You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Eve North
trinity tales
Singer Loah 'In college I found my calling - with a bit of help from Radiohead'
Sallay Matu-Garnett, also known by her performance name Loah, on what she learned about herself during her time in Trinity.
7.01am, 13 Oct 2021
‘AND THERE WAS nothing to fear, and nothing to doubt.’
Radiohead’s lyrics reverberating throughout the Trinity Exam Hall, a frisson of tense expression right the way up my back, the sound waves emerging from my mouth. The year of Our Lord 2010. This was the moment I decided I would turn my back on all I had promised to my future and become that most commonplace of rudimentary magicians: a singer.
I spent four years in the late 2000s studying pharmacy at Trinity College. By anyone’s standards, I had made the most sensible choice any bright-eyed millennial could make. I grew up with two parents from different countries and cultures, always travelling between the suburbs of Kildare and two capital cities in West Africa: Banjul and Freetown. By 18, I wanted stability, responsibility and a useful body of knowledge. I wanted to stay put!
I had loved biochemical sciences in school but missed the marks for medicine by a hair’s breadth due to unforeseen chaos during my Leaving Cert year. Pharmacy reared its head as the obvious choice, one line of a CAO form above music.
After a post-school ‘gap year’ (a term now made infamous by the supposed ludicrous privilege needed to take one, and the stereotypes that have been created by those who do), I walked through the College Green archway and into those hallowed halls ready for all my wildest expectations to be fulfilled.
‘I’m not a Trinner’
Let me be clear and profoundly honest: those expectations were by no means modest. I never intended to go to Trinity and not become a ‘Trinner’. On the contrary, that was my primary aim. I wanted every scrap of Trinity prestige going. I had always been academically ambitious and I wanted to win at everything. I had also sacrificed a social life as a teen to achieve those academic capabilities, so I wanted to fix that by being present everywhere and being friends with everyone. I wanted the glamour of all things genteel to rub off on me.
I wanted to sit hungover in drab rented rooms or grand, fabulous ones watching old movies. I wanted my vistas filled with cobblestones, columns and gothic windows. I wanted to speak in modernist poetic cadences and I wanted to get wasted at the Pav.
I wanted to join 101 societies and I wanted to fall in love 101 times. I wanted to play jazz and I wanted to play classical music. I wanted to do yoga and I wanted to be carried home. I wanted to sing at student balls and I wanted there to be enough chaos to cry at parties. I wanted to never need to sleep. I wanted to be wealthy, successful and free. I wanted to be happy. I wanted to have a great future.
I did a great deal of those things, a great many more, and attempted to do them all simultaneously. Those years were a gift. And, like any gift from the gods, it could not be returned. In the doing of everything under the College Green sun, I lost myself.
I was a student living on grants that my patient, loving, single mother had helped me secure, so that her daughter – born into poverty but reared through hard work into the middle class, and who was fiercely demanding of life and greedy for every experience – could fill her appetite for knowledge.
I worked several jobs in the summers, at home and abroad, collecting savings and languages. In the winters I went snowboarding with my fabulous friends and tried to keep up on the slopes while simultaneously trying to keep up with pharmaceutics.
Changing directions
In the first year, I tried to leave pharmacy, knowing I probably, maybe, didn’t really want to be a pharmacist and therefore ought not to waste everyone’s time. I wanted to be an artiste, experience everything and then write about it all.
However, there was no plan of how I’d go about doing this. I did, after all, want to be a useful citizen, and an artist with no plan is not very useful to anyone, least of all themselves. So, a friend and my college tutor talked me out of my storm-out, and I reconsidered.
I committed, renamed as what I felt was the more suave ‘Apothecary’ class, made football team names like Bend It Like Benzene and just got on with it. (At no point in my life since have I ever regretted this decision, though I did leave pharmacy eventually. The stability and sense of confidence that comes from being of service have been profoundly necessary to my character and indeed my mental health.) Like any half-decent committed footballer, I knew if my jersey was still clean by the end, I hadn’t played hard enough.
I failed an exam for the first time in the midst of the maelstrom of heartbreak. I went to a therapist for the first time when I kept crying for ‘no reason’ in laboratories and libraries.
