You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fianna Fáil dips in support in latest opinion poll

The Red C poll for the Sunday Business Post indicates Fianna Fáil remains the most popular party with a reduced approval numbers of 27%.

20/9/2016. Day 2 Fianna Fail Think Ins Eamonn Farrell Eamonn Farrell

FIANNA FÁIL REMAINS the country’s most popular party despite a fall in approval numbers according to the latest opinion poll.

The poll, conducted by Red C research for the Sunday Business Post, sees Fianna Fáil’s approval ratings standing at 27%, down two percentage points from the 29% seen in the most recent poll taken in July.

Fine Gael’s popularity stands at 25%, down one point, while Sinn Féin’s numbers have improved by two points to 15%.

Elsewhere, independent TDs have moved up three points to 10%, Labour is up one point to 7% popularity, the Anti Austerity Alliance / People Before Profit moves up one point to 6%, and the Social Democrats remains unchanged at 4%.

The main losers in the poll, other than Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael, are the Independent Alliance (down 1% to 4%) and the Green Party (down two points to 2%).

The poll is the first taken since a number of controversies involving the Independent Alliance took form, including its ministers voting against the government in August’s Dáil vote regarding an abortion referendum, and Waterford TD John Halligan recently  being at loggerheads with his cabinet colleagues regarding the provision of cardiac services at Waterford University Hospital.

Read: Pictures: Thousands throng Dublin city centre for pro choice rally

Read: Body recovered from sea by Doolin Coast Guard

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

96 Comments
    Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:33 PM

Lying to people will do that.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:57 PM

What lies did the AAA-PBP tell??

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:02 PM

Well they say paul Murphy cares about the ppl in Tallaght!
    He couldn’t give a rats about us!!!
    All about promoting Paul’s ego!

Good news on FF support going in the right direction!
    Pity so many still fall for their shit e

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:15 PM

Yeah Ciaran. Murphy charged himself with false imprisonment just to promote his ego. Cop on you eejit.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:32 PM

Ah billy,
    How’s things?
    Murphy is a clown
    Copinger is a clown
    In fact the whole lot of you are muppets!!!

Any word on coppinger givin up her teaching post yet?
    Or does talking about it not sit well with your socialist/Venezuelan policies?

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:12 PM

@Trevor Beale
    Enough talking crap from mehole, its time for action and he is not the one to trust.

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:12 PM

@Billy Mooney: Elitist Billy? You really shoudn’t debate on behalf of a party if you can’t stay above name calling

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:36 PM

I just tell it like I see it Sum.

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:15 PM

Completely agree with you about Paul Murphy…a caviar socialist if ever there was one..Joe Higgins was so much better to the latest crowd on the left

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:16 PM

Fantastic results for left wing parties in this poll Billy. Ye really have used the worst recession in history to present people with a genuine alternative to the ff/FG duopoly on government

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:20 PM

Get a life man your taking up space with your haha etc

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:24 PM

@Noel: I just tell it like I see it Noel.

Mute Paul Meade
    Favourite Paul Meade
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:59 PM

@nousername: Not a good poll for any of the parties other than independents and the sockies, who will be surprised the Donnelly departure hasn’t registered with the electorate.

Look at the news flow in the last month

1. Apple
    2. Jobstown trials
    3. Water protest on a sunny day

SF are at 15%, they were polling 18% before the election
    AAA are at 6% with their 3 biggest cards played

Will be interesting to see polls in a month

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:15 PM

@Paul Meade: I think considering those 3 points, it’s a good poll for FF/FG good point re the SD and SF are doing ok.

Percentage FG 25.5% FF24.3% SF13.8%

They are all up and that is bad news for the left (exc labour).

Mute Robert James Behan
    Favourite Robert James Behan
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:40 PM

Wally, You forgot the part where Paul Murphy charged his legal bills to the working class!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 25th 2016, 2:12 AM

25%…which is 1/4 the population.on other words 75% dos trust, dislike and want you gone

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:35 PM

The biggest scammers and chancers since the Pyramid Schemes of the 80′s.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:05 PM

@Stephen Duggan: Wait till the big spoof is revealed when they refuse to support a bill to do something they promised in their manifesto.

