You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here’s how people reacted to Ray D’Arcy’s new show last night

It had Tommy Tiernan. Tulisa and WHEATUS.

Ray D'Arcy Show Andres Poveda Andres Poveda

RAY D’ARCY BEGAN his quest to take over Saturday night telly last night – and it provoked quite a response from those eager to see what RTÉ would be serving up as prime time weekend TV from now on.

He entered the stage and could barely get started such was the hoopla in the RTÉ studio.

rayapplause RTE Player RTE Player

He began by telling the story of how one of his neighbours popped the head over the fence during the week and said:

Good luck Ray. It’s a big deal.

No pressure, then. He then revealed that he was feeling the stress a little coming up to the new show:

I have to be honest, I am feeling a little bit of pressure this week. I was tense at home in the D’Arcy household.

Ah, Ray. It’ll be grand.

The first guest up was ex Munster rugby man Donnacha O’Callaghan

donnacha RTE Player RTE Player

Loads of people absolutely loved him, as he chatted away about his charity work and showed some adorable shots of his kids

donnacha2 Twitter Twitter

The make-up came under fire though

Still a decent, if unsurprising first guest down for Ray

Ray D'Arcy Show 05 Andre Poveda Andre Poveda

The fact that there was a massive rugby match happening at the time of the interview wasn’t lost on people

Remember the Dancing Man story from back in May? Ray had him on next

dancimgna Twitter Twitter

Englishman Sean O’Brien chatted about the viral story, but it wasn’t the most timely of interviews:

Next up was Tulisa, but because of some legal wranglings she couldn’t talk about her recent trials and tribulations

tulisa RTE Player RTE Player

Which didn’t go down well

The final guest of the night was the main man of the evening – Tommy Tiernan. And he had some decent lines

tommy RTE Player RTE Player

Including one notable line about soft mickeys that got Ray and the crowd going

Then, Wheatus (remember them?) played out the show with TEENAGE DIRTBAG

teenage RTE Player RTE Player

There was a choir involved too

And some good gags

So, what were people’s first impressions of the show? There were plenty of lighbulbs, anyway

teenageray RTE Player RTE Player

Overall though, some were impressed with Ray’s first outing in the Saturday night hotseat

While others thought it was same old same old

But most people agreed that Tommy Tiernan was probably the real star of the first show

First night down Ray. Onwards to next week’s show.

Written by David Elkin and originally published on DailyEdge.ie

DE Syndication

More: 11 times Ray D’Arcy captured the nation’s heart>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

86 Comments
    Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:39 AM

There was a time when Ray was good but then he got to be self absorbed and annoying.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:59 AM

“I was tense at home in the D’Arcy household.” Oh great, more stories about Ray and his family. Yawn…..I didnt think RTE could provide us with a bigger tosser than Brendan O’Connor but fair play to them, they have managed it.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:30 AM

Did Ray tell any thrilling anecdotes about his own rugby career?

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:25 PM

Wait Ray D’Arcy played rugby?

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:26 PM

Just kidding, yeah chances are if he opened his mouth he said and I would imagine with DOC on the show he engaged in mighty banter comparing rugby careers.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:01 PM

Not that I’m a fan of Ray Darcy, but there’s no bigger tosser than BOC

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:45 AM

how many times can regurgitating be regurgitatated

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:23 AM

Darcy is to light entertainment what Kopi Luwak is to coffee.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:42 AM

I lasted 4 minutes, and I don’t say that too often!! Pure tripe!!

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:55 AM

Usually only manage 2?

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:56 AM

Only after a heap of porter Jane

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:00 AM

Tis a curse.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 27th 2015, 1:29 PM

‘lasted 4 minutes’?!? You lost the remote, didn’t you???

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:39 AM

It’s amazing to see some fresh talent finally emerging at RTE.

For too long it has just been the recycling of the same old faces.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:46 AM

Or “Recycling of the same old faeces” would have not been out of place either !

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:49 AM

How long has Darcy been at rte.

Mute Roonbox
    Favourite Roonbox
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:55 AM

I think that was the original posters joke.

Mute kathy
    Favourite kathy
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:10 AM

Bring back Brendan!!!!!

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Sep 27th 2015, 2:10 PM

Tune in next week to hear Boyzone miming a few of their greatest hits. Bertie will also be on the show discussing Fianna Fails chances of returning to power after the upcoming elections. There will also be studio debate with audience participation, discussing the burning issues of the day. The first debate will focus on the rise of TV licence fee evasion and how best to tackle this criminality.

Mute Sean Carmody
    Favourite Sean Carmody
    Sep 27th 2015, 4:39 PM

@kathy

God…that’s literally Sophie’s choice right there. D’arcy or O’Connor. Would rather just throw the TV out the window in that case.

