You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Menno Schaefer

The Irish For As we celebrate St Patrick's removal of snakes, what other animals have come and gone from Ireland?

Darach Ó Séaghdha looks at the stories behind some of Ireland’s most famous animals

A STORY WITH a feel-good headline did the rounds online recently when it was revealed that the pine marten (cat crainn, literally a tree cat, in Irish) was partially responsible for a surge in the numbers of the native red squirrel (iora rua). The idea of furry friends looking after each other is adorable; you can just imagine the tough but sensitive pine marten giving a squirrel the pep talk he needs to get the courage to ask another red squirrel out. 

This isn’t what happened, of course: the assistance from the pine marten came in the form of preying upon lots and lots of grey squirrels. The grey squirrel (iora glas) was introduced from Canada to these isles as recently as 1911 (as part of a wedding gift, I’m told), interrupting the delicate ecological balance of our woodlands by carrying diseases fatal to the smaller red squirrel, as well as competing with it for food and nesting space.

However, because the red squirrel is smaller, it can escape from a pine marten onto tinier branches which neither the predatory pine marten nor the hapless grey can reach. So it goes; a single change can lead to a critical reversal of fortune for a species in Ireland.

shutterstock_746369935 The Pine Martin, or 'tree cat'. Shutterstock / Paul A Carpenter Shutterstock / Paul A Carpenter / Paul A Carpenter

Díothú – The Irish For Extinction

Saint Patrick’s Day is unusual in that we celebrate the extinction of a native Irish species on foot of a mysterious visitor to these shores. What were the long-term ecological ramifications of the loss of snakes? Did the rat population spiral out of control? 

For the month that’s in it, let’s take a look at the arrival of other beasts to this island and consider what traces they left on the language and folklore.

Francach (rat) - the Irish word for a rat is the same as the word for a French person. This is an abbreviation of luch francach, which literally means a French mouse. The theory was that rats first arrived on French ships with the Normans.

Sionnach (fox) - the fox is long-established in Ireland – arriving in the post-glacial period – and widely present our folklore. They even turn up in traditional medicine: a fox’s tongue was prized for being the best way for extracting thorns from the flesh.

shutterstock_1381030982 Shutterstock / Sandra Standbridge Shutterstock / Sandra Standbridge / Sandra Standbridge

Traonach (corncrake) - along with the cherry blossom, this native bird was long considered the herald of summer, with papers in the West of Ireland noting where and when it had first been heard that year (usually in April). As it nested on the ground of meadows and cornfields rather than on trees, it was extremely vulnerable when combine harvesters were introduced. It is now very rare.

Coileach (rooster) - Lady Gregory noted in her writing that it was widely held belief in the Irish countryside that hens and weasels were left in Ireland by the Danes. When a rooster woke them in the morning, it would be remarked that “it is for Denmark they are crowing; crowing to be back in Denmark”.

Frog/Niút (frog/newt) - The entry for frog in O’Reilly’s foclóir of 1864 notes that the amphibian was not found in Ireland before the reign of William the Third, whose Dutch troops first introduced it. As for other amphibians, the newt had a particularly terrible reputation, gathering the nicknames “the Dark Luachra” and “the Man Creeper”. The fear was that if you fell asleep near where newts gathered, they would climb into your mouth and crawl into your stomach. 

Nathair (snake) - there are some attention-seeking sceptics to say that Ireland never had snakes and Saint Patrick’s alleged removal of them was just a metaphor for his removal of paganism. 

Faoileán (seagull) - finally, the reintroduction of the wolf (faol, among other names) has been one of the more surprising recent election issues in Ireland, with some voters seeing a possible downside to living near large predators. However, they could hardly case more trouble than their near-namesake, the faoileán (literally, wolf bird). While the gulls are native to these shores, their increased presence and interference with elegant city living by stealing food and soiling passers-by has been attributed not to a lack of a natural predator, but rather to over-fishing by humans of their natural food supply. Remember that the next time one of them pinches your burrito.

voices logo

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:07 PM

Gonna be great for the tourism along along the west coast. Nice one!!!

Mute Rachel Walsh
    Favourite Rachel Walsh
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:10 PM

You mean raise the prices in the area and screw the visitors so they never come back, the boom is back. Thats the irish way alright.

Mute The IMF are here
    Favourite The IMF are here
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:41 PM

Do you ever have a positive comment on this place?

Mute CeeBee Barker
    Favourite CeeBee Barker
    Mar 18th 2016, 7:02 PM

Rachel is a troll – who knows what sex they really are. Don’t dignify their inane comments with a reply.

