You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE NEWS MEDIA has been facing a tumultuous time, but there are some chinks of light emerging. Perhaps it’s a Trump Bump but news consumers across Europe and in Ireland are beginning to trust the media more and in particular the media they consume.
At the same time, the gap is widening between trust in the news media and social media. Some 72% of Irish news consumers trust most of the news they receive most of the time and 70% say the news industry does a good job helping them distinguish fact from fiction, according to the latest Reuters’ Digital News Report for Ireland.
There is some evidence over the past few years that the rise of social media has led to increased distrust of news media. The possible reasons for this are myriad but include the speed of dissemination of false news, the filter bubbles which social media can engender, and the algorithmic triggering of negative emotions.
Facebook
Given the ubiquity of Facebook as a purveyor of news this should encourage the social media giant to do more in terms of helping with fact checking, penalising fake news purveyors and tweaking algorithms to ensure users see a wider range of stories. We also know that the plurality of people do not understand the nature of algorithms and personalisation and indeed there are even questions as to whether Facebook does. But it also provides an opportunity for quality media to demonstrate their unique value and is a welcome platform to build from.
Today’s report found that globally only a quarter of global survey respondents think social media do a good job in separating fact from fiction, half the level who believe the news media do so. In Ireland and in countries like the US, and the UK people are twice as likely to have faith in the news media. Only in Greece do more people think social media is doing a better job, primarily because they have very low confidence in news media.
Brexit and Trump have had a big impact. Trust has fallen seven percentage points in the UK since the Brexit referendum. There are now valid questions around media practices of simply providing a platform of “he said/she said” to news consumers. More critical engagement and analysis is no doubt required.
Encouraging signs
But there are also encouraging signs. The New York Times added some 308,000 (net) new digital subscribers in the first three months of 2017, a record gain that has been partly attributed to the Trump presidency. The same is true of The Economist and The Washington Post among others.
In some countries, the report finds a strong link between low trust and perceived political bias and to a lesser extent commercial bias. In the US those on the political right are almost three times as likely to express distrust in news organisations that they see as being part of the “liberal mainstream media” oft touted by Trump. They are also much more likely to trust sources they use themselves, such as Fox News.
In Ireland these are not significant factors for most people and more Irish news consumers believe Irish news is free of undue commercial and political influence than the international average but people do still tend to trust their own sources rather than those they do not use.
Trust in media?
To unpack some of this we added some open-ended questions on why people do or do not trust media and crucially do and do not trust social media. Very encouragingly for Irish news media, three times as many respondents give reasons for trusting the news media as for distrusting it. And most people trust either because they believe in the professional standards, such as verification and sourcing and so on, or they simply believe the news media is generally unbiased.
The kind of responses we see are that “they have reliable sources”, “they back up what they say with evidence”, “they call out fake news” and so on. In terms of people’s reasons for not trusting the news the largest category was a belief that journalists were unwilling to reveal the news with typical comments that “there is a lot of scaremongering”, or “they reveal one side” or “they tend to dramatise everything”.
Interestingly, when we turn to the reason why people trust or do not trust social media we see that the pattern is reversed. Here we can see that 68% of people give reasons as to why they distrust social media while 32% give reasons to trust. Turning first to those who trust social media, the major reason is the belief that the news here is unfiltered and comes from ordinary people including their friends. However, this only accounts of 11% of those who give a reason for trusting or distrusting social media. Very few believe in either crowd sourcing and even fewer in the access it gives to multiple professional sources.
What this all points to is a possible realisation on the part of news media consumers that there is a difference between quality news and algorithmically generated serendipitous news on social media. If that can be built upon more widely that would be a chink of light for the beleaguered industry.
Jane Suiter is director of the Institute for Future Media and Journalism at DCU -fujomedia.eu. With support from the BAI, FuJo conducted analysis for the Ireland chapter of the Oxford Reuters Digital News Report (Ireland) 2017.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
FF paid out all the bondholders (who openly joked about how dumb this was) and transferred all the bonds to the ECB, so now there is only one, unburnable, bondholder.
How Germany was allowed to take her place again amongst the nations of Europe and the world again after ww2 I will never understand. They brought civilisation to the brink of collapse, organised the holocaust with typical German industrial efficiency and the numbers who died as a result of ww2 is at least 60 million! The country should have been dismantled forever
Simply because the rest of the world copped on that by making a nation pay for its total ills by bleeding it dry,caused the 2nd world war,and there is apoint in learning from mistakes. Plus a efficent,industrialised and well capable fighting Germany was needed as a bulwark against Soviet Russias militaristic aggression and expansion into East Europe .
I simply cannot understand the lame response by the EU with all the bugging of EU offices & Parliament as well as bugging Merkyl’s phone, if the Chinese or Russians had done this to America they would be a strong response & they would take it as an act of aggression!
The EU is a joke, its supposed to be united & strong, but really its weak, weak,weak!
