You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland

'Nefarious actors are at the root of Covid-19 fake news - and they are part of dangerous geo-political games'

We have a habit of thinking in Ireland that the likes of Russia, China or the alt-right in the United States have no interest in our country. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case, writes Ireland South MEP Billy Kelleher.

I’M NOT ASHAMED to say that I have been caught out by some of the fake news stories circulating over the past number of weeks. I for one, held my breath every morning for 10 seconds for three days to see if I had Corona. 

Having been a professional politician for over 30 years, my default position has always been to be sceptical about everything I see on TV, hear on radio, or read in a newspaper or online.

Yet I got caught out. How? Volume. Sheer volume. It was everywhere – from friends in WhatsApp groups, in text messages from people I trusted and respected. It was everywhere so how could it not be true? 

Earlier on in this crisis, we all heard the WhatsApp voice message purporting to be from a member of the Defence Forces telling his company to prepare for deployment as the Taoiseach would lock down the country early the next morning. Now we know it was fake news, but many people at the time thought it was real. 

Every one of the fake news stories has a grain of truth in them, so it’s not a massive stretch for someone, already stressed by the crisis and drowning under wave after wave of news, to be taken in by them. 

What’s important is understanding where they come from and how to combat them. Of course, the most obvious answer to the first question is someone pulling your leg for a few laughs, but more and more, there are nefarious actors at the root of these fake news stories. 

We have a habit of thinking in Ireland that the likes of Russia, China or the alt-right in the United States have no interest in our country. Unfortunately, that isn’t the case.

Sowing instability in every country is their plan and while other countries may get targeted more than us, we are without doubt in their sights. 

Depending on who is pulling the strings, their goals are different. The alt-right want the European Union to fall apart. Other global powers want the Union’s economy to collapse so they can profit from the instability. Moreover, the rest want us fighting amongst ourselves so we stop looking outward and shining a light on their misdeeds. 

Take for example the claim that China is doing more for Italy than the European Union. Not only is it bogus, it is incredibly dangerous. There is no point in denying the fact that, in Italy, Euroscepticism has been on the rise in recent years. Those making these false allegations are attempting to inflame this situation for their own benefit. Those countries which the EU shine a light on in terms of human rights violations want the Union to fall apart. It was evident in the Brexit referendum, and recent elections in France and Germany. 

The EU is working night and day to fight Covid-19. As a collective, and individually as member states, there is non-stop collaboration and co-operation. Take for example the 2 million surgical masks shipped from France and Czechia to Italy. That received a lot less coverage than the bogus China claims. 

For some reason, those criticising the EU have failed to highlight the €2.3 billion that the EU has made available through a reallocation of Cohesion Funds to support Italy’s health care system and its economy. Additionally, the European Commission approved a €50 million aid scheme to allow the Italian government to support the production and supply of medical devices, such as ventilators, and personal protection equipment, such as masks, goggles, gowns, and safety suits at December 2019 prices. 

The €750 billion Pandemic Emergency Purchase Programme by the European Central Bank is of critical importance to Italy, and other countries who are facing short and medium term financing problems due to increased health care expenditure. Countries at risk of running out of cash to pay for the doctors, nurses and other supports needed to protect citizens will have the back up of the ECB and of the Union as a whole. 

On a more human level, German state governments have taken in many seriously ill patients from Italy and France to help their Intensive Care systems deal with the surge. 

It is a sad state of affairs when the European Union has to set up a website to tackle fake news online. There, and I advise those who are sceptical about what I’m saying to visit the site, you will see how the Union is supporting countries like Italy. The EU does not have authority over how each country runs their health system so it is focusing on things it can do. 

Now, the Union is not free of all responsibility, and when this crisis passes, it needs to critically assess how it communicates with citizens.

For me, not enough emphasis was put on communicating directly with citizens.

For as long as night follows day, national governments will take the credit for everything positive, and will blame the EU for everything that goes wrong or the people don’t like. 

How many of us know that the European Union has established its first ever rescEU stockpile of medical equipment worth €50 million? Or that the Member States are, through the Commission, jointly procuring, at more cost-effective rates, personal protective equipment (PPE), ventilators and testing resources? 

The thing I have learned most through this crisis is to be sceptical. Incredibly dangerous and nefarious geo-political games are being played out as we all attempt to grapple with the Covid-19 pandemic. 

My advice is to get my information from trusted sources – our TV and radio stations, our major newspapers and online news sites such as thejournal.ie, from the HSE and the WHO.

Everyone should question information that doesn’t come from these sources because it’s clear there are many countries and organisations that want to create panic, to instill fear and for citizens to fight among ourselves.

Billy Kelleher, Fianna Fáil, is a MEP for Ireland South.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:14 PM

He’s dead right the Americans and the Russians would love to see the EU fall apart

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:36 PM

@John Byrne: and reports saying that China was doing more Italy than EU! if that wasn’t so serious it would be laughable ! Considering
    this virus came from wet wild animal market in the far east ! I wondering who peddling this. I suspect it our hard left friends. you know how they feel about totalitarian states in the far east!

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:40 PM

@John Byrne: and what about the people republic of China! And its satellite state next door!

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:09 PM

@John Byrne: It doesn’t need the US or Russia for it to fall apart, it’s doing a good enough job on itself.

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Bobby wilson: American alt right? China? Look closer to home! Just look at some of the “popular” left wing commentators on here, and their twitter equivalents, were the first to put out army in the streets, food restrictions, no PPE, nurses dying, big cover ups etc, and they are also against “Leo’s European masters”, the Garda, in fact everything about our society from our state to Europe and immigrantion. Same old rubbish as the us alts. No need to look abroad when we have our own shytestirrers.

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:21 PM

@Brynþór Patrekursson:
    They haven’t gone away you know.

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:30 PM

@Bobby wilson: Bobby we’re running out of our EU quita of exclamation marks because you’re using them all up….stop!

Mute Jonathan Beatty
    Favourite Jonathan Beatty
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:38 PM

@Bobby wilson: Exclamation!

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 3:03 AM

@John Byrne: Please explain.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:28 PM

The headline alone sounds like a conspiracy theory. The article bashes everyone and praises the EU over and over again and finally tells us not to trust anyone only the Journal, the HSE, the WHO and RTE. I imagine Billy to be on the other end of the Gemma spectrum, both equally gullible with (putting it politely) wild ideas about the bigger picture, they’ve more in common with each other than each of them would care to admit. Here’s a good rule to live by take everything with a pinch of salt and apply a large dose of common sense to everything.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Rachel O’ Meara: there is so much disinformation out there at the moment, and that includes mainstream media. A pinch is about right.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:16 PM

These politicians are master purveyors of lies and deceit so i guess they should know.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:02 PM

@Derek Durkin: fair play to him coming out and countering some of the fake stories doing the rounds. At least he isn’t using his platform to promote censorship. He is giving another side to the story and is entitled to do so. Let everyone have their speak and the people will decide what to believe.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:11 PM

@john doe: ya but he’s a “professional ” politician 8) 8) he’s got that right… a pro !!

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:31 PM

@john doe: stay away from big shop windows mate

Mute Misty Eyed Mutton
    Favourite Misty Eyed Mutton
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:48 PM

@Derek Durkin: That nonsense, politicians get away with nothing, They are the most scrutinised people in the country. One slip and they are gone.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Apr 8th 2020, 1:11 AM

@Misty Eyed Mutton: I hope you are being sarcastic there

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:14 PM

Ah come on, people really aren’t that gullible .. are they ?.
    I take my advice from a reputable medical practitioner and the HSE.
    Not some unknown nutcases including the Journal doctors that seem to excell at online diagnostic advice.

Mute Martin Peter Rahill
    Favourite Martin Peter Rahill
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:29 PM

@Justice Mickey: The Irish M*rro* and the Daily M*il are the usual culprits with misinformation – as are the stupid Twitter Celebs who think now is the time for their Non existent PhD. in Epidemiology to be used (McGr*g*r), & their skills put to questionable use (P*ddy C*sg*ave) in actually boasting to have hacked HSE Servers.

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:01 PM

@Justice Mickey: Where there is a huge absence of facts and truth and a massive distrust of anything told to us by politicians is it any wonder SOME people will believe the first thing they read……and yes, unfortunately, some people really are THAT gullible.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:20 PM

@Justice Mickey: you think people aren’t that gullible?

Look at home many complete fecken idiots believe 5g causes a virus. Stupid beyond below.

God help their friends and family putting up with that sheer level of paranoid, stupid nonsense everyday from them.

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:26 PM

So we take the word of a FF party member ,all well known for lying and breaking promises,and getting the government mouthpiece that is RTE to tell us what they say. We have been fed up with their lies and ineptitude I will make my judgement on what I see and not from a member of the FF lying party. No one trust you.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:07 PM

@Paul Cahoon: The viris came from a wet market in China specifically a bat. And if we believe the news online these markets have re-opened.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Paul Cahoon: so you make your judgment on what you see rather than what the experts say.

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:21 PM

@EillieEs: yeah, Billy Kelleher is an expert alright..

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:32 PM

@Damian Moylan: The jury’s still out on that one

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:35 PM

One thing I will agree with in this article is that the EU are very bad at talking to it’s own citizens. They tell our Governments what is happening, our Governments then assume the EU will tell it’s citizens, the EU will assume the Governments will tell it’s citizens. In the end we find out what is going on weeks later when we read an article on somewhere like the Journal by someone who also assumes we have all been told. But by that time lies have not only got their boots on, they are half way around the world.

Mute Jesus Christ
    Favourite Jesus Christ
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:18 PM

5GGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!

Mute Gavin Tobin
    Favourite Gavin Tobin
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Jesus Christ: Gemma?

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:13 PM

@devils avacado:
    Nothing like a good dose of tyranny?
    You might not like what she or others have to say but she has a right to say it.
    Let’s section everyone who says something we don’t like?

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:23 PM

@Raven: If she’s endangering lives with her delusions then yes, she can and should be forced to shut up. Viral pathology is not an opinion.

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:13 PM

@Kem Trayle: She’s had her YouTube etc accounts shut down, now maybe for the right reasons or maybe she’s upset a few elites, who knows, I don’t, do you? You’re asking for someone to be sectioned, “forced to shut up”, how does that work? Duct tape and cement shoes? Do you not see the slippery slope you’re suggesting?
    I might like what you say, but I’ll defend your right to say it, that’s how it works.

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:14 PM

@Jesus Christ:
    ID2020?

Mute Raven
    Favourite Raven
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:07 PM

*not

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:41 PM

@Raven: tell that to the mixed race couple who had the cheek to do an advert for a supermarket chain, they received a lot of unwanted attention from some of Gemmas “supporters”. I’m all for free speech pal, and I’ve argued on this site in support of it many a time,, but sometimes a persons mental health has to be looked at when they are making wild accusations that could influence other unstable individuals into doing something that has serious live changing consequences for some people…

Mute johnnyrambo
    Favourite johnnyrambo
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:16 PM

Ryan tubrity and ur wan with the blonde hair from RTE…2 Liars going with the fake virus story and trying to instill fear into uneducated folk who believe the fake news channel RTE.

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:56 PM

@johnnyrambo: I’m trying to figure out if you are saying that tongue in cheek for a laugh, or if you actually believed what you are writing…..

Mute johnnyrambo
    Favourite johnnyrambo
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:59 PM

@devils avacado: and Big Bad Boris!!!

Mute johnnyrambo
    Favourite johnnyrambo
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:39 PM

@devils avacado: Dont let this distract you from the fact that Sinn Fein won the vote.
    “Prince Andrew” is still a paedophile and loving the heat taken away from him
    Maria Bailey a FG politician tried to scam a free €60000 of hard working tax payers money.
    Corruption is real.

Mute Pedro de la Rosa
    Favourite Pedro de la Rosa
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:53 PM

EU employee warns of ‘fake’ news that doesn’t suit EU agenda, OK.

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:10 PM

Billy softening us up for full NATO membership?

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Apr 7th 2020, 11:53 PM

A puff piece from a well paid EU politician trying to justify his existence. Along with some blather about an imaginary alt right to deflect any criticism of the EU. Makes it also sound as if the EU is giving out free money. Tells us to trust newspapers and mainstream media. No mention either of the ongoing eurobond controversy.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:30 PM

This coming from Billy Kelleher, I’m sure his best buddy Michael Martin is glad he is alive.

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:42 PM

If the EU doesn’t mutualise debt, as it failed to do in 2010 – it not only is probably doomed, it deserves to be doomed.

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Apr 8th 2020, 1:03 AM

I stopped reading billy when i saw fiana fail

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:42 PM

Well Jim Corr reckons there is no virus. He also has proof that 5G caused the virus. But that there is NO virus.

Mute Paul Howlin
    Favourite Paul Howlin
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:18 PM

A politician for 30 years and he believes that shite? C’mon lads a bit of common sense ffs

Mute páraicS
    Favourite páraicS
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Paul Howlin: And a farmer for longer. He’s cuter than that.

Mute Mister H
    Favourite Mister H
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Paul Howlin: Thinking the same, lures us in saying he got caught out and then purveys a fantasy story. As someone commented on journal another article, the snouts never far from the trough.

Mute Teaboy
    Favourite Teaboy
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:22 PM

Does this man have credentials?

Mute Gerry Quinn
    Favourite Gerry Quinn
    Apr 8th 2020, 2:17 AM

“Everyone should question information that doesn’t come from these sources”

No, everyone should question information that comes from ALL sources. Yes, there’s plenty of absolute nonsense out there, but no source is entirely accurate or entirely devoid of spin or selectivity.

Mute Niamh McKinney
    Favourite Niamh McKinney
    Apr 8th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Gerry Quinn:

Mute Niamh McKinney
    Favourite Niamh McKinney
    Apr 8th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Gerry Quinn:

Mute Niamh McKinney
    Favourite Niamh McKinney
    Apr 8th 2020, 10:17 AM

@Gerry Quinn: absolutely right. Question everything. Maintain scepticism at all times.

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:05 PM

Shocking bad article . Look at me I’m as thick as the next fellow but read on.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:04 PM

I believe the opposite to be true

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:20 PM

The Alt right are the biggest bunch of snowflake cry babies out there. The mad yoke making videos harassing Gardai the other day, disgusting, saying she speaks for the people of Ireland! Should be sectioned.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 7th 2020, 9:09 PM

@Johnny 5: she can’t even get enough money to get her expenses refunded when she puts herself up for election.

Mute Shneak
    Favourite Shneak
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:25 PM

To be honest I think the CMO is doing a great job. Everything else I take with a pinch of salt.

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Apr 8th 2020, 12:00 PM

And he was doing soooooo well until he said ” get your information from trusted sources” and then included The Journal in that line HE HE HE HA HA HA

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 3:14 AM

@Alan Dignam: He wasn’t doing well. His opinion is only here because it makes some of us who are nationalistic ourselves applaud. Our own alt-right, pretending to be uber tolerant left-wing.

Mute 523StarBar
    Favourite 523StarBar
    Apr 8th 2020, 8:13 AM

He’s jumping on a bandwagon. Serious slippery slope here all this ‘fake news’ talk. Human beings waffle a bit, happens in playgrounds, offices, pubs and life in general. We read between the lines. All this ‘Fake news’ sanctions being brought up .. who is going to decide what’s ‘real’ news? The governments? The EU? That is scary, so what if we get a bit of waffle, it’s worth it for freedom of speech

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Apr 8th 2020, 9:23 AM

@523StarBar: indeed. Do likes of Kelleher believe that people have no independent agency and are instantly seduced by any piece of propaganda they see? Who’s going to police this?

Mute Sandra Duffy
    Favourite Sandra Duffy
    Apr 8th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Valthebear: a hell of a lot are.

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 3:12 AM

@523StarBar: Yes, it appears he is another opportunist. It’s sad to see the worst being brought out in people during this time.

Mute Niamh McKinney
    Favourite Niamh McKinney
    Apr 8th 2020, 10:38 AM

You know he’s right? Never question anything guys. Nothing to see here. Accept everything you hear and read from all mainstream sources and always resist the urge to think critically and do your own research.

Mute Martin O'Rourke
    Favourite Martin O'Rourke
    Apr 7th 2020, 8:31 PM

Billy
    well done!

the EU it is repeatedly said, on British media, “has finally etc”
    this phrase and similar has been used in relation to the changing of the ECB ceo and the new head of the commission- changes that were expiditiously achieved.
    the context was the Uk parliament being unable to get its own house in order.
    best regards
    Martin

Mute 523StarBar
    Favourite 523StarBar
    Apr 8th 2020, 8:14 AM

Nefarious actors? Describes many politicians in fairness … who’s he to talk?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Apr 7th 2020, 10:44 PM

Risible .

Mute Martin Killoran
    Favourite Martin Killoran
    Apr 8th 2020, 2:11 AM

It’s home is Whotan so it’s Chinese flu ,if you get it you might live or you might die ,stay home and live and so may grannny and grandad just do it stay home for a while ,be safe

Mute Martin Killoran
    Favourite Martin Killoran
    Apr 8th 2020, 2:10 AM

It’s home is Wotan so it’s Chinese flu ,if you get it you might live or you might die ,stay home and live and so may grannny and grandad just do it stay home for a while ,be safe

Mute Mary Morrisey
    Favourite Mary Morrisey
    Apr 10th 2020, 3:10 AM

Could the author give reasons why he believes the ”alt-right Americans” have an interest in the EU failing?