You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leighanna Rose Walsh

The LGBT community's quest for respectability in Ireland is leaving so many trans activists behind

Pride and LGBTQ movements are being ruined by a descent into conformity and a fear of all things political, argues Leighanna Rose Walsh.

A FEW WEEKS ago, I jumped on a table in the chambers of Cork’s City Hall to protest the presence of respectability and the sanitised history of Pride. I spoke up for trans women like myself, for women of colour, for sex workers, for poor and “unrespectable” queers like me, like so many others.

To some, this seemed like an extreme act. “Wait your turn.” “This is not the place.” “We need to know your place in the events.” These were things said to me by two other LGBT activists. I had sat through an hour of people patting themselves on the back over marriage equality, a cause I also worked towards, with no mention of the Gender Recognition Act that our trans community fought so hard for so many years over, or the serious issues still affecting the community, merely commenting that we still had “work to do”.

“Oh well they didn’t name us outright, but I mean, in spirit,” one of my fellow trans folk told me. But when we get into the spirit of things, you’ll find that that what I did was much more in the “spirit” of Pride than the majority of events we have nowadays. In many cases worldwide, Pride and LGBTQ movements in general have become deeply commercialised, respectable, sanitised. Apolitical.

The woman who runs my trans group seems to have a deep fear of the political, of the unrespectable. One expressed a fear of reversing the work done with conservative politicians, who seem to be more important to her than an activist like myself. I’ve since been cut off from support by my own community, when my position is pretty bog standard for trans activists these days.

Tight control

Pride, the modern LGBTQ rights movement came out as a result of the Stonewall riots. Stonewall was not started by respectable, cisgender white people. The respectable, cisgender white people at Stonewall were the police. And in many ways that hasn’t changed – white, wealthy or otherwise influential gay men still control our movement. Not the butch, biracial lesbians, the bisexual community activists, the black & latina trans sex workers, the political, working class queers, for example.

That’s not to say that white gay men and boys, even middle class ones aren’t still persecuted. Many still end up on the streets due to their parents rejecting them. Many have trouble getting jobs, especially if they’re gender nonconforming. But this isn’t even what we talk about at Pride anymore. Even the Yes Equality campaign, behind the scenes, was full of frightening stories of silencing and erasure, keeping a tight control on who said what. Bisexual, trans people and queer people of colour were all but invisible. To appeal to a “Middle Ireland” that no longer exists.

LGBT Heritage A plaque marking the site of the 1969 Stonewall riots in New York AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Ireland has become an increasingly multicultural and diverse society. I say this is good for us. Many will look to blame immigrants from more conservative countries and other religions for certain issues, but in reality their presence has forced us to step out of our cultural hidey holes, examine ourselves. Many of these issues are tied together. One historical institution I like to bring up is “Polari”, a language used by the Queer community in the 19th and early 20th centuries. The word “Drag” is thought to come from the word Indraka, meaning skirt or dress in Romanes. I work closely with the Roma community in Cork. In the wake of the Yes Equality campaign, a Garda task force set up partly at the behest of the Cork Business Association, set out to prosecute people for begging – mostly vulnerable Roma mothers. Punishment for being poor.

One of my friends is already in jail, her welfare cut off and no money for her children, their mother torn away from them by a racist, classist institution. Another woman I work with, a disabled Roma woman with one leg and a new baby, who had their welfare cut off until she gets a birth cert for her child, is served with a fine she can’t pay (why would she be begging otherwise?).

For some Roma – especially didikai (half Roma) who can be cut off both from our support net and the Roma community – being LGBTQ is particularly difficult and almost unheard of. When I hear of these experiences, and the Gardai targeting and profiling these people, it reminds me a lot of what used to happen to us before the queer liberation movement. But where is their Stonewall? And where is the support for queer Muslims, asylum seekers who often face rejection by their own communities? Or just Muslims and asylum seekers in general?

What it means to be queer

How can we preach equality while ignoring the effects of class & race? We ignore intersectionality, which covers up a lot of the reality of what it means to be queer. I myself am transfeminine and autistic, which gives people two reasons not to listen to or believe me. Even my own community often doesn’t believe in me, or offer an opportunity for me to speak. I’m treated like a broken or bold child.

