You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Andres Poveda

The Ray D'Arcy Show drew nearly half a million viewers on its first night

RTÉ said it was very happy with the figures.

THE RAY D’ARCY Show drew 468,500 viewers on its Saturday night debut.

The very first episode of the series – which featured guests including Tulisa and Tommy Tiernan – attracted a 35% share of all viewers.

D’Arcy’s much-hyped show replaced the Saturday Night Show, hosted by Brendan O’Connor, which was axed earlier this year after five seasons.

Ratings for D’Arcy’s first night were lower than O’Connor’s final episode back in May, when some 501,900 viewers tuned in - a 38% share.

However, the series average for the O’Connor’s first season in 2010 was 463,700 – a 34% share - RTÉ pointed out.

“We’re delighted with the figures for The Ray D’Arcy Show,” a spokesperson said.

The reaction from the studio audience and from viewers at home has been really positive.
Tommy Tiernan proved a particular hit on the night with over half a million viewers tuning in to watch the comedian chat to Ray.

D’Arcy returned to RTÉ in February after 14 years with Today FM.

The 51-year-old broadcaster has also taken over Derek Mooney’s Radio 1 afternoon slot.

Read: Here’s how people reacted to Ray D’Arcy’s new show last night

Read: Seven mountains Ray D’Arcy needs to climb

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:40 PM

We will see what they’re like like in a couple of weeks time!

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:52 PM

As long as the wife has no control, he might have a chance.

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:54 AM

See what they’re like next week… It was pure car crash TV. No one saw poor Donacha because they were all watching the Rugby on TV3, tuned in to see Dancing Man, that ground to a hault, Tulisa couldn’t talk about anything, ideal and we’ll vetted talk show guest… Tommy went on some rant about some 20 year old lads lad…

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:49 AM

I saw it all and it was very entertaining.

Mute Murf
    Favourite Murf
    Sep 30th 2015, 7:41 PM

First night people are curious, Most boring show I ever looked at, the man has no character
    Give it a few weeks & it will die, Bring back o Connor & put some life into it

Mute Bob
    Favourite Bob
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:53 PM

I don’t know much about this guy but I heard him interview a woman on radio about prostitution, it was the worst interview ever. He tried to talk down to this woman but she got the better of him. Only one person sounded very stupid on air and it wasn’t her. I won’t be watching any of his shows.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:08 AM

I used really like Ray…. But somewhere along the way the popularity went to his head and he decided to to christen himself the new Jesus – saying who was bad and who was good.
    He interviewed a midwife last wk on radio 1 before the show ‘born addicted’ was aired. His tone.. “And these women go on and actively plan a family while on methadone. Do they think of the child at all”. That midwife put him in his place subtly by questioning the point of judging them instead of giving them resources to help them thru a safe pregnancy. He was in favour of criminalising.
    I watched born addicted on Thursday. It left me in tears. No one chooses to become an addict. Many of them themselves were exposed to drink and drugs as new babies with one woman who’s mother used put vodka in her bottle and give her D5′s. What effing chance had she? And this sanctimonious pr1ck sitting in his million euro job preaching about who’s a bad parent compared to him and Jenny.
    If he walked a day in their shoes, he’d never be the same again.
    I used like him. Now I think he’s a righteous dough-head

Mute Bob
    Favourite Bob
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:28 AM

He turned my stomach Mary. Like I said I don’t know much about him, im not from Ireland but after I heard the interview I looked him up because I couldn’t believe the questions he was asking her. I thought what an A hole. It was all very strange. A bit of an odd ball…..

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:07 AM

Someone on methadone planning children is a bad parent; a horrible human being. Why not even consider getting clean first ?
    Some wasters are incredibly selfish people.
    Junkies should not be allowed children as it just breeds a cycle of misery. You shouldn’t need anyone from RTE to point that out to you.

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:37 AM

Bob…totally agree. He’s an amateur when interviewing people. RTE got rid of O’Connor because he didn’t know how to present himself whatever about a TV show. Denis O’Brien wanted D’Arcy out of Today FM. RTE couldn’t afford anyone to replace O’Connor, so they hired another amateur. Ray D’Arcy. .. RTE desperately need a quality TV interviewer and Presenter…They either won’t or can’t spend on a professional.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:27 AM

@f m, I don’t think it’s the smartest thing either to plan to have a child while on methadone. But there are people who either plan pregnancy or fall pregnant while on methadone and that baby needs all the help from the services that he or she can get to not fall into that cycle u describe.

The point of him interviewing was to ask about what the service does for the children, the families, etc. but he turns all of those interviews into a righteous condemnation in his smug tone. Nobody thinks it’s a good idea to have a baby on methadone. The midwife wasn’t there to suggest it was! She was there to talk about how best to try get thru a bad situation. And whether or not Ray D’arcy likes it – people with addictions ARE having babies and if his solution is to judge & shame ppl who are more misfortunate in their life circumstances, then it further isolate them and more importantly those babies have less chance of ever escaping the cycle.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:32 AM

@mary if no body judges them or even says anything addicts will keep having babies and there in turn will be more addicts.
    Didn’t you say that one of these people was given vodka as a baby ? So how does she fix this ? She gives her baby substitute heroin whilst in her womb.
    I saw one of these people had several children. Why anyone step in and out a stop to it never mind for state coppers but mostly for the child themselves. Growing up with an addict as a parent must be horrendous.
    It’s always the way though the non working class see having kids as a way to get what they want; a house and free ticket to a lifetime of support. By the time their children are grown up they can claim they are too old to work simple as.

