You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fewer than 50,000 renters have claimed the Rent Tax Credit so far this year

The figures come as the Government contemplates doubling the amount available for renters to claim back in next month’s Budget.

JUST UNDER 50,000 individuals or couples have claimed the Rent Tax Credit this year out of the 400,000 individuals who are eligible to apply, new figures show.

The figures come as the Government contemplates doubling the amount available for renters to claim back in next month’s Budget.

The Rent Tax Credit was introduced in Budget 2023 and is worth €500 per year per claim. Renters who are paying tax on their earnings can claim the money back from Revenue as long as their landlord is registered with the Residential Tenancies Board (RTB).

Judging by the newly released figures, the vast majority of those seeking to claim it have not yet done so. Claimants will, however, have up to four years to claim the credit for this year. 

The measure was introduced to ease pressure on renters as a result of the cost-of-living crisis. It is claimed on a “taxpayer unit” basis, meaning it can be claimed by an individual who is singly assessed or a couple in a marriage or civil partnership who have elected for joint assessment.

The Government has signalled that it plans to increase the Rent Tax Credit in next month’s Budget. Finance Minister Michael McGrath said he was ”examining the rent tax credit” last month.

However, new figures show that just 49,335 taxpayer units had claimed the credit for this year up until 13 September. This is despite the Department of Finance (which oversees the credit via Revenue) estimating that 400,000 individuals are eligible to claim the credit.

The figures were given to Sinn Féin TD and housing spokesperson Eoin Ó Broin and Fine Gael TD Richard Bruton in response to parliamentary questions. 

In total, according to the figures supplied, 286,419 Rent Tax Credit claims have been made by 252,317 taxpayer units for 2022 and 2023 to date. This breaks down as:

• 202,982 taxpayer units that made claims for 2022 only
  • 34,102 taxpayer units that made claims for both 2022 and 2023
  • 15,233 taxpayer units that made claims for 2023 only

The figures suggest that if 2023 figures are to match that of last year a large cohort of those eligible should make their claim later in the year. 

“First of all, the very low level of uptake for this year is very concerning,” said Eoin Ó Broin.

What it shows is that a very significant number of renters either don’t know about this Tax Credit or they haven’t claimed it.

Ó Broin said that the government had not done enough “to ensure that those renters who need this credit but are least able to access it” are catered to.

He said that people from migrant or lower income backgrounds may not be aware of the existence of the credit or how to access it and that more needed to be done to advertise its availability.

“We need the Residential Tenancies Board and the Department of Finance to be much more proactive in showing that this is available,” he said.

RTB registered

Ó Broin also said it had been reported to him that the fact that a tenancy had to be registered with the RTB provided a barrier for many tenants.

“We’re hearing lots of complaints that RTB registration being mandatory is a real problem,” he said.

Renters may not wish to contact a landlord to ask them to register in case this puts their tenancy at risk, he said.

One person renting in Dublin with their partner spoke with The Journal on condition of anonymity. They said they would not be claiming the credit even though they were entitled to do so, as their tenancy was not registered with the RTB.

“There’s a very strong financial incentive for us to shut up and say nothing and not claim this tax rebate,” they said.

“Because if there was any suggestion going anywhere close to Revenue that might mark those payments down as rental income benefitting someone else, I’d be seriously jeopardising my personal relationship with the landlord and consequently my entire ability to stay in this country and work.”

The person said they would like to be able to claim the credit, but that it was preferable to be able to live somewhere, as they had been “completely priced out of the market” in Dublin.

“We’re taking this because it’s the only thing we’ve got,” he said.

It’s not a position I would like to be in, I would prefer to have things done above board, but this is the only place we were able to get. 

Information campaign

According to Gareth Redmond, research and policy officer with tenancy support charity Threshold, one the biggest reasons the charity has identified among its users for not claiming the credit is a lack of awareness.

“What is indicative from our data is not knowing how [to claim it] and also not knowing about it,” he said.

In Threshold’s latest annual survey of its clients – We are Generation Rent 2023 – the charity spoke to 119 people about their experience of renting in Ireland. 