There were club nights. There were choral masses. Front Square was the scene of many a Trinity Ball crime, many a term-time conversation and the ultimate moment of anticlimactic release at graduation. I lived in a Georgian house on Raglan Road with my best friend and I sang jazz standards every week on Westland Row with the best musos. I played the violin and surfed and read and ate Tesco frozen pizzas. My sweethearts made me mixtapes to soundtrack our ferocious, possessive, youthful love.
The fervour and ecstasy, combined with a wild swing from unbounded joy to total despair, exposed deep inner anxieties from a childhood of uncertainty and a fearful dread that all good things must end.
Short, sharp stop
And end they did. Bang smack in the middle of my degree, the 2008 financial crisis occurred.
We heard of older siblings or parents of people we knew having salaries slashed and losing their jobs, business and homes. The dark cloud of the burst economic bubble moved across the waters of our collective consciousness. Suddenly the prospects of a life that sounded as breezy as the chorus of every Thrills song was no more. Bertie Ahern went from being ‘the Taoiseach who drank at the Quill pub in Drumcondra near our mates’ flat’ to the sinister overlord of our generation’s demise.
We were waking up to the end of an era of excess and the end of the Twilight novel series. What was to become of us all? Even though the pandemic of recession was changing the fabric of society, I felt strangely cushioned by the institution surrounding me, along with also getting to spend a semester of my third year on Erasmus in Montpellier. The dream persisted: I had a minuscule and totally lovable rectangular pod room in a student dorm.
I drank rosé, sang in the labs, sang in the jazz clubs and learned that French pharmacies at the time sold the highest number of antidepressants and slimming products in Europe.
Being transported to a city with one of the oldest European medical schools and one of the youngest age demographics was the best and arguably most sensible form of escapism for a still green young’un. Not yet ready to fully fly the Trinity nest, I found a semester to be more than enough time to soak in cosy, reassuring French bureaucracy, education and the Beaujolais festival. Not enough time to miss home. Enough of a break from the growing tension of approaching the educational finish line in the midst of an economic downturn. Alors, on danse.
Returning home after those few months in France, I resolved to squeeze every last blessing I could out of the remaining time. I had not shaken off that strange, unresolved dread but was determined to move forward through hyperactivity and the deranged pursuit of everything that made me ‘happy’.
I can only presume, from the biased view that is memory, that to everyone near to me – family, friend and foe – I was both utterly charming and utterly unbearable.
Be that as it may, by the end of Third Year, the inner gnawing of being out of place and the fear for our collective future was getting louder. I was so involved and so present, yet sometimes I would secretly sleep for days and tell everyone that I was with other people. Flaky was my student name, number and address. I was popular, yet the crippling loneliness I felt regularly drove me at best to write terrible poetry, or at worst to seek help from dangerous thought patterns.
Music sustaining
The one thing that persistently grounded me in those years of ferocious overactivity (covering this vague, growing sense of inadequacy to enter an uncertain world) was music.
The orchestra rehearsals where I’d sit calmly in a second-violin desk quite literally soothed my nervous system. The gigs with the lads and our dear, sweet soul–funk–jazz band Jazzberries (oh the frivolous titles of youth) hunkered me back to the moment and a sense of fleeting purpose and FUN. To this day, there are chords we sang in a Polish choral piece in Singers that I play to myself when the dung is really hitting the fan.
I am by nature cheerful, but deeper psychological issues were beginning to surface and affect the delicately balanced charade. My colour, this ‘blackness’, and how I interacted with the world because of it, was leading to uncomfortable questions, in brief moments of mental quiet, for which I had no answers.
Womanhood and the sometime prison of its meaning was becoming undeniable: it was allowing me to start allowing myself to fail. By the time my final year came, it was clear that I was existing for what music was giving me and tolerating everything else. I was an exhausted, hyper-stimulated, undernourished life-junkie. That spring in 2010, I had friends asking whether I was OK, as I hadn’t been to class in a couple of weeks. Enter, Radiohead.
When Rob Farhat and Brian Denvir, my dear friends in the orchestra, asked if I would put the violin down and sing two Radiohead songs at the concert of homegrown arrangements they were organizing for us, I set about immediately to find a singing coach.
