You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Con Colbert (wearing kilt) pictured with other members of the Fianna Éireann Council. Front, l-r: Paddy Holohan, Michael Lonergan, Colbert; back, l-r: Garry Holohan, Pádraig Ryan. The Keogh Collection via National Library of Ireland
the bereaved
Voices of 1916 'Con was in love with Lucy - and would have married her if he had lived'
Elizabeth Colbert had not known how deeply involved her brother Con was with the rebels ahead of the Rising – but she knew that he harboured a secret love.
7.00am, 27 Mar 2016
THIS WEEK, our Voices section is dedicated to the men, women and children whose first-hand experiences contributed to the rich patchwork of testimony that chronicles the events of 1916.
Elizabeth Colbert’s brother Con – known as Cornelius to his family – was executed in Kilmainham Gaol for his part in the Easter Rising, aged just 27.
At the time of the rebellion, he was working as a clerk in Kennedy’s Bakery on Parnell Street (then called Britain Street). He had been born in Monalena, Castlemahon, Co Limerick, one of 13 children, but had come to live and finish his schooling with his elder sister Katherine in Ranelagh, Dublin after the death of their mother at the age of 37.
It was in Dublin that he became fluent in Irish and “enthusiastic about everything Irish; he always bought clothes of Irish manufacture”.
Even so, Elizabeth, called Lila by her family, knew little of his connection with the Fianna:
He was constantly telling us that there would surely be a fight but I don’t think I ever took him seriously. He came to say goodbye to me before the Rising. I can’t say what day. He was very solemn about it but I don’t think I was.
However, Con did bring Lila into his confidence about the other matter close to his heart, giving us a poignant insight into a future cut short by his execution.This testimony is recorded in full here from Elizabeth/Lila at the Bureau of Military History.
I went to a céilidhe with Con shortly before the Rising. There were a lot of prominent people in the movement at it and many of them have since become well known.
In the course of the evening he said to me “I’ll show you the nicest girl in Dublin”. He introduced me to Lucy Smith. I think he was in love with her and would probably have married her if he had lived.
She was a nice, gentle, refined girl, a member of Cumann na mBan and a great worker in the movement. She afterwards married Tom Byrne of Boer War fame who was also keen on her at the same time. He was Con’s rival.
After Con’s execution I got to know Lucy well and she visited us in my brother’s place at Ballysten near Shanagolden. On one occasion when I visited her own she showed me the letters that Con had written to her. It was from reading them that I came to the conclusion that he was in love with her.
I heard afterwards from Fr O’Mahony, a member of the CSSp order who was at that time at St Mary’s College in Rathmines, that Con handed him a bulky packet addressed to Lucy when he visited Marrowbone Lane during Easter Week. It was to be delivered to her. Lucy never got it and afterwards, hearing about it from someone who was present when the packet was handed over, she went to see Fr O’Mahony about it. I was with her.
He told us that when he was taking the packet from Con, one of the girls present, probably a member of Cumann na mBan – he said her name was McNamara – took it from him and said she would deliver it as she was going there. I imagine she meant the GPO where Lucy was, I think, during Easter Week.
We went around to various places and people seeking information about the packet, but it was never located. We spent days and days at this and we were both very disappointed at its loss.
Elizabeth paints an intimate portrait of her brother’s character in her testimony. Remembering him, she notes:
Con was always full of life and fun. He was constantly making jokes, though he took his work for the Fianna and the Volunteers very seriously and spent all his spare time at it.
He cycled all over Ireland organising Companies. I remember he inspected the Company at home in Athea and there is no fear that he showed them any more favour than he did to any of the others.
Con Colbert conducting a drill class in the gynasium in Padraig Pearse's St Enda's School. An MacaomhAn Macaomh
He was very serious where work for Ireland was concerned and that is why I never thought he was taking an interest in girls. So I was surprised when I found out that he had been writing love letters to Lucy Smith and thinking very seriously about her.
Con’s earnestness was applied to every thing he did. When he was at school he felt he had to do his very best at his lessons. And when he worked at Kennedy’s he thought he should improve his position in the best way possible, so he devoted himself to the study of accountancy.