Mute Conor Flynn
    Favourite Conor Flynn
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:44 AM

Also I remember an interview he had with Cathal Pendred the UFC fighter and all he could do was moan and whinge saying its a barbaric sport then later in the week he has Katie Taylor on and lauds her as a national treasure (I’m not disagreeing, she’s a fabulous athlete). The man has a serious superiority complex and thinks his opinion is above others and won’t back down.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Sep 29th 2015, 10:05 AM

Look f m, we have to agree to disagree. I think you are missing the point of this. The rest of the Irish public judge these people. there isn’t ever going to be a lack judging them, so don’t worry!

He is an interviewer. His job is to find out about people’s roles. Tommy o Gorman does some great interview work and he remains impartial. That is the job of an interviewer in the media – impartiality in delivering a story.
    Ray D’arcy usually ends up b1tching like a secondary school clique.

Whether or not it is clear to u, those people have suffered. They may not make great life choices, but they are not bad people. They are not greatly educated and have grown up in very difficult circumstances. Change will not happen over one generation. There was a man whose mother was an addict, she never got clean, he suffered addiction but managed to get clean, his daughter (or son?) does not suffer with addiction.
    It’s about turning the tide. Which is plausible & achievable. Not waving a magic wand which is implausible and unachievable.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:47 PM

@mary isn’t that the point though?
    I mean if he interviews one of these people and is all ‘sunshine and lollipops’ his interview would also be completely wrong
    Do these people not expect to be judged ? They have poisoned their own children and yet want the tax payer to face the consequences. At birth the child should have been removed from the addicts and given to a good childless couple desperate for kids of their own.
    Addicts in the grip of their addiction are not normal people and in fact are probably not people at all. They become like wild animals driven by one thing and one thing only; heroin. They will do anything to you or your loved ones to get what they want.
    And even with all this people are claiming it is the addict who is being wronged.
    Yes get them help but behind closed doors or a prison cell so the public can be safe but what ever do not allow them to have children.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:33 PM

I’m done f m. You clearly have issues with addiction in ur life, that u have been victim of and are of the opinion all addicts are worthless sub humans.

We have a different opinion on things. Good luck with getting help to shift that massive chip off ur shoulder. Take care

Sep 29th 2015, 3:04 PM

Reminds me of a few years ago Jim Corr was on The Saturday Night Show (sandwiched between Twink and Linda Martin) talking sincerely about 9/11 and Darcy decided that first thing Monday morning he was going to spend 20 minutes pontificating on how Jim had lost his mind and how he (Darcy) knew all about 9/11 because, you know, he is an expert on geopolitics from his time on the den (sarcasm)… I just thought you ignorant, close-minded, judgemental smug ###hole. My opinion has not changed.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:42 PM

468,498 people just tuned in hoping to see him falling flat on his condescending arse.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:43 PM

Tommy Tiernan saved his bacon with his soft mickey.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:47 PM

I didn’t see it but it sounds fantastic.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:48 PM

Uncle have a look on YouTube.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:49 PM

i turned off when tommy tiernan came on..i cant stand him.. IMO he’s the most awful ‘funny guy’ ever. in fact he’s not even funny. he’s actually very insulting. I dont appreciate that level of insulting.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:10 PM

Had a look there Norman. Sorry, but no. I had to see his smarmy face, he mentioned Jenny in the short clip and Tommy was as predictable as ever.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:12 PM

Each to their own, Uncle.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:16 PM

have not seen it and wont, but the wife got mentioned!. ever since she got her claws into him he has gone down hill.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:38 PM

No harm done Norman. Well. Just a little bit but I’ll be ok tomorrow.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:46 PM

468,500 is less than half a million not more than half a million.

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:45 PM

RTE, another total waste of public money. Incestuous, overpaid and under worked.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:04 PM

A success except with the Journal commentators! Says it all!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:45 AM

Mary, you don’t get to call anything a success if you had to threaten people with jail if they don’t fund it.

