You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Johnson says he has an 'overwhelming mandate' to take Britain out of EU by end of January

Johnson lead the Tories to a massive victory in the general election.

LAST UPDATE | 13 Dec 2019

general-election-2019 British Prime Minister Boris Johnson makes a statement outside Downing Street today Victoria Jones Victoria Jones

BRITISH PRIME MINISTER Boris Johnson has pledged to heal the divisions of Brexit, as he returned to Downing Street after securing a crushing general election victory over Labour.

Speaking on the steps of No 10 after a string of Labour strongholds fell to the Tories, the Prime Minister said he had an “overwhelming mandate” to take Britain out of the EU by the end of January.

But at the same time he sought to reach out to Remainers, insisting his “One Nation” government would never ignore their feelings of “warmth and sympathy” towards the other nations of Europe.

“Now is the moment, precisely as we leave the EU, to let those natural feelings find renewed expression in building a new partnership,” he said.

“I frankly urge everyone on either side of what are, after three and a half years, increasingly arid argument, I urge everyone to find closure and to let the healing begin.”

Tweet by @BBC Breaking News BBC Breaking News / Twitter BBC Breaking News / Twitter / Twitter

With all 650 seats declared, the Conservatives had a majority of 80 – the party’s strongest election performance since Margaret Thatcher in the 1980s.

The Prime Minister is now expected to reintroduce his Brexit deal in the Commons next week following the Queen’s Speech and State Opening of Parliament on Thursday.

The result plunged Labour into turmoil, with Jeremy Corbyn announcing he would not take the party into the next general election after seeing a string of former strongholds fall to the Tories.

But he faced furious demands to quit immediately after he said he intended to lead the party through a “process of reflection” as it considered the way forward.

Queen’s confirmation

Earlier today, Johnson completed the final formality of his general election victory – an audience with the Queen to be confirmed as Prime Minister.

Johnson was greeted by the Queen’s Equerry-in-Waiting Lieutenant Colonel Charles Richards and her private secretary Edward Young when his ministerial car arrived at Buckingham Palace just before 11am.

As the sitting Prime Minister, the meeting was just a formality but an important process – when the head of state would have followed convention and asked the politician whether he would form a government.

Following the Conservative Party’s election triumph, Johnson now has a large majority in the House of Commons and was the most likely person for the Queen to appoint as her PM.

The main requirement for the monarch is to find someone who can command the confidence of the Commons and with more than 360 MPs the Tories are now the party of government.

The Queen has seen 13 premiers come and go during her reign, with Johnson her 14th Prime Minister.

Johnson spent almost 40 minutes at the palace and would have met the Queen in the audience room, part of a small suite of rooms that form her private apartments.

After their meeting he was escorted by the Queen’s Equerry-in-Waiting to his car and left the London landmark for Downing Street.

- Additional reporting Michelle Hennessy

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 59 comments
59 Comments
    Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    May 13th 2015, 2:37 PM

What did you edit it with, 5 litres of tipex………..

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 13th 2015, 3:00 PM

Colour trend French white ,tippex is so
    last season .

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 13th 2015, 2:28 PM

Kid with black marker makes headlines

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin

We are becoming very easily outraged. Political posters have always been subject to vandalism. Who hasn’t drawn a Hitler moustache on a photograph of someone or other?

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    May 13th 2015, 5:24 PM

Nothing worse than getting a ‘sneaky hitler’ when as hungover as a judge!!

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 1:58 PM

Good “respectful” debate they cry

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    May 13th 2015, 2:19 PM

Whoever did this is a raging homophobe but not necessarily representative of the no campaign as a whole. This is a bye-election poster not a referendum poster. The defacers are filth but it is unfair to use this act to tar all no supporters.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 2:21 PM

If it was a poster of Ronan Mullen and vote yes and homophobe was written on it the no side would be the first to call it and claim that it silences their speech. Why apply double standards?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr

Was ‘vote no’ written on paddy’s poster? I think it is disingenuous to use this as a stick to beat the no campaign with when we criticise them for introducing straw men such as surrogacy. This sort of hate will continue long after May 22nd regardless of the vote. Paddy is not the first, nor will he be the last, candidate subject to bigotry.

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    May 13th 2015, 2:30 PM

It’s weird that they would write this on his poster and not on a Yes poster

But then again, it’s weird that they would do this at all!

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 2:33 PM

Well sorry, just homophobe then. The no side would still be up in arms. I’m not saying that makes it ok either as people are entitled to their opinion. If anything, the passing of this referendum will make this hate less acceptable in general society. It’s a step in the right direction.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    May 13th 2015, 2:39 PM

Todd in fairness, have you seen the state of the No Posters outside Glasnevin cemetery, im suprised there is any black spray paint left in Dublin…..