And I’m not the only one. Recently – and this was partly my inspiration – a trans Latina activist called Jennicet Gutiérrez spoke up at an LGBT gala Barack Obama was hosting. She was hushed, told “this isn’t for you!” while Obama made some quite smug remarks about this being “his house”. Here, respectability was endlessly more important than the fact that her people were dying, being sexually abused in ICE detainment.

Turkey Trans Pride Parade An activist pictured at a Trans Pride parade in Istanbul, Turkey, in June AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Suggest someone has done something homophobic, ableist, transphobic, racist or the like and they take it personally. The issue is no longer about these institutions that for example put vulnerable Roma women, queer sex workers and the like out on the streets. It’s about someone’s self image being challenged, feeling they may not be quite as nice a person as they thought. With all this nonsense about political correctness, far too often it goes precisely the opposite way, with terms like “PC gone mad” and “Social justice warrior” being used to shut down marginalised voices.

When there’s an epidemic of violence and murder against transgender women (especially of colour) in the US – counting about 20 this year at this stage, and that’s just reported – we need to not be silenced. When Frances Fitzgerald wants to enact legislation recommended by Magdalene order-funded organisations to make sex work – something my people traditionally rely on – more rather than less dangerous, we need to not be silenced.

When people are being locked up for being poor, brown or homeless – or just plain unrespectable – we need to not be silenced. We need to loudly shout these names, trans activists and Stonewall veterans all – Marsha P. Johnson, Sylvia Rivera, Stormé DeLarverie, Miss Major, Brenda Howard. This is to those left behind by our “equality” movement.

Leighanna Rose Walsh is a queer autistic trans woman living in Cork. She is a writer, musician and activist focusing mostly on Trans/Queer and immigrant issues. She works closely with the Cork Roma Women’s group, as well as volunteering with Cork Feminista. You can read some of her essays here and listen to her recent talk on autism and sexuality here.

Read: “A historic moment” – Oireachtas signs off on gender recognition bill

Read: Should bloggers have to say when they’re being paid to advertise? Damn right they should

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

292 Comments
    Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:11 PM

The Democrats under Hillary turned into a spiteful little party. This whole thing reminds me of McCartheyism in the US in the 1950s. I spent the last week in the US and every time I turned on CNN, their only topic that they deemed newsworthy was attacking Trump on Russia links that have so far showed zilch. Nothing on Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Syria or even the way the US spending is out of control due to the US’s military expenditure. No, the only thing worth talking about is whether their could possibly be a link between Trump and Russia.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:17 PM

@Cal Mooney: showed zilch ? You not watching he and everyone around him has lied about Russian contacts .

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:24 PM

@Cal Mooney: “But Hillary….”

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:28 PM

@Cal Mooney: “their only topic that they deemed newsworthy was attacking Trump on Russia links that have so far showed zilch”

34 people indicted or plead guilty in the investigation. 26 Russians, including 12 GRU officers. 3 Russian companies. 6 former Trump advisors indicted, 5 plead guilty.

Is this the “zilch” you referred to?

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:37 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: Sorry mate, have you ever heard of 6 degrees of separation? I bet I could find links between you and a foreign intelligence operative of any country. One of those Russians indicted did turn up to a court hearing and the case was immediately dropped. Anyway, going back to the McCatheyism comparison, I am sure Hillary and every rich Democrat and Republican could be found to have been played by lobbyists from one regime or another. How much do the Israelis pay to influence elections in the US. How much do the Brits pay. They are all the same.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:53 PM

@Cal Mooney: he lied he said he had no business interests or contacts with Russian while campaigning at the same time trying to build Trump Moscow .

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:30 PM

@Cal Mooney: “Sorry mate, have you ever heard of 6 degrees of separation?”

Six degrees of separation? They are his foreign campaign aide, security advisor, head of his presidential campaign, his lawyer who lied about Trump’s financial interests in Russia and his advisor who lied to the house intelligence committee about trying to collude with wikileaks.

