You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Get tickets for Redacted Lives: In Conversation, a live panel discussion on mother and baby homes

A live event to further explore the stories told in the Redacted Lives podcast.

RL banner

NEXT WEEK, OUR readers are invited to join as The Journal podcast host an intimate live panel discussion and Q&A on the themes, stories and aftermath of the podcast.

Redacted Lives follows the experiences of mothers who ended up in institutions because they became pregnant outside marriage, as well as people born into the system. 

In the setting of the Dublin’s Pearse Centre, Redacted Lives: In Conversation will revisit the stories at the heart of the Redacted Lives podcast, which follows survivors of Ireland’s notorious mother and baby homes, as they search for answers, truth and justice. 

The panel will feature Órla Ryan, host and creator of the podcast, as well as Terri Harrison and Mary Harney, whose stories of survival and struggle to find truth and justice after their time in the mother and baby homes have now been heard by thousands of listeners. The discussion will be moderated by Sinéad O’Carroll, editor of The Journal

TD Holly Cairns, who has frequently spoken about the issue of redress for mother and baby home survivors, will also join the panel. 

The evening’s discussion will be followed by an opportunity for audience members to engage in a Q&A session with panellists. 

The event will take place on Thursday, February 16, with doors opening at 6.30pm and the panel beginning at 7pm, running for approximately 90 minutes. While the event is free, space at the venue is limited, so you will need to secure tickets in advance.

Tickets Redacted Lives: In Conversation will be distributed on a first-come, first-serve basis. In order to request tickets, email redactedlives@thejournal.ie with your name.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute James Mitchell
    Favourite James Mitchell
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:09 AM

Wishing everyone a happy and safe day! ♥️

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:19 AM

Happy Pride All! Have a great day!

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:49 AM

Send on that link will you?

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:00 AM

Very good, I assume there is a spike because people get more information during pride and are aware of supports?

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:02 AM

There’s usually a spike in STD testing around the pride period.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:04 AM

Nice bit of trolling there,Stephen !

Asking Machiavelli for a source/link .
    Good one! Oh wait,you didn’t ask for a credible one.Damn!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:20 AM

Machiavelli alarming spike in diabetes after Christmas. http://www.spectator.co.uk/2014/04/why-id-rather-have-hiv-than-diabetes/

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:24 AM

Yes, because it’s encouraged within the community.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:34 PM

There’s a spike in demand for the morning after pill the day after an international fixture is played in Dublin. Lies, damned lies and statistics

Mute Arthur O'Neill
    Favourite Arthur O'Neill
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:52 PM
    Mute F.O.R.A.
    Favourite F.O.R.A.
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:05 AM

Any parades for straight people?

Mute Barry Scott
    Favourite Barry Scott
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:22 AM

Organise one.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:28 AM

There’s are parades on the 12 July in the north for orange folk if you’re interested. They seem like pretty straight up guys

Mute F.O.R.A.
    Favourite F.O.R.A.
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:33 AM

Don’t be such a plonker..

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:09 PM

Calm down kid. You’re seem to be getting very defensive on an article about gay people

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:16 PM

There was a big one on 17 March, I think. Snakes and flowers and stuff… I’m sure they’re a metaphor, or something.

Mute Zaphods Other Head
    Favourite Zaphods Other Head
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:30 PM

If they added a H in there then it would be purely inclusive. Simple. True inclusivity and equality. LGBTQH spells sexuality. Why self-ghettoise any more? It’s all about equality.

Mute F.O.R.A.
    Favourite F.O.R.A.
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:32 PM

it shouldn’t be about gay people it should be about equality

Mute Zaphods Other Head
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:53 PM

The Otherkin can have their own parade though. Loppers.

Mute Zaphods Other Head
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:53 PM

*loopers

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:44 PM

@Tweety: Fake tan parades?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:19 PM

Eh, pretty sure straight people can go to Pride, much like Spanish people can go to the paddies day parade. Don’t they have some kind of parades for winning sports teams? Some people just love a little moan about nothing.

Mute Machiavelli O'Reilly
    Favourite Machiavelli O'Reilly
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:46 AM

Why is this still a thing? I voted yes and presumed all these parades would be a thing of the past.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:50 AM

“and presumed all these parades would be a thing of the past.”

