You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Carthy, Sinn Féin TD.

Senior Sinn Féin TD says party won't be rerunning family and care referendums if in power

Matt Carthy said that at “no stage” during the next Government would Sinn Fein rerun the referendums, signalling a u-turn for the party.

SENIOR SINN FÉIN TD Matt Carthy has said that his party would not “at any stage” in the next Government consider rerunning the family and care referendums if they form the next Government. 

His comments seemingly signal a u-turn for Sinn Féin on the matter, as back in February leader Mary Lou McDonald said that in the event that both referendums on changing the constitution failed – which turned out to be the case – Sinn Féin would rerun them with different wording. 

Speaking on Newstalk’s The Hard Shoulder this evening, Sinn Féin spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Defence Matt Carthy said that rerunning the referendums will not be on Sinn Féin’s priorities list “at all”. 

Carthy said that Sinn Féin would focus on issues such as “housing, and the need to reform our health services” if it was in power in the next Government. 

Distancing the party from its ‘Yes, yes’ stance during the referendum campaigns, Carthy said that Sinn Féin came to an “on balance” position, but always maintained that it would have run the referendum with different proposed wording. 

He said that Senator Tom Clonan and people with disabilities put forward “very strong arguments” for a No vote in the care referendum, and that the Government failed to “rebuke” those arguments. 

“It wasn’t our campaign,” Carthy said. 

Carthy said that although his party advocated for a ‘Yes, yes’ vote in the referendums, it has always said that it would have opted for the wording recommended by the Citizens’ Assembly on Gender Equality. 

The Citizens’ Assembly in 2021 notably recommended that the Government should propose to delete the ‘Woman in the home’ article of the constitution and replace it with non-gender specific language, that obliges the State to take measures to support care within the home and wider community. 

The Government’s proposed wording would have seen the State only having to “strive” to support the provision of care within the home, which critics said did not go far enough to support carers. 

mary Mary Lou McDonald setting out Sinn Féin's position back in February.

Back in February, when setting out Sinn Féin’s position, Mary Lou McDonald said: “Should this fail, well then yes, the question we would put would be the wording as per the Citizens’ Assembly,” she said. 

McDonald at the time said Sinn Fein would rerun the referendums, with different wording, “early” in their term of Government.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:16 PM

SF will, SF won’t. They were a realistic alternative to many until recent times.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O'Callaghan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:18 PM

@Mike 100: Tadhg an dá thaoibh.
    Maybe he’d be better off apologising for Freddie

Mute John Ennis
    Favourite John Ennis
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:27 PM

@Mike 100: Still, by far, the most popular party.

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:33 PM

@Mike 100: hopefully people will finally see through them.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:36 PM

@Sean O’Callaghan: sure aren’t you the guy who ratted them out.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:45 PM

@The Green Monkey: Unfortunately not. Only wish it were true. Slum

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 11th 2024, 11:01 PM

@Mike 100: flip flop, flip flop.

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:18 PM

As the main “opposition” party SF needs to forget this undemocratic Woke agenda & get back to representing those of us who live in the real world

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:34 PM

@Gerry Kelly: they won’t, not while McDonald is leader.

Mute Patrick Cadogan
    Favourite Patrick Cadogan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:37 PM

@Gerry Kelly: another fool who doesn’t understand the meaning of the term “woke”

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:44 PM

@Gerry Kelly: tell us Gerry, if it was simple vote to remove the clause on a woman’s place being in the home, would you still vote against it?

Mute Mick Dundee
    Favourite Mick Dundee

@Gerry Kelly: this referendum needs to be rerun. Not to appease what you consider to be woke reasons. But to enshrine the rights of people who need to be cared for into the constitution. If, God forbid, you have a stroke one day and need your nappy changed five times a day, I hope you’ve got loving relatives who are willing to the job, because the state certainly doesn’t want to, nor does it consider it the state’s responsibility. This is about something much more important than outdated language. It’s about how we look after the most vulnerable in our society. The original wording the citizens assembly proposed acknowledged that.

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:49 PM

@Mick Dundee: It’s about the language used in the referenda. A sly try to save the government from their duty of care by using vague language.

Mute S K
    Favourite S K
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:58 PM

@Gerry Kelly: They were always “woke”.