I might have been in final year, I might have been clinically malnourished and depressed, but I wasn’t screwing up Radiohead. And then I discovered Judith Mok. A friend’s mum, her reputation preceded her. Legend had it she had coached THE Thom Yorke during the recording of Hail to the Thief album. Completely out of my price range or my professional capabilities, I nonetheless convinced her to take me on for a few weeks for this most crucial of engagements.
Suddenly, I had a reason to wake up in the morning. That eleven-beat long note wasn’t going to learn to sing itself. I needed to start meditating again, because how else would I convey the depth of transcendence of Yorke’s phrasing? I felt I should probably start eating properly too because vocalists couldn’t faint on stage, it hadn’t been in vogue for centuries.
The lessons with Judith were (and still are) intense, focused and purposeful. Everything I had always wanted and sought, but for the exact end I had been lacking all that time: to create the perfection of the sound wave emerging from one’s body. Around lesson three, I had the fabled ‘cry’ many of her early students experience, the surrendering to what feels like life’s real work. Those few weeks set in motion a sea change.
Though I trained fully and worked as a chemist, it wasn’t long before I left my first job to dream and to plan a life in music. Though I had always written songs, there was now a sense of meaning and momentum. I could comb apart each line with Judith and excavate profundity in the most humble of lyrics. To surrender to the arts is to hold hands with the humility of the beginner’s mind. There is always more to know and to express and always someone better than you. Infinite homework for the rudimentary magician. Yet in that, there is the potential for infinite satisfaction.
Ten years later, when I watch back over the grainy footage from that 2010 Radiohead show, I find holes in my technique, I hear mistakes. It is not necessarily as magical as it felt. I can see my discomfort in myself.
I remember the nervousness beforehand in the side room of the Exam Hall chatting to Pats (now I Have a Tribe). I had done so many gigs and been tested in that Exam Hall so many times, but I knew this was different. I knew I had found, or rather accepted, my calling in the most roundabout of ways. The future was finally starting.
Taken from Trinity Tales: Trinity College Dublin in the 2000s, published by Lilliput Press, which is out now. Sallay-Matu Garnett is an Irish-Sierra Leonean singer-songwriter who performs as ‘Loah’.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
I’m not a company but if i post a link to a newspaper on eircomsucks.com will they want payment from me?
What if i post as a user on http://www.boards.ie and say xyz about a story and post a link, will they want payment from me and/or boards.ie/daft media?
The newspapers here are just trying to somehow protect their dieing business model, rather then evolve and try and compete in a new online world like thejournal.ie or even the likes of bbcnews.com they want tp protect the old business model for as long as they can.
The sad thing is, they are fools and the old business model is dieing a death.
Just to add, what if I’m a company and a newspaper does a story about my company. Am i not entitled to link to something about my company.
Isn’t that exactly what Women’s Aid did?, they simply linked to a story about them!
Are the newspapers looking to create some crazy world where they want company’s and people to charge THEM (the newspapers) a fee for writing a story about them!
They want you to hit the share button to post to your Facebook/Twitter whilst also having the power to sue Boards.ie etc. for allowing you to post it there.
Basically they want to do as they please.
I would actually love if they took on Google over sharing of links. Let’s see how far they go if Google decide to exclude them from their search engines
Are the NNI members going to pay message board users for content they effectively steal from them?
Not a week goes by where papers throughout Ireland use content posted by users on boards.ie, sometimes they mention its from boards.ie other times they “claim” its from somebody writing to the paper.
Thing is the letters etc match word for word when compared to the posts made on websites like boards.ie, often the stories include photos that the users have posted on boards.ie as well.
OK, this is not a problem. If they publish an article on me or my then I expect to be paid, they use photograph of me, my product or my home/factory then they can pay me or my company for the privilege.
Can’t see them winning this one.
They actually have said, in this and other earlier statements, that there is no legal difference between links- no matter what kind of use is being made of them
“the same legal principles apply to both” as they say.
The statement is therefore a restatement of the assertion (still not supported by citing any statutory basis) that newspapers have the power to grant or withhold permission to link to their sites.
