You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Number 16 Moore Street Leon Farrell/Photocall Irland

Relatives of 1916 Rising rebels are angry about the plans for Moore Street

The relatives will link arms around Moore Street buildings today in protest at what’s being done to the street for the 2016 centenary.

THE RELATIVES OF the executed leaders of the 1916 Rising will hold a protest at Moore Street today over plans to redevelop the area.

The families are unhappy with the new proposal which will see some of the terraced buildings on historic Moore Street make way to allow for a shopping centre to be built.

They plan to form a giant circle and wrap their arms around the terrace this afternoon in a bid to protect the entire historic site.

The relatives and members of the Save Moore Street Committee say they have reservations about all the plans for the street in Dublin’s city centre, including the building of a commemoration centre.

“We just want to see the street restored and rejuvenated. We want it to be a living street,” Barry Lyons, one of the organisers, told TheJournal.ie. 

The leaders of the 1916 Rising surrendered in the building at 14-17 Moore Street, which is also the site of where the provisional government was headquartered during the Rising.  Minister for Arts Jimmy Deenihan has said the centre will “secure the future of one of the most important sites in modern Irish history”.

It is planned that the commemorative centre will be fully completed by the time of the centenary events in 2016.

Lyons said that he’d rather see the area developed into a ‘battlefield quarter’ to highlight its pivotal role in the 1916 Rising, rather than just building a commemorative centre alongside a shopping mall.

He was also critical of the developer involved in the reshaping of the street.

“This is a crucial part of Ireland’s history,” he said. “If it was a megalithic tomb, for example, they wouldn’t let a developer near it”.

Read: After 98 years, Moore Street buildings are to become 1916 Rising commemoration > 

Read: Here’s how €22 million will be spent on 1916 Rising commemorations > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    May 18th 2014, 8:47 AM

Jesus. This has dragged on long enough. You can’t please everyone. I work and live in the area and the street is disgusting with no character anymore except for people selling gone off or knocked off produce and people drinking cans during the day. The street badly needs rejuvenation to improve the area. I wonder how many of those relatives live close by? I can’t wait to see it developed. The Gpo is and should be the centre of the easter rising commemoration focus.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    May 18th 2014, 11:05 AM

Did I not see u there drinking cans

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    May 18th 2014, 11:17 AM

I didn’t think eggs could see at all.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    May 18th 2014, 10:41 PM

Eggs can see everything there mad yokes
    Crap joke

Mute Barry Lyons
    Favourite Barry Lyons
    May 20th 2014, 11:45 AM

What a fantastic Idea..Let a corrupt Developer away with pulling the wool over the eyes of the Irish taxpayer …would you really give an ANGLO golden circle member another 5million on top of the 2.5Billion all ready owed.

Why do you think the street is in the condition it is in ????? So people will say exactly what you are saying …do you know the developer owns most of the street and has let it run down over this past years,most of the shops are on a weekly lease ,IT is in his interest to have a dirty kip

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    May 18th 2014, 8:35 AM

It will need a lot of work to rejuvenate but I am sure it can be sympathetically restored to meet the needs of both parties if the proper efforts are made. That said, at the minute it’s falling apart and if it is not worked on, very little will be left in any event.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 18th 2014, 2:21 PM

After 2016 I think we should just drop the whole thing. It was a century ago and it’s very debatable whether it was right or wrong. The killings of thousands of people then and in the century that followed was hardly worth it. By now Ireland would have had independence anyway. Maybe even a 32 county secular republic. A 32 county republic that was never run by the Catholic Church.

Mute paddy dunne
    Favourite paddy dunne
    May 18th 2014, 8:35 PM

How many citizens of Dublin:men women and children ,were killed in the 1916 Easter rising ,No monument anywhere.

Mute Dave Obreen
    Favourite Dave Obreen
    May 19th 2014, 4:09 PM

Isn’t the Developer Joe O Reilly . one of the Anglo 10 , himself owing 3 billion at the beginning of the crash to which the people of Ireland are now repaying on his behalf ,

he gets rewarded by the government with new projects while the rest of us get penalised.

