You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sean Murray/TheJournal.ie

'We're all made of the same stuff': A new campaign is asking us to report racism on public transport

“Racism is in no way tolerated on Ireland’s transport services,” campaigners said.

IRELAND’S PUBLIC TRANSPORT companies united today to launch a new public anti-racism campaign.

In collaboration with the Immigrant Council of Ireland, Dublin City Council and Transport for Ireland, the campaign urges people to report any incidences of racial abuse – whether it’s done to them or they witness it – on our public transport system.

The diverse nature of Ireland’s transport workforce highlighted the need for such a campaign which is now in its fifth year, organisers said.

As part of the initiative, a huge poster bearing the message “we’re all made of the same stuff… say no to racism” has been placed on Dublin’s Dame Street.

Brian Killoran, CEO of the Immigrant Council of Ireland said that “it’s a massive opportunity to send out a couple of really strong messages”.

Firstly, racism is in no way tolerated on Ireland’s transport services. It’s a really strong message for us all to send out. Second of all, it’s to celebrate the diversity that exists not just in Ireland but the companies that we work in. It’s reflective of how Ireland has changed over the years and what a massively positive contribution that is.

The diversity of the transport workforce was also highlighted at the launch of the campaign on Dame Street today.

Ethnic minorities make up 17% of Dublin Bus’ workforce. Bus Éireann counts staff from 33 different backgrounds among its workers, and 30 different nationalities make up the 264-strong Transdev (Luas operator) workforce.

Anne Graham, chief executive of Transport for Ireland, said that we cannot just assume that our country has progressed beyond racism now in 2017.

She said: “Ireland has become more diverse and more mature in recent years.

However that doesn’t mean we can be complacent, and prejudice and intolerance – whoever the target may be – need to be tackled head on.

In all, a total of 1,065 posters will be displayed on Ireland’s transport system promoting this anti-racism message over the next few weeks.

Read: Extra bus lanes for Dublin city as cars will be reduced to one lane on quays

Read: What we know about Go-Ahead, the company that will run 24 Dublin Bus routes

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

126 Comments
    Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:22 PM

Great idea. I’ll also expect to see Murder is Bad signs and Stealing is Wrong signs. Maybe a Grass is Green sign too, sure why not.

Mute Ivan Truckrcar
    Favourite Ivan Truckrcar
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Liam flag: That’s a bit racist Liam not all grass is green.

Mute tae
    Favourite tae
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:31 PM

What if the grass identifies as purple

See 53 more replies ▾
    Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Liam flag: Murder and stealing are usually reported. Racism usually isn’t. Thats the point of the campaign (obviously).

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:43 PM

@Ivan Truckrcar: My god you’re right. I’ll get my coat. I apologise to any species of grass whom I may have offended with my comments. I did not mean to promote harmful stereotypes of grass, I’m not that kind of person. Some of my best friends are grass.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:48 PM

@Coner Willis: Oh I see. Please excuse my ignorance, I have not seen the stats for incidents of racism which go unreported. Could you please post them here for me to peruse? Thanks

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:08 PM

@Liam flag: Who cares about stats? Just because you haven’t seen unreported racism doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. If the people leading this campaign think its a worthwhile venture then they probably know more about it then you, believe it or not.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Coner Willis: Who cares about stats… amazing.. obviously not you. This campaign is political, it is not purely altruistic. It’s another promotion of identity politics.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:34 PM

@Peedur Dante: I guess I’m just a bad person. Now off you trot little troll x x

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:38 PM

@Liam flag: Why, are you an expert on racism and the people who run this campaign aren’t? I’m sick of smart alecs like you who are always on here whinging about things you don’t understand. You’re not black and you don’t have to deal with racism. If you think this campaign is pointless, it doesn’t matter because it’s designed for people who have to deal with problems that you will never have to deal with.

Mute tae
    Favourite tae
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:39 PM

Is it only blacks that deal with racism coner?

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:42 PM

@Coner Willis: Every race can be victims of racism, not just black people.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:46 PM

@Coner Willis: I actually am black you dope! Ha ha. Idiot.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:47 PM

@Peedur Dante: I don’t want a medal for bravery so I don’t care. Sorry

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Peedur Dante: Yawn

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:54 PM

@Peedur Dante: I don’t want any of your medals, put them wherever you find most comfortable. Nor do I have to explain anything to you. Open the question up to all the people that agree with me, one of them might answer you, I’m not playing your game. Night night now.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:04 PM

@Liam flag: Based on you comments, you do seem like a bad person.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:08 PM

@Real Name: Oh based on the comment where I mentioned I’m black is it? Dirtbag. I’m reporting you all to the immigration council, you hate crimers. Thanks Journal

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Liam flag: Liam it’s your hate speech about grass that got me. Seriously man.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Catherine Sims: What did it get you?

