You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Twitter is not impressed with Ray D'Arcy's interview with Making A Murderer's Dean Strang

It has been described as a “wasted opportunity”.

LAST NIGHT, EVERYONE’S favourite defence attorney Dean Strang appeared on The Ray D’Arcy Show to chat about Making A Murderer, that hurling statue and his Irish roots.

To say viewers were excited is an understatement.

Unfortunately for those who tuned in, the interview didn’t quite live up to expectations.

Many criticised D’Arcy for essentially summarising Making A Murderer and not asking more in-depth questions.

strang

Over the course of the interview, D’Arcy asked questions about the case at the heart of Making A Murderer to set the scene for viewers who hadn’t yet bingewatched the series.

Unfortunately, this meant that Making A Murderer fans were left a little bored by the whole thing.

The phrase “wasted opportunity” was thrown about a few times.

Even celebrities took to Twitter to express their discontent with the interview.

Love/Hate’s Laurence Kinlan, Kilkenny hurler Richie Hogan and UFC’s Cathal Pendred were united in their disappointment.

People were especially unimpressed with Ray D’Arcy asking Strang what it was like to be a “sex symbol”.

Ah here, Ray.

All in all, people just felt bad for Dean Strang.

We still love you, Dean <3

dean RTÉ RTÉ

Written by Amy O’Connor and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/01/img2-thejournal-240.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2564764" class="alignnone" /end]

Tubs asked Ice Cube about his very Irish sounding name on The Late Late Show last night >

Here’s why people walked out of Daniel Radcliffe’s latest film in Sundance >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

125 Comments
    Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:33 AM

This type of broadcasting is the primary reason i resent paying my tv licence.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:54 AM

Sad sad people who would even watch this crap, some people need to get a life, the same ones give out about rte and it’s shows but are the same ones watching it over and over again, it’s these people who keep it going

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:55 AM

Well said, Brendan. If you watch RTE, you have no right to complain about it

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:02 AM

Who said i watched it?

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:16 AM

Moderate Michael- are you saying only these that don’t watch RTE can complain about it?

Surely only those that have watched it are in a position to complain about it.

That like saying if you ordered dinner in a restaurant you have no right to complain if it wasn’t good. But the guy in the table next to you could complain about what you ate.

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:19 PM

i live in Kildare, yet i can’t stand, so i understand you all

Mute Assel Dannourah

i live in Kildare, yet i can’t stand ray, so i understand you all

Mute Stephen Ward
    Favourite Stephen Ward
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:55 PM

Ray Darcy to strang about avery: “did he have form”? Strang: ” what”!?

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:12 PM

Have you tried crutches?

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:30 PM

i prefer crunches

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:27 PM

How in the name of God could you complain about something if you don’t watch it, hello, anyone home , plus what else can the saorview generation created by our new poverty watch. Use ur marbles please.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:07 PM

Ray is simply awkward as a tv presenter

Jan 24th 2016, 4:49 PM

Love that one Assel…

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Jan 24th 2016, 5:23 PM

Can’t stand D’arcy. Didn’t he say he’d emigrate if Enda Kenny became Taoiseach?

Wouldn’t be surprised if he’s a fianna failer. Has the smug sense of entitlement!

D’arcy and his hipster ‘I hate the Church’ routine, his feigned sincerity doing “sensitive” issues, his rabble rousing and his boring personal life make him the teacher at school who thinks he’s cool and everyone like him but everyone secretly thinks he’s a knob.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 24th 2016, 8:34 PM

Getting a job in RTE its not what you know but who you know just look at who is representing Ireland in the Euro . Now you understand

Mute Linny
    Favourite Linny
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:00 PM

RTE neither asks nor cares for our opinion. Clearly.

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:14 PM

Just watched 10 minutes of the meaning of life with Gay Byrne and to be honest…it’s disgraceful to have people of the country who probably believe his opinion and ways.RTE depressing the nation.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 25th 2016, 1:44 AM

RTE has gone to hell in the last few years. Many OVER-PAID people in RTE with inflated wages paid by the Licence Payers.

Mute TokezBurke
    Favourite TokezBurke
    Jan 25th 2016, 2:08 AM

Thomas Hannigan, awful show and I hate that Gay Byrne chap! Ever seen the classic video of Stephen fry on it?

Mute Fiona D
    Favourite Fiona D
    Jan 29th 2016, 3:06 PM

Could not have put this any better. I used to love listening to radio at 3- Now it goes OFF immediately after Joe and back on at 4:30!

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:34 AM

How did that gobshi*e get on the television?

