You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Jackson fans protest outside Channel 4 offices re: Leaving Neverland documentary. Yui Mok

Leaving Neverland 'A monster was hiding in plain sight and we chose to look the other way'

Child protection expert Shane Dunphy writes that the allegations are credible and consistent but cannot now be proven definitively.

DAN REED’S TWO-part film, Leaving Neverland is, if nothing else, a well-made documentary.

What sets it apart from the other tell-all, confessional type films is the skill with which it tells a deeply complex story, in a deceptively simple manner.

It does this by escalating the viewers’ emotional responses in increasingly powerful ways.

First off, you are introduced to the key players: to the fore, of course, is Michael Jackson, the most successful musician of his generation and at the time the most famous man in the world.

The events the film deals with occur during the period he was at the pinnacle of his fame and his performing abilities – the BAD album was topping charts all over the world and Jackson was a constant presence on television, newspapers, magazines and radios all around the globe. 

Next up are Wade Robson, James Safechuck and their families.

At the outset, you are already aware they have a story to tell, and you are, initially, a little unsure of them. Both, though, are articulate, measured, good-looking men in early middle-age.

They do not come across as angry or hysterical, and the stories they begin to share are all about wish fulfilment in its simplest form.

Both tell of how, as children, they idolised the most lauded and fantastical pop star in the world, Wade almost became a pint-sized version of the singer

Then how they got to meet him and both went on to become an important part of his life.

In the first hour, you sit through home movies, concert footage, television advertisements, music videos – the viewer is immersed in the sights, sounds and fashions of the late 1980s and early 1990s.

That was a time when our child protection sensibilities were a lot less developed than they are now.

There are some gentle prompts. Safechuck’s mother says she initially refused to allow her ten-year-old son to sleep in the same room as Jackson as it just didn’t seem right to her.

Wade’s mother was less astute and says she just didn’t see anything wrong with the proposal and of course her seven-year-old son was begging her to allow him to share Jackson’s bed.

What harm could it do?

At this point, you’re a little uncomfortable, but the hammer still hasn’t fallen.

You see, you’ve become used to the idea of Michael Jackson as an alleged child abuser. There were some well-publicised court hearings, none of which resulted in prosecutions.

You’ve heard the stories of him sharing his bed with small boys, but Jackson was always presented as a kind of over-sized kid, so there couldn’t be any harm in it, could there?

The world watched from a distance, tutted a few times, and looked away. Reed’s documentary pulls those gazes back front and centre.

Wade and Safechuck begin to tell of the sexual abuse they claim they experienced at Jackson’s hands without any real preamble.

Their story moves from joyful, exciting, fun-filled days with their hero to seemingly relentless sexual molestation rapidly and no detail is spared.

It is stark and painful and at times shocking viewing.

Their stories have polarised opinion and elicited emotional outbursts across both the mainstream and social media.

The main argument in Robson and Safechuck’s favour posits that everyone knew this was going on, and finally, we have evidence – two survivors are bravely stepping forward and speaking their truth. Jackson was a monster.

The backlash is equally vocal: both Robson and Safechuck have, in the past, denied any abuse took place, and are therefore just attempting to cash in on Jackson’s notoriety.

The pop star is not here to defend himself so all we have is one more allegation on top of the others. It proves nothing – Jackson is no more guilty now than he was before Leaving Neverland was released.

Both stances hold some merit. However, permit me to bring a child protection worker’s eye to the situation.

Arch manipulation?

Survivors of sexual and physical abuse often repress their experiences, to all intents and purposes forgetting they occurred.

This is a psychological tool to help the person cope with the magnitude of what happened – the pain, the shame and the guilt.

So the fact that the two men changed their story is not unusual and in no way diminishes the credence of their testimony.

Their stories are also consistent in detail. The grooming, the idea of being initiated into a secret form of love, the secrecy and manipulation.

What I found extremely compelling is the conflict that plays across Robson and Safechuck’s faces as they speak. There is still love there, still some damaged form of loyalty.

