You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/PA Wire

Charity founders are often strong personalities who are left unchallenged

In the wake of the Console scandal, Cormac O’Ceallaigh says we need to make sure this crisis never happens again.

THE APPOINTMENT OF a provisional liquidator to the charity Console brings to an end a turbulent few weeks for the charity.

The fact that Pieta House is going to take over its services is welcome news.

There is a danger in the midst of all the hysteria and public anger that we will forget that the charity carried out fantastic work which no doubt played a role in saving many lives over the years.

It would be a real tragedy if we could not take some positives and learn valuable lessons from Console’s sudden demise.

Need for regulation

The charity sector employs approximately 105,000 people, with a turnover of €7 billion per annum and around 8,500 organisations which have charitable status.

The Charities Act was passed by the Oireachtas in February 2009 with the aim of regulating the sector, but it was parked.

After a number of high-profile scandals, such as the CRC and Rehab controversies in late 2013 and early 2014, there was alarm amongst the public, many of whom learned for the first time that the sector was unregulated.

These scandals forced the government to establish the Charity Regulatory Authority (CRA) and appoint a regulator.

The vast majority of service providers, professions, and trades, such as doctors, accountants, and solicitors, are regulated. Yet it is only now that the charity sector is being overseen by a specific designated body.

Charitable organisations must now apply to the CRA to be registered. It is an offence for an unregistered charitable organisation to carry out activities in the State, or to advertise or engage in fundraising from members of the public. The CRA has a critical role to play in ensuring public trust and confidence is maintained in the sector.

Cult of the personality

With many charities that get into difficulties, the founder has a strong personality that is left unchallenged. The lack of checks can cause irreparable damage to the charity.

The erosion of boundaries can be slow, subtle and silent. The absence of an effective and adequately resourced regulator has once again been highlighted.

If the necessary section of the Charities Act (part 4) had been enacted, the charities regulator would have been applying to the court to protect the assets of the charity and not the delinquent charity itself.

Empowering the charities regulator

The Minister for Justice has committed to enacting part 4 of the Act in September which will be most welcome.

This section will give the CRA real teeth to take action in cases of delinquent charities. For example, the CRA can appoint an inspector to investigate the charity. They can request the accounts and records from the trustees. They can enter and search the premises of a charity. They can also seek orders protecting the assets of the charity from the High Court.

The Minister also announced an increase in staff numbers at the CRA from 20 to 36. The CRA is currently under-resourced and understaffed. For a new charity wishing to be registered with the CRA, it takes from six to nine months before a case officer even looks at the application.

The Scottish Charity Regulator, established in 2005, oversees 23,500 not-for–profit organisations with a staff of 55. Scotland has a similar population to that of Ireland. There is a risk that the CRA will be not fit for purposes if it does not get the necessary resources to carry out its functions.

It is estimated that there are approximately 200 charities in Ireland involved in the suicide prevention area. There is also a high concentration of voluntary services involved in addiction.

A more regulated environment for the sector may force some smaller under-resourced charities to close or merge with similar charities.

This would be a good thing.

By getting rid of duplication, funds can be targeted more effectively and less needs to be spent on administration.

It’s not about the ‘charity’ but the people it is privileged to serve.

Lack of engagement from charities

Since the Governance Code (the code of practice for the voluntary sector) was launched in March 2012, only 895 organisations have signed up, and only 270 are compliant. There are currently over 19,000 non-profits in Ireland. These figures do not inspire a sense of commitment to change.

There has to be a balance reached between ‘hard’ regulation (enforced by the State) and ‘soft’ regulation (encouraging charities to sign up to voluntary codes of good practice). Hopefully, there will now be a better buy-in from charities to this voluntary code in the future.

Being a registered charity is not a right but a privilege which needs to be guarded jealously by the charities. If charities are not in a position to embrace the new regime of greater regulation and more public scrutiny, they need to ask themselves searching questions, and either wind-up or join forces with similar charities.

Work done by charities

The collapse of Console has put charities under a spotlight and at the centre of public debate. But it has also reminded us of the incredible and very often selfless work they undertake.

Where the State lacks the capacity and compassion to deliver key public services, the charitable sector fills this void. Approximately 68% of charities income comes from the State. The State recognises that charities can do a better job in the delivery of these services. There are also considerable cost savings the State makes.

We need to look critically at this crisis to ensure that this never happens again. This means learning lessons about the need for regulation and buy-in from the charities themselves to maintain our trust.

Cormac O’Ceallaigh is a solicitor specialising in charity law.

