You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Coronavirus restrictions to remain in place until at least Tuesday 5 May, Taoiseach announces

Simon Harris said that garda enforcement powers will be extended for the next three-and-a-half weeks.

RESTRICTIONS ON PUBLIC movement and other measures to contain the spread of Covid-19 are to remain in place until Tuesday 5 May.

The announcement was made by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar this afternoon from Government buildings following advice from the national public health emergency team. 

Varadkar thanked the public for the sacrifices they’ve made so far but said the restrictions needed to be extended to further slow the spread of the virus. 

On Friday 27 March the Taoiseach announced a significant tightening of measures already in place to respond to the pandemic. 

Everybody in Ireland was told to stay at home for an initial two weeks. Exceptions were allowed for essential workers travelling to work, and for people travelling to shop for essential items, for vital family healthcare reasons or to take physical exercise within a 2km radius. 

Shielding or cocooning was also introduced for all of those over 70 years of age and specific categories of people who are extremely vulnerable to Covid-19.  

“We all want to be outside. We want to be with our friends and family. We want to see the mountains and the sea. We want to feel that we can go anywhere. We want to be free. And I know it is very difficult, but every sacrifice that we make is helping to save lives. It’s making sure that our health service is not overwhelmed,” Varadkar said this afternoon. 

We’ve been able to shelter, the most vulnerable and protect them. Your sacrifices are making a difference. It slows the spread of the virus considerably. But unfortunately, we have not stopped that spread. We all know people who are suffering and breathing at this time. Too many have died. And sadly more will die and get sick before this is over. 

Varadkar urged the public not to become complacent in the coming three-and-a-half weeks, adding “we cannot lose focus”.

“I know many of us would like to know when things will go back to normal, and life will be as it was. We are working towards that time. We’re planning carefully so that we get there safely,” he said. 

He stressed that the easing of restrictions will depend on what happens over the course of the next two or three weeks and how people respond.

Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan said that following a meeting of the national public health emergency team this morning, no additional measures were advised.

“Our recommendation was to just stick with the current set of measures but for an extended period of time. What we’ve seen over the course of the last number of week is a substantial drop in the so-called reproduction number in the population,” Holohan said. 

“Obviously if we see that stalled in a way that gives us concern we might have to give further consideration to that, but we think that’s the right set of measures for now. We haven’t advised government to take any additional measures at this moment in time.”

Tweet by @CeiminB CeiminB / Twitter CeiminB / Twitter / Twitter

Garda powers 

Health Minister Simon Harris said that garda enforcement powers will be extended for the next three-and-a-half weeks alongside the restrictions.

Gardaí have been carrying out hundreds of checkpoints and found that the vast majority of the public have been complying with the government’s recommendations made in mid-March relating to social distancing.  

Before new regulations were signed off earlier this week, gardaí were effectively powerless to deal with cases where people did not comply with restrictions.

Gardaí are now able to arrest those who do not abide by Covid-19 restrictions, including those who exercise more than 2km away from their homes or people who travel for non-essential purposes – until 5 May. 

Those who are convicted face a maximum of six months in prison and a fine of €2,500.

Varadkar said his desire was not to turn Ireland into a police state by granting gardaí these extensive powers “that can be used as they have to be used”.

“I don’t want to see those powers used anything other than sparingly, as a last resort. The vast majority of people have complied and are cooperating,  and that needs to continue. And I believe that will continue. I want to thank the Irish people for their cooperation and their forbearance to date.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 328 comments
328 Comments
    Mute Jonathan Gildea
    Favourite Jonathan Gildea
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:16 PM

Hopefully people respect those decisions and do not travel, especially this weekend!

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: too late
    They arrived well in advance

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: Why are we letting English people still fly in for holiday homes?

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:28 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: Or ferry’s for that matter.
    As usual FFG will be late to act here.
    Imported virus the big issue now . Can’t these people see it ..

Mute Jonathan O'Connor
    Favourite Jonathan O'Connor
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:30 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: or at all anyway

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:37 PM

@Dave Connolly: The medical experts are managing this crisis very well in fairness.

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:39 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: and presumably also Irish nationals living in England….

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: In the Q&A after the announcement they said that there’s no proof that this is really happening at all

Mute Pat O Brien
    Favourite Pat O Brien
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: you dont seem to understand. This virus cant be stopped. All any government can do is control. Which is what sinn fein are doing ….. oh wait! Their not in power!

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:48 PM

@Pat O Brien: No Pat , but soon FFG may wish they were.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:53 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: Did you not listen to the man?
    Air passenger traffic is down 95% and the are almost exclusively Irish people coming home. Holidaymaker travel by ferry is “minimal”
    Home grown stupidity is a far greater risk with Gardaí having to break up dozens of parties all over the country.

Mute Daragh Hackett
    Favourite Daragh Hackett

@Willy Mc Entire: agree it doesn’t make sense unfortunately a lot of people seem to have ignored the stay at home message, nothing more the government or the hse could have done

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:58 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: They’ll be coming in through the North. Behind us in closing schools, pubs and restaurants. Airport and passenger ferry service will continue unabated.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:59 PM

@Justin Gillespie: Definatly. I saw pictures of O’Connell bridge yesterday of it chock full of cars. While some probably have a valid reason like essential workers on the way home or to work or trying the get a bit of shopping, you can be sure there were many more heading for west clare for a weekend away. This is only asking for trouble.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn

@David Corrigan: Giving advice. Not managing. You just cant give any credit to the caretaker government.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Dave Connolly: He twists everything through an SF vision.
    I applaud this decision while not liking the experience one bit.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:02 PM

@David Glynn: I have said on here on numerous occasions that FG have done very well in passing on the message from the experts managing the crisis David. Credit where it is due.

