You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'S is for Simurgh' from the A - Z exhibition. The Chester Beatty Library

Rare treasures displayed for first time at Dublin's Chester Beatty Library

The A-Z exhibition showcases a diverse range of beautiful and culturally significant artifacts.

A NEW EXHIBITION opening tomorrow at the Chester Beatty Library in Dublin Castle will display works of art never seen before in public.

The A – Z: from Amulet to Zodiac exhibition offers an alphabetical tour of precious objects chosen to explore links between Western, Islamic and East Asian culture.

The items going on display include French Revolutionary Tribunal records of Marie Antoinette’s trial and execution, jade snuff bottles and medieval Books of Hours, which were produced for private religious devotion.

CBL Is 1628 The Chester Beatty Library The Chester Beatty Library

Library Director Fionnuala Croke explained that the exhibition was planned “to showcase the diversity of Chester Beatty’s remarkable collection” and includes “some surprises”.

“The collections team worked together to make the selection and we were spoilt for choice,” Croke said.

Opening the exhibition, which runs until 1 February 2015, Taoiseach Enda Kenny described the Chester Beatty collection as “one of the greatest gifts this country ever received”.

CBL In 69.6 The Chester Beatty Library The Chester Beatty Library

“The range of this new exhibition is genuinely staggering,” he added.

From Demons to Kings, from Gardens to Wings, this is an aesthetic journey where each individual object will speak to every visitor in a different way.  Time spent in the Chester Beatty is a really enjoyable opportunity for quiet meditations among powerful texts and artefacts from east and west, presented beautifully and curated with care, expertise and passion.

Born in New York in 1875, Alfred Chester Beatty made his fortune in mining before relocating to London and pursuing his interests in collecting minerals, rare books, manuscripts and paintings. He moved to Ireland in 1950 and his collection was entrusted to the Irish people upon his death.

Read: The 50 places in Europe you need to visit in your lifetime >

More: There are thousands of pieces of hidden treasure* across Ireland >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:39 PM

Tíocfaidh Allah

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:45 PM

Thanks for the laugh.

Mute David Flynn
    Favourite David Flynn
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:01 PM

Looking forward to the kneecapping video after they kidnap Vincent Browne.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:05 PM

Here’s another good laugh while we are all in the Friday spirit…..wait for it……….
    “Gerry was never a member of any such organisation”!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:14 PM

ISIS targets innocent civilians indiscriminately, based on self-righteous fanaticism, taking no account of democracy, human rights or common decency. PIRA/SF on the other hand… eh…

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:20 PM

Gerry is a peaceful man.
    The only beheading that he does is when he heads out to his local..

Mute Adrian McBride
    Favourite Adrian McBride
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:22 PM

If he wasn’t in the PIRA then why wasn’t he in it, he was persuading others his age to join them and constantly making excuses for their actions. He was no ordinary civilian.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:26 PM

Jaysus Adrian if he was in it you give out and if he wasn’t in it you give out! Which is it/

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:34 PM

Ha. That awkward moment when you realise you are now extreme left wing, a vehement water protester, and suddenly a born again liar or active denier of anything bad Gerry Adams….

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:37 PM

Diarmuid, using the tag “PIRA/SF” just shows that you seem to be stuck in the same time warp as ISIS. If you ever get back (or even move forward for that matter) to the 21st century let us know.

Mute James Horkan
    Favourite James Horkan
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:38 PM

thats his answer to everything, I am/was not a member.

Mute Mick Early
    Favourite Mick Early
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:48 PM

“he was persuading other his age to join”? Really, that would have been a crime and he would have been arrested for it. He has never been arrested for that or anything else!

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:54 PM

That’s right Adrian, he was a political activist, he grew up in what was virtually an apartheid state and struggled against injustice for most of his life, he could have just rolled over and accepted it but he didn’t!

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:54 PM

That’s right Adrian, he was a political activist, he grew up in what was virtually an apartheid state and struggled against injustice for most of his life, he could have just rolled over and accepted it but he didn’t!