America needs to be told if any more of this goes on it will be taken as an act of aggression & severe sanctions to be decided will be taken, the Yanks are laughing at our lameness & will continue Corporate espionage by their special services on behalf of the Govt & the spying of our leaders!
You’re right about the EU David. By it’s very nature, namely being a composite of many nation’s, it is and most probably always will be weak, as a political entity. There are too many varied interests at odds with one another. Why is there such a feeble response to the NSA spying affair, well it shows that regardless of the rights and wrongs of this affair,the US is simply to powerful and important to us as individual nations and as a collective under the guise of the EU. The EU craves to occupy this sort of political clout, that America clearly has, but I can never seeing it happen.
EUROPE IS AND WAS FROM ITS BIRTH A FAILED ENTITY!
We the Irish within a short few years of joining the EU went into a recession right through the 80′s into the early 90′s. Once Europe’s cartel took hold with its treaty’s we were plunged into false economies and the grips of Bankers and Bondholders. The initial concept and principles of the EU were put through the paper shredder! Consequently Europe collapsed and we were walked politely and obediently by our corrupt politicians within FF,FG,Lb into the Austerity quagmire. Where tens of thousands of our people have been submerged, while many many more hold our heads up enough to breath, no one knows for how long!
Europe and America are now in the barrel used to starve rats where both are beginning to turn on each other!
America is failing, all they really have is a puppet Government since Jimmy Carter was President, the President is controlled lock stock & barrel by Corporate funding, the pay back is sensitive information such as the bugs in EU offices being relayed back so companies like Monsanto can grind us down & have all our people eating their poison which they call food- look at Aspartame-Monsanto product used in every type of diet crap on the market!
We should use our brains & see that America is at its weakest in years, China & Russia as well as India are the countries we should be prioritising as trade partners- America is a tiny market compared to the export possibilities in these countries!
America is in steep decline, a strong & serious response with very public & high level open talks would scare the shyte out of a country that could be 20yrs away from Civil war!
Their strength is their weakness, yes tgey invest heavily with the EU which has nearly double the population of the US- they can barely balance a budget,the thought of trade sanctions would scare the life out of them, especially if we look at replacing US investment by cosying up to the multi billion populations in these emerging markets!
They are less significant in the medium term than many think! We should have a boycott campaign of US products-take away their Corporations income & others will replace them- thats business & the US is the Bully in the playground that stopped growing, time the bully got kicked back
What do you suggest we do? Set up an EU army? Maybe even an EU Intelligence Service? Thanks, but no thanks.
Now don’t get me wrong, David – I like the idea of a Federal Europe, but not with military capabilities. Because once you have an army, you start using it – like we see America doing right now, all around the world. Right now it’s more or less impossible for the EU to instigate a war against another country (it would require the unanimous approval of all member states). But if someone decided to invade us, we have the means to defend ourselves.
The EU won’t do anything because the EU can’t really do anything. It’s a paper tiger at best. Perhaps Merkel could shut down a few US military bases in Germany. That wouldn’t really hurt the US but it would send a very strong message to Washington. Will she do this? No she won’t.
I’m not defending what the NSA has done but most of what you’re saying is absolute nonsense. Do you really think starting a trade war with the largest economy on the planet would end well?
Yea sure and send the 420 US companys located here packing with 120.000 people added to the dole,and another 100.000 jobs in supply companys dependent on them, anti US crap on a grand scale, what a moron.
Russia is run by a rancid homophobe who needs to die and China has an atrocious human rights record, but I’m sure their “trade” will be way different to “the corporations”.
There is a lot going on in the background, you can be sure of it. Of course we don’t hear about it, but the European Union will without a doubt get back at the US for this. Don’t expect to hear about exactly what is happening. The EU is no pushover , America is in a very big mess, economically too.
@Go Tobann
Someone told me once that Jewish International Capitalism was behind Germany’s defeat in World War One. And at the same time, the Jews started the Bolshevik revolution – via Jewish intellectuals like Marx, and strategists like Trotsky et al. That was a cover story, so that they could deny responsibility for stabbing Germany in the back. Then the Jews started the Nazi party through the great Oscar winning Jewish actor, Charlie Chaplin. His convincing performance as the Austrian WWI veteran Adolf Hitler allowed them to take over the German government, and conspire with them to sacrifice 6m of their own to the Nazis to gain international sympathy for the state of Israel. This answers the question of where Hitler’s body is – it was Chaplin all along! But of course this all goes back even further to another Jew, Jesus Christ, who started all this stuff in the first place…
Do me a favour and don’t believe everything you read on Stormfront. Actually, better not believe any of it at all.
Not surprised in the slightest by all of this. I doubt the political elite are stupid enough not to know or suspect some type of surveillance of their calls, e mails etc. But by god this is good political capital.
I cannot believe that a powerful and well connected World leader such as Enda Kenny is not being spied on by the CIA….not even Eamonn Gilmore and his absolute staunch beliefs in human rights?