Jan 24th 2016, 4:50 PM

Dustin helped lol.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:55 PM

Dustin would have done a better job.

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:34 AM

I hate the way Ray Darcy leans over on his desk,he’s nearly on top of the guest. It must be very annoying. Interview was shocking too. Usual crap from Darcy.

Mute PaulOD
    Favourite PaulOD
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:37 AM

All Darcy is missing is Dustin , and Zig and Zag and he’d have a good show , he is so bad , used to like him , can’t stand him now

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:33 AM

In fairness, what did people expect. If you want a good interview, you ain’t gonna find it on RTE

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:09 AM

You are right but I’d at least expect him to have watched the show. It hadn’t a fcuking clue. Getting paid ten grand a week and he couldn’t be arsed to research his guest.

Mute Niamhs
    Favourite Niamhs
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:48 AM

D’Arcy needs to be back on the Den. That audience was most suited to him.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:14 AM

Niamhs, I have a 7, 5, and 2 year old and they wouldn’t (sorry couldn’t) watch him.

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Jan 24th 2016, 8:41 PM

Nah… It’s not right to inflict him on children…

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:39 AM

D’Arcy gave off about RTE for years nearly thinking he was above them. When they waved their cheque book he came running. They should have left him out in the cold. Brendan o’connor was much superior. Can’t understand why they cut him when show was doing well.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:36 AM

Nothing new in the interview. Was waiting for it to get more interesting but it never did. Was hoping to hear a different angle. Absolutely pointless interview.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:38 AM

Maybe he wasn’t allowed ask certain questions, American TV guests rarely go.on tv without their lawyers having a look at what will be asked first. If he was in Ireland to talk he would have been on late late show , he is on a self promotion tour it seems

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:20 AM

Mark if anything he seemed to be playing the whole thing down wanting the media circus to disappear very quickly.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:22 AM

Again then maybe he doesn’t want to answer certain questions, I suppose of its to be back in court he might not be allowed comment either so they just don’t ask

Mute Caillte
    Favourite Caillte
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:31 AM

Is journalism (albeit, daily edge journalism) as easy as collecting tweets and reposting them into an article?

Mute Peter Smyth
    Favourite Peter Smyth
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:36 AM

I’m not on twitter and I missed the show. I found it mildly informative. The real question, why did you click on it? I mean, the headline betrays the content aftercall!

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan

Nope this isn’t journalism, it’s a blog site…

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer

Yes. The Daily Edge needs an overhaul. I presume it started out to be an entertainment section of The Journal but now it’s just an outlet for ‘child watches father download anti-virus’ and ‘this hero said big fancy words on University Challenge last night and EVERYONE went crazy’

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:08 AM

Can’t bare D’arcy. He cannot interview correctly. He should be axed

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 9:36 PM

I’m sure it will be axed. Bring back brendan

Mute Ian Jackson
    Favourite Ian Jackson
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:45 AM

“Eh like eh y’know is he guilty, eh like where did u get the hurling ornament, your eh a sex symbol, eh thanks for coming” Worst interview I’ve ever seen, so many questions he could’ve asked, very frustrating.

Mute Robert Beatty
    Favourite Robert Beatty

Twitter is never impressed with ray Darcy
    He’s a fool

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:23 AM

Ray D’Arcy has, to my mind, taken Bono’s throne as chief Irish pox. While I don’t like U2, at least they produce music that pleases some. I’m not sure D’Arcy could please himself at this stage

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Jan 24th 2016, 7:52 PM

Thank you for that deeply insightful comment.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 9:37 PM

I thought it was funny

Mute Darren Varley
    Favourite Darren Varley
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:27 AM

Pox is a great underused word

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:03 AM

Even with the woman on earlier he constantly questioned her about her relationship status and trying to set her up it was embarrassing.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:15 AM

Bad as Pat Kenny was ; D’arcy is worse; if the big chiefs in RTE can’t see that then ??????

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Jan 24th 2016, 5:48 PM

As wooden as Kenny is he could manage to conduct a decent interview on occasion. Ray D’arcy went from being the sidekick of puppets to a bubblegum ”look how mad I am” radio show, he is completely not the right person for the gig… Even Brendan O’Connor is infinitely better, and that is saying a lot. RTE really is a cesspit of completely useless, absolutely talentless and incompetent people, most of whom got their jobs through nepotism and/or their connections within RTE.