That’s because you’re an idiot.

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:50 AM

I know.
    We had the Good Friday agreement yet the Unionists are still at it too.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Wesley Quinn
    Favourite Wesley Quinn
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:58 AM

You just have to read the comments and look at the red thumbs in here to realise why there is still a need for pride events in Ireland.

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:02 AM

Extrapolating statistical evidence from the Journal comments section Wesley?
    **BIG MISTAKE**

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:03 AM

True, nearly 40% voted against iirc. A lot of backward, draconian morons around who feel they should be dictating the beliefs of others. Small minds who live in their little religious bubble until they die. Sad.

Mute Keano
    Favourite Keano
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:22 AM

You’re quite the hate filled bigot, aren’t you oldschoolcelt

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:33 AM

Nope Keano, just anti stupid and religion produces a lot of idiots, but you knew that, didnt you?

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:48 AM

That’s your problem A.C. learn to live with it

Jun 25th 2016, 11:59 AM

That’s you problem A.C . Not ours.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:05 PM

Hate filled and bigoted ..that’s liberals for you

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:17 PM

It is one thing to have a parade, it’s another thing masquerading and groping one another playing victimhood on a public street.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:24 PM

You don’t have to go to the parade. People are so “me me me me, what about me, I don’t want it, I don’t like it, wah wah wah, me me me” YOU DON’T HAVE TO GO. I’ve never been to a Bon Jovi concert because I can’t stand Bon Jovi, doesn’t mean I want all Bon Jovi concerts stopped so culture can align directly to my tastes. Because that would be mental.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:05 PM

You are a bundle of joy,Marion ..Not!

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:15 PM

We all thought it would be a thing of the past, apparently not.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:17 PM

exactly and then they try to say it`s nothing more than a St Patricks`day parade, never saw one doing that.

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:57 PM

Marion is a “human rights activist” or something along those lines .Hilarious.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:20 AM

‘We all thought’ – no we didn’t, Patrick.
    Shame on you for your prejudice and hate. The world has enough of both. I hope one day to live in a country where disgusting attitudes like yours are a thing of the past..

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:37 AM

Marion – you could be off playing more solitaire instead of sucking joy out of the world

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:12 AM

‘Tens of thousands expected ‘
    (couple of hundred)

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:24 AM

Your sky fairy wouldn’t approve, ‘Adam’… but wait…he’s a figment of your imagination anyway.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:36 AM

Tens of thousands, Adam. Same as last year. Why not come in? There’s a great atmosphere of positivity and celebration. It might take a bit of the grey out of your face.

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:46 AM

No thanks.
    I’ve better things to do with my time than spending the afternoon watching overweight Irishmen in lederhosen and feather boas with whistles in their mouths surrounded by groups of obese women in leather biker outfits passing out clitoris-shaped lollipops to horrified onlookers prancing up and down O’Connell Street screaming ‘I’m Here – Love Me’.

Mute Colm Durkan
    Favourite Colm Durkan
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:55 AM

Your picture looks like a political statement for a gay utopia in Europe. Cheers for the support

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:55 AM

Yet remarkably ‘Adam’ you found time out of your busy praying schedule to show your disdain online! I’m sure your God would be proud, if he were real. You can tell him all about it in Sunday prayers, I suppose(incidentally, don’t they teach you thats his day off?)

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe

Actually I’m quite secure in my philosophical viewpoint.
    I don’t need ‘gay friends’ to validate my existence.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:09 AM

And God created Lott who rode his daughters, not his sons.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:10 AM

Ok so I won’t expect you then, Adam.

I was there last year – I was pleased to see the people lining the streets smiling and cheering in support. Nobody was horrified.

Perhaps you’re thinking of the 1950s ?

Mute Adam Smythe
    Favourite Adam Smythe
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:14 AM

Doubt very much if the new Minister for Children will do anything about the public indecency though.
    Actually she’ll probably be floating by herself.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:15 AM

AC,wrong way round pal. Man made God, I think you’ll find.

Jun 25th 2016, 11:30 AM

Isn’t jellisey one of the deadly sins. Adam. Be careful now your god won’t be happy with that carry on.

Jun 25th 2016, 11:38 AM

What are you raving about A C .shur wasn’t jesus himself gay and in a romantic loving relationship with the disciple John. He loved all of his disciples. But referred to John as his beloved one. not once but six times in John’s Gospel. What was that all about?

Jun 25th 2016, 11:46 AM

Public indecently Adam? 80 to 100 thousand people between marching and spectators with a half a dozen men in swimwear is hardly public indecency. God forbidden you ever bring kids to the sea side on a warm sunny day. Lol

Jun 25th 2016, 11:49 AM

James come on its public indecency, I was in town with my brother and his kid last year and we spent most of the day exploring to the children that it was “part of gay people’s culture” to walk around in broad daylight with their arse cheeks out.

Jun 25th 2016, 11:49 AM

*explaining

Jun 25th 2016, 11:57 AM

Really I was also in town last year. I watched the entire parade and didn’t see one person with their arse cheeks out. Me thinks you are telling lies there .

Jun 25th 2016, 12:04 PM

See you all later. I’m off to the parade. I’m sure Jesus and his beloved husband John will be smiling down apon us.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:18 PM

No need to use balloons to bump the numbers up either!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:20 PM

I bet you spent a load of time “exploring” around the pride parade Machiavelli! Getting a good long look at those arseless chaps and defined pecs… although, I took you more for a bear fan.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:21 PM

Why, Machiavelli?

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:12 PM

Just ignore the bullying Adam, they can`t tolerate free speech as you can see by the remarks, everyone else knows what you are referring to though, as they have seen, and experienced it for themselves.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:38 PM

you obviously can’t tolerate free speech either, Patrick, if you throw your toys out of the pram at the first sign of someone disagreeing with you!

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:31 PM

Patrick, you misunderstand what freedom of expression is. It is the freedom to express- by speech or any other reasonable means, without the worry of being prevented from doing so. It is not freedom from the reasonable consequences that follow after speaking. Disagreement, offence, counter-argument, these are all just as valid and reasonable responses to an expressed opinion as agreement.

Reacting by preventing further speech would justify your cries of “oppression”, but as you can plainly see, Adam (and you) are still able to speak, though it’s not doing either of you any favours.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:15 PM

I was at Pride today., There was much gaiety and fun but nothing that would have offended the sensibilities of my conservative 93 year old aunt.

I saw no bare bottoms or anything that would have driven me all Victor Meldrew.

By the way, I would not have been bothered by bare bottoms or overt display of sexual identity. I don’t feel the need to get all indignant and hot and bothered by how other people dress.

I’m sure that my own middle aged paunch might turn a few stomachs but no one at the parade took issue with me over my less than attractive appearance. They seemed too busy enjoying themselves to be obsessed by how other people dress or their body image.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:45 PM

Well Adam I went and there were tens of thousands. Families, parents, young and old. Tens of thousands of them celebrating and having a great day. Sorry you missed it. Maybe next year

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:38 AM

I see you’re hiding behind a false Facebook account, Adam. Why is that?

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:43 AM

Patrick is also hiding behind a false Facebook account. Big man.

Mute jonathan masterson
    Favourite jonathan masterson
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:30 AM

Zzzzzzz

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:38 AM

But you not only read the article, you took the time to comment on it.

Telling.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:58 PM

Martin it’s also telling that on LGBT articles when anyone pulls someone up for calling for an end to the publication of these articles saying they are sick of them or otherwise showing their disdain, the person calling them out usually receives a heap of red thumbs, while people tend to agree with the person who complains about the article. Yet when someone expresses boredom on articles with a topic such as Irish Water or politics, the person who points out that they didn’t have to read it usually gets a majority of green thumbs

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:30 AM

Indeed – it’s telling me that bigotry is a motivator.

For any LGBT kids looking at these comments and thinking that they represent attitudes in the real world – don’t worry, they don’t. There are a few weirdos who rush to spill out their bile on every article about LGBT people. Ignore them, and maybe spare some time to pity them if you want.

Notice too that the worst of the bigots are too cowardly to use their real names. That’s typical pathetic bully behaviour.

Mute Ace
    Favourite Ace
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:43 AM

Can you imagine what would have happened if you tried to shut down Dublin city 20 years ago for a pride parade ?

Its a great sign of the way we have come.

Good luck to everybody today.

Mute Ryan Kelly
    Favourite Ryan Kelly
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:47 AM

It actually is disturbing how negative some people are towards this. The parade is literally to celebrate the LGBT community’s fight against oppression and hate. Just remember that not so long ago homosexuality was illegal in Ireland. Yes even I think some LGBT people go over the top with some of it but that’s a small minority of that community. Events like these give courage to people who struggle to come to terms with the fact that they’re LGBT. For people who say “where’s the straight parade?”, we should be thankful that there is indeed no need for a straight parade. If you’re straight, no one bats an eyelid. If you really don’t like pride etc, please just ignore and please just let the LGBT community express themselves for at least this one week!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:33 AM

Have a great day, everyone

Mute led
    Favourite led
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:32 AM

great bunch of lads altogether

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan

The referendum said it all last year. So to all the trolls and bigots that came in here this morning to spread your hate. Too f’ucking late…

Pride.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:13 AM

Well said, Polly

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:13 AM

It’s only a few with multiple accounts, so who cares. They are so bitter and miserable with their lot they want others to feel it.

Mute Polly Dolan
    Favourite Polly Dolan
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:57 PM

I’ve hit a nerve there with the begrudgers and all those lovely RED thumbs have made my day! Wait till we get rid of the Eighth Amendment.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jun 25th 2016, 8:43 PM

Oggie is now feeling sad that he gave you a green thumb,Polly ..lol

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:24 AM

Have fun everyone gutted to be missing it for the first time in years!

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:37 AM

I’ll do a few flag waves in your honour, Wayne

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:34 AM

Ha ha! Thanks,

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:44 AM

wont be there,I will be doing something that is un-matched to the gay community spending Saturday afternoon with my biological granddaughter, and my biological daughter,

Mute Ace
    Favourite Ace
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:45 AM

Plenty of gay people with biological kids you goon.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:52 AM

well that another debate, ace

Mute Ace
    Favourite Ace
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:55 AM

No its not. What is there to debate. Are there, or are there not, gay (male and female) people with biological kids ?

There is a lot of dumb crap posted on this site at times but your comment deserves a special award.

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:02 PM

heading out now ace, hope i didn’t rain on your parade.

Mute Ace
    Favourite Ace
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:04 PM

You could not if you tried.

Have a wonderful day :)

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:07 PM

well if you mean that,[ Have a wonderful day :)] Il green thumb ya,

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:24 PM

A good ol’ novena, kneeling on some dry rice, just to make it really painful for you so Jesus knows your the holiest hole in Holytown.

By the way, either your “biological” (like a nice washing powder) daughter and granddaughter could be gay.

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:26 PM

They could also belong to the postman.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:45 PM

Some folks desperately need to feel better than someone, anyone.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:39 PM

Strange way to describe a daughter and granddaughter as “biological”. It seems biological status is more important to some than the nature of the relationship. I feel a certain sadness for the daughter and grand daughter.

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:37 AM

Pride is a celebration of LGBT history, the struggle gay people had to face to get where they are today. The struggle still isn’t over either. Gay people still face discrimination and hate, coming out and self acceptance is still a struggle for many. Its a way of showing pride in a world that is still far from accepting. Pride is organised by the LGBT community. If ye want a straight parade, go start one. Though I’m not sure why its necessary when being heterosexual has never been a struggle, never been a cause of discrimination, hate. No one struggles with being straight, you don’t have to come out, you have to go on a journey of self acceptance. You don’t risking losing friends, family loved ones because you’re straight. You don’t risk being beat up because of it. But have a parade if you want.

Mute F.O.R.A.
    Favourite F.O.R.A.
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:55 AM

it was a joke lighten up ffs. but ive often been turned from night clubs been told this isnt a place for me so yeah I have been discriminated because of my sexuality You don’t have to come out either this crack with gay people “having” to come out is a load of sh#te it’s their business not no one else’s.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:42 PM

“ive often been turned from night clubs been told this isnt a place for me so yeah I have been discriminated because of my sexuality”

Oh no! How horrible you must have felt. Were there religious people telling you all you had to do to get into that nightclub was to pray?
    Were you scared of the security of your job because people would find out you couldn’t get into a nightclub?
    Were you beaten up by a gang of people for not getting into a nightclub as they threw bigoted phrases at you like “Nightclubber”?
    Were you denied the things in life that the people who COULD get into the nightclub were allowed? Such as the ability to get married? Or the ability to donate blood?

You truly know discrimination!!

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy
    Jun 25th 2016, 4:03 PM

I once got refused entry from the George. I asked “is it because I’m straight?”. The bouncer looked confused and said “you’re straight?”. Oh, I forgot to mention, I was absolutely banjoed drunk!

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:26 PM

F.O.R.A, I’d guess the bouncer spotted the chip on your shoulder. You clearly have some beef with homosexuals and you don’t make much of an effort to disguise it.

Gay people feel the need to come out for some reason. Having known some before and after they came out- and others who never did- I can see the need for it. If you can’t, then you might not know many gay people, or perhaps you have just not have thought about it enough.

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:47 PM

Not that its in anyway the same thing but you don’t get turned away from a gay club for being straight. Gay people like to go out with their straight friends for one, the don’t ask your sexuality at the door so they can’t actually tell if your gay or not but they might send you away if you are drunk or look like your going to cause trouble (that might be another kind of gay discrimination).

Of course gay people need to come out. When the world assumes you are straight you have to come out. The other alternative is to lead a secret life. Even if its done casually, like mentioning what you did with your b/f at the weekend its still coming out and I guarantee its still an anxious experience. You never know how people are going to react, if its going to make things awkward or if people will start treating you differently. And thats just with your acquaintances at work, its a whole different level of anxiety when it comes to family and friends. When you are gay and open about it, you spend your entire life coming out.

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:48 PM

gay discrimination? I meant just discrimination. I’ve gay on the brain

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jun 25th 2016, 10:42 AM

This Panti guy will make a fortune in his bar today, good luck to him.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jun 25th 2016, 12:08 PM

Hubris not pride

Mute YurtyGertie McMac
    Favourite YurtyGertie McMac
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:27 AM

Those gay feckers throw the best of do’s.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:50 PM

Ffs. When’s the heterosexual parade? Such bull

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:48 PM

Whenever you organise it, I guess. Why haven’t you? Perhaps because you don’t need a parade to remind yourself and the rest of us heterosexuals that we don’t need to be ashamed of ourselves for who we are?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:55 PM

If there was a parade to celebrate heterosexuality the LGBTQAIFHRDJ
    would be crying foul.

Well they would.
    They would be saying what message is this sending out to all the LGBTAQIFFHDH 2 year olds out there.

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:27 PM

You could always just say another mass.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:44 PM

The Pride parades are to celebrate the Stonewall Riots. The first event in the Gay Equality movement.
    Just be thankful you don’t need a “Heterosexual Pride” day.
    And anyway you can always go as an ally but maybe that’s too much for you.
    You’d rather sit at home and whinge!!

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:45 PM

Tom, what is wrong with this celebration? As straight people we’ve never been oppressed because of our sexuality, we’re lucky because of that, we dnt need to celebrate our equality other than to be thankful we never had to fight for it!

Hope everyone had a great day at it.

Mute Blah blah
    Favourite Blah blah
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:29 PM

I went with my young family and we had a ball! The colour, the music, the happy atmosphere was fantastic…I dare say it has beaten the St.patricks day parade. An amazing family day out

Mute AGuyWithARant
    Favourite AGuyWithARant
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:23 PM

The amount of negativity! If you don’t like it don’t go people! It was great craic anyways.

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    Jun 25th 2016, 1:19 PM
    Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jun 25th 2016, 3:39 PM

and the Roman Empire fell. So what are you whinging about?

Mute Sean D. Cahill
    Favourite Sean D. Cahill
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:24 PM

Marion, the Roman Empire fell because it weakened itself from within through the addition of Roman Catholicism, same reason the Spanish empire after Spain turned on itself via the inquisition.while the Dutch and English and by proxy the Americans for some reason had no such problems. Rewrite your own history.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:35 PM

Gibbons also sought to depict homosexuality as the cause of the fall of the empire but there is no evidence that homosexual practice increased above average at any stage and no explanation how, even if there was an increase in homosexual practice, this would have undermined military effectiveness or imperial control.