Read: Government gives regulator extra powers to investigate charities in the wake of Console scandal

Read: Console executives’ actions will make it harder to fund mental health services

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Seany Mc Donagh
    Favourite Seany Mc Donagh
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:12 PM

Cool. Fair play to her. Hope she enjoys her year doing whatever mayors do.

Mute Georgie Conway
    Favourite Georgie Conway
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:03 PM

Nothing and just watch the money roll in

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:11 PM

Pity about the Party she chose.

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:06 PM

lies what about that baby mayor in naas

Mute Giovanni Giusti
    Favourite Giovanni Giusti
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:27 PM

can you say “in these struggling times”? I feel like I am unlearning all my English

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:14 PM

Lol! You’re right… It should be “…in these times of struggle.”
    Hmmm, I have to second that sentiment voiced earlier- green party? *shudder*

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:26 PM

Me fail english? That’s unpossible!

Mute Helen Carleton
    Favourite Helen Carleton
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:29 PM

Good Luck to her!

Mute Amy Gillivan
    Favourite Amy Gillivan
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:18 PM

what an achievement and couldn’t have happened to a more bright and lovely girl

Mute Popsicle Pete
    Favourite Popsicle Pete
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:43 PM

Parks & Recreation anyone?

Mute Miriam Harkin
    Favourite Miriam Harkin
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:26 PM

Yes that was the first thing I thought of when I read the headline!

Mute Dominic Hoffmeister
    Favourite Dominic Hoffmeister
    Jun 12th 2012, 5:45 PM

Shows how downhill things are going when children are elected.

Mute Conor Declan Black
    Favourite Conor Declan Black
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:05 PM

Why shouldn’t young people be elected??? We are the future of this country!!

Mute PunchUinFACE
    Favourite PunchUinFACE
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:12 PM

And how are the adults thus far. Hope this is the start of a trend, too many oldies with a set way of thinking!!

Mute Itchy mcscratch
    Favourite Itchy mcscratch
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:34 PM

Yep,the older crowd are doing a great job aren’t they?…… Give the younger generation a chance to try dig us out of the shit the older generation have dug us into I say!

Mute Maureen Kelly
    Favourite Maureen Kelly
    Jun 13th 2012, 8:14 PM

Heard her on Colm Hayes this morning. She was very impressive!!

Some posters on here…uggghhhhhhh!!!! :(

Mute Marty O'Prey
    Favourite Marty O'Prey
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:24 PM

Congratulations Mayor Lonergan!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:14 PM

All well and good – but the Green Party??????? C’mon

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:10 PM

I see grammar isn’t a requirement of the job!

Mute Johnny Thunder
    Favourite Johnny Thunder
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:06 PM

Paul, I agree.

Unfortunately the standard of spoken english continues to drop.

My 15 and 13 yr old children tell me of their ENGLISH teachers who say things like ‘she done that’, ‘he was sat there’, and ‘I could have went’ as three examples.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:17 PM

‘Done that’ and ‘I seen that’ makes me want to blow a gasket!

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jun 12th 2012, 9:24 PM

@ Paul,

I think it’s “I see grammar isn’t a requirement for the job”! ;)

Mute Conor Declan Black
    Favourite Conor Declan Black
    Jun 12th 2012, 9:41 PM

Many of our politicians are teachers and where has that got us thus far??, its well known that a genius usually can’t spell, grammar won’t save the country from going down the tubes, leadership and innovation is what is needed

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Jun 13th 2012, 1:22 AM

Agreed Paul and Johnny. When teachers teaching English begin their lessons with such statements as ” Now here’s deh ting, deh correct pronunciation is dat dat ting over dere, is not deh same as dat ting over dere, then I will regain hope.

Mute David S Armstrong
    Favourite David S Armstrong
    Jun 13th 2012, 10:20 AM

To follow up on this (as we detract even further from the article).

I´ve always had a doubt on the ´I´m just after seeing/doing (something)´. A purely Hiberno-English construct?
    It´s how we were thought, but seldom heard aside from Irish speakers of English.

Oh, and yeah, fair play to her.

Mute David S Armstrong
    Favourite David S Armstrong
    Jun 13th 2012, 10:23 AM

It´s how we were “taught ” … that should be. This is what happens when you don´t use your native language in work anymore. :o

Mute Eamonn Dunne
    Favourite Eamonn Dunne
    Jun 13th 2012, 12:10 PM

@Johnny Thunder… Their “ENGLISH teachers”? I think you mean their teachers of english ;)

Mute Jonno
    Favourite Jonno
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:22 PM

She’d have right Craic down the pub with her big hold chain

Mute Jimmy Mc Phillips
    Favourite Jimmy Mc Phillips
    Jun 12th 2012, 10:49 PM

The best of good luck Darcy, you are a credit. Keep up the good work and ignore the begrudgers, hope that is spelt correctly.