Mute Ciarán O'Leary
    Favourite Ciarán O'Leary
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:08 PM

It’s so rare that RTE actually get a guest worth interviewing, yet when they do they don’t treat them any differently than when they convince some weather girl to talk about her dating life or some farmer to tell us about the rights of rural drinkers. I remember that at the height of the Lance Armstrong scandal Ryan Tubridy rushed through an interview with David Walsh and Emma O’Reilly – two of the most in-demand interviewees in one of the world’s biggest stories at the time – so that he could move on to an interview with Anne Doyle or Thelma Mansfield or something equally pointless. At the time, an hour long special on the Armstrong story would have been the right decision for any credible talk show. The same is probably true for the lawyer last night.

Mute Dennis Dinneen
    Favourite Dennis Dinneen
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:44 AM

“And then what happened Dean? And then what happened?”

Mute Patricia Tsouros
    Favourite Patricia Tsouros

One thing is for sure after last night ignorant interview of Dean Strang, Ray Darcy is no legal eagle!

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:55 AM

Why is it that when there’s a foreign guest on rte they’re obsessed with their “irish” roots? Ice cube the night before and strang last night. It’s ridiculous

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Jan 24th 2016, 6:07 PM

That is just filler used by lazy people who are not smart enough to think up some real questions. Whenever i hear that ”Irish roots” crap trotted out I just cringe. It is like that freakshow town in Offaly, Moneygall, pure cringe.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 24th 2016, 9:34 PM

Obama plaza is making a fortune in Moneygall. Always packed.

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:55 AM

Not one comment sticking up for Ray, that’s all you need to know.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:18 AM

It’s unfortunate that RTE and its presenters, similar to our Politicians, can be summed up in one word, a word that we are becoming accustomed to, day after long drawn out fcukin’ day….. ‘substandard’. It’s a pity, because we’re so much better than this. We need another Revolution.

Mute Carl Moore
    Favourite Carl Moore
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:48 PM

Why is anybody surprised about D’Arcy? While on Today FM, he constantly disgraced himself and the station with his completely amateur, inappropriate and self centred interview technique and statements. When Anton Savage came on the odd time to replace him, it was like a breath of professional fresh air in comparison. D’Arcy should not be allowed on local radio even on 3 am slots, let alone national television – what were RTE thinking?

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh

Darcy is typical of the boring highly paid non – entity RTE is renowned for. He is totally out of his depth, no interviewing technique, utterly clueless, unwatchable drivel.

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:34 PM

It’s the first time I watched The Darcy show ……. Never , ever again …. Wasted opportunity is an understatement..

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:33 PM

Why I why is this train wreck of a show continuing, awful stuff only trumped by the equally dreadful radio show. Never has a presenter ever been so obviously been out of his depth and comfort zone since moving to RTE.

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:49 PM

Shocking interview, Dean Strang looked bored… What a waste of his time… And playing the #man trailer while he talked.. Good suffering Jaysus. Such potential to pic his brains for 20 minutes instead I was left picking my nose.. Darcy left Today Fm to do half the work for double the pay at RTE.. Gobsheens

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 24th 2016, 6:51 PM

Ray Darcy is an overpaid, lightweight idiot. He makes Ryan Tubridy look and sound like David Frost. That assinine grin that seems to be permanently on his face makes me want to vomit.

Mute Grinspoon
    Favourite Grinspoon
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:30 PM

Why is anybody suprised? the mans a terrible presenter.

Mute Pat Donlon
    Favourite Pat Donlon
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:10 PM

Ray should be given redundancy and told to exit stage left but who ever gave him the lob should be FIRED for incompetence and given a kick up the hole and nothing more. Thank god for Jonathan Ross on ITV on a Saturday night.

Mute Peter Smyth
    Favourite Peter Smyth

I’m glad I missed it so.

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:09 PM

Darcy is a waste of space..always has been…

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:20 PM

People have to vote with their remote if they don’t want D’Arcy on the box. Whether you like the show or not, once you’re watching it that’s all RTE and the advertisers care about.
    I just don’t understand how anyone can sit down and watch a show that they vehemently dislike. Personally I just won’t allow myself to, haven’t seen one episode apart from watching Pam Anderson’s interview on playback after reading so much press and friends talking about it.
    All producers care about is audience share and advertising revenue, keep tuning in on Saturday night and D’Arcy will retain his position.

Mute Jumping girl
    Favourite Jumping girl
    Jan 24th 2016, 3:45 PM

I’ve made this point many many times!!

If people keep watching him the ratings stay high ! Advertisers stay happy and that’s all RTE care about !

STOP watching this drivel !! I never do ….not since Pamela Anderson which I had recorded . He is pure shite but everyone here is keeping him in this job if they keep watching it every Saturday night ….duh!!!!