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Liam flag: knowledge that grass has feelings too!!!

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:23 PM

@tae: Ya, pretty much.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:25 PM

@Catherine Sims: Well I’m glad I was able to raise some awareness. I will be on to the transport authority to run an ad campaign as soon as I can raise the funds. I’m sick of the smell of fresh cut murder every time we have a bit of sun.

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:28 PM

@Beachmaster: C’mon, dont pretend that the vast majority of racism isn’t directed towards black people.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:30 PM

@Coner Willis: “you’re not black and you don’t have to deal with racism”? Wow, you do realise that you don’t have to be black to be a victim of racism. Have you heard the derogatory word “cracker” thrown about by a lot of rap singers both black and white.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:39 PM

@Peedur Dante: Triggered are we? Boo frickin hoo

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Liam flag: no. my comment calling you a bad person is based on the fact you seem like a person with horrible views. Did I upset you?

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:47 PM

@Gary: Obviously anyone can be victims of racism. But don’t pretend that the vast majority of racism in the western world is directed at black people.

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Peedur Dante: You might as well give up Peedur. I can’t tell if he’s serious or if he’s just winding us up but theres no point wasting your time trying to get through to him.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:51 PM

@Coner Willis: Where’s your proof that the vast majority of racism is towards black people? Put the computer down and go for a walk for a few hours.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:57 PM

@Peedur Dante: Yeah I’m a black alt rightist. Makes about as much sense as a Jewish jihadist. Idiot.

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:58 PM

@Gary: Are you having a laugh? How could I possibly have proof? Are you really, REALLY telling me that in white majority countries most of the racism is directed towards white people? Jesus I really do need a walk…

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:05 PM

@Coner Willis: Keep on digging. Skip the walk Coner and just lay down for a few hours. Jebus wept.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Peedur Dante: Because I bloody well feel like it *middle finger emoji*

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:12 PM

@Liam flag: I really hope you’re only on here to annoy the likes of me and d

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Coner Willis: I really hope you’re only on here to annoy the likes of me and don’t actually believe in what your saying “Liam”. To be fair to you though your a funny man for a keyboard warrior.

Mute Coner Willis
    Favourite Coner Willis
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:16 PM

@Liam flag!

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Peedur Dante: Racist

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:36 PM

@Peedur Dante: I have no problem belittling any campaign involving The Immigration Council of Ireland while they get funding here and spend a lot of it using people in to get the freebies. How many racism is never noticed by people speaking languages other than English to Irish (for those who speak it). Far two many non nationals massaging figures but they have the opportunity to use their “mother tongue” to slag us being racist about us. When we all have equal rights I’ll support it.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:40 PM

@Peedur Dante: Well for starters.. a few weeks back you made a comment to another user which stated that you think all black people are stupid and also Hitler did nothing wrong. That sounds pretty racist to me. I suppose you’ll deny these allegations now that someone has called you out on it eh? Absolutely pathetic.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:57 PM

@Peedur Dante: zzzzzzzzzzzzz

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Peedur Dante: Would you like a tissue? Poor baby

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Peedur Dante: Nope no defence at all. Happy now? You win. Good for you. I’m doing a small jig in your honour o wise one. I bow down to your intellect. We’re not worthy! We’re not worthy! Once again, a white guy beating down the opinions of a black man. Cheers for that. Thankfully most people aren’t as openly racist as yourself, with or without ridiculous ad campaigns that tell people that racism is wrong.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:21 PM

@Peedur Dante: BTW, the likes on our comments are strongly indicative of you losing this “argument” :-) Ya big feckin eejit :-)

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:29 PM

@Peedur Dante: Yaaaaaaawwwwnnnn… sorry what was that? Talking to you is so incredibly boring that I dozed off there…. Sorry about that, what were you saying? Alt right something something? Sorry I’m listening now. Go ahead.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:37 PM

@Liam flag: another anonymous coward wasting everyone’s time. Must be grand to have all that spare time “Liam”.
    Are you unemployed long or just retired?

