You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Voices

Dr Niamh Shaw: Why space travel is much more than a billionaire’s pastime
Niamh Shaw
Extract: Irishisms - Craic, grand, yokes; what our words say about us
Denise Deegan
Debate Room: Charlie Flanagan and Richard Boyd Barrett debate Ireland's neutrality
Richard Boyd Barrett & Charlie Flanagan
Tom Clonan: Russia will now target more innocent civilians to achieve 'victory' in this war
Tom Clonan
'We saw things no family should ever see': Irish aid worker meets refugees at the border
Kieran McConville
Timmy Dooley: 'We cannot be shy about how many Ukrainian refugees we can accommodate'
Timmy Dooley
Money Diaries: A sales manager on €240K living in Dublin with her partner and their three dogs
TheJournal.ie reader
Larry Donnelly: Against a backdrop of war, Biden seeks State of the Union reboot
Larry Donnelly
Opinion: Imagining better days in hopeless times - tips for managing the stress of the world
Dr Trudy Meehan
Tom Clonan: The Kremlin’s war aims are slowly revealing themselves - here's what we know
Tom Clonan
The Irish For: The rise of Rían - the latest baby names in Ireland
Darach Ó Séaghdha
Opinion: Raising your children through Irish is the best way to learn the language yourself
Caoimhín De Barra
Opinion: Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has the Kremlin battling for hearts and minds at home
Cynthia Hooper
Opinion: Lockdown took me on a journey to film life along Dublin's North Circular Road
Luke McManus
Opinion: Russia’s invasion is a response to Ukraine’s pro-democratic and pro-western ambitions
Prof Hana Cervinkova & Dr John Paul Newman
Opinion: Ever heard of Baggotonia? Why I've made a film about this forgotten part of Dublin's past
Alan Gilsenan
Tom Clonan: Putin is waging a 1942 war in 2022, causing untold suffering and destruction
Tom Clonan
Opinion: I moved to Brussels after college and I'm not rushing back - Ireland is too expensive
Conor Brummell
Tom Clonan: By force or by diplomacy, Russia wants to re-take separatist territory from Ukraine
Tom Clonan
Mike Murphy: Why I’m supporting a call on the EU to ban trade with illegal Israeli settlements
Mike Murphy
Money Diaries: A 23-year-old social media manager on €32K living in Dublin
TheJournal.ie reader
Lynn Ruane: A mature society accepts that drug use is normal and does not punish addiction
Lynn Ruane
Larry Donnelly: Sinn Féin is now under a microscope because the party is on the rise
Larry Donnelly
Opinion: The new retrofitting scheme must move fast to make any kind of difference
Dr Wendy Rowan & Dr Stephen McCarthy
Opinion: The government's temporary measures are doing nothing to tame inflation
Victor Duggan
Opinion: Gender-based violence is a global issue we can no longer ignore
Caoimhe de Barra
Tom Clonan: The next 24 hours will be pivotal in the future of peace in Ukraine and Europe
Tom Clonan
Opinion: Our war on nature has led to climate change, biodiversity loss, and zoonotic pandemics
Gavin Harte
Money Diaries: A student on €13K working part-time while doing an internship
TheJournal.ie reader
Cliodhna Russell: 'I didn’t know what was ahead. I didn’t know how aggressive the cancer was'
Cliodhna Russell
Opinion: Are international doctors only here to fill the roster gaps?
Dr Liqa ur Rehman
Opinion: Divorce can be stressful financially, but there are ways to make it easier
David Quinn
Opinion: 'There are few intergenerational battles as charged as the quest for the mobile phone'
Eithne Shortall
Opinion: Galway in a climate crisis - not a single cycleway has been built in years
Gráinne Faller
Former AG of Israel: With great sadness I conclude that my country is now an apartheid regime
Michael Benyair
Ivana Bacik: Flexible work makes sense, so why is the government clinging to old ways?
Ivana Bacik
Opinion: Restrictions may have eased, but the pandemic is far from over for disabled people
Rosie Farrell
Tom Clonan: Will Russia stage a 'false flag' operation as a pretext to invading Ukraine?
Tom Clonan
Opinion: Hybrid work - is it offering the best or worst of two worlds?
Rowena Hennigan
Money Diaries: A 36-year-old working in pharmaceuticals living in the east of the country
TheJournal.ie reader