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:04 PM

@Gerry Kelly: spot on, that’s the crux of it. SF need to decide on their identity at this stage.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Mar 11th 2024, 10:11 PM

@Mick Dundee: no way

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 11th 2024, 11:02 PM

@Frank McGlynn: she’s not the leader. The leader is whoever appointed her.

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Mar 12th 2024, 1:51 AM

@John Mulligan: Who appointed her?

Mute Richie Whelan
    Favourite Richie Whelan
    Mar 12th 2024, 4:57 AM

@Frank McGlynn: George soros

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Mar 12th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Mick Dundee: Neither one will ever be re-run again!!

Mute D F
    Favourite D F
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:19 PM

Sorry lads….ye had your chance..as a man in his late 50′s…I think I speak for most of the electorate now.

Mute Patrick Cadogan
    Favourite Patrick Cadogan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:34 PM

@D F: no you don’t….

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:59 PM

@Patrick Cadogan: He speaks for the majority of the electorate…. Every political party backed a Yes/Yes vote including SF…. Except for PBP and a few independents…
    SF have spun around again and did a complete U-turn… How could anyone support/trust or vote for any of them ???

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Mar 11th 2024, 10:22 PM

@D F: What was the chance? They’ve never been in government.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:48 PM

SF, whatever way the wind blows, wants to be everything to everyone

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:38 PM

The flip-flop party doing a u-turn. That is hardly news. They must be getting dizzy with all the flip flopping and u-turns they have done over the years.

Mute D F
    Favourite D F
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:24 PM

I would like to point out that I will not vote the Greens/FF/FG either…..so give me choices…peoples

Mute Caroline
    Favourite Caroline
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:21 PM

@D F: IndependentIreland Party the only real alternative to this current fiasco Government!

Mute Dave S
    Favourite Dave S
    Mar 12th 2024, 7:53 AM

@Caroline: And they’ll jump straight into bed with the same clown show we have now.

Mute Matt D
    Favourite Matt D
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:42 PM

Too late, the mask has slipped too far this time. Your day has come….

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:48 PM

WOW…. Another BIG U-turn for SF…. Running with the hares and hunting with the hounds….. Maybe now they will put their hands up and admit to all the atrocities they have been involved in…. Yes/Yes ????

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:58 PM

@Blue Moon: Nah nah up the Ra. Not a chance

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:10 PM

@Sean O’Callaghan: Typical response from another terrorist

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:21 PM

@Blue Moon: Nah nah. Not a chance they’ll ever admit to the carnage they caused.

Mute Sean O'Callaghan
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:23 PM

Masters of the “volte face”, or in their lingo “iompaigh thart”. That’s a great “about turn”. Learnt well from Gerry the never

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:01 PM

Mary Lou should now walk away . The party in opposition did not oppose those ridiculous referendums . Bye now Mary

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:13 PM

Mary Lou will have to go or Sinn Fein are going to be hammered in the local elections.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

Spin Feign.
    Remember folks, they’d say mass to get into power, as they continue their mission to transform into a tribute act to bad old Fianna Fail.

Mute Wombleman
    Favourite Wombleman
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:33 PM

The naivety and hunger to get into power is coming through now and that makes me fairly uncomfortable.

I was already sceptical about a SF government going back to the time that Pearse Doherty whipped up a frenzy about that Roscommon eviction which resulted in SF supporters burning banks.

I thought they moved to distance themselves from this over the past few years but now with the about turns on things, I don’t know if I could trust them to make the harder more unpopular decisions that are sometimes needed from government.

For me, it’s a genuine pity as I desperately want rid of FF, FG and the Greens – all that’s left really is the Soc Dems – I’m not an ‘anti-woke/vax/immigrant/climate/LGBTQ/etc etc nutbag so all the nutty ‘parties’ are out.

Depressing really, SF could do so much better.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:41 PM

We backed the wrong horse. If they offer any tips for Cheltenham keep your money in your pocket.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Mar 11th 2024, 10:25 PM

Tried to play both sides, and lost both sides

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:45 PM

Yet another flip flop, becoming a farce at this stage. People seeing through them now, no different than what’s already there.

Mute Kieran Mac C
    Favourite Kieran Mac C
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:54 PM

Simple question preparation for politicians seeking votes at my door: define ‘woman’. Inability to define a woman as an adult, female human who is or was capable of having a baby, means I will strategically, to the best of my ability, vote against that politician. The respondent is entitled to think a man can be a woman and I’m just as entitled to vote against him/her/it.
    It’s the one question that most likely identifies those people who I believe are radically opposed to the freedoms I enjoy.
    Up the Republic and goodbye Mary Lou

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    Favourite Adam O'Sullivan
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:02 PM

So they said it wouldn’t be their priority, not they wouldn’t run it again!