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Clever Jake: Is English your first language?

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:54 PM

@Danny Rafferty: None of your business “Danny”. If I’m “wasting your time” then block me and stop whining.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 6:29 PM

@Clever Jake: Yeah simple words… like “where” and “were”. Derp.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 6:57 PM

@Clever Jake: Also, “Bigots tend not to be the sharpest tools in the box” would be a less tortured way of structuring that sentence. You think by saying things in an flouncy manner, you come across as intelligent.. you don’t. You come across like a pretentious and insufferable twàt.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 7:25 PM

@Clever Jake: I think you mean “being” and not “been”. See what I mean? Digging yourself into a hole. How embarrassing.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 7:56 PM

@Clever Jake: Your own cited definitions prove you wrong, you idiot. You may say, “have you been deliberately obtuse?”, as in, have I previously been deliberately obtuse, past tense. In the present tense, you would say, “are you being deliberately obtuse?”. Stupid troll can’t use wordz gud :-(

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 8:21 PM

@Clever Jake: Yes, they are two separate words, that’s why they are spelled differently. #idiot

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 14th 2017, 9:11 PM

@Peedur Dante: Not sure where you are from or how long have you been here but your ability to read English is below par or in typical fashion you make my words mean something that I never intended. Read my comment again, slowly and make a bit more sense with your next reply.

Mute Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Favourite Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Aug 14th 2017, 10:36 PM

@Liam flag: ??? It’s ironic you’re saying it on thejournal.ie which has plenty evidence that violent racism is alive and well.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 15th 2017, 12:23 AM

@Peedur Dante: You are talking pure sh!te again. Stop quoting only part of my comment. try reading it again; I am talking about the entire comment not just the too thick you want to pick out and then read you first reply to me, perhaps somebody in work tomorrow will help you with it.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:08 PM

“I’m Brian the CEO of the immigrant council of Ireland” I make a living by stirring the pot and making everybody think they are racists and nazis for being concerned about mass immigration into Ireland. Well Brian why are all the homeless people living on the streets white? Manuel we need our own council now too.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:58 PM

@neimad: what has that got to do with people racially abusing other people on public transport?

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:08 PM

@neimad: ‘why are all the homeless people living on the streets white?’ – Not all homeless are white.
    ‘Manuel we need our own council now too.’ -Who is Manuel?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Real Name: He is in Fawlty Towers . He is from Barcelona

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:24 PM

@Peedur Dante: because these anti racism groups seem hell bent on importing as many black and brown people into the country as possible, they are shady organisations and draw down funding from the state and other bodies, they are constantly telling us that we are all racists when there is practically no reports or news stories about proving it. Where is the evidence, they could be calling their own hotlines for all we know. The more people that come into the country with nothing, the more strains there are on all our services including housing.
    Can you not grasp the fact that there are already tens of thousands of Africans here on housing lists or on rent allowance? These people are worried about aledged name calling and not the fact that we are blowing billions on people that have nothing to do with this country or its formation and are just using the colour of their skin to fleece stuff from the so called racists.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:31 PM

@Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin: can I see some evidence or cases that went to court? Or do I just get to see a giant picture of jelly babies and some self invented Prat telling me that I am the same as a Somalian and to look at jelly babies to convince myself of that fact. It might cut it for you but I am sceptical of all these organisations and how this racism thing is being used and abused these days.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad

@Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin: can I see some evidence or cases that went to court? Or do I just get to see a giant picture of jelly babies and some self invented Prat telling me that I am the same as a Somalian and to look at jelly babies to convince myself of that fact. It might cut it for you but I am sceptical of all these organisations and how this racism thing is being used and abused these days.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:40 PM

@Real Name: if you had half a brain you could figure out that it was a typo. I have not seen one homeless African in Dublin over the last two decades. So explain that and maybe that freak with the mullah beard can too

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:04 PM

@neimad: You want me to explain you haven’t seen homeless African people in Dublin? I don’t know you. How can I explain why you haven’t seen something.

It was a typo! No way. Thanks for clearing that up. I was so, so confused.
    In hindsight, you obviously typed Manuel instead of …..Eh….Actually what were you attempting to type?