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:10 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: they can get ferry to NI and drive across the unmanned border.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:16 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: is these life saving laws constitutional. could be challenged by self appointed human rights organisation’s!

Mute Derek Trotter
    Favourite Derek Trotter
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:30 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: do we have to spoon feed people in this country? Ffg are setting out the rules but it’s the people who are breaking them so having a go at Ffg isn’t the answer. It’s crap and who knows when it ends but stick to the plan people. I work as a prison officer and remained covid 19 free so far thank god but that’s by sticking to ffgs plan.

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:38 PM

@Pat O Brien: Jesus would ye ever quit the political point scoring..it’s helping nobody. We are where we are, can ye just get on with it?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Bobby wilson: Would you ever just come out and say you hate civil liberities and you want to live under the thumb of a dictator

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:46 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: leave it out you scratched record. Your very very boring. Check north of the border sunshine for mishandling of the problem.

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy

@Willy Mc Entire: and camper vans on ⛴ ferry service

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:48 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: well we will never wish they were, that’s for sure. Can picture it now. We need to make this a 32 county solution.!!!

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Justin Gillespie: it’s the crowd driving from the northern part of our country that are the issue.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B

@Peter Roche: too late? Restrictions in place two weeks, not too late just too bloody stupid.

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:50 PM
    Mute John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:51 PM

@David Glynn: Yes I can and I will. Well done care taker government . Credit where credit is due. See there I gave credit.

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Jonathan Gildea: too late

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey

@David Glynn: Gardai and PSNI on the border since wed turning back everyone who has not got a legitimate reason for crossing.

Mute Willy Mc Entire

@Willy Mc Entire: What the point ….
    Imported virus gonna keep deaths happening.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:02 PM

@David Corrigan: At it again. They are doing a helluva lot more than passing on the message. Did the medics decide on a financial aid package for workers and industry or to bring out the Gardai.Its mealy mouthed your faint praise and attempts to denigrate their management. Thankfully most people see it differently.

Mute Brendan McCaffrey
    Favourite Brendan McCaffrey
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: where are u getting this information. ?

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Aaron O’Leary: I said hate is very strong emotion wouldn’t you agree! all I am trying to explain is number 1 civil libertie in society is the right to life which is paramount over all other rights do you agree!

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Bobby wilson: and why would any organisation want to argue against measures which will save the lives of hundreds of people , they would be strange people indeed.

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: lol

Mute larry duff
    Favourite larry duff
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:11 PM

@Willy Mc Entire: fyi

Irish Ferries reminds customers that only essential travel is advised at present. Travellers should ensure they have documentation supporting reasons for travel/movement, for checks by the relevant authorities.
    Please check our FAQs for latest guidance – fal.cn/37vCz

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Bobby wilson: yes it is. The constitution states that movement can be restricted for the common good or public order by the Oireachtas

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:37 PM

@Aaron O’Leary: Don’t mind Bobby. He’s completely lost it. Mad cow disease or something.

Mute Pearse Fitzgerald
    Favourite Pearse Fitzgerald
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:42 PM

@Dave Connolly: sad little apologist.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:59 PM

@David Glynn: I have praised the people in charge of guiding the country through this awful crisis. I have also praised FG for their part on communicating the important messages to the people. That is a very important job they have as I am certain you will agree with.
    The DoF and the EU had no choice but to create the Covid 19 rescue funds as people would not be able to pay mortgage or bills or buy food.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:05 PM

@David Glynn: Amazing a few months ago .. A crumbling health service, Housing crisis, Homelessness, Hundreds of patients laying on trolleys. A Pandemic strikes shortly after the government loses an election…Suddenly Vareadkar and cohorts have s road to Damascus moment… Billions suddenly appear…. They are now been portrayed by the media as saviours.. . Pure Hypocrisy.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:51 PM

@Joe_X: I’m very surprised to hear that, I do my food shop in Dunnes on Henry St and M&S on Mary Street so walk through O’Connell St on route to/from. I didn’t notice any traffic at all, I wonder what time were the photos taken?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:54 PM

@David Glynn: well in fairness you view everything through an anti-SF vision so you cancel each other out.

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Apr 11th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Donal Desmond: its also amazing the amount of problems around the world this virus conveniently solves.

Mute David
    Favourite David

Lockdown restrictions can’t last forever virus or no virus

Mute Sean O Rodaigh
    Favourite Sean O Rodaigh
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:22 PM

@David: Agreed. Basically another month. A lot of businesses that are shuttered will never reopen or will lay off a large chunk of staff.