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 13th 2015, 2:50 PM

Well if a yes vote is carried we will have voted to say we all like gay people and homophobia will cease to exist remember.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 2:50 PM

No I haven’t, but that’s not right either. I’ll be glad to see the back of this so we can all just get on with our lives. I hope to be congratulating my brother and my gay friends next Saturday evening.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    May 13th 2015, 3:13 PM

The difference is Mullen isn’t running in a bye election so I don’t think you’re analogy is fair

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 3:20 PM

It was hypothetical. You’re saying that it was ok for this candidates poster to be defaced with homophobic comments because he is running is that it? Sound logic ya got there

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 13th 2015, 3:21 PM

Im very much in favour of SSM but to me this does not look like something the No side would do.Its not their style.This was probably just some little oik with no connection to the SSM debate or an idiot outsider.

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    May 13th 2015, 3:31 PM

I’m guessing its a “soft yes ” voter expressing their new found outrage ,or could be that new group family apartheid or whatever their calling themselves .
    Who’s the new group with the bible quotes on the posters ?another Iona shell corporation or is there actually a separate group ,can’t remember the name bit like an anti ageing cream but religious

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    May 13th 2015, 3:43 PM

Who ever did this is a stupid kid. Who cares!

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 13th 2015, 3:47 PM

No joe, homophobia will not be wiped out but lgbt kids will feel less marginalised. 29,000 kids called childline last year with issues surrounding sexuality. A yes vote will give the lgbt kids hope

Mute Sean Gallagher
    Favourite Sean Gallagher
    May 13th 2015, 3:51 PM

John,

Totally agree that this isn’t a “no campaign” issue. This is a homophobe. Simple as.

He’s probably gonna vote no, but I don’t think the two are necessarily related.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 13th 2015, 5:17 PM

There are homophobes in Ireland. These homophobes will vote no.

It is not necessarily the case that every vote supporter of NO is a homophobe but we can say that the homophobes and the No side share a common interest for now, at least.

Mute Silent majority
    Favourite Silent majority
    May 13th 2015, 2:09 PM

Now I’m really confused. Renua is the only Dáil party not in favour of the amendment (it takes a neutral position)…..

Mute Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Stephen Fitzpatrick
    May 13th 2015, 2:34 PM

The party is neutral but the candidate is pro.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 13th 2015, 2:42 PM

Technically all politicians should take a neutral position on everything -
    They should be able to present both sides of the argument and let the people decide ….
    Anything else is nothing more than a distinct lack of understanding what a legislator is – hence the calamities such as …
    Beef Crisis – no export allowed within the E.U.
    People getting their electricity cut off while the E.S.B workers get huge pensions , salaries and shares and special sweet little deals with MIchael Noonan’s outfit – Was Josephine Feehily head of the Revenue commissioners when this deal was done ? If so she is entirely unsuitable as a Chairwoman of the Garda Commissioner whatever it was she got moved to !

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    May 13th 2015, 2:52 PM

If all politicians took a neutral stance on everything then how would anything get done? Sorry maybe that’s a naive question? But just something I thought when I read your comment Hermes

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 13th 2015, 4:19 PM

look at the swiss system Todd
    easiest job in the world to let the wisdom of the people decide the future rather than shoving laws down one’s throat !

Mute Sean Gallagher
    Favourite Sean Gallagher
    May 13th 2015, 4:35 PM

Hermes,

The government proposes legislation and you expect them not to speak to it?

Really?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 13th 2015, 2:00 PM

Although this is wrong, there is posters constantly vandalised. Everything from swastikas to slurs, yet they don’t make the news. It’s almost like there is a referendum that concerns homosexuals on the horizon.

Mute were not jamming
    Favourite were not jamming
    May 13th 2015, 3:36 PM

There are, plural.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 13th 2015, 2:00 PM

Poor “No” supporters being “bullied” and “silenced” by having their hatred publicised.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 13th 2015, 2:04 PM

Could have been worse. Could have pulled the poster down altogether which has been done by some in the yes camp.

Vote yes for equality.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    May 13th 2015, 2:12 PM

How do you know that it was “No” supporters? Could have been disgruntled FF supporters or just ordinary homophobes with no interest in politics. COuld even have been someone with a personal grudge against the man. That is unless you know more than we know.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 13th 2015, 2:14 PM

True, Brian. Could even have been environmentalists protesting the use of paper. Or some religious group that’s opposed to using photographs because they steal people’s souls.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

I would say it was done by a yes supporter to deliberately reflect poorly on No voters as the yes side grows concerned with the shift towards a no vote.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 13th 2015, 5:21 PM

It is possible that it was a passionate NO supporter who harbours homophobic attitudes.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 13th 2015, 7:58 PM

What “shift towards no”? Show me one poll that shows that? Yawn.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    May 13th 2015, 8:24 PM

brian .ordinary homophobes..? how many types of homophobes are there

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    May 13th 2015, 2:02 PM

To be fair, you see this kind of vandalism at nearly every bus-top in the country. A few bored teenagers with nothing better to be doing. What next…..a moral outcry when someone writes ‘Mr. Casey is gay’ on the school toilet wall?