In total, two-thirds of respondents were aware of the credit, but only 44% had applied or were planning to. The biggest reason for not applying was ineligibility, with 40% of respondents unable to apply as they were already in receipt of housing supports.

Over 20% of people hadn’t applied as they were unaware of the credit. According to the results of this survey – which is not nationally representative as it only included people already engaging with Threshold – less than 5% of respondents said they had not applied as their landlord was not registered with the RTB.

Commenting on the results, Gareth Redmond said the Government needed to do more to make people aware of the credit.

“One of the things that Threshold would want to stress is that the Rent Tax Credit itself is very much a cost of living measure and from what our understanding is, it’s that the Government very much want take up of that,” he said.

“The Government need to carry out a stronger public information campaign to tell a certain cohort of renters that they are eligible for this money. A very clear example of that is renters for whom English may not be their primary language.

And groups of migrant renters specifically need to be targeted with information in their native languages.

Finance response

In response to queries, a spokesperson from the Department of Finance said that as the credit was made on a “taxpayer unit” basis, “we would not expect to see 400,000 taxpayer units claim the credit”.

“We also would note that tax refunds can be requested within four years after the end of the tax year to which the claim relates, so it is possible that eligible persons may not claim the Rent Tax Credit in respect of 2022 until 2026,” the spokesperson said.

Similarly, self-assessed taxpayers will not be making their 2022 tax returns until 31 October 2023 and if eligible for the Rent Tax Credit can claim it at this stage.

For PAYE workers, the spokesperson said that people had the option of claiming the credit throughout the year as the rent is incurred, or at the end of the year through their Income Tax return.

“As such, while taxpayers can claim for the credit during the year, many may wish to wait until the end of year whilst they are making their tax return to claim the Rent Tax Credit,” they said.

Revenue is conducting an information campaign to highlight the ease of use of the online myAccount system and to raise awareness of a range of key tax credits and reliefs available to taxpayers including the rent tax credit.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:41 AM

If Jesus was against drinking, why did he turn water into wine instead of cranberry juice?

Aug 5th 2016, 7:05 AM

Yeah did he even check IDs?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:35 AM

Sure he carried 3 different IDs himself, he was like your man Jason Re-Bourne

Mute Sarah Clifford
    Favourite Sarah Clifford
    Aug 5th 2016, 8:08 AM

With that skill I’d have followed him everywhere too

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:32 AM

His Ma was only 12 when she had him and the da wasn’t around.. how could we expect him to grow up normal??

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:58 AM

He should buy a round like everyone else!

Mute ⚡ SCO Electrical ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ SCO Electrical ⚡
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:31 AM

Don’t think I knew as a kid there was an option not to take it… It was “just another one of those things you did”

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:38 AM

it was all part of the abuse we have to endure at the hands of the RC church

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:03 AM

I have to say Tommy, I am not religious but I find the militant anti-church brigade to be even more insufferable than the religious orders ever were.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:21 AM

Not so much anti-church John, more anti-stupid. The church just provides a lot of material in that regard.

And what a mistake giving them powers over the education system. A legacy issue which needs correction as a matter of urgency.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:25 AM

Who is to say they are wrong or stupid? Can’t you just live and let live no? I have zero interest in religion but if somebody else does, work away! Each to their own. Is that so difficult?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:31 AM

“but I find the militant anti-church brigade to be even more insufferable than the religious orders ever were.”

Then you were clearly never bet black and blue by a man in a dress. Either that or you liked it.. Atheists words only hurt those who disagree.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:40 AM

Who is to say they are wrong or stupid? Can’t you just live and let live no? I have zero interest in religion but if somebody else does, work away! Each to their own. Is that so difficult?
    =====

The idea of a virgin birth is very,very stupid, John. Like religious people claiming to have all the answers about the universe and how we came to be…very, very stupid.

We can live and let live, as soon as 96% of schools are not indoctrination centres. Sound like a plan?