This isn’t six degrees of separation. These are his closest political aides.

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:46 PM

@Cal Mooney: we are not talking “6-degrees of separation” here

We are talking about direct contact and face to face meetings and then subsequently denying the meeting or contact ever happened to the FBI and then pleading guilty when indicted.

37 people and entities have now been charged by Mueller, including 6 associates of Trump: Michael Flynn, Rick Gates, Paul Manafort, George Papadopoulos, Michael Cohen, and Roger Stone. Mueller has brought 199 total criminal charges in all.

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:09 PM

@Cal Mooney: he’s a ruski alright. Lock him up or send him back to the gulag to his own.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:28 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: Do you even know what the initial allegation was?! It wasn’t an improper payment to a pornstar or a tax issue. Also, re the Russian indictments, they mean nothing as he will never get them in court. How convenient for Mueller! The Russian investigation is a damp squib. The real crime is how the deep state attempted a coup against an elected president.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:30 PM

@Diaspora’d: We can go through each one if you want. They all amount to nothing when it comes to the initial allegation. Pick one there..

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Feb 15th 2019, 7:07 PM

@Jack Simpson: Clinton’s impeachment started out as an investigation into real estate deals (whitewater) in Arkansas ended up with perjury about Monica Lewinsky, that how these special investigations can go.

So Just like the Ken Starr investigation morphed, this Mueller investigation morphing from Russian interference into money laundering and or obstruction of justice is not beyond possiblity

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 15th 2019, 7:38 PM

@Diaspora’d: So what you are saying is that if you dig deep enough into any party member in the states, you will find something. Maybe not what you wanted to find in the first place, but definitely something. Funny that considering there is no law preventing anyone paying millions to any elected representative to convey the message they want e.g. AIPAC

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Feb 15th 2019, 7:58 PM

@Cal Mooney: No law? There are numerous Campaign Finance laws, for Federal elections and numerous ones for State elections.
    There are also IRS/Tax laws governing what is and isn’t allowable. Fall foul of them at you peril. Remember Democrat VP contender John Edwards?

I’m of the opinion that campaign finance reform is necessary but you cant claim there are “no law” for campaign contributions or financing

Mute Awkward Jake
    Favourite Awkward Jake
    Feb 15th 2019, 9:03 PM

@Cal Mooney: I distinctly remember during the Obama administration Fox News and the Republican Party attacked Obama for literally anything. They ragged on him for wearing a shirt with a tie in the Oval Office rather than a suit jacket, and bemoaning Obama for what he ate in a sandwich once, that’s way more petty than anything CNN has accused Trump of doing I’m not taking sides but it’s hypocritical for republicans to complain about Democrats being petty to the president when they did the exact same thing when the shoe was on the other foot.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Feb 15th 2019, 10:10 PM

@Jack Simpson: poor Jack, do you understand how am indictment is achieved? A grand jury has to believe there is sufficient evidence to issue it. It’s not like Mueller can just wrote them up and announce them.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Feb 15th 2019, 10:36 PM

@Jack Simpson: deep state give it a break and put your tinfoil hat back on

Mute BAAB
    Favourite BAAB
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:05 PM

Sessions calls Irish drunks .
    Let go on the mother of all sessions to celebrate.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:15 PM

@BAAB: if he said that about the Jews you’d never here the end of it
    This may be perceived toxic 4.9/10

Mute Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Favourite Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:45 PM

@Dot Com: thankfully we are not that easily offended.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:20 PM

@Dot Com: you need to control the media for that type of outrage lol

Mute Patti o furniture
    Favourite Patti o furniture
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:24 PM

Session wooo.. Irish men can build that wall too since we’ve built half the world, can always count on us, work hard and play hard ya little gnome of a man

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:34 PM

@Patti o furniture: Keep in by the Wall.!!

Mute Garreth Mc Mahon
    Favourite Garreth Mc Mahon
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:15 PM

Can’t argue with the logic

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:32 PM

@Garreth Mc Mahon: I could!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:16 PM

A compliment

Mute DavidOReilly
    Favourite DavidOReilly
    Feb 15th 2019, 7:00 PM

@Peter: now that we’re discussing stereotypes ,are all Americans as Dumb as shite?

