You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Graphical_Bank

'If the British government refuses to do the right thing by Ireland decisions should be taken out of its hands'

In the event of a Brexit crash, a disorderly Brexit or a hard Brexit, to which the Tories seem wedded, the British must not imagine that the Irish people will simply resign themselves to their fate, writes David Cullinane.

LAST WEEK THE European Council expressed concern that no substantial progress had been achieved on a backstop solution for the North and Ireland.

For all of the talk and promises that we would have real and substantial progress and that we were not going to stumble into October without any resolution of the Irish issues, that is exactly what happened, yet we move on regardless.

All other European partners have their concerns and issues, all of which I respect, but the Irish government’s position has to be to protect the interests of those who live on the island of Ireland.

At the very least the Irish government has to hold Britain to account, pressuring the European Union to hold it to account and using whatever leverage we have to make sure that will happen.

Concrete solutions

That was the Irish government’s stated intention, according to its rhetoric, but it seems that it was comfortable in allowing the phase 1 negotiations to move on without real concrete solutions.

Now it seems content to leave the June summit without concrete solutions, even though it stated all the way along that it would not allow that to happen.

Leaving aside all of the differences we can have on these issues, with the British Government and the European Union, and leaving aside all of the different scenarios with max fac, max fac plus and all of the things we are hearing that might come from the Chequers meeting and the White Paper in which Theresa May will put some options on the table, the hard reality is that the British government is still intent on taking the North out of the European Union, the customs union and the Single Market.

There may be some sort of customs partnership, but we do not know how it would work in practice.

Not included

What we do know is that services will not be included. Not every area of trade will be included. There are real question marks about whether the European Union will agree to any type of arrangement which will allow Britain to stay in the Single Market without supporting the four freedoms which include the free movement of people.

I have no difficulty with the European Union defending its position and making sure the rules of the Single Market and the customs union are protected. We are a member of the European Union and it is taken as a given that that must happen.

However, if there is divergence and the North is not aligned with the rules of the Single Market and the customs union, we will have a problem. That would be a step backwards and we did not vote for a step backwards, North or South.

We should not accept it under any circumstance.

A lot of work to do

The government has an awful lot of work to do between now and October to recover lost ground. Pressure needs to be exerted on the Minister of State and the government to come back with a solution that will protect the Good Friday Agreement in all of its parts, avoid any hardening of the Border and protect the rights of citizens.

It is clear that we need a Brexit summit focused solely on Irish concerns prior to the October meeting, not a conversation about Brexit over breakfast. This is something that the Taoiseach must put forcefully to our European partners.

The backstop agreed in December – signed, sealed, delivered and enforceable – is the bottom line and the very minimum needed to protect our island, jobs and economic progress.

We also need to see recognition from the Tories that the people of the North voted to remain, not to exit. Given how the negotiations have gone to this point, it is clear the British government cannot grasp the importance of these issues to Ireland. It either cannot grasp it or it does not care but, either way, the result is the same.

If the British government refuses to do the right thing by Ireland, refuses to produce credible proposals and continues along a path that will only deliver economic devastation and political upheaval on this island, then those decisions should be taken out of its hands and placed in the hands of the people of this island.

In the event of a crash

In the event of a Brexit crash, a disorderly Brexit or a hard Brexit, to which the Tories seem wedded, the British must not imagine that the Irish people will simply sigh and resign themselves to their fate.

Theresa May and her government need to understand that, in the event of a crash, a chaotic or a hard Brexit, they will have no democratic alternative other than to put the constitutional question on the issue of ending partition and Irish reunification.

A shared, agreed, new Ireland is by far a better vision for all the people of this island than the destruction the Tories seem intent on.

As somebody who is committed to Irish unity, this is not the scenario in which I would wish a debate on reunification to occur; far from it. However, if it is the case that we are left with that mess, Theresa May needs to understand that the question, democratically, will have to be put.

David Cullinane TD is Sinn Féin’s Brexit spokesperson.

‘She was living in a derelict building dripping with damp under a tin roof. The year was 1998′>

Opinion: ‘The housing bubble will burst and create another credit crunch’>

original

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Ciaran Bolton
    Favourite Ciaran Bolton
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:54 PM

Yes. Reunite the country for once and for all.

