You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
I HAVE TO admit, I was a bit of a COP cynic as I headed to my first COP in Cali, Colombia in mid-October. This was the COP16 Biodiversity Summit as opposed to next week’s Cop, the UN Climate Change Conference in Baku. The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) COP meets every two years with the global goal of halting and reversing biodiversity loss by 2030.
Some say that COPs are just a talking shop — lots of countries coming together to agree on targets that no one has any intention of keeping. It can be difficult to believe that real change is possible globally when there are worrying reports this week, such as the prediction that this year will be the hottest on record, and the return of Trump in the US, a noted climate change denier. But if we don’t try at all, then nothing happens and nature suffers even more.
I spent almost two weeks in Colombia at the Biodiversity COP, so what did I learn and was I any more convinced by the experience?
Well first, in comparison with the better-known COPs on climate change that take place every year in places like Paris, Glasgow and more recently in the UAE, this COP was about nature and biodiversity.
It’s sometimes hard to believe that nature is in free fall when you’re living in Ireland, surrounded by greenery everywhere. But then you think, when was the last time I saw a butterfly or why don’t I have to scrape the insects off my windscreen anymore when I’m driving cross country? You start to pick up on the tell-tale signs of biodiversity loss.
Still, for those of us in business rather than ecology, you might think what has this got to do with me? The news headlines about the horrific floods in Spain over the past few weeks are bringing discussions closer to home for many. We find ourselves asking could that happen here? The answer is that it already does, of course, with coastal flooding identified as a serious and increasing threat for Ireland.
Paiporta, Valencia. 08th Nov, 2024. November 7, 2024, Paiporta, Valencia, España: Paiporta, Day 9 aftermath floods in Valencia. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
While we haven’t experienced the catastrophic loss of life suffered in Valencia, we should not underestimate the devastating longer-term impacts. Long after the headlines images of floods and rivers bursting their banks fade from our screens, thousands of farms and small businesses across Ireland struggle to pick up the pieces and recover their livelihoods reeling from the huge losses incurred.
Can we effect change?
So how is COP going to change any of this and what is the link between climate change and nature loss? I took home three key messages from COP16:
The first was about the relationship between climate change and nature. Essentially, nature holds a potent solution for climate change. So-called nature-based solutions like forests and peatlands have been around for centuries and have been quietly keeping the world in check, soaking up carbon, reducing temperatures and guzzling up heavy rainfalls without anyone paying much attention.
Scientists have calculated that nature-based solutions, when done right, have the capacity to significantly reduce global warming while creating many benefits for communities and local economies. Cut down the forests, cover our cities with concrete, and the message from COP is that we’re essentially destroying our own resilience to climate change in an act of self-destruction.
Colombia's Minister of Environment Susana Muhamad gives a speech during the opening ceremony of COP16, Oct. 20, 2024. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
The second key message I took home from COP was that investment in nature is creating many new opportunities. Indeed, there were more businesses and investors at this COP than at any previous event. Why? Well, the World Economic Forum calculated that over half of global GDP is moderately or highly dependent on nature and that 395 million jobs could be delivered through the transition of industry towards nature-positive by 2030.
Yet it seems most businesses are unaware of both the risks and opportunities. Studies show that only 5% of companies have carried out an assessment of the impact of their operations on nature, while fewer than 1% of companies have carried out an assessment of their dependencies on nature. This needs to change.
Oasis Terraces in Singapore, a green roof provides an urban nature-based solution to environmental challenges such as climate change. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
At COP, we heard about a lot of work happening to raise business awareness and action. This is being led by organisations such as Business for Nature, World Economic Forum (WEF) and the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD). Closer to home, the GoNaturePositive! a project led by Trinity College Dublin is working with pilots in Ireland and Europe on the transformation of agro-food, marine, forest, building and tourism industries towards more nature-positive practices.
Examples include a shift from intensive monoculture practices to agro-ecology, agro-forestry and reforestation approaches as part of industry value chains. Right now, many industry sectors seem to be in the ‘early adopter’ phase but judging from the business and investment presence at this COP, the smart money seems to be on nature positive becoming mainstream as more and more policy and investment are piled into this space.
People tour the green zone of the United Nations Biodiversity Conference, or COP16, in Cali, Colombia, Saturday, Oct. 19, 2024. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
The third key message I took home was about equality or, more accurately, the lack of it when it comes to nature restoration. Before going to COP, I had little knowledge of the challenges that developing countries face in trying to conserve the world’s most diverse rainforests and ecosystems.
Related Reads
Eamon Ryan: Taoiseach and Tánaiste must answer 'serious questions' about climate plans
'Drill, baby, drill': What Trump's return to the White House means for climate
John Gibbons: The floods in Spain are just the tip of the giant climate iceberg coming our way
In developing countries, like the Pacific Islands, instead of investing in conservation, half of their national debt can be spent mopping up after climate disasters that they didn’t create. And while developed countries are keen to lend money for large-scale afforestation projects in developing countries, for landowners such loans are often less attractive than the upfront cash payments that logging companies are ready to pay for cutting down the forests that are propping up our world’s ecosystems. At COP16, investors presented opportunities for ‘bankable’ projects in the order of $5-75 million with return on investment expected in 5-7 years.
Huang Runqiu, China's minister of ecology and environment, walks onto the stage at the opening ceremony of COP16. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
This contrasts sharply with the needs of many small enterprises. In one session there was a spontaneous round of applause for a small farmer who asked, what finance is available for me to do the right thing? There were also inspiring examples of innovation, like the EcoTrust project in Uganda, which uses carbon credits as a way of incentivising more than 40,000 small farmers to come together at scale to protect and restore wildlife corridors.