Both say they were not afraid of Jackson, that they believed they were having a relationship with him. They even hint at a form of consent being given.

To be clear, a minor cannot give consent to sexual contact.
It is one of the arch manipulations of the abuser that the child victim is made to believe he agreed to the abuse, maybe even wanted it to happen.

Over the years, both men defended their alleged abuser in the court cases against him.

Wade even admits to sobbing when he heard the singer was dead, something the mother states he did not even do when his own father died.

Definitive?

The confusion, the devastation, the sadness and the sheer, raw anguish that is evident in Leaving Neverland all hint at real validity. But is that enough? Can the details of this film be given the undisputed stamp of the definitive?

The answer has to be ‘no’.

Compelling or not, what the film presents is the unproven accounts of two young men and their families. While it is deftly presented and adorned with all the skills of a master filmmaker, it would not stand up in court and offers one view of a relationship.

Jackson can never be asked to corroborate, and too much time has passed for a forensic examination.

So in terms of clarifying whether or not Michael Jackson was a paedophile, Leaving Neverland is just one voice amid a choir of such choruses.

Hiding in plain sight

However, the film does offer a different kind of truth that might be just as important.

As a society for a long time we were unwilling to accept, because of the mask of fame, wealth and genius, the fact that this man could be mistreating the children he surrounded himself with.

Whether sexual abuse was a feature or not (and you can choose to believe or not as you see fit) he isolated them, he manipulated them and eventually disposed of them.

Whether you take the fundamentals of their story as true, what Reed presents in all their battered glamour are the damaged lives of two young men and the obliteration of their families. Robson’s father died by his own hand.

I believe the anger that has erupted since the documentary broadcast is as much an expression of collective guilt as it is a remonstrance against the two men at the centre of the controversy.

A monster was hiding in plain sight, and as a community, we chose to look the other way.

What he did when our eyes were turned cannot be proven beyond reasonable doubt, but I think we can all be sure that it was wrong.

Shane Dunphy is a child protection expert, author and broadcaster. He is Head of the Social Studies Department at Waterford College of Further Education. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 109 comments
109 Comments
    Mute Steven C. Schulz
    Favourite Steven C. Schulz
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:42 PM

How about, no?

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:08 PM

We’re the worst in the EU because we have the worst government in the EU..

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:26 PM

@Steven C. Schulz: we could just walk to the shops instead of driving 2kms or less. The catalytic converter in a car needs to get up to temp to work, the walk won’t kill you

Sep 7th 2019, 11:44 PM

@Barra O Brien: not everyone lives 2 Kim’s from shops

Mute Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:55 PM

@Barra O Brien: and all the yummy mummies dropping the kids off at the door of the school in their jeeps.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:59 AM

@Steven C. Schulz: Irish people reduce meat like there is some comparison to all the all the non-Irish pumping/frackin oil, drilling for gas and burning rainforests to grow grass for meat production. Who writes this nonsense?

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:18 AM

@Gus Sheridan: I never said they did, the point is the majority of vehicle journeys undertaken are less than 2kms…

Mute Mumpsimus
    Favourite Mumpsimus
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:07 AM

@Barra O Brien: Jaysus it’s 2019 not 1919. Greenies want us all to go back to the stone age

Mute Liam Higgins
    Favourite Liam Higgins
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:09 AM

@Barra O Brien: Can you provide the research for your 2 KM statement???

