Take part in our readers' research

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Voices

Civil servants: 'Men are twice as likely to occupy senior positions as women'
Selina McCoy
'Why I gave 26-year-old Syrian refugee, Wassim, a room in my home'
Mary O'Reilly
Jackeen: 'A fellow who does very little for a living, and wants to do less'
Donal Fallon
Column: Naughty or nice? The science of Santa Claus
Keith Gaynor
'We underestimate the relief people feel when they get a mental illness diagnosis'
Grace Vaughan
Gardening column: How to keep hens
Michael Kelly
Gender based violence: 'Our outrage cannot be confined to Hollywood'
Dominic MacSorley
'Brussels spends our money on pet projects for which it has no mandate'
Malcolm Byrne
Ireland's food security: 'It's said that modern civilisation is three meals deep'
Mícheál Callaghan
€6.5 million apartments: 'These aren't the types of homes we need'
Senator Kevin Humphreys
'Snobbery and hypocrisy when some people in the 26 counties talk about 'The North''
James Cumiskey
'Maybe we should slosh our way through the forty days before Easter too'
Eunan McKinney
Brittle bones: 'It means that my bones break easily and I cannot walk very far'
Amy Hassett
Column: Celebrities shouldn't peddle misinformation about mental health
Amy Plant
Psychological abuse: 'He would criticise me, humiliate me and question my stability'
Patricia Tsouros
Life with MS: 'Not only was I now disabled, I was a disabled bride'
Rosie McCormack
Supermarket promotions: 'Down the road there is a ruinous cost to cheap food'
Michael Kelly
'Like the Trump White House, we don't have an independent scientific adviser'
James Lawless
Opinion: 'I find Christmas so false. It’s all veneer, folks'
Michael Fortune
Brexit: 'The DUP’s hardline policies could be the quickest road to a united Ireland'
Caoimhín De Barra
@campaignforleo: 'A powerful weapon in government’s communications artillery'
Amy Rose Harte
'You may not smell too good, and if they smell drink off ye at all, they’ll label you straight away'
Andrea Koenigstorfer
Opinion: Despite €67m spend we have poor management and a lack of accountability
Professor Christine Loscher
Hep C and me: 'I was nauseous all the time. I couldn’t gain weight. My skin was itchy and raw'
Patrick Gallagher
Eddie Hobbs: Is the global recovery fake?
Eddie Hobbs
14 cyclist deaths in 2017: 'Yet we victim blame cyclists who don’t opt for DayGlo clothing'
Ciarán Cuffe
Being an introvert: 'Don't let anyone tell you you're too quiet'
Pauline Dunne
GIY leeks and a dish that will chase away the winter chills
Michael Kelly
Opinion: How badly damaged has the Taoiseach been?
Larry Donnelly
HIV diagnosis: 'I went into a spasm of shock. My mother knew the result just by looking at me'
Anonymous
Obesity: 'We have gained one pound a year over the past twenty years'
Dr John Sharry
Speaking Irish: 'Even though I’m surrounded by English, it’s not my language'
Osgur Ó Ciardha
Emmerson Mnangagwa: 'A changing of the guard or a genuine fresh start for Zimbabwe?'
Sarah McCann
Tom Clonan on the Maurice McCabe email: 'I suffered a similar campaign of character assassination'
Tom Clonan
Opinion: We have an unacceptably high level of school suspensions and expulsions
Dr Áine Hyland
Sexual abuse: 'Did I consent? I was just a little girl, but yes, I let it happen'
Anonymous
'An old man had been taken into Garda custody for knocking on a door. ALONE went to his rescue'
Valerie Cox
Column: Hey Leo, we can't afford a €320K house
Eoin Ó Broin
Short story: 'When Blue Snowflakes Fall' by Eoin Dolan Lane
Eoin Dolan Lane
GIY: 'School lunches shouldn't be about wolfing down a sandwich in ten minutes'
Michael Kelly