You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gene Wilder in the 1971 Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory Alamy Stock Photo

Quiz: How much do you know about the 1971 film Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory

The origin tale of Willy Wonka, a film titled ‘Wonka’, was released in Irish cinemas yesterday.

THE ORIGIN STORY of Willy Wonka has been released in Irish cinemas.

Wonka stars Timothée Chalamet as Willy Wonka in this latest origin film.

It tells the story of how Wonka goes from selling chocolate in a small shop to becoming the eccentric genius portrayed by Gene Wilder in the 1971 film adaptation of Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

With the new origin film Wonka in cinemas, we want to test your knowledge of the classic 1971 movie starring Wilder.

What is the first thing you see being made in the movie?
Alamy Stock Photo
Fudge
Cotton candy

Jelly Beans
Chocolate covered cookies
Who are the people that make the Willy Wonka candy?
Alamy Stock Photo
Oompa-Loompas
Tubby-Wubbies

Lolly-Ollies
Rolly-Pollies
What is Charlie’s full name?
Alamy Stock Photo
Charlie Mop
Charlie Cooker

Charlie Pan
Charlie Bucket
What does Charlie receive as a birthday present?
Alamy Stock Photo
Roller Skates and Willy Wonka gummy bears
A coat and Willy Wonka ice-cream

A scarf and a Willy Wonka bar
A hat and a Willy Wonka lollipop
Grandpa Joe accompanies Charlie to the factory. For how long had he been bedridden?
Alamy Stock Photo
2 years
10 years

15 years
20 years
What was the name of the main business competitor of Willy Wonka?
Arthur Slugworth
Arthur Snail

Arthur Slug
Arthur Snailworth
Who finds the first ticket?
Alamy Stock Photo
Violet Beauregarde
Mike Teavee

Augustus Gloop
Veruca Salt
Charlie thought the final ticket had been found, but it turned out to be a forgery. What country made the fraudulent ticket?
Alamy Stock Photo
Paraguay
Colombia

England
Venezuela
What was unique about Willy Wonka’s office?
Alamy Stock Photo
Everything was tiny
Everything was cut in half

Everything was huge
Everything was upside down
And what was unique about the contract that the children signed?
Alamy Stock Photo
It was written in invisible ink
The print grew bigger towards the bottom

The print grew smaller towards the bottom
The writing was upside down
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Alamy Stock Photo
You scored out of !
Willy Wonka
Share your result:
Alamy Stock Photo
You scored out of !
Charlie Bucket
Share your result:
Alamy Stock Photo
You scored out of !
Veruca Salt
Share your result:
Alamy Stock Photo
You scored out of !
Augustus Gloop
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:35 PM

That is shocking behaviour by any president but just normal for Trump that it barely registers.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:21 PM

@Craic_a_tower: witness intimidation in itself is probably an impeachable offence.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Nov 15th 2019, 8:44 PM

@Conoroconnor: that’s why Schiff told her, otherwise she wouldn’t have known about the “tweet” until after her hearing.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:44 PM

Didnt Trump say during the week he wasn’t going to watch the coverage, yet here he is tweeting in real time as the hearing happens?

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:01 PM

@Conoroconnor: did anybody really believe that. Apart from his brain dead supporters

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:34 PM

Schiff is playing to America, Trump is playing to his base… I hope Schiff wins.

Mute Anthony Walsh
    Favourite Anthony Walsh
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:13 PM

He believes his own bulls**t

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:41 PM

@Anthony Walsh: that’s the problem:such is the nature of his mental illness he genuinely believes he is a ‘ stable genius’ despite the overwhelming evidence to the contrary

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:33 PM

@Conoroconnor: where are the botskis willy and john when trump needs them?