Mute scwazrh
    Favourite scwazrh

@Sean O Rodaigh: and yet there is still no real world help for small businesses. Loans and vouchers are no use .
    Businesses need cash injections or freezing of bills for the duration .
    This government do not care about self employed or small businesses

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Lovely Lizzy
    Favourite Lovely Lizzy
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:34 PM

@scwazrh: this government has cared lot more about small business/self employed than any other government before them

Mute Motherofthree
    Favourite Motherofthree
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:38 PM

@Lovely Lizzy: absolutely. Up until a few years ago self employed wouldn’t have got any social welfare support.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:47 PM

@David: I see Spain are allowing non essential workers return next week including construction. Some easing should have occurred

Mute Sean O Rodaigh
    Favourite Sean O Rodaigh
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:52 PM

@scwazrh: Totally agree. Small business / self employed is the majority of the economy and won’t receive any cash. Direct cash payment to business will be needed for months after this as the government will need to become the buyer of last resort util thinks pick up. EU won’t agree to direct cash bailout for businesses that’s reserved for big businesses and our friends in the Bank!

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Charlie Murphy: but that wouldn’t give us this unique moment in time to come together and virtue signal without feel smug doing so…

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:55 PM

@Sean O Rodaigh: Nonsense, I am self employed, getting €350 per week and am damned grateful for it.

Mute David Gilmore
    Favourite David Gilmore

@scwazrh: where do you think they’re going to get the money to inject cash in to every small business in Ireland? You do realise we’re headed for another crippling recession after this as it stands. People who want to criticise the current government will find a way. I feel for these business owners, some of whom are friends and family but life and death takes precedence for me.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:00 PM

@scwazrh: agree all rents bills need freezing, not accumulating. Business e’s need to réopen… The country will recover faster if they do.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Jay: on the money, FG seem to be wallowing in lockdown now, I’m tiring of quotes from poets…let’s get proper testing and tracing in place and get back to work where social distancing can be achieved…Sweden twice our population with 10,000 cases and no lockdown?

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn

@Charlie Murphy: Well there a great example. Nearly 16, 000 deaths.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:06 PM

@David Glynn: 10 times our population and beyond the peak..the easing is measured IMO

Mute George Sheils
    Favourite George Sheils
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Charlie Murphy: Sweden is not the country we should be trying to emulate. Check out their numbers on worldodometers.info.

870 dead. 77 dead last night alone. Another 750 critical.

No thanks.

Mute Sean O Rodaigh
    Favourite Sean O Rodaigh
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Justin Gillespie: no issue with that. The problem is when the €350 stops and where will the work be and will the government step in to secure your weekly wage for the remainder of the year at least and when will they want to start recouping the €350 most people received. Demand is key after the restrictions are eased and IMO there won’t be a lot for many services.

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:24 PM

@George Sheils: I’m not espousing an end to all restrictions but talk of 100,000 cases a day here without lockdown is ridiculous talk..Sweden has 10 million pop remember so half their figures and they are not so far off ours

Mute Lionheart1
    Favourite Lionheart1
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Motherofthree: I’m still not getting anything.

Mute Irene Mc Hugh
    Favourite Irene Mc Hugh

@Charlie Murphy: Madness!!
    !,

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Charlie Murphy: No it shouldn’t it too early. Another 3 weeks is better even to the end of May. It’s no good letting up to early and then maybe a resurgence. We could all end up a lot worse off
    Patience.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Charlie Murphy: are you serious. They decided on business over people and are paying the people price right now. Do you tho m we should have let people die so business flourish.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Charlie Murphy: do you read? They have over 800 dead and about 6 times the cases.

Mute Brendan McCaffrey
    Favourite Brendan McCaffrey

@David: im personally prepared to isolate for however long it takes to save one life.
    obviously you know better .
    or are you thinking purely of yourself.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Justin Gillespie: fair play justin, hopefully business is plentiful for you when this gets better. Best off luck

Mute Charlie Murphy
    Favourite Charlie Murphy
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:34 PM

@John fitzpatrick: John they have 10,000 cases and 800 deaths and 10 million population and no lockdown maybe dust down the maths book

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:37 PM

@scwazrh: yes they do. They have done way more than any government previous. They have frozen rents etc. Could they have done more?? Yes. But they have done very well given the very short timeframe they had to work with.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Justin Gillespie: yep. But sure some people won’t let the truth get in the way of a good line or sound bite.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Apr 11th 2020, 12:51 AM

@Charlie Murphy: nobody is beyond their peak in Europe yet.

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:17 PM

And why not close the ports to people that do not need to come here .

Mute Steve Maher
    Favourite Steve Maher

@Andy Harding: honest question, aren’t there similar restrictions in other countries where these ships originate from?(France and the Uk)So how are people boarding at the other end.

Mute SteveÓ
    Favourite SteveÓ

@Andy Harding: who is coming here, except people returning?

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:45 PM

@SteveÓ: Steve people cannot come up from Wexford but people can come from UK does that make scene.

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd

@Andy Harding: how will our food and other imports from Europe get in??

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding

@Vic’s Burd: They are supplying a service not visiting

Mute Ruairi Dowdall
    Favourite Ruairi Dowdall

@Andy Harding: mainly supply ships, you thiicckkk

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:15 PM

@Andy Harding: If you think there is nobody from Wexford or any where in the east travelling west and vice versa, I think you are being a bit naive. A lot of people are doing their best to follow the restriction advice, yet there are people flouting it straight out. Never mind travelling across the country, Our new neighbours seem to have someone visiting every night. There are some places in the local industrial estates that are open as being essential, but they are on shakey ground if they were properly looked at. The company I work for got on to the revelent government department to ensure that they are essential, but the basic one is the owner himself decides if his business is essential within the guidelines, and I believe it’s being loosely interpreted by some of those!

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding

@Ruairi Dowdall: (Mainly) wake up man and try be nice night now .

