You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Parenting Buckle up, this is going to get itchy... we're talking threadworms

Margaret Lynch tackles the unfortunate and uncomfortable subject of threadworms.

FIRST OF ALL, I want to apologise for what I am about to tell you. There is no easy way through this, and, honestly, I miss the person I was before. I was a person who could touch door handles without throwing up in my mouth, a person who did not know the average length of a worm in the intestine.

I was also a person who did not know multiple locations, both inside and outside of the body, that might be incubating worm eggs.

The awakening happened for us a few years ago, when the kids were small. A friend came over to visit along with her two kids, and all the smallies were doing that thing that kids do when you bring them to someone’s house, acting like they hadn’t eaten for months.

I don’t know what it is about someone else’s house that brings a hunger like no other in every small child, but I’m always relieved to see other people’s kids do the same thing.

parasites-under-microscope-and-boy-suffering-from-helminthiasis Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

As we were handing out packs of crisps and apples, their mam said “I cannot keep them full at the moment, I actually think they might have worms. I have the medication in my bag but haven’t given it to them yet”.

The emotion of this moment is difficult to articulate. Although my face remained impassive, every fibre of my body was screaming. My mind was in hell. Screaming, there was so much internal screaming.

Also wailing.

Shrieking.

Why us? Why now? Why our kitchen?

Guess who’s coming to dinner!

That was the day I came to know about worms. I mean, I had some age-old, misty memories of adults talking about worms 100 years ago in my own youth, but had somehow blocked it out.

Threadworms (pinworms) are the kind of subject that as an adult without children, you’d probably have the luxury of not having to contend with. But bring a couple of little munchkins into the world, and you’re bound to be faced with this horror, which will lead to an unwelcome but now familiar bi-annual question:

“Have we dosed everyone for worms yet this year?”

Pinworms are tiny parasites/worms that are transmitted from person to person (they’re very common in children) and once ingested, they set up home and multiply in your gut. You can live with them, many people do, but they cause irritation in the lower parts and can disturb your sleep, and if you ask me if they’re setting up shop in your stomach, then they’re taking the energy from your body. And guess what, they make your bum itchy and show up in your poo. There you go, now, isn’t that wonderful. 

You may have noticed poor Bridget Jones having to contend with them for her daughter in her recent movie, Mad About the Boy. In a chaotic insight into the world of a frazzled parent, the doctor had to dish out a dose of the annual treatment to stop the little mites. 

usa-renee-zellweger-with-mila-jankovic-in-c-universal-pictures-film-bridget-jones-mad-about-the-boy-2025-plot-bridget-jones-has-to-restart-her-life-after-her-husbands-death-directormich Bridget Jones, played by Renée Zellweger, had to run her children to the GP to get medication for pinworms, in her new movie, Mad About the Boy. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Pinworms are nothing new. When we were growing up, there seemed to be a cohort of older grannies or aunties who could spot a child with worms from afar. Something to do with a yearning for sugar, a runny nose, wetting the bed and a restless disposition. No, me neither.

Don’t ask me, but there always seemed to be a militant older woman around who knew about such things. Nowadays, there isn’t as much discussion or awareness of these (unfortunate) byproducts of being human. After all, aren’t we all modern now, living in spotless houses? Well, it doesn’t work that way, pile a load of kids into a room together, and it’s a smorgasbord of viruses, parasites and head lice. That’s just life. 

The ick

Back to our (human) visitors in the kitchen, I was calmly nodding along with the conversation while also making a mental note of every place their little hands were touching so that I could douse it in bleach after they left.

But they were little kids, so, they touched the entire surface area of the kitchen in seconds while I had a quiet existential crisis and wondered if there was anywhere nearby to rent a flamethrower.

I have never tolerated any type of insect well, and the thoughts of them laying eggs on my kitchen counters or living with members of my family is honestly enough to shatter my entire existence. I just can’t cope with that, and really, why should I have to? Shouldn’t these things be banished to a time when we didn’t have access to clean water and soap?

I will admit that I don’t tolerate germs very well. I’m not a germaphobe or anything, I just have a healthy fear of germs, like any normal person. I carry sanitiser in my car, I have one beside my bed, one in my gym bag, one in my handbag, on my keyring and a spare on my desk.

be-safe-and-sanitise-an-unrecognizable-woman-sanitising-her-hands-at-home Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

I also would prefer to eat my own hand rather than shake someone else’s, but I promise you, I am a very laid-back person.

Easy to be around. Relaxed.

Those are probably things that people who know me might say.