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:42 AM

@Steven C. Schulz: stop the BS…eat away,if anyone believes we are in any way significant in adding to global warming,a lil dot,off the coast of Europe. Headline like ” China must stop building Nuclear Power Stations ” might actuall be helpful.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Steven C. Schulz: Typical response. Everythings the governments fault but nobody wants to actually do anything themselves. They continue to drive their enormous cars, dump plastic, fly to other countries and facilitate harmful farming practices but have no moral issue with going to climate change protests, sharing posts online about the rainforest and blaming the government for everything. You are part of the problem, but we are so great at passing the buck.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:53 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: You do have it mixed up a little. I do believe that there is hardly anyone in Ireland who is not aware of pollution and most of us do have no problem to help with tackling this issue. One does not sh*t where he live.
    Man made climate change on the other hand is pure nonsense. It is a power grab to control people scaremongering and beating them into submission. Climate change is happening. It always does and there is nothing we can do about it.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 9th 2019, 10:25 AM

@Pauline Gallagher: think you will find that the irish government is made up of people who drive enormous cars , fly to other countries , facilitate harmful farming practices and dump plastic (election posters ?) so steven c schult is spot on with what he posted !

Mute Conor Lyons
    Favourite Conor Lyons
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:53 PM

Not sure how strongly a lot of this holds water in a country like Ireland – you speak about forestry areas being cleared for livestock feed, not a huge pile of that happening here in Ireland – Coilte do great work in managing and expanding the Irish forestry network, most livestock farmers here graze their animals on our luscious grass lands. one way the Irish consumer is directly affecting the Amazon is by eating soy, soy farms are directly culpable for wiping out huge swathes of rainforest. Think of the carbon footprint of an avocado travelling from Mexico to the ports of Cork/ Dublin. Agreed that we should all cut consumption, but the message should be more about buying seasonally and locally!

Mute Dave Wallace
    Favourite Dave Wallace
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:20 PM

@Conor Lyons: soy consumption by humans in Ireland is tiny. Most soy grown worldwide feeds guess who? Livestock. You need to do some fact checking before making nonsensical comments

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:28 PM

@Conor Lyons: coilte leave places looking a like bomb went off. Non native trees for profit over a native forest.

Mute wormtubes
    Favourite wormtubes
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:54 PM

@Barra O Brien: Go for a walk and educate yourself. Coillte have planted native forests all over the country that will never be intended for harvest for profit. The spruce forests that are harvested are huge carbon syncs in themselves.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:47 AM

@Dave Wallace: Ireland’s cattle’s art fed for the most part in grass. Stop lapping up US problems and applying to Ireland. Sick of this crap

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:14 AM

@Dave Wallace: Soy is not used to feed Irish cattle. Educate yourself. We use grass and grass derivatives.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:22 AM

@wormtubes: I’ve seen coilte’s work, fair play for the minuscule amount of native forest they plant. The devastation I’ve seen in connemara, Wicklow and Dublin going back as far the early 90′s tells me otherwise.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:23 AM

@wormtubes: they also Hoover up water but you don’t hear about that.

Mute Charlie
    Favourite Charlie
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:41 AM

@Conor Lyons: it’s all scaremongering. Compare Ireland to any country around the world and we are cleaner than most. The vast majority of this country is fields with a few cows farting

Mute Angela Lavin
    Favourite Angela Lavin
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:27 AM

@Dave Wallace: educate yourself…. support the Beef Farmers!!!
    Cattle farmers don’t have any option other than to use concentrates to finish cattle to meet factory requirements – these (inappropriate) requirements are supported by government and are in place to ensure farmers incomes are marginalized.
    If farmers could receive a fair price for largely grass fed beef – everyone (bar the factory monopoly) would be a winner…. better product & better for the environment

Mute Pól Ó Duibhir
    Favourite Pól Ó Duibhir
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:57 AM

@Conor Lyons: AFAIK a huge proportion of soy is produced to feed our livestock, including here in Ireland.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 9th 2019, 10:29 AM

@Conor Lyons: coillte’s ‘forest’ are mostly made up of non native fast growing trees use for the building trade and energy sector – they plant very few (if any) native trees and they fell them as soon as they possibly can -ie as soon as they reach a saleable height .

Mute Conor Lyons
    Favourite Conor Lyons
    Sep 15th 2019, 10:41 PM

@Dave Wallace: never saw a cow in Ireland eating soy, could you point me in the direction of where I might see one?

Mute Conor Lyons
    Favourite Conor Lyons
    Sep 15th 2019, 10:44 PM

@Eric Davies: even if they are non native do they help with carbon any less?

