You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IRELAND HAS PARTICIPATED in the Remembrance Sunday wreath-laying in London for the first time since the 1940s, with Ambassador Dan Mulhall taking part in the ceremony on the State’s behalf.
The British Government asked Ireland to lay a wreath at the annual event last month, making the invitation to recognise “the immense contribution and shared sacrifice” of the tens of thousands of Irish people who had served in its armed forces.
Foreign Affairs Minister Charlie Flanagan said it was an opportunity “to reflect on and remember the thousands of men from the island of Ireland who, for many different reasons, left their homes and families to fight in the First World War and never returned”.
While Ireland has previously attended the Remembrance Sunday ceremony at the Cenotaph, this is the first time in almost 70 years that the State has participated in the wreath-laying.
The last time it happened, in 1946, the Republic was still part of the Commonwealth.
The invitation builds on the successful State Visits of recent years — first of Queen Elizabeth to Ireland in 2011, and, this summer, Michael D Higgins’ return trip.
PA Wire / Press Association Images
PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
Queen Elizabeth, senior royals and politicians including Prime Minister David Cameron also laid wreaths at the Cenotaph national war memorial in London, as hundreds of veterans from more than 70 years of conflicts looked on.
Security was tighter than normal amid heightened fears of the risk of a terror attack, but there was no change to the customary programme of marches and military music.
A 13-pounder World War I gun was fired at 1100 GMT, marking the start of two minute’s silence observed by millions of people across Britain and at British military bases across the world.
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
Remembrance Sunday is the Sunday closest to Armistice Day on November 11, the anniversary of the 1918 signing of the peace that ended fighting in World War I.
The day has become a time to remember all the troops killed in wars since then.
Cameron said the ceremonies were “particularly poignant” as 2014 is the centenary of the start of World War I, as well as the 70th anniversary of the D-Day landings and the end of Britain’s combat role in Afghanistan.
“Today we stand united to remember the courageous men and women who have served our country, defended our freedoms and kept us safe,” he said ahead of the event.
“We remember all those who have fallen and those who have risked their lives to protect us.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Was watching it earlier. No-one mixes pomp with solemnity quite so classily as the Brits. It’s always a great ceremony. Our man in London did a fine job. He didn’t lay our wreathe with any of the other ambassadors, though. Went up to the Cenotaph on his own. It’s a small thing in a way but a big deal in another. He really stood out. The BBC commentators made mention of it more than once.
We’ve repairing so many bridges in our relationship across the Irish Sea and both governments deserve a lot of credit for the softly-softly manner in which they’ve stacked success upon success.
Well said. Ireland was deeply involved in the war and that’s an uncomfortable truth for Nationalists. Great to see Dan Mulhall representing the Irish people with such dignity.
Do we have to put up with this shiit every year. what about every year they say sorry for all the people they murdered I feel angry that some of our politicians have called our Heroes traitors. Men who stood up to an evil empire and died without complaint yet we have to shed a tear for the people who died helping to save it.
wake up ye clowns – did ye see what the British Government did during the torture trial in the seventies – and how many british government s have covered it up since – what a pair of lickarses !
So it is not everyones cup of tea to remember people who died in past conflicts.
Lets then join with Germany this weekend celebrating 25 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall. Lets also remember the Russians who built it and its purpose to stop east Germans from escaping into the west. Lets remember the hundreds of people killed trying to escape from communism.
Perhaps one day we will be able to celebrate barriers coming down in this country and mutual respect being shewn for all communities north-south-east & west.
Bad things happened on all sides Dermot, can’t hold grudges forever, small steps like this can help to heal the wrongs of the past and move us all towards a better future!
‘Lets also remember the Russians who built it and its purpose to stop east Germans from escaping into the west.’ It wasn’t actually bulit by Russians though was it? The USSR was multinational entity and it’s most infamous leader was non-Russian. You need to be more subtle in your anti-Russian propaganda.
that’s ridiculous propaganda Chris – oh the commies are the bad guys – no one more than Russia prevented the rise of Naziism and they built the wall to insure the germans would never again darken their borders – and now look at the E.U. in the Ukraine !
Jop – I know what you say is right – and it is my natural inclination to celebrate all cultures and their diversity – but and my but is this – this ceremony commemorates an army that has played some very very illegal and terrorist acts on this island to my people – if it was strictly W.W.1 and for all the fallen – civilians and soldiers on all sides then I’d bury myself in poppies but there is a darker more sinister underside behind all this pomp and ceremony and that is why I oppose the Irish Ambassador’s actions.