Mute Hung So Gud
    Favourite Hung So Gud

I would call him a tool, but tools are useful sometimes. Hes more like that snot type stuff that gathers around dogs eyes.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:54 PM

Rte should be held more accountable,their like a little principality abiding only by their own jurisdiction,.We pay their “stars” outrageous wages,we should have more of a say in what we want to see,not the continual repeats and pro government of the day bias.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper

Half a million zombies.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:26 AM

RTE has been hyping the Ray Darcy show endlessly for months now, it would be amazing if they hadn`t drummed up some curiosity at this stage.
    But it turned out to be a damp squib, what is it with RTE and cringe making chat shows ?
    It was worse it was car crash tv, viewers watch just to see how bad it`d going to be basically, and was it bad ??
    Ireland has produced Terry Wogan, Graham Norton and Henry Kelly but they all became famous in the Uk.
    Why can`t we produce anyone to fill Gay Byrne`s shoes ?
    Because these overpaid talentless idiots ?
    Ray Darcy told two cringeworth embarrassing anecdotes about his neighbor wishing him well, and bringing his kid to the A&E, and they fell flat, then endless references to his wife, it was just awful, awful to have to watch

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:30 AM

In fairness now Gay Byrne is just shite as well

Mute Alan Morrissey
    Favourite Alan Morrissey
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:07 AM

A new brush always sweeps clean… The tolerance and indeed encouragement for mediocrity within RTE is astounding. Accompanying paycheques are sick.. The fear of losing “talent” must dictate them. Let Darcy leave for ITV or BBC. As if he’d even get passed security. Lotti Ryan on the other hand, they can’t pay her enough. I long for her updates on 1 Directions bowel movements and the latest amount of buttons Simon Cowell has undone on his shirt..

Mute Allister
    Favourite Allister
    Sep 29th 2015, 10:19 AM

That’s one hell of a lot of people who have no life on a Saturday night… Sad…

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:02 PM

That’s one hell of a lot of people with no channels …even sadder!

Mute billy hamson
    Favourite billy hamson
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:14 AM

Next weeks guests twink and gerald kean

Mute Dave Fingleton
    Favourite Dave Fingleton
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:33 AM

And an extra from fair city!

Mute Blind Faith
    Favourite Blind Faith
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:48 PM

It was much better than I expected it to be, the interviews weren’t that cringey but he’d need to get someone like Tommy Tiernan to write a decent opening monologue for him, to much “Phlegm” in that first one.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:12 PM

RTÉs answer to everything– another talk show

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:02 PM

Are people really that sad to watch that dribble

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:10 PM

It was cr,p dreadful

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:49 PM

Sure give him an oul’ raise there

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:00 PM

anyone know how the no. of viewers is calculated?

Mute chris
    Favourite chris
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:11 PM

Viewing estimates are obtained from a panel of television owning households representing the viewing behaviour of the 1.5+ million TV households within Ireland. The reporting panel of 1,050 homes is selected to be representative of each region. The service covers viewing within private households only.

Mute Phil Keran
    Favourite Phil Keran
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:12 AM

More like sky and UPC know what your watching. Your talking old school before digital there.

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:01 AM

so it’s more like an opinion poll really based on the opinions of 1050 people…the original article quoted an exact number, it would be better if it was stated that it is estimated rather than fact.

Mute Joey English
    Favourite Joey English
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:13 PM

31500 is a lot of people short of half a million!

Mute KMK
    Favourite KMK
    Sep 28th 2015, 10:51 PM

Thought he did well and will continue to do well – he has the stuff :-) Defeatists step away :-((

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:35 AM

A lot of people must have very little to do with themselves. Or very little imagination, one or the other.

Even if these licence-fee payers had nowhere to go on a Saturday night, surely reading a book would be better than watching the “Ray D’Arcy Show”? At least reading a good book would stimulate the mind and help to improve the intellect.

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne

A natural. A real pro.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:26 AM

Anyone who thinks FF/FG will not get back into Govt as people have learned their lesson need only look at the viewing figures for this show. The Irish general public are still by and large a bunch of imbeciles.

Mute Robert Ryan (rhino)
    Favourite Robert Ryan (rhino)

Fair play

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Sep 28th 2015, 11:26 PM

Great start. The show was good.

Mute gary kelly
    Favourite gary kelly
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:28 AM

Someone should get aul ray a tampon

Mute Niall Farrell
    Favourite Niall Farrell
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:51 AM

Any chance he will interview Zig and Zag?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:47 AM

It was a great show, i don’t watch Late Late hardly ever did nor the Saturday night show, but this had a nice mixture of guests.
    I wish Ray good luck in the future with his show.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    Sep 29th 2015, 9:14 AM

He was only on seconds & was bull crapping about himself as usual, can’t stand him!

Sep 29th 2015, 9:01 AM

Ray who?..

Mute Peter taylor
    Favourite Peter taylor
    Sep 29th 2015, 10:49 AM

The mans a tool. He interviewed someone from the UFC when he was still at Today FM and condemned the man, his sport and the whole spectacle in general for being barbaric. At the same time he champions Katie Taylor as being a true sporting hero for bringing a gold medal home for Ireland. If he was a prudent journalist he would research the topics he is speaking about, realise that more people have died from boxing than MMA and not express his bigoted views to the masses. Stick to being a DJ, if he wants to be a journalist he should at least have the decency to got back to university and study for it, that way he’ll know how it’s done

Mute fixxxation
    Favourite fixxxation
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:15 AM

such a lovely man and Ireland best superstar. Thanks ray

Sep 29th 2015, 3:22 PM

It really was an amazing show. #Sarcasm.

Mute derek walshe
    Favourite derek walshe
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:19 AM

Think Ray D’Arcy is excellent and given time his show will be a success, for a first show thought it was real enjoyable, have to say am a big fan of Tommy Tiernan as well