You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Queen of England is turning 90 soon, and she's just sold out her birthday party

Buckingham Palace has sold 25,000 tickets to the gala celebration which takes place next year. They don’t come cheap…

Queen's reign in pictures Fiona Hanson / PA Fiona Hanson / PA / PA

TICKETS TO QUEEN Elizabeth II’s 90th birthday celebrations sold out within hours yesterday as Buckingham Palace promised four days of pageantry “fit for the queen”, including dancing and horse shows.

Britain’s longest-ever reigning monarch, Elizabeth turns 90 on 21 April next year and the palace has organised a public celebration lasting four days at Windsor Castle, one of the royal family’s residences outside London.

The 25,000 tickets for the events between 12 and 15 May next year cost up to £165 (€234), with the most expensive places situated next to the “Royal Enclosure” where royals might attend.

The queen herself will attend the finale that Sunday and proceeds from the sale will go to charity, Buckingham Palace said.

Those unable to buy tickets can still apply for one of 5,000 free slots, allowing them to watch the ceremony on a screen and see various celebrities arrive.

The ceremonies will involve 900 horses and 1,500 artists including dancers, musicians and actors from around the world, the palace said.

Around 100 bagpipe players will also take part.

The queen is expected to celebrate her actual birthday in private and then take part in the official yearly ceremony known as the Trooping of the Colour in June.

Read: Prince Philip got fed up posing so told a photographer to ‘just take the f*cking picture’

Read: The Queen is about to become Britain’s longest EVER reigning monarch

View 55 comments
55 Comments
    Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:34 PM

Have we a queen? I though this was a Republic but maybe I missed something going by your headline

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:40 PM

Typical Irish media BS. ‘The Queen’ would make ya sick, she’s worth £31bn and has never worked a day in her life

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:47 PM

Will she contribute some of the vast wealth she doesn’t even need to the refugee crisis?

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Favourite Sunshine on a rainy
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:49 PM

She is worthy billions to the UK economy and attracts millions of tourists.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:51 PM

Never works? She nearly 90 and she’s still working!

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:53 PM

The little crown she wears at special occasions is worth a few million. auction that off. It would go along way helping. After all monarchy belongs in the 19th century. She’s more than good for tourism but some of the structure still used and formal practice is silly

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:58 PM

That is part of the heritage of the country. Should we sell off the book of Kells or Tara Brooch for a few bob too?

Mute Ben Smith
    Favourite Ben Smith
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:09 PM

Monarchy is completely anachronistic in this day and age. Just look at some of the backwards kips that still have a monarch: Belgium, Denmark, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden. Thank God we don’t live in any of those places, right?

Mute C de Gallaidhe
    Favourite C de Gallaidhe
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:32 PM

‘The’ Queen?

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:36 PM

Ronan Duffy – Did Hugh O’Connell put you up to writing this Quiz ?

We don’t have a queen in Ireland – we are a Republic !!!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:37 PM

Poor journalism. Had to click the article to find out which and whose Queen they were referring to.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:50 PM

Get over yourselves and stop your faux ignorance and self pity.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:56 PM

The golden blue trio.. Ronan, Orla and Hugh

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:07 PM

Thank goodness for that Ronan! Bad and all as the Republic is at times, don’t think I could stomach that monarchy!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:12 PM

Lads it’s not a news article, it’s a tongue in cheek quiz so I was being a little colloquial with the language. I wouldn’t ever refer to Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II as anything but that in a serious piece.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:26 PM

No need to apologise Ronan, some people like to be offended. The Queen is the Queen and we all know who it is when the Queen is used.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:48 PM

Ronan, ignore them, the fact that these people are still holding a grudge over wars fought well before their time speaks for who they are as people. I enjoyed the quiz.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:21 PM

Really? I’m impressed you can even read if that’s your level of geographical and cultural awareness. Fair play Rochelle. You’ll get there x

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:07 AM

Shinnerbots not happy, even though their party accepted the British Queen as head of State of Northern Ireland, all for a few jobs at her majesty’s pleasure.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:34 AM