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:08 PM

@Ciaran Bolton: was it ever unite.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:11 PM

@Ciaran Bolton: difficult to re unite something that was never united. But sure a pole and an understanding where 19 billion pa would come from would be a start. But the bigger issue is would Europe go with that given its tight fiscal rules.

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:55 PM

@Martin Critten: 19bn now. This mythical number kepps getting bigger. Have you some verifiable auditable backup for what is included in that 19bn?

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jul 6th 2018, 12:46 AM

@Martin Critten: Ireland, as 32 counties, existed prior to the decision by the British government to divide Ireland based on the vote of 1918 into pro-Independence counties and pro-Unionist counties. Interestingly, the Scots and those in the north of Ireland have to accept their fate in relation to the European Union by votes taken in England and Wales. Rather hypocritical of the English, don’t you think?

Mute Martin Lintzgy
    Favourite Martin Lintzgy
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:33 AM

@Ciaran Bolton:
    Try telling the peope in the north that thier national health service will be gone if they agree to reunite.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:37 AM

@George Hogan: Interestingly what existed before was a construct of the UK, prior to that there was apparently no total cohesion or collective governance. As for the EU that behemoth has yet to collapse.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:43 AM

@Martin Critten: EU has already vetted a united Ireland.

Mute Mairtin Cathbhar
    Favourite Mairtin Cathbhar
    Jul 6th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Martin Lintzgy: small price. Freedom worth more when accustomed to oppression.

Mute W Kevin Doyle
    Favourite W Kevin Doyle
    Jul 6th 2018, 12:10 PM

I suspect most British people (those who live on the island of Britain) would be glad to get rid of the 6 counties. It would be interesting to see the shenanigans involved in the hypothetical Referendum that Ireland would need to hold, to mirror a Border Poll in NI: the romantic idea of a United Ireland versus the reality of “Who’s gonna pay for all this?

Mute Bearded Grump
    Favourite Bearded Grump
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:40 PM

What a strange position I find myself in. I actually agree with something that a SF representative is saying.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 6th 2018, 9:46 AM

@Bearded Grump: same here – capable fellow

Mute Dylan Toback
    Favourite Dylan Toback
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:43 PM

He basically wants a border poll which he knows will not happen. Just saving you all reading more overblown SF babble

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:20 PM

@Dylan Toback: it will happen. And, if necessary, it will happen again. And again and again. Until unity is achieved.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 6th 2018, 7:56 AM

@Dylan Toback: How will it not happen? Of coirse it will! The GFA states that it will be called when there is a realistic chance of it being won. Consider that in just the last few years, we have seen a dramatic rise in the Catholic/nationalist population mirrored with a similarly dramatic decline in the ageing Protestant/unionist population. It is anticipated that there will be a Catholic majority by the time the centenary of the state rolls round in a few years. Consider too that unionism at the last assemnly election lost its majority for the first time ever. Then consider that only this year, the British PM privately expressed her belief that Britain may well lose a border poll if it was held now. Add Brexit to all that and its a tad odd to imagine there will never be a poll held.

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Favourite Thomas Harrington
    Jul 6th 2018, 1:58 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: I’ll be voting yes for sure when it does come but serious consideration will have to be given to hardcore loyalist areas and how to prevent them igniting – regular unionists will just get on with it – they know their Kirk etc is not in danger from “popery” anymore and they will no doubt negotiate a decent deal for their culture etc / however can you imagine trying to talk sense to certain people in the likes of Beersbridge rd etc

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:42 PM

Mr Cullinane seems to know what he is saying unlike so many TDs and Mps.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:58 PM

The writer fails to understand that this is not a British or Irish problem but an EU problem. The British have indicated that they will not create a border and they will not be imposing tariffs or quotas on imports from the EU. That means that instead of whingeing and whining about the issue the EU should either propose an alternative or just get on with it.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:14 PM

@Peter Carroll: Well said.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:22 PM

@Peter Carroll: sorry, but you got that wrong. It not a problem of either the EU or Irish making. It’s of the UK’s making. They thought they could just leave the EU and still have the benefits, just like empire days of old. Well they got the badly wrong, they are just a middle size European country, with nothing special to offer, and now they are whinging and blaming everybody else for their own problems. Tough!