He did not waste a moment and no matter how late he went to bed, he would make sure to get up in time by tying the alarm clock to the head of his bed. He had to be at work at Kennedy’s at 8 o’clock. He never wasted a moment.
His favourite phrase was “for my God and my country”. He had unbounded energy and was very healthy.
While Con refused visits from his family while in jail awaiting execution in May 1916 – he feared it would upset them too much – he wrote prodigiously to them. To Lila he wrote:
Con’s movements during Easter Week are more detailed in an eyewitness account by Annie O’Brien (née Cooney), who was 19 at the time of the Rising. She and her sister Lily had been members of Cumann na mBan and good friends to Con.
It was from their city centre house that Con would leave for the Rising on Easter Monday.She seemed to think that Con was too interested in “his work for Ireland” to be interested in girls.And her statement would indicate that Con was more than capable of balancing the two:
I remember particularly one might a couple of weeks before that he [Con] came after one of his meetings. He had asked me to make some signalling flags. He took two photographs out of his pocket and asked me: “Would you care to have one of these?”
One of the photos was of himself alone and the other of himself and Liam Clarke. I said I would be delighted and he actually gave me both and I have brought in one of them to show you. I was charmed because, to tell the truth, I thought an awful lot of him and, of course, he must have known it.
He was not, however, at all interested in girls; he was entirely engrossed in his work for Ireland and devoted all his time to it. He had taken me to a few ceilis and concerts and always brought me home. There would be others in the party.
He said, rather significantly: “Would you mind very much if anything happened to me in this fight that is coming on?”
I said, “I would indeed, why do you ask?”
He answered: “I might just be the one to be killed.”
Captain Con Colbert pictured with his garrison at the Jameson Distillery on Marrowbone Lane during the Rising. The Keogh CollectionThe Keogh Collection
Sadly, Con’s prophecy would come true, but Annie also recalls the enthusiasm with which he embraced the fight of Easter Week, notwithstanding the danger to himself.
Lily, when she came back, and myself were feverishly busy filling Christy Byrne’s and Con Colbert’s haversacks and our own with any food we could find.
They were both now in uniform. We helped them to buckle on the haversacks and Sam Brown belts and they were all excited to get out. During the time I was buckling him up Con – who had not a note in his head – was singing “For Tone is coming back again,” he was so excited and charmed that at last the fight was coming off. He thought of nothing else.
Con Colbert fought at Watkin’s Brewery and Jameson’s Distillery in Marrowbone Lane during the Rising. Following the surrender, Annie and Lily were also imprisoned in Kilmainham and saw Con receive Communion along with Eamon Ceannt, Michael Mallin and Sean Heuston, all four marked out for execution.
They were the only ones to receive Holy Communion, which we thought significant. That affected us all and I began to cry. When the Volunteer prisoners were leaving the church, those four were the last to leave and they looked up at us.
We waved down to Con Colbert, who waved his hand in reply shaking his head up and down as if in farewell. They evidently knew what their fate would be. They were all four executed next morning.
A portrait of Con Colbert is to be unveiled on 8 May, the centenary of his execution at Colbert train station in Limerick city.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Well, he might be right. This government might not last, but there will never be another government with him involved. And thank what ever. Now its down to FG and one party alone. Lets see have FG learned or not. I say not.
Kelly jumped into Phil Hogans shoes when any politically savvy coalition partner would have told FG to sort out their own mess.
Now he finds that FG don’t care about IW and he was used and abused by them.
Not surprising that he’s upset when you consider that if he had refused ‘Environment’ it’s likely his Labour colleagues wouldn’t have been wiped out at GE16.
That’s what happens when Ambition gets in the way of Political intelligence.
A long time to reflect is deserved.
And a little humility wouldn’t go astray either.
Why are we reading about Alan kelly he is a member of one of the smallest parties in the country. Next we will be reading articles on lucinda creighton.
Hopefully the Labour Party will see sense and start to clean itself up and get rid of the corrupt Alan kelly.
We have being paying all along, about two thirds of motor tax goes towards IW.
The taxpayers will have given close to €3 billion to Irish Water by end of 2016
What’s your point point Robin?