Mute Alan Wiley
    Favourite Alan Wiley
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:19 PM

There were some good pyramid schemes in the 00s also.

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:21 PM

@For Connolly: I suppose that you guys are fully in support of abolishing Irish Water – with the exception of Lynn of course.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:28 PM

@now-now-now: Still repeating the same spoof?

Off ya go now, post your spin……

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:38 PM

@now-now-now: Irish water will get a €660m bailout this year — More wasted TAX PAYERS money!!!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:37 PM

So nownownow … can you in anyway justify the capital and operational costs of IW when the UK have shown that metres dont conserve watwr bit only add peripheral cost. Or are just a cheap comment thrower?

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:15 PM

@For Connolly: Now now Jammin – don’t get upset when you hear the truth. Poor auld Lynn let the cat out of the bag!

Mute now-now-now
    Favourite now-now-now
    Sep 24th 2016, 11:13 PM

@lavbeer: What????

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:36 PM

Because they are dirty rotten filthy liars.Not suprised really….

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:46 PM

He looks like he’s driving the bus. Brum brum.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:44 PM

Its beyond belief that 27% would still vote FF. How thick are those people. Totally clueless.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:56 PM

And the twin at 25 means around half the country. Things haven’t changed much since election which should help the budget.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:37 PM

A party that brought in the troika, saddled us and future generations with a debt not of our own and ruined the country. Yes Eamon…theyre THICK

Mute Horses for courses
    Favourite Horses for courses
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:45 PM

Yes Eamon they are so thick just because they are loyal to the party.The party that drove us off the cliff at the expense of generations to come to cover banks and bonds.Apologies Seamus Og for jumping the gun answering such a stupid question but are we as a nation really that stupid to trust this treasonous party again…..

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:58 PM

True Seamus have to agree about FF but people are fickle
    Think of all the death and destruction SF/IRA caused for decades and yet people still vote for them Hard to understand

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:21 PM

@John003: Do you have any comprehension John of the reality of NI over the past 50 years? The festering failed state that produced inequalities so gross that the people rebelled. Yes there were horrors, more committed by the Unionist terrorists and forces of Ulster than by the IRA btw.
    Any comprehension that SF and the IRA led from the front on the ceasefire and that the UDF etc had to be dragged into it 2 years later.
    I’m not a SF or IRA supporter, but sweet jebus I like to bring logic and impartialty to a situation
    BTW = compare the transit of NI to that of the lionised Nelson Mandela’s SA.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:32 PM

Seamus Og. Agree, but you haven’t gone far enough. The bulk of them appear to be ignorant, certainly. Ignorant and reckless of the damage their preferences create. But it IS a deliberate vote. So they’re also malignant, a poisonous self-serving gang of crooks and mé-feiners. I used to think it was amnesia. But I now believe that’s too easy on them. They’re the footsoldiers in Mehole’s plans. And anyone who supports him is as corrupt and complicit as any fully paid up FF party member.

Mute theangrypotato
    Favourite theangrypotato
    Sep 24th 2016, 11:32 PM

Said like a true FFer Eamon, party first, country a very distant second. Anyone who is associated with FF should still be hanging their heads in shame

Mute theangrypotato
    Favourite theangrypotato
    Sep 25th 2016, 9:48 AM

Not surprised Ramon, the truth hurts

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:49 PM

Ireland really is a desperate place!! How can it be that a country full of very intelligent people prefer a political party who practically bankrupted the country and saddled ordinary people with rich people’s gambling debts, to other political parties? It’s almost laughable. It says more about the rest of them I suppose. Unless a few proper politicians, with no agenda other than making proper decisions that benefit the country’s long term future come along, we are doomed!!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:58 PM

Because we don’t want left socialists who love the social class

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:05 PM

Let me know where these very intelligent people hang out. I have yet to bumped into any of them.

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:25 PM

@Ben Gunn: People like to surround themselves with like minded people…..