“I happen to be the Taoiseach of a small country, I think it’s an appalling situation if that were to be true, I always operate on the basis that the calls I’m making are all listened to.” – Enda Kenny.
That comment doesn’t even make sense. He’s surprised Angela’s phone is tapped but thinks his own calls are being monitored.
Either Enda is:
A) Talking shite
B) Has an over-inflated sense of self worth
or
C) All of the above.
Cowanwatch..great name that.. I think the answer to your question above is…. C !! but its nice to know the German “Kuh” is pissed at the USA , and dont forget a little bit of schadenfreude goes a long way !
It should open our eyes to the phone tapping and espionage carried out by the British MI5/MI6 for over thirty years on our Government. Thus with the benefit of such delicate information they must have influenced political decisions through the medium of the media concerning the troubles In the North. Sinn Fein party is a party that would be privy to such sinister forces in existence in our country, hence the term, “West Brits.” We only have to look back at a member of our Dàil, Conor Cruise O Brien a Labour Party member who removed all of the Board of RTE and we now have a politically controlled RTE. Conor Cruise O Brien later joined the UK party, O. Briens close friend is the journalist Eoghan Harris, those two individuals puts espionage and the term “West Brits” into perspective!
@al shamen. I sure hope you are right about Sinn Fein. Because the FF,FG,Lb parties are only puppets for the British,Europe and Americans. Hence they paying the Bondholders and the cartel that operate the Banks at the expense of Irish Citizens, primarily the working class!
We should not fool ourselves by thinking that members of the Irish government don’t have their phones bugged. If Ireland defaulted there would be a domino effect through out Europe and American investment would be at risk. Why do you think Merkel was patting our subordinate Taoiseach on the head?
SF is no different to the rest of the rabble.Look at the record in the North.Austerity budget,after austerity budget,while criticising FG for doing the same thing down here.
Ireland has been presenting its rear end for years to whichever powerful entity is prepared to invest in our economy.Our politicians are craven and are more concerned about our image in the eyes of our European ‘partners’(masters), than charting a course that is in the best interest for the Irish people.Democracy is a sham in this country.Every other European country has an anti-EU political party.Where is ours?Vote FF,FG,Labour,SF whatever,it really does not matter.The result is the same.
The finances in the North are coming from the British purse not from Sinn Fein as you are trying to imply! The British loaned the Irish government Billions, not because they were concerned for us but they were protecting their own investments.
Where did I imply the finances come from SF which is a ludicrous statement in itself?’Finances’ as you put it come from taxpayers not political party.But you’re right,the British taxpayer subsidises NI to the tune of billions every year.
Joey joe you can’t be serious, our economies are used and abused by criminals and cartels mostly controlled by the gambling Bondholders and Banks. They control the rest of us by using the most abused and exploited word in the English dictionary….DEMOCRACY!
All of the major world powers spy on each other. It is standard practice. The Germans, of all people, should not be surprised at other countries taking an interest in their affairs.
Meanwhile student group, europe v facebook, is launching a fresh attack on how deeply the social network was involved in the US spying programme.
It has won the right for a review of why the Irish data protection commissioner is not investigating the amount of European data shared with the US.
Commissioner Billy Hawkes has previously claimed that there “is nothing to investigate” over Facebook’s role in the PRISM programme.
Max Schrem, who heads the group, remains unconvinced.
“When it comes to the fundamental rights of millions of users and the biggest surveillance scandal in years, he will have to take responsibility and do something about it,” he said.
The fact that plenty of her fellow east German party colleuges who worked in the STASI are now working in both German intelligence services.who are busily intercepting German citizens emails,SKYPE calls and draining info from every EU countrys offices ,embassies and consulates in Berlin and Brussells.
Dont worry folks its not the US we have to worry about,its our EU friends and colleuges who are listening in on us.
Was Merkel’s phone really bugged all that time by America?
… It does not matter in a way. If the populace believe in these narratives, and feel that these intrusions are possible and that there is a all seeing cloud above their heads at all time, that is the key.
Its Mind control. An enforced obedience through imagined boundary-less access with the aim of getting people to police themselves. It has worked very well in larger disparate countries like Russian and China and recently America. Politicians’ only care is to control the population. These little narratives help this end, as they very subtly play on peoples paranoid side and subtle fears of stepping out of line.
For anything important – Am Post is great)
I know France has and this saving the world from terrorist attack bull America keeps saying is not necessary there it’s not their place, France intercepted at least 20 active threats with their own crowd as of 2008 probably more since but it’s not the grand US so not global news
Car stolen in Dublin recovered by gardaí during arrest of four teenagers in Cavan
Updated
24 mins ago
SIX NATIONS RUGBY
Ireland finish Six Nations with underwhelming victory over Italy
The 42
52 mins ago
Dún Laoghaire
Garda investigation under way after woman spits on Israeli man in Dublin hotel bar
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say