Mute Sonia Wayne
    Favourite Sonia Wayne
    Mar 28th 2016, 9:26 PM

NEED A HACKED ATM CARD WITH PIN?
    We sell physical loaded ATM cards . It is a lroned card that can be used to withdraw Cash at any ATM Machine. This Cards comes in Visa/Mastercard. Therefore it works at any ATM Machine that accept Visa/mastercard Worldwide.
    CAN I USE THIS READY MADE ATM CARD TO BUY STUFF IN STORES? OR ONLINE SHOPPING? PAY BILLS?
    Yes, with this physical ATM card, you can use it to pay stuff at stores through POS. With this ATM card information, you can use it online to pay bills or do online shopping. When you order for this card, Full information about the card will be given to you. We also reload your card when funds exhausted.
    DO I NEED TO ORDER NEW CARD EVERY TIME I SPENT THE FUNDS FINISH?
    No, if you have already ordered our card, there is no need to keep ordering new cards, Just contact us for a reload. We shall easily reload the ATM card already in your possession
    HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO RECEIVE ATM CARD IN MY COUNTRY?
    If you are in the USA, you will receive your card in 48 HOURS with guaranteed. If you are outside the USA, Your card will arrive to you between 3 – 5 business days guaranteed.
    HOW SAFE IS THIS CARD?
    It is 100% safe to use this card. Because it will be shipped to you as a gift card.
    DO YOU ALSO RELOAD ANY OTHER CARD NOT FROM THIS CRONED CARDS?
    Yes, we can reload any Active and valid cards, any type of card just contact us for a reload (prepaid cards, credit/debit cards).
    HOW DO I ORDER FOR THE ATM CARD?
    Send us an Email (luciafernando222@gmail.com)

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:08 PM

A light sabre duel on the Cliffs of Moher would be pretty epic.

Mute Darren McDaid
    Favourite Darren McDaid
    Mar 19th 2016, 4:08 AM

Or Slieve League keep her country.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:22 PM

Not surprised.
    Many parts of the West of Ireland look like they belong on another planet.
    Who needs to go all the way to Mars when you can climb the Connemara mountains?

Mute W1K
    Favourite W1K
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:31 PM

Could say the same about some of the locals :) Some strange people.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:09 PM

You are just jealous Richard III.
    Pale blue eyes are certainly Martian to a foreign geezer who calls himself Richard III.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:18 PM

I doubt that Richard III knows what anyone from the West of Ireland looks like, he having spent the last 500 years buried under a car-park in Leicester.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:33 PM

I’m no historian, but I don’t think it was in use as a car park for the first four of those five hundred.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:42 PM

Whoever managed to get the Lucasfilm representative to specifically mention the “Wild Atlantic Way” deserves major, major credit.

Somewhere in Ireland today there is a Civil servant (or less likely politician) feeling pretty damn satisfied.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:45 PM

Reading these comments you’d have to have sympathy for Enda Kenny saying there’s a load of whingers around the place. You’re like spoiled children

Mute Gerry Healy
    Favourite Gerry Healy
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:06 PM

No sympathy for Enda but you’re dead right. Such a shower of begrudgers and naysayers. Depressing………..

Mute I invented the @
    Favourite I invented the @
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:40 PM

God id hate to have your outlook on life..pure miserable

Mute Michael walsh
    Favourite Michael walsh
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:17 PM

Meh to negativity
    This is great news

Mute Jamie Concannon
    Favourite Jamie Concannon
    Mar 18th 2016, 7:17 PM

There are some absolutely stunning places along the Wild Atlantic Way, can’t see why people think it’s a bad idea to make use of them.

Mute W1K
    Favourite W1K
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:06 PM

Let’s hope the locals don’t look for compensation.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:17 AM

Got some random leave last July at short notice. Was at a lose end trying to come up with something for a holiday. Randomly decided to have a “starvation” and rented a 6 berth camper van and had some friends join us for a 10 day drive along the wild Atlantic way!

Didn’t have huge expectations as I thought I’d done it all before but my god was I blown away!

Had a fantastic holiday, it rained, it was freezing, the day trip to the Aran Islands Iv never seen so many people vomit on a boat but bloody hell I loved it and can’t wait to do the other half that we didn’t get to do last time!

The moaners and the whingers really need to pull their heads out of their computers and go see exactly what it is that Hollywood and the rest of the world see about our stunning country!

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Mar 19th 2016, 2:18 AM

That was mean to say “Staycation” not starvation! Lol

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Mar 18th 2016, 10:37 PM

Star Wars The West Awakens

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:28 PM

The most over rated movie franchise in history.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:09 PM

don’t watch it then

Mute Ironballs
    Favourite Ironballs
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:50 PM

It’s all subjective so your opinion doesn’t matter. Sorry!

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Mar 18th 2016, 7:54 PM

It really is cool.

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:10 PM

They will be filming in Cork in May.They have plenty of local actors to choose from Jeremy Irons,Angela Lansbury,Cillian Murphy,Jonathan Rhys Meyers,Sarah Greene and Emily Ratajkowski.
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cdxtq3kW8AACPRo?format=pjpg&name=large

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:19 PM
    Mute Rachel Walsh
    Favourite Rachel Walsh
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:22 PM

epic

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:00 PM

Meh!

Mute J Judd
    Favourite J Judd
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:01 PM

Who cares !

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Mar 18th 2016, 5:44 PM

Business owners the length of the west coast probably do!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:16 PM

I do.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:43 PM

Me too. I freaking love Star Wars. Having Ireland involved makes it that bit better

Mute Sam Barkley
    Favourite Sam Barkley
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:12 PM

Will it ever end?

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:20 PM

The Force is infinite

Mute Rachel Walsh
    Favourite Rachel Walsh
    Mar 18th 2016, 4:06 PM

great, lets encourage a large congregation of irish space cadets…yeh!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:46 PM

Will the Evil Empire permit the use of the Atlantic Way?

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Mar 18th 2016, 6:19 PM

Sand in the vagina ???

Mar 19th 2016, 1:35 PM

A load of sh…te…

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    Mar 19th 2016, 5:23 PM

Neither does yours. Sorry! Aren’t you a clever boy? :)