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:30 PM

I believe it was the great George Carlin who said: “think about how stupid the average person is, and realise that half of them are stupider than that”

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:19 PM

Completely agree Rodrigo but the left wing politicians seem more interested in staying in small niche partys which allow them bluster complete nonsense

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:33 PM

@Gary Smith: A missed opportunity, but they all play the political game and you wonder who is actually trying to work in the best interests of the electorate.

Mute JL Pagano
    Favourite JL Pagano
    Sep 25th 2016, 8:22 AM

@Gary Smith: Nail on head.

Mute Sam Palmer
    Favourite Sam Palmer
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:37 PM

Cmon Micheál.
    Don’t make the same mistake as Enda.
    Scupper the thing while you’re ahead.

Sep 24th 2016, 6:43 PM

Is it possible that people are getting a bit of sense at last?

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:34 PM

@John….we can only hope!

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:53 PM

I still find it very hard to believe that Irish people are so stupid and have such short memories. Do people not remember what FF did to this County?

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:38 PM

Lies damaging them severely…

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan

If these or FG are ever voted in again, I’m changing nationality, and joining the Church of the Worthless Miracle.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:21 PM

Well you seek your membership form now because it’s a mathematical certainly that one or both of these parties will form the next government.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:52 PM

Unfortunately true, mickmac. Better get me prayer mat out and light a few candles.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:35 PM

Thank f(uk

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:20 PM

Water hypocrites and self serving gombeens!

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:23 PM

FF are so bent if they ate nails they would shite screws. Haughey, Berty, Lowry etc etc

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:11 PM

Lowly is not Fianna Fail

Mute Dec O'Farrell
    Favourite Dec O'Farrell
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:45 PM

@Eddie Byrne: Please don’t forget the Godfather of Greed himself, CJH – don’t EVER forget him and what he did.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:57 PM

It would be hard to trust them in government to be honest, they ruined the country and the same idiots are still leading the party to do it again. Let them sit it out for a few more years and they might learn something.

Mute Mick Mccomiskey
    Favourite Mick Mccomiskey
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:39 PM

All going as expected.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:05 PM

It’s dipped because we don’t know what Fianna Fail stands for.

Mute Alex Jones
    Favourite Alex Jones
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:34 PM

If doesn’t make a difference who are in,They are one more tax or scandal from being dragged out of Leinster house. We had scandal with FF,lies from FG and the most arrogant betrayal imaginable from labour they literally sold their souls,If labour pulled what they pulled in any other country I’d imagine there would of been Marshall law and revolution.

Mute DPentony
    Favourite DPentony
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:52 PM

On the verge of a radical left government. All those years of austerity & water protests really transferring into votes for the left.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:59 PM

@DPentony.
    Not sure how you reckon that theLeft is really going places. Total ‘left ‘vote (on basis of latest poll) gives the Left 34% if you include Labour or 27% if you don’t. Long way to go to form alternative Govt

Mute DPentony
    Favourite DPentony
    Sep 24th 2016, 10:22 PM

@Mary King It’s called sarcasm.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:11 PM

We all know that Fianna Fail will form the next government, it’s so obvious. That’s what happens when you have a moronic electorate.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:33 PM

FF play the game so well…

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:19 PM

FF propping up a government led by Enda Kenny well outside of his use by date new politics my arse !

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:48 PM

The longer they stay with this government the less support they will get.

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:05 PM

@@mdmak33: November I reckon, when the commission comes back on water……. I would also say that this is why they set their “new” stall out re water.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:36 PM

@@mdmak33:
    The biggest fear FG had going into this government was that only they would suffer the inevitable fall in the polls that being in government brings.
    I believe if FF are seen to take equal hit in the polls this government could go the distance.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:52 PM

Thing is FF have to grow to higher percentage quick. They are stagnant because they attract mostly elderly voters and they’ll dwindle out eventually.
    Besides they can’t afford the bill for Werther’s Originals each Ard Fheis. Time is ticking.