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Joe_X: Oh, Joe X, here is another video that I have been viewing lately from YouTube :

https://youtu.be/ozGMjRcHk_E

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:48 PM

@SteveÓ: camper vans off ferries ⛴ are not returning
    They are holiday makers

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:48 PM

@John Hazelnut: Hi John, while an interesting concept, when you actually look at the figures (I use worldometer) there is no way that argument can hold water. And even the worldometer figures are skewed, due to it takeing a whole country’s population when it comes to the per million population figures….Sorry. Anyway, this is more the youtube broadcast I enjoy: htt ps://youtu.be /8LW0t_R0ErA

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:15 PM

@Joe_X: Rocking in the Free world.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Good ol’ Leo.

Publicly admits over and over to losing the election. Only Taoiseach ever to not top the poll in his own constituency (he got in on the FIFTH count!)

Refuses to talk to the party who DID top his constituency (a two finger salute to the people he is supposed to represent)

A pandemic hits, he rehires his director of spin, the FG media engine goes into overdrive, and now he wants to be taoiseach again.

The election of change ignored. Democracy Fine Gael style.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:18 PM

@Diarmuid: In fairness while I do think they have the best intentions, I do have to think when was the last time FG ever gave a toss about the vulnerable, not until they lost an election. Although 3 weeks isn’t too bad, let’s hope we are in a good position by then

Mute padraig mcgill
    Favourite padraig mcgill
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:23 PM

@Diarmuid: Another Sinn Fein droid trying to politicise the pandamic #yawn

See 34 more replies ▾
    Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen

@Diarmuid: grow up, everything was suspended to combat this virus, the might of irish people rushing to help each other live took over from the back baiting of politics, all hands on the wheel etc, did you miss that one..

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:24 PM

@Diarmuid:

the majority of irish people are law abiding , Leo despises SF and their “comrades”

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@padraig mcgill: If you don’t think Fine Gael aren’t going to use this for political gains then you’re naive, every single party on the island would. No party is better than any other for that.

Mute C
    Favourite C
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:25 PM

@Diarmuid: I think it’s just as well they are all still there. They know the system and how to get things done. Politics aside, a new government of new ministers would not have been as efficient as a group of newbies.

Mute C
    Favourite C
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:26 PM

@C: correction – a group of experienced ministers.

Mute padraig mcgill
    Favourite padraig mcgill

@Aaron O’Leary: agreed! I guess that’s just the nature of politics!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@C: This is arguably true, it would not make sense changing governments during this. Although I do not support any FG-FF coalition

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@padraig mcgill: Totally! Honestly I struggle voting for FG/FF/SF/LAB/SD any of them really, you can very rarely trust a politician to genuinely care

Mute Mark Dowling
    Favourite Mark Dowling

@C: it’s Civil servants & advisors that do the work, the minister is only a figurehead.

Mute Peter Clancy
    Favourite Peter Clancy
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:32 PM

@Diarmuid: SF rans to the hills and Mary Lou hit the road and went into hiding once the virus started to break. They are the last shower I would want anywhere near a position of making decisions right now. They exists (like you Diarmuid)to just whinge and moan. Now away with you. Go into hiding like SF.

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:33 PM

@Diarmuid: I guarantee Sinn Fein are delighted to be well out of it. Who in their right mind would want to be in charge when the Great Depression kicks in? It’s only right that the two parties who did the most damage are left to sort it all out. Every decision will be scrutinised like never before.

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:35 PM

@Aaron O’Leary:

did Mary Lou really think FG and FF would smile and act like nothing happened?

All the murderers SF split hairs for , the IRA sex abuse cover up, the safe houses etc

Corona is killing irish people and SF for years split hairs for cowards who murdered irish people

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L

@Peter Clancy:

“SF rans to the hills and Mary Lou hit the road and went into hiding once the virus started”

IRA stands for i ran away

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@KEN L: I don’t support SF Ken.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@james dimaggio: I for one know i would hand in my notice anyway

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:43 PM

@KEN L: I also don’t care nor understand why you’re talking about SF to me lol

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L

@Aaron O’Leary:

do i really need to remind you what SF/IRA did to the vulnerable?

people were sexually abused by the IRA
    women and children were murdered by the IRA
    witnesses were bullied into silenced by the IRA

the IRA are the greatest cowards we ever had in ireland and they were (and still are) supported 100% by Gerry Adams his puppet Mary Lou and her lapdogs

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:47 PM

@james dimaggio: I’d rather have FFFG make does hard decisions than a party whose only comment during the crisis was to keep the schools open in the 6 counties before u turning the following day when the politburo had a word. Shinneromics will not get us out of the big recession that lies ahead. The free everything for everyone populist tripe won’t float later this year.

Mute Joy Keppel
    Favourite Joy Keppel
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:50 PM

@Diarmuid: will you get a life and respect our leaders. They are doing their absolute best to keep everyone safe and eejits going out for the weekend to their holiday homes will destroy all their good efforts

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:51 PM

@Peter Clancy: Hyperbolic bullshlt

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:52 PM

@KEN L: Ken, I dont support, vote for or like Sinn Fein what are you telling me this for? I know all of this. I detest every single political party in this country, I did not vote for Sinn Fein.

Why is a trump supported trying to tell me the history of Sinn Fein? I couldn’t care less, it’s stuff you learn in school.