I was wondering when I’d see you comment Diarmuid.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 9th 2015, 7:19 AM

panti

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:37 AM

Monarchy is for sad f**** who have no self respect

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Sep 9th 2015, 2:13 PM

Britain’s not much of a monarchy though. Hasn’t been since at least 1689. Elizabeth only has the job because Baldwin sacked Edward VIII. Britain’s a parliamentary republic pretending to be a monarchy so the “Crown” (i.e. the Prime Minister and cabinet exercising the sovereign’s residual powers ) won’t have to compete with a President or a Constitutional Court and won’t have to suffer too many restrictions on his/her ability to declare war or mess about with the currency.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:20 PM

It appears that I’m Prince George and have ‘awesome ‘ hair.

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:05 PM

I’m Prince William :-)

Mute Ciara Reynold
    Favourite Ciara Reynold
    Sep 9th 2015, 5:52 AM

Who came up with this utter garbage, quiz Queen? Honestly. I know you must be a stupid british blown or something duffy to write this garbage or else you are looking to offend.

Mute Ciara Reynold
    Favourite Ciara Reynold
    Sep 9th 2015, 6:30 AM

Honestly what a pile of drivel quiz and headline to put on an Ireland news website. This Duffy idiot must be a blow in from abroad, otherwise he needs an a right good slap.

Mute Leadóg Hackett
    Favourite Leadóg Hackett
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:11 AM

This is Ireland. We have rubbish, not garbage.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:13 AM

I’m my own Queen :))

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:15 AM

Sorry i thought i was on the Journal not the Daily Mail. Oops

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:15 AM

Queen Mehole

Mute John Johnson (KCCO)
    Favourite John Johnson (KCCO)
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:43 PM

What’s going on? Why’s everyone going nuts?

It’s only a bit of a quiz to do while sitting on the jacks.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:33 AM

A. How much money does Lizzie have ?
    B. Where did she get all the money ?
    C. Why did she get picked to be Queen by God or whoever :)

Mute John Johnson (KCCO)
    Favourite John Johnson (KCCO)
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:53 AM

1. No idea, but I heard in the billions
    2. Inherited the most of it
    3. By being the oldest child of her father

Mate if you get offended by a little quiz for fun like this, I feel sorry for you, you need to put down the Internet and get out and enjoy yourself, life’s too short for that.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:46 PM

Seems i know more about the Queen of Denmark……….

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:52 PM

One of her corgi’s is called kenny

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:41 PM

Where did this quiz even come from?
    Pure random tripe

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:55 PM

It came from an author who thought it might be a good bit of tongue in cheek.
    Where that comment come from?

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:00 PM

My head first then my fingers as I typed it.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:04 PM

See, it isn’t that hard to figure out where things come from now is it? You did it all by yourself this time, well done!
    Now we can get complicated and I can explain to you how the words left your pc and travelled all the way here to the Journal, but thats for another day, class dismissed.

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:33 PM

You’re hilarious Aaron.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:35 PM

Yeah I know? You don’t have to tell me that, thanks for attempting to assure me though..?

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:36 PM

And I’m sure you got I was being sarcastic but I’m sure you don’t need me to point that out?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:37 PM

Oh my god, I just thought of such a good reply for your last comment, damn……

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:42 PM

Than why did you point it out? Bit of a contradiction there darling, should have said “didn’t need” if you wanted to make sense, but that’s besides the point. Yes I got that you were being sarcastic, even if it doesn’t matter now, considering you pointed it out when you said you don’t need to point it out.

I’m sure that you got that I was being sarcastic? I didn’t think I needed to point it out.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:43 PM

Can I tell you what my reply to your comment on how hilarious I am was going to be?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:45 PM

Stop upvoting yourself by the way.

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:59 PM

Back the hell off you weirdo! You won’t get another reply out of me.
    I’m nobody’s darling by the way.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:04 PM

Comparing the extremity of your reaction to how easy it was to get it, that was by far the best reaction to anything I have seen. Anyway I was going to reply with “So are your eyebrows” but alas, you flipped your shit, so this is the end of our convo.