Robin…do you think Irish politicians arent narcissistic enough to forgo reading the journal comments? Or maybe have their flunkies pick out the juicy and flattering ones?
Ah Jesus…. Robin really…. You do realise even children pay tax in some shape or form……everyone does…. So how does one become a tax scrounger since thanks to the previous governments, their is no end to different types of TAX…….
Robin. Keep telling yourself that i’m sure it makes you feel good.
You should be more worried about the Government privatising IW, you may not be able to afford the next time you pay.
Money and corruption are ruinin our country, crooked politicians betray the working man, pocketing the profits and treating us like sheep, and we’re tired of hearing promises that we know they’ll never keep.
While the country can do better – and I’m looking at the nation’s Lowry’s and Healy-Rae’s here – I think we shouldn’t make it out to be worse than it is.
zapping is ok. being gay doesn’t make you a socialist. The left seem to think that because she is different she would be anti everything. why should she be? isn’t she a business woman not a lay about.
I don’t know Zappone but i know a few people who voted for her, i doubt she will get in again as they are disgusted she went with Kenny.
And she is a politician not a business woman. Defiantly a grabber.
Robin Hilliard, Ireland only a little bitty corrupt? Whoever is responsible for this report must have got a bigger than usual brown envelope! Ireland is corrupt to its core.
Kelly left that big of a mess they had to demolish the Dept of environment.power flowed from labours hands today and into the hands of ff and independents,that hurt.
Ah the Bilderberg boy….we never seem to spot these traitors on their way up…its only when they gain power and we are innocuous that we realise how treacherous and inept Ross,Zappone,Hogan,Kenny,Kelly,Burton,Haughey,Cowan,Fitzgerald,Coveney,Donohoe et al really are….
Kellys threats to the people to buy his quango bull and his demonic celebrations when re-elected while labour fell showed him up.Also his failure to add anything to the housing crisis means he’s toxic as a politician now,even to the Labour Party.A Jonah.
Kelly’s celebration when he was elected on the 13th count was very telling, his party had just been wiped out at the polls but you wouldnt have guessed it looking at this total me feiner, a spoofer of the highest order, i hope theres an election soon just so we can be rid of this deeply disgusting individual
Very good point and I think you hit the nail on the head. Magoo’s point about the celebration and your thoughts just about sum him up. This is all about Alan and nothing else. His recent rantings are just bitter and divisive.
“TREASINABLE BETRAYAL”……. Who in the name of the Lord living Jaysus dies this deluded fool think he is ,,,, Did he not look out the windows of Leinster House ?….. Did he not read the newspaper reports ?…. Did he not watch the tv news ? ….. Did he not listen to the radio phone ins?….. He certainly didn’t listen to the people that elected him …. Me thinks this FOOL listens to the little voices in his head telling him he’s doing a great job
Alan Kelly the one that thought he was untouchable Mr Irish Water has got his answer from the public he should be made carry a water meter up in his back everyday just to remind people of the mess he made of it.
Ah Alan Kelly… You are irrelevant now , away with you….. Enda in charge of the army, coveney in charge of the water, Harris in charge of health,… Sure what could go wrong?…..yep collapsed government……
@ Hilliard – Of course water must be funded & as you know it has been for years by all of the people of Ireland. Who are all the scroungers that didn’t pay? Everyone that pays VAT has been paying for water upkeep & ditto car tax. Just because you’re a cowardly me feiner who couldn’t give a s**t about anyone but your self doesn’t excuse your lies & spoofery comments on this forum. IW is dead – get over it.
‘Where does water go now’….down the plughole as per usual. Where does our tax money and bonuses to Irish Water go, down the big black hole with everything else. What a waste of our money, what a pure waste
What a butter man Alan Kelly is. Find it funny he’s labiur he sounds more Fine Gael he just doesn’t get it. In fact what’s the point of a labour party.
Well Alan seen as you are out of a job now you can F…Off to America and catch the first manned flights to Mars where you can set up a dig to find water…Good luck to you
So how’s the nation’s water supply going to be funded now that everybody has established that they don’t want to pay around fifty cents per day to fund it?