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:49 AM

Like I said I don’t believe either, but people are entitled to decide what they want to believe. Your post above is just proving my point. I don’t have many religious people telling me repeatedly about the virgin birth…….I can live and let live, you can’t.
    I’d love to see the schools taken out of church patronage…..good luck with the tax bill that we will all face to buy these schools off the orders! I can already see the commotion that will cause…..

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:53 AM

I can live and let live but not when 96% of schools are dedicated to promoting rubbish, when they could be teaching something useful.

As I say, its a legacy issue. A solution may be complex, but that doesn’t mean we stop trying. As long as its not forced on anyone, people can believe what they like.

The problem is, the church know that as soon as they lose the ability to get at kids from age 5, its game over.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:54 AM

Rubbish in your opinion…..again forcing your opinion…..

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt

Rubbish in your opinion…..again forcing your opinion…..
    ========

Welcome to the internet.

What about the other points?

Why is religion in schools, isn’t that what churches are for?

As soon as its kept out of schools, we can live and let live. Deal?

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Favourite Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:01 AM

Could you be more precise about ‘the abuse we have to endure at the hands of the RC church’, please?

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:05 AM

Tommy MacDonagh:

Could you be more explicit about ‘the abuse we have to endure at the hands of the RC church’, please?

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:13 AM

Well done to the 2 posters above, completely proving my point! I completely agree re religion in schools, my original point (which you might care to read, especially my attitude to the church).
    I am not sure which is worse, schools in religious patronage or schools in the hands of people like yourselves.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:17 AM

Elizabeth, They tried to stop same sex couples getting married, They promote non use of condoms in aids ridden Africa, They fight to keep the disgusting 8th amendment in place.. Not to mention the last century selling kids off to the highest bidder in America and using their mothers as slaves, And raping and beating our kids only to cover it all up after and not make amends. Other than that they are grand.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:18 AM

I am not sure which is worse, schools in religious patronage or schools in the hands of people like yourselves.
    =======

So a non religious person wondering if it’d be better for schools to teach religion for the minimum 2.5 hours per week instead of say, another language, science, technology, programming….

You’re not fooling anyone John.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:25 AM

Dude you are just taking the arguments on tangents now. I would absolutely support time being spent on those rather than religion.
    Maybe take a read of my original point(s) again, it seems to be hard to get it into your thick stupid head.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:38 AM

Elizabeth, you have a hard neck asking a question like that. Are you sick in the head or what?

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:40 AM

How naive John with your ‘live and let live’ mantra, failing to see the problem with this(ie. the schools) until it was put on a plate for you.

As Sean said above, congratulations on being part of the problem.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:44 AM

@ Oldschoolcelt : “Who is to say they are wrong or stupid?”

This should’ve been a clue to what direction this was going to go :-)

Mute Ironballs
    Favourite Ironballs
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:44 AM

I consider myself an atheist but I have to say that some atheists are so preachy and militant, they’re just as insufferable as any religious zealot… I certainly don’t object to taking religious holidays… Can we keep that bit please lads?

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:55 AM

I know Les, I gave him a chance, I really did…

Mute Little Diddy No
    Favourite Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 11:55 AM

Some may not be aware that when the state (tragically) offered the religious orders a bail out with the redress payments the orders would have to pay to victims of their orders past abuse, nobody thought it would reach such high amounts (currently 1.5 billion). The orders agreed to pay a token 480 million in some cash but mostly buildings. They have disgracefully failed to do so, and we are all stuck with that 1.5 billion debt that is not out debt (other countries did not bail out private religious organisations). Most of the orders have in fact since put their built assets beyond reach in trusts.

In addition, the state (remarkably) continues its capital school building and re-building programme that has seen it pay out billions to re-build schools buildings that ‘belong’ to religious orders – those new buildings then remain the assets of the order, with no strings attached whatsoever.

So don’t tell me we have to buy out the buildings to set up the kind of multi-d schools that a majority of Irish citizens in every single poll in recent years say they would prefer. Even the bishops have agreed that they owe the state big time and have agreed to hand over buildings to the state – it’s just that to date only a few have been handed over.