Anyway, the realisation that there are people in the world who could walk around, continue to live their lives, and visit other people’s houses, while knowingly cultivating insects inside them actually ruined my life a little bit.

‘Treat everyone, twice a year’

Later that day, after they had left, and I had scrubbed the top layer off of every surface in the kitchen, including my own hands, I called a different friend to vent. And what a can of worms (I do apologise) that conversation was. She thought I was the crazy one for not de-worming everyone in the house twice a year. 

As my life splintered into a before and after this dreadful day, I realised I was going to have to do some research. I wormed my way (last one, I promise) out of the phone call and began searching the internet for one of the worst things I have ever had the misfortune of looking up.

enterobiasis-is-a-infections-of-worms-enterobius-vermicularis-or-pinworms-which-affects-children-and-babies-a-toy-worm-with-some-diapers-and-pills Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Some hours later, after seeing utterly unspeakable things with my good eyeballs, I can confirm that yes, this is something we must deal with. The reality is that kids can pick up threadworms from touching surfaces with worm eggs on them, which is great because I would never let my kids touch any surface that might have worm eggs on it, but also not great because you can’t see them, so then every surface is a potential wormy egg surface?

These eggs are then passed from hands to mouths, where they go on to hatch and form colonies in your intestines. And is that the worst thing you have ever read? Because… same.

Being human

When my younger daughter was around seven, she made friends with a gloriously feral child from the next estate. They were two peas in a pod. The very first time I met this friend, she confidently introduced herself and then pulled a very dead and very dry worm out of her pocket and told me that ‘This is Fernando’.

Fernando, God rest his crispy little soul, took up the entire surface area of the palm of her hand.

Naturally, I preferred to not have poor dead Fernando in the house at all and encouraged them to bring him outside, so they waked him on an altar in the back garden with daily funeral services. They even made him a little burial gown out of leaves and daisies — obviously, this was before either child had a smartphone.

parasites-under-microscope-and-woman-suffering-from-helminthiasis-closeup Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Anyway, when I thought about threadworms, I tried to picture Fernando. But these guys aren’t like him. In fact, threadworms can vary in size from 2mm to 14mm. And if, like me, measurements and numbers mean absolutely nothing to you, I can confirm that 14mm is about the circumference of a one Euro coin.

You can have one threadworm inside you or multiple. The females are more likely to crawl outside at nighttime, and they can also lay eggs in your bedding, which can then be flung into the air when changing the bedsheets, and land absolutely anywhere. Are you itchy yet?

Symptoms to look out for include crankiness, nighttime irritability, and itchy bums, which is helpful because these definitely aren’t behaviours that almost every child displays every single day. There are other types of worms, like hookworm and filariae (eeewww), that can form colonies in the body through much worse entry points, but my therapist has said that I must actively deny their existence forever and never think about them ever again (I might be paraphrasing).

Now listen, if unintentionally ingesting invisible worm eggs that were scratched out from someone’s itchy bum makes you wish you were never born, I am in wholehearted agreement. And I have good news, which is that they are entirely and easily treatable through medicine available over the counter.

The HSE has further guidance on treatment and also how to remove the eggs from the household and includes fun new information about how the eggs can live for up to two weeks outside a body, and that you should rinse your toothbrush before using it in case any snuck onto there because nothing is safe.

But as much as I hated having to know about these things, they are a natural part of parenting that we do have to deal with them. And although we don’t want to think about it, it is much easier to sneak the treatment medicine into everything your family consume twice a year (mebendazole bolognese, anyone?) than to have to deal with an infestation.

The early bird and all that.

Now please, never mention them to me again.

Margaret Lynch is a mother of two and is parenting columnist with The Journal.  

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Housing Hunger Games
    Favourite Housing Hunger Games
    Sat 8:47 PM

The funeral is taking place for the bodies of 5 children who lay on the cold earth after trump issued a war strike on Yemen

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 8:54 PM

@Housing Hunger Games: and ?

