s loads of income to be made. The number of young farmers continuing to drop year-on-year would suggest otherwise…

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Jul 31st 2015, 10:08 PM

The Income sections confused the bejasus out of me as someone without a degree in accounting.

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Aug 1st 2015, 4:42 PM

Universal Education is needed in Ireland. We are the laughing stock of Europe because every other EU country provides Universal Education.

Mute Mark Harte
    Favourite Mark Harte
    Jul 31st 2015, 6:44 PM

Mute Davis Juhas
    Favourite Davis Juhas
    Dec 10th 2015, 10:12 PM

Hello, I’m Davis Juhas from United States, My wife left me for no reason she moved in with another man, I felt like the whole world was against me. My life was very bitter and sorrowful. Then one day, a friend of mine told me about a spell caster called Dr OGUNDU who helped her on her own situation when her husband left her. But at first i didn’t believe it, she begged me further so I decided to try this spell caster called Dr OGUNDU. I contacted him and i told him my problems and gave him all the necessary information he required. He told me never to worry that my WIFE will call me back in less than two days and i believed, and after he cast the spell my WIFE called me and started begging, she apologized and came back to me crying for a second chance. Today i and my wife with my two lovely kids are living happily like never before. I can really say that this spell caster is powerful because of his work my wife is home again. I’m now a very happy man and ever since she has shown me love like never before. Thank you Dr OGUNDU I will forever be grateful to you. You can contact this great doctor on this email:drogunduspellcaster@gmail.com he will solve any problem you are facing now. Just contact him and see his work. Once again thank you Dr OGUNDU

Mute Stanley Aziegbe
    Favourite Stanley Aziegbe
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:49 AM

After being in relationship with him for 3 years, he broke up with me, I did everything possible to bring him back but all was in vain, I wanted him back so much because of the love I have for him, I begged him with everything, I made promises but he refused. I explained my problem to someone online and she suggested that I should rather contact a spell caster that could help me cast a spell to bring him back but I am the type that never believed in spell, I had no choice than to try it, I mailed the spell caster, and he told me there was no problem that everything will be okay before three days, that my ex will return to me before three days, he cast the spell and surprisingly in the second day, it was around 4pm. My ex called me, I was so surprised, I answered the call and all he said was that he was so sorry for everything that happened, that he wanted me to return to him, that he loves me so much. I was so happy and went to him, that was how we started living together happily again. Since then, I have made promise that anybody I know that have a relationship problem, I would be of help to such person by referring him or her to the only real and powerful spell caster who helped me with my own problem and who is different from all the fake ones out there. Anybody could need the help of the spell caster, his email is email:( Drossuva@gmail.com ) or website: http:drossolution.webs.com you can email him if you need his assistance in your relationship or any other problem. ////////