You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Quiz: How much do you know about Elvis?

It’s the anniversary of a TV performance that left 60 million viewers all shook up.

TODAY IS THE anniversary of Elvis Presley’s iconic first appearance on The Ed Sullivan Show, one of the biggest chat shows in the US at the time.

After initially refusing to host the hip-shaking heart-throb due to the backlash that followed Elvis’ other TV appearances, Ed Sullivan eventually relented and booked him for three performances on his show.

The first of those appearances was on 9 September 1956 and The King did not disappoint, attracting 60 million viewers (over 80% of the TV audience at the time), the best ratings the show had ever had. 

Elvis is set to appear on screen again this year, with Sofia Coppola releasing her new film, Priscilla, about the life of Presley’s ex-wife.

So with all that in mind, how much do you know about Elvis?

What's the name of Elvis' famous estate?
Alamy
Elvisland
Neverland

Graceland
Rock'n'roll Land
What's the missing lyric from All Shook Up? "She touched my hand, what a chill I got. Her lips are like _________ that's hot."
Alamy
Shutterstock
a gun barrel
Shutterstock
a carburetor

Shutterstock
a quesadilla
Shutterstock
a volcano
What was Elvis' middle name?
Alamy
Aaron
Adam

Alan
Adrian
What state was Elvis born in?
Alamy
Mississippi
Tennessee

Texas
Georgia
Elvis liked to shoot things. What did he once fill his swimming pool with for floating target practice?
Alamy
Rubber ducks
Donuts

Lightbulbs
Beer cans
Elvis had a successful acting career on top of his musical exploits. How many films did he star in?
Alamy

What was the nickname of Elvis' infamous manager Tom Parker?
Alamy
The General
The Colonel

The Boss
The Deputy
Which continent did Elvis never tour?
Alamy
South America
Europe

Asia
All of the above
What was Elvis' highest grossing film?
Shutterstock
Love Me Tender
Jailhouse Rock

Blue Hawaii
Viva Las Vegas
How old was The King when he died?
Alamy

Answer all the questions to see your result!
Alamy
You scored out of !
Elvis Impersonator
Are you sure you're not The King himself?
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
Superfan
Your relationship with The King is verging on obsessive
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
Casual Fan
You're no superfan but your Elvis knowledge is still pretty impressive
Share your result:
Alamy
You scored out of !
Anti-Elvis Protester
You're dead set against the hip-shaking King of Rock and Roll
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Geraldine Glynn
    Favourite Geraldine Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 9:43 AM

This is just brilliant and so appropriate. Well done to all involved especially this gorgeous midwife. Very proud making!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:15 PM

@Geraldine Glynn: You wouldn’t be out of place on the cover of vogue yourself Geraldine.

Mute Stars and Stripes
    Favourite Stars and Stripes
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:43 PM

@Logan Shepherd: steady on that’s a wedding picture you old dog Logan

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:49 PM

@Stars and Stripes: Ah here .. I’m just paying a compliment. That’s not Geraldine btw. Geraldine knows, cause D says it to her 100 times a day .. right D.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Jun 4th 2020, 2:38 PM

@Logan Shepherd: Make him pay for a proper B&B, Geraldine, and not just a moonlit doorway off Temple Bar.

Mute Geraldine Glynn
    Favourite Geraldine Glynn
    Jun 4th 2020, 7:42 PM

@Stars and Stripes: spot on!

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Jun 4th 2020, 9:57 AM

A very progressive move by this magazine. I applaud their diversity especially in the current climate. A point well made that the media is so important and that not all media is bad.

Mute Glammymammy
    Favourite Glammymammy
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:07 AM

Very down to earth. Midwives are there when women are most vulnerable and are often forgotten when baby comes along so it’s nice to see them being recognised. Well chosen Vogue

Mute Seamus Gallen
    Favourite Seamus Gallen
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:05 AM

Such a lovely woman. She deserves the attention.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:16 AM

Deadly, imagine being on the front page of fashion bible Vogue? well done Rachel that will be some keepsake to have

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:28 AM

@Pauline Gallagher: is vogue where the big eyebrow you girls sport these day came from ?

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:56 AM

@John Byrne: no idea lol i have fairly regular eyebrows! could be

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:05 AM

@Pauline Gallagher: It’s where I got mine.

Mute Edel Quinn
    Favourite Edel Quinn
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:28 AM

Healthcare workers are the REAL heroes in our communities. I’d love to see a shift in putting fewer celebrities on magazines and more ordinary people that provide essential services. Celebrities don’t need magazine covers anymore to promote themselves, they have their social media accounts.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:35 AM

@Edel Quinn: magazines will print what people want to read , look at any news stand covered in bull about celebs royals etc. every week absolute chewing gum for the brain , but that’s the rubbish people want to read . They don’t care about reality . We live in a completely fake instagram world now where nothing is as it seems and reality isn’t entertaining enough for the clowns that but these glossy magazines .

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:36 AM

@John Byrne: read

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:41 AM

@Edel Quinn: if there is a good news agency near you with a big selection of magazines they usually have a fair amount of magazines with non celeb stories

Mute Sharp Elsi Mate
    Favourite Sharp Elsi Mate
    Jun 4th 2020, 9:56 AM

Congrats to her. Would it not be more frontline of the pandemic to use say an ICU nurse though?

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: Now that’s how you boost someone up & kick them back down if 1 sweep. Well done.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: in ICU they have all the PPE Inna controlled environment….this lady is doing home visits with probably basic PPE and definitely not a controlled medical environment….can get more frontline.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Canyon: *can’t

Mute Sharp Elsi Mate
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:17 AM

@Canyon: if thats the case every shelf stacker in Supervalu should be on the front cover too

Mute Sharp Elsi Mate
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:18 AM

@Willie Murphy: relax there Willie never said she wasnt doing her bit.

Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here
    Jun 4th 2020, 12:58 PM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: once again a race to the bottom mentality. So many potential candidates for front of the magazine, be it supermarket stackers, icu nurse, doctors, midwives etc they all do their best to serve society and they represent the best of society in some ways, so in some fraction this midwife represents way more than just herself. Don’t be so cynical.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 5th 2020, 1:49 AM

@Sharp Elsi Mate: why not…keeping us all fed.

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:18 AM

Congratulations to the midwife for appearing on the cover of such a prestigious magazine, midwives are fantastic and the work they do is incredible but this this is just pandering for sales and a pr job to try and gloss over all the recent bad publicity Anna Wintour has finally being recieving, as I said fantastic for the well deserving midwife but this is cynical.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:51 AM

Very good move by Vogue, get away from the materialistic and in touch with reality.

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    Jun 4th 2020, 10:46 AM

Great to see real women on the cover. I think Vogue have realised that celebrities, influencers and air brushed bimbos are no longer in vogue.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jun 4th 2020, 11:26 PM

@Huey: no longer on Vogue you mean :-)