You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Putin hits the gym, brings along a professional photographer

In Soviet Russia, iron pumps you.

IT’S NOT UNUSUAL for the Kremlin to release images of Vladimir Putin in ‘masculine’ poses.

Remember those shirtless hunting shots?

The latest round of publicity photos show the Russian president and the country’s Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev pumping iron together, before having some tea and breakfast while discussing “a number of current issues”.

Putin and Medvedev
1 / 6
  • Putin and Medvedev

Source: The Kremlin
  • Putin and Medvedev

If there’s anything more stressful than working out, it’s working out while Putin watches you.

Read: Farmers from Cork invented Irish dancing to kill mice*

Read: See ya Australia and au revoir France, Ireland has a new favourite winemaker

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:13 PM

Putin hits the gym, gives up and eats barbecue.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:45 PM

I would like to congratulate our new overlord on his manly appearance and offer my services as commisar of the Irish Soviet Republic.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Aug 31st 2015, 8:45 PM

Spot me Vladimir!

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Aug 31st 2015, 10:19 PM

He be on the steroids in no time

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:33 PM

He’s been Putin on weight lately so it’s hardly surprising to see him Russian to the gym.

Mute sonny red
    Favourite sonny red

But can he cook scones like our Enda.

Mute Michael O' Riordan
    Favourite Michael O' Riordan
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:24 PM

Once a shmuck always. shmuck!!

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:27 PM

Only in Russia this kind of thing isn’t considered gay.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:15 PM

Very butch, macho and manly, men enjoying working out together in strenuous physical effort without any women present. Men just enjoying each other as blokes, towel flicking and affectionate wrestling, displaying their manly attributes. Nothing at all to prove!! Chuckling.

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:33 PM

If Putin is straight I’m straight and I ain’t no straight .

Mute Robert Daly
    Favourite Robert Daly
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:41 PM

My gaydar has nearly always been right and he’s ticking all the boxes to be one Supreme Queen !! Methinks he doth protest too much on gay issues not to hiding something about himself.

Aug 31st 2015, 6:52 PM
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:54 PM

science

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:55 PM

Perhaps ask his ex wife and current girlfriend, both have children from him but then again, he could be bisexual as he seems to appeal to everyone both at home and it seems abroad too. Horny lil devil I bet.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:04 PM

Previous marital history is a poor indicator and the man may feel the need to proclaim his heterosexuality in a country which has highly reactionary views.

It is terribly sad that some gay people, who have absolutely nothing to be ashamed of, such Francis Bacon and Gore Vidal, are so affected by homophobic tendencies, that they resent being gay or perceived as gay. A hostile society can make it very hard for gay people fully to accept themselves. Ms Panti (Rory O’Neill) made that point very eloquently in her noble call speech on the stage of the Abbey.

Aug 31st 2015, 7:05 PM

The wives and girlfriends are always the last to know.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:28 PM

There is that weird video of Putin kissing a child on the stomach.

Really odd but in Russia I suppose, patriotic.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Aug 31st 2015, 11:06 PM

Pussy riot would beg to differ! I’m not condoning the treatment they receive but I doubt a gay president would treat his fellow gay citizens like that.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Sep 1st 2015, 12:33 AM

Putin’s government isn’t a one man show. He had to appease the Orthodox crowd and the anti gay laws were a handy way to do that.

Sep 1st 2015, 3:29 AM

A Shane get with the program. He can’t deal with the fact that he is gay. Diverting attention. Do I need to explain any more?

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:28 PM

Love how his gym is right in the middle of the woods. I imagine after a workout he jumps onto the back of a horse to gallop into the forest and get pics of himself roundhouse kicking a wild deer or getting a grizzly bear in an arm bar.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:15 PM

Needs to get in to shape to fight all them gays. Go Putin!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:11 PM

Putin is definitely not gay, no gay at all.

He just prefers to be buff and macho in the presence of other buff and macho men, admiring each others pecs and manly manliness without the presence of women.

No siree, this man is not gay and he will prove it by fighting any man who suggests that he may have homoerotic fixations.

Aug 31st 2015, 6:25 PM

I think Mr Putin dose protest to much.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:36 PM

Have always thought the same.

Mute shelly
    Favourite shelly
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:23 PM

Is that a gun in your pocket Mr Putin? (Blushes)

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:56 PM

This time it is a gun.

Sep 1st 2015, 1:42 AM

In picture 5 you can see Putin’s knob.

Mute Gggordon
    Favourite Gggordon
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:14 PM

This is a major PR disaster by Putin – doesn’t he know only softies wear gloves in the gym – afraid of a few callouses ?

Mute Rebel Rebel
    Favourite Rebel Rebel

Oh ye well Obama is going to play in the snow with Bear Grylls.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:24 PM

Along with 30 secret service guys less than 30 yards away from him at all times.

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:58 PM

Rebel, are you a Putin fan?

Mute Rebel Rebel
    Favourite Rebel Rebel
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:26 PM

No I am certainly not a fan of his but I’d prefer him to lead my country than a yellow belly like Obama.

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:49 PM

So you prefer him over Obama. Which means that your a fan of him.
    What country do you live in?

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Aug 31st 2015, 9:38 PM

Rebel prefers any dictator over democracy at any time

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Aug 31st 2015, 10:23 PM

Larissa , Putin has won more elections and topped more popularity polls than Obama could ever dream of. To call him a dictator is just ignorance.

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Aug 31st 2015, 11:06 PM

Shane, Putin doesn’t allow anyone else to run for the leadership of Russia.
    Do you not get that?

Mute Eamonn Duggan
    Favourite Eamonn Duggan
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:12 PM

Are those two a couple ?
    Bet Putin is the giver.

Mute Robert Daly
    Favourite Robert Daly
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:43 PM

Or as I heard an ex colleague once asked his recently out brother, Is Putin the Train or the Tunnel ??? My bet is definitely The Train …I’d say he has control issues.

Aug 31st 2015, 6:52 PM

Eamonn that made me spit my tea all the place! Bravo!!!

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Aug 31st 2015, 9:03 PM

I would say he’s the socket rather than the plug…..

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Aug 31st 2015, 11:07 PM

Must you be so vulgar?

Sep 1st 2015, 3:51 AM

It has always amass me why so many “straight people” are curious about who is the giver and taker. My mind is on over. time here Eamonn lol. Assuming you are straight As a gay man with a pity good gaydar Putin is the bottom.

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:32 PM

Wow, that is one serious bulge he has down there, no wonder he needs a former Olympian gold winning gymnast as a girlfriend.

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:19 PM

In Soviet Russia, GYM pumps iron in Putin

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:03 PM

No pressure on Enda and Joan to tog out for the Dublin City Marathon.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien

What a douchebag

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:52 PM

Are you jealous because he can bench more than you can? Be honest now LOL

Aug 31st 2015, 5:46 PM

Beats Blair giving Brown an ice cream or Cameron paying for a bun for Boris… Spin on the TV as usual…

Mute Tom Harvey
    Favourite Tom Harvey
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:23 PM

gay totally gay

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:27 PM

CAPTION COMPETITION

PICTURE 3 please

Submit entry by reply – best one wins a starbar

Mute Lee Jones
    Favourite Lee Jones
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:42 PM

putin is telling him “tonight i am daddy ok”

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:48 PM

Caption……..”After we work up a good sweat…..I’ll introduce you to my favourite Politburo member”

Mute joeheaney
    Favourite joeheaney
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:12 PM

‘Hey Dimmy I have some sausage flaming on the barbecue fancy a sandwich ‘ ?

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:47 PM

Are the two lads scorin?

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:59 PM

At least he is out and about doing a bit. Our lad spends most of his time hiding under a rock

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:21 PM

Poison dwarf

Mute Kieran Ryan
    Favourite Kieran Ryan
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:29 PM

He mustn’t even be lifting 10kg in the second picture. There’s only the first two weights on for either side

Mute Vincent Sweeney
    Favourite Vincent Sweeney
    Aug 31st 2015, 5:58 PM

The probably barbecued some poor dissident

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:45 PM

Small willy complex…

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:57 PM

he’s as gay as a tree full of parrots.

Aug 31st 2015, 9:39 PM

Shouldn’t that be gayer than a treefull of monkeys on nitrous oxide?

Mute nicole
    Favourite nicole
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:32 PM

He is in charge. He is not a corporate puppet (hint Mr O). The country was on the brink of death when he took it over and it’s grown like crazy. There are problems in Russia and lots of them. But one step at a time is better than nothing. grateful to Mr. Putin for standing strong .One of few world leaders who has his country in his heart. Strong, uncompromising, intelligent, hard working and fighter for equality and working class. Not controlled by anyone and not afraid to stand up to rich elite. Brought Russian economy from brink of collapse to very strong position and reinstated pride among ordinary Russians. Every country should have one Putin at the top.

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:49 PM

+1

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 31st 2015, 9:24 PM

Russia right now is an economic hellhole. Currency seriously devalued, foreign currency almost gone, the SME market devastated and oil/gas revenue cut in half.