Mute Barry Lyons
    Favourite Barry Lyons
    May 20th 2014, 12:36 PM

The Nation Museum should be restoring this site, but instead we are letting corruption ,gombeenism , and giving an ANGLO developer the right to renovate a NATIONAL MONUMENT to suit the roadways into his proposed shopping mall….it either is a national monument or it is not…The government cannot make it up as they go along

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 20th 2014, 12:42 PM

“National Monument”??? Like most countries we’re obsessed with the past. Forget about 1916-it’s f*****g over. Too many people died. For what, “self governance” by the Catholic Church in Rome?

Mute Barry Lyons
    Favourite Barry Lyons
    May 20th 2014, 1:09 PM

It is what it is… nothing to do with the catholic church fyi

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 18th 2014, 8:53 AM

Restore O’connell St and the GPO. Moore Street is not worth it unless it is completely revamped. No point in a museum in the middle of mobile phone repair and hair extension shops.

A brass set of statues like the famine one down the IFSC would look great infront of the GPO of the 1916 rebels. And out in the open for people to easily see rather than down a side street off a side street.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    May 18th 2014, 10:40 AM

Excellent suggestion. I’d go so far as to build the statues into the structure. Have them posed “in action”.

Also take the outside structure of number 16 & rebuild it inside the GPO museum.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 18th 2014, 12:09 PM

Jesus, rebuilding the little building inside the GPO would be a brilliant idea. Moore St has very little going for it at the moment and this “piece of the true cross” malarkey over this questionably historic building is getting right up my nose. Redevelop.

Mute Cillian Adamson
    Favourite Cillian Adamson
    May 18th 2014, 2:24 PM

Questionably historic? Did you learn your history from the Michael Collins movie or did you just not realise that the rebels broke out from the GPO and barricaded themselves into 16-18 Moore Street, and held this until surrendering. Arguably the Moore Street buildings are more historically important than the GPO, however their run-down state compared to the splendor of the GPO outshines this point.

Mute Barry Lyons
    Favourite Barry Lyons
    May 20th 2014, 11:40 AM

Great Idea… let a corrupt developer off the hook ,give way to cronyism, let money talk ,support everything that is wrong in Ireland and let the gombeen men know they have hoodwinked you once again … marvelous Idea

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    May 18th 2014, 8:54 AM

Is it not ironic that some descendants of leaders of a republican movement think they have a hereditary right to dictate to democratic institutions what should and shouldn’t be done. Why not put themselves up for election on this single issue and get some kind of mandate instead of waving their silly double-barrelled surnames about.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    May 18th 2014, 10:35 AM

I have no relatives who were involved in the rising, but I agree with the protests.
    Restoration is the key, not rejuvenation.
    Leveling historic buildings to make way for 21st century glass, steel and concrete will make for meaningless monuments and faceless brands and consumerism.
    How can we remember those who sacrificed for our freedom when looking at that rather than the original buildings restored?

Mute John Stafford
    Favourite John Stafford
    May 18th 2014, 11:27 AM

Look at the track record of Dublin City Council. Look at the building where DCC is housed.

Mute Phil Quinn
    Favourite Phil Quinn
    May 18th 2014, 11:38 AM

They’re going to level them? Thought those days were gone. Surely these are listed buildings

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    May 18th 2014, 12:09 PM

That’s fine lads. Run for election on that ticket, or support someone else who is. What I raise my eyebrows too are the self appointed modern treasurers of the 1916 legacy who seem to think they have a greater right to speak their mind than anyone else, and not need to seek any form of mandate.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    May 18th 2014, 1:58 PM

“Sacrificed for our freedom”? Freedom to become isolated from the rest of the world and run by gombeens subservient to the church? Just look at almost any other story on theJournal & readers comments to see how that panned out.
    Perhaps some educational focus and historical perspective with whatever development is agreed on is needed. While the failed rebellion of ’16 acted in part as a catalyst to later events, this almost mythological air that surrounds ’16 is disingenuous IMO. Those participants acted in good faith though. Real change occurred via democratic legislative reform. Incorporating the GPO as previously suggested is a good idea.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    May 18th 2014, 8:45 AM

