You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Bugged out over nits Are head lice just impossible to get rid of these days?

Niamh O’Reilly finds that with fewer regular checks and an overreliance on one-dose treatments, it’s no wonder nits are living large on the scalps of our kids.

THE DOOMSDAY CLOCK may be at 89 seconds to midnight, and while I hope it never strikes its ominous hour, I’m quite sure that if a nuclear apocalypse did come to pass, the one thing that would survive apart from the cockroaches is head lice.

The parasitic insects are one of the biggest bugbears of parents up and down the country who dread their arrival with a passion. Maybe I’m just nitpicking here, but they seem to be worse than ever these days, bordering on almost indestructible.

It’s impossible not to start scratching at the very mention of them, either. I’m willing to guess you’re scratching your head as you read this right now, aren’t you? You just can’t help it. It’s like an ingrained Pavlov’s Dog-type response to the mere mention of the little feckers we all know and loathe.

detail-of-head-louse-full-of-fresh-human-blood-ectoparasite-sucking-human-blood-from-front-view-head-lice A head louse full of fresh human blood. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

It’s the thoughts of the creatures living large on my scalp that give me the shivers because, like most people, I can remember having nits as a child and still feeling repulsed to this day. As a young girl with long hair in a class of other girls with long hair, the rumours and counter rumours, would spread once the outbreak had begun.

‘They only like greasy hair!’

‘No, they only like clean hair!’

No one could agree. The only thing we all knew was that they liked hair, and none of us wanted to have the feared bowl haircut as a last resort to deal with the infestation. Back in the mid-90s, the cure was the good old-fashioned metal comb, followed by a highly toxic feeling chemical concoction slapped on your head, which smelled as if it might be dissolving your hair and scalp, as well as the nits themselves.

Turbo nits

Harsh as it was, it worked. I only remember getting nits once, and I don’t remember them being as systemic as they seem to be today. These days the little buggers seem to be harder to get rid of and come back not just with a vengeance but like the title of an Arnie movie, they return with the vibe of ‘this time it’s personal.’

head-lice-nits-treating-nits-get-rid-of-head-lice-nit-comb-headlice Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

So what’s really going on? Are nits immune to chemicals? Are we not using treatments correctly these days?

“There does seem to be a lack of information about how common head lice are,” says Pharmacist and host of the Wondercare Podcast Sheena Mitchell. They also don’t discriminate between clean or unclean hair, she assures, “a scalp is a scalp to head lice, clean or dirty.”

According to the experts, head lice can indeed be immune to some over-the-counter treatments, but the main issue is complacency.

“People need to be doing regular checks,” says Principal of St Patrick’s National School in Greystones, Rachel Harper, who knows a thing or two about head lice. “Prevention is better than cure,” she insists. “We would quite regularly send out emails to the whole school just as part of homework — please check your child’s hair for nits tonight. And I think if schools keep doing that as a whole, that’s a really big way of trying to reduce the amount of nits.”

The eternal battle

The life cycle of the nits can also be a bit of a head-scratcher. When you eliminate live head lice with a treatment, unhatched eggs can be left behind, which is why reinfestation is common.

“They could be there for four to six weeks before you get any itching,” Sheena adds. Plus, itching doesn’t always mean there is an infestation,” she adds. “The only way to be sure is to find a live head lice on your child’s scalp.”

one-monkey-helping-other-by-searching-and-eating-head-lice-india One monkey searches for head lice in another. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

With regular checks not being done anymore and an overreliance on so-called one-dose over-the-counter treatments, it’s no wonder nits are living large on the scalps of our kids.

For parents currently in the thick of it, Sheena Mitchell insists you’ve got to be fastidious. “You systematically work through small sections of your child’s hair using a comb, and it’s really important that every section of the scalp is thoroughly worked through.”

With so much entailed in battling the little buggers, it’s no surprise that dedicated nit clinics have sprung up to tackle the problem head on. But parents are also levelling up their at-home responses. One mum of two girls, who was sick to death of the merry-go-round of nits told me recently, that she’d bought a high-tech style LED head magnifying visor, the likes of which would not be out of place on the head of a brain surgeon in the OR.

manufacturing-model-railway-parts One mother went to war with nits, buying an LED 'head magnifier'. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“I was so fed-up last year I even invested in this contraption, but it’s been a game-changer,” she laughs. “You have all these different settings you put on it, it has a light, and you can go scorched earth on the child’s head getting rid of them!”