In Ancient Thebes there were same sex bonding relationships between pairs of warriors. In Ancient Sparta, there was also a prevalence of homosexual pairings on the military.

It would be surprising that empires could fall over something as limited in effect as homosexual practice. It says more about the attitude of the proposer than about the subject matter.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:34 AM

Marion – I see you’re obsessively religious. Is that where your hate and intolerance springs from?

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 5:21 PM

I went to Pride today.

It was fun, joyful, celebratory, colourful, humourous, good natured, happy and gay. It was hugely inclusive, a great vibe and a fabulous occasion. There was great razzmatazz, no drunkeness and lots of banter. There was huge age diversity and social diversity.

There were lots of non gay gay groups and some good causes with banners.

It was a real celebration of gay culture and gay identity but also welcoming, open, inviting and light hearted. All sorts were in attendance.

I could find nothing at all to criticise. In an event of such good nature and kindness, it seems churlish and a bit misery guts to try to rain on the parade.

Participate and enjoy. If you don’t like gay pride parades, it is easy to ignore them. No big deal and no need for uptight people to get all hot and bothered with indignation over a celebratory event.

I would go so far as to say that attending the parade might be a good cure for or deconditioning from homophobia.

Jun 25th 2016, 11:48 AM

Go to the doctor

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:53 AM

Who?

Jun 25th 2016, 11:51 AM

You should visit your doctor.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:24 PM

It’s nice to see how few very few commenters now post negative or critical comments on gay pride parades.

There are a few remaining fossils who are negative about Gay Pride marchers but these are the same hard liners who support the 8th, disrespect women, adore Trump, admire Nigel Farage, opposed SSM, minimised clerical child sexual abuse and preach hatred of all Muslims.

In other words the small hardcore of negative commenters have “form”.,

Mute AGuyWithARant
    Favourite AGuyWithARant
    Jun 25th 2016, 6:47 PM

I know many gay people who support the Eight, (I disagree with full abortion but we need to liberalise our current laws, they are far to strict). I’ve seen many gay people support Trump, myself included. And I’m sure many gay people support farage (I don’t know any gay brits though) and The amount of gay people I know that hold an unfavourable view of the religion of peace especially after orlando may surprise you.

You seem to have a rather narrow view of Gay people Micheal

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 7:24 PM

I was addressing the cranky commenters who turn up to post nasty comments on a group of liberal related issues.

If the cap fits you, you may wear it.

Mute Zaphods Other Head
    Jun 25th 2016, 9:56 PM

I can’t understand why gay people would be pro-abortion. I don’t want to start a debate here on this but 30 years ago gay babies would have been aborted if their sexual preference could have been determined pre-birth and if there are no unwanted babies how could gay people adopt? Strange position to take.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Jun 25th 2016, 11:03 PM

There is no test of foetal sexual orientation. Even if there was actually such a test, it is unlikely that this would on its own be a cause of seeking an abortion. Abortions are not sought for trivial reasons.

Mute Zaphods Other Head
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:29 AM

Michael. You have a very one-dimensional view of people. People can have different views on a wide range of issues. Pro-life people can be as open minded and left leaning as anyone else on other issues. You seem a very decent person with a genuine social conscience but have a very paranoid and, as I said, one-dimensional view of anyone that disagrees with you on any issue. I am not a Catholic zealot, anti-gay, anti-feminist, gun loving, extremist. Neither are a lot of people like me. For a middle-aged man, you must know how attitudes were 30-40 years ago. Your original post here is riddled with intolerance. Isn’t that what you are trying to fight?

Jun 26th 2016, 6:22 PM

AGuyWithARant recently decided that he is gay in an attempt to justify his homophobic stance on lgbt related issues

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 25th 2016, 2:24 PM

Identity politics and conceitedness goes mainstream and provides a platform for virtue signallers.

Mute Jean Calgues
    Favourite Jean Calgues
    Jun 25th 2016, 4:32 PM

Hopefully in the future it will be White pride rather than gay pride events that will be attracting thousands of spectators for a fun day out.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Jun 25th 2016, 4:20 PM

why bother?

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:01 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about last week ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)