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:55 PM

The fact that Adams is incapable of telling the truth makes him illegible to become leader of this nation.
    Was Rabbite right?
    Do we, like gullible virgins, want to be lied to by saavy political alpha males? Do we want to believe their lies and let them use us as they will?
    Or are we grown ups? Do we respect straight speaking, honesty and integrity.
    It would seem by popular polls and the fabricated accounts of Gerry Adams, Kenny and Aherne that we are a nation of gullible juveniles – incapable of making grown up decisions for ourselves.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:01 PM

Only the people can decide that despite dark influences in the guise of the brindependent.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:12 PM

First class, Séamus!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:22 PM

I think most of you have forgotten if you ever knew what it was to live in the north when practically the first question on any job application was “what religion are you” and if you answered Catholic most of the decent well paid jobs were closed to you.
    To add insult to injury the B-Specials (if you don’t know who they are, google them) would come round every so often and break every window in the house and terrorise the occupants. If they were really cracking down those going 60 work sometimes weren’t sure when they left the house that they’d get back in one piece. I know because relatives of mine were refugees from Antrim in the 60s.
    The one time Captain O’Neil even mentioned power sharing the Unionists went on strike and made all sorts of threats till power sharing was taken off the table. Then there was the Civil Rights March to Burntollet Bridge and the rest, as they say, is history.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:23 PM

On the other hand Diarmuid the IRA were fighting against an apartheid state where one side of the community were brutalized and other side was supported by the British government and eventually by fine gael and the independent newspaper group. Catholics need not apply, Catholics cannot vote and if you protested your house was broken into by the authorities and you were arrested without charge, just like it was in South Africa and the way it is today where the Palestinian people are being abused by the jewish state of israel. History is obviously not required when you make a comment Diarmuid

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:24 PM

Adams is not the only one with copyright on inability yo speak the truth in Dáil Éireann. “Not a red cent”, “it is immoral to tax a man (or woman’s) home” etc, etc.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:45 PM

Brian Ward, you’re has hilarious as Gerry. PIRA and SF were two sides of the same coin. Armalite and ballotbox. You take up historical revisionism as a hobby?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:47 PM

@Paul Lane. There was huge inequality, which was generally resolved by the ’80s in NI. It didn’t need two more decades of PIRA/SF murdering innocent men, women and children with zero mandate from the nationalist people.

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:48 PM

In between hiding sex offenders in the south!!!

Mute Adrian McBride
    Favourite Adrian McBride
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:51 PM

He grew up in a state where he could have done whatever he wanted, go wherever he wanted. Blacks in SA didn’t have those rights so how it can be described as an Apartheid state is beyond me. Adams and people like him made the nationalist communities more deprived than the unionists or the British ever could have.

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:03 PM

Mick
    You left out the usual advice that if we have any evidence that Gerra was in the IRA we should report it to the Gardai!

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:12 PM

Hiding under the bed maybe. Let others do the dirty work.
    In similar circumstances, others have been called either liers or cowards.
    Wouldn’t apply to the brave Jarry of course

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:15 PM

Jopmarsy
    Adams grew up in an environment that allowed thugs to obtain weapons and develop functional IEDs and wage war against people of the Protestant faith in a sectarian conflict that resulted in thousands of deaths and many more maimings.
    Young Protestant males were murdered along the Border for no other reason other than to see their lands move into Catholic hands.
    The economic damage caused by this sectarian conflict was so enormous it makes the current National debt look puny by comparison.
    And all for what……..with the Union more firmly established than ever before with Adams supporting it and Sinn Fein with its Military Wing now helping Her Majesty to administer the Privince.
    PS I don’t have anything complimentary to say about the Loyalist side either.

Mute Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:19 PM

Or he could have joined the SDLP

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:20 PM

That Seamus, is genius, pure and simple.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:37 PM

Mary, it’s funny, every time Adams alleged IRA membership comes up, people try to explain why young men in the north might have felt the need to join up and why it might have been justified. I have no issue with that, in fact I do understand why people joined up at the time.

That’s not the point when it comes to Adams though. The point is that Adams denies he was ever in the IRA. So the question for everyone is, do you believe him?

