You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE DEPARTMENT OF Social Protection has said it has identified 85 cases where people had their Pandemic Unemployment Payment stopped (PUP) but may be entitled to it.
The department has said it will be contacting the individuals in question over the coming days.
The development comes after Minister Heather Humphreys said earlier today that people on the PUP or Jobseeker’s assistance can travel to countries on the Green List without losing their payments.
Humphreys told the Dáil today that her department could “have communicated more effectively” on the matter in recent days.
She said the vast majority (90%) of the 2,500 people who’ve had their payment stopped due to travel abroad were leaving the country permanently.
The minister said that some travelling abroad may have been unaware of the new criteria, and that her department was to review all cases where holidaymakers travelling abroad had their payment stripped.
In a statement this evening, the department said it had completed the review of those 2,500 cases:
This review has identified some 85 cases that have the potential to be entitled to the Pandemic Unemployment Payment for a holiday period. The department will be contacting the 85 individuals directly in the coming days to verify these cases.
Humphreys confirmed today that regulations will be signed to allow recipients of the PUP to travel to Green List countries.
These are the countries designated by the government where people can travel to and from without the advice to quarantine for 14 days afterwards.
For non-Green List countries, those in receipt of PUP or Jobseeker’s will be permitted to travel to them for essential reasons, but they must notify their local welfare office first.
The countries on the Green List are Malta, Finland, Norway, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Cyprus, Slovakia, Greece, Greenland, Gibraltar, Monaco and San Marino.
The affair has proven to be yet another headache for the new government, with the move to remove the PUP for those travelling abroad heavily criticised in recent days.
Since 7 July, 104 cases of the PUP have been stopped after people in receipt of the payment were found to have travelled abroad for non-essential reasons.
Its chief executive Eilis Barry said: “While legislation may allow for this suspension in relation to Jobseekers Benefit, it does not go so far as to allow the Department sweeping powers to suspend or close other payments that people may receive – including Covid PUP.”
Minister Humphreys, however, did add today that her officials had advised her that “there was no provision to receive a payment while out of the country under any circumstances”.
With reporting from Christina Finn and Rónán Duffy
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
213 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Pat Kelly: no but you dont have to quarantine if coming back from a green country. however if you go to a country and have to quarantine on return you should have your payements stopped as your unavailable for work.
on the news they said the payements were stopped for people who were emigrating or leaving for an extended period and rightly so .
usual left wing crowd creating a storm in a teacup
They were wrong to treat people in receipt of social welfare parents like this in the first place. It’s about time they u-turned on it. It’s the right thing to do. But my god this coalition is disgustingly bad.
@ed w: People receiving PUP’s are available to work, it is just that their places of work are closed due to Government lock-down in the aftermath of Covid-19.
@Jack Cass: This is the problem with rushed legislation. I totally get the fact that the government want to catch people who are emigrating permanently and trying to hold onto the payment. I also get the fact that this money is being paid to keep the economy going and it’s against the spirit of it to take that money and spend it in another country.
That said, making snap decisions without paying attention to the rules that need to be followed in order for changes to be lawful amounts to unenforceable decisions and bad outcomes for those who are genuine in receipt.
Shambles of a government- made up of teachers and others who have no legislative experience.
@Dara O’Brien: Very true, the only qualification you need to govern is getting votes, it has nothing to do with experience or expertise, these clowns have hired numerous expert consultants at the taxpayers expense and still they are making a mockery of our parliament. Four weeks in power and its been one mess after another. Heads should roll.
@Pat Kelly: No problems in The Canaries quite safe to travel there if anything safer than here! As for safe list you have to fly into Nice to go to Monaco and into Spain to go to Gibraltar . Thats a bit Irish
Just watched the Taoiseach on the news reacting to questions from the opposition, I feel sorry for him, looked like a nervous wreck, totally out of his depth.
@Pat Kelly: with you on that, I’m sure that cohort are considerate face mask wearers and will of course be self isolating for 14 days upon their return lol
@Paul Potts: “How they ever thought they could legally cut it in the first place I’ll never k know” – the law obligates claimants to be available for work. There are numerous cases of illegitimate claims from people who are no longer resident or who are not available for work – this is tax payers money that needs to be protected from abuse.