Mute Gary Smith
    Favourite Gary Smith
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:25 PM

I despise ff Peter but I disagree..their support will rise. There’s a substantial floating vote in this country and some of that will go to the party they believe will form the next government. Also in some constituencies ff would have won 2 seats had they run 2 candidates in last election..I find it sickening but unfortunately there aren’t any credible alternatives. This country drastically needs a left of centre liberal party which makes it more of a shame that the social Democrats won’t grow

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:16 PM

FF liars

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:30 PM

High 20s again for F.F. shows constructive opposition is working. Quite Impressive when you rarely see a commentator say anything positive about F.F.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:43 PM

@doorhandler: Constructive opposition would involve them opposing, albeit constructively. When in reality they aare propping them up in power. They’re fooling nobody except their most loyal supporters. We have a FF/FG led government with a handful of independents to make up the numbers so FF can control the opposition benches.

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:47 PM

What is to oppose? They agreed on everything beforehand.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:23 PM

That’s is your opinon F.C and like a lot of your opinions you express on this site you are totally wrong. F.F. do not have 27% loyal supporters in the country as shown in 2011. F.F. are the lead party in opposition in this country. You might not like the situation but it’s fact.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Sep 24th 2016, 9:25 PM

FG are in power because no party would support FF to form a government.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:07 PM

​​​​​Never vote for Fianna Fail
    A shaggin shower of Puckers
    They can puck a ball from Cork to Youghal
    But take us all for suckers

Never vote for Fine Gael
    In bed with all the Banksters
    They’ll max your tax and fill their sacks
    Like Chicago gangsters

What about poor Labour
    Now a washed out amphibian
    Would you do them a big favour
    And vote them into oblivion 

Never Vote for Sinn Fein
    You’ll regret it, there’s no doubt
    ‘Cos if you ever let them in
    You’ll never get them out

How about Renua
    Headless chickens in the coup
    They’ll get eaten alive, and not survive
    The puckers ‘ll have their bones for soup

So Donald’s left, you know he’s right
    He’ll build some mighty walls
    A vote for Trump gives some the ‘ump
    But at least he has the balls.

https://www.change.org/p/unfair-car-tax-law

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Sep 25th 2016, 1:31 AM

Brilliant!☺

Mute nousername
    Favourite nousername
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:42 PM

They all lie – it’s the game they are in. But FF do it so well. That they managed to get the result they got in the recent election, shows that. Sometimes it all goes back to the devil you know. FG – please, Labour – no – and the left who can’t even get on which each other? Hmmmmm.

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:36 PM

Me thinks it’s time for a few Pirates…Yar!

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:45 PM

I can’t believe how they have 1%

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:03 PM

Please stop telling the truth in opinion polls! Make them worry, then the buggers might work for our best interests! And stop voting for the status quo. Terrible malarkey altogether.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:26 PM

Face on him like we’ll slapped arse

Mute Jim Clarke
    Favourite Jim Clarke
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:42 PM

Goes to show you can fool some of the people all the time

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Sep 24th 2016, 7:25 PM

That news has ruined my week-end….would you believe…..feel a severe bout of sceptism coming on….

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Sep 25th 2016, 1:21 AM

A populous party who destroyed our country….sleeezely waiting for FG and co to feck up ago they can mooch in.Think of the day when you met your lover, and some cheapskate tries to move in…..that’s Fianna Fail.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 25th 2016, 2:05 AM

Time to ban school teachers from politics???

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Sep 24th 2016, 11:12 PM

SDs and Greens should amalgamate. They could eventually take over from Labour as our main centre left party.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 25th 2016, 2:05 AM

@James Xenophon: Remember when the Greens were in government last?

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy

Please God let the masses never forget what this lying, power hungry excuse of a political party ever get into office again…!!!! They have ruined the future of my children and my grandchildren.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Sep 24th 2016, 8:31 PM

Please God the masses will never again vote in this lying, power hungry excuse of a political party..!! They have ruined the future of my children, my grandchildren and my country…!!!

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Sep 24th 2016, 6:51 PM

Please God let the masses never vote in this lying, power hungry excuse of a political party ever again..!! They ruined the future of my children, my grandchildren and my country.