We need to get more assertive, in the understanding that we have been paying for every single aspect of these schools for generations now – including the buildings. We need to see in return a commitment to delivery of an inclusive 21st century education, not a medieval indoctrinating one.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:04 PM

The state, apparently, is still committed (as with the banks) to trying to recoup as much as possible of that 1.5 billion bailout from the church, but where is the progress on that? Meanwhile, why do they keep giving the church privileged access to state funding for stuff like full-time, church-appointed chaplains in our state schools and hospitals whose only job is to ‘form the Catholic faith’ and minister to their own members? Or why do they continue to re-build school buildings belonging to the same orders, at huge expense, without getting anything back?

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:48 PM

Aware of all of that, Rob, but the point of this discussion is those youngsters who are linked to the drinking culture that’s out of control. Thank you anyway.

I challenged Tommy MacDonagh on his term ‘abuse’ being applied to the efforts of some – a church group or otherwise – to somehow assist in curbing this particular issue.

Frankly, I believe it should start in the home; parents should lead by example.

Are all parents/households beyond reproach in this respect? I don’t think so.

The health warnings are high profile so there really are NO excuses.

One can’t help those who do not want to be helped so I doubt it will ever be resolved satisfactorily.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 1:00 PM

Hear, hear, John S!

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 1:22 PM

Fair enough Elizabeth but the RCC need to learn that it has no moral authority anymore because of the damage they inflicted in the past. Also kids are growing up with more access to information than ever before and they realise much earlier that nothing the preach about is real. A Catholic pioneer group saying bring back the pledge is like using a bicycle puncture repair kit to stop Niagara falls.

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    Aug 5th 2016, 4:58 PM

I just kept my mouth firmly shut during the pledge !

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 5th 2016, 11:43 PM

@tommy McD – What a stupid idiotic comment.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:16 AM

just get rid of the catholic pioneers association = problem solved

Mute I Am A Horse
    Favourite I Am A Horse
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:34 AM

Or get rid of alcohol :-D

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:19 AM

The pledge is like religion, an empty promise

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:54 AM

Any effort to stop the abuse of alcohol especially by the young should be welcomed. Denying the problem and attacking an organisation that is trying to help doesn’t do anything for the many individuals and families whose lives have been destroyed.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:04 AM

Why don’t the church eliminate alcohol from their religion to set an example? Why is it seen as “the blood of christ”?

Aug 5th 2016, 7:06 AM

Leaving it to kids making an imaginary promise won’t cure it either. We need a holistic approach.

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:50 AM

Maybe if they did something that would actually help – you know start a programme where they show kids/teens results of prolonged drinking and having stuff for kids to do instead of demanding they say a few silly words

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:06 AM

Could you elaborate on what you consider the components of your “holistic” approach?

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:26 PM

The dogs in the street know that the church is completely irrelevant in the lives of the vast majority of young people and they will not look to the church for moral or any kind of guidance. It is ridiculous to believe the fantasy that they will. What we need are proper evidence-based programmes delivered as part of schools’ SPHE programmes, where young people can learn about what harm excessive drinking, and binge drinking, can do to their bodies and minds, and learn how to minimise that harm, even if they do drink.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 5:34 PM

Well said, John Campbell!

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 5:50 PM

The education is there for the taking; it’s high profile.

But it’s largely ignored.

Lol yeah because we all took the pledge and kept it! How about big activity centres with lots to do to keep the kids out of fields drinking.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:09 PM

Indeed, it beggars belief that this medieval religious version is still being offered to young people who largely see through and reject the church and everything to do with it. SPHE classes on the physical damage drinking can do to your body and mind, and youth-led youth projects, would have a better chance of reaching young people. And let’s not forget that they did not lick it off the ground in our booze-soaked culture – a bit of role modelling from parents and society would not go amiss.

Mute A B
    Favourite A B
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:30 PM

Drinking in fields was some of the best times I had

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:57 AM

I suppose they’ll also bring back asking you to become a priest too. The world’s moved on from those days people

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:03 AM

Pioneer total abstinence association… bet their Christmas parties are some craic.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:59 PM

When they’re not relying on alcohol for a good time, they probably are.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:15 AM

i totally abstain from dogmatic thinking

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Aug 5th 2016, 6:57 AM

I drank for the first time the weekend after I got my pledge

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:59 AM

I didn’t take the pledge, flat out refused saying I didn’t need to make some silly pledge and get a pin to not drink.