Mute Phonsie Travers
    Favourite Phonsie Travers
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:56 PM

@Diarmuid: You are a genius and so positive.

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh

@KEN L: have a day off Ken ffs .. ffg are worst than any corrupt cartel

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

@Joy Keppel: Respect our leaders? Did you miss the part where leo was voted out of office fair and square by the Irish people? How about you respect democracy, and then get back to us. Better still how about Leo respects the will of the people and not seek to be kept in the role we voted to remove him from.

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards

@Diarmuid: By the same token you could argue that they’re stepping up and running things well DESPITE not having won – they could have quite easily washed their hands of the responsibility or let someone else make a mess of it.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:04 PM

@Diarmuid: SF tbh should be glad he’s still there.. He has a clue what’s he’s doing. They on the other hand would have made a complete horlicks of it…. Popular vote my a.. They still only got 25% a fact they refuse to accept. I’m no FG’er but I trust Leo here.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn

@Diarmuid: Blah Blah. Same old failed rhetoric. SF got 15 more seats. That has morphed into a tsunami of we should be in Government so stand aside.
    It’s the numbers. The numbers.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond

@Peter Clancy: In relation to hiding would you be referring to Simon Harris, Eoin Murphy, Charlie Flanagan who went into hiding during the election. The same Simon Harris who threatened nurses with Financial fines if they did not return to work. The leader of the Sinn Fein party certainly did not go into hiding. Typical FFG spin on your part. Perhaps you could put that question to Dr.Leo on his duty on the frontline answering the phone one day a week.. His spin doctors will be on hand to advise him on how to answer.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:19 PM

@Diarmuid: directed at everyone, hope you’re all safe

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:27 PM

@David Glynn: The fact the paracetic F.G. / F.F. refused to even talk to S.F. only underlines the desperation of FFG to preserve the status quo. The state of Irish politics is shown when Martin had to go to the old enemy to be crowned Taoiseacht, even if it’s only for a while. I am sure the F.F. grassroots are delighted for selling the F.F. party to to blueshirts… Just to become a U Turn Taoiseacht.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara

@Peter Clancy: SF’s Mary Lou,her health spokesperson,all the other party leaders and their health spokespersons Government and their medical expert advisors and other experts have been meeting regularly every week! However Mary Lou has been ill for over 2 weeks an Pearse took her place.
    Ironic that SF’s proposals in GE Manifesto etc which were called fantasy and looney are now been implemented as measures during this coronavirus pandemic!!They also put forward other proposals too re banks, insurance companies and rescue plans for small businesses.
    They also started a podcast :In Conversation every week dealing with the important issues during this coronavirus pandemic, starting last week with Pearse Doherty and David Mc Williams :The Economic Response to Convid19 and David answered questions from the public!

Mute For Goodness Sake
    Favourite For Goodness Sake
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:06 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: More auld tripe.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:44 PM

@For Goodness Sake: I see you are adding unbelievable value to the debate as usual. Keep up the good work friend. :-)

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L
    Apr 11th 2020, 1:49 PM

@Aaron O’Leary:

“I dont support SF ”

so you have a conscience , Glad to hear it

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba

It was expected but why not do it in two week blocks just to keep some hope and avoid depression.

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche

@Laro Alba: it’s up to us all to find ways to keep our family and friends happy and mentally healthy in the next 3 weeks
    God knows its tough, but now is the time to talk, and listen.

Mute Fergus O'Connor
    Favourite Fergus O'Connor

@Laro Alba: This takes us past the May bank holiday weekend, so there’s no doubts for anyone.

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton

@Laro Alba: they made it 3 weeks this time to include May bank holiday i presume

Mute Jonathan O'Connor
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:31 PM

@Laro Alba: no just say September and get it over with!

Mute Syl Farrell
    Favourite Syl Farrell

@Fergus O’Connor: sure the bank holiday doesn’t matter anymore. The Government have made half the country unemployed so every day is a bank holiday.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando

@Laro Alba: I would have thought it better to say 3 weeks and if things significantly improve maybe reduce the last week. Rather declaring a 2 week lockdown and then a further week… smart move… slowly bringing us along is the only way to do it…

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Laro Alba: dude he’s not telling us this will go on until July at least

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:20 PM

@Sean Dalton: Judging by how some people are flaunting the restrictions for this bank holiday weekend, I don’t think that it would matter much whether it would cover the may bank holiday or not

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:21 PM

@Daniel Wilson: I know. I was only messing but I don’t think we will be getting out before June.

Mute John Hazelnut
    Favourite John Hazelnut
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:56 PM

@Joe_X: Joe X, getting back to videos I watch on YouTube, here’s one you might like to see.
    Johns Hopkins way better than CDC and American figures :

https://youtu.be/ozGMjRcHk_E

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Laro Alba: We’re all adults. You can’t spoonfeed everyone. People need to start getting used to this.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:39 PM

@Laro Alba: hes taking the 2 long weekends out of the equation

Mute Noel O'Neill
    Favourite Noel O'Neill
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:20 PM

I’ve no problem with the restrictions but what I can’t understand is how are holidaymakers allowed in by sea or air?

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:43 PM

@Noel O’Neill: Meanwhile, car fixing garages, and hardware stores open in NL under strict social distancing measures, common sense. Hse guys and gardai getting paid.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath

What a the point if you can jump on a plane in london and land in Dublin .close the airports

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:48 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: where will the PPE arrive then?