Kids are kids

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    May 13th 2015, 2:07 PM

Ah you should have said. That’s ok then.

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    May 13th 2015, 2:10 PM

All teachers called Mr Casey getting knowing looks in the staff room today now.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 13th 2015, 2:17 PM

Good point. It could be something as innocent and irrelevant as, for example, Mr Casey getting discriminated against because of his sexuality.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 13th 2015, 2:39 PM

Mr Casey has instructed his solicitor!

Mute @Aoifs2707
    Favourite @Aoifs2707
    May 13th 2015, 1:58 PM

WTF is wrong with people? Some seriously pathetic people out there.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 13th 2015, 2:45 PM

Posters are so 80s aren’t they ?
    Dominate the psyche – “There can be no one else !”
    Meanwhile 10% of the Irish control and own 50% of the wealth –
    What was the distribution before Enda the Evicter took office to throw Irish people out on the street for Vulture funds to provide cover for the wealthy to keep talking more than they will ever need !

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    May 13th 2015, 3:03 PM

I can’t manage to get outraged over this since you didn’t bother to tell me or show me what was written on the poster.
    It looks like someone drew a frog near his mouth. Is it a frog? A homophobic frog?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 13th 2015, 2:25 PM

He’s still not going to get elected .

Mute Danny Lahart
    Favourite Danny Lahart
    May 13th 2015, 2:43 PM

He used this trick in the local elections as well, I think he is looking for sympathy votes, this is the same Mr McKee who said on being elected that he would not claim expenses if elected, but according to today’s Kilkenny people he still claimed over €11,000 in expenses and over €2000 for being vice chairman, not a guy to be trusted

Mute Barry O'Donovan
    Favourite Barry O'Donovan
    May 13th 2015, 2:16 PM

Renua are nothing than right wing religious conservatives of the ruling elite

Mute Egg Head
    Favourite Egg Head
    May 13th 2015, 2:24 PM

With an openly gay candidate representing them in a by election.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 13th 2015, 2:51 PM

Married Fathers and Mothers have an openly gay representative. Being gay doesn’t automatically mean one is liberal.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

I just want to record my highest commendation to Mr. Denis O’Brien (since I can’t comment on any thread actually associated with him). A man who has the courage to take up the cudgels on behalf of an embattled minority – i.e., the ten per cent or so who are billionaires – someone has to speak up on behalf of these unfortunates and it gives me special pride to know that their champion hails from our own Island. Well done, DOB.

Mute Sam Fallon
    Favourite Sam Fallon
    May 13th 2015, 2:31 PM

He done that himself

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    May 13th 2015, 3:51 PM

Being from Kilkenny I no that this is the un mistakeable work of silly school kids who just think its funny! They probably write the same and draw the same on public toilets and school toilets. I wouldn’t have thought it was even news worthy meself to be honest. Im pretty sure they don’t even no or could no what a homophobe is.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    May 13th 2015, 3:12 PM

Nice censoring job you did with Paint there, lads.

Mute Declan Burke
    Favourite Declan Burke
    May 13th 2015, 5:19 PM

Jesus if I got in the news every time someone kid drew a penis or wrote a vulgar name on one of my election posters there would be no room for any other news on the papers!

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    May 13th 2015, 6:06 PM

declan dont be saying jesus otherwise youll be called a homophobe and the warriors of yes will all gang up on you

Mute Sean Gallagher
    Favourite Sean Gallagher
    May 13th 2015, 4:39 PM

To be honest, it looks like this guy is being targeted given that this has happened to him before.

http://www.thejournal.ie/posters-defaced-local-elections-1442335-May2014/

Mute Michelle Long
    Favourite Michelle Long
    May 13th 2015, 4:52 PM

Or done by his.own camp.to gain sympathy votes.like last time..

Mute Jack Nolan
    Favourite Jack Nolan
    May 13th 2015, 6:50 PM

Oh Paddy like you’re not delighted to have the opportunity & media platform now to play the heroic victim of hate crime!, kids take the pi** everyday, it’s standard business, this particular sign is just round the corner from my house. Ride that train Paddy!

Mute Niall Fish Bradley
    Favourite Niall Fish Bradley
    May 14th 2015, 12:20 AM

Kid’s acting the bollox.. or self sabotage. . ?

Mute Wilm J Delaney
    Favourite Wilm J Delaney
    May 13th 2015, 2:42 PM

Yes…. No…. Who really cares…