Back to central funding and the consequent massive underinvestment which has left the country with a joke of a water system?
Robin under IW the investment was less then under the previous regime. Also we are still paying for water through VAT and motor tax so not to worry at least the double charging is going to be stopped.
Robin I’ll pay for water when it’s set up in a transparent way..I need to know nobody is making money out of it and it all goes into fixing our water system.
Pay for rich people to get richer to set up a company to be sold off a few years from now so they then get even richer and the politicians have another board to join for a few quid in there retirement
People like Robin make me laugh….on one hand he cries that we don’t get anything for our taxes….then when they plan to take away the only thing we do get for our taxes….he goes yippee!
Robin..just to spell it out for you..we were told we would make a contribution towards water through an increased charge on motor tax, and property tax. Theres a ‘tax’ on your Esb bill, and we pay VAT on all of these charges. What I dont understand is you don’t seem to be getting the will or wishes of the majority of the paying people. You seem to think your opinion is the ond and we should all cough up and pay. Well we wont. And we are right. But I bet you won’t say anything about that when it happens..and it will happen.
Robin..give john tierney a call…he can list the consultants that got the 80 mil and if you are nice to him he might give you the name of the Audi dealer who leased all the A6′s to IW …get all that money back and then text me…
A quango set up that couldnt even afford to cover the costs of administration.it sent out nationwide bills on wednesday at a cost of €84,000. An absolute disgrace. Disgusting waste of money.
That 40% includes many pensioners, childrens allowance, ill, disabled people and also covers 85,000 people on job activation schemes like Jobsbridge, Tus, Solas and Gateway…..those schemes that are used to manipulate the live register.
You’re not a civil person…you always come across as an obnoxious individual.
Robin, read up on Siteserv, when it was bought, by whom and how it was predicted. Now read up on Private health and the money that is about to go into that, gratis of the tax payer and who owns the Beacon for instance. Then read up on who was installing the water meters and who had a vested interest from Kerry (the bro’s). Then tell me why I am a scrounger when I pay the highest tax level and simply won’t stand for lining the pockets of fraudsters. Just Read up, might do you well before posting.
Climate change now has a dedicated ministry.
Healy raes talks will be the high point. I don’t like the man and his public speaking is brutal however climate change as presented to the public is bollix. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_5az5OIX2k That is the real issue here not the shite talk of this buffon.
So it seems a Water Commission Quango to oversee the nominal overseer of Irish Water Infrastructure (IW) was the price of FF’s agreement. We’re great at double jobbing. Jobs for the boys lads.
If ye are happy to be paying for water through road tax and VAT…then don’t complain about bad roads or underfunded heathcare/education/policing services… because you’re happily accepting that money which could have been used for those services is already being used to give you clean water.
Sparky, I wasn’t hibernating, I was working so I could pay my bills. I’m not happy that I won’t get back the money I paid already for Water Services… I’m sorry if I have a different view than most on water charges, but someone who works up to 80hrs/week running a small company, I do get a little tired of people whinging about terrible services, but then don’t want to pay for getting better services… it’s like people want to pay nothing and get everything. I didn’t vote for this government – in fact none of the people I voted for are now TDs….yes they can do more for the people.. but the people have to give too. “But we’re already giving too much” I hear everyone say… that’s true, people have given this government their most prized possession… their votes – which really is giving too much. Wasn’t it Einstein who said the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting a different result. The people got what they voted for, for a 2nd term, but their still not happy…
@SickOfCorruption …a time machine? for what? to go back a few years and reclaim the excesses of my youth? or to jump forward a few years and then come back to tell you everyone’s paying for water…??
Oh for heavens sake Dave are you so damn blind that you can’t see that IW was set up not as an entity to improve our infrastructure but as a profiteering exercise to eventually be sold off to one of FG’s favorite crony capitalists?, the money wasted on this blood sucking leech could’ve went a long way to fixing many of the problems within the system, many of us find that unpalatable but for some reason you don’t?.