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Jun 12th 2012, 6:33 PM

town mayor

Mute 1Vicki Walsh
    Favourite 1Vicki Walsh
    Jun 12th 2012, 8:41 PM

Fair play to her

Mute Ger Byrne
    Favourite Ger Byrne
    Jun 12th 2012, 8:17 PM

and the award for the most ”ridiculously stereotypical Hollywood Irish name” goes to………

Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Jun 12th 2012, 8:26 PM

Come on don’t leave us in suspense! Who?

Mute Sam slade
    Favourite Sam slade
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:30 PM

why not have some infant in a position like mayor? its a banana republic anyways. let her off. carrick is a hole anyways. interesting to read her views on migrants, as not that long ago they had the place terrorized with fighting and generally acting the bolix. good luck with that love. good point made about the so called adults running politics. good luck to her. I seen the ladies of her, I tawt she was lovely an all.

Mute Sluazcanal
    Favourite Sluazcanal
    Jun 12th 2012, 8:40 PM

You seem like an upbeat kind of person! Good for you.

Mute Chris Fogarty
    Favourite Chris Fogarty
    Jun 12th 2012, 7:41 PM

How much does a mayor get paid?

Mute Eoin Madden
    Favourite Eoin Madden
    Jun 13th 2012, 8:56 AM

Depends on the town. Probably no more than a regular town councillor, which is a couple of grand per year.

Mute Conor Stitt
    Favourite Conor Stitt
    Jun 13th 2012, 4:23 AM

Caoimhe Sloan is to be elected mayor of Navan next week and she’s 21.

Mute Bari Abdul Khan
    Favourite Bari Abdul Khan
    Jun 13th 2012, 6:33 AM

Nice to see Irish people are taking part in some thing meaniful … rather then just Fashion and useless media shite…..!!! GOOD LUCK to her in her career…

Mute Marian McAllister OHara
    Favourite Marian McAllister OHara
    Jun 13th 2012, 9:16 AM

Well done Darcy, dont mind the begrudgers, its time we had some new, young blood in politics, its the old boys in suits toeing the party line that got us into the mess we’re in. Best of luck to you in all your future endeavours!

Mute Roddie Cleere
    Favourite Roddie Cleere
    Jun 13th 2012, 8:11 AM

Ahhh begrudgery , thy name is Ireland

Mute Claire McGing
    Favourite Claire McGing
    Jun 13th 2012, 12:36 PM

It;s excellent to see an intelligent young woman like Darcy elected. So refreshing from the average male, pale and stale councillor. We need more like her in local politics.

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Jun 13th 2012, 1:51 PM

Go away with your sexism.
    This is the 21st century.

Mute Elrat
    Favourite Elrat
    Jun 12th 2012, 10:33 PM

I thought that it had to be a city that had an elected mayor , not a town.

Mute Bari Abdul Khan
    Favourite Bari Abdul Khan
    Jun 13th 2012, 6:34 AM

Nice to see Young Irish people are taking part in some thing meaniful … rather then just Fashion and useless media shite…..!!! GOOD LUCK to her in her career…also best of luck in kicking old greedy narrrow minded people out..!

Mute Sam slade
    Favourite Sam slade
    Jun 13th 2012, 1:04 AM

yeah, you CAN make a difference!!! woohoo!

Mute Eoin Coyne
    Favourite Eoin Coyne
    Jun 16th 2012, 1:10 AM

Just to put on record, I am the Ireland’s youngest ever Mayor when I was elected Mayor of Youghal last year at the age of 22. Might only be few months in it but I was still younger than Darcy when she was elected. Anyway, best of luck to her

Mute Atishoo Marvel
    Favourite Atishoo Marvel
    Jun 15th 2012, 6:24 PM

Is she also the only non democratically elected mayor in Ireland? Ms Lonergan was co-opted onto the council when the previous two “Greens” jacked in their seats. She has never been elected by the people. The original seat was won via local election. This person packed it in when something better came along. The seat then went to his sister. She too had bigger fish to fry, resigned and so Ms Lonergan took the seat. Young and female is just great. It’s the lack of public say in the matter that curdles my blood. Nepotism, thy name is local Irish politics!!

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Jun 13th 2012, 11:30 AM

Shaking hands and kissing babies.

You don’t need to be genius to be mayor.
    Just smiley and know what to say.

More Parks,
    More Guards,
    More Cleaning,
    More Money,
    More Jobs.

Vote for Me!!

*What’s the bets she gives up on her righteous cause to sit on they money train?
    €2000
    Odds are 1/9999.