Elm Guest Hopuse has not been dealt with , the sale of arms to Loyalist forces wasn’t mentioned in the Smithwick Tribunal , nothing has been done about the falsification of evidence by the British Government at the torture trail in the 70s – or the British soldiers going around in civilian clothes posing as sectarian terrorists and shooting catholics stone dead as they were just going about their daily lives …. deal with these issues first and then we’ll hold hands and all sing Kum Byah
The Ambassador’s primary duty should be to highlight these issues and to report back on progress – this attendance makes me wonder if he ever went into Guinness and Mahon Merchant’s Bank …
I wonder what millions of Germans would think of your comments Scripto. They would probably laugh at your contempt for their history – maybe you should take a trip to Berlin and see for yourself. I was there before the wall came down, so I can honestly say that I know what it represented.
I don’t see much apologies from the Provos for all the people they killed either, for no end except to make a handful of people rich from diesel laundering, smuggling and assorted criminality.
The sooner we start to grow up as a nation, the better. This wreath-laying ceremony is one small step in that direction.
and the u.v.f. and other loyalist paramilitaries are falling over themselves to apologise just before they go down to the shop and buy their poppies and wear them proudly …. it’s too complicated because the poppy represents current soldiers as well !
Chris I guarantee I know exactly how Germans feel about it having lived with a bunch of East Germans for years. People who actually lived there under the regime , not just visited on their hols as you did. And they tend to be pretty precise and factual (typical Germans) about how they remember history.
It’s obvious you’re not being honest about what you’re saying when you deny basic facts.
You are right Scripto to the point that I was in Berlin for just a short stay, but enough time to see (west) half of the city for myself. The wall represtented a ‘demarkation’ of how the victors of WW2 divided up the spoils, Berlin therefore was sectored under marshall law between Russian, American, British and French forces which effectively ended when the wall came down. The Russians who built the iron curtain from the Baltic to the Black sea decided that they would create a boundary to separate the east from west and prevent its citizens from crossing into the west. Actually in those times to get overland into Berlin meant that visitors had to drive through an east German corridor where it was forbidden to stop along the way. When the Germans built their autobahn, this later provided the Russians with an ideal method for rapid moving of their tanks in an attempt to cut off Berlin altogether, which they tried to do on more than one occasion.
Dermot, you just set out a good case for setting up a truth and reconciliation commission, let’s bring everything out into the light of day. I mean everything, not just the injustices by the British, also those committed by Loyalists and Republicans.
Fully agree Jop . the capacity in the human being to forgive is massive , but if you lie to him then his capacity for vengeance is almost just as harsh – perhaps even moreso …
The one thing that always struck me as being particularly odd was the silencing of Sinn Fein politicians during the troubles – I was too young at the time to have the bigger picture but as more truth comes out about the North I am beginning to have a very very dark view of what has passed as Republican Government since the State was founded !
A liar usually has more to hide than the victim he silences !
The UVF did apologise to all the innocent victims. They offered “abject & true remorse” in their 1994 ceasefire announcement. Of course, that was the leadership speaking for themselves but still, they did say it
Fair enough Silver – but I am sure the I.R.A. did as well – I have come to the inescapable conclusion that about 99% of the world simply want peace and that it is the other 1% that’s ruining it for everyone – and that 1% is Royal Families / dictators ? power-mad governments etc., military chiefs and the arms industry !
@ John
Your right,it is a small step in the right direction another would be to accept the conflict in the six counties for what it was a dirty war involving more than the iRA,everyone loves to go on about the IRA but they didnt start the war,they contributed to it majorly and they also called an end to it,your right time to move on so maybe you should start to accept all sides where guilty in this war singling out one side isnt exactly right.
No, we shouldn’t. Let the British keep the poppy symbol for themselves. The French have the cornflower, different symbols for different countries. We are a separate country with a separate identity.
Did Ye also see how the Sinn Fein /IRA rapists were all moved around so ever quietly instead of being brought to justice . Their leaders are still in power – so don’t give us Ur cr-p about the British -
Mike and what about the british rapists in the elm guest house – the british really slammed them up for a long time – oh and Jimmy Saville – have you heard of him – he loved going around in union jack clothes if I remember correctly !
Not condoning the actions of the I.R.A. by any means just balancing the point above !
We’re living in astounding times. Hopefully we can move forward & embrace the relationship between the two countries & relegate the past to where it belongs – history.
