You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews

Are Renua poaching Young Fine Gaelers by promising to run them in elections?

A text reportedly from a Renua member was circulated this week.

RENUA IRELAND HAS denied it is actively poaching members of Young Fine Gael, but says members are welcome to make the switch.

A text message sent to a YFG member was posted on Twitter earlier this week as an example of what sources within the organisation are saying is a “campaign” of tapping up members.

Sources say that the party, formed by former members of Fine Gael and led by former junior minister Lucinda Creighton, are offering young members a place on the ticket for the 2019 local elections should they opt to jump ship.

They say that senior members of the party have attempted to arrange meetings with Young Fine Gael members in order to persuade them to join the fledgling party.

To entice them, sources say that promises are being made about potential places on the ticket in the next local elections.

Conservative

Those familiar with the situation also suggest that the members of Young Fine Gael who are being targeted are socially conservative, with many being vocally pro-life.

President of Young Fine Gael Pádraig O’Sullivan says that he is aware of the contacts and says it raises questions about Renua.

“It’s disingenuous. They’re entitled to do it, there’s nothing illegal. But it shows they’re not interested in fostering an interest in politics. It’s not clear what their purpose or remit is.

“I’m more than content that YFG members will stay. If they weren’t happy, they wouldn’t be telling us this stuff. We’re a broad church so I wouldn’t have any major fears.

“But this is not what you want to see from a party starting out in politics.”

However, the notion was swiftly rebuffed by Renua spokesman John Drennan, who told TheJournal.ie that all interested parties were welcome, but nobody was being poached.

“Representatives from parties who have failed to live up to their election manifesto promises are more than welcome to join Renua.

“We are sympathetic to those who are disillusioned with the failings of old politics.”

Read: Renua Ireland doesn’t know how much money it has in its bank account

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:32 AM

As if the party wasn’t bad enough with Lucinda and Hobbs, that clown Drennan is also a member, the so called “political analyst” who famously claimed Gerry Adams would struggle to win a seat in the
    last election before he topped the poll. What a joke of a party!

Jul 25th 2015, 7:50 AM

In fairness dustin the turkey would probably get elected in Louth and as we all know it’s the home of the Provos in the Republic. He was always going to win a seat there.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:51 AM

That’s my point, this clown, who is supposed to be a political analyst, got it completely wrong and was a laughing stock with his prediction. As if this party couldn’t get any more fools, they really are beyond a joke.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 25th 2015, 8:36 AM

Look at it this way; between Billy Timmins, Terence Flanagan, Creighton, Hobbes and now Drennan at least we have the useless thickos in one gathering.

Mute Michael McTague
    Favourite Michael McTague
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:29 AM

Tapping up ? Sure isn’t that what politics is ? They tap at your door, tap you for a vote and then tap you up for all your cash

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 25th 2015, 8:57 AM

yfg deciding what is ethical, lol

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:45 AM

Lucinda Creighton = smugness personified!!

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:23 AM

She’s a vile creighton….!!!!

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:25 AM

Never voted for renua before and probably won’t in my future. Honestly a party set up because of endas (let’s face it, fairly lax) abortion law

Imagine if they had to make a decision on the banks?

Mute dmn
    Favourite dmn
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:54 PM

“Imagine if they had to make a decision on the banks?”

They’re not SF

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:04 PM

Would never give a vote for renua ( fg lite ) . but this just reaffirms it. Going by the comments on here by yfg. Which are usually condescending or idiotic. Don’t see much hope for renua.

Jul 25th 2015, 1:14 PM

I don’t know if they are idiots to switch to Renua or stay with YFG!!

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jul 25th 2015, 2:24 PM

That abortion law is far from lax.. One of the most restricted in the world. Imagine if Lucinda tried to run in the Middle East? Even their abortion laws allow for TFMR.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:33 AM

Thats very naughty Renua. I want you to say 3 Hail Mary’s and an Our Father and never do this again.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Jul 25th 2015, 8:49 AM

Eddie Hobbs the “financial investment guru” as president- That’s my red line issue with this crowd. I haven’t even looked at their policies . I don’t need to go any further.

Mute Ben Connolly
    Favourite Ben Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:48 AM

old sh!te going to new sh!te

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:50 AM

Just goes to show there is no difference between FG and Renua … It’s all about bums on seats and to hell with helping their fellow country people …. Mè Fèiners of the worst sort .