Mute Ashling Smith
    Favourite Ashling Smith
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:06 PM

Comment of the century!!!! I made my OH jump when I saw this :-)

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:17 PM

Sean, was this the same Pat Rabbitte who admitted to lying during election campaigns? Are you seriously using him as a role model?

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:22 PM

He couldn’t do anything he wanted, couldn’t get proper housing or jobs, gerrymandering was rife, Catholics were second class citizens in their own country, it was a Protestant state for a Protestant people, but not anymore!

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:23 PM

Where were you hiding Brendan?

Mute Jopmarsy
    Favourite Jopmarsy
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:27 PM

Wouldn’t have been any war if there had been no discrimination, a lot of Catholics were murdered by Protestant thugs, just thought I would mention that as you forgot to, the Catholics will be the majority within the next 3 years and they will decide if Northern Ireland remains in the UK.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:07 AM

@Jopsmarshy. Indeed. The SDLP did a great job achieving equality by democratic means, while SF/PIRA, with no mandate, murdered innocent men, women and children.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:08 AM

@mary. It may surprise you to learn Mary that most of us in ROI do not come from Norniron. In fact the biggest irritant in our lives is having to put up with the consequences of your community’s “pot calling the kettle black bullshit”
    Just to be clear, most people really don’t give a s**t about the North.

Mute Mark De Brún
    Favourite Mark De Brún
    Nov 22nd 2014, 3:23 AM

Speak for yourself there Mr. Palmer. Out of interest I hope you have no plans to celebrate the 1916 centenary because the signatories would turn in their grave if they heard your attitude towards the North.

Mute Adrian McBride
    Favourite Adrian McBride
    Nov 22nd 2014, 10:59 AM

A lot of Catholics were murdered by Protestant thugs, fair enough. A lot of Catholics were also murdered by Catholic thugs, a lot of protestants were murdered by Catholic thugs too.

Catholics will be the majority in the next 3 years?? If you think this comes down to a simple sectarian headcount then you are naive beyond words. Clutching at straws in typical republican fashion.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:28 PM

I think Gerry’s comment shows the frustration that many people feel after being labeled a terrorist for opposing Irish Water.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:31 PM

In all fairness, there were definitely members of the Tallaght Band at that protest in Jobstown last saturday.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:44 PM

Justin
    You should of read the short article.
    He said he was not a member of ISIS.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

@Justin have you proof Gerry was leader of the IRA?why didn’t you go to the RUC or PSNI because they’ve been looking for proof since the 70′s

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:47 PM

Yes Glen, I get that, do you not get that he’s making a joke on his other claim not to have been in the IRA. I know the subtleties would be lost on you glen!

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:49 PM

Oh Norman, you are letting yourself down now, stick to the water will you cause you’re only going to look daft if you start defending Adams.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:54 PM

Glen you beggar believe!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Justin I’m not defending Gerry I’m just curious to what proof you had of Gerry’s leadership of the IRA.Also why didn’t you inform the northern police?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:56 PM

The PIRA has probably killed more people than ISIS at this point.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:58 PM

Do you have proof he wasnt?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:01 PM

Sarge I think you’ll find the burden of proof is on the accuser.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:02 PM

Yes Norman, the British negotiated with him in the 70′s because of his vast experience as a “barman” now don’t be annoying me with trite nonsense about Adams not been a senior IRA commander.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:04 PM

Justin so no proof then just your own opinion , okay so.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:06 PM

Justin btw i never said he was or wasn’t a member.You really should read a comment before you reply,helps to prevent silly responses.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:07 PM

Justin
    I have never voted SF but I’m going to in the next election just to annoy you.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:08 PM

SF logic = Adams is innocent because he was never convicted in a court of law (which we never recognised) in a state (we never recognised).

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:08 PM

Norman in your opinion, why do you think the British negotiated with him in the 70′s when he wasn’t even a leading figure in SF at the time? Simple question, what do you think, can you answer without going off on a tangent.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:12 PM

Justin for whatever reason , he had the ear of the IRA and that helped bring about peace.As to his membership he has denied it and despite the best efforts of British and Irish law enforcement it at the moment remains unproven.
    Now as I said if you have proof give it to those that require it .