I got allot of flack from the teacher for refusing to do so. By the time everyone was 16 id say 95% of the class (if not more broke the pledge), I personally didn’t drink till after I was 18.

My reason is I grew up in a pub, saw the good and bad of drink. So for me education played a part in my decision. Not some silly religious pledge.

I drink the odd time but I’m not pushed at all about drinking,

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:33 AM

We had a dolly mixture before the confirmation started.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:07 AM

Wow. You’re such a rebel Toddy.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:44 PM

I know. Somebody had to stand up to the man and it was never going to be a square like you Brendan Hughes

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:45 PM

In reality though the point of my post was to point out how the pledge means nothing to anyone but don’t worry Brendan, you continue to mis read things.

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Aug 5th 2016, 8:35 AM

I made the pledge over 20 years ago. At the time it was just another thing that was expected of you in school. I’m still a”pioneer”. Back then you took it for a length of time. I took it till I was 21. I didn’t take it out of religious reasons, more of a promise. I had a family member who was an alcoholic at the time, they died not long after I took the pledge. I saw first hand how devastating alcoholism can be, and what it can do to a person. At the time that person want viewed as an alcoholic, they just “enjoyed a few pints”. Alcohol killed him. Nothing else, alcohol. When I turned 21, I made a decision to remain a non drinker. It is something I am proud of for myself. Often people don’t understand and ask why I don’t drink, and say “fair play”, like it’s some magical feat. Others simply can’t fathom it. Like it’s some mad concept, saying “I couldn’t not drink, it’s impossible”. And I find that a little sad. Thru say they have to drink to enjoy a night out, that you can’t have a night out without drink. I am the first one on an empty dance floor dancing, badly (very badly). You don’t need to be out of your mind drunk to enjoy yourself. I have two close friends who have developed a drinking problem over the course of the last few years. It started small, but developed into a reliance on drink. It is now at the point where they will drink maybe five pints (total) a day, before, during and after work and on a day off, it’s oblivion. Yet they think it’s grand, that they are legends for doing it. And it doesn’t help that their colleagues egg them on. For entertainment. One of them is in a position of great responsibility for people’s safety. But you may as well talk to the wall. We all know that the problem with alcohol in Ireland is huge, possibly the worst it’s ever been. And it’s not getting better. Bringing back the pledge won’t make much difference, if any at all, but if it got some to think for a second and say to themselves, “let’s see if I can do this,” then it would be something. By all means, go out and enjoy yourselves, but enjoy responsibly. You might think you are the big man/woman drinking a pile of pints. But think of the damage you are doing to yourself. Your health is your wealth.

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:03 AM

you can’t take your health with you when you go, may as well get a bit of use out of your liver, lungs, and libido!

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:36 AM

Most people don’t develop drinking problems, A few glasses of wine with dinner is actually good for you. And a lot of us enjoy a few pints after a hard weeks work. Do you avoid flying on Airplanes too because some people die on them??

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:12 PM

It’s great the path you took, but we all need to recognise that the religious – while imposed on our children and young people through our medieval Catholic indoctrinating education system – are completely irrelevant as mentors for most young people, so we need to look to evidence-based programmes that can take place as part of SPHE in schools and peer youth work.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:56 PM

A delight to read, Aboutallthethings!

Agree that alcohol is not a requirement to ensure enjoyment.

Absolutely true that, in most cases, you may as well talk to the proverbial wall.

None so blind as those who do not see and, even worse, those who DON’T WANT to see.

Thank you for sharing.

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Aug 5th 2016, 4:38 PM

I couldn’t agree more.

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Aug 5th 2016, 7:53 AM

abstinence programmes don’t work, they don’t work for this and they certainly don’t work as a replacement for sex education.

If you look at the states with the highest levels of abstinence programmes in the USA in replacement of sex education programmes, they also have the highest Teen pregnancy rates!