A separate water utility set up within the public service immune from local authority influence was all that was required with say an affordable annual maintenance charge for all households that can be paid off weekly at your local post office, I’d say many people would be happy with that knowing their water supply is been used for their benefit not for some fat cat or others to meter the ass off of people to maximise profit?.
I guess I an blind William. I must have had my head in the sand for the past few months…all this time there was me thinking all those protests were for the abolition of water charges, where as they were actually demonstrating for the right to pay water charges to a different entity…silly me. I do apologise for my ignorance. .. .. although I’ve not once remarked about Irish Water as an entity – I’m really not too well informed on the ins/outs if its setup and management to voice an opinion on that, my remarks are purely on the topic of paying for water services in general (which I thought was evident).
You might find Dave that the protests were just as much about all the relentless austerity measures that came before not just water charges, IW was yet another austerity measure that eventually shook the apathetic public from their slumber.
The whole set up of IW was all about crony capitalist profiteering, sounds like you are ok with fat cats to getter even fatter from our water resources, because only party shills in absolute total denial could fail to see that privatisation was the ultimate goal right from its very inception?, kudos to the protesters for standing up against such deviance!.
William, I think we’re looking at it from two different perspectives… at no stage in my comments have I indicated that I’m in favour of cronyism, nor did I mention that I’m ok with profiteering (in my own business I’ve terminated contracts with clients who were profiteering at the expense of our customers, knocking double-figure percentages off my own company profits). My argument here throughout is in favour of water charges…nothing more. It doesn’t inherently mean I’m an advocate of cronyism or quangos, that’s an assumption you’ve formed without my input. Austerity was necessary, no question we had to tame our own financial bad habits and think more about living within our means – I’m better off for one as a result of thinking before I spend. Personally I’d like to see a higher basic tax rate and vastly improved public services as a result, and like everyone else I want to see taxes spent on what they’re being charged for (road tax for roads, etc)…budget surplus should be saved/invested. And the country should be run like a business where efficiencies are monitored and everyone employed by the state should have to justify their right to be in that job…too much money is wasted in general on thinking about what needs to be done. Rant over.
Dave perhaps you can pose that question to David, ‘I pulled a figure from my arse’ Drumm or to Trichet & Co. Blame where its due. Your ignorance is mindblowing in that after America we actaully spend more money then anyone on our health service so ask FG where that money has been siphoned off to, especially as we don’t even have a NHS in this country, a friend’s sister died because she couldn’t afford the 75 euro a day for her Chemo. treatments. That’s the kind of society people who voted Fine Gael want and have got.
Maggie, what question?? And can you post a link to your claim about healthcare expenditure? I’ve searched sites and can’t find any reliable source which puts us at #2 for healthcare expenditure as a percentage of GDP… what I’ve found (maybe I’m searching wrong) is most developed nations are ahead of us and we fall somewhere in the #15-#20 depending on which source it’s from. None of my votes were given to FG. My firstborn was about 3mins from being stillborn…he received specialist treatment in Sweden..paid for by the HSE… I’ve experienced an amazing healthcare system in Sweden and they are high on the list of expenditure. Ireland is not. My sincere condolences for the loss of your friend.
So has IW been moved under Local Government so they can add the water tax to the Local Property Tax and if we still won’t pay they can set the Revenue dogs on us. They’re definitely up to something.
If people step back from the personal onslaught on Kelly just a minute, they might see…. It was a valid question. The answer, as presented here suggests a total capitulation and water is once again under the remit of local government…
How exactly is the issue of securing water supplies and waste management (which IW was set up to deal with) not a climate change/natural resource issue? Seriously!
Alan Kellys legacy involves the failed irish water,Over seeing the lowest number of social housing ever built by the state,and forcing us to pay for recycling just as we hit the top of the charts in europe for being the best socially conscious population for recycling.(GET READY FOR IRELAND TO FALL DOWN THOSE CHARTS) This is his legacy leaving aside his rants….yet he was re-elected….ASTOUNDING!!!!
Environment split into three so is this three sets of inflated wages. Lovely way to start the new ‘lets screw the people’ administration. Looking at Enda leaving to the cheers of his minions outside the Dail yesterday reminded me strongly of Hitler on his walkabouts, brainwashed fools with adoring brown-nosing. Luckily 75% of the country has sense.