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:16 AM

Renua are FG, notice the lack of derision towards them from Endas election speech yesterday, also notice the Renua conception, set up using public funds, using Dail facilities and on our time. The only way a politico leaves FG is for political manoeuvring. Renua are a rebrand.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:26 AM

Said it from day one, Renua are there to mop up the vote FG alienated with legislating for X, and will form a pact with FG after the election. It would be naieve to believe that this was not the intention when creighton was ejected from government.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:08 PM

i reckon the pact has already been made.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 26th 2015, 1:25 AM

Conception? Is she up the duff again?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jul 25th 2015, 8:11 AM

They are not in it for the money Mmmmm

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Jul 25th 2015, 9:51 AM

So Renua is essentially Fine Gael 2.
    Will the electorate ever wake up to this ongoing scam that is Irish politics? will we ever see a party in power that actually works for the best interests of the people?

As it was noted on another article here recently, by another contributor; people died to give us our independence. And all we have now are parties that are corporate friendly and anti-Irish.
    But what sickens me the most is that these parasites will be standing outside the GPO waving the tri colour celebrating the Rising next year. All the while laughing at us behind their fake smiles and empty words.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:05 AM

Well theres a thought William. The current regime keeps saying they wont allow SF to hijack the 1916 gigs planned for next year. Maybe we the people should hijack it instead. It is after all our country. Those suffering under the yoke of austerity have much more in common with the combatants of 1916 that Inda and co.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jul 25th 2015, 2:28 PM

Fantastic, a centennial rerun of 1916.. This time we will fight for some actual political representation rather than these self serving, greedy, corporate mouthpieces.

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:55 AM

They won’t do much with 11 grand in a bank account .

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:13 AM

Doubt if they even have that much.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jul 25th 2015, 9:27 AM

Different name.,same mind set ,wanting to get their snouts back into the trough ,

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:04 AM

“Young Fine Gael ✔@yfg
    New Politics? Offering seats for support doesn’t seem very ethical to us!”

Well YFG……the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:06 AM

Wanted: Enthusiastic, energetic members of young fine gael to run in the next election. Must be flexible and willing to travel to the bottom of the poll. Membership of youth defence desirable, ability to handle disappointment essential.

Mute dmn
    Favourite dmn
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:58 PM

” Membership of youth defence desirable” swap that with “think abortion solves everything” and you have Labour.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:44 PM

You have two posts on this article. Both one sentence long, and both flipping something somebody else posted around to point at a different party.

Bit pathetic, no?

Mute dmn
    Favourite dmn
    Jul 25th 2015, 2:29 PM

I’m SO SO Sorry for calling out Lefty Liberals who can do no wrong. Lets “Burn the banks”, “Make the Rich Pay” and crush a few tiny skulls, it’s the only way to save the country.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jul 25th 2015, 2:32 PM

No one has ever claimed abortion solves everything – except rabid anti choicers erecting giant straw men.

These guys reckon it would be better to allow a pregnant woman to commit suicide than to let her end the pregnancy that is causing her distress, but aside from that – Lucinda has precisely zero respect for the will of the people.

We have voted TWICE on the matter of the suicide provision. Both time we were asked to remove it, both times we said no.

Dunno about you, but I wouldn’t be inclined to vote for people who think that the results of referendums should be ignored. Which is why Renua, FG, Labour and FF are all off the table – between the X case and Lisbon, there’s ample evidence that none of them care what the people they work for have to say, and that’s not political representation, that’s an attempt at tyranny.

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:01 PM

I can’t believe they’re not Fine Gael.

Mute TheMiller
    Favourite TheMiller
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:51 AM

Fine Gael to Renua is like someone walking from their kitchen to their hallway.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:57 AM

Especially if that hallway is hosting a legion of mary meeting.

Mute Garry Hayden
    Favourite Garry Hayden
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:12 AM

I prefer my young fine gaelers hard boiled. you can get very ill if you don’t cook them thoroughly.