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:52 PM

I never heard such rubbish in all my life, the size of the national herd most of which is for export and we invite the chinese here to further increase the impact, yet we tell a small population to decrease meat consumption and dairy which even if we all went without would have no impact as we export anyway, crazy stuff , no impact on emissions sending our beef to china no!!!!

Mute wormtubes
    Favourite wormtubes
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:57 PM

@Honeybee: I know. The patients in our psychiatric hospitals don’t hold a candle to those in government.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:08 PM

Could we please be told of our real carbon footprint and this would exclude all energy guzzling data centres as well as livestock farming.
    Might the government also acknowledge that our capital city doesn’t have a fit for purpose public transport system.
    Also, the fact that much of the country is cold wet and miserable for a large proportion of the year just might hint at more heating requirements than southern europe

Mute Gary Stevenson
    Favourite Gary Stevenson
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:51 PM

Load of

Mute Graham Murphy Esq
    Favourite Graham Murphy Esq
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:41 PM

And Heineken, beans and Guinness, they cause awful emissions

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:04 AM

Just put carbon taxes on ALL fruit and vegetables produced outside of Ireland in a sliding scale depending on distance and give farmers here an incentive to grow more crops.
    You can’t blame farmers who already struggle to make a living in many cases.
    Promote market gardening and if there’s a decent profit farmers like anyone else trying to get by will respond.
    I know many small farmers that have to work full time outside the farm to scrape by, this just isn’t fair.
    Constantly kicking farmers isn’t the solution, give them the support they need and they will grow, it would also benefit the country and make our economy stronger

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:47 PM

Not just Ireland, EVERY nation. We do a meat free day once a week and the walls haven’t fallen down. We could probably do two, even three if we really put our thinking caps on.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:01 PM

@The Risen: You don’t even need to be drastic about it. Most Irish people eat meat twice a day, some three times a day. Cut it down to once per day, buy local produce as much as you can, and our agriculture CO2 footprint would halve.

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: yee are both nuts, I’ve da frying pan warming up at 11.55pm on good Fridays with the sausages waiting in the shadows. Toughest day of the year for me!!!!!

Mute Hank Kingsley
    Favourite Hank Kingsley
    Sep 7th 2019, 10:36 PM

@The Risen: I went vegan for a year and it was quite easy and enjoyable after the initial adjustment period! Just forming new habits. Detox the auld body. Haven’t touched dairy since. Just cut out processed food and aim for whole foods and you’ll be better off.

Sep 7th 2019, 11:46 PM

@The Risen: eat meat every day and will continue to do so

Sep 7th 2019, 11:59 PM

@Hank Kingsley: best sh1 te you’ll ever have once the aul bowels clear themselves out then! Yer welcome! ;)

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:02 AM

@Hank Kingsley: yeah and look at what happened your hair

Mute Angela Lavin
    Favourite Angela Lavin
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:31 AM

@Hank Kingsley: a steak or joint of meat would be classed as whole food – there’s nothing added & nothing taken away – milk yoghurts etc the same ….

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:21 PM

@Hank Kingsley: veganism is bad for you

Mute scanlanavia
    Favourite scanlanavia

what a load if clickbait

Mute Colin Marry
    Favourite Colin Marry
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:50 PM

Soya is grown for its oil which human demand, much of this demand is from the switch from animal fats in diets, so should it not be accounted for in non meat eating column?

The by product of soya oil production, soya bean meal pulp, was initially a waste product but was then fed to pigs in meal form which recycled this into better quality nutrition.

People have been eating meat for millions of years. The warming co-insides which the rise of industry, not agriculture.

Lastly, carbon dioxide (our breath) doesn’t count as plants absorb this; so why is a cows bletch counted when that is also absorbed by plants?

And if methane is your concern, eat more pork. The pig is the greatest recycler of them all, created by nature.

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Sep 7th 2019, 11:11 PM

Suppose people cut their RyanAir city breaks etc. for a start .