Mute Mary Linton
    Favourite Mary Linton
    Sat 9:07 PM

@offside again: YAWN

Mute Housing Hunger Games
    Favourite Housing Hunger Games
    Sat 9:33 PM

@offside again: it’s a funeral, I wouldn’t expect the Right to have compassion about ethnic cleansing

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 9:46 PM

@Housing Hunger Games: left and right means nothing anymore in modern language. Unless you’re driving a car. We know where we are. We want to know where we are going.
    You should be ashamed of yourself bringing Gaza into this.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:51 PM

@offside again: “left and right means nothing anymore” a truly revealing sentiment. You don’t know enough to know that you know nothing.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 10:03 PM

@Louis Jacob: it doesn’t. What ivory tower do you live in ?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 10:05 PM

@offside again: No ivory tower. Books are cheap. Get off here and go read some.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:26 AM

@Housing Hunger Games: I’m sure the Islamic terrorists are reading your incessant, vacuous nonsense

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sun 12:39 AM

@Louis Jacob: can you recommend some ?
    Clown.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sun 12:47 AM

@offside again: Chicken Licken. The Penguin one has the best pictures.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sun 12:59 AM

@Louis Jacob: I thought a genius like yourself would have had something better

Mute The Rossie
    Favourite The Rossie
    Sat 10:24 PM

This was interesting , albeit uncomfortable reading . Don’t have kids myself but have nieces and nephews . So I find this lady’s articles interesting . If you’re not interested , skip them . No need to be nasty to her . Motherhood is significant to us all , none of us fell from the sky .

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Sun 7:22 AM

@Billy Meehan: I prefer laughing at saddos like you.

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Sat 9:32 PM

Worms or piles must affect some of these commentator’s, an unhappy lot.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Sun 12:18 AM

Thanks for the article Margaret. As a father of a 7 year old girl myself, I always find your articles a mix of good info with a dash of light-heartedness! Feck the begrudgers, keep ‘er lit!!

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Sun 7:58 AM

@Billy Meehan: Good man Billy. Father of the year no doubt. Or just another creep who comes on the Internet to find some meaning in their pathetic life by trolling people.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Sun 8:11 PM

@Brian M: I don’t know why he replies. He knows I have him muted.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 8:36 PM

What drugs is this lady on and should she be allowed to look after children, even her own ?

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Sat 9:04 PM

@offside again: Ok boomer (rolls eyes).

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:06 PM

@offside again: It’s a fairly box-standard children’s health piece written in an anecdotal way. Not for everyone, but I found it interesting enough. I’m seriously starting to wonder about you guys though. It’s not normal and kind of unnerving to get so upset about something as milk-toast as this. And it’s just pathetic to be so malicious about someone who’s putting themselves out there when you yourself would have the balls to do same. Check self a small bit and join the human race ffs.
    You could just say nothing.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:07 PM

@Anthony Curran: Definitely not a boomer. A young man living in his parents house more like.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:12 PM

@Louis Jacob: *wouldn’t have your balls (obviously enough)

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 9:48 PM

@Anthony Curran: what’s a boomer ?

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 9:50 PM

@Louis Jacob: chill out

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:52 PM

@offside again: go to bed

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sat 9:29 PM

Cases of scabies gone up since population growth, I wonder why Mr Herriott

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 9:34 PM

@Mr. Biggins: The “I do my own research” savants making their presence felt everywhere.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sat 10:07 PM

@Louis Jacob: I’d say you’re like that freak of nature, anti-Catholic Dermot/Setanta the weird lad

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 10:10 PM

@Mr. Biggins: Mmm.

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Sat 10:13 PM

@Mr. Biggins: Anyone who can read should be anti-Catholic.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sat 10:19 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: hi Dermot/Brenny/Chutes

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sat 10:28 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: people are entitled to their beliefs…its ok to be a catholic…each to their own as i say…i would highly doubt you would say anything anti islam…but catholics is fair and sectarianism is ok with you

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 10:31 PM

@kaidon sharkey: Maybe she’s just commenting on something she knows about. A novel enough concept to someone like yourself of course.

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sat 10:41 PM

@Louis Jacob: all religion is made up stuff we all live breed and die…its ok to have a belief no matter what religion…but to me people seem to be anti catholic can throw away comments with no push back but they wouldnt even dare to comment an anti islam comment

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 10:46 PM

@kaidon sharkey: Islam never did anything to me. I know very little about it. I have plenty to say about Catholicism though; good and bad.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sat 10:48 PM

@kaidon sharkey: In any case, I think Irish people have every right in the world to say whatever they want to say about the Catholic Church.

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sat 10:53 PM

@Louis Jacob: bad things happen in all religions bad apples are everywhere…my point is i wouldnt be so outright and blast anti catholic when there are good catholics out there just like there is good muslim people…tarring everyone with the one brush comes to mind

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sat 11:09 PM

@Louis Jacob: ‘Islam never did anything to me’ Grand so …
    What a clown comment.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:21 AM

@Louis Jacob: Islam has damaged your mind, Dermot

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Sun 12:25 AM

@Mr. Biggins: yeah, I’m the weird one. Accusing everyone of being a multi account troll, as if it’s so unreasonable more than one person could think you’re a complete dose. A lad who accuses others of bitterness, but is so driven by an obsession with a lad that doesn’t even post here anymore you created about 17 fake profiles on a review site to slate him. No, everyone that disagrees with you isn’t ‘Brenny’. You are just a massive feckin’ loser.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:30 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: lol, the response of a clown who can’t coherently reply

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Sun 12:32 AM

@Mr. Biggins: lol. The response of someone who can’t refute the truth.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:34 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: needy little lad, aren’t you? lol

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sun 12:35 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: is louis jacob and setanta o tool the same person? i think we just discovered a multi account user

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Sun 12:35 AM

@Mr. Biggins: i’m not the one upvoting myself. Lol.

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:37 AM

@kaidon sharkey: yes, I like toying with the dope

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:38 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: relax, little fella

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sun 12:42 AM

@kaidon sharkey: looked through the thread and mr biggins only replied to a louis jacob but some how a setanta o tool seem to replied to him…multi account in action

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 12:46 AM

@kaidon sharkey: of course, he’s only a little ball of excrement, more to be pitied

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Sun 12:49 AM

@Mr. Biggins: having a good time talking to yourself? I know who you would never talk to like that in real life. Anyone. 100% windy bolox.

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sun 12:52 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: seems to me you are talking to yourself….or just forgot to log out and log back in under a different username unless you r mr biggins also

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Sun 1:10 AM

Wow

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 1:14 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: are you getting angry and shaking? lol

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Sun 1:15 AM

@kaidon sharkey: I’m anti all religions, but as an Irish person, I’m especially anti the religion that destroyed our country for a century. Keep cheering on the child-abusers who incarcerated Irish women though.

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sun 1:35 AM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: that was then…they should all of been strung up…not everyone was destroyed by it and thats my point…do muslims go on oh isis did. this and al-qaeda did that…no they dont…people where abused and babies where burried horrific yes…but shouldnt tar everyone with the one brush…there is good people out there and all that is in the past time to move on…and i know some people may find it hard to….even though people still go on about the shinners and the troubles….im nearly 40 from the border and people on here still harp on about it like it was yesterday…but i never seen an once of trouble i know its hard for some people but tou cant keep living on the past the future is the way forward and how you make it

Mute Mr. Biggins
    Favourite Mr. Biggins
    Sun 1:36 AM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: ah, look who switched accounts, gobdaw

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Sun 10:16 AM

@Mr. Biggins: Report the obnoxious trolls, everybody.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Sat 9:37 PM

I breed tape worms in my colon. I got a starter pack of larvae on a raw pork chop. Now at family gatherings, I delight the room by holding a warm bowl of porridge up to my mouth in order to coax the mother tape worm up my larynx and pop her head out my open mouth to greet everyone. They all think I’m a hoot.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sat 10:37 PM

@Pól Pot: you wound not get a tape worm from pig meat, their rare indoors,unless it’s a free range pig. Tape worms live in the bowels and are mostly harmless and my prevent IBS. Household Pets are a good sourse of parasites. But you don’t want to get toxocariasis or TOXOPLASMOSIS, the latter from infected cats faeces.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Sun 10:22 AM

@P. V. Aglue: From a quick google search “tapeworms and pigs”.
    “…pigs also serve as the reservoir for the pork tapeworm, Taenia solium. Humans develop an intestinal infestation a er consuming undercooked pork where the tapeworm has encysted, shedding thousands of eggs in their stool which are, in turn, consumed by pigs, beginning the cycle anew.”

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sun 3:00 PM

@Pól Pot: From the colon to the mouth… makes sense :)

Mute Charlie Arum
    Favourite Charlie Arum
    Sat 10:11 PM

Jaysus…. Giv us a break.
    A real article would tell us how to prevent childhood cancer.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sat 10:56 PM

@Charlie Arum: you can’t prevent cancer. You can do things that will statistically reduce your chances of developing certain types cancer,and hope luck does the rest.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Sun 12:42 PM

Very interesting and insightful article.

I remember my mother dosing us all with “Syrup of Figs” absolutely vile stuff. A big spoon full and forced to take it, or “you’ll be grounded for a week” ha. I can’t be the only one to experience this. Hot milk and pepper and flat 7up were also used as some miracle cure for colds, flu’s, upset stomach etc etc etc, don’t even ask me.

Mute Sass
    Favourite Sass
    Sun 12:24 PM

Oh I remember the twice yearly cleaning out as my parents used to call it.. does anyone remember syrup of figs (shudder)