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:12 PM

Awe, good for you Glen! great way to decide how to vote, you make this a better world.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:14 PM

“for whatever reason” ’nuff said.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:16 PM

Lance Armstrong was never convicted of doping.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:17 PM

@ Justin: “why do you think the British negotiated with him in the 70′s when he wasn’t even a leading figure in SF at the time? ”

Justin, Adams became vice president of SF ‘in the 70s’, can you link to evidence that the british were negotiating with him prior to this?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:18 PM

‘For whatever reason ‘is all I can say unlike you I don’t make assumptions. I’m not privy to the decision making process of the British authorities or their reasons for dealing with Adams.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:20 PM

Were jamming, no interest in arguing with a dyed in the wool shinner like your self. Blinded by the light of Gerry.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:24 PM

Sorry Justin, this isn’t RTE or the indo. If you’re going to pull statements out of your h0le that you can’t back up, you’ll be called on it.

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:43 PM

So it’s Friday, which is always great, best part of the weekend, in a great mood, and then I see the the bitter crywank sad acts frothing over a joke, and I’m like, this is gonna be a great weekend! Diarmuid, Justin and Sarge, I owe yee one.

Mute Mick Early
    Favourite Mick Early
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:52 PM

#diarmuid
    and you know this or just more spouting b/s?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:52 PM

He’s being labelled a terrorist for being a terrorist. It’s quite simple.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:56 PM

How did you type that with your cock in your hand?

Mute Mick Early
    Favourite Mick Early
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:13 PM

Sarge, you don’t prove a negative, back to school lad!!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:49 PM

@Mick. Yeah I know Lance Armstrong was never convicted of doping. And I know Gerry Adams was never convicted of being a PIRA leader.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:54 PM

Green thumb for you Glen. First for me!

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:10 PM

But he Lance Armstrong has admitted to doping.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:19 PM

Yep, after he denied the accusations of his friends and people he worked with for years. Sound familiar?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:26 PM

In Northern Ireland there are countless examples of innocent people being shot indiscriminately by the British Army – but they are not terrorists – they’re the “army” …

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:50 PM

And Jarry never tells a fib. Squeaky clean boy that he is….

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:20 AM

@Norman. When you are in bed with GSOC Whitehall makes certain that you have the best quality teflon….

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:11 PM

ISIS have killed 5,500 civilians in Iraq alone in the last year; the IRA killed 621 civilians in almost twenty five years. Hardly comparable.

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:12 PM

Do you also find grammatical accuracy as a “nonsense”?

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian

Just started to read article and it was already finished

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:26 PM

He’s telling the truth. ISIS don’t turn a blind eye to rape within their ranks.

Mute David Field
    Favourite David Field
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:33 PM

How do you know that?.Have you got a direct line to ISIS where they tell you the ins and outs of their daily activities.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:40 PM

I’d say rape is pretty common among their ranks. Only difference is that the victim would be stoned to death for her part in the act.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:42 PM

ISIS don’t do blinding just beheading.
    Comparing Water protesters with a blood thirsty religious group was appalling. The TD in question ,if he had any morals would realise the honourable thing to do would be to resign.But I referred to a TD so no honour,no resignation.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:10 PM

Rónán Duffy, would you please explain exactly what you mean by your comment….

“That clears that up, anything else we should know Gerry?”

Because to me it seems like a very poor attempt at humor, or just plain simple sh.it stirring by someone that is intellectually unable to come up with a viable a story..

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:28 PM

Yes! But shhhh! Don’t tell the infidels!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

Niall have you seen what they do to women that they capture? The sell them as slaves. They encourage sexual violence as a weapon of war. You on the other hand seem to think that it is a viable weapon of politics.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:06 PM

BTW….What are ye Fine Gaelers doing for the 1916 terrorist commemorations in Dublin – are ye all going to it – to stand an salute an all?