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:52 PM

Even Fox News expressed shock at the tweet

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:01 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: because even Fox know that Schiff pounced and got on the record in real time that a witness was feeling ‘intimidated’. Trump is actually a master at spin , media and PR and leaves all his political contemporaries in the halfpenny place – but in the realms of political hearings and legalities Schiff can play him like a fiddle….the republicans ( well the adults ) know they have a task trying to defend Trump – they are not going to impeach him in the senate trial no matter what – but he doesn’t help his case much being an idiot with stupid stunts like this.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:34 PM

@Dave Hammond: Is he a master at spin & PR ultimately though? I take your point, but at the same time Trump energises his supporters/those who fear him, he completely repels everyone else. So he looses majority support and can’t disguise his motives and his methods are blatant. That’s why his approval ratings have been stable, but lower than usual for a president.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:16 PM

@David A. Murray: We agree David , but love him or loathe him , this is a guy with no political experience at all – and he managed to enter the Republican primary and beat all 14 rivals in his campaign at a fraction of the costs ( including Bush , Cruz Romney etc etc ) they were all spending much more but his use of social media and twitter etc left them in the dust – he then famously went on to beat the Clinton machine – he became President of the United States ( and may even get a second term ) – I dont like him at all – hate his policies and do not thin hes good for the US generally – but you cannot deny that he left the democrats and Clinton machine for dust and even now they have trouble mounting a campaign for the current media climate that can rival Trump – so thats what I mean – look beyond the circus and you can see that he is actually a pretty good media operator for spin and PR. ( I do not think his approval ratings are arre soles a reflection of his pr and spin – they are reflective of his performance as a President for all the people –and he is not good at that imo – )

Mute David A. Murray
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:57 PM

@Dave Hammond: Dave, I wasn’t contradicting your first comment so much as taking a longer term view. I just think that (as you said) it’s a very successful tactic, but surely it can only work for so long before it finally becomes self defeating and alienates too many voters?!! Thank you for taking the time to give such a thoughtful reply to my comment.

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:17 PM

@David A. Murray: you are right.

Eventually people realize that the one who is shouting loudest the longest, is not really worth listening to.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 15th 2019, 11:58 PM

@Dave Hammond: Trump really only just won by a small margin – even he didnt expect to win. When he got in all he had to do was shut the hell up and get on with it. Just imagine if he had not sent all those ridiculous tweets, and took it easy on introducing the controversial tweets – he could have got away with so much more. But he didnt because he is an idiot

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:42 PM

Saw her testimony, and she did a good job for the USA out in the Ukraine only to be abused by Trump and his crooked cronies.

Mute Jonathan Moloney
    Favourite Jonathan Moloney
    Nov 16th 2019, 1:19 PM

@Joe Johnson:

She was let go. Which is exceedingly normal with ambassadors when there is a new president. She was witness to absolutely nothing as regards what the Democrats are trying to impeach for. Devin Nunes summed it up perfectly when he asked why was she even there. More ‘performative’ theater from Schiff and that they have to try and sell this tweet as an ‘impeachable’ offense is a joke and just goes to show what a disaster these proceedings have been so far. I imagine we haven’t seen the end of the theatrics and wild(unprovable) claims yet though. We saw the playbook executed in real time for the coordinated attempt to destroy Brett Kavanaugh during his hearings, and I have no doubt we’ll see more nonsense attempted during these hearings.

Mute David A. Murray
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:41 PM

The first time I heard anyone comment about Trump being likely to refuse to accept loosing in 2020 (if that does happen) was historian H.W. Brands two years ago. At that time it seemed a shocking idea that even Trump would be prepared to ignore an election defeat and try to cling on to power. Now I wouldn’t be surprised honestly.

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:05 PM

@David A. Murray: I don’t recall him losing any elections…

Mute David A. Murray
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:58 PM

@milton friedman: Brands was talking solely about 2020.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Nov 15th 2019, 4:22 PM

Trump accusing people of being week and stupid, but he himself watches tv all the time and it’s the only president in office that goes on weekend breaks to play golf, wait until the investigation find Trump’s second Twitter account.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:28 PM

Hes losing this election with every passing day and with every tweet. He cant keep attacking decent innocent people/former employees day in day out and not expect some fallout.

he probably wont get impeached in the end, but most neutral voters will probably vote democrat in the end.

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Nov 16th 2019, 11:31 AM

@Angela McCarthy: Not very bright are you Angels?