Sep 9th 2015, 9:17 PM

I got 9 out of 10.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 9th 2015, 10:48 PM

Heh

Sep 10th 2015, 1:17 AM

Yeah got one wrong. Opted for Air force instead of British Army, based on the fact her offspring are involved in that wing. Although Navy also. I never knew she joined the British Army. Some say the divil is dead…

Sep 10th 2015, 1:24 AM

Sorry to be pedantic, but surely if one joins either the air force or the navy, one is automatically joining the army? That was a trick question and one is not amused.

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Sep 10th 2015, 2:16 PM

I took a guess at that one – knew she was in the Ambulance Auxilliary but didn’t know what service it was part of – just assumed Army. I got the number of kids and grand-kids wrong. Don’t know what Edward and Sophie have so just took a punt on 13. So we’re both Prince William Jamie.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:39 PM

Next quiz will be “how well do you know the words to God save the Queen” – blueshirt.ie

Mute Sunshine on a rainy

Gerry and co happy to take her shillings for years. Isn’t Gerry titled also?

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

F right off with your quiz.Are you on those fizz bombs again?

Mute Paul Quinlan
    Favourite Paul Quinlan
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:54 PM

Liz gotta lotta haters

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:12 PM

Does she like her Gin from a ?
    A. Pint Glass
    B. Bottle
    C. China Tea Cup
    D.Doesn’t matter where is the fuggging Gin, now!

Mute Sticky Micky
    Favourite Sticky Micky
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:54 PM

She can piss off

Sep 8th 2015, 7:36 PM

You’re Princess Charlotte 4 outta 10 but they were guesses…
    And the Queen is of Germanic stock…

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:53 AM

Yeah cause the Queens Ma was scottish and her Da was the great grandson of a german man called Albert. Really really german there the Queen is……

Sep 9th 2015, 1:19 PM

It is a fact that Princess Diana have more of a genetic link to the British Royal family of old that this Queen has, Queen Victorian was not genetically pure either.
    It is even said that this Royal FAMILY have nothing to do with the Royal bloodline of ancient British Royals and that might have something connected to the 2 princes as well, I think so?
    So Diana had more right to be Queen than the present Queen has and that is a thought…

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:38 PM

Shite, I got two right!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 9th 2015, 1:57 AM

How many palaces does the Queen have…….?

Mute Khaydeez
    Favourite Khaydeez
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:53 PM

How about a real quiz!!

1. How many people have died under her family’s reign?
    2. What county was the Koh-i-Noor diamond from that sits in her crown confiscated from?
    3. How much does it cost the UK taxpayer to keep them?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:57 PM

Or how many pedophiles are friends with the royals?

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:00 PM

You do that the Queen has never declared war on a country, that since her reign that any wars the UK has been involved in were declared by parliament.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:44 PM

Khaydeez,
    You do know that the queen brings in 200million every year for the UK economy right?

It costs 40 million to upkeep the Royal family, that is a profit of 160 million into the UK economy, not only that but without the reigning monarch the people of Britain would be paying 2 pound more in tax than they do, thanks to land agreements set out when the monarchy was broke centuries ago with Parliament, which would bring the annual monarchy tax from 65pence a year to 2.65 pence.
    So all in all in the space of an average life time lets say 80 years it costs the british tax payer 52 pound. Just over half of what the moochers get here every week.

I suppose you would like a source?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bhyYgnhhKFw

So she actually saves the British taxpayer 2 pound.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:53 PM

Now we wait for the red thumbs, can’t be having any form of logic being used on this great Island of ours!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:59 PM

Infact, you pay more here in your lifetime to upkeep the life of people who set fire to cars for fun and graffiti “up the ra”, sorry but I’d much prefer that money going to a monarch.

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Favourite Muiris O'Daltuin
    Sep 8th 2015, 7:41 PM

Well enough to know she’s a racist imperialist who’s fond of horses and dogs , which she treats better than her staff & certain members of her own family.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:53 PM

I treat animals better than I treat people, want to know why? Because people are annoying. I don’t blame her.