Mute Nyantoon Chol
    Favourite Nyantoon Chol
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:07 PM

@neimad: I have seen homeless Africans…… also get called n words just going from a to b…. but maybe I’m abusing the Irish by living here. And don’t make me laugh, try report a crime where you have no idea who the person who did it is and see how close to court you get.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Real Name: I’m guessing he was dictating his rant to his secretary, an affable Spanish bloke with limited English who therefore didn’t know where the post was to end and overshot it by one sentence.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Real Name what age are you? Twelve or something. If it was such a racist hellhole then where are the homeless Africans. You can’t explain it because it contradicts your pathetic little narrative

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:14 PM

@neimad: You seem to have worked it all out. Is it a case that racism doesn’t happen on public transport because you haven’t seen any homeless Africans in Dublin, or it is a case that people deserve racial abuse on public transport because you haven’t seen any homeless Africans in Dublin? Either way you are a genius for working it out, Elementary, my Manuel.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:19 PM

@neimad: What? When did I say anywhere is a racist hellhole? Nothing you have said contradicts my narrative because I haven’t provided any narrative. I am questioning you on your comments.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:41 PM

@neimad: ‘A slightly higher proportion of the usually resident
    homeless population was non-Irish (15 per cent or 553
    people) compared with the general population where the
    proportion was 12 per cent. ‘

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/census/documents/homelesspersonsinireland/Homeless_persons_in_Ireland_A_special_Census_report.pdf

I am not sure if a previous comment I made posted, but here it is again. plus I made a actual mistake on the previous post. it looks like 20% of Dublin homeless of non-irish (fig 4). The stats are a bit out of date, but I bet you wont find stats that contradict them. Unless the 20 survey you and Manuel made is included.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Real Name: if it was truly a hostile racist country then you would be seeing more black people on the streets, I never claimed to have anything worked out either. It’s a simple observation that goes against the narrative and quite simply disproves it. Nobody is forcing people to come here and we are all subject to different forms of abuse, these groups try to make it out like we are living in the Mississippi delta a hundred years ago or something. We will have to suffer all this diversity quota bull because this is just a minority group throwing its weight around and some others trying to sweep up votes.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:55 PM

@Nyantoon Chol: then report it to the police and try to record it on your phone, why should we all just take your word as gospel. I find it hard to believe that there are so many incidents and no recordings of at least one of them. I do see asylum seekers waving placards calling us racists for not allowing them immediate access and complaining about conditions that are far superior to a rough sleeper. Everyday we are getting bombarded with this crap and there is no evidence, so go and get it

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Real Name: people from Eastern Europe white prople, who are you trying to fool

Mute Nyantoon Chol
    Favourite Nyantoon Chol
    Aug 14th 2017, 7:39 PM

@neimad: oh yeah I’m going to start filming racists and they are going to be chill about. Ignorance is bliss.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 14th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Nyantoon Chol: Ireland was broke in 2008 and people lost so much and had their taxes raised with new ones introduced and I am amazed, shocked in fact that so many people found Ireland as a good place for help. Europeans were granted free of movement but non Europeans still kept coming and many have lied to get in. How is that fair to treat a country that have always been generously even when we were poor. That strikes me as greed, nothing else so they come anyway regardless that we have enough for ourselves.

Mute Nyantoon Chol
    Favourite Nyantoon Chol
    Aug 15th 2017, 12:01 AM

@Jho Harris: greed is a disgusting trait. We can agree on that. And so are bad manners. We all makes sacrifices for better or worse.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Aug 17th 2017, 3:17 AM

@neimad:
    ICI funded by EU and Atlantic Philanthropies. Totoal €2.0 mill/year
    Membership secret.
    Goals to flood Ireland with immigrants and change to ethnicity of the country.

Mute Christine Paulette Roche
    Favourite Christine Paulette Roche
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:55 PM

More propaganda shoved down our throats by the virtue signaling liberals, making the indigenous natives feel guilty even when they’ve done f all wrong at all.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:12 PM

@Christine Paulette Roche: If you haven’t been racist on public transport no need to feel guilty. if you have, you should.

Mute Niall Callan
    Favourite Niall Callan
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:58 PM

@Christine Paulette Roche: Ireland does not have “indigenous natives”, it was settled by people who crossed the sea from various parts of the European continent.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:00 PM

@Frank Cooney: That is a great story. One for the Grandkids. Did somebody say something racist in your story? you forgot to mention the racist part of your story about racism on public transport. Either way racism mustn’t exist because frank hasn’t seen it.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:07 PM

@Christine Paulette Roche: ‘indigenous natives’ – indigenous indigenous or natives natives. They are synonyms of each other!