Mute Philip A Howlin
    Favourite Philip A Howlin
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:51 PM

Do I sense a power struggle in SF.

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Favourite Philip Gallagher
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:26 PM

They could have changed “Strive” to “obliged”.
    Add father alongside Mother.
    Change “Durable” to “a recognised Family consistent “to that” of a family based on marriage”.
    I’m not in any way trying to come across as an expert, but I would’ve accepted wording similar to the above.
    The proposal they put on us was a disgrace and a sure sign if it was needed that they are totally incompetent and out of touch with reality

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:47 PM

@Philip Gallagher: I think you’re on the right track. They didn’t need to have any word though. “The government will support…” would have been fine. I think “durable relationships” is a little trickier to clean up but yes, those are the same details that turned me off it too. They seem small hit the gulf in meaning is huge.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:14 PM

Chief Shill Corrigan is eerily quiet. He must have received orders not to comment on this.

Mute Magnificent Mongoose
    Favourite Magnificent Mongoose
    Mar 12th 2024, 6:39 AM

Sinn Féin needs to remove Mary Lou McDonald as leader

Mute Rodney Byrne
    Favourite Rodney Byrne
    Mar 11th 2024, 9:42 PM

It’s good to hear Sinn Fein/ira coming out with this statement. Ffg were very quick in coming out saying the public did not know what they were doing in voting no. Groundhog day Niece and Maastrict treaties we did not what we were voting for. What a shame of a government we have.

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Mar 11th 2024, 10:50 PM

Their FINISHED

Mute Chris Curran
    Favourite Chris Curran
    Mar 11th 2024, 10:42 PM

In fairness to Goebbels Carthy, its not his decision. Its supposed to be the members of SF decision at Ard Fheis but as the years go by the members become less empowered.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Mar 12th 2024, 9:45 AM

I think Mary Lou’s comments straight after the referendum saying she “would address the Sexist Language in the Constitution if SF were in the next Government” was a mistake so soon after a sizeable majority had just rejected both. Doesn’t bode well on Mary Lou and SF’s opinion on Democracy.

Mute Michael Dineen
    Favourite Michael Dineen
    Mar 11th 2024, 8:38 PM

Good to hear. At least they are listening.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Mar 11th 2024, 7:41 PM

Various legal groups have been saying the archaic ‘duties in the home’ needs to go for the last 25 years. Suppose we’ll have to wait another 25 so…

Mute Fran Mooney
    Favourite Fran Mooney
    Mar 12th 2024, 10:19 AM

Seems to me sinn fein have one agenda now and that is to get on the gravy train of ministerial pensions,they are loosing there vote base by the week with all their double tongue

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Mar 12th 2024, 7:51 AM

When SF will go in power, and hopefully without alliances, the money of many corporations will be transferred abroad and many will start stop employing people blaming SF as an excuse. With no money in the coffers, there will have to be an agreement… Like for Mitterrand and the socialists in 1981. Look it up
    Now they probably won’t be able to do what they want that easily.

Mute chris gaffney
    Favourite chris gaffney
    Mar 12th 2024, 6:21 PM

Handbrake turns at this stage….Hilarious!!

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Mar 12th 2024, 7:49 PM

Lookit. They are not the ones *in* Government (yet?). They are free to change their minds, if they wish. It’s not like they are inside the window of “election promises” just yet. And it’s fair to say and accept that they are responsive to the will of the electorate on this issue, at least. And were responsive to the fact of Law too, before the Referendum *when* it was passing through the Oireachtas. Although, in fairness, before the Referendum and despite them knowing better, they did just Conform to Social Pressures and ‘go with the flow, and in a small way they also did ‘jump on the bandwagon’ like – but not with the same Zealotry as – the Socialist Workers Party/People B4 Profit frequently do (like when they tried to hijack and seize the Water Charges protest movement for themselves, as though it were their movement initiated by their Party).