Education is key here! abstinence only tries to ignore reality without proper education. Education allows you to modify reality by giving teenagers the tools to make better informed decisions.

If you look at the Netherlands when it comes to sex Ed they start sex ex at a younger age then the USA, UK or Ireland and they have lower Teen pregnancy rates.

If rather any child properly educated on alcohol then blindly swearing to never touch the stuff.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:22 PM

Indeed Barry, our current religious-dominated education system is authoritarian and indoctrinating – approaches that simply don’t work and that harm young people’s fragile sense of self and deny them a space to explore issues relevant to their lives.

It is an utter disgrace that religious orders have been allowed to retain control over the ethos of 96% of our completely state funded and resourced education system, and that they are not required to deliver the full state curriculum in all areas by the state in exchange for such massive funding.

When it comes to the state’s sensitive and moral Relationships & Sexuality Education curriculum, a report in 2010 found that many Catholic ethos state schools do not deliver it at all, and of the few who do, it is often taught as part of religious instruction.
    http://www.dcya.gov.ie/documents/publications/Life_Skills_Matter.pdf

The bishops’ medieval guidelines for RSE instruct teachers in Catholic schools not to respect any views in the classroom that stray from strict Catholic dogma, because it is ‘not a matter of opinion’.

With young people crying out for help (social and emotional learning and learning about relationships were the top topics identified by young people in a consultation on the Junior and Leaving Cycle on what they wanted to learn in school) and forced to get all their sex education from porn, we badly need to require all schools to teach the proper state version and to allow discussion in the classroom that strays from Catholic dogma – after all, it’s not OK just to say that living together before marriage, contraception, divorce and gay relationships are all grave mortal sins where young people need real guidance and spaces to discuss all these issues for themselves, and where the law says that LGBT marriage is now equal.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

According to the church jesus is made out of wine…

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 5th 2016, 1:04 PM

But the wine is magicked into blood, so it’s not booze but… Um… The blood of a 2016 year old man… Mmmmm tasty!

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 5th 2016, 8:29 AM

Yep, because taking the pledge will solve alcohol abuse and underage drinking straight away!!!!

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:36 AM

So many issues with this:

1. What about the kids that aren’t Catholic or are “Catholic” but their Confirmation will be the last time they go to church?
    2. Prohibition and abstentionism just makes it worse – countries very nearby have a much healthier attitude to alcohol which is a result of a less guilt-laden approach to kids and drinking. If your parents will give you wine with your dinner and you can got to a pub at 16, why would you bother necking straight spirits is a cold, damp field?
    3. Why is this even news? Who cares what a particular sect of a religion says about that religion?
    4. I’m pretty sure abstention from alcohol as about as good a safeguard from alcoholism as abstinence from sex is a contraceptive.

Mute Sean Fallon
    Favourite Sean Fallon
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:07 AM

How’s about ridding ourselves of the Catholic church and confirmation, communion and everything else connected with this sad practice… outdated useless corrupt… trainee priests using gay dating apps? Enough said!!

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 5th 2016, 2:57 PM

Your atheist brethren in the Soviet Union tried to get rid of Catholics and other Christians so are you going to use the same methods for your operation.

Mute Sean Fallon
    Favourite Sean Fallon
    Aug 5th 2016, 4:14 PM

Ah great idea…lots and lots of lovely vodka will sort this issue out :)

Mind you the priests would probably drink it all before anyone else got their hands on it…. :)

Mute Richard Costigan
    Favourite Richard Costigan
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:19 AM

Hahahaha…..the confirmation pledge……Really? Sometimes I wonder when this country is actually going to grow up.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Aug 5th 2016, 9:44 AM

I remember it being optional although we were told we’d be given a bag of taytos if we took it so a lot of people did. I never drank until I was 18 anyway but that was out of common sense, I think I had completely forgotten about this “pledge”.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:31 AM

how deluded are these people, to the really think being made to take the pledge at age 12 will have any effect? Most kids don’t even go to mass.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:58 AM

Implanting the seed of sobriety in the consciousness of Irish children.
    What a ridiculous idea.
    Bring them all to the pub instead.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:29 PM

A religious organisation that has no credibility with young people just telling them to take a pledge has not stopped our problem of excessive drinking to date, has it Joey? Religious stuff is only relevant to the minority who still follow the religion, and completely irrelevant to everybody else.