Sep 7th 2019, 11:48 PM

@Bríd Uí Mhaoluala: I guess you are not a world traveller then…

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:36 AM

Try telling a lion that they cant eat the zebra….I like eating animals because it’s nice it’s a food chain and we happen to be at the top of it….on the global warming scale we are a small fish in a big pond we need bigger countries to act first other wise we are wasting our time

Mute Don Kravallo
    Favourite Don Kravallo
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:37 AM

@Mike Murphy: that food chain arguement is ridiculous. the systematic slaughter of animals for consumption has nothing to do with nature. Do you kill your own food? No, you pay someone to do it for you, the process of which is mostly cruel and 100% unnatural. Time to drop this lame excuse.

Mute Clarissa
    Favourite Clarissa
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:41 PM

@Don Kravallo: you’d be no craic at a funeral anyway

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:13 AM

Couldn’t make it up
    Australia is clearing vast amount of land transporting beef 1000’s of Km to a purpose built airport in Toowoomba to fly beef to Asia to supply the emerging middle class in Asia and we then joe the farmer 80 head herd is problem , and 4/5million people eating a little less beef will offset the 100’s of millions in Asia that are taking up beef with the new prosperity there

Simply incredible

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:28 AM

@Sk19: He isn’t saying that Ireland is the only place that should reduce meat consumption. It needs to be done globally.

Mute Nicholas Grubb
    Favourite Nicholas Grubb
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:41 AM

@Sk19: If they weren’t clearing the forest in Australia, we wouldn’t have been able to get the 37,000 tonne load of wood biomass we have just got from there for keeping the old peat stations going up in the Midlands.
    There is only one way this problem is going to be mitigated and that is the mass installation temperate World wide of modular generation 4 MSRs, four for starters in Moneypoint. http://www.bene.ie as our contribution. Mass solar for the sunny climes.

And the mass move to the insect era of protein production. We alone here have a million tonnes a year of food waste, all of which could be devoured by the Soldier Fly, whose larvae could provide our poultry and fish feed and the basis of the new false meats. Little point hammering down our farmers here, for the slack to be immediately taken up by Brazil.

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:26 AM

@Fifty Shades of Sé: I don’t disagree with him. What I disagree with is that ireland can make an impact , we can’t. The NAIf is set up to fund ag projects on a scale you can’t imagine to satisfy the new demand for beef out of Asia. They fly the beef talk about carbon footprint . The demand is only rising won’t stop clearing land and flying beef any time soon, so if you want to make an impact that’s where you start . Cos you won’t make an impact in Ireland . They are opening up stations with more head of cattle than the whole head count in ireland .

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:38 AM

@Sk19: one cup of water removed form a swimming pool doesn’t drop the level if it happens during a torrential downpour, and that’s exactly what’s happening . This projects and land clearance are on a mind boggling scale

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:46 PM

@Fifty Shades of Sé:

When it’s done globally, Ireland can then fall in line. Until then, Dr. Stephen can bugger off. It’s not the first time a successful industry in Ireland has been targeted; remember the sugar beet industry.

Same goes for ‘green taxes’, unless and until the middle classes can leave an event like the Electric Picnic and take all their rubbish with them, the government can shove their taxes.

Unless and until, public transport can transport the public, the government can shove their taxes.

Unless and until, private jets, yatchs and diesel gussling cars are banned, the government can shove their taxes.

Don’t let the globalists and environmentalists pick on soft targets (Irish politicans). The real damage is done by the oil countries, corporate farms, the car industries, aviation and global companies. Ireland’s global footprint is minuscule by comparison.

Until the above happens, everyone shouting about our cattle farts, can bugger off.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:50 AM

Does the person who wrote this article, or the person this article was sourced from, drive a gas guzzling SUV and go on air travel holidays, or does he or she go to work on a bus, eat vegan and go on local cycling holidays?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:49 PM

@WoodlandBard: Ah here, that’s for the little people.