They should have taken their lead from Catherine Connolly.
    Because, evidently, Sinn Féin have become completely rudderless.
    Even with Palestine, they blindly and fecklessly whine on and on about expelling the Ambassador – just like a politically immature Socialist. Rather than realising it is USA that should be targeted (as is the Irish way of fighting a cause), because it is due to USA’s neo-anti-Semitism towards all Muslims and all Arabs, a sentiment they fostered and encouraged Internationally in order to enable, via presenting false cause for, their ***ILLEGAL*** invasion of Iraq, in addition to which they fully got away with it with it with Zero Prosecutions for War Crimes and Crimes Against Humanity laid against them or their “WMD” partners in Britain.
    It is because USA got away with it, that Israel gets away with it.
    It is because USA incited anti-Muslim neo-anti-Semitic Fascistic rhetoric, that Israel can so easily dehumanise Palestinians via the neo-anti-Semitic false assumption that “all Arabs are Muslim”.
    It is because of USA’s and UK’s rhetoric against Muslims as a whole, that China feels free and righteous in committing genocide against Uyghur Muslims; that Myanmar felt free and righteous to commit genocide against Rhohinga Muslims; and why Russia felt empowered and free to commit genocide in Chechnya (long before Putin created Kadyrov from the ashes).
    It is because USA failed to prosecute the Extra-Judicial Assassination of the Free Press [embodied in US Citizen Shireen Abu Akleh] that Israel knows it is free to target and murder all Arab Journalists and their families; and International Civilians and their families.
    It is because USA and UK have gotten away with imprisoning Journalist Julian Assange, that Israel knows “The Free Press” is no longer a protected institution.
    It is because USA got away with obliterating the legitimacy United Nations, by barging through International Law and International Resolution and Vetoes of their illegal Wars, that Israel is so profoundly comfortable with defaming, dehumanisating and SLAUGHTERING employees of the United Nations and The Red Cross Red Crescent.

Sinn Féin are behaving like a Party of simpleton automatons.

There is no substance to anything they do anymore. Not only are they untethered from their own Base, nor merely completely disconnected from the wider population, but they are also wholly an “unthinking” Party. It’s like they are driving down the road on autopilot. Their brain isn’t even engaged. NOBODIES brain seems to be engaged in any manner anymore.

They are in a bubble.
    And I strongly suspect that just like the Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael Elected Representative **individuals** [since Pandemic. Eg: "there have been eighteen other coronaviruses"-Simon 'dingbat' Harris] – the bubble has been erected by manipulated Algorithms on Social Media framing the “feedback” to the Official Party’s accounts (as opposed to the individual Elected Reps, as seems to be the case with FF and FG, from Dáil to Local).

But Sinn Féin aside….
    Evidently NONE of the Political Parties have learned a god damn thing from Mother and Baby Homes and Industrial/Reformatory School and the ‘Institutionalisation’ atrocities.
    Not a god damn thing.
    It is why they cannot grasp the profound problems of “Organisational Culture”. Be it in RTE, the HSE, or the Gardaí.
    They have utterly failed to comprehend the power of culture, or indoctrination, or institutionalisation.
    They have failed to grasp that what went on in Industrial Schools was not only a consequence of institutional cultures, but also a consequence of the “culture” imposed or fostered in society itself.
    They have failed to realise that what went on in institutions, was not absent in the private homes of citizens who never went near any institutions.
    And that Collective Psychological Culture of ignorant abusiveness continues to pervade throughout Irish Society and Social Culture, and passes down through the generations.

The State simply cannot, and should never, impose unprofessional, Familial-only, “Care” on the most vulnerable members of our Society.

But luckily the population do seem to have learned and understood the impact of historic social culture and the abuses of institutions enabled and empowered BY the toxic culture in Society from Grassroots to Gards to Government.
    The majority seem to be aware of 1 core basic truth – for many in the society, the culture simply has not changed. And it will take decades, if not a Century, to change it. Especially without apt educational intervention.
    You cannot, and should never, impose familial “Care” on anyone with a disability. Be it a permanent, or potentially transient/temporary disablement (such as closed brain injury).

The RSA (I believe it was?) had a perfectly Irish and perfectly accurate example of this in their overturned car, car crash simulation in which the parent/partner/familial individual is depicted as the “Carer” belittling and ignorantly talking about the wheelchair-bound survivor to a third person in earshot of the survivor.

The fact is, Irish Society is – quite frankly – unfit and far too ignorant to be entrusted with the care of persons with disabilities.
    Profoundly especially in an unprofessional (familial) context.
    Indeed it is *more professionals and professionalism* that is required in the provision of Care for Elderly or persons with Disability or Special Needs.