Mute Eamon De Tuit
    Favourite Eamon De Tuit
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:29 PM

To long …

Mute Eamon De Tuit
    Favourite Eamon De Tuit
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:33 PM

One night is to long to have Ray Darcy on send him back to other station, the money he is paid to tell us about his family …

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:48 AM

Same old shit so.

Sep 27th 2015, 12:09 PM

Didn’t watch it. There was a brilliant rugby match on the other side.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:27 PM

Yeah they way this RWC has been going the other channels should just give up when the matches are on

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:51 AM

Surprised no RTE Personality / Celebrity on the show….. Where was Marty ?

Mute Jennifer McGuinness
    Favourite Jennifer McGuinness
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:34 AM

There are about 25 more shows to fill, never fear.

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:38 AM

Marty was too busy ploughing ;)

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:13 PM

Twink is in wrapping paper, Not to be opened until Christmas week………..

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Sep 27th 2015, 2:23 PM

He was gone off ”getting da ride”

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Sep 28th 2015, 6:47 AM

No Twink?

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:50 AM

Hope he doesn’t have to press any buttons himself or he’ll be fu€ked.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:06 AM

What exactly was Ray nervous about? There are about 4.5 million of us, and I reckon most of us have already formed an opinion on Ray and whether we will watch him on TV or not, and if he was nervous about failing…. Since when has that ever been a problem in RTE!

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:47 AM

Ray ” I’m so relevant, current and opinionated that I
    can barely stand myself ” D’arcy

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:00 AM

Bosco would be more animated than Ray.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:16 PM

so ray gets an obese man on show talking about getting abuse over his weight then follows up with Tommy abusing obese people over their weight. well done total craptrap tv

Mute Stephen Bolger
    Favourite Stephen Bolger
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:03 AM

Where was twink?

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:01 AM

Stephen look up twinks house on Google images there.you’ll see exactly where she is!

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:07 AM

Jeeezus…make sure you’ve safe search on if googling images for “twinks house”. Thanks for that

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:31 AM

Yea I fell for it a while back.hard hitting images

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:15 PM

Oh my god, there should have been a warning for that!!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:49 AM

So Donnacha O’Callaghan, Tommy Tiernan, an attention seeking slapper and a one hit wonder band that nobody has heard of for years, RTE really out doing itself once again.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:56 AM

Don’t forget the man that did something once on the Internet that some people saw.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:18 AM

no offence to Ray but what is wrong with RTE. we have no shortage of talent in this country but RTE never fail to disappoint in what they do. wish we could find the Michael o’Leary of media to do something

Mute Luke Casserly
    Favourite Luke Casserly

Is it just me that thinks the set is absolutely terrible?

Mute dj
    Favourite dj
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:52 AM

Tosser.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:52 AM

Typical RTE. This is the debut for this show and that’s the best they could do for guests? Really?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:42 AM

Good lord, Wheatus? I’m not sure if I’m impressed or horrified.

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:15 PM

LOL Wheatus played in a bar in Dunlaoghaire last October – I think it was 15 Euro a ticket, RTE really broke the bank for the first show.

Mute Sandra Mc Donald
    Favourite Sandra Mc Donald
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:28 AM

Why bother having a guest on i.e Tulisa, when she can’t talk about anything doesn’t make sense. I felt he was talking down to his guests the way the set was

Mute Andy Cahalan
    Favourite Andy Cahalan
    Sep 27th 2015, 1:28 PM

Isn’t that how he likes it? Talking down to people is his favourite thing to do!!

Mute Donnachaín Ní Uallacháin
    Favourite Donnachaín Ní Uallacháin
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:34 AM

Was listening to John Kelly on the radio last night. Now there’s a man who is ego-less, charming, interested and interesting and intelligent. We need more like him on TV.

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 27th 2015, 6:25 PM

He’s a severely underused resource and as smooth as mercury on glass.Bit too cerebral for RTE to give him his own talk show though.I’m afraid we’re stuck with the mindless pap that D’Arcy and Tubridy churn out.

Mute Sean Carmody
    Favourite Sean Carmody
    Sep 28th 2015, 2:25 AM

Doesn’t help that he doesn’t have the same connections that Tubridy and O’Connor have.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:34 AM

It’s nothing to do with if he is a nice man or not, it’s the constant trip dished out to us everyday by RTE and what’s more we have to pay for that crap. We have some of the most talented people in the world here in Ireland and that’s the best they could come up with, please put on Buggs Bunny instead!!

Mute Sean Gerard
    Favourite Sean Gerard
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:10 AM

How is Donncha O’ Callaghan an “ex rugby man?”

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:56 AM

Because he no longer plays for Munster…

Mute Sean Gerard
    Favourite Sean Gerard
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:03 AM

dont know if thats scarcasm or not but based on that logic, that makes Paul o connell an ex rugby man too!

