You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fancy red carpet to be put down on Ha'penny Bridge to mark 200 years

Relatives of the bridge’s designer and the man who commissioned it will take part in a ceremony later today.

shutterstock_133880780 (1) Shutterstock / littleny Shutterstock / littleny / littleny

IT’S THE arching glory at the centre of Dublin, and today the Ha’penny Bridge will turn 200.

The structure has been helping Dubliners cross the River Liffey since 1816, and still looks pretty much the same as it did when it was built in Georgian Dublin.

The bridge, as anyone in the know will tell you, is officially called the ‘Liffey Bridge’ – but took on its adopted name due to the halfpenny toll that was in place for the first hundred years of its existence.

To mark the occasion, Dublin City Council is pulling out all the stops – and a ceremonial crossing of the bridge ceremony is scheduled for later today.

So what’s happening today?

In honour of its birthday, the bridge will be dressed with a fancy red carpet and floral display.

shutterstock_63402568 Shutterstock / Tyler Olson Shutterstock / Tyler Olson / Tyler Olson

Relatives of former Lord Mayor John Claudius Beresford, the guy who commissioned the bridge, and John Windsor, the engineer who designed it, will also be putting in an appearance.

“At the time, it was at the forefront of technology and would have been a statement that Dublin was a forward looking city,” said David Windsor, great-grandson of designer John.

I’m grateful that the people of, and visitors to Dublin have taken it to their hearts and that the city of Dublin has cared for it for future generations to use and admire.

Back when the bridge was first built it was to take the place the ferry that had been used to get the city’s residents from one side of the river to the other.

Around the turn of this century, the structure was looking a bit shaky, and in 2001 a major restoration project was undertaken.

The €1.8 million restoration saw the bridge restored to its full glory.

The north-south bridge crossing will take place at 12.30pm today.

Read: These lads used Dublin as a jungle gym, got caught by the Gardaí, and filmed it all

Also: Here’s the new plan to stop people putting love locks on the Ha’penny Bridge

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 19th 2016, 10:02 AM

Wow the amount of bitterness, it’s a 5 minute ceremony that probably cost €100 and will generate, media publicity and advertising. Nice to celebrate these things, it’s ok to be positive sometimes

May 19th 2016, 11:16 AM

I wonder will the toll bridge be as loved in 200 years time?

Mute MackPilon
    Favourite MackPilon
    May 19th 2016, 11:18 AM

I was born near the bridge but the comments so far have put me off sharing my simple stroy

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    May 19th 2016, 1:03 PM

Wayne

For many on this sight positivity is a horrible concept, begrudgery and negativity are the forms, I expect a huge amount of red hands, it is after a social media site.

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    May 19th 2016, 1:19 PM

Don’t mind the bold boys MackPilon, let’s hear your simple story – and it better be simple!

May 19th 2016, 10:54 PM

Deborah, by that stage man will have destroyed himself and Dublin will be under 100 meters of water then?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 19th 2016, 9:47 AM

A brilliant piece of engineering in it’s day and to stand the test of time should be an example to modern architects…..

Mute Brian Lowe
    Favourite Brian Lowe
    May 19th 2016, 11:13 AM

It’s just cast iron pieces riveted together. It wasn’t terribly special then. But it looks incredible in a way right now.

Mute Uncle Denise
    Favourite Uncle Denise
    May 19th 2016, 11:34 AM

Haha, nice bubble burst there Brian

Mute Dave Field
    Favourite Dave Field
    May 19th 2016, 9:51 AM

Can we give the bridge a special protected status to move people from loitering/leaving cardboard there? I don’t mean to sound callous but there are plenty of other places in the city. It is one of our monuments to be fair.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    May 19th 2016, 10:03 AM

I’ve literally never crossed it without a beggar in the middle. Since the homeless crisis started there’s been at least two.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 19th 2016, 10:23 AM

That really is a case of 2+2=5. The law changed stopping the gardai from being able to stop people begging. That increased the amount of people begging way before any housing crisis. The homeless problem is not the same as people sleeping rough who mostly have issues like substance abuse

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    May 19th 2016, 10:43 AM

You dont nessecarily want to crimnalise begging either. On occassions though they do block a significant part of the bridge which could be a health and safety issue

Mute Molzer
    Favourite Molzer
    May 19th 2016, 12:47 PM

They won’t need cardboard if they have carpet,

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    May 19th 2016, 1:43 PM

It really is ridiculous. Tourists taking pictures on it beside not one, but two homeless people asking for change.

I understand these people need help but at the same time I think something like the Ha’penny bridge should be kept clear

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    May 19th 2016, 9:39 AM

The homeless will love this, a red carpet!

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 9:41 AM

It’s not about them.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    May 19th 2016, 9:54 AM

You have a point John. The homeless probably won’t be in the mood to sing happy birthday to a bridge. It being an inanimate object and all that.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    May 19th 2016, 10:19 AM

Inanimate carbon rod

Mute Ciaran Pollard
    Favourite Ciaran Pollard
    May 19th 2016, 9:42 AM

Relatives of the bridge’s designer and the man who commissioned it will also … … … ???
    Come on Journal, the suspense is killing me!

Mute Lorcan Bosanquet
    Favourite Lorcan Bosanquet
    May 19th 2016, 9:52 AM

…be put down (like the red carpet)

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    May 19th 2016, 9:54 AM

….and of course all the ‘ordinary’ folk who use the bridge on a regular basis will be kept at bay while the elite get to walk the red carpet! We couldn’t allow them to sully either the carpet or the occasion by walking on it.

Mute Craig Lynch
    Favourite Craig Lynch
    May 19th 2016, 11:07 AM

Little comfort to the homeless people who sit on it.

Mute Neil79
    Favourite Neil79
    May 19th 2016, 9:58 AM

I take it Donald Trump is visiting our Capital , red carpet on the bridge , what next harps , shamrocks & leprechauns !

Mute Gerry Fitz
    Favourite Gerry Fitz
    May 19th 2016, 3:11 PM

It was once the only bridge in Dublin that “spanned” the Liffey.

Mute Grainne O Carroll
    Favourite Grainne O Carroll
    May 19th 2016, 1:21 PM

Any photo of the red carpet to go with the story about the red carpet?

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    May 19th 2016, 1:42 PM

Walked across it many times. It’s a handy bridge.

Mute Neil79
    Favourite Neil79
    May 19th 2016, 10:24 AM

Here here John Campbell , a mirror image of the 1916 celebrations

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    May 19th 2016, 1:38 PM

It’s not wheelchair accessible but it’s still a beautiful & historic bridge.

Mute Killian McManus
    Favourite Killian McManus
    May 19th 2016, 6:13 PM

Could we give it a lick of paint for its birthday present??

Mute Brendan Duffy
    Favourite Brendan Duffy
    May 19th 2016, 5:58 PM

There are plenty of pictures of the 2001 restoration on the ppt link here: http://www.dit.ie/newsandevents/news/archive2016/latest/title,129779,en.html

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 19th 2016, 10:24 AM

When they “repaired” the bridge they really just replaced it with a similar design.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 19th 2016, 11:22 AM

I am guessing people are red thumbing because they don’t believe me? The new bridge is a higher arch hence it now has steps on the bridge now. Look at the metal work and it is all new not cleaned original metal. It is a new bridge.

Mute Patrick Tangney
    Favourite Patrick Tangney
    May 19th 2016, 11:44 AM
    Mute Karl Patchell
    Favourite Karl Patchell
    May 19th 2016, 12:05 PM

Like Triggers broom with its 17 heads and 14 handles

Mute Joe Keogh
    Favourite Joe Keogh
    May 19th 2016, 3:10 PM

It took two years to build and cost £3894 seven Shillings and eleven pence. The lease was for 100 years .A lot of 1/2 pennies earned in 100 years .Johnny Beresford the lord mayor and Willie Walsh the ferry man were the men who promoted the building of the bridge,and some people say Hector Grays .
    great grandfather had an interest in it.

May 19th 2016, 10:52 PM

And no beggers or padlocks???

Mute Patrick O'Fearghail
    Favourite Patrick O'Fearghail
    May 19th 2016, 9:43 AM

I wish the council would chop off all those locks that tourists are locking to the frame and stop beggars .