Mute Khaydeez
    Favourite Khaydeez
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:56 PM

No no I meant what I said. I have more of a say in how my tax pounds upkeep the monarchy by having the ability to vote for political parties who can change how my money is allocated! Like the ability to abolish the Sovereign Grant Act, which crazily states that the amount of tax payers money paid to the Royal Family cannot be less than the previous year. I can vote to change that! You can’t! And to be honest your comments on Ireland are disgraceful! My family is Irish and its a great country. You should have a little more pride in being Irish. You’re county has some economical issues but at least you aren’t dragged into war after war! But to be honest you’d probably like that! I’m done talking now. Anyone who has no respect for his county has no respect for anything.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:09 AM

Your logic dumbfounds me, tell me, what has Ireland done to make me proud to be Irish since Independence? Actually no, I don’t support war on any fronts, unlike alot of my Irish peers who supported blatant terrorism. What have we done to improve the world?

We aren’t taken any bit seriously on the world stage? We aren’t in any way politically influential? We couldn’t even defend ourselves if necessary and rely on the UK for defence essentially while at the same time pouting when people call us British. Our Health, Education, Transport systems are all failing the people of the country so why would I be proud? I respect many things.

Also one more thing, I can vote to change that as Irish have essentially the same if not the exact same voting rights as the British in Britain as thanks to a pre 1949 act, we are not regarded as foreigners, so if I want to come over and live in the UK, I can infact vote to disolve the Soverign Grant act.

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:13 PM

I’d spit in her tea

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:32 PM

I would like to see you try to get past the armed guards, a hurley won’t cut it.

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Sep 9th 2015, 1:32 PM

I’d piss in it

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:26 PM

Nurrrr we Irish, nurrrr we hate Kween, nurrrr, nurrrr, nurrr.

Seriously lads, get a grip.

Who’s more obsessed with Britain – the people spending time from their day haranguing a foreign country’s choice of Head of State (as if an article on Margrethe of Denmark would inspire you all to wax lyrical about the ethics of monarchy) or the people who clicked on here for a bit of a laugh and got on with their lives?

If we’re so “nurrr not british nurrr”, then let’s let them get on with their quaint customs, like we do with every other monarch we never heard of, yaw?

War’s loooong over kids, grow up.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:29 PM

“Up the RA” – 95% of Journal.ie commenters

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:34 PM

“United Ireland!” – 90% of Journal.ie commenters, shortly before launching into a rant that’ll turn off every moderate unionist up North whose vote they’ll need if that’s to ever happen.

It’s like a national birth defect – I bet the generations who actually FOUGHT the British didn’t come off as snivellingly victimy as these keyboard warriors. You’d want to be really insecure in your nationalism to need to bang on about the oppressors who cleared out nearly 100 years ago. The Jews are blushing, like.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:38 PM

Did we just become best friends?

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:44 PM

Yes. yes we did.

And we have Liz and the Civil-War re-enactment saddo’s above to thank :’o)

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:49 PM

Best Journal piece ever.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:11 PM

One simple reason that I do not care for the queen, her family or all the toadies and hangers on Aaron is that to have such an institution encourages people to be obsequious. Synonyms being, servile, ingratiating, fawning and sycophantic amongst others. You sound a tad like Uriah Heep in your posts. I question why you need this in your life?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:23 PM

Personally, I don’t care for her as much as you do, what I do care about? Being the same nationality as people who still to this day hold a grudge against a women regardless of the fact that she had no part to play in what was done to Ireland by the British and the fact that these people had no involvement whatsoever in the struggle for Independence.

I sound like Uriah Heep? I’m pretty insincere, admittedly I do sound like Uriah, but I don’t consider it bad. I just like providing facts, regardless of my stance on any matter, facts are facts and people on this site have an issue with accepting them.