Oh wait – sorry- that was in black n white an therefore ‘good’ terrorism!

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:30 PM

@padraic probably stay in (or under) the bed just like “he who was never a member of the IRA” obviously did when his community was being attacked . Because if he wasn’t a member, what was he doing? Perhaps GCHQ knows….

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:47 PM

Adams does be as cool as a cucumber! I’d say yer man Kenny has many a sleepless night over Gerry.Not long now Kenny,the people are awake.

Mute scooter mcgavin
    Favourite scooter mcgavin
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:21 PM

What a silly comment Brendan. I think you forgetting the fact that Adams and his party were instrumental in bringing peace to the North.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:13 AM

What a childish comment – recycling the auld Fine Gael nonsense.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:26 AM

Wuhooooo Scooter, we are so lucky to have Jarry bringing us peace. What would we have done without him and his ilk? Give me a bucket….

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:09 AM

To answer your question, we’d have done what we did for decades before: abandoned nationalists in a two tiered, gerrymandered, sectarian society.

Mute JayoMoonshine
    Favourite JayoMoonshine
    Nov 22nd 2014, 7:50 AM

In the same way Fine Gael turned a blind eye to rape in industrial schools for 50 years.

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:18 PM

No Niall, they actively encourage sectarian acts of brutal rape and violence against women. You’re an idiot.

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:48 PM

Nìl aon Jihaid mar do Jhihaid féin.

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:43 PM

If he grew the beard a bit longer, lost the glasses and got himself one of those fancy head scarfs then I’d be be a tad suspicious, but for now he’s just plain ould Gerry.

Mute Joey Hackman
    Favourite Joey Hackman
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:27 PM

Can we believe him?

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe

ISIS may be genocidal lunatics, but they have standards in fairness.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Nov 22nd 2014, 6:42 AM

He has the beard for it !

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:17 PM

Seriously? What have you been taking this morning?

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:28 PM

He doesn’t have to be, but could probably do a bit of consulting for them?

Mute David
    Favourite David

When ISIS make there way over here.Ye will be all looking for Gerrys help

Mute Rick
    Favourite Rick
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:29 PM

Why David? If ISIS make there way over here will he negotiate a peace deal with them.

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:27 PM

Why David? Cause he’s got form with the gun?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:58 AM

Gerry will share power with them and call it a victory?

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin

Sorry Gerry, but Paul Murphy has already taken that role! I’ve a suspicion that the tweet maybe an attempt at humour

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:43 PM

So does that mean the massive irish movement on the streets are all members of an extremist group? The attempt to divide the largest mass movement of irish people in a generation who are opposed to the selling off to private interest and direct taxation of our water supply by painting us as murders and rapist will not work in fact it is acting as a rallying call. If irish water is not abolished there will be further civil unrest and if Kenny and the boys in the dail bar refuse to listen to the people they represent they will directly cause huge damage to our society.

Big push on the 10th to show it’s more then am extremist Muslim group that has an issue with the monstrosity that is the quango irish water !

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:29 PM

I feel like Mrs Doyle when the sarcastic priest is staying on craggy island with them…

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:32 PM

What about the IRA then Gerry???..

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:33 PM

What has the IRA got to do with ISIS.

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian

Please explain more tom

Mute Kevin Whyte
    Favourite Kevin Whyte

We don’t like ISIS, we don’t like the IRA and we don’t like SINN FEIN.
    And we don’t trust Gerry Adams or any of them for that matter.
    Get in the bin all four of you. You belong together.

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32

Who this we pale face ?.. Speak for yourself…. Love ya big G

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne

Kevin – When you say we don’t like Sinn Féin. Who’s we?

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief

We?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:10 PM

Kevins a Fianna Fail man. So, although the ‘we’ in his comment don’t like or trust the IRA, his former party leader was happy enough to try supply them with weapons back in the 70s.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:14 PM

Kevin who is the ” we” in your post, have you a big white rabbit called Harvey sat beside you???