Mute Cryptoalcho
    Favourite Cryptoalcho
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:04 PM

Classic comments above. Nobody has a bloody clue what is going on in the US. That includes me, ppl make up their minds through whichever lens of the media they watch. Grow ppl

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Nov 15th 2019, 5:23 PM

@Cryptoalcho: eh, it’s not that difficult to actually see and read Trump’s own words in his own Tweets or listen to his actual words in his speeches to make your own mind up about his moral character or competence.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:39 PM

@Cryptoalcho: Do you not read his tweets

Mute Qfire
    Favourite Qfire
    Nov 15th 2019, 6:33 PM

Each has their own opinion formed by whatever new media they follow.

However, How can Adam Schiff get away with changing the call transcripts. And where are his so called whistleblowers?

American economy is booming since Trump took over. Something democratic presidents before him couldn’t manage.

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:23 PM

@Qfire: that’s not true.
    You only have to go back to the last Democrat President to see that. Obama had a much higher growth rate during his administration and he managed to reduce the deficit.

Growth rate under Trump has been comparably weaker and the deficit under Trump has skyrocketed back up again since Obama left.

Mute GMCManning
    Favourite GMCManning
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:45 PM

@Qfire: Jebus that’s weak. “Burn”, “Vote”, “Joey” this one needs a few more tutorials before being allowed loose

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Nov 16th 2019, 1:32 AM

@Qfire: Schiff didn’t release any transcript. The White House released a rough version based on the notes of those present and released it all by themselves.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 16th 2019, 11:51 AM

@Qfire: stop deflecting – or at the very least try make a comment that isn’t just completely wrong / untrue made up nonsense ffs will you. Low IQ individual.Sad.

Mute Jonathan Moloney
    Favourite Jonathan Moloney
    Nov 16th 2019, 1:28 PM

@Diaspora’d: WTF? The national debt DOUBLED under Obama(which will fall on taxpayers for generations to come). Put down the crack pipe. Trump has increased the debt too – but nowhere near to the same degree.

Median incomes are way higher under Trump. Almost 7 million jobs created. Lowest unemployment rate for over 50 years.

Yet ANOTHER stock market record yesterday (Dow Jones broke 28k for the 1st time)

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Nov 15th 2019, 8:41 PM

This is ridiculous. She is just a disgruntled former employee. She left Ukraine in May so has no knowledge of any alledged quid pr quo. The dismissal was probably the correct decision. Below are some of her highlights.
    1) Making comments unflattering or unsupportive of the president – according to Pete Sessions (who is a Republican though) – If true, how can she continue as ambassador if she doesn’t support DT’s foreign policy;
    2) In March 2019, Ukrainian prosecutor general Yuriy Lutsenko gave an on-the-record, videotaped interview alleging that during a 2016 meeting she discussed a list of names of Ukrainian nationals and groups you did not want to see Ukrainian prosecutors target.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 16th 2019, 12:00 AM

Trump is a disgrace.

The woman (awarded USA and international awards for impeccable service) and that has served the USA government for 33 years, is about to give public evidence about Trump – who tried through lawyer Rudi Giuliani, to smear her across social media and subsequently fired her as she would not go along with his attempt to force the Ukraine government to investigate a possible Trump rival for the 2020 presidential election.

Listening to her statements, Trump, his son and Giuliani have treated this professional honorable woman like absolute crap.

This is a woman that served under multiple 3 Democratic and 5 Republican presidents – all who held her in the highest regard as an ultimate professional. As soon as Trump got the chance, he removed her. She was part of a long established USA group to get rid of Ukraine political corruption.

Trump smeared her – then moved in three others (google “Three amigos”) who have been exposed to be utterly corrupt, to operate a non-official method of speaking to a Ukraine official that had been previously removed (due to his previous Ukraine corruption) who was then put back in place!

Of course he wants all this and far more buried.

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Nov 16th 2019, 11:34 AM

@Unitedpeople: She is a weak, snowflake non sequitur. And adds nothing to the actual impeachment.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:41 PM

This is ridiculous. She is just a disgruntled former employee. She left Ukraine in May so has no knowledge of any alledged quid pr quo. The dismissal was probably the correct decision. Below are some of her highlights.
    1) Making comments unflattering or unsupportive of the president – according to Pete Sessions (who is a Republican though) – If true, how can she continue as ambassador if she doesn’t support DT’s foreign policy;
    2) In March 2019, Ukrainian prosecutor general Yuriy Lutsenko gave an on-the-record, videotaped interview alleging that during a 2016 meeting she discussed a list of names of Ukrainian nationals and groups you did not want to see Ukrainian prosecutors target. George Kent, also confirmed this to the House Intelligence Committee. Kent signed urging Ukrainian prosecutors to back off an investigation of the George Soro’s group ‘AnTac’ as well as certain Ukrainians like Parliamentary member Sergey Leschenko, journalist Vitali Shabunin and NABU director Artem Sytnyk. It is a Geneva Convention requirement that foreign diplomats must avoid becoming involved in the internal affairs of their host country;
    3) She gave a speech this year asking for the replacement of Ukraine’s top anti-corruption prosecutor – like the Russian ambassador in Washington asking for the sacking of Mueller during his investigation.
    4) In spring 2019 her embassy reportedly began monitoring briefly the social media communications of certain people viewed as supportive of President Trump and gathering analytics about them.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:43 PM

2) In March 2019, Ukrainian prosecutor general Yuriy Lutsenko gave an on-the-record, videotaped interview alleging that during a 2016 meeting she discussed a list of names of Ukrainian nationals and groups you did not want to see Ukrainian prosecutors target. George Kent, also confirmed this to the House Intelligence Committee. Kent signed urging Ukrainian prosecutors to back off an investigation of the George Soro’s group ‘AnTac’ as well as certain Ukrainians like Parliamentary member Sergey Leschenko, journalist Vitali Shabunin and NABU director Artem Sytnyk. It is a Geneva Convention requirement that foreign diplomats must avoid becoming involved in the internal affairs of their host country;

Mute Breda Kelly
    Favourite Breda Kelly
    Nov 15th 2019, 9:08 PM

@Jack Simpson: Take 2 pink pills, you’ll be grand.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:51 PM

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Nov 15th 2019, 7:50 PM

2) In March 2019, Ukrainian prosecutor general Yuriy Lutsenko gave an on-the-record, videotaped interview alleging that during a 2016 meeting she discussed a list of names of Ukrainian nationals and groups you did not want to see Ukrainian prosecutors target. George Kent, also confirmed this to the House Intelligence Committee.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Nov 16th 2019, 12:01 AM

@Jack Simpson: maybe 3 pink pills will do it…

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 16th 2019, 12:06 AM

@Jack Simpson: You forgot to leave out that
    1. The State department has stated on record she has done nothing wrong.
    2. Is a very dodgy person who is now under investigation at home (people, please google his name)
    3. She FULLY supported the Trump ambition to give weapons. All this is on record.
    4. During his closed-door deposition, Kent explained to investigators why the White House’s “corruption” defense is bogus. “Politically related prosecutions are not the way of promoting the rule of law. They undermine the rule of law,” he said. He also detailed Rudy Giuliani’s “campaign of lies” against US ambassador to Ukraine Marie Yovanovitch, which ultimately resulted in her early recall from Kyiv.
    * https://www.vox.com/2019/11/13/20960221/impeachment-hearings-witnesses-ukraine-taylor-kent-yovanovitch
    If you are going lie – lie better.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 16th 2019, 12:08 AM

@Unitedpeople:

2. Yuriy Lutsenko, is a very dodgy person who is now under investigation at home (people, please google his name)

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Nov 16th 2019, 10:03 AM

Rep. Stewart: “I would now feel compelled to ask you, Madam Ambassador, as you sit here before us, very simply and directly, do you have any information regarding the president of the United States accepting any bribes?”

Yovanovitch: “No.”

Stewart: “Do you have any information regarding any criminal activity that the president of the United States has been involved with at all?”

Yovanovitch: “No.”