Mute Nyantoon Chol
    Favourite Nyantoon Chol
    Aug 15th 2017, 12:05 AM

@Real Name: lol
    I should not laugh as I can barely speak my native indigenous language.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Aug 15th 2017, 12:15 AM

@Niall Callan: More BS, keep it to yourself. I don’t want to see our culture destroyed under the misleading guise of multiculturism; As long as we accept foreign culture we won’t have problem but don’t expect to see anything coming back the other way.

The ICI are setting up camps in Cherbourg and Calais getting refugees to come over to Ireland which is neither their function nor why they are being funded.

Mute Niall Callan
    Favourite Niall Callan
    Aug 15th 2017, 1:30 AM

@Jho Harris: It’s not BS, it’s fact based on decades of research in archaeology, quaternary science and genetics. All of our “indigenous” migrated to Ireland by sea thousands of years after Ireland was cut off from the European continent by rising sea-levels caused by the melting of the ice sheets. So we’re all migrants, just like we’re all humans. But whatever, if those scientific facts conflict with your “us and them” beliefs feel free to put on a tin foil hat, call it BS and blame it all on chemtrails.

Mute Imperator Scottorum
    Favourite Imperator Scottorum
    Aug 15th 2017, 9:59 AM

@Niall Callan: The UN document, Agenda 21, to which Ireland is a party, states “Indigenous people and their communities have an historical relationship with their lands and are generally descendants of the original inhabitants of such lands…In view of the interrelationship between the natural environment and its sustainable development and the cultural, social, economic and physical well-being of indigenous people, national and international efforts to implement environmentally sound and sustainable development should recognize, accommodate, promote and strengthen the role of indigenous people and their communities.” Are you saying the rights of native Americans and likewise native Irish people don’t exist? Luckily, our system of law is not based on what you think, it’s based on indigenous peoples’ rights, including the rights of the native Irish as recognised by international law.

Mute Al O'Saurus
    Favourite Al O'Saurus
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:14 PM

I was on a Dublin Bus a few years ago. A young African guy got on, argued with the driver about the ticket price, and immediately accused him of racism. The driver (correctly) called him back and pointed out that everyone pays the same price, regardless of race.

I agree that racism is heinous. But if we’re reporting racism, let’s make sure it’s genuine.

Mute neimad
    Favourite neimad
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:46 PM

@Al O’Saurus: it does not fit their white bashing narrative to mention how racist arabs and Africans can be and openly are.

Mute Michael Frost
    Favourite Michael Frost
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:57 PM

Refugee Council of Ireland, an unelected overpaid quango that spends its time finding ways of harassing ordinary people going about their daily business. I wish they became refugees themselves. The further away the better. Who would want a bunch of sanctimonious, smug, interfering aholes iike them in their country. I pity the migrants who have to deal with them.
    They never deserved that whether bogus or not.
    Who is this organisation anyway? These self appointed moral guides.
    Their provenance is never examined in the media. Nor are their aims or methods.
    They are like the witchfinder general, sniffing out impurity ie:witchcraft/racism in every corner of society. We are so lucky to have them. Otherwise we might stray from the proper path.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:15 PM

@Michael Frost: Good man. Now log in as Tony Daly or one of your other buddies and argue the exact opposite with yourself.

Mute John Mc Grath
    Favourite John Mc Grath
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:14 PM

There is not an equal distribution in the colour of the jelly babies that’s rascist

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:27 PM

@John Mc Grath: I guess John it takes allsorts.

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:28 PM

Great idea. Usually its the social welfare recipients that are the ones screaming racist comments (see youtube) but it will go unpunished

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:02 PM

@Michael Collins: A.R.S.E.H.O.L.E – Let me guess, you’re a member of Fine Gael?

Mute johnp
    Favourite johnp
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:56 PM

Racism exists everywhere in all countries, Irish are no more racist than any, it won’t b stamped out by catchy ads and colourful posters a waste of taxpayers money

Mute TheJournalAsGaeilge
    Favourite TheJournalAsGaeilge
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:05 PM

SJW cac asal. Níl aon ciníochas in Éirinn! Nuacht bréige!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:06 PM

@TheJournalAsGaeilge: ¡¿¡yiddish!?!

Mute TheJournalAsGaeilge
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:09 PM

@Fank Pulman: haha! Stad Frank!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:11 PM

@TheJournalAsGaeilge: Fank* Stad?