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:29 PM

@Brendan Cooney: you lost any credibility when you referred to Empire whilst defending the EU.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:30 PM

@Peter Carroll: respectfully you are completely wrong , this is a ‘problem’ caused by the the UK – leaving aside the 800 years of problems they have been causing on the island for another day – Brexit is unequivocally a problem of their own creation and no amount of spinning bluff or bluster can distract from that.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:49 PM

@Dave Hammond: Brexit s indeed a catastrophe created by the British and they will have to live with the consequences for a generation or more. That is not the issue under discussion, rather it is the Ireland / Northern Ireland border. The British solution is to have none so over to you Brussels. Whatever the border solution turns out to be, it will not mitigate the absolute disaster that Brexit will mean for the U.K. as a whole. The best we can hope for is a solution does does not screw up this island, and 5hat is in the hands of Brussels, not London. It is despicable the the Commission should use the fragile situation here as a stick with which to beat Britain.

Mute Barra Mac Eoin
    Favourite Barra Mac Eoin
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:26 PM

@Peter Carroll: sorry but no – the EU is respecting the Irish position of no hard border and it is up to the UK to provide the answers on this. The EU position is to do whatever Ireland demands, as Ireland has constitutional rights as a Member State. This has been abundantly clear for months to anyome who follows EU politics. I’m honestly amazed that you could consider it the EU’s job to fix the UK’s mess – they are the ones leaving, and if they want to have the best possible relationship with the EU (and by extension with Ireland) the ball is very much in their court. But I guess when you desperately (and almost illegally under the GFA) depend on the DUP for your majority, you haven’t got much capacity to find a solution

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:28 AM

@Barra Mac Eoin: You have it the wrong way round, The British have proposed at least three solutions providing a soft or invisible border, but in true Paisley style “the EU says NO”. It may be reprehensible, but it cannot be unlawful, the rely on the DUP for a government majority. It would be no less lawful if Corbyn could persuade Sinn Fein to take up its seats to try to bring the government down.

Mute Martin Lintzgy
    Favourite Martin Lintzgy
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:37 AM

@Peter Carroll:
    If anyone is going to put up a border, it will be us, at the insistence of the eu.
    The british dont want a border.
    The british wantvtrade between ireland and the uk.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:42 AM

@Martin Lintzgy: at last people get it – thanks – thought was going nuts. The only ones putting manners on this border is the EU. Arch spoofers have had the media dancing the opposite tune for the last 2 years.

Mute Pete Trevaskis
    Favourite Pete Trevaskis
    Jul 6th 2018, 7:21 AM

@Peter Carroll: Under WTO rules if the British leave the border open on their side then they have to leave all of the borders open for trade with all WTO members. That’s about 150 countries IIRC. This idea ofsimply not imposing border controls is pushed by Rees-Mogg who doesn’t seem to know his arse from his elbow.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:00 AM

@Peter Carroll: Rubbish. None of the three solutions were practical.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:30 AM

@Pete Trevaskis: You only need a border if you plan to impose tariffs or quotas. Britain has said it will promote free trade with all it’s partners. If the EU decides that the U.K. will become a so called “third country”then it is up to it to create a border, if it wants to. In reality Germany have decided that, in order to dissuade other countries from considering exit, the U.K. must be seen to visibly suffer consequences for leaving. They do not appear to understand the North / South sensitivities on this island.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:31 AM

@Nick Caffrey: Only because Germany said so.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:48 AM

@Martin Critten: ___ Those in the UK who voted for Brexit want “proper borders” to stop those pesky foreigners sneaking into the UK, which means that they want a hard border in Ireland. It’s “arch spoofers” like yourself who have been ignoring this for two years so that you can blame the EU and the EU alone.

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Jul 6th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Peter Carroll: but if Britian does not put up hard borders how will they restrict immigration? You are acting very Toryish, shove the blame elsewhere for your shite decisions.

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jul 6th 2018, 4:41 PM

@Ro Molloy: The same way that they restrict them now. The just add EU countries the the controlled list. The UK’s existing border controls are at all entry points, except the North because of the GFA.