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty

@Dave O’Keeffe: if you arrive in New Zealand as a citizen you can’t go home to self isolate they have a designated caravan site and there you stay for that time

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:27 PM

@Quentin Moriarty: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, that lady prime minister in NZ has a bigger pair than any male politician on this side of the world! Her government initiated a plan and stuck to it come hell or highwater.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Joe_X: Jacinda Ardern is probably the greatest prime minister in the world right now.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro

@Dave O’Keeffe: not on passenger flights. Use your brain

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Peter Cavey: Definatly…can never remember her name….just her actions

Mute Craic-Hommy
    Favourite Craic-Hommy

Good. Drove from Cork to Donegal today(essential travel)Roads were quiet ish but still a lot about especially heading into west cork early!! Muppets!!Stopped 9 times in total by guards, they are doing a great job with a smile and friendly. Stay stay everyone❤️

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott

Let’s hope the halfwits catch on to the rules this time around.

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde

@Ian Synnott: most people are. Will always be a small minority that don’t follow rules/laws.

Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Bodycoach

@Ian Synnott: if only half of the numpties followed the rules we would be even closed to an ease orlf restrictions…

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper

@Ian Synnott: are you just looking for thing to complain about?

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

@Ian Synnott: you sound like a halfwit

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:49 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: sorry lad, just getting a valid point across. Get back in your box there!

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Jay: Great comment. Enjoy your weekend away.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:43 PM

@Jay: he sounds like a halfwit because he hopes people will abide by the rules on travelling?

Mute Ian Synnott
    Favourite Ian Synnott
    Apr 11th 2020, 2:49 PM

@EillieEs: I think we all know which crowd Jay belongs to. It’s an anagram of “with alf”.

Mute Macker
    Favourite Macker

When we get through this, there should be a national day where we celebrate the lives of those who have passed away from coronavirus and those whose loved ones couldnt have a full funeral.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Macker: agreed

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire

Has to be done

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

@Alison Maguire: disagree

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby

@Jay: What’s the alternative solution?

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:33 PM

@Bobby: To protect the human race as a whole, herd immunity and getting the virus to work with people rather than against people. Would there be casualties? Prob yes but less casualties than treating the virus as the enemy.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

@Bobby: obviously elderly and vulnerable isolate for time being

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94

@Jay: so we let 100s of thousands of people die when it could of been lower? If we save even half the lives that could of potentially been lost then it was all worth it for me

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Jay: thank god you’re not in charge. I’d rather spend a few weeks inside in an attempt to eradicate this than put vulnerable people at risk. Plus this is killing even those not vulnerable. Maybe you could go join Boris is intensive care and ask him what he thinks about hers immunity now?

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Forest Hump: how is staying inside for a few weeks going to stop it. One way of stopping is a vaccine or immunity

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Jay: So you would be willing to sacrifice thousands for the greater good? Possibly a whole generation as most of us have elderly parents or grandparents

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Joe_X: the virus is neither friend nor foe. It just wants to replicate. The last thing it wants to do is kill it’s host because that would kill itself. Maybe we should work with the virus . Putting up these aggressive walls will just make it equally aggressive to ensure it’s survival. Impossible to kill off at this stage imo.

Mute Bobby
    Favourite Bobby
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:35 PM

@Jay: there certainly wouldn’t be less casualties. As much as I can understand your point of view, leaving the economy open would be detrimental for those most vulnerable like the elderly and people with underlying conditions. The number of cases would be extremely high, and people in those vulnerable categories would be pushed away and separated further from the rest of society.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

Necessary measures. I hope everyone does their part to make sure May 5th is the end of the lockdown!

Mute Ashling Visser Bishop
    Favourite Ashling Visser Bishop

@Rochelle: may the 4th be with you

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy

@Rochelle: won’t be the end of the lockdown. If they lift restrictions there is a chance of a 2nd wave. A vaccine is still at least a year away so expect some restrictions for the rest of the year.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:06 PM

@paul mccoy: If the owner of Twitter can put up 900 million to develop a vaccine then it will be much quicker.People need hope.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell

Should postpone the May bank holiday until the end of May. When businesses reopen they could do with the boost of a holiday weekend (as could the nation’s finances). It’s not much use during lockdown.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: wouldn’t bet on businesses been open at end of may.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire

@Thomas O’ Donnell: June bank holiday, anyone?

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde

The cure to this is worse than the disease.

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom

@Mr Wilde: I’m pretty sure staying at home for an extended period of time won’t kill you. Unfortunately this disease is killing people however. Quite an insensitive comment.

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde

@Tim Tom: don’t be a knob.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@Mr Wilde: I presume you’re talking about the state of the economy, correct me if I am wrong though, but say 30’000 Irish people die from no measures, that would have probably a bigger impact on the economy

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe

@Tim Tom: … and decimating people financially is sensitive?

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:11 PM

@Mr Wilde: You’re the only knob here lad. I’d say you win all the arguments in your house with solid responses like that.

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom

@Rossa Crowe: Not quite sure how you took that from my comments? Would you prefer that many more people die instead? As difficult as this is going to be, I’d prioritise preservation of life and the life of my loved ones until we can get over this crisis. I run an SME so this is particularly stressful times with untold risk to our business and the financial situations of our families and all of our employees. So don’t make assumptions/insinuations that the economic and financial effects aren’t of my concern also.