Mute TheJournalAsGaeilge
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:15 PM

@Fank Pulman:? Cad atá i gceist agat?

Mute Imperator Scottorum
    Favourite Imperator Scottorum
    Aug 15th 2017, 10:00 AM

@TheJournalAsGaeilge: Ná bác leis.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Aug 14th 2017, 7:52 PM

I’m a Dublin Bus driver and I have be racist abuse flung at me numerous times , iv also been accused like many of my co-workers of racism (completely false) . On one occasion 3 traveller women ripped into me with a barrage of rascist insults and I made a complaint to the Immigrant council and funny iv never heard back from their racist incident reporting site.
    Perhaps being of fair skin and Irish dosnt count

Mute Nyantoon Chol
    Favourite Nyantoon Chol
    Aug 15th 2017, 1:31 AM

@AlanH -AFC: that’s shameful and appalling.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:37 PM

Might be a good idea to include where/how to report it in the article?

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:09 PM

@Brinster: stopracism@immigrationcouncil.ie It’s on the poster in the picture, the journal likes to leave little easter eggs for us to find obviously :-)

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:15 PM

@Liam flag: Thanks – not visible when viewed on a mobile, so appreciate you highlighting this.

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 4:04 PM

@Brinster: I can see it on my mobile… Still rockin a 3310?

Mute Jack Murphy
    Favourite Jack Murphy
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:45 PM

Thats a bit of a bad example using Jelly Babies – I prefer the green ones

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:41 PM

Everyone’s oppressed. What if you are white, male and have a job? Oh yeah, they’re the oppressors

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 3:26 PM

@Kevin Slater: I’m White, male and have a job. I have never been accused of oppressing anyone, because I’ve never oppressed anyone. Do you enjoy playing the victim?

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Aug 14th 2017, 6:36 PM

When on public transport i mind my own business

Mute AR Devine
    Favourite AR Devine
    Aug 14th 2017, 8:10 PM

Who do we report people being racially abused to on public transport? Would it be the same people that arent there to complain to about open drug taking on the Luas and drunken anti-social behaviour?

Mute Alan Foley
    Favourite Alan Foley
    Aug 14th 2017, 8:34 PM

African natives are the biggest bunch of racists in this country… Because of the colour of their skin they expect special treatment and when they don’t get it and get treated the same as every other joe soap they don’t like it and scream racism with a capital R….. oops sorry is that racist of me to say that….

Mute Christine Paulette Roche
    Favourite Christine Paulette Roche
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:16 PM

@Real Name: the arrogance of you people is truly staggering,what makes you think that if someone doesn’t agree with you that they are a racist.

Mute Real Name
    Favourite Real Name
    Aug 14th 2017, 5:34 PM

@Christine Paulette Roche: Show me when I called anyone Racist? plus my arrogance is staggering!

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:27 PM

cow collagen?

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:37 PM

We’re good here at racism type insulting though – foreigners, itinerants, gays etc.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Fank Pulman: white people!

Mute Fank Pulman
    Favourite Fank Pulman
    Aug 14th 2017, 1:57 PM

@B9xiRspG: yeah – even priests…¡

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:10 PM

1. How to identify the culprit?
    2. Risk of aggressive and even violent response?

Mute Liam flag
    Favourite Liam flag
    Aug 14th 2017, 2:38 PM

@Tony Daly: Stop talking to yourself lad

Mute Crawford Thomas Deacon
    Favourite Crawford Thomas Deacon
    Aug 15th 2017, 1:17 AM

Why don’t all these snowflakes f l u c k off home….

Mute Tom Stack
    Favourite Tom Stack
    Aug 16th 2017, 4:13 PM

Noting racist but no one eats the black jelly babies Come on no-ones does it. they are just thrown in the bin. Maybe people need to invest in jelly-baby equality programmes to educate sweet eaters. I suppose they could have used fruit salads but that is a controversial issue.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 15th 2017, 11:21 PM

Racism exists because people are stupid, ignorant and have a core of hate within them. Some fear the loss of who and what they are and others fear a loss in what it means to be what they were taught to be as children as well as who others should be.
    Racists use labels to create barriers in order to create the idea that they are right because change and difference for them is unknown and something to fear because they think everything that comes from them is as good as if God belied it as well, making them feel like a god in always being right when being stupid?