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:05 PM

@Martin Byrne. The 90.1 percent of the people who didn’t vote for SF in 2011 don’t like you. You are not the biggest party in Ireland, you got 9.9% of the vote where it matters and no amount of RTE supported spin can change that fact

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:34 PM

Brendan – Let’s see in the next election :)

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:38 PM

@Martin Looking forward to it…..

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:22 PM

Kevin, I see that you are having some problems with pronouns. For future reference, the first-person, personal pronoun is ‘I’.

Mute Alan Driscoll
    Favourite Alan Driscoll
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:19 PM

Troll,s are all over this story like a rash it seems to have unleashed the anti G.Adams wing of the troll army. If your masters spent as much time trying to run the country as you lot do on Shinner bashing maybe we wouldn’t be in this mess. Wishing you all the best in your retirement from the troll army.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:54 PM

What’s the definition of a Troll Alan? Someone who disagrees with you?

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:25 AM

People like you Brendan who comment on any comment you don’t agree with. It’s like a carpet bombing of the comments section sometimes with the anti-SF lot.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:55 PM

ChArle Rex thank god I never had the problem that Gerry Adams had over his brother or many other families and I take from your disgusting comment neither have u but I know one thing family bond is a very strong thing and not one of us know what we would do in their shoes I would hope I’d do the right thing and report them but this is the point not one of us know till it happen now go away and try to score point on something less hurtful to a lot of people

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:35 PM

Why did he cover up for his child abuser brother?

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay

Because he was his brother.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:41 PM

Oh sorry, that’s okay then.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:42 PM

Why did members of the current government cover up for the rape and abuse of thousands of children by the Catholic Church ? Got any proof that Gerry knew about his brother? I’ve got plenty to prove my accusations Now back in your box troll.

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger

Charles, why muddy the waters with such an emotive subject, please refrain from using cheap shots to make a point.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex

Oh bless. I hurt the shinners feelings. Cheer up love.

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger

So everyone who challenges you for using the child abuse attack is a shinner? Grow TFU

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex

Kool, I’d rather gerry addressed the issues maryloo deflected skillfully then read his ‘hilarious’ tweets. Any other leader of a party would be out of a job now. Luckily shinners are very forgiving of their deified leader.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:53 PM

It’s a valid question. If you prefer to consider it an attack, that’s on you. The man has questions to answer. Simples

Mute Kool Tiger
    Favourite Kool Tiger

Please leave child abuse remarks out of your comments as it’s not clever and demeans those who may have experienced such things

Mute Derry Dillon
    Favourite Derry Dillon
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:58 PM

The Catholic Church, the IRA, UDA, Sinn Fein etc. are all the dirty fcukers who represent our little society and in the centre is Gerry – tweeting sh%te.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:06 PM

Kool – nicely deflected. As I explained to a different shinner recently, it’s happened in my wider family but we didn’t find out till after the monster had died. I’d have dragged him to a garda station in a heartbeat. So yes, to answer a poster below this, I do know how I’d react on this situation. If you are happy to call important questions ‘point scoring’ that’s on you and your faux hurt. I’m not.

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk

Have you ever heard the word ‘denial’ being used when it comes to abuse cases ?

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:30 AM

@Paddy. Amazing how any conversation about GA or NI always ends up with the apologists doing the Northern Ireland “Whataboutery” mantra

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:39 AM

Now now. He’s the one who brought up the cover up of abuse on a completly unrelated subject in an effort to play the what aboutery card.If he wants all cover up allegations investigated lets start with the ones we actually have evidence for not the ones we wish we had evidence for.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane

Gerry not a member of
    Isis -tick..Gerry not a member of the IRA – tick

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:37 PM

I’m sorry I asked him this yesterday on Twitter :-)

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:32 PM

I think is a absolute disgrace the lack of respect a lot of people have for Mr Adams. Yet ye fools have voted in fool after fool to run our country. Ye may think ye are smart and clever but ye are actually brain washed sheep. I can’t guarantee ye will see the light someday because ye probably come from a long line of sheep. But the light is coming

Mute Derry Dillon
    Favourite Derry Dillon

Was Gerry involved with some other terrorist organisation? He denies that too…

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:09 PM

Wasn’t Gaddafi one of his best mate .