@Fintan O’flaois: you are either delusional or a true FFG supporter to believe that these class a coalition of cabbages haven’t abused taxpayers money over the years and its all on the public
@Fintan O’flaois: The PUP payments fall under EU rules and according to EU rules, anyone living in a EU country can travel (for whatever reason) to another EU country & not have any social welfare payments cut.
So are we violating EU rules also?
Yes, along with violating Irish & EU data protection laws, which is a bigger issue.
Also not to mention the various legislative moves made & passed without a Dàil debate or votes.
@Gazza Lazza: The PUP payments don’t not fall under “EU rules”. Social welfare and its conditions are a matter for member states. What EU law mandates is non-discrimination between EU nationals. Social welfare is a national competence. Not an EU competence. Stop inventing law to support your dubious points.
@Owen Taaffe: Including The Former Angry Chief Whip who now is Minister of Agriculture which he knows nothing about. Plus the two Scarecrow lookalike Juniors
Thomas Byrne and Niall Collins
@Owen Taaffe: The simple fact is they are not experienced to do the job, however no experience is required to run a country, just convince the people to vote for you , job done,
@conriel: And what’s your proposal to fix democracy? God forbid the little people should become legislators! Not so long ago the right to vote was confined to people of property and wealth who were presumed to be informed. Your post is simply a regurgitation of elitism. And you offer no solution. What’s your solution?
I don’t know why I bother I can’t get 2 weeks extra leave for the quarantine on return so can’t head on my holidays.
Yet I’ve to continue paying for someone out of a job to go get sun and drunk on some exotic beach.
@OhToBeARossie: get your facts straight. My partner receives the benefit through no fault of his own. Once the countries we are both from enter the green list, we want to visit our families for the first time in months. Guaranteed we will not be getting drunk just hugging our parents.
@Allison Smith: it’s no fault of the people still working either. Is your partner willing to pay more tax when he’s back to work for all the money he received?
@OhToBeARossie: “Yet I’ve to continue paying for someone out of a job to go get sun and drunk on some exotic beach.” You can thank FF and FG for that or does that not suit your narrative?
@Allison Smith: But there is a valid argument to say that the PUP payment was introduced to keep the economy going and shouldn’t be available to be spent in the economy of another country.
Also, there are people who will say they are going on holidays but in reality are just emigrating for good and trying to keep the payment for as long as possible.
The reasons for wanting to control the payment are valid, they way in which it is being attempted is shambolic.
@Dara O’Brien: I can tell you now all me and my partner want to do is see our parents. Unlike people in this country we havnt been allowed to. So what if he’s on pup payment and I am not. We just want to see our family. All vacations are cancelled for us. Do you really think he wants to be on this payment, yet you would deny us our rights to see our family. Dont comment unless you have been in these shoes. Oh and grow up. Pup should be spent in our own country blah blah, I’m sure my partner would prefer to have a job
@Allison Smith: No need to be so defensive and snippy. I wasn’t accusing anyone of anything at all. I simply made the point that there are valid reasons for wanting to control the payments but also that they way the government tried to go about it was farcical.
You probably need to relax a bit and realise that not everyone is out to get you. Personally I couldn’t give a hoot where you go.
@Fab John: anyone that has received job seekers or the PUP knows that the monies are added to their earnings and tax credits are adjusted down so that revenue get tax etc due when they get a new job or start back….it’s not free money…
@Martin Smith: it’s free money. There’s no way the tax credits could pay back even close to what they have been given.
Especially the free loaders who have been on job seekers etc for years.
People on PUP have jobs so when will they have to pay it back? When they leave a job and get another one??
@Allison Smith: tough, you won’t see your parents, boo hoo, frontline workers sacrificed their lives saving people, their families will never see them again and you can’t sacrifice a trip funded by the state. There’s plenty of tech solutions in the short term, we’ve all used them, parents abroad or not. If it was 50 years ago you’d be writing letters and your sense of entitlement would be non existent
@OhToBeARossie: If this rule is applying even if you are travelling to a green country then it’s your employers policy to do so. How is this related to people receiving a payment they are entitled to? Climb down off that soap box. You’re not the only tax payer in country. You’re one of the lucky ones like me whose job is still functioning and I wouldnt trade it for 350 quid a week, holiday or not. If you were in the unfortunate position of your job closing down you would be entitled to the exact same.
@Damien Mcconnell: Seriously did you really think it was going to be different this time? Its the same Muppets who are still there. I blame the people who voted for them AGAIN.
@Damien Mcconnell: well what,would one expect from FF, funny how they would vote to give a super junior minister 16k extra and vote against a living wage for the people on minimum wage. Disgraceful!!
I hope its a nail in Mehole’s coffin.
@a politicians promise is as good as a lie: This government was formed on June 27th so it has been in power an entire month. How is it even possible to make a statement that they are the worst government in the history of the state?
@a politicians promise is as good as a lie: there’s talk they are creating a new official office for the Minister for U-turns.
A sure sign of lack of confidence and a dread of another election. Ironically, they are bringing that day closer with every announcement they make.
and they risked it all on the premise that the shinners represented instability. I think John McGuiness might be right and Micky Martin may not see out his full term as Captain of the poorest team in the leagues history.
@Gareth Murran: Neither. This govt made ‘looking for work’ a requirement though, when it quite clearly contradicts being unemployed solely because of the pandemic, hence its name.
@Gareth Murran: Why should someone who is on PUP who was working in a pub full time and they’re going back to that job when pubs re-open in August be looking for another job only to quit it
@Gareth Murran: of course they shouldn’t be going on holidays. We’re in the midst of a global bloody pandemic.
People who still decide to head abroad this one summer that we asked people to pull together should never be forgotten.
They gave very vague answers as to how they were gathering information on people leaving the country. Maybe they’re hoping people will just forget about that can of worms now
@Tomas O’Connor: That’s correct and a few of the stories in the newspapers of details they had in the letters to the recipients they didn’t get the details from the person in question in the airports/ports… Like the lady who booked a holiday and then didn’t go to the ferry with her family as she’d have to quarantine for 14 days afterwards and she was due to start back at work…. So she never even went to the port to leave the country, stayed home… And still had her payment stopped.
I still wouldn’t mind some answers on how they are getting this info. The DAA said its not from them. The airlines have been silent on the issue so far
@Craic_a_tower: if the gathering of personal information is not in breach of GDPR and airlines have not breached their Privacy Statement then there is no problem.
That the Data Protection Commissioner has initiated an enquiry suggests that the method applied by the DSP in the gathering of personal information is questionable and requires further clarification beyond what has been issued so far.
@Charles Alexander: no launching an enquiry does not mean an actual breach has occurred. GDPR legislation is in constant flux as it was not clear, I have dealt with them and pretty much any question results in an investigation. Generally the question is whether there is a valid reason to be given data after that how long it can be stored. So if people are claiming social welfare and are leaving the country should this information be accessible for the investigation of fraud. Seems like a valid reason to me. Technically how that is done may change as a result of GDPR but it is rare to say that getting the data is in breach. Very very very easy to start a GDPR enquiry started you just have to ask a question really. Not unique to Ireland either
I believe that a recommendation, advice or an advisory, stating that people should not make any foreign travel does not seem to have legally enforceable sanctions as ‘should’ is used to mean a recommendation only.
There are three very important words that mean very different things and apply when dealing with laws and recommendations – could, should and must.
Unless there is a “must” used somewhere in the law or regulation it is not an absolute or an obligation.
@George Vladisavljevic: what the hell are you talking about..
Yes go and travel away but don’t expect to get handed the money for the holiday. Job seekers money. Clue is in the name
Forst of all, the name is Pandemic Unemployment Payment (or PUP) and not Job seekers money. There are people, such as those that work in pubs, that do not serve food and will be starting in the next stage of openings. Are they to look for another job and quit the one that will be starting in a couple of weeks in the meantime?
I was saying that when makes a law that they want to enforce, it must include the word “Must” otherwise it is only a suggestion at best.
A big difference between one should or could do something and one must do something.
@George Vladisavljevic: ok you got me on the name haha. Apologizes!
But if the govt give you free money and I’m sorry that’s exactly what it is then they should have a say in how you spend it.
I haven’t stopped working since this all started.
It reminded me of Job Seekers cause it’s exactly what they do.