Proper educational programmes as part of SPHE in school are what is needed – you need to shift people’s awareness and emotions to make them change their behaviour – not just tell them what to do. I hope to live to see an end to our authoritarian, indoctrinating approach in education.

Mute Michael Tynan
    Favourite Michael Tynan
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:01 AM

This so funny, the Church will bring back the pledge. Good education and people taking drink for what it is a drug, common sense.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:02 AM

Wonderful initiative.
    People need to be challenged more about their drinking habits.
    And that’s the role of religion – challenging human failure.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Aug 5th 2016, 10:18 AM

Pretty sure the role of religion is controlling the gullible.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Aug 5th 2016, 11:17 AM

And that’s the role of religion – challenging human failure.
    ===========

Except, religion was contrived by humans and Pope lives in a fancy palace whilst there are millions of poor in the world.

You don’t do irony, do you?

Mute Little Diddy No
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:33 PM

I grew up in the church and all the ‘failures’ they identified were not failures at all. We have had the church teaching our young people for generations, and they still are – so tell me Joey – with some of the most serious teenage and adult binge drinking in the world, and we have had for many generations – do you think it has worked?

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Aug 5th 2016, 2:54 PM

Oldschool. The Pope does not live in a fancy but in B and B, Would you say the same about Michael D who lives in a 70 room mansion and gets 250,000,000 eu per year and where he is surrounded by well paid flunkeys

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 5:59 PM

We, none of us, ‘grew up in the Church’

We grew up within our own families – first port of call.

Our families were/are meant to be our primary example.

It can be our misfortune when/if that works against us.

Likewise, those others with whom we choose to surround ourselves and emulate.

Ultimately, we are our own responsibility.

Entirely up to us to control our own individual behaviours.

So, let’s quit the BlameGame!

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Aug 5th 2016, 12:19 PM

All it does is program the pattern of denial, binge, abstinence, binge, abstinence ad infinitum. Generations of Irish people fell into this and the results are clearly seen. Compare that to actually educating young kids about alcohol from a young age as is done in most European countries. I suppose this is where the genetic argument will cut in here now. “I remember asking an Irish old fella why he drank so much many years ago in London and he replied ” I’m just catching up for my first 18 years that the f%7’7:ing church wouldn’t let us do it”. Seems pretty straightforward to me.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 5:25 PM

‘Compare that to actually educating young kids about alcohol from a young age as is done in most European countries’.

There’s a big difference between a bottle of wine, perhaps two – depending on numbers present at the table – and copious amounts and some variety of alcohol frequently to be found in many Irish homes, by way of ‘celebration’.

Can’t be seen to be ‘mean’!

Be honest about it.

Mute Elizabeth Davenport
    Aug 5th 2016, 5:30 PM

Oh, and . . . the Church did not stop anyone from drinking, to excess or otherwise.

The PTAA was set up in an effort to dissuade people from indulgence of the demon drink.

Over indulgence is the root of Ireland’s alcohol problem.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 5th 2016, 1:01 PM

Pioneer teen discos back in the 80s were great craic, especially seeing some of the older ones pi$$ed at them trying to act sober.

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Aug 5th 2016, 11:45 AM

As opposed to the Protestant confirmation service where you’re actually given wine.

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton

Have they not heard of the ‘Ceremony of Light’?

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 5th 2016, 8:48 PM

Good to see this.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Aug 5th 2016, 8:46 PM

Good to see it still going.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 5th 2016, 11:46 PM

If the Pledge prevents or even reduces alcohol abuse, it has to be a good thing. It should have nothing to do with the RCC. The RCC is irrelevant today.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 6th 2016, 4:58 PM

**SUBJECTIVE OPINION**

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 6th 2016, 6:20 PM

“OBJECTIVE & OBSERVANT OPINION” – Go out to ur nearest town @1am.