How partaking in a day that has become the most sentimental and maudlin pity commemoration of its kind in the world, that goes on for weeks is putting the past behind it.
American has Memorial Day and there isn’t half the BS or fake emotion and they have a hell of a lot of people at it who are mourning partners, children, their crippled sons etc.
Not Great Grand Uncle Albert who died 50 years before they were born.
It is a spectacle at this stage, more about the needs of the people commemorating rather than being commemorated.
Coli I was paraphrasing the first comment – so you will have to deal with Ou on this one !
But to answer your question – History is not this present moment in time or any after that as most understand time …..
@seanieryan so will you condemn the 1916 commemorations and those that attend in the same manner? Is Great uncle Seamus who died 50 years ago is no longer worth remembering?
It’s far from pomp and ceremony most of these men died, butchered in squalor and hellish conditions while their elite superiors sacrificed their troops life’s with scant regard…….
American has Memorial Day and there isn’t half the BS or fake emotion and they have a hell of a lot of people at it who are mourning partners, children, their crippled sons etc.
Not Great Grand Uncle Albert who died 50 years before they were born.
It is a spectacle at this stage, more about the needs of the people commemorating rather than being commemorated.
The number of children and disabled in todays march past the Cenotaph shows the respect of so many people for those who gave their all. Parents of those who died in the Falklands, in Afghanistan and Iraq mingled with those who lost parents and grandparents in the two great wars in a show of respect. The trolls here will never get respect from anyone other than their fellow bottom feeders.
I thought it strange while watching the ‘Remembrance concert’ when Jeff Beck and a lady called Joss Stone sang that famous antiwar song written by Eric Bogle ‘Willie McBride’, a song well known here in Ireland, that they omitted the most poignant and crucial verses, the verses which condemn the useless and needless futility of war. Very strange.
Seanie Ryan is right. I would add it’s such a transparently fake memorial month or two that I suspect there is a lot of nostalgia for UK leaders in reminiscing teary eyed over their long lost empire. Now that they merely compete with the French and Canadians to be Washingtons most loyal international poodle it comforts them to remember a time when their country was independent and actually called some of the shots on a world stage.
Then Josh Stone and Jeff Beck mustn’t want to remember those who died in the article mentioned above – but rather those who made them fall !
That’s the end of their singing careers so it is !
@seanieryan many people use the day and the ceromony to remember or pay respects to those that have died in all conflicts all around the world. my grandfather died in WW2; obviously I never met him so I have no emotional ties to him, but my father observed this day every year, and often spoke of the effects of losing his father on the rest of life. I choose to pay may respects to not only my grandfather, but all those that have died in conflicts, and those that survived. I think they have earnt that.
I’m not trying to be smart here Padraig – but why not remember him everyday rather than this one “special” day …… this is a political act and all war is started by politicians who have a wonderful habit of not going anywhere near the hell they create !
Sorry to hear about the loss of your Grandfather !
Like I say, I never knew him so I didn’t lose him – This for me is about paying respect to the sacrifice made by others. My father was free to remember his father as and when he wanted to, which he did
We should have a global day for all of thr innocent people whom have been killed in wars, conflicts, occupations etc not all wars are just and not all those who get killed are the so called enemy.
I find it fascinating that people still refer to it as famine it was genocide simple as they wanted to rid the land of the Irish and what better way than to ship all the food out during the time of the failure of the potato
The reason why we refer to the famine as genocide is because Trevelyan described it as an excellent way to control the Iirsh population , and then of course one had Queen Victoria turning down free aid from the Sultan of the Ottoamn empire – he offered food worth 10,000 pounds and she replied that it would be better if he only sent 1,000 pounds worth as herself and her beloved German Husband were only going to contribute 2,000 pounds worth of aid !
Learn some history Vicky it is as you say FASCINATING !
Theirs no evidence that it wasn’t an attempt at Genocide, certainly seems that it was, the population was halved, don’t think you can justify it by blaming free market economics Scipio.
I find it fascinating that this is the exact same thing that we in the first world are doing to Africa right now, and yet you can be all indignant about the irish famine whilst supporting subsidies for irish farmers, and revelling in the low, low prices on your shopping that free-market economics allows for, ignoring the fact that African farmers, and their families right now are suffering and dying in EXACTLY the same way that irish potato farmers, and the people that relied on their produce, were suffering and dying then
What I never got about the Poppy day sentimentality fest is that the people who are all gung ho remembering the troops and Great grand uncles never gave a toss about the cripples coming home from Iraq and Afghanistan.
Britain treats its vets very poorly, it discards them.
There is no solemnity or pomp or emotion or votes in cripples.
That’s a point not made often enough Seanie. All these flag wavers vanish when it’s time to come home.
The most hawkish congressmen and Senators in the US actually raided the body armor fund in the Iraq funding bills and used it as pork money to spend on projects in their districts. These a-holes actually had pictures taken with troops while they were doing this, making fake out teary visits to VA Hospitals etc
It’s the same with the first responders. Those who volunteered for duty on 911 were left without healthcare after breathing in pulverized glass and concrete in the pile, they only gave them coverage in 2011, after a campaign by a Comedy Central comedian, John Stewart, shamed them into it.
I remember that, it just goes to show you how absurd their politics gets.
All during the war on terror and 2004, 2006 2008 elections you had hicks in Alabama worrying about terrorist attacks so voting GOP or conservaDem (And getting equal Homeland Security grants to the likes of NY which has only led to more militarized police forces because they’ve no actual potential targets to spend it on), meanwhile the only two states to GET attacked stayed blue, relatively liberal and antiwars like Iraq.
It was actually a strange thing for me to learn that the biggest opposition to the Intervention in Iraq was from within the US Millitary, then they said if you’re gonna do it then we at least need 500,000 troops and a post war plan…they fired the two generals who said this in front of congress and hired yes men who told them they could do it on the cheap with less than half that number…we all know how that turned out…
WWI was a pointless blood bath and a disgusting waste of human life. At least WWII was a war of necessity (though we have our own baggage about that for totally diff reasons), they were dying for a reason, to save the continent from tyranny. We should not be commemorating it or pretending it was anything other than that bloodbath. We should remember it as a warning never to engage in a war of choice again, maybe if that was the message then the Iraq war would never have happened and the middle east would not be falling apart now because of it.
That is three words Traolach, four if you count your previous post. And it is bs. 35000 ordinary Irish men died in the first world war. 1 in 6 of those who signed up. The Ambassador laying the wreath is recognising and remembering those who died. No more and no less.
The poppy is a distinctly British Empire symbol though Ahippo so there has to be room for disagreement of an Irish Ambassador representing all the Nation at this ceremony – for to allow the british to commemorate their fallen with little or no recognition for all the Irish people they killed is disingenuous is it not ?
Check out what happened to Connacht Rangers in India during the war of Independence – they are being remembered in this ceremony as well – after all they were fallen British soldiers after their colleauges executed them – were they not ?
what about laying a wreath for the millions who died under british occupation including the 2 million in the famine of 1845 and the 2 million killed by cromwell
with you on that Traolach ….although there is a famine statue right in front of Berties National Conference Centre where Angela and the E.P.P. cronies had their chinwag before the European elections …I think a guy called Bonnet was at it as well ….
Yes, you can do that too Traolach. The actions are not mutually exclusive.
Dermot. On the centenary of the outbreak of WW1 I was walking through Brussels and on the side of the EU commission building was an enormous poster of a symbol of commemoration. Can you guess what it was?
The Poppy comes from the poem In Flanders fields, written by a Canadian, the idea of using a poppy came from an American and the First one was manufactured by a French woman. It’s now used internationally.
i also failed to mention the famine of 1740 were between 400,000 and 1 million died , All this crap is glorifying war and the criminals who instigate it.
Don’t forget the Black Death of 1349, where a reputed half of Irelands population died from bubonic plague. Will we blame the rats or the fleas – or perhaps the Anglo Normans.
Crap! What about all the hundreds of thousands who’ve suffered similar deprivation at the hands of the Fine Gael/Labour coalition? And what of thousands who were murdered by their own comrades in the civil war?
And just in case you didn’t notice the DeVIL era is over! Grow up and stop dreaming and relearn your history with an open mind and not a clearly hate-filled ignorant one.
It’s not quite over yet Brehon – there is the overhang of the Catholic Church that no-one in the Dail seems capable of dealing with – it almost makes senior politicians seem complicit in their nefarious activities !
I find the whole Tower of London poppy fiasco utterly contemptible. The First World War was a fiasco of immense proportions. Historians trying to make sense of it almost makes it worse. It was a crime of epic propo
It is a spectacle, the spectacle is all that counts for this.