I’m glad to see this absurd matter is getting some coverage, if you don’t want you articles linkable – stick up a paywall. Links are the whole point of the world wide web.
No problem. Nobody post links to any of their sites and it wont be long before they change their minds. Advertisers will start pulling out when they see traffic is down. In summary they can go and shite.
The NNI members have probably realized they’ve shot themselves in the foot after the article on mcgarrsolicitors.ie. If they insists on charging per link used, Google would drop them from their database like a rock in the water, as would every other search engine.
NNI probably also finally realized that anyone sharing links drives traffic TO their sites by way of FREE ADVERTISING. I share links around quite frequently. If I got hit up for fees, I’d send a few back of my own for advertising fees.
Standard industry practice allows a person or company to use quotes based on a ‘fair use’ basis. This means a small percentage of a total work can be quoted without having to pay fees, and as long as the original source is quoted. One is not meant to take a full article, such as this one, and post it in its entirety onto a blog or other website, regardless if they’re claiming it’s their own or the property of TheJournal.ie or the author, Susan Daly. That’s not just copyright infringement, it’s also plagiarism (if claiming the work as one’s own).
However, one can pull the first paragraph or two of this article and post it on their site and link back to this original page under ‘fair use’. This is what most people do. The previous days discussions about this issue have pretty strongly insinuated that the NNI members want fees for doing this.
If this becomes law, I can see most of these papers going out of business fairly rapidly. Not just from readers no longer sharing content, thus losing readership and advertising sponsors, but also from search engines no longer catering to their sites, which is actually a free service for the NNI members.
Personally, as a business owner, if anyone wants to share pages off my website with friends, go for it. I just ask that you credit us for the content by linking to our pages. It’s all free advertising for us and I thank you! :-)
NNI are claiming even more than any “fair use”. They are claiming it’s copyright infringment to *link* to the article even if you quote NONE of it: “a licence is required to link directly to an online article even without uploading any of the content directly onto your own website”
I know, Rory. Is that insane or what? I wonder if the papers are in such dire straights at the minute that they’re thinking of doing this to generate some revenue. I mean, why by the paper if you can get it online for free, right?
An easy solution would be for all the papers to have a nominal annual subscription. It wouldn’t work for just one or two papers. They’d all have to do it, even the likes of TheJournal.ie. I know I’ll get red thumbs, but it makes sense. The fee would not some over the top fee the Irish Times brought in a few years ago and no one subscribed. The annual subscription rate would take the place of the license fee for using links casually. Any links wanting to be used in a professional or commercial way would obviously have to get permission and pay more unless the two parties could come to an understanding.
Hmm . . . I wonder how it works when you take a link and feed it into bit.ly to spoof/shorten the URL.
If they keep this up The Journal and the rest will make a killing. You’re watching the dying days of traditional Irish media. We should do everything in our powers to help Irish newspapers get this through. Keep it up..the sooner the better.
Nonsense. It’s logical to charge a fee for linking to someone else’s site – that’s advertising. The IT would justifiably charge a large fee for a banner ad on their site, linking to a page on mine. For me to expect a fee FROM them to link to a page on my site would be just ludicrous. If the newspapers don’t want a site linking to stories on theirs, let them make it pay per view (and see how long they last). They can’t have it both ways: freely available on the web, but nobody’s allowed to link to it. That’s now how the web works. That they think they can get away with this may be just another symptom of the underlying problem: even though it’s in common use for over 15 years now, they have failed to adapt to the reality of the world wide web.
Who controls NNI? Would i not be correct in saying Denis O’Brien? Pat Rabbitte refused to limit his ownership rights and control of media in Ireland. This is what you get in return. We also had FFG supporting ACTA when the rest of Europe said it was censorship of media and therefore voted against it. We are being controlled more and more. For years, Irish Press and the Indo/Sindo were the mouth pieces of the political establishment. With newspaper sales dwindling and only being read by older generations, these new measures and controls are being put in place to limit freedom of speech, to suit the Political establishment and their very wealthy media oligarchs. Shameful, and its no surprise the rest of the world media are laughing at Ireland.