Mute Joe Nah
    Favourite Joe Nah
    Jan 24th 2016, 3:53 PM

Usual inept D’arcy interview. Have heard this type of interview conducted by him quite a lot on his radio show – have switched away – no longer a listener. He needs to put in professional effort into pre interview preparation and he needs to be trained in interview tecniques.
    It doesn’t help of course that he is very much a believer in his own worth and importance.

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:36 PM

He belongs on a local radio station, at best.

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:47 PM

Community radio Denise!

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Jan 24th 2016, 6:27 PM

I finally gave up on him on Friday when on his radio show he had a guest who was an expert in online passwords and online security. It was embarrassing listening to Ray basically telling him there was no need for passwords and he would carry on the way he has always done. Not the first time he has done this to guests on his shows.

Mute Catherine Taylor
    Favourite Catherine Taylor
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:50 PM

Embarrassing. D’Arcy has zero intelligence.

Mute Lorna Leonard
    Favourite Lorna Leonard
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:50 AM

Blankety Blank is the ideal program for him.

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:52 AM

Lol at all the fools who watch Irish chat shows

Mute Zx5vZulB
    Favourite Zx5vZulB
    Jan 24th 2016, 9:08 PM

I can’t watch Darcy without covering my face and squinting through tensed fingers. If I was washed up on a deserted island with him and a tin of tuna, I’d eat Darcy and talk to the tuna.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:09 PM

Ray Darcy couldn’t interview a cat.

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:58 PM

Tried that, not easy in fairness.

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner
    Jan 24th 2016, 9:56 PM

Couldnt agree more. He’s $h1te

Mute emma hussey
    Favourite emma hussey

There is no talent in RTE end of ..

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:58 PM

When RTÉ get a big scoop like Dean Strang or Pussy Riot, why don’t they get a proper interviewer instead of Ray D’Arcy or Brendan O’Connor? It’s not like they’re short of cash.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:09 PM

Ray Darcy and todayfm are genius. RTE not so much. #500k

Mute Breda Kelly
    Favourite Breda Kelly
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:53 PM

Bring back Pat Kenny. The only one that can do a serious interview.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:23 PM

D’arcy is a plonker. I thought Duffy was bad until this clown showed up on RTE.

Mute James J Mac Kenna
    Favourite James J Mac Kenna
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:31 PM

What do you expect it’s Ray Darcy.

Mute Evan Dunne
    Favourite Evan Dunne
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:56 PM

Woeful interview. D’Arcy would put you to sleep. A wasted opportunity.

Mute Le Lapin Noir
    Favourite Le Lapin Noir
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:51 AM

Yawn! Twiter is always offended, outraged or upset about something trivial.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:21 AM

LOL – says the guy signed i to the journal using his witter account……………. :-)

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:48 PM

Well really……who actually thought Ray could do real interviews?

Mute Liam Walsh
    Favourite Liam Walsh
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:51 PM

A wasted opportunity indeed. Sums up the Ray Darcy show, in fact all RTE Saturday night talk shows.

Mute Mark Corrigan
    Favourite Mark Corrigan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:00 AM

Time to bring back gay byrne and mike murphy. Gerald kean and the lovely lisa should have been invited onto the show.

Darcy ruined the last two episodes. I hung on for about 1min after listening to some tart look for a lad she met in a car park before working the 20mins of rte out on my punch bag.

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Jan 24th 2016, 3:02 PM

Bring grumpy O’Connor back please

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:40 PM

As long as he doesn’t do that joke thing at the beginning. He always mistimes the punchlines.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:25 PM

The most vital question was not asked…. Which was what tone of ” Just For Men” does he use ????

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:42 PM

Mr. Darcy is a overpaid washout. He has no interviewing skills and is told what to do by the other half.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jan 24th 2016, 8:59 PM

If Gerry ryan was alive he would be doing the late late or this show I’d reckon. He was capable of doing an interview. I hate Ray Darcy by the way,

Mute Ann Mc Donnell
    Favourite Ann Mc Donnell
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:24 PM

Glad I didn’t watch it now, I watched two great documentary,s on Netflix well worth watching. Kids for Cash, and the Central Park five,

Mute Denis O'Sullivan
    Favourite Denis O'Sullivan
    Jan 24th 2016, 8:42 PM

We had someone who would have asked the right questions but Brendan was shafted.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Jan 24th 2016, 3:07 PM

He, like every other broadcaster’s puppet is just desperately probing for the interviewee to say something sensational. It’s what they believe the public really want…and probably is.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:13 PM

In fairness this criticism is coming from someone who wrote an entire article copying and pasting Twitter feeds