It is what it means for people now, a sense of proportion, a grand gesture in a material world, though in reality it was blood, shi7 and murder for four years and then they were sent back to the North of England, Scotland etc etc and crapped down on for the rest of their lives by the people who sent them in the first place.
None of that matters though, no other country feels the need to go overboard for the month before this.
Even countries who have much more war dead.
It is an identity crisis in a country that has lost Empire and status, and yearns for past glory and a time of jolly chaps stoically doing their bit. A made up past.
It is only the last 15 years that this went from commemoration to jingoistic pity fest for unknown ancestors.
I’ll just try this again ..
Polish ? – Lech Walesa the former President of Poland recently called for Poland to unify with Germany = you do know that don’t you Silver Planet !
It was war that liberated Kuwait from Iraq. Surely war is justified if there’s a good reason for waging it. I can’t criticise Britain for taking on Iraq the first time but they had no right to be there the second time or Afghanistan. I can’t criticise the Falklands either or their interventions at the request of governments.
this is my take on war Adrian ….
Any army that is on foreign soil is wrong !
It is regardless of reason the invasory force – so should saddam have gone into Kuwait – hell no ! …but this is where the whole problem arises – it should have been up to the kuwaitis through the U.N. to evict him back to where he came from to the edge of the kuwaiti border – the problem arose when the invasion became a “western democracy” thing and it has been going on for 23 years since !
The current system of superpowers overriding international law makes the generals in these countries the real world leaders – and that is something that should never happen !
Politicians should act as the brake on war – not the guy that jump starts it !
So in short I will never go to war overseas but if a foreign soldier sets foot in my country then I must go to war – for soldiers exist for only one thing – to kill those who oppose them regardless of geography !
From what I know about it Remembrance Day or Poppy Day is that it is one day where those who have died in armed conflict are remembered and thanked for their sacrifice. A sort of… we are the people and you are the ones who went out and sacrificed yourselves to keep us free, so thank you… type of thing. Sounds like a very noble idea to me. Many countries participate in it in various ways. I am aware that the date and timing of it came about following the end of the First World War and it has been celebrated ever since but it has also evolved to what it is today. Yes, the Brits do pomp and ceremony better than anyone else and good on ‘em for it. I am quite happy for our ambassador in Britain to lay a wreath at the cenotaph on this day.
so you join with him in approving of a tradition the collection of monies from which will be exclusively used for the upkeep of soldiers from Bloody Sunday if they fall on hard times – there is that element to it too JohnJoe …..
Maybe you’re right ……. maybe you aren’t
apologies Adam … the poppy money charity is for the upkeep of all British Soldiers including those who were at Bloody Sunday ..
The Poppy is a British Legion charity – the British Legion exist solely to help veterans who fall on hard times – cheaper than the queen having to I suppose !
Johnjoe – as far as I know it goes to the Legion !
The Irish dead remembered alongside their fighting war hero’s collectively! They did this for the world Peace!
Shame our young men haven’t learnt from their deaths.
Bigots or trolls or both adds up to stupidity! Go and disrespect elsewhere!
This is a complete joke
None of them give two F***s about the war dead they don’t even look after the living soliders when it come to mental health ect
They are just there because it is the political correct thing to do and it is the place to be seen today
We may let the past go but what of the present! When is Ireland gonna take its place among the nations of the world instead of sitting back neutral while other brave men from other countries-notably the countries that took our unemployed and mostly unskilled emigrants in-are on the front lines against ISIS,etc?
Paddy ISIS has been created by the US. In an effort to remove Assad from Power the US gave millions of dollars to the ‘REBELS”. ISIS were one of these rebels and have been committing atrocities in Iraq and Syria. Turkey is a member of NATO and is openly supporting ISIS allowing there to cross from Syria in to Turkey and back. Saudi Arabia is a great friend of the US and they are financing ISIS. If the US are so eager to stop ISIS they should stop the Turks helping them, stop Saudi supporting them and back Assad and join together to defeat them.
Paddy Ireland should stay Neutral. This is not an Irish war.
This is a war that needs the UN and the middle east to stop. NOT NATO OR THE US. Assad would of defeated ISIS if the US haven’t been giving them money, guns and transport to defeat Assad.
And what’s your excuse for Russia shooting one of our nationals out of the sky along with many of our Euro compatriots? A pro Hamas/ISIS march against Israel. Denial of reality mingled with cowardice….
i read a great quote today regarding the British and their poppy.