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:05 PM

Have to admit a little guilty pride at his observation..

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:15 PM

Racism once again against us Irish.

Feb 15th 2019, 4:20 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: don’t be a snowflake, you could knock the shite out of him

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:44 PM

@Gus Sheridan: are you saying that because of my massive traps in my picture?!? Love, not war.

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:11 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: in fairness we are fairly comfortable with a few pints onboard. Fair comment.

Mute Awkward Jake
    Favourite Awkward Jake
    Feb 15th 2019, 9:05 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: I’d rather we be a trustworthy people with a liking for drink than an untrustworthy sober people there the worst. Plus he looks like an evil Keebler elf for god sake he can’t call anybody names

Mute Pajo Mata
    Favourite Pajo Mata
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:42 PM

What does he mean “but” at least their honest? Being drunk is great. There’s no need for the but. Irish are drunks and honest.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:44 PM

@Pajo Mata: I have to agree.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:22 PM

What reprehensible views on religion and race did he demonstrate?

Mute Bryan Yelahw
    Favourite Bryan Yelahw
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:40 PM

@Winston Smith: Nothing a racist can’t excuse.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:50 PM

@Bryan Yelahw: ah I see, so just throwing around the vague accusation in the hope the label sticks then, much as you appear wont to do yourself. It’s curious really, do you think it’s ever going to dawn on you people how utterly ineffective that is, and how little people care about the right-on brigade’s labels? Ye called everyone who supported Trump or Brexit racist and other silly names, the same now against anyone who challenges status quo politics in Europe, and people demonstrably do not care what silly names they’re called. Someday logical arguments may have to replace the childish name calling, and that someday was a few years ago.

Mute Bryan Yelahw
    Favourite Bryan Yelahw
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:30 PM

@Winston Smith: Nope, I am talking about your thinly veiled racism.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:59 PM

@Bryan Yelahw: and I’m talking about your unveiled childishness, lack of ability to apply logic, and general stupidity. In fairness I should’ve realised you’d struggle to understand that, so it’s my fault really.

Mute Jack Simpson
    Favourite Jack Simpson
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:32 PM

Looking forward to seeing Andrew McCabe + others posing in orange jump suits very soon for attempting to illegitimately oust an elected president.

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:32 PM

Sessions is a miserable little Weasel and “The Donald” agrees. Let’s invite Jeff over for Paddy’s Day and we can take him down to Athenry and paint his little Arse Face Green.

Mute Frances McDermott
    Favourite Frances McDermott
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:49 PM

How dare he speak about the Irish like that. Muppet

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Feb 15th 2019, 4:18 PM

He thinks FBI is Feckin Blutered Irish

Mute Paul Donaghy
    Favourite Paul Donaghy
    Feb 15th 2019, 9:11 PM

Smart people don’t generalize

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    Feb 15th 2019, 10:26 PM

I don’t feel guilty for being white

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Feb 15th 2019, 5:52 PM

So at least he is consistent……!

Mute LUCY Thomas
    Favourite LUCY Thomas
    Feb 15th 2019, 11:53 PM

Next rounds on you Boss.

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Feb 15th 2019, 8:23 PM

Demonization of HC is so wrong. Has achieved immense good work for America. Chelsea for president!

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:26 PM

Racist Sessions, what would you expect from a guy from #alabama, #ASS

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Feb 15th 2019, 6:58 PM

@James Reidy: only racist to those who are looking for things to be offended by. He called us all honest thanks Jeff

Mute Mick lally
    Favourite Mick lally
    Feb 16th 2019, 3:35 PM

Reading through these posts I could be mistaken thinking I was on one of the American forums, with right and left both spewing out their crazy ideas. Both sides are right to a certain extent, Trump is a corrupt imbecile and yes the Mueller investigation does have the smell of an attempted bloodless coup. The Republican party has sold it’s soul to he Saudis Russians Israeli and Qatar