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Apr 11th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Tim Tom: the majority of these deaths were from nursing homes etc. After 75 its a roll of the dice what gets you in the end.
    The death rates are being recorded wrongly. Its like a red weather warning for a light shower.

Mute Bonzo
    Favourite Bonzo

Hopefully people see sense now stay home stay safe

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond

@Bonzo: 3 more weeks jaysus who are the journal whingers gonna try demonise now they already used up the teenagers , the cyclists , the joggers , the grannies the dig walkers and the holiday home owners – oh and 12 cars that arrived on a ferry today – need to put thinking hats on ()

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Dave Hammond: stay home

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier

Why don’t they just come out and say Xmas

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:19 PM

@WreckDefier: no on likes mentioning Christmas this early. If they did the ads would be on TV and radio playing the pogues 24/7. You’d have some people going cra cra!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@WreckDefier: There wouldn’t be a country left to protect if it was on until christmas lol

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia

@WreckDefier:

Crisis management.

Keep extending by mentally acceptable short timeframes.

2 weeks & 3 weeks are acceptable. 4 weeks or 5 weeks we start to struggle with.

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L

@WreckDefier:

trying to avoid panic

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh

@ThatLJD: 2 of yous did

Mute John Black
    Favourite John Black

Emphasis on “at least”

Mute Seamus McLaughlin
    Favourite Seamus McLaughlin

@John Black: look on the side, you can tell the grandkids you served a few months in prison.

Mute Seamus McLaughlin
    Favourite Seamus McLaughlin

@Seamus McLaughlin: bright side *

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler

And so be it……. well done Taoiseach

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe

@Pat Butler: obviously you are able to work from home…this is like banning cars because of road deaths.

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler

@Rossa Crowe: for your information I’m in the essential services working in the supermarket sector . Glad to have it and glad to be doing it.

Mute Mike Ryan
    Favourite Mike Ryan
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:26 PM

@Rossa Crowe: When car accidents become contagious and just by being in contact with someone who had one causes you to have a car accident, then, and only then, will your comment have any value. Until then, stay home.

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Pat Butler: how are takeaways essential? Or hardwares or financial services – the list goes on. There is no reasoning to this lockdown. Why are they not releasing the ages of the people who have died?
    They are withholding information.
    If 90% of the tests have no results what are they basing the lockdown on?
    Why not have 1 guard outside the caravan parks?
    We all have to get the virus eventually or this will go on for 2 years – am I wrong?

Mute Lisa Rowe
    Favourite Lisa Rowe
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:16 PM

@Pat Butler: you look like jeremy kyle

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan

As tough as it is, it’s needed, and we’ll enjoy the return to normality even more in the end folks.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Alan: people will be wreaked country will be in ruin mental health problems with no facilities for these

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC

Just over 3 weeks ! I’m so far into Netflix I’ve started watching a badly dubbed Russian crime series !

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan

@Ríain HenC: is it any good?

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander

@Ríain HenC: if you fancy a change and willing to give sub-titles a go, download All 4 – Channel 4 app.
    Check out ‘Walter Presents’ – loads of European crime drama’s.
    Should see you through until May.

Mute Laura Clayton
    Favourite Laura Clayton
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:09 PM

@Charles Alexander: yes, Walter presents has lots of great stuff… the ads ruin it though

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work

@David Corrigan:

It’s all about the famous russian Wrestler Bitaballockoff.

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC

@David Corrigan: чек лекал кеккдмд Клемент кекс жале лжшлслс

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC

@Charles Alexander: I’ll chance that ! cheer Charles

Mute Charles Alexander
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Laura Clayton: I think it depends on what time of the evening you’re watching. If it’s late, the ad break is literally seconds to allow for the ‘…sponsored by…’
    There is a subscription based ‘ad free’ version avsilable – not sure of the cost.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:03 PM

@Ríain HenC: there’s some great box sets on Walter Presents.
    They also have an extensive library of C4 drama’s – plus you can caste to your tv via Chromecast.

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC

@Charles Alexander: nice one , I have Chromecast , mighty job :)

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:29 PM

Totally totally get this but I fear people will get really fed up with it, you can’t even get a haircut fgs!

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver

@Jun Stone: coocing very bad news for mental health people living on their own. So upsetting

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone

@Mary Oliver: I can imagine must be awful, I’m finding it difficult and I’m not living alone or cocooning!

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@Jun Stone: I have discovered I am liking my new jesus hair. I feel terrible for people cocooning, I can go out for exercise still and shop, but those who must stay inside thats honestly heart breaking. I hope this lockdown helps discover symptom treatments and we can all leave the house to some level afterwards

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Jun Stone: horrendous dread it.

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Mary Oliver: horrible and the struggle is going on for at least 3 more week . Its gonna be a massive drain and strain on mental health. Especially anxiety and depression..

Mute Sinead O Donnell
    Favourite Sinead O Donnell

I have just read that these draconian restrictions are to be extended for another three weeks. While most people have obeyed the stay at home and social distancing measures to ensure their own health and prevent the spread to other people it is somewhat disappointing to hear that UK tourists are arriving into our ferry ports to holiday in Ireland. They have not been asked to quarantine, along with this there are still flights arriving at our airports on a daily basis. No quarantine measures are enforced but the Irish citizens have been asked to stay in lock down for weeks on end while tourists are allowed entry and are free to move about freely. Government needs to close our borders, we are an Island and therefore we should have been in a position to keep this virus out.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Sinead O Donnell: fake news stop sharing, there are not people coming on holidays from Britain.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Sinead O Donnell: Haven’t seen a plane overhead in weeks…. mainly coastguard helicopters

Mute .Tk mc carthy
    Favourite .Tk mc carthy
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Laughable: please explain the influx of English Reg camper vans in kinsale

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Sinead O Donnell: We dont control the North. That’s the Achilles heel.