Don’t knock it until you try it because every parent fears an outbreak of the little feckers and the dreaded text message which follows from the school — “There’s been a case of head lice reported in the class. Please check your child and treat accordingly.”

Who hasn’t died a little inside when they receive that message at work and immediately start scratching their head in a meeting? Worse still is when you receive the message more than once because, for whatever reason, treatment for someone in the class has not been successful and the cycle begins again. It’s at that exact moment you consider reaching for the clippers and doing a Britney on the whole family.

Parenting challenges

As a mum to two young boys, I’ve had the aforementioned text message many times on and off, mainly in the crèche years. However, and I don’t really want to say this out loud, fearing the universe is waiting and watching for its moment to strike and do a nit’s version of Macbeth on me, but so far, we have avoided the ‘you know what’s.’

head-lice-infection Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Now we’ve had most of the other weird and unpleasant childhood things, it must be said– hand, foot, and mouth, slapped cheek syndrome, ringworm and so on. It could simply be down to luck. It could simply be because with boys, I’m dealing with shorter hair. Or it could be the fact that I spray them in hazmat levels of head lice preventer every single morning before they step foot outside the door.

young-woman-making-hair-braids-of-the-little-girl-on-the-garden-in-the-countryside French plaits are an excellent way to repel nits. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Despite there being no concrete evidence that such sprays work, I still deploy it like I’m dusting crops. Be it school, sports, play centres, basically anywhere they will be in contact with other kids, they get sprayed.

Whatever the reason, I still live in fear that we will not escape the itchy and scratchy show. If you’re dealing with nits, firstly, my sympathies and more importantly, here are some top tips for at-home treatment. According to the HSE, the old-fashioned ritual of using a fine-tooth comb is the best course of action and your first line of defence.

Other tips to help you along:

• Use the comb on wet or dry hair, but it usually works best on wet hair with conditioner
  • Comb the whole head of hair from the roots to the ends
  • Be sure to repeat the process every few days for at least a couple of weeks
  • If that doesn’t work, ask your pharmacist for a medicated lotion or spray, follow the directions to the letter and use it in tandem with combing
  • Change and wash bed linen regularly to prevent re-infection
  • Continue to carry out regular checks until the infestation is gone.

And that may take some time. Good luck!

Niamh O’Reilly is a freelance writer and wrangler of two small boys, who is winging her way through motherhood, her forties and her eyeliner.  

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

39 Comments
    Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Thu 7:59 PM

First of all; fair play Niamh for keeping the comments open when she knows what’s coming. That’s ballsy in itself. Keep the faith. I’ll tell you something funny about nits. Last year my son had them: We were calling them Itchy and Scratchy. When I went into the pharmacy to get the lotion, I was morto. I knew that the girls behind the counter had their suspicions about what the lotion was for. Anyway, I got the lotion and we solved the problem. About a month later, we were having dinner and the small man was tearing away at his hair again. I turned to herself and said: “Is this what I think it is?” She goes: “Yep. The boys are back in town.”

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Thu 9:35 PM

@Louis Jacob: use nitty gritty in between checks it’s great stuff

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Thu 7:26 PM

The were all the rage when I was a child. Anyone else’s mother have to attack you with the fine tooth comb at least twice a year?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Thu 7:35 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: that’s a memory I had repressed

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Thu 8:35 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: is their any relationship amongst nits, fleas, midges and even tics and mosquiteos and other blood sucking parasites ? Loads of midges around the bridge over the stream that runs beside the village I grew up in.
    We as kids used to be more wary of the bats that preyed on them, in case they got stuck in our hair.
    Save the bats !

Mute Mary
    Favourite Mary
    Fri 1:24 AM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Twice a year! In England my sister with her huge mop of curly hair was forever coming home with nits. Eventually Mum went to have a word with the chief nun. Nun told Mum it was her fault for going home to Ireland so often and bringing the lice back with us. Have you any idea how fast an old nun can run with an irate Irish Mum chasing her. :-)

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Thu 7:08 PM

Nidge & Patrick ‘ discussing ‘ headlice in love/ hate—– a classic scene

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Thu 9:48 PM

@Mary Linton: Brilliant:)x

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Thu 7:33 PM

Nits are like our politicians endless fighting over speaking rights in the Dail you can’t get rid of them.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Thu 10:10 PM

@Ned: Good point actually Man… however I believed that the lice were only attracted to clean heads

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Thu 11:51 PM

@Donna Fallon: yep,

Mute Altoir
    Favourite Altoir
    Fri 4:47 AM

Call me whatever you want but aids is on the up.no article about the immigrant caught here with said disease

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Thu 8:43 PM

I’m scratching me head after reading this article.