You sound like you try too hard to show that you are intelligent, remember if you are going to comment, you want the person replying to understand what you mean, wording your comment in a fanciful way doesn’t make you more intelligence. Yes by the way I did have to Google obsequious.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:30 PM

I would also like to ask you came to the idea that I am obedient to a servile degree? Speaking the truth isn’t being attentive. Refuting what people say because genuine facts say different isn’t being attentive.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:23 AM

Got ya there Aaron. Feathers a bit ruffled mate? Bye.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:27 AM

I actually upvoted that comment, I like you, you’re cool.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 8th 2015, 8:26 PM

Open her palace to the migrants it should hold quite a few and then they can be some use

Mute Khaydeez
    Favourite Khaydeez
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:14 PM

@sunshine on a rainy. So the house of Windsor (House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha) has never been involved in any wars or bloody crown battles!!???? Silly me!! it was all the UK Parliament was it? You do know that
    the Queen is the world’s biggest feudal landowner owning 6billion acres of land!! (1/6 of the earths surface) And I’m sure all that land was acquired peacefully!! Bless her!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:46 PM

You’re very bad at getting a point across.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:55 PM

Hiya Khaydeez,

I’d love to say I read your post, but from a quick scan it’s filled with exclamation points and, let’s face it, that never bodes well.

Try harder next time to write like an adult.

All the best.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:59 PM

I always wondered why some people insist on the old “!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!” type to get their point across.

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:05 PM

It’s because hysterical people are ALWAYS taken seriously!!!!!1111!11one!1

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:06 PM

Oh Ya I Suppose You Are Right Same Goes For People Who Capitalise Every Word!?!?!?!!?!!?!?

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:07 PM

aW sToP hUn iT dUz mE hEd in huN xxxx wb

Mute Khaydeez
    Favourite Khaydeez
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:28 PM

@aaron o Leary. Is your ridiculous YouTube link any more relevant? And what makes you think I’m Irish! I’m actually Scottish to be honest! So have more of a say on how my tax pounds upkeep an archaic institution. You don’t seem very pleased to be Irish Aaron. I’m getting very strong undertones from you. Do you want to be British? Have you been rejected for a passport? Are you one of those morons who lived in London and think youre well travelled? This post is not anti British, its anti royalist! And @conor Sweeney are you the grammar police? There isn’t enough exclamation marks to emphasise how much of a tool you’re being! Both of you should meet up and watch downton Abbey together!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:36 PM

Yes you moron, it is more relevant considering it provides relevant facts and relevant links to sources that back up those facts, it isn’t unlike your link a one paragraph opinion piece, opinion isn’t fact. I’m not exactly proud of my country, it has given me no reason to be. That’s not rocket science.

I’ve never applied for a British passport, my parents aren’t British, how could I? Well considering I’ve probably been to more countries than you can count, I am quite well travelled, and only travelled to London recently. However I’m sure you can’t all that well based on your logic.

You linked me an opinion piece with no back up to the opinion they are sharing, yet you claimed it as fact, go back to school will you? Hell I am up for meeting up, heard it’s a good show.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:37 PM

Also, you don’t have a say on how your pounds upkeep the monarchy, that’s up to parliament, not you. I think you meant to say ‘I know more about where my tax pounds go’ which very clearly from your comments, you don’t.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:53 PM

If anything you should have linked me this: http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/queens-finances-explained-you-need-3753404 as it atleast provides for some truth to one of your points

Mute Merkler
    Favourite Merkler
    Sep 9th 2015, 10:17 AM

O leary you sound like a bigger clown than the clown you are arguing with. Pipe down will you. A whinging pom

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:07 PM

So for all the Queen haters out there, don’t know why you would, Freddie was a fantastic frontman, but anyway I would seriously recommend putting an end to this whole mindset that us Irish are much better off without our British counterparts and stop pretending like you yourself has some form of involvement in 1916, just take one look at our country post independence or better yet let this blog post do it for you:

http://bocktherobber.com/2009/08/what-has-irish-independence-given-us/

The British did alot wrong not only to us, but many other nations, but stop harboring that hate, it should have died with the previous generations. The British of today should not have to answer for what their ancestors did.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:45 PM

Republicanism does breed ignorance.