The only reason why Putin is still in power is because his control over the entirety of the media ensures that he can blame the West rather than his own economic mismanagement for the Russian economy faltering.

Besides I find it incredulous that you thing that Obama is owned by corporations but Putin isn’t. Must be why Putin spends all of his time with prominent Russian oligarchs then, to prove he doesn’t need them.

Mute Paul Connolly
    Favourite Paul Connolly
    Sep 1st 2015, 9:02 AM

nice to see Kremlin bloggers hard at work

Mute Fiona McCormack
    Favourite Fiona McCormack
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:09 PM

Well he doesn’t need to exercise his ego, that’s big enough!

Mute John Cross
    Favourite John Cross
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:57 PM

He’s nearly fit enough to fight his way outta the closet

Mute nicole
    Favourite nicole

Putin is making Russia stronger is a simple way of putting it. He is making the Russian economy stronger and he is also upgrade industries, and modernizing the Russian military. He pulled Russia out of the chaos that it had been in during the times of the Soviet Union and after their collapse.
    One of few world leaders who has his country in his heart. Strong, uncompromising, intelligent, hard working and fighter for equality and working class. Not controlled by anyone and not afraid to stand up to rich elite. Brought Russian economy from brink of collapse to very strong position and reinstated pride among ordinary Russians. Every country should have one Putin at the top.

Aug 31st 2015, 9:24 PM

“fighter for equality” Are you having a laugh or what?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 31st 2015, 9:27 PM

Obvious Kremlin bot is obvious. We haven’t forgotten that the Russian government pays students to post pro-Putin propaganda on both foreign and domestic websites you know.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Aug 31st 2015, 9:28 PM

OK, to be fair, Putin has guided the economy to a better place. However, it’s not all his doing. He was definitely helped by high prices for certain resources, particularly oil-related. As for not being controlled by corporates? Well, he is. In fairness, those corporates are not Western. But his policies are dictated by those at the wheel at the likes of Gazprom. He’s also not a champion of equality. He certainly favours equality if you are Slavic in general, and Russian in particular, profess either atheism or orthodox Christianity, and are white, preferably male. But if you are Tatar, Kalmyk, Chechen, LGBT, black, Korean, Chinese, etc then good luck trying to find that equality. Oh, and if you believe in the right to decide your own politicians, best to move elsewhere.

Sep 1st 2015, 4:01 AM

The name Hitler number 2 comes to mind. let’s hope the rest of the world can see it before it’s too late.

Mute nicole
    Favourite nicole
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:20 PM

I am very grateful to Mr. Putin for standing strong against Obama and his illegal administration. People need a strong leaders with a great vision !! He is in charge. He is not a corporate puppet. The country was on the brink of death when he took it over and it’s grown like crazy. There are problems in Russia and lots of them, but one step at a time is better than nothing.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne

Bigus Dickus

Aug 31st 2015, 9:40 PM

Wussia is your fwiend

Mute fixxxation
    Favourite fixxxation
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:13 PM

Id love to kick this megalomaniac straight in the nuts.

Mute fixxxation
    Favourite fixxxation
    Aug 31st 2015, 8:28 PM

Nicole agent for the kgb.

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin

Pic not showing on Android app

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger
    Aug 31st 2015, 6:56 PM

Oooh nooooo, you are really missing out. :)

Mute nanja ibukor
    Favourite nanja ibukor
    Aug 31st 2015, 7:16 PM

He wishes to test his strength. Good, good!

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Mute Maire Ui Riain
    Favourite Maire Ui Riain
    Aug 31st 2015, 10:23 PM

Mini midget dictator. Small man….weak chin…plenty neck

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 1st 2015, 8:46 AM

They look happy together. I am delighted he found someone.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Sep 1st 2015, 12:44 AM

Russia does democracy far better than the U.S.

In Russia the outcome of an election is known prior to the election.

In the US, the outcome of an election may be unclear even after the election.

Mute Paul Connolly
    Favourite Paul Connolly
    Sep 1st 2015, 9:01 AM

Mad Vlad at it again. I’m sure all the equipment they’re using is made with pride Mother Russia…or as McCain calls it, ‘a petrol station with a country’

Mute Shane Gubbins
    Favourite Shane Gubbins
    Sep 1st 2015, 1:46 AM

Can we all just go back there to picture no.2 where he’s pulling on the thingys and zoom in and see that the great warrior Putin is lifting an unbelievably heavy two bricks per arm