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:48 PM

Fair enough.
    Still valid criticism though.
    A wasted opportunity to delve into a profoundly disturbing conviction.
    The interview required gravitas and intelligence.
    Instead we got light hearted quips about sex symbols and rehashed colloquialism.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:26 PM

Angie Bowie was called ” amazing”…. Vile waste of skin

Mute epo eire
    Favourite epo eire
    Jan 24th 2016, 5:03 PM

It’s frustrating coz we have Turbirdy for the fluff. We want “the other” whoever that is always going to be, Ray in this case, (and I like Ray) to be tougher he’s been able to get the harder hitting guests on repeatedly so far but just hasn’t pushed the questions as far as we know he can. Please please please don’t give Joe Duffy his own show next.

Mute Billy Pilgrim
    Favourite Billy Pilgrim
    Jan 24th 2016, 2:52 PM

In defense of Ray D’arcy

Like the vast majority of posters, commenters and those who tuned in last night, I was hoping for insight and depth when it came to interviewing the pop culture phenomenon that is Dean Strang. Obviously we got none of that. But. The Ray D’Arcy show is broadcast on RTE 1, a channel who’s average viewer is aged 53. I would make the bold presumption that the average viewer, doesn’t have Netflix and has no idea who Dean Strang is. This put D’Arcy and his production team in the awkward position of having to appeal to both the average viewer and those of us who tuned in especially to catch one of the most culturally relevant guests on RTE in months. It was a poor interview, but an awkward one to navigate. It was also a serious subject matter and I’m sure some of the questions he would have liked to have asked may have been legally off limits. Regarding the sex symbol status and hurling statue, he had to ask those questions as would any other interviewer because they are interesting, unusual and in the case of the latter, Irish-centric.

Think he’ll never recover after the Jack Nicholson impersonator interview to be honest. Someone should have been hung for that one.

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Jan 24th 2016, 4:58 PM

Primetime Saturday night viewing on any channel is not aimed at an aged demographic. The trick of a good interviewer is to entice and create an interest for the viewer in the interviewee and if they are unfamiliar with their work to motivate them to seek it out irregardless of their age.
    D’Arcy should have been prepared adequately by his researchers for the interview, no excuses and no defence.

Mute epo eire
    Favourite epo eire
    Jan 24th 2016, 5:12 PM

Good point about the radio Billy Pilgrim didnt know that. And being fans of a making a murder we may all want to know some deeper questions but they had to cut a balance between existing fans people just starting to watch it and people who have never heard of it.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Jan 24th 2016, 6:57 PM

@Billy Pilgrim: you are an idiot.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:27 PM

Who’s Dean Strang/e ?

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 24th 2016, 1:55 PM

Go back to bed Christine.

Mute Sara O Gorman
    Favourite Sara O Gorman
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:47 PM

Think Ray may go back to then den!

Mute Benny Dorm
    Favourite Benny Dorm

We’re blessed with journalists of the calibre of D’arcy and Marian.

Mute Chris Creagh
    Favourite Chris Creagh
    Jan 24th 2016, 11:17 AM

Not the same since left today fm

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jan 24th 2016, 3:46 PM

If this was any other institution except rte he would be fired by now.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Jan 25th 2016, 12:33 PM

his last year in todayfm was abysmal

Mute Sara O Gorman
    Favourite Sara O Gorman
    Jan 24th 2016, 10:47 PM

Think Ray may go back to the
    den!

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jan 25th 2016, 8:18 AM

Ray was more than likely asking the questions he was told to ask by the people who pay his wages.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:22 PM

Rte, the great irish cesspit of no talent, byrne, darcy, tubridy, o connor, to name but a few, these chancers have been inflicted on the public, absolutely woeful the lot of them

Mute Aine Molloy
    Favourite Aine Molloy
    Jan 25th 2016, 2:49 AM

To be fair, this isn’t a rare interview or a scoop. Both Dean and Jerry are doing the media rounds globally at the moment, I live in NZ and Jerry was on the radio this morning with one of the morning shows. Almost identical set of questions/answers as Ray asked/got including the sex symbol one. Seems to me that there is a script to be followed if you want an interview.

Mute tommy elliott
    Favourite tommy elliott
    Mar 19th 2016, 10:33 PM

the ray Darcy show is so bad keep hoping it will get better so far its rubbish a wast of tv time sorry Ray stick to radio Tommy in monaghan

Mute Frankie James
    Favourite Frankie James
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:14 PM

This programme is just awful and ray does no justice whatsoever, bring back cranky face

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:10 PM

and we thought craig doyle was tripe