Mute bill2345
    Favourite bill2345
    Sep 7th 2019, 9:53 PM

Hahaha No if we all stop eating meat and a factory in China increases production by 1% it’ll probably be all wiped out.. lol this opinion is stupid

Sep 8th 2019, 12:02 AM

@bill2345: that’s the type of mentality that will see the inevitable wiping out if the human species. I mean you’re right but it’ll actually make you feel a little better if you do your bit.

Mute Redhead
    Favourite Redhead
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:59 AM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: will you whist with the wiping out civilisation nonsense please?

Sep 8th 2019, 10:33 AM

@Redhead: so you wouldn’t say that if we continue to obsessively consume as much as we can then it won’t lead to us wiping ourselves out?? Let’s make no changes and increase production of everything and see how far we get…..

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:13 AM

Oh go away…….I never heard such rubbish. Climate change. A new buzzword to bully people.

Mute Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Favourite Sandra Fogarty Tormey
    Sep 8th 2019, 4:44 AM

Taking us all for fools. how about the big polluting companies world wide take action and stop putting it on the ordinary citizens.

Mute Redhead
    Favourite Redhead
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:05 AM

I am sick to the teeth of this Climate scaremongering and talk of extinction. Take a look at the zealots in the Article’s photograph… talk about hyperbole! I am equally saddened to hear young kids terrified of their lives that the world is going to end next year. They view Greta Thunberg as some kind of saviour. I on the other hand would have reservations about her ‘backroom team’ and would seriously question their motivation. I think she is being manipulated.

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:37 AM

@Redhead: Great to see folk are waking up to this scam, designed by the left to control the masses

Mute Clarissa
    Favourite Clarissa
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:45 PM

@Redhead: you took the words out of my mouth. The left are using Greta Thungerg as a human pawn to push their fascists agenda. People are slowly waking up to the BS.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 8th 2019, 3:08 AM

How about the government, rte and the thought brigade stop telling us what to do… your days are numbered.. they just can’t wait for that additional carbon tax. They’ve went as far as taken retirement from us… where does it stop… we need a new government.. a new party for the people.. nobody cares about your crap anymore

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 8th 2019, 3:09 AM

@Ger Murphy: taking*

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:22 PM

Astonishing that The Journal continuously gives people such a platform to peddle this “climate crisis” nonsense and predictions of an apocalypse that will never happen.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:32 AM

Another academic endeavouring to justify his academic existence.

Mute Pat Farrelly
    Favourite Pat Farrelly
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:36 AM

The farmers say NO, unless, of course, there is a grant, a handout, a subsidy (social welfare handout) compensation or the sniff of free money. The same guys that are breaking the law outside the meat plants denying the paye tax worker lorry drivers entry to the factories and denying the paye worker meat processors in the factories employment. The very people whose taxes pay for the luxuries that the non-tax paying farming community are fortunate to be able to be able to avail of. Oh! The irony. The absolute sense of self-entitled me-fein hard done by farmers. Really, my piles are bleeding for you. I really won’t sleep easy tonight worrying in case your EU subsidy cheque is late in arriving. You know the one, paid for by the paye workers of Europe.

Mute Hatchjaw
    Favourite Hatchjaw
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:38 AM

@Pat Farrelly: Well those PAYE workers won’t have any jobs to go to if beef farming goes belly up.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 8th 2019, 5:55 AM

@Pat Farrelly: good man Pat – did you have a few scoops before writing that rant? – should we force farmers to sell cattle for less than the cost of production just to keep meat processing workers in jobs or will you be happy to pay dole to them when that whole industry disappears and our own steak comes from the amazon rainforests

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:52 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: The farmers should be setting up co- operatives. Cut out the middleman. Want fresh food, shop at your local co-operative.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:10 PM

@Teresa Ryan: Exactly. Local butcher is always better option to frozen product from good knows when and where.