Mute Sean Gerard
    Favourite Sean Gerard

headline changed! good stuff “the journal! “

Mute Colin Forbes
    Favourite Colin Forbes
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:41 AM

Apparently Twink’s dog is being interviewed next week on Ray Darcy,s tv show about her new autobiography on Twink, titled Barking Mad.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:22 PM

Wouldn’t that be a biography?

Mute Colin Forbes
    Favourite Colin Forbes
    Sep 27th 2015, 1:08 PM

Twink’s dog doesn’t know the difference.

Mute fixxxation
    Favourite fixxxation

Ray is such a lovely man. Whenever i see him around the neighbourhood he always says hi. If i drive past him and hoot he gives a big wave and smile. So great to see a grounded superstar who is so approachable.

Mute Ben Connolly
    Favourite Ben Connolly
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:18 AM

Fixxx a superstar what world do you live in

Mute Craig Gibbs
    Favourite Craig Gibbs
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:21 AM

Superstar? He’s a former kids show host/radio personality.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:56 AM

Superstar? Is that you Jenny?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:07 AM

Superstar? Could I ask you to put him on a scale with Brian Ormond on the bottom and Robert Downey Junior on top?

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:15 AM

@fixxxation. is that you Ray? superstar my arse!!! pleb more like.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:29 AM

I think fixed is saying they live in mount merrion – I assume she is an ex-Mountie who is desparate for attention of someone ” famous” – bless her

Mute Colin Forbes
    Favourite Colin Forbes
    Sep 27th 2015, 5:55 PM

Superstar?! Surely you meant Dimming star!

Mute Kevin Mc Guire
    Favourite Kevin Mc Guire
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:57 AM

zig and zag would have been better,same old sat.show and we have to pay for this on prime sat night never watching again

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:19 AM

I miss ZZ

Mute Whocarestoday
    Favourite Whocarestoday
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:09 AM

Jeez I thought it good. . Just easy watch TV. Tommy Tiernan is a legend.

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Sep 27th 2015, 11:10 AM

If you spoke English you most likely would have thought it was shįte

Mute Fiyoyo
    Favourite Fiyoyo
    Sep 27th 2015, 10:04 AM

Bringng back Gay Byrne!!!!

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:52 PM

Down with that sort of thing ☺ no need to lose the head. Things not that bad yet to bring back gay bo

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung

Saw two minutes of the fat guy and that was it for me.

Mute Cionnaith O Dubhghaill
    Favourite Cionnaith O Dubhghaill
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:48 PM

By the sounds of it I missed floor all, I can’t I understand how they didn’t give Lindo Martino a spot as she is usually dragged up from the depths for these shows to talk crap as usual. Thank god I work Saturday nights and for sure I won’t be going to the rte player to have a look at it.

Mute Fergal Nannery
    Favourite Fergal Nannery
    Sep 27th 2015, 4:53 PM

was it me or was that whole story he told about bringing his kid to hospital during the week absolutely pointless drivel.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Sep 27th 2015, 12:11 PM

I wish I’d known he was on, it would have cured my insomnia :(

Mute TheMiller
    Favourite TheMiller
    Sep 27th 2015, 1:35 PM

Same ol, same ol, from RTE. I can’t understand why they continue to put out two chat shows totaling more than 3 hours. The BBC with a budget many times that of RTE have one 50 min show. RTE should just employ some unknown, pay them far less, and do a one hour long show. Surely they could then allocate some more money to getting higher quality guests. Put a Jools Holland type show on a Saturday night, again presented by some up and comer and just showcase young unknown Irish acts desperate for some exposure.

Mute Boxer Alice
    Favourite Boxer Alice
    Sep 27th 2015, 6:13 PM

Can’t stand Ray Darcy. As usual he has to talk shite about his family before show even starts. Brutal guests except for Donnacha. Lovely guy. Tommy Tiernan just brilliant. Still laughing when I think of him.

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Sep 27th 2015, 9:19 PM

Tommy T couldn’t have been a more obvious choice for the opening show. I laughed when I switched it on, and not because of his comedy.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Sep 27th 2015, 3:16 PM

I’ll give it a miss.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Sep 28th 2015, 9:43 AM

Does anyone under 50 watch RTE on a Friday or Saturday night, sadly the day of the talk show is dying, the Late Late Show should have been put out to pasture years ago, and only survives due to those who hardcore fans who are so set in their ways that they would still probably watch it even if Enda Kenny was hosting it. Why we need yet another chat show on a Saturday night is beyond me, the Late late show is incapable of getting any A rated guests these days, so what chance does a similar show 24 hours later have?

Sep 27th 2015, 10:51 PM

He has 2 giant Daleks behind him…
    Same time as MOTD was on…