Step outside the box and imagine what the rebels would have wanted. A ruin of a building to be kept in tack as a memorial or a development to celebrate our culture and Irishness

Mute Truthful
    Favourite Truthful
    May 18th 2014, 9:39 AM

I was in the public viewing gallery for a debate on Moore Street one evening. One Labour backbencher did in fact make this exact same argument in favour of the development. It provided quite a laugh for most people in attendance. Yes, I’d imagine the likes of James Connolly would be over the moon at the prospect of this development bulldozing the country’s history. Elated, I’d say he would be.

Mute Hugh Derham
    Favourite Hugh Derham
    May 18th 2014, 8:44 AM

They should encircle it with brown envelopes… That’ll get the attention from government that’s required.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    May 18th 2014, 10:00 AM

If this was in another country it would be a major tourist sight by now. It is of huge historic importance. Rejuvinate it but dont demolish any part of it.

Mute Sifletch
    Favourite Sifletch
    May 18th 2014, 9:35 AM

I dont see why they cant keep the facade of the terrace, once they knock these buildings down they’re gone, im all for development but do we really need another soulless shopping center there? Remember the damage that was done to the cities heritage in the 80′s?

Mute Truthful
    Favourite Truthful
    May 18th 2014, 9:48 AM

The plans put forward by the relatives of the 1916 leaders go well beyond preserving the facades. They would argue for the preservation of the entire street scape of Moore Street and the surrounding laneways. Their plans would create a sort of cultural quarter in Dublin, something which the city needs far more than yet another shopping centre. We have an opportunity to create something to rival the Jordaan area of Amsterdam and all of those other unique cultural quarters across the globe, it baffles me that people would prefer to see another shopping development in a city full of such things.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    May 18th 2014, 10:46 AM

Truthful. You have got to be joking! That sounds like a nightmare!!!

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    May 18th 2014, 11:05 AM

Mcbab
    I see you gave yourself a green thumb.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 18th 2014, 12:11 PM

The idea of a Moore St cultural quarter is lunacy.

Mute Sifletch
    Favourite Sifletch
    May 18th 2014, 12:17 PM

Why?

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 18th 2014, 12:19 PM

It’s MOORE ST. The last “quarter” we built was the tragic Millennium Quarter between Jervis and the Millennium Bridge.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    May 18th 2014, 12:28 PM

Sometimes the only one I get Richard. My comments often not popular on this site ! .

May 18th 2014, 9:01 AM

Seems such a shame we do not value our history enough

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 18th 2014, 10:58 AM

Gus – you are right .
    The present Government of FG/Lab. have no real interest and are only going through the motions .
    Minister Deenihan, is probably doing his best – but has zero Cabinet support from a milk and watery Taoiseach and a complete tool in Tanaiste Gilmore !

This area could be refurbished to become a huge history draw for our children and children’s , children , as well as the huge interest in our Irish History from visitors from abroad .

Mute Martin Daly
    Favourite Martin Daly
    May 18th 2014, 9:00 AM

Barry Lyons move on. The buildings are SAVED. Their will be a museum for the people. It will be a dam site better than what’s their now.

Mute annesull
    Favourite annesull
    May 18th 2014, 9:14 AM

It will be a DAMN SIGHT better than what’s THERE now

Mute Barry Lyons
    Favourite Barry Lyons
    May 20th 2014, 11:54 AM

Maybe your right ,Maybe I should move on. Maybe i should turn a blind eye to the corruption .Maybe I should agree to give a Member of the ANGLO golden circle who at present owes the Irish Taxpayer (thats you and me folks) over 2.5 BIllion another 5 Million to develop a shopping center… Maybe i should step back and let cronyism and the gombeen men do their bit…what a fantastic suggestion…. OH Maybe i should also overlook that if you have money,planning laws etc should mean nothing..