I hope they tax the behind out of people who get it. And if I get another clap I’ll crack up haha
My point was simply that the government needed to bring in laws that actually stood up in court, and were enforceable, and to stop making up rules and regulations at a whim and without getting proper legal advice, and lord knows that they are paying an absolute fortune to their advisors who really are not giving them their money’s worth.
The government has been very generous (in many cases more generous to themselves than to those they had been elected to serve in the first place) with the taxpayers as well as borrowed funds from the ECB and other institutions, for a very long time, and are being reactive rather than pro-active.
@George Vladisavljevic: I’ll give you a thumbs up for that haha. You didn’t explain it well at all in the first comment. But I totally get what you mean now. Good man
Right thing to do, but honestly there’s no defending any politicians anymore. Sf, fg, ff they’re all the bloody same. Look after themselves, we’ve had 20 years of cowboy governance. They can all do one as far as I’m concerned
@Sean Loughney: Not anymore as “we’re not under normal circumstances” to quote ole Heather there.
Also this was done without any Dáil debate or vote. This alone should tell us all what this shower are all about.
Hon the welfare state! (It’s not welfare Fab John ha)
If you get 350e and you were on less then that doesn’t that promote people finding ways to spend the extra income ie more house parties and holidays.
How you think it’s ok to be given essentially free money from the state to go on holidays is beyond me.
And before people go on the attack it is free money. Why?? Because I work and guaranteed when this is all over i will be taxed the same as these people for money that was not given to me.
And if I go on holidays I’ve been told I have to quarantine for 2 weeks for free on my return unlike them.
A disgrace. Govt giving in as per usual
@Fiona Fitzgerald: no they are still figuring that out
I’m sorry but if you are on welfare how can you afford to go on holidays! It tells me you get too much free money.
Only encourages people to stay on it. Make ya sick
@Fab John: no as anybody who has been on job seekers due to no fault of theirs or on PUP knows those monies are added to your earnings for the year if and when you return to work or gain employment and taken off your tax credits and your tax credits for the financial year are reduced. But sure you knew that didn’t you….and if revenue are still owed money well they take it out of the following years tax credits yet again I’m sure you knew that….so it’s not free money
@Martin Smith: gonna be a long time paying it back if they are only doing it that way. Next thing I hear is nurses have to take the hit too when the budget comes around. Or maybe we should give them, doctors, guards and DFB a more hearty clap
@iEuropean: I was checking out a holiday in Santorini Greece for 2 adults, 14 days , just out of interest. Flights from Dublin and hotel came to €1300 , says it all really.
They make announcements and have to retract I wish they would make up their minds and just stick with it. I’m still not convinced the secondary schools will go ahead as planned.
I know these are challenging circumstances but this government is shambling awkwardly from crisis to crisis at the moment and the messaging is all over the place.
PUP recipients were told in March that it was of utmost importance to keep the connection with their employer until they could safely re-open. Now in July it’s just quietly mentioned that they’re supposed to be breaking that connection and looking for other work?
Travel advice is just as confusing with the government and the government travel website saying entirely different things over non-essential travel to green list countries.
This whole government is the very definition of a farce. From UTurns to sleeping on the job and sacking ministers with (drunk) skeletons in their closet… highly entertaining at least!
The only people on the €350 payment that will be able to afford to travel are the students living at home that were previously only working a few hours a week.
What about the smaller scale publicans, operating as sole traders, on the pup payment since mid March now wanting to take that holiday before reopening their business in a few weeks?
There will be very little compliance from a huge amount of people if any of the previous restrictions need to be introduced.
The Government have shown huge distain for people who lost their jobs through no fault of their own. “in this together” Mehole
Anyone travelling abroad at the moment is risking the life of all people they come in contact with on return. What is the difference between this and drink driving?
@Marg FitzGerald: travelling against government advise is not breaking the law.
Driving under the influence of alcohol is against the law and this punishable.
I appreciate the point you’re making but your comparables are wrong.
This government already proving to be a disaster. But at least they looked after themselves. People voted for change for a reason. Unfortunately it’s more of the same. Cronyism, gravy train, entitlement, infighting…….ineptitude.
What a shambles, and this is the same minister who passed on a letter that she received from a constituent to a court in support of a farmer who was due to appear in court in February this year, for severe animal cruelty, and the charges were subsequently dropped. Says a lot about her suitability to be a politician, let alone a minister!
Most of the countries on the Green List, have no direct flights from Ireland, meaning you have to get a connecting flight through Heathrow or Schipol. If flying back from Greenland, you’ll have to come through an airport, in a country, that’s not on the list. So when you’re arriving from Greenland, via London, you’re on a flight arriving from England and not the country you were in. Am I the only one that sees a problem here?
@Peter ‘Nocky’ Naughnane:
Most wont see a problem there as the Government have already clarified that transmitting through a country not on the Green List is completely fine.
@Peter ‘Nocky’ Naughnane: there’s the same issue travelling by Ferry to France (Cherbourg)Let’s say someone want to travel to Italy by car, country on the green list and have to transit France to get into Italy for a holiday where you have the right entitlement to go. The way back from Italy you will transit the France teritory again and also have to complete the locator form saying point of departure which is France, but France is not in the green list. So do you have to quarantine for 14 days or not???
Jesus what a complete and utter farce this coalition government are, how can anyone in their right mind think they are doing a good job, beggars belief.
This ‘not available for work’ at a time in which home offices are on the rise is showing the lack of knowledge on this matter.
A) Most jobs wouldn’t say anymore “Ok, you start tomorrow!”
B) Many available jobs are allowing work from home (and could even be done with a laptop ftom anywheree
While I hope that people try to take every job offered the closure of the economy was ordered by the government and not the recipient of these payments.
Green for Go, but you shouldn’t go, but if you really want to you can go, except if you’re on the PUP payment then you can’t go, actually fcek it you can go too, but you shouldn’t go.
Clear and concise, I don’t understand everyone’s problem?
How about unrestricted travel, except for those who have been to a regional hotspots within the last 14 days. We can focus our testing and other efforts on those folks. Meanwhile having an economy left at the end of all this mess.
If you fly abroad and you are in receipt of jobseekers or pup it should be stopped. Madness is the u-turn. In the UK if you go on holibobs your benefits stop and rightly so.
@LUCY Thomas: so your saying we cannot fly to see our families when we are receiving this payment, due to working in an industry that’s been massively affected.
On jobseekers, I don’t disagree, holidays shouldn’t be allowed. However the fact is that they’ve always been told that they *are* allowed to go on holidays for 2 weeks. It’s not right or legal to tell somebody they can do something and then punish them for it.
As for PUP, people on PUP aren’t all jobseekers, most are barmen, waiters, construction workers, etc, who are out of work because of (correct and sensible) restrictions. Many of them may have booked holidays a long time ago, and already paid for flights and hotels before they were on PUP.
You are entitled to your view on social welfare recipients being allowed to go on holidays, but to enforce a new rule like this without warning is unjust, and possibly illegal.
@David Bourke: you can take holidays on some social welfare payment but you must apply and indicate you are doing so BEFOREHAND. So anybody who travelled or was found to be travelling was committing fraud technically. Normally they just recoup the money and say don’t do that again. All the people that travelled without informing social welfare was pulling a fast one because they could apply later again for the holidays that has no record of been taken. So think again who is actually wrong here?
@David Bourke: fair comment, I didn’t realise they had said people were permitted to leave and still receive it. Quite right to reverse the decision to punish people. I was also under the impression the PUP was being administered along the same lines of the JSA. So much information and misinformation it’s becoming difficult to keep up.
How many cockups has this been since this new government started????? God help us if they continue at this rate. Backtracking already!!! Wow. Not a good sign at all.
@Anne Marie Devlin: if we become a red country then everyone loses social welfare because we then are staying in a red country… what a shambles this goverment are. nothing coordinated.
Wow…This incarnation of our Government are completely incompetent and out of touch. Any smidgen of confidence I was going to afford them is well and truly gone.
The PR machine is in full swing and working overtime as every day brings another embarrassment for them.
I really hope this is not a sign of things to come. Although I wouldn’t hold out too much hope on that front.
Hang on..what about the people on wage subsidy (whose employers may not even have told them they are on)…are they allowed to travel to green countries? This is becoming like an episode of Yes Minister!
Why should they be paid for potentially bringing the virus into the country the government bottled it they should have stuck to their guns and stop their payments
@Noel Donohue:
Why should they be treated differently to people no on the PUP?
That’s the whole point of this, nothing to do with importing the virus.
It’s why 1 section of society is treated differently in the groom of financial penalty to everyone else.
Terrible decision but again shows public pressure determine government action. So when the ERSI warned there was an impending housing crisis and the government planned to put money into construction they listened to the public instead. Then we had a housing crisis and the public blamed the government. The government did as the public wanted so the responsibility lies with the public. Politics is about leading and putting up with an unhappy public when required. Unfortunately the public don’t agree so we get bad decisions like this one.
Govt have also decided at today’s meeting that those in receipt of PUP payment will also be allowed purchase a beer & €9 worth of nuggets without retribution. #allinthistogether
God help us when schools attempt to open in August there will be another upturn by this hapless govt…At least we have an opposition in the dail now, Mary Lou roasted mehole on the PUP debacle and all he could come back with is Sinn Fein backing the green list in the north.time some one reminded govt that the north is a separate state ruled by the uk Parliament with uk laws…
FFG/ Greens weeks in government stumbling from one crisis to another….Heading off on their holidays now…Heather Humphries on Drive time…She can’t wait until interview to finish…stumbling and going around in circles.
Could MM not just accept that the job placement scheme he’s currently on isn’t going well and get Leo back to clear up the mess. It was clearly a mistake letting the trainees take over the government departments while we are still dealing with a crisis. Perhaps the trainees could all take a gap year.
90% of the 2500 who had PUP stopped were leaving permanently. Right decision. That’s €787K per week saved to the exchequer. I’m not sure why people would object to these checks. The situation is very fluid and authorities have to be reactive. The same people moaning are those that said all ports and airports should be closed a few weeks ago. Now they want them all open, welfare money dished out and spent abroad when we’re in the midst of a pandemic and facing bankruptcy.
The coalition of cabbages doing more uturns than a boy racer in a Honda civic……utter class A, weapons grade, complete and utter inept muppets with mehole at the helm
This is typical of this make shift gov can’t make a decision cant stick to what they put in place in case it offends some people. All there decisions of late have no solid foundation where masks don’t where masks travel dont travel isolate no restrict movement dont isolate. Open the pubs dont open the pubs. Can they not just make hard and fast decisions. They do know they can please some of the people some of the time but you csnt please all of the people all of the time. Or do they?
Its no wonder the country is in limbo over what to do when our so called leadership doesn’t know what they are doing
@Pauline Cahill: Ah but minister Humphreys didn’t admit it was a U turn. Instead she tried to pretend that the problem was a lack of clarity on her department’s part. Nauseating.
Think it’s becoming a case where people need to take to the streets , a facist government with no moral mandate or morals know what’s going on and turning a blind eye . The same week they cut payments give themselves a pay rise and they then make up rules backdating them so you are breaking rules that were not there so farcical , banana republic ,
More than €20m saved from robbers leaving country to live elsewhere – not a bad return for the taxpayer. Now let’s find the rest of them and stop the cash leaving
So did the Gardaí share that info with dept social protection. Why did they stop people on the pretext it was an emigration issue. Serious breach of data here. Wonder if the Covid app will run into trouble.
All the bad publicity about attacking the social welfare recipients is getting in the way of perks, mercs, promotions and pensions week before the 6 week holliers ( in Malta, Estonia, Latvia….etc)
so if you go to GREEN LIST country you dont need search for a Job ?? Are they have any education on what they decide? PUP is for seeking job for all not for selection-or WFF ? IRRELEVANT brown poo…..
Most people were forced out of their job by the gov, including myself.
Taking precautions, we should be allowed to visit a green list country for a weekend.
Water safety boss calls for new measures after teens' deaths in Buncrana
Eimer McAuley
1 hr ago
New York
Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs was violent but there was no sex trafficking, court told
Updated
3 hrs ago
Road Safety
CCTV from petrol station captured clear images of crash that killed Garda Kevin Flatley
Updated
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 187 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 126 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 165 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 129 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 92 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 150 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 88 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 95 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 111 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 100 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 83 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say