But Sinn Féin bent to the tokenistic trend of empty virtue signalling and *militant* liberalism that is and has consistently been an open attack on the Constitution of our Republic.

I say this, despite the fact that I am and have always been what these days is being described as a “liberal” or “leftie” (due to foreign political interference in National discourse!).

Except that there never was, nor is there now, any such thing in Irish or European (or non-Brit/non-Yankee/non-WASP) politics as a “liberal”.

We are, simply, pro-evolution, pro-development, pro-progress of our civilization and society. And Ireland has already been through this philosophical and identity politics struggle – what is Tradition and what is Progress, “Does progress mean dumping tradition?” and so on.
    The emphatic answer was: No!
    Traditions and Progress can proceed hand in hand for a Nation that is not insecure in it’s sense of “Self” and “Identity”, a Nation that isn’t weakened by being a wimpering “Nation of Immitators”.

We can (and should) progress Political Policies, while holding the line on Political Tradition (i.e. stop attacking, subverting and dismantling the Constitution through Deletion and Repeals in the name of “progress”. You wouldn’t catch the Yankees nor the French nor any post-Empire-era Nations with Sovereign non-Monarchic Nationhood, at it!! So why are WE at it!?).

We wouldn’t have had to “Repeal the 8th *amendment*” if the Politicians, and 1980s Population, had not been so feckless and careless with the Constitution in the first place.
    Religiosity has no place whatsoever in Law, much less in Constitutions of legitimate Republics.
    Religiosity should have no place in Politics anywhere ever again (Nazism; Slavery; American Fascistic Evangelism; Hindutva Fascism; Zionism; British Monarchic presumption of entitlement to Ireland….and France…and Spain; subsequent Crown-instigated Fascistic Sectarianism in Scotland and Northern Ireland)

So with reference to “Militant Liberalism”, what I mean is the absolute feckless disregard for our Constitution with a zeal for Absolutism and Censorship of Debate, Discourse and Opposing View, as was the case with the Abortion Referendum.
    Between Militant Liberalism (i.e. Left-wing Fascism [Censoring debate]) and Evangelistic Extremism (i.e. Right-wing Fascism, and often *Foreign* Evangelical Fascistic interference) – there is a massive expanse for and of diverse discourse.

Yes, people should have the Right to Choose (anything and everything).
    But people also have the Right to a full and detailed arguement framed in facts of Law. A full and uncensored debate and discourse, free of Politicised Religiosity……and Militant imposition of Opinion or Censorship of discourse.

For example: should the Law have reflected that where a foetus is *wanted* by the mother carrying it, it should therefore be counted as a “Life” under the Law if/when an abusive partner punches and kicks that foetus to death? And/or if/when a partner covertly administers an abortifacient without consent!?
    As it stands, the foetus killed in the Omagh Bomb, would no longer be counted as a “Life” subsequent to the amendment that ammended the amendment – in the absence of freedom for a full and uncensored discourse (due to Militant Liberalist Zealous Absolutism. Even those who were pro-Choice, had no freedom nor forum for debate or discourse).

Certainly, there is a tokenistic attack on the Constitution. There has been since and during the previous 2 Referendums. The Constitution has been treated with contemptuous fecklessness by sneaky-ass Fine Gael in particular. And it was only due to the profound, serious and frankly often life-threatening impact of the ‘Marriage’ and ‘Abortion’ Referendum on ‘the person’, that such contempt for the Constitution could be tolerated by the Electorate and assent given for the sake of many citizen’s safety and wellbeing.

But evidently such repeated politicised tokenistic contempt for the Constitution, and Law, has now breached the tolerance level of the Electorate.
    Society can no longer accept an “on-balance, for the greater good, with the least harm” argument or consideration to give consent to the contempt for the Constitution and Constitutional Law.

And it is about time too!

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Mar 12th 2024, 2:46 PM

I wonder has Chief SF Shill Corrigan been relieved of his role? Very quiet in this one.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Mar 13th 2024, 8:03 PM

Sinn will need a taxi for Mary Poo !
    She’s now a target for anti wokeness

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 19th 2024, 1:18 AM

Mary Lou was fairly certain on the day that there would be a SF referendum – so is this the new Sinn Fein policy or just Matt Carthy’s opinion? I am sure we all be given a chance to repent our sins against the establishment and vote according to the presumed “yes” in a few years time.