You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The PAC last week Oireachtas screengrab

Rehab: Legal action being taken against writer of letter to PAC

Rehab also said that comments from the chairman of the PAC, John MGuinness, were “unfair”.

THE REHAB GROUP said today that legal action is being taken against the author of a letter sent about the group to the Public Accounts Committee.

In a strongly-worded statement, it also criticised the chairman of the PAC, TD John McGuinness.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, McGuinness pointed out that the remarks Rehab was referring to in its statement were issued by PAC as a committee and not on behalf of any individual member.

Allegations

Last Thursday, the PAC said it had referred a letter containing “a number of serious allegations” against individuals linked to the Rehab Group to the gardaí.

The committee said that it had received a letter from the solicitors acting on behalf of the developer John Kelly.

The letter fell outside the remit of the committee, and the PAC met for over an hour on the issue. It was decided to send the letter to the gardaí.

The situation has taken a new turn with a statement released by the Rehab Group.

Rehab referred to the comments made by McGuinness in PAC’s statement about the letter:

That the Chairman of Public Accounts Committee would comment publicly in this way on the allegations said to have been made, without having first given those persons who are said to be the subject of the allegations an opportunity to see the allegations, and to respond to them, is grossly unfair.

Rehab alleged that the comments have “caused serious harm to the Rehab Group, to individuals within the Rehab Group, and to its employees”.

It has also caused unnecessary anxiety to persons who receive services from Rehab Group companies.

The Rehab Group also said it is particularly concerned that the PAC has “refused to provide it with a copy of the letter said to contain the allegations made”.

It concluded: “We understand that legal proceedings are presently being issued in response to the allegations made by Mr Kelly.”

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, John McGuinness said: “The statements or remarks that they are referring to were issued by the PAC as a committee and not as any individual member. They were issued after the matter was discussed in full, after unanimous agreement was reached across all members to issue the statement publicly”.

He said the release of the statement “follows legal advice we were given”.

The PAC is due to hold a further meeting with Rehab on 10 April.

Rehab: PAC refers serious allegations about Rehab to gardaí>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

25 Comments
    Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    May 18th 2013, 11:25 AM

Curiosity killed the cat.

Just had to google that lemon party reference…

Mute Eoin Tighe
    Favourite Eoin Tighe
    May 18th 2013, 11:46 AM

Damn. Ill have to do that now

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    May 18th 2013, 11:50 AM

Nooooooo!!!!

Mute Eoin Tighe
    Favourite Eoin Tighe
    May 18th 2013, 11:51 AM

Wikipedia saved me going to the actual site…… Phew. I’m gonna have a shower now

Mute dave
    Favourite dave
    May 18th 2013, 11:57 AM

Wish i thought of that….. Eugh

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    May 18th 2013, 11:57 AM

Haha, oh god, I can’t believe this was #1. Now even more will be left wondering!

“You watched it, you can’t unwatch it!”

Mute Lucy
    Favourite Lucy
    May 18th 2013, 12:11 PM

I want to know but not sure if i should know! :/

Mute Eileen Mckenna
    Favourite Eileen Mckenna
    May 18th 2013, 12:18 PM

Oh God, so did I….
    *yeuch*

Mute Sharon Clifford
    Favourite Sharon Clifford
    May 18th 2013, 12:46 PM

Haha me too! Shit how do I clear my google history ??? This could raise a lot of questions! :)

Mute Keith Byrne
    Favourite Keith Byrne
    May 18th 2013, 2:50 PM

Two girls, one cup. I’m still in therapy.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 18th 2013, 3:23 PM

For bleaching your eyes after seeing things that cannot be unseen, visit eyebleach.com….

Mute Sarah Prendergast
    Favourite Sarah Prendergast
    May 18th 2013, 6:43 PM

Yep same…. Am now blind!!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    May 18th 2013, 7:36 PM

Have resisted watching but now I’m in therapy anyway.
    Damn you tinternet!!

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 18th 2013, 7:58 PM

Should read about the Jolly Rancher!!!!!!! ;)

Gross story! Worse than the above!!! lol!

You will never look at the internet ever again!!! LOL!

Mute timmy tells tales
    Favourite timmy tells tales
    May 18th 2013, 1:34 PM

I remember seeing a comment with 7 or 12 thousand comments and I said to myself that its a lot of thumbs to give to a comment.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    May 18th 2013, 3:25 PM

Hi timmy!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    May 18th 2013, 1:43 PM

Do an article on the top 10 comments that received the most thumbs up. ..come on Amy ye know ye want to

Mute Niamh May
    Favourite Niamh May
    May 19th 2013, 1:40 AM

^^ yes!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 18th 2013, 12:11 PM

3400 thumbs up must be a record?

Mute joe dangermouse
    May 18th 2013, 12:38 PM

There was a comment before and it got like over 5,000 red thumbs.Now that’s a record.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    May 18th 2013, 12:58 PM

Once saw a comment with over 6000 likes.
    I did Joe!

Mute joe dangermouse
    May 18th 2013, 1:02 PM

I believe you Jim!.Who was it?

Mute Johnny O Connor
    Favourite Johnny O Connor
    May 18th 2013, 2:59 PM

lads, come on, gimme all the dirty gossip on who/what got the devils thumb.

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    May 20th 2013, 2:58 PM

Thank You for the recognition, to my loyal fans.. I adore you all!