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:05 PM

You’re ignorant

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:28 PM

You forgot the questions, “how many paedophile friends does she have”? How many deaths of Irish citizens has her family allowed to occur during their reign?

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Sep 8th 2015, 9:49 PM

it’s a light hearted quiz , you all need to chill out and stop taking things so seriously !

Mute Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dole Dosser Dawson
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:43 AM

The Queer

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:10 AM

Which Queen would that be ??

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Sep 9th 2015, 8:23 AM

Which queen? The picture beside the headline was a bit of a clue. Anyone who has used cash on the neighbouring island or in the northern part of this one may have spotted the similarity.

Mute Khaydeez
    Favourite Khaydeez
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:03 PM

@aaron o’Leary the figure of 40m you quote is the official window dressed figure, the reality is much higher. 8 times higher some believe as the accounts do not include for police protection, private security and expenses… The royal family do not save the UK public money. That’s just ridiculous!
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/anti-monarchy-group-claims-true-cost-5931497

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:12 PM

Did you actually just link me an article which reports on one anti monarchy’s group findings? You try to claim it as solid fact that one miniscule group who has one miniscule opinion speaks for the Queens expenses? As in, it’s essentially one paragraph long and contains no links to this “report” they released nor any links to reputable sources. Damn, all hope is lost with this one. It’s not window dressed, it’s reality, the 40 million a year pays for her entire upkeep, Police protection if even not included would be included in the standard social tax, which regardless of monarch or not would remain the same so that’s irrelevent. How about some facts?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:15 PM

Seriously Khaydeez though, did you try to refute my facts with a newspaper article talking nothing more except about how some cry baby group thinks it costs 8 times more than the official number given? It didn’t link to anything nor provide any facts? This is why I cringe at the thought of me being Irish, I’m actually the same nationality as you….

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:17 PM

I can link you 10 more sources if you’d like.

Mute Ciara Reynold
    Favourite Ciara Reynold
    Sep 9th 2015, 6:06 AM

What kind of an utter clown would come with this quiz and headline on an Ireland news website honestly, this Duffy clown needs a good slap wherever he is from.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Sep 8th 2015, 10:28 PM

Have a little look at ‘Royal Babylon The Criminal Record of the British Monarchy’

Mute Ian cunningham
    Favourite Ian cunningham
    Sep 9th 2015, 9:29 AM

How well do j know the Queen? Why would I want to know her?

What a stupid quiz / headline to put on a Republic of Ireland website

Sep 9th 2015, 2:03 PM

Because she has money lol.

Mute Denis O 'Brien
    Favourite Denis O 'Brien
    Sep 9th 2015, 9:22 AM

To hell with the begrugers
    I think she’s great! Congratulations to her.

Mute Ahren Boache
    Favourite Ahren Boache
    Sep 9th 2015, 10:23 AM

Ah you’re only a spurious Denis O Brien, thought you were the real deal with that comment of yours!

Mute Ahren Boache
    Favourite Ahren Boache
    Sep 9th 2015, 10:09 AM

Two correct, I am delighted with that result. F**k the queen!

Mute Chris Kelly
    Favourite Chris Kelly
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:15 AM

C U Next Tuesday

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Sep 9th 2015, 10:29 AM

How well does the Queen know me?!

Sep 9th 2015, 2:01 PM

She never licked your backside and thump you onto an envelope?

Mute Ailín Kennedy
    Favourite Ailín Kennedy
    Sep 9th 2015, 7:55 AM

Why did I just do this quiz…

Mute Pádraig McCann
    Favourite Pádraig McCann
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:10 PM

Corrections: Queen Elizabeth II won’t become the longest reigning British Monarch until tomorrow around 5pm.

Sep 9th 2015, 2:02 PM

Heard she died in the loo…

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Sep 9th 2015, 12:40 PM

this c*** can eat a dick up

Mute Debi Nikita
    Favourite Debi Nikita
    Sep 8th 2015, 11:09 PM

I’m still waiting for my invitation.

Sep 9th 2015, 2:00 PM
Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected