You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alastair Grant/AP/Press Association Images

Column I couldn’t stop thinking about what was in Michael Fassbender’s pants

With tributes flowing in for the actor’s best supporting member, Jillian Godsil met him – and found herself distracted.

MICHAEL FASSBENDER IS one of the most bankable Hollywood actors around today. But his role in Shame, directed by his old Hunger partner Steve McQueen and featuring explicit sexual scenes, has earned him credits in a slightly different direction.

At the Golden Globes ceremony earlier this year, George Clooney thanked Fassbender for taking over his responsibility for full frontal nudity in film in general (and Shame in particular) and went on to say he believed Mr Fassbender could play golf with hands behind his back. Ever since, jokes and tributes to Fassbender’s best supporting member have continued around the globe.

At the Irish Film and Television Awards in Dublin, I recently met with Michael Fassbender and was rendered speechless.

Ah, the sounds of silence. There have been a few. I remember a university tutorial on the origins of the Spanish Civil War. I had prepared and researched the topic but had not managed to write a concluding paper. As my patient, and also handsome professor (maybe there is a trend) gently prompted me for the main cities in Spain, all I could think of was the party-fuelled and package-filled Spanish resorts of Magaluf and Torremolinos. Which may not have existed even as hamlets in the 1930s. My professor took pity on me and took the tutorial.

Ah, meeting Mr Fassbender. At the crowded smoking area in the cold outside the function room, where the glamorous gathered to smoke, I found myself at his elbow. He was happily chatting with a circle of people, some of whom were at my table. I paused, I listened, and when no suitable break in conversation could be found, I tugged his sleeve like a child.
He turned and smiled at me, and I said that I just wanted to say hello. He smiled some more and so did I, but my mind was empty of all words, adjectives, capitals, nouns, tenses, commas, and just any punctuation in general.

Instead, I had this overwhelming image of his phallus. It was the metaphorical size of the elephant in the room, pun intended. As words failed me, the image grew and grew in importance and stature. It was palpable between us as my brain grew this impediment to speech. Finally, he asked my name and I stammered it, but then excused myself, blushing.

‘He agreed before legging it in the opposite direction at high speed’

So this is my question. Men, by many accounts, are prone to see women—especially attractive women—by the sum of their body parts. I have read repeatedly and have been told ad nauseum that men see not the face but the rack; not the smile, but the legs. They have an advanced peripheral visual acuity which allows them to view the body parts, without necessarily allowing the eyes to drift too obviously.

With such sensitivity, how on earth do men make sensible conversation when presented with a beautiful woman? Or have I answered my own question, thinking about the generations of tongue-tied would-be suitors in this world?

Girding my metaphorical loins to counter Mr Fassbender’s imagined ones, I returned to the scene of my speechlessness and requested a photograph. He kindly obliged. I was still incapable of coherent, elegant or intelligent conversation, so I finished off by asking Mr Fassbender if he would launch my book. Maybe I wanted to prolong the conversation, maybe I wanted to let him know there lurked a brain behind my inane grinning, and definitely I wanted some legitimate way of contacting him again so I could ask him to play the lead in the film version. He agreed before legging it in the opposite direction at high speed. He must have known the silent ones are the most deadly, taking his rapid leave before my motor skills returned and I could summon up new and more fanciful requests. A dance, a date, or marriage perhaps?

So having been in the place of awe where my entire being had been focused on the unmentioned phallus of Mr Fassbender, I must reluctantly applaud you men. Genetically predisposed to dissecting women into genital titillation, I wonder how you can function at all in the presence of a beautiful woman.

If I had stayed any longer, I fear that the old Beverly Brothers’ line would have made an appearance. “If I said you have a beautiful body, Mr Fassbender, would you hold it against me?”

However, having since regained my capacity for words (as you’ve just read), I now just wait for Mr. Fassbender’s availability to launch my novel. Maybe the next time we might even have a conversation.

That fateful encounter (Photo: Jillian Godsil)

Jillian Godsil is a writer living south of Dublin. She runs a public relations business, is a freelance journalist and is writing four books this year. She lives with her two teenage girls, dog, cat and four horses in a tiny village. For more, see jilliangodsil.com.

A version of this post originally appeared on the Good Men Project.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Mar 4th 2012, 8:59 AM

Can you imagine the uproar if this was written by a man meeting say, Jessica Alba and said he was speechless as he could not stop mentally picturing her Vagina when faced with her.

Hung, drawn and quartered I’m guessing.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Favourite Adrian De Cleir
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:08 AM

It’s the weirdest article I’ve read in a while tbh.

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:27 AM

Oh man up ffs

Mute DubInNaas
    Favourite DubInNaas
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:52 AM

@Brian Daly
    I fully agree with you.

Funny how selective this ‘equality’ thing is.

Next week lets have an article about some single man in his 40′s writing (perving??) about his infatuation for the boobs of a well known actress in her 20′s, and what he would do if he met her !!

The catholic nazi lesbian feminist brigade would have him limb by limb.

Mute Ruby Moore
    Favourite Ruby Moore
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:11 AM

Brian, you’re completely right, this kind of sexual objectification should never happen. Considering his recent film, ‘Shame’, the subject itself is unavoidable, but for the entire interview to be based on her sexual attraction is just wrong.

Mute Damhsa Dmf
    Favourite Damhsa Dmf
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:45 PM

Good morning to the PC Brigade!
    Why do ye have to turn everything into a bloody gender equality subject?
    After reading about FG, Enda and more scaremongering and dodgy polls about the upcoming treaty, lowering into the usual temperament I I find myself in after reading the news and peoples comments I laughed out loud when I came to
    “He turned and smiled at me, and I said that I just wanted to say hello. He smiled some more and so did I, but my mind was empty of all words, adjectives, capitals, nouns, tenses, commas, and just any punctuation in general.
    Instead, I had this overwhelming image of his phallus. It was the metaphorical size of the elephant in the room, pun intended”

And thank you Jillian for that but alas my risen mood has dipped swiftly again after hitting these comments.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:45 PM

Dhamsa, I think it says more about you than me that a story about Mike Fassbender’s pork sword got you so intrigued.

Judging by the ratio on the thumbs, the “PC Brigade” consists of almost everyone but you.

Maybe you should start up a PinC Brigade and we can meet in another thread for a battle of wits (or lack of ;p )

Mute Laurence Fogarty
    Favourite Laurence Fogarty
    Mar 4th 2012, 3:51 PM

Agreed. But what is it about this Jessica? Where are the pics?

Mute DubInNaas
    Favourite DubInNaas
    Mar 4th 2012, 7:20 PM

@Damhsa
    Oh I am so happy that we all agree that this is all nonsense.

I particularly love your line;
    “why do ye have to turn everything into a bloody gender equality subject”

This is our (male) world Damhsa, welcome to it.

You have just quoted what *we* say everytime there is a debate on breastfeeding, car-driving, hijab-wearing, equal-working, glossy picture publishing, etc, etc.

It all seems so trivial doesn’t it ???

You need to talk to your catholic nazi lesbian feminist brigade, not to men.

We all agree with you :-)

Mute Deirdre Forde
    Favourite Deirdre Forde
    Mar 5th 2012, 2:05 PM

I think the point that Damhsa was making is that it always seems to be women getting it in the neck in the comments section, either way.

We’re always accused of being in uproar…. where as in fact…. no, I’d better not say it.

Also, I don’t think equality in work and hijabs are trivial issues.

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Mar 7th 2012, 6:21 PM

Hung being the operative word.

Mute Jim Daly
    Favourite Jim Daly
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:06 AM

Did yer mammy never tell ya ’tis neither the length nor the breadth of it, but the educated arse behind it?

Mute Trev Mooney
    Favourite Trev Mooney
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:25 AM

OUTRAGEOUS !!!!! I can’t decide who this article is for… or who it demeans more.

A. Women in general
    B. Men in general
    C The Author
    or
    D. All us heroes running around with savage meat wands.

Suggested headline improvement … “Escaped journal cougar stalks benders sausage” …. that’ll get em clickin’.

Strange one … made me laugh non the less… my comments are very much sausage in cheek.

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:41 AM

I was hovering over the thumbs down till I got to “D”. Hilarious.

Mute Trev Mooney
    Favourite Trev Mooney
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:53 AM

Clearly you posses knowledge of the alchemy and are of the brotherhood David.

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 8:26 AM

Nice article! Things is, men don’t (generally, unless I’m missing out) get to see beautiful women naked before they meet them. If we did, we’d be slobbering wrecks unable to hold proper conversations. Oh wait a minute…

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Mar 7th 2012, 2:54 PM

The old Freudian slip, “how do you do Me Fastmember?”

Mute Craig Colley
    Favourite Craig Colley
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:02 AM

I never comment on here but this is just so bad, I’m amazed at The Journal publishing this badly written, tea break magazine crap.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:10 AM

Also you own 4 horses, i thought you’d be desensitised to this kind of stuff!!

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:06 AM

What a really weird article, lol, men aren’t that weird. If we’re tongue tied its usually the face that causes that, the body of course completes it but it’s not like we’re sitting there of their crotch.

Mute Adrian De Cleir
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:07 AM

*thinking of their crotch, i meant

Mute Fergal Mangan
    Favourite Fergal Mangan
    Mar 4th 2012, 8:33 AM

I had the same problem when I met the hamburglar.

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:45 AM

Tabloid crap

Mute P Wurple
    Favourite P Wurple
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:08 AM

Oh cringe! The nervous smile in the photo…

Mute David Murphy
    Favourite David Murphy
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:40 AM

Him or her?

Mute Neil Griseto
    Favourite Neil Griseto
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:46 AM

Curiosity regrettably got the better of me and I read this article. Wow, several minutes I will never get back.

Mute Oisin Murray
    Favourite Oisin Murray
    Mar 4th 2012, 10:30 AM

A bit of fun, I enjoyed the article but got to agree if it were about say Rhiannan Fish’s (most googled woman on earth presently!) delectable body there would be uproar. Somehow it’s admirable and ‘courageous’ for a middle aged woman to leer on men thus rebelling against the usual backward and gauche approach that Irish women have toward sex… Just watch those absolute beastly bitches on Take me Out telling men half their weight that they are not good enough (it’s my guilty pleasure, embarrassingly funny!)

Mute Niall Skip Murphy
    Favourite Niall Skip Murphy
    Mar 4th 2012, 12:28 PM

Cringe. I hope your daughters read this. It could do with a good edit as well: it’s generally all over the shop. Even if you are on the advisory board for the Trinity College School of English.

Mute Ruby Moore
    Favourite Ruby Moore
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:47 PM

Oh dear. Scarle’ for Trinners

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Mar 4th 2012, 8:42 AM

Jillian, try a cold shower. Thats the advice normally proffered to us.

By the way, is he David Beckam’s long lost brother?

Mute Joey Wagga
    Favourite Joey Wagga
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:57 PM

Anyone seen the chest on Georgia salpa recently?? Wow!!
    I bet this gets blocked!!

Mute Niall Dargan
    Favourite Niall Dargan
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:30 PM

Brave woman who writes an article basically saying i want your knob!!

Mute Garvan Gallagher
    Favourite Garvan Gallagher
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:29 AM

Oh would you all get off your high horses, and quit complaining about articles that are a bit of fun. Are you all not tired of reading about Enda bloody Kenny.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Mar 4th 2012, 12:38 PM

Fair comment. I replied as its only a week or two ago we had that pathetic “rape culture” article (by a different journo I presume) and the hypocrisy of people laughing at this but nodding at that article is bloody annoying.

Title this article “I could stop thinking about what was in Rihanna’s panties” by a male author and I’m sure it would be laughed out of the journal office.

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:38 PM

Good man Garvan

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:16 AM

I see from the above picture that Micheál Óg suffers the same as the rest of us, from the curse of the Irish ginger beard.

Mute Frankie Faldo
    Favourite Frankie Faldo
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:38 PM

NAUGHTY COMMENT IT SOUNDS RACIST TO ME

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:38 PM

Me too. Except I have it on my head also

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 4th 2012, 10:28 AM

Enjoyable article Jillian.. If u had afew glasses of champers on you I bet the chat would have flowed like the Amazon river, you’d have had him in fits of laughter with your quick wit & charm (men like women who make them laugh & are pleasing to the eye), and you’d now be after having your first dinner where you would’ve talked about your career & his.. Then you both realise how much you both enjoyed each others company & decide to meet up soon again …or else you’d be in the throes of passion in his luxury penthouse … I’m not a romantic…!

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:07 PM

Seems there’s no one with an imagination commenting today!

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:37 PM

Don’t mind the thumbs downs. Lots of precious men online today. Except for my learned friend above with the abcd choices that is.

Mute Gerard Murphy
    Favourite Gerard Murphy
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:10 AM

I’m waiting for his first Colgate ad. Could be a long one though, a lot of fiachla going on there…

Mute Abby Garcia
    Favourite Abby Garcia
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:30 AM

When I met Ralph Fiennes I was struck speechless by his beauty. I did manage to ask him for an autograph eventually after drooling on him a bit..

Mute micktwatter
    Favourite micktwatter
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:55 AM

What’s your number Jillian? You sound like fun!

Mute David le Grand
    Favourite David le Grand
    Mar 4th 2012, 7:12 PM

When a woman writes this Sexist rubbish it’s ok…imagine a man writing reviewing what’s in Meryl Streeps bra..
    Sad…

Mute Joey Wagga
    Favourite Joey Wagga
    Mar 4th 2012, 1:57 PM

Wow again..

Mute William Lankstead
    Favourite William Lankstead
    Mar 4th 2012, 11:38 AM

Missed opportunity for some ‘knob’ jokes there i suppose?

Mute Ray Comerford
    Favourite Ray Comerford
    Mar 4th 2012, 8:05 PM

It was only fun. Let’s not take it too seriously. Life was better when we had a bit more license to be ourselves

Mute Aisling Shanahan
    Favourite Aisling Shanahan
    Mar 4th 2012, 2:50 PM

I believe its women who have better periphery vision than men http://www.columbia.edu/itc/anthropology/v1007/jakabovics/mf2.html

Mute Yeera Yeahboy
    Favourite Yeera Yeahboy
    Mar 4th 2012, 4:26 PM

That’s one of the first things I look for in a woman actually.

Mute Jillian Godsil
    Favourite Jillian Godsil
    Mar 6th 2012, 9:53 AM

A middle aged woman replies…http://www.tinyurl.ie/876

Mute Trev Mooney
    Favourite Trev Mooney
    Mar 4th 2012, 9:54 AM

Its only fair..

Mute David le Grand
    Favourite David le Grand
    Mar 4th 2012, 7:14 PM

When a woman wrights this sexist rubbish it’s ok….imaginea man reviewing Meryl Streep and headlining what’s in her bra….sad

Mute Ian McGahon
    Favourite Ian McGahon
    Mar 7th 2012, 2:33 PM

Seriously? Am I really meant to take this article seriously?