Mute Low Energy Jeb
    Favourite Low Energy Jeb
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:44 PM

David, in the event of a hard Brexit, what leverage do you think we can apply that will make Theresa May do what you are suggesting? Many of the Tories will be happy with a hard Brexit.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:53 PM

@Low Energy Jeb: absolutely correct. If there is a hard Brexit we have no leverage and must have concrete plans in place for this. What we must ensure is that failure to resolve the border issue comes with an Irish veto on any proposed deal with EU even if that results in a hard Brexit. As the deadline approaches in fear the Irish government will be asked to accept assurances in the face of countries like Germany wanting a deal done. This is one issue where we must take the pain if necessary. We cannot segregate this Island again. The British must be made to know that they cannot pay their usual lip service to Ireland and ignore this issue. Veto any deal that does not specifically address our requirements.

Mute Ruairi Gagarin
    Favourite Ruairi Gagarin
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:48 PM

The Brexit supporting Daily Telegraph is reporting that tomorrow, Theresa May will announce that the UK is ready to strike a deal with the EU27. This deal will keep Britain tied to many EU rules. While the arch Brexiters are incandescent with rage, they probably don’t have the numbers to stop it.

2 years waisted! Inward investment stopped and all they’ll get is Blue passports.

This should mean no hard border in Ireland!!

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:54 PM

@Ruairi Gagarin: of course they have the numbers to stop it, they are relying on the DUP for a majority and only a handful of MP’s can bring the government down. Further, what May is suggesting has already been rubbished by the EU.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:20 PM

@Ruairi Gagarin: You know how many it takes to initiate a vote of no confidence ?
    Check it out.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:30 PM
    Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:06 PM

Mr cullinane is full of BS and promises,like the promised motion of no confidence in harris and murphy,they withdrew after mary lou had a secret meeting with leo.SF chose to put their party first.

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:26 PM

“At the very least the Irish government has to hold Britain to account”

Considering we’re a country that can’t even hold our own lot to account for decades of ineptitude, good luck in holding another government to account for even an unpaid parking ticket.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:18 PM

What a load of drivel, irrespective of whichever political party this spokesperson represents. Try getting the EU rulebook out to all non compliant governments across the EU. If you want Irish leverage, convince your MP’s in the North to take their positions in the UK parliament instead of moaning from the comfort of a soap box or the theatre wings.

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:59 PM

@wattsed: SF MPs are elected on an abstentionist ticket. The nationalist electorate had an opportunity to elect the SDLP and wholly rejected them.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:16 AM

@Brendan M: It’s of no significance in my comment which side has which ideological doctrine. If you want to influence, you can’t sit on the sidelines and whinge.

Mute Cheryl Mellett
    Favourite Cheryl Mellett
    Jul 5th 2018, 9:51 PM

When Trump is finished building the wall at the Mexican border he might give us a hand building ours!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:12 PM

It’ll be a hard border. Nothing else will work. Forget about a 32 county Ireland, that will never happen, how could it?

It’ll be a sea border.

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:37 PM

The EC in general and Germany & France in particular have the responsibility of holding the EC in tact post Brexit and its priority ought to be:
    (a) that the ROI is not adversely impacted by Brexit
    (b) that the UK does not benefit from Brexit

Mute Sandra Johnston
    Favourite Sandra Johnston
    Jul 6th 2018, 10:52 AM

Something I believe that should not be forgotten is the fate of the Northern Nationalists. Ulster was known throughout Irish history as a very rebellious province with proud Irish traditions. So I ask of the people who talk of building walls on the border or the people who say we can’t afford to unite the country are sadly the people who give in to the potential threats from pro British loyalists in the North, I ask this. Why does a Northern Irish man or woman not have as much right to there Irish Identity as other people on this Island already enjoy?

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Favourite Thomas Harrington
    Jul 6th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Sandra Johnston: bloody earls stuck it to the working man didn’t they!

