You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quiz: How well do you know Field of Dreams?

Can you get a home run…?

KEVIN COSTNER CLASSIC Field of Dreams made its way onto Netflix this week.

The sports fantasy movie was nominated for three Academy Awards and is still a favourite today.

Let’s see how much you remember…

What year did Field of Dreams hit the cinemas?

Name Kevin Costner's character...
Ray Kinsella
Ray Kavanagh

Ray Kennedy
Ray Killoran
Where is the family's corn farm?
Utah
Iowa

Illinois
Kansas
What's the first phrase Ray hears from the whispering voice?
"If you build it, he will come..."
"If you build it, they will come..."

"Ease his pain..."
"He's behind you..."
What's the name of the first ghostly baseball player to visit the field?
Terence Mann
'Moonlight' Graham

Shoeless Joe Jackson
Roger 'Rocket' Clemens
James Earl Jones plays Terence Mann - what's his profession in the movie?
Doctor
Drug dealer

Writer
Sports commentator
During shooting filmmakers dammed a stream near the field - why?
To prevent flooding
To keep the grass nice and green

To make the corn grow
To create a swimming pool
What heroic act does 'Moonlight' Graham perform during the movie?
He gets Ray the loan he needs to save his farm
He hits a home run

He harvests lots of corn
He saves Ray's daughter
How will Ray manage to make money from his baseball field in the end?
Shutterstock
He'll sell tickets to the baseball games
He managed to get pro-sponsorship

He found oil in the field
He's going to sell the farm to his brother
The baseball field built for the movie still exists - true or false
True
False
Answer all the questions to see your result!
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
Home run!
You knocked it out of the park
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
Third base
You were so close!
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
Second base
Hey batter batter!
Share your result:
Shutterstock
You scored out of !
You built it...
...they didn't come
Share your result:

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Rab C Nesbitt
    Favourite Rab C Nesbitt
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:15 PM

Awaiting nationality details

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:23 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: why?

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: —-Or perhaps ethnic status, if theyr’e Irish.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Looney Tunes
    Favourite Looney Tunes
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:33 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: the Journal won’t disclose, for fear of a backlash from the pc brigade

Mute Kevin Collins
    Favourite Kevin Collins
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:45 PM

@Looney Tunes: crime is crime, irrespective of nationality or ethnicity. Apart from white Irish people of course, who obviously account for precisely 0% of all crimes that have ever occurred in this country.

Mute The quite man
    Favourite The quite man
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Kevin Collins: because it’s a big scam that mostly Certain nationalities pull, very common in UK but creeping in here, that said I know a person that pulled not far from me.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:31 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: Indo give that information.

Mute Looney Tunes
    Favourite Looney Tunes
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: Deport them, instead of a slap on the wrist

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:35 PM

@The quite man: and was the Garda arrested last week for insurance scam also a particular nationality?

Mute The quite man
    Favourite The quite man
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:37 PM

@EillieEs: yes he was he was Irish, hope that clears it up for you.

Mute Criostóir McCormack
    Favourite Criostóir McCormack
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: Romanian…..I watched it all unfold this morning.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 9th 2020, 7:38 PM

@The quite man: to read some of the comments here one would think only certain nationalities, but not Irish, were involved in insurance scams.

Mute Anthony Doyle
    Favourite Anthony Doyle
    Jul 9th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: culchies

Mute JJandtim Dwyer
    Favourite JJandtim Dwyer
    Jul 9th 2020, 9:44 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: you read my mind sir reading further down it seems you were on the nail.

Mute The quite man
    Favourite The quite man
    Jul 9th 2020, 9:54 PM

@EillieEs: it was me you the question to,I answered, if you have a problem with other comments you should ask them. I speak only for myself.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jul 10th 2020, 1:20 AM

@Rab C Nesbitt: why ?I reckon us Irish here have an awful reputation for sueing at every opportunity. That’s why recreational businesses were closing last year as they couldn’t get cover due to all these lovely people sueing them.. and nothing wrong with at least half of them.. but they keep sueing..

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jul 10th 2020, 8:28 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: that is the insurance co’s fault they wold rather pay out than face possibility of loosing in court and facing rediculious legal fees etc….

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Jul 10th 2020, 3:09 PM

@EillieEs: The Irish are involved in scams but the use the Irish definition of scam called Brown Envelope

Mute Raymond McGee
    Favourite Raymond McGee
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:25 PM

That’s a Romanian name. Is it just me or are there lots of these fraud cases involving them lately. Am I dreaming or were 114 of them arrested in one go, the largest mass atrest I’ve ever heard of, one day’s coverage then silence. We csn pursue politicians for weeks but not a peep out of national media on cases (lots) involving ‘new Irish’ or certain ethnic groups, maybe for fear of accusations of racism or noise from representative groups…. Very odd….

Mute Fabian Lee
    Favourite Fabian Lee
    Jul 9th 2020, 8:35 PM

@Raymond McGee: Luckily the Oirish wud never do anything wrong but then these people are arrested! Why so eager to point the finger! Island of saints and scholars me Áras!

Mute Rab C Nesbitt
    Favourite Rab C Nesbitt
    Jul 9th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Fabian Lee: Certainly not an island of saints but our non saints are no where near on par with the Romanian non saints. They’re on another level and making millions from it.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Jul 10th 2020, 12:40 AM

@Rab C Nesbitt: they obviously took higher level fraud in their leaving cert compered to irish

Mute Juls
    Favourite Juls
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:56 PM

Constantin Iosca (40) of Scholars Walk, Lusk, Dublin. It was reported by the Irish Independent.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Jul 10th 2020, 10:07 AM

@Juls: what’s missing is the name of the bunch of lawyers lining their pockets.

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:17 PM

Will be interesting to read the details of this.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:19 PM

Well that was just choc full of details. Can’t wait for the update “released pending further investigation”

Mute Gary Sheahan
    Favourite Gary Sheahan
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:48 PM

whatever about the reporting it’s great to see a general increase by the Guards and the insurance companies in pursuing false claims. This used to be tolerated by a significant proportion of the population as a victimless crime. Well our premiums prove that’s not true. D’arcy was underrated in the work he did in this area. He was fighting against some strong forces. We are starting to see the benefit now.

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:17 PM

Wasn’t there a guard also arrested for some insurance scam during the week?

Mute Nowa Huta
    Favourite Nowa Huta
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:19 PM

Where was Mr. Cowen that day?

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:52 PM

hes one of the iosca’s from lusk an irish man true n true judge says if he gets a job have to pay the insurance company costs what ye think

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 9th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Tommy the postman: McUisce!!!!

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    Jul 9th 2020, 10:11 PM

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: uisce batha matters in lockdown

Mute feargal wash your hands de cantuin
    Favourite feargal wash your hands de cantuin
    Jul 9th 2020, 5:40 PM

Any chance they were Scobies?

Mute Anthony Burke
    Favourite Anthony Burke
    Jul 9th 2020, 7:05 PM

@feargal wash your hands de cantuin: Always a chance..

Mute Pat O'Leary
    Favourite Pat O'Leary
    Jul 10th 2020, 12:05 AM

Some addition to the country.

Mute Paddy O Rourke
    Favourite Paddy O Rourke
    Jul 9th 2020, 6:42 PM

Anyone know the code for cyberflix

Mute Lena Madden
    Favourite Lena Madden
    Jul 10th 2020, 9:24 AM

It looks like many comenting here are rasists and xenophobes. There are many good hard working Romanians! Dont you forget how Irish were treated in the UK and US!