A key outcome of COP was the official recognition of the role of Indigenous Peoples and people of African descent and their communities in biodiversity conservation. But while this was a win, the big disappointment from COP16 was the lack of progress on financing. The UN estimates that $700 billion is needed to achieve the goal of halting and reversing biodiversity loss by 2030 but so far only around $200 million has been committed. And the COP ended before progress was made on this matter, with no resolution in sight.
Will anything change?
So, coming home from COP, am I less cynical? Well not really. While I’m optimistic about the opportunities that a transition to a nature-positive economy might present in theory, I’m concerned about the unequal distribution of benefits from such a transition. But what is the alternative to COP? It is the only game in town. It is the only forum where all countries come together to find solutions and from this policies and business decisions will follow.
I gained a new appreciation in Cali for the government negotiators who prepare for months for these COPs and who work tireless day and night at COP to reach consensus. While an agreement might not have been reached at this COP, these negotiators will keep trying. And that is always better than doing nothing. Without them we would literally be sailing down the flooding creek to disaster without the paddle that these COPs provide.
A final reflection. As Ireland will hold the Presidency of the EU in 2026 when the next COP on biodiversity is hosted closer to home in Armenia, we should reflect on how we can demonstrate leadership – not just for our own gain, but to build on our deep sense of humanity and justice to bring about equitable solutions for developing countries in recognition of the service they are providing to save our shared planet.
Dr Siobhan McQuaid is the Associate Director of Innovation at Trinity College Dublin’s Centre for Social Innovation. She leads research on the nature-positive economy and nature-based entrepreneurship. She is the founder and director of Horizon Nua, a non-profit foundation supporting people, cities/regions, and entrepreneurs to transition towards a just, carbon-neutral, nature-positive economy.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
53 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Finian McG: These hitpieces are starting to get ridiculous. It’s come to the stage where all it does is massage the authors ego. People are being made to feel guilty for their existence. That’s not how nature works.
@Marvin Dollery: To add to the above points: go out there and be proud of yourself and your existence. Be proud of your culture and country. Never let these miserable educated fools make you feel like you shouldn’t exist. Given half the chance, they’d jump into bed with Soros for the payday.
@Marvin Dollery: They are getting paid by the government to print these articles, the government set up a grant scheme for media to print climate change articles.
@Brendan O’Brien: A government expert group that helped award €1.8m of taxpayers’ money to media companies wanted greater coverage of CLIMATE CHANGE and “the rise of populism” overseas.
So far under the scheme, RTÉ has been granted €720,000, Virgin Media €500,000, and JOURNAL MEDIA €231,500. The Irish Examiner, the Business Post and Reach Media, the publisher of the Irish Daily Star and Irish Daily Mirror, all received €100,000 each. Bauer Media, the German owner of Newstalk and Today FM, is to get €55,000.
@Brendan O’Brien: Apology accepted Brendan/Kevin, you know all Muppet who doesn’t know as much as he thinks he does, next time, as Frank says, “do your own fk I n research before you question me
What’s the betting this jolly will be held in a 5* hotel, we’ll hear these words thrown around like candy—- ” dire, point of no return, fund, must do more, best COP ever, mandate for change”…… we’ll also have interviews with Mary the elder, George Lee will be on SixOne with predictions of armegeddon BUT assure us the next COP will do more
@Frank Mc Carthy: of course if you had bothered your hole to read the article, hell even the first paragraph, you would know that this particular Cop on Biodiversity has already taken place, in Cali, last month. How can you expect to be taken seriously if you so obviously don’t bother to read, yet post multiple comments on the article? Actually, scrap that, how can you expect to be taken seriously, full stop?
@Kevin Kerr: it’s happening in Azerbaijan, Nov 11th through Nov 22nd….. & You expect ANYBODY to take your ridiculous stable of trolling accounts seriously, lol
@Kevvy kerrr: that’s COP29. This particular article, the one we’re actually commenting on (well you’re trolling, not commenting) is about COP16 bio diversity summit which took place in Cali last month. I can’t believe that I actually needed to repeat this
@Paul M Doe: Like during claims of sexual abuse, but then again it wasn’t only children, it was Gardaí that we told to shut up or else. Bill Kennealy and cover ups still exist in the establishment. But of course for the people ha ha. Is it embarrassing that children understand the science behind climate chage more than you? Go on, attack Greta again, easier than accepting the scientific proof.
The Chinese will flip this coin. America is sleeping down the global ladder, its incredible how they see the landscape of the future and capitalise on it, seems so simple, ‘Oh you need electric cars?… we have loads and they’re way cheaper’ lol!… Hope they can smash the elitist ‘tax-cabalists’ we have on this side of the world. Dont forget to ask your representatives why they tax us so hard and allow multinationals to do whatever they please in the ‘global economy’
The cop 16 lot should cop on to the reality that us the great unwashed don’t give a fiddlers what these elites and so called celebrities and their hundreds of private jets do or say.
@Fidelma Clarke: It’s not, the climate has always been changing, we need to adapt instead of wasting vast amounts of money on this new Climate Industry that has sprung up. The planet will still be here and functioning when we’re long gone – wheeeeeeeeeh!
Two dead and child injured in two-vehicle crash in Cork
1 hr ago
Allianz Football League
Kerry get the better of Mayo to win 24th Division 1 title
The 42
21 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say