Dave and Robin the only 2 sensible rational people in this otherwise daft and silly collection of ravings from deluded people who dont want to pay for anything. Lets hope the new government moves swiftly to stamp out the anarchistical activities that a small pecrcentage of our people feel justified in carrying out. This country is still supposed to be a democracy so if you dont like the directions of YOUR government then perhaps its time to travel and see the world!!
That’s the standard response coming from hq now ‘people who don’t want to pay for anything’
you say this country is supposed to be a democracy then you may have noticed that the majority of the dail were voted in on there opposition of IW
There was a time when we didn’t have to pay for waste collections, but we all manage our waste better now and the thought of throwing every scrap of litter into landfill isn’t even an option in most people’s minds. The same goes for water, it’s a finite resource and needs to be managed more responsibly, in the long run we’ll benefit from learning how to sustain our resources. Nobody who is in favour of paying for water is inherently in favour of cronyism or quangos. But when people go and readily spend €5 on a pint or a glass of wine, and then complain they’ve no money to pay for clean water to be delivered to their taps then there’s a problem right there… Regardless of what’s going to happen with Irish Water, AK, DO’B, etc… paying for water isn’t a bad thing, and if it means freeing up cash for front-line services then that’s also not a bad thing. I find the people who complain most, are generally (not exclusively) those who contribute the least, financial or otherwise. The difference between being Active or Reactive – consider what you can do, rather than what you feel others are obliged to do for you.
What a smug comment. It’s not all about the money in fact I would say that’s low down most peoples objections to this oversized job for the boys quango.
There’s a reason why it was guillotine through the dail and there’s a reason why it wasn’t protected from being sold!
In thar case then the banners the protesters were holding up should have read “protect our water from privatisation” … the Irish Water fiasco came about after the government offered the €100 rebate and fixed the charge until 2019. Until then it was all about the money – the argument was that water is a basic human right and that we’re already paying for the service through existing taxes. The protesters are as bad as the government I’m afraid… it’s a case of “Ready!? Fire!!! Aim!” … we seem to have an entitlement to pay for the luxuries we want with our hard earned money, but not for our necessities… Lower tax intake during the recession together with higher spending on social welfare as a direct result of decrease in tax takings, doesn’t mean there’s more to spend on public services… you need to have money to spend money… “I want to pay more taxes every week so that my unemployed neighbour can get increased benefits” ..said nobody ever… “I’d love to pay less tax, have more in my own pocket, I want better services than I have now” … is more appropriate.
And just to point out for the 4th/5th time. I’m all for paying for water.. but this doesn’t mean I’m in favour of quangos and cronyism… I’m in agreement with everyone that there is a right and wring way to do things.
Chris,
We the people pay for everything, who else do you think pays. I’m paying a mortgage, the high rate of tax earning a measly 34,000 a year and have attended every protest. The society that you want is fascism, so polish the Jackboots and join Fine Gael. I’m sure that you will be welcomed with open arms. I have traveled the world btw and losing over half their seats would see any other govenment booted out where they belong because the opposition Parties have something between their legs. In our case, the oppositioin is as gutless and dishonest as the booted out Party.. Both had no business being anywhere near the 1916 Commemorations.
I agree with the idea of paying for water. It doesn’t mean I’m a supporter of cronyism…IW at the moment is the only outlet for paying that bill. Unless you know of another one. By your logic, anyone who buys a product made in China is a supporter of slave labour & exploitation, and doesn’t support Irish jobs. WTF.
We urgently need a strong Department of the Environment with responsibilities for wildlife and nature; water protection; and waste, air pollution and climate. Please sign the joined campaign by Irish Wildlife Trust, Birdwatch Ireland, An Taisce, Voice and Friends for a Department for the Environment, Climate and Natural Heritage.
see http://bit.ly/DeptEnv
Powering through and praying: Our readers' stories about the GP crisis in Ireland
9 hrs ago
Holy Show
Opposition mulls confidence in Ceann Comhairle as Tánaiste criticises 'unseemly' Dáil scenes
Updated
29 mins ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say