Mute Gerard O'Donovan
    Favourite Gerard O'Donovan
    Jul 20th 2018, 9:43 AM

@Sandra Johnston: well said

Mute John Sullivan
    Favourite John Sullivan
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:45 PM

You need not worry…The British white paper is a re=hash of previously trashed nonsense. The British will agree special status for the North, effectively the hermetically sealing of all of Ireland in the EU…or it will enjoy the legal and regulatory third country status of Burundi on 30th March 2019….drivers and pilots licences invalid, flights grounded. freight not moving, good bye supply chains and production lines…sustainable for 48 hours before capitulation. The British will do what they are told …and what they will be told is Border on the ports because the EU will not tolerate a 500 km hole in the CU and SM that Ireland cannot close. So for the British it will be the Passion of Christ….and that won’t happen. Calvary is not on the agenda of Norfolk…especially over Crossmaglen.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:22 PM

Irelands interests are to remain a full and committed EU member and to ensure that the UK does not get to have its cake and eat it too by leaving the EU, not paying into the club yet still having all the benefits. The North is small fries next to the big picture.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:30 PM

@Fred Jonsen: It’s been a net contributor of approximately 12 billion a year for a considerable number of years. EU figures, not mine. Club membership fees rising soon to compensate, or benefits reducing. Sure, it’ll be grand when they’re gone. Good riddance, they never stood behind us in Brussels, did they. And it’s not like the Brits buy anything from Ireland, or that we import anything from them.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:39 PM

@wattsed:

Government spending across the EU every year is about €4,000 billion. So €12 billion per year is not going to make a difference to anyones life.

And actually Ireland and UK have been on opposite sides many times in the EU, we are closer to France when it comes to the CAP.

Mute Martin Lintzgy
    Favourite Martin Lintzgy
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:42 AM

@Fred Jonsen:
    The EU solution is to Punish the uk for wanting to become independent, even if it means ireland loses 40% of its trade.
    To the eu beurocrats sacrificing ireland is a price worth paying to send a message to others considering leaving. The federal empire of europe.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 6th 2018, 6:52 AM

@Martin Lintzgy: EU don’t have to agree to anything thought, this is the doing of the UK.

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jul 6th 2018, 12:26 AM

Look, I am not pedantic, but seriously, can we please follow at at least some grammatical rules. That headline did my head in… I mean a comma can make all the difference. Ask Jack and his uncle, not to mention the horse…

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 6th 2018, 7:02 AM

@David Stapleton: ah, would ., Ya *’;? WhIST

Mute Padraig Nolan
    Favourite Padraig Nolan
    Jul 6th 2018, 8:44 AM

There isnt a hope in hell of britain doing the right thing by Ireland and dobt forget that when we were on our knees after the crash our so called friends in the EU didn’t waste any thing in shafting us.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:50 AM

Advice from SF on dealing with the UK government, bit rich.
    SF the party who can’t manage to power share in the north.
    SF way, demand what you want, you don’t get it, walk out, blame everyone else, accept no responsibility, play the victim card.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:36 PM

What a bullshit article. All spoof and no solutions….

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Jul 6th 2018, 10:44 AM

So nobody is building that border line based on county lines… Which northern councils have ceased using for yonks anyway…. A see- through international border is indeed unique. But then Ireland is unique in not having an airforce capable of protecting her population. Drugs will freely pass from EU to UK and anything else you care to think of… Particularly people of other nations… Rendering the core reason for this Exit madness meaningless. Unless the EU protects her border it too will lose credibility..
    Result.. Either chaos or a hard border… Reality is coming soon…

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jul 7th 2018, 11:03 AM

The Nationalists in the north are depending on the Irish government and Brussels to protect their interests. We did after all vote to remain and it was only because of the lack of balls by the Scots which allowed May to remain in power. Ironically this gave the DUP the whip hand and the whole of Ireland will suffer because of their sectarianism. The British electorate were sold a pup but the English continue like lemmings towards the abyss. I’ve no problem with this apart for the fact that they are taking the North and Scotland over the edge with it. It is also ironic that when the Scots were voting for independence they were warned that this would lead to a new independent Scotland being ousted from the EU and this was a monkey deciding factor in the NO vote.

Mute mark
    Favourite mark
    Jul 5th 2018, 11:31 PM

the only reason the EU doesn’t want the UK to leave is because ireland would be hurt very bad and also if there is a hard brexit ireland would become the EU’s problem which it couldn’t afford which would destabilize it even more.if irish haven’t seen that yet then we really do deserve everything we get….