AS for the buildings been saved …would you let a plumber restore the book of kells…I think not

Mute Aus Tereo
    Favourite Aus Tereo
    May 18th 2014, 11:16 AM

Keep the facades and restore all the buildings and then lease them to Irish businesses. Would be great to have good Irish butchers, veg shops, fishmongers etc with a few nice cafes and pubs in there too. That would be ideal.

Instead we’ll get another soulless concrete and glass shopping centre full of the same old sh1te international retailers that will look terrible and outdated in ten years.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    May 18th 2014, 11:30 AM

Good thinking, Dublin City Council.
    Commemorate our heroes who inspired the birth of our nation, who helped free us from occupation, who allowed us to set up a state where we could express our distinct Irish culture and heritage.
    Lets build a shopping centre! Lets fill it full of British chain stores !

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank

Moore Street should be left as it is, run down shop fronts, old ones pushing vintage 50′s era prams full of vegetables and counterfeit goods. It is one of the last remaining city street of traditional Dublin that remains,

We don’t want it to go down the same route as Temple bar, Becoming so trendy that the average person cannot afford a few pints on it, full of drunken Stag heads. Dublin city is bloating with shopping centers so why the hell do we need another one?

We can also be damn sure a shopping center it will be full of the usual British chains, tie rack, Booths, Car Phone Warehouse….Leave More Street as it is.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    May 18th 2014, 11:26 AM

Dublin still has the Liberties. Great character. Old Dublin.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 18th 2014, 12:30 PM

The Liberties is one of the best parts of town.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    May 18th 2014, 10:43 AM

Thats all we need.
    Another concrete monstrosity like the commemorative centres in the Burren and Glendalough blighting the scene.
    Just so you can pay an exorbitant fee to see a civil-servant produced video which is mind-numbingly boring.

Mute Seamus Mcfinnigan O Reily
    Favourite Seamus Mcfinnigan O Reily
    May 18th 2014, 10:15 AM

fock 1916 its over. past , focking sick of talk about it

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    May 18th 2014, 10:40 AM

Sure as hell its not over.
    Quite likely, if it did not happen, we would still be an isolated backwater of the UK, pledging allegiance to a Queen who did not earn the right but was born to that privilege.

Mute Jason Downes
    Favourite Jason Downes
    May 18th 2014, 12:25 PM

And if they really have to do something regards a shopping center then for f@$k sake renovate the ilac center, that’s the biggest dump if a shopping center we have.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    May 18th 2014, 12:41 PM

It is a very depressing centre. Drab inside. It should be demolished. Have one huge site to develop from O Connell street to Jervis street. Create a cultural Quarter in North inner city Dublin. Would be great for the area and city.

Mute Dorothy Nealon
    Favourite Dorothy Nealon
    May 18th 2014, 11:24 AM

We don’t need another shopping centre! There are two already along Henry Street.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    May 18th 2014, 11:31 AM

John Lewis Department store want a site in Central Dublin. That site is the only one big enough in the area. Will clean up the northern end of O Connell Street. The new shopping centre will be for high end clothing stores.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    May 18th 2014, 12:12 PM

It’d completely change the character of Upper O’Connell St. Which is something we’ve failed to do for about 70 years now!

Mute Jason Downes
    Favourite Jason Downes
    May 18th 2014, 12:23 PM

Yes renovate but seriously do the apparently cash strapped citizens of Dublin NEED another shopping center. An proper interactive memorial within the buildings and renovation of the street would go a long way to making it a better area.

Mute joe power
    Favourite joe power
    May 18th 2014, 11:50 AM

That street is a dump needs to bulldozed asap

Mute Paul Baker
    Favourite Paul Baker

“The leaders of the 1916 Rising surrendered in the building at 14-17 Moore Street, which is also the site of where the provisional government was headquartered during the Rising”. They only entered Moore street in the last day of the Rising, how were they headquarter there then?

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    May 18th 2014, 12:11 PM

in 2017, will anyone give a monkey’s?

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    May 18th 2014, 2:46 PM

They should erect a monument to all the children that were killed as a result of the actions of these unelected gunmen.