Mute Donna Fallon
    Favourite Donna Fallon
    Thu 9:50 PM

@Deano74: I’m feeling a little bit itchy and scratchy too now!!

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Thu 9:33 PM

The reason they are not being controlled is A ) parents are not combing hair properly wash and condition hair normally and comb wipe comb. Then repeat 3 days again the whole household. Adults can get them too. And if clear use nitty gritty around sides of hair nape of neck and grits with long hair should be tied up or in a plait and spray hair ties too.

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Thu 9:36 PM

@Karen Marten: girls

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Thu 7:11 PM

Back with a vengeance, who’d have thought!

Mute Paddy Up
    Favourite Paddy Up
    Fri 6:36 AM

It’s all the kids now with weaves now in class unfortunately and lack of knowledge on their parents part. TB is on the rise as well as and rickets due to lack of sun light. Measles is coming back and probably polio will as well. We are back to the 1800s!

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Thu 8:44 PM

Here’s a no chemical cure.Dip your kids head in a bowl of Buckfast and then rub in 500g of Rock Salt.The nits get locked and kill themselves throwing rocks at each other.Job Done

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Thu 7:42 PM

They can be hard to get rid of, but sometimes in life, you just have to start from scratch! The ‘South Park’ head lice episode is a classic…

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Thu 7:50 PM

Shave your head.Job done.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Thu 7:55 PM

@Johnny King: but then they would be homeless.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Thu 8:11 PM

@James Leahy: lol

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Thu 8:48 PM

@James Leahy: hahaha silly

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Thu 9:51 PM

@Johnny King: you’re the silly one Johnny with your head shaved ha!ha!ha!ha!ha!

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Thu 9:07 PM

I went through hell with my youngest. The treatment is a scam. It kills the live headlice but not the eggs, so it’s a perpetual cycle…funnily they seemed to favour her head but not her siblings as much, she was pure blond

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Thu 9:41 PM

@Clare Power: the ony way is to comb comb comb . And nitty gritty is great for keeping them at bay . We use in school COW comb on wednsday for weeks till every one.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Thu 9:53 PM

@Clare Power: so nits prefer blondes

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Thu 9:53 PM

@Karen Marten: used nitty gritty and tea tree oil and the rest…never worked for me..I honestly think she grew out of them in the end

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Thu 9:54 PM

@James Leahy: Everyone perfers blonds, lol

Mute Miriam Flahive
    Favourite Miriam Flahive
    Fri 6:44 AM

@Clare Power:

Mute Karen Marten
    Favourite Karen Marten
    Fri 10:27 AM

@Clare Power: oh I’ve been using it for years. Can’t say I’ve had 2maybe 3 episodes since youngest started school now in 6th class

Mute Costigan Family
    Favourite Costigan Family
    Fri 9:35 AM

As a mother of 6 now adult children, I found that mixing half and half Savlon ( vet grade)
    and shampoo and using it as regular shampoo did the trick. Cleared everything in front of it!

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Fri 9:35 AM

Flied lice

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Thu 8:02 PM

Imagine realising back in the early eightys Your a sixteen year old kid ,that realised you had crabs and using shin removing chemicals to get rid of them, a fine tooth calm some checking and a change in the weather normally works ,on fleas

Mute rosemary flowers
    Favourite rosemary flowers
    Sun 2:22 AM

A school in a deprived area issued every family with nit combs & lotion on the first day of school. There weren’t lice for nearly 6 months that year. All bedding, clothing, hats, hoodies and coats need cleaning. I personally used an electric lice comb, it had a light on it and it zapped the bugs. I also used a repellant spray after platting the hair. I checked my kids scalps every fortnight and didn’t get them ever again. The other advise would be not to use anything on children under 2 except the comb they can be sensitive to lotions. If you’re using lotion for the first time do a patch test on the child’s arm by applying a drop the size of a euro, leave it for the required time then wash it off. If the patch shows redness or pain consult your GP. who will prescribe alternatives.

Mute Green Masquerader
    Favourite Green Masquerader
    Sat 9:48 AM

Moaning about her kids again

Maybe she should just send them back and get a cat

Mute Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Fri 9:53 AM

Preferred her earlier stuff on threadworms.

Mute Sheila Kelly
    Favourite Sheila Kelly
    Fri 1:45 PM

My mother put plaits in our hair to help stop the nits.