Mute Joby Redmond
    Favourite Joby Redmond
    Sep 8th 2019, 6:16 AM

WTF still going on about meat when the real issue is with OIL COAL & GAS.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 8th 2019, 6:50 AM

@Joby Redmond: This forces the responsibility on ordinary people in an attempt to justify lifestyle change, control and more tax. As long as they are the only solutions being pushed it shows the whole thing up as a scam.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:55 PM

@Dave Doyle: It’s also just a way of cutting out the competion. The amount of times I’ve sat in a restaurant in Europe and noticed Irish beef listed separately on the menu. More expensive too.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:14 PM

@Joby Redmond: Meat is not an issue. Oil coal and gas are neither. Issue is that this is well designed power grab by the extreme left to control people. Anyone who want to control what and when you eat can also decide if you eat or not.

Mute Patti o furniture
    Favourite Patti o furniture
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:21 PM

Far more vehicles in the world than Irish cattle.. emissions me hole, Goodman wants to produce beef by having cows raised shoulder to shoulder in warehouses like farmed chickens,farmers get f_all for their troubles, getting the worse prices and told to shut up or else f_off. Cows are weighed at these factories and often tampered with to rip of the farmers,the IFA are payed off too. if teachers, nurses and everyone else can cause drama for a decent wage then I’m 100% behind farmers, backbone of this country.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:39 AM

More pseudo religious green alarmisn. When is the world going to end now? As if the big polluters like China could care less.

Mute David Mccreery
    Favourite David Mccreery
    Sep 8th 2019, 8:33 AM

What’s it got to do with irish peoples consumption of dairy. Most of our dairy is exported

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:43 AM

FOFF

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:30 AM

Could we not purchase a couple of carbon credits along with our steaks to offset our footprint, or maybe if we were to cycle to the shop instead of using the car would that then be carbon neutral. I know these are stupid ideas but so is this article. No, I won’t be changing my lifestyle just to suit some deranged guru.

Mute Dave McCrea
    Favourite Dave McCrea
    Sep 8th 2019, 1:46 PM

“He is currently working on a project designed to understand the social norms or behavioural characteristics toward responsible production and consumption in Ireland. “……Stephen, if you want to understand human behaviour – start with this one – people don’t like being lectured they *should* do something or to be criticized – and will often do what is not in our best interest just to regain autonomy. But beyond that – what we put in our mouths will be one of the very LAST things that anyone will do to combat any climate change. We will pay double taxes on fuel, you name it, but when you come for people’s steak or coffee or bonbons or whatever, you will never win…… Find a better scapegoat because you are fighting a losing battle on this one.

Mute Eoin O'Beara
    Favourite Eoin O'Beara
    Sep 8th 2019, 7:31 AM

What about all the harmful emissions from the machinery and vehicles used to farm crops and bring them to market? Those emissions far outweigh the emissions used for farming cattle/dairy.

Mute D Power
    Favourite D Power
    Sep 8th 2019, 5:07 PM

Cattle do not cause Climate Change

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Sep 8th 2019, 10:45 AM

Of course , and every Irish political Partys Plan to incresae pur popilatiom by mass imagrstion , fits right in with the plan ha ha ha

Mute Clarissa
    Favourite Clarissa
    Sep 8th 2019, 2:28 PM

Greta Thunberg is Swiss, not Swedish. She should be in school instead of ruining her life.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Sep 8th 2019, 9:18 PM

@Clarissa: Lol she is minted. She do not need any degree anymore. She gained climate sainthood with all its perks already.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Sep 8th 2019, 12:52 AM

This guy is full of crap. Hopefully he’s environmentally friendly and he doesn’t excrete. Oops too late!!

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Sep 8th 2019, 4:46 PM

While Brazil burns the Amazone, which has done more damage in two weeks than Ireland in ten years.

Mute Mr K F
    Favourite Mr K F
    Sep 8th 2019, 11:17 AM

Irish cow farts, the bane of the earth. :)

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 9th 2019, 10:41 AM

the biggest harmful ‘emissions’ are coming out the the mouths of politicians and people like the author of this pile of junk – its a SCAM !