Mute G
    Favourite G
    May 18th 2014, 6:04 PM

The best thing about Moore street is Paris bakery and FX Buckley… The rest is just depressing, it needs a renovation, not another open aired glass house with sucky chains that are all over the city…. GPO was the centre point of 1916, would a museum bring more people to the area?

Chain store Consumerism is sucking up every other city, keep this part of Dublin unique… Tescos and McDonald’s in temple bar, what’s next… Oh right there’ll be a Starbucks soon, cause five on o’connell – doeiller street ain’t enough

Mute James Staines
    Favourite James Staines
    May 18th 2014, 9:02 PM

Who are these self appointed relatives? As a grandson of a GPO participant I have to agree with the view that Moore Street is a horrible wasteland ( bar the Paris Bakery! ) Concentrate on the GPO as the commemorative focal point.

Mute Aisling Brady
    Favourite Aisling Brady
    May 19th 2014, 12:49 PM

Not only should the buildings be preserved and opened as a part of the whole battlefield site Moore Street itself, with it’s long history of market traders should also be kept and nurtured – most major European cities have lovely markets and their increasingly popular winter markets bring a slew of tourists spending money which can only be a good thing ……. Moore Street could become an attraction akin to the Camden Market in London or indeed the Brixton Market …….. an area which was destroyed by riots, poverty and racial tensions and is now running a community market. We have no need of yet another soulless shopping center which will most likely remain empty for the foreseeable future due to the number of large chain stores going bust. Tourist don’t come to Dublin to shop, they come to see out heritage, history and character. A sympathetic rejuvenation of the Moor Street area with craft stalls, butchers, flowers stalls. organic veg etc would pull in more trade & create jobs better that than building a huge, towering glass, steel & chrome eye sore that will dwarf the buildings facing onto O’Connell Street. We are slowly but surely ripping the heart and soul out of our city and replacing them with monuments to corrupt officials and developers – it;s not a legacy I can be proud of that’s for sure.

Mute James Staines
    Favourite James Staines
    May 18th 2014, 9:02 PM

Who are these self appointed relatives ? As a grandson of a GPO participant I have to agree with the viewpoint that Moore Street is horribly run down ( bar the Paris Bakery!) Concentrate on the GPO as a memorial/commemorative site.

Mute Aisling Brady
    Favourite Aisling Brady
    May 19th 2014, 12:55 PM

It should also be clear that’s it’s not only the relatives of the 1916 Rising rebels that oppose the plans for Moore Street, I think if people had seen the plans for the proposed new Galleria Center they would be shocked at the scale of the project.

Mute Brendan Gorman
    Favourite Brendan Gorman
    May 18th 2014, 11:54 AM

Well well well , what have we here now .

There are always going to be differing views on a same subject matter .

Excuse the pun , but to some it was of great Matter . . . or None .
    To others , a Matter of . . . Subject / ion .

Here,s the real difficulty ,

Human beings , Sincere men and women , many with Hope and aspiration were prepared to surrender their lifes in the name of freedom for all peoples on these hallowed grounds of Moor St .

To govern a country in a fair and just way , far removed from the great oppression and dominance which existed at that time by a foregin power .

We need to remember our heritage in a dignified way and give place of honour to all men and women past , present and future for not to do so is a denial of our very being .

Where have we all seen this before . Where are we all seeing it . . Now ?

Did not the men who fought in WW1, all 20,000 slaughtered in one day , at the battle of the Somme have similar ideals . . . to fight for whats right !

Is might right ?

Were their enemys , not of the . . . . . Same view ?

Ask . . . Yourselfs .

Well !

You see , what it all comes down to is . . . Perspective and indoctrination .

Every human life is sacred and should be treated with respect .

Yes , we should take up Arms . . .
    and legs and feet , to build ourselves a better future the world over, in caring for one another , for its the present , we live in , not the past nor the future .

This is the . . . . Present .

Think about it .

Mute gerard o leary
    Favourite gerard o leary
    May 18th 2014, 10:12 AM

Hi. It all should should be restored. Get rid of the phone shops and bring back the days of get Ur bananas 5 for 50. Moore street is ruined and it is real Dublin don’t ruin it anymore