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:17 AM

Wasn’t Pinochet Thatcher’s BFF?!!!

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Nov 21st 2014, 6:56 PM

Isis haven’t gone away you know.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Terrorist banter is great craic. The PIRA has probably killed more people than ISIS.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:50 PM

Not even close. At most, the PIRA killed 2000 in 31 years. ISIS have killed over 8000 civilians in Iraq in the first eight months of this year. Stop spouting random bullcrud…

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:14 AM

A former terrorist leader cracking terrorist jokes is bullcrud..

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

In what parts of our country, did SF/IRA facilitate the placement of paedophiles?

You can tweet them if you want.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:25 PM

Between Sinn Fein, the RCC and an accommodating/pimping political class this country has ended up a paedophiles paradise – second only to Thailand.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:19 AM

Sean, you forgot to mention that successive FG and FF governments also facilitated paedophilia. Stones in glasshouses and all that.

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:48 PM

The fact Gerry Adams was an IRA member doesn’t make him ISIS. Different types of terrorism and ideologies. Please respect our terrorists

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:23 AM

It really gets me when people spell freedom fighter wrong :(

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:56 PM

Ah but it’s really hard to believe anything that man says.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:53 PM

Now that he has denied it, I sorta believe he is.

Mute Seán O'Murchú
    Favourite Seán O'Murchú
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:12 PM

Course he wasn’t in the IRA he just became pen pals with the convicted IRA killers of Garda Jerry McCabe while they were in prison then decided he’d go visit them in prison as you do…

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:47 PM

He could teach ISIS a thing or two

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 22nd 2014, 2:41 AM

I’m beginning to warm to this Mr Adams :-D

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:00 PM

Why you no post my comments? :(

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:07 PM

It’s your broken English mate, fix that and come back sometime in the future.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Nov 22nd 2014, 12:28 AM

He was never in the IRA either. Marie Cahill showed him up.

Mute Noel Christopher
    Favourite Noel Christopher
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:27 PM

They haven’t gone away you know

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:20 PM

He’s never denied being in the IRA

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:02 PM

I think he has actually, repeatedly. Not sure if you saw Fintan O’Toole’s recent article summarising numerous examples of Gerry’s struggles with accuracy? One of those examples was his denials about being in the IRA. Interestingly, Gerry wrote to the IT about this article but didn’t try to contradict anything Fintan said. http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/never-mind-the-evidence-feel-the-truthiness-of-what-gerry-adams-says-1.1978855

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:22 PM

PS here’s an stuck with a direct quote from Adams saying “I have not been and am not a member of the IRA”. http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2002/oct/01/northernireland.northernireland

The question is, do his supporters believe he’s telling the truth about that? If not, then how can anyone believe anything he says?

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:25 PM

“an stuck”?! Weird! Was meant to say “an article”!

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 22nd 2014, 1:26 PM

I love how you share an article by Fintan O’Toole as if he were a real journalist rather than an establishment hack.

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:51 PM

Wow great article

Mute mick66
    Favourite mick66
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:14 PM

Oh yes he IS!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 21st 2014, 11:02 PM

What a wonderful sense of humour he has.

Mute Paul Keane
    Favourite Paul Keane
    Nov 22nd 2014, 9:55 AM

I don’t believe him.

Mute Daire Stynes
    Favourite Daire Stynes
    Nov 22nd 2014, 8:09 AM

Shave the beard jerry there onto you…..Allah akhbar jerry lol

Mute Roland D Hay
    Favourite Roland D Hay
    Nov 21st 2014, 8:46 PM

Wow news

Mute shawn davis
    Favourite shawn davis
    Nov 22nd 2014, 9:28 AM

Noel coonan should be more concerned about what group he is in. You know noel your talking shit.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Nov 21st 2014, 7:33 PM

Why you no post my reply journal??

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Nov 21st 2014, 9:29 PM

Perhaps they no like it

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 21st 2014, 10:07 PM

Ya that was some apology alright