Mute Gary Brennan
    Favourite Gary Brennan
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:52 AM

More blue shirts, that’s all we need,

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:35 AM

Renua Ireland, Has Loopcinda plans to go global with this, Renua UK, Renua EU.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:31 AM

Lucinda would walk through burning coal barefooted to vote for Kenny as taoiseach, its as simple as that!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:36 PM

I’ll light that fire

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:26 AM

I wouldn’t get too carried away here. Depending on their results in the next General Election, Renua may not actually be around in 2019. LOL But in all seriousnes, I wouldn’t pay to much attention to this story. I’d doubt the top figures in Renua would stup to this level. I would think that it is probably just one of its interns acting the ejit online and it got taken out of hand.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:32 AM

‘Acting the eejit’ but targetted at the more socially conservativeYFG members? C’mon blaine….

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:35 AM

Honestly, I wouldn’t read to much into it at all.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:40 AM

‘Nothing to see here’ says the Fine Gael TDs staffer

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:45 AM

And what has this comment got to do with anything?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 10:56 AM

Blaine, what percentage of fine gael TDs staffers/assistants are current/former members of young fine gael?

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:17 AM

I couldn’t possibly tell you due to the vaugness of your question. But regarding current members, I’d imagine it is a very small, single figure percentage.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:29 AM

Really? Because almost all of the govetnment TDs assistants/staffers I’ve come across on social media are either past or present members of that TDs partys youth wing.

Are you a current/former member

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:29 AM

…of YFG yourself blaine?

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:42 AM

Ah Blaine, the resident YFG that hangs onto enda`s coat tails as he travels the country,getting bombarded by protests everywhere he goes, and the bold Blaine trying to tell us all that the videos we were seeing of the protests were somehow blown out of proportion and that we didn`t see the amount of handshakes and back slaps that Enda got.
    Tried to defend the indefensible then, he`ll deny everything now.

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:46 AM

Sure am. Hence the fact I’m commenting on an article involving YFG…

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:49 AM

Almost poetic Pearse.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:54 AM

LOL I remember your waffling alright, the rubbish you spouted then, really brightened my day,
    I might be almost poetic Blaine,
    but you are definitely pathetic.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:16 PM

Guess someone didn’t get an invite…

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:32 PM

@ Blaine… twa t.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:37 PM

So blaine, its basically YFGer and FG TD staffer commenting on story about Renua trying to poach socially conservative YFGers, claiming its someone acting the eejit?

If its someone acting the eejit, why are they targeting the YFGers with similar ideologies to lucinda? Hell of an elaborate prank, no?

Mute Blaine Gaffney
    Favourite Blaine Gaffney

Turning to abuse to win an argument? Says a lot about you! ✌

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:54 PM

TWA T

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:25 PM

Blaine doing damage control for Renua…….what does that tell you about FG’s relationship with Renua.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:36 PM

whether he is an eejit or not, he was telling the truth a vote for renua is a vote for enda vice versa. i remember enda telling people to shop in aldi or lidl and byrne dictating how we should be ashamed for buying what we want, then making out we are terrorist for protesting the list goes on, fg/renua different package same sh@te inside

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:20 AM

They are the same cheek of a Fine Gael arse.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:07 AM

They really are FG mark 2 if they are only contacting yfg and no other parties.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jul 25th 2015, 11:17 AM

Poaching…they’re jumping ship more like ….still no chance of being run or elected …runout more like!

Mute billy hamson
    Favourite billy hamson
    Jul 25th 2015, 12:30 PM

Hows Eddie getting on?

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins

Losing millions on his foreign property investments. Ironic, really, when you about when you think about all the people that bought properties in Bulgaria on his advice. Ideal candidate for finance minister.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 25th 2015, 1:06 PM

No honor among thieves.

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jul 25th 2015, 3:30 PM

I wonder if her Mercedes will melt under the crushing weight of her witchiness?

Mute PL
    Favourite PL
    Jul 25th 2015, 7:18 PM

I would be somewhat surprised if Renua are around in 2019. Beyond the leader and possibly the sitting TD I can’t see any others returning. McKee did quite well in the recent election and could possibly do well again.

They will get some socially conservative votes and will probably have a few outside churches saying they will keep abortion out of Ireland. The next election will be interesting and like what happened in Ireland South last year we could have problems counting votes because of the length of the ballot papers.

Mute Tom Thomas
    Favourite Tom Thomas
    Jul 25th 2015, 3:36 PM

Seems to me like a bit of banter between two mates, It is a bit OTT the YFG person putting it up on twitter! The YFG bunch would sell their mothers to get some scraps from the table and a pat on the head from their overlords in government.