“Of course there were brave men who fought in it and died, lions led by donkeys as the Ulster Volunteers called it, but that does not excuse its utter uselessness.
Why should we ennoble that dreadful struggle where the upper classes of Europe sent millions of working-class men to their deaths?”
It’s not just the British and their poppy. I’m in Canada and the majority of the people, and not just those of European origin, wear the poppy here too. Two members of the Canadian forces were killed by terrorists in the line of duty in the past few weeks here. The poppy is worn to remind people of the sacrifices that people in the forces have made not just in the first world war or the second world war but all the time and right up to the present day. It’s not ennoblement its acknowledgement.
Edward, the poppy is the symbol of the British empire. For all the soldiers who died for the empire. To me if they left the poppy as the symbol for WW1 and ww2 ONLY i might wear one. But including all British soldiers means to me that there are also a lot of British ‘terriorists’ soldiers included. Those who killed thousands during the South African boer wars. the first and second. When we think of concentration camps we automatically think of Germany but the British kept millions in camps in South Africa during their scorched earth policy in the early 1900′s. They also used these same concentration camps in Kenya during the 60′s. 100,000′s of innocent civilians have been killed by British soldiers while on duty. this included Irish people serving in the British army. They killed and tortured innocent people in Northern Ireland since the 60′s to the 90′s.
I lived in the UK for a few years and i will never ever wear a poppy. There is a lot of innocent blood on that poppy.
Well, we’ll have to disagree so. The soldiers that died here last month were Canadian, not British. The British Empire that you talk about is long gone. I don’t disagree that the Brits carried out atrocities. Plenty of others did too throughout history. Look at King Leopold of Belgian in The Congo for just one quick example. And you know that you wont have to look hard at other nations who carried out similar atrocities in the name of empire building throughout history. But this is not about nations. Many countries that were part of the British Empire or are in The Commonwealth of Nations today wear the poppy but for the reasons mentioned in my previous post. Most people who join the forces do it for the right reasons and not to be terrorists, torturers and murderers. This is not about the murdering Brits. This is about good people who died fighting for their country. Individual people. Not a government or their policies. Not one country. Not one empire. Amazing. Have your opinion. That’s mine.
To answer your point on empire building, those countries who committed those crimes in former colonies need to be held to account for their actions. People in Kenya are today still looking for justice but sadly the British somehow lost all their records, how convenient!! Its not something you’ll hear, see or read in the mainstream media. 40,000 are still looking for compensation.
You also say “This is not about the murdering Brits. This is about good people who died fighting for their country. Individual people. Not a government or their policies. Not one country. Not one empire.”
i think it was 50,000 Irish who died in WW1. In 1912 the people in Ireland lived in poverty, people were ill treated especially catholics, these people rented their land from mighty English landlords who for what ever reason could evict them at a moments notice. since 1800 Millions emigrated to escape from poverty. Thats why there are so many Irish in Canada, the US, Australia and England. 90% of Irish people wanted independence from the empire but were not allowed. So when world war 1 started many joined because a Britain’s mismanagement of Ireland. they were poor, they had no work, no jobs, no money, no opportunity. They joined for adventure and not because the great dukes and lords tell them of their just cause. Also many who wanted independence joined after listening to the words of John Redmond, he told them if they joined, they would help to free little Belgium and that as a response Ireland itself would gets its freedom from Britain. It was a lie. Its very sad that many died for a pack of lies.
The celebrations of remembrance day have royals, lords and wealthy politicians laying wreaths for the brave souls who gave their lives. Ironic really that it wasn’t they who were affected or killed in the bloody war!! Most of English politicians are sons of wealthy bankers and CEO’s who had companies in the far east of the British empire. Who were educated in Oxford or Cambridge.
For me i chose to look at it as a “dreadful struggle where the upper classes of Europe sent millions of working-class men to their deaths?”.
People also wear a poppy for those killed in Iraq, Iraq is an illegal war. Britain and the US invaded because of the threat of weapons of mass destruction. This was a lie, no such weapons were found. There was even a UN report that no such weapons existed. The British should not forget the innocent Iraqis that died at the hands of these British heroes whom the people of Britain were a poppy for.
Yet another housing forecast says the government will miss its completion targets
3 hrs ago
The Morning Lead
RTB writes to major landlord Ires Reit over attempts to impose monthly common area charges
Eoghan Dalton
3 hrs ago
RIP
'True legend': Tributes paid to former F1 boss Eddie Jordan after his death aged 76
Updated
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say