Hi Cal, No, it wouldn’t be right to say it is controlled by Denis O’Brien – the full list of members is visible on http://www.nni.ie/v2/broad/index.php – it includes Thomas Crosbie Holdings, Irish Times, Rupert Murdoch-owned papers and others, as well as Independent News and Media publications. Just for clarity.
Thanks, Susan.
Thanks for the clarity Susan, but at the end of the day, Denis O’Brien controls the Indo, Today FM, Newstalk and others. His undue influence is felt across all of that media (Look what happened to Eamonn Dunphy, when he voiced his concerns about O’Briens control of media in Ireland.
I agree Murdoch controls a lot of media also, but Murdoch wouldn’t even dare attempt to support such a move in the UK, he doesn’t have that Government in his pocket… We need to learn a lesson from them. We have a couple of Oligarchs who can do what they want in this country, and our Government supports them.
In fairness Carl, Rupert Murdoch practically owns the Conservative party. He had Thatcher deregulate the entire sector in the 80s, Andy Coulson was appointed Cameron’s PR man, Rebekah Brooks is closely tied to the Tories and if the News of the World hadn’t been caught out for tapping phones Cameron would have dismantled the BBC by now.
Blatantly copying chunks of content on to your webpages one could understand as infringement but trying to restrict linking to content is just silly…a link is no more than recommending/referencing and actually strengthens their website and sends referral traffic….greedy shower of toerags!
Well their logic concerning hyperlinks also dictates that the NLI should be storming local noticeboards and slapping fines on those who tack up clippings from newspapers.
“The display and transmission of links does constitute an infringement of copyright”
Total nonsense.
There is no unique content under the standards of what is copyrightable in a url.
Even with the content itself ‘fair use’ is a standard of copyright so a small extract is perfectly allowable.
If you wanted to go stricter you could re-write the article title in your own way, but you could not copyright the URL itself. There is no copyrightable content in a url.
This would only fall under copyright if, let say you, used that URL in your own personal (paid) advertising. It also falls under misrepresentation were you to do so.
Quite a bit of what you see in pressn is direct PR from groups such as Women’s Aid (for example).
If they send that out to 5 media outlets and they all publish it on their website then who owns the copyright? NNI haven’t thought this one through at all
I stopped buying the IT since Xmas eve when despite in a reducing market and in the middle of a severe recession they increase their price to their customers in the Republic. The Law of Diminishing Returns never seem to cross their minds nor the fact as to why it is still referred to as a Law.
I stopped buying it when I first read the Guardian about 12 years ago and realised what a newspaper could be.
Have occasionally felt bad on missing out on Irish commentary, pick up a copy and realise again why I love the Guardian so much (G2, sports, international & comment section)
This is such a trivial action. to copy and paste a link wrap it in some HTML and post it on your own website. That very act should not require licencing. its a Joke and whats more It needs to get as much air time as possible to show how silly this is…
I haven’t bought a newspaper in five years, I get all my news on my smartphone,nThe only time I miss the Irish times is when I have caught a few trout and need to gut them?
Newspapers should be paying people to link to their online articles, that’s how the generate traffic and therefore make money out of having these articles online. By their logic I should start charging Facebook for the privilege of hosting my content?!
I look forward to aggregated news websites charging The Irish Times for linking to their news articles and thus generating more money for them in their banner advertising revenue. That must be worth a 15% cut I’d imagine?
Considering most off the print media now use “lifting” copy and paste from the web I find it quite strange that they would be concerned about copy right infringement
While the argument for stopping online news aggregators inserting links to articles on “established” and “reporter employing” newspaper sites is obviously fatally flawed and cannot be justified in the context of the basic function of the worldwide web, what is the case for or against the “scraping” and rebranding of news by framing the third party content within an aggregator site while keeping the reader within the confines of the referring site? Surely this is not justifiable or fair use?
This is just crazy, by creating a hyperlink to an article you are generating traffic to their site and in-turn increasing their readership. Also, most of them have social sharing buttons???????????????????????????????
Trump announces 'decisive and powerful military action' as strikes start in Yemen
Updated
1 hr ago
Shiny Floor-Show
Like NASA in a west Dublin suburb: Behind the scenes on the Dancing with the Stars set
42 mins ago
Tallaght
Dublin primary school facing closure in April due to 'massive underfunding'
23 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say