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin

@Sinead O Donnell: This is pure nonsense. Nobody is coming from anywhere to holiday. Our ports and airports are only bringing in freight for the supply chains. Stop spreading misinformation.

Mute MacVision3D
    Favourite MacVision3D
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Sinead O Donnell: stop spreading fake news why would anyone come here nothing open no where to go …cop on you F**k!!

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:23 PM

@.Tk mc carthy: must have come through Belfast.

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L
    Apr 11th 2020, 1:42 PM

@EdmundOrlando:

i saw Little Nellie

Oh, she’s a wonderful. Very small. Quite fast. Can do anything. Just your type

Mute Po Po
    Favourite Po Po

Stay home people

Mute T Colton
    Favourite T Colton
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:35 PM

@Po Po: should we wash our hands too? Don’t forget that one

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey

Can they just lock Gemma Doherty up please, the abuse she gave to that calm and rational Garda doing his job and in the frontline putting himself at risk was utterly disgusting.
    How can any individual be so arrogant, bitter and nasty?
    Our emergency services, Nurses, Carers and Key workers are making our country proud, nothing but respect for them in these very difficult times!

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:42 PM

@David Grey: She’s like an Irish Katie Hopkins. She’s a disgrace!

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky

Bring it on. I so want to go back to work but this is what we must do. Let’s carry on.

Mute Karin Muller
    Favourite Karin Muller

Unfortunately the halfwits are at it again. Woke up this morning at 5.00 am to the sound of cars on the road. Not normal. Obviously they decided to go early!

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L

@Karin Muller:

sorry to hear that

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:36 PM

Far fewer cars than usual on my estate today. They must’ve ve gone somewhere. I can’t understand why people are so thick sometimes.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

@Sean Ryan: none of business, good lad

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Jay: case in point, good lad

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:55 PM

@Sean Ryan: SEAN RYAN IS A NOSEY NEIGHBOR

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly

Not to sound like the murderous town council from Hot Fuzz, but it’s for the greater good

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@Jake Kelly: 3 weeks aint so terrible either really, economy maybe, but April seems like it’s going pretty fast!

Mute Mairtin Antaine O Conaill
    Favourite Mairtin Antaine O Conaill

@Jake Kelly: THE GREATER GOOD

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@Mairtin Antaine O Conaill: for some reason, it doesn’t remind me of hot fuzz, but the aliens from toy story I have no idea why

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark

@Jake Kelly: THE GREATER GOOD!

Mute Mike Ryan
    Favourite Mike Ryan

@Jake Kelly: Yarp.

Mute Mark O'Donohoe
    Favourite Mark O'Donohoe

Until May 5th at least if the numpties keep meeting and travelling around not giving a damn…

Mute Scott Mcgarry
    Favourite Scott Mcgarry

Fek this I’m going out…….to the garden.

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:35 PM

What is the guarda doing about all the selfish people who went to their holiday homes who are probably spreading the virus while someone like myself is respecting the rules and can only go out my back garden

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:22 PM

@Sheila Bedford: Hope you’re doing well and staying safe Sheila!

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:17 PM

It would help if the Gardaí also respected the bit of safe distance needed while at these checkpoints and to wear the approriate PPE. Stopped at a checkpoint recently and had to tell the Guard to step away from my car, poked his head in my window, no mask, no gloves, ridiculous! I appreciate the job they now have in front of them, but common sense should also prevail.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Niall Binéad: pooked his head in your window on to your lap did he? But I get your point. They haven’t been supplied sufficiently with masks and the ones that have have been told bot to use them at checkpoints.

Mute Jonathan O'Connor

Would they ever just say September and quit this 4 weeks at a time BS!

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver

@Jonathan O’Connor: stop this is bad enough news

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

@Jonathan O’Connor: I highly doubt September, a few EU countries are planning to open next week, even Italy is planning on phasing out some restrictions come may. September is not at all sustainable

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:29 PM

@Aaron O’Leary: Austria, Denmark, Norway, Italy, hell even spain are lifting restrictions https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/apr/10/coronavirus-live-news-global-deaths-near-95000-as-boris-johnson-leaves-intensive-care

Mute Maureen Monaghan
    Favourite Maureen Monaghan
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:29 PM

Are you allowed to say that whilst it’s necessary it’s also a bit crap. Before I’m annihilated I #stay at home

Mute Tim Tom
    Favourite Tim Tom

@Maureen Monaghan: No, and certainly not twice

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver

@Maureen Monaghan: crap is right mental health problems etc

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power

It’s not so bad for most people…. but I was full sure today was Saturday… Now I have to do 3 weeks plus another day now… angry face emoji x2….. got up late today ,ate the homemade builders special and now I realize this Good Friday …. no church open now to go to confessions ….. suppose it could be worse .. at least the pubs are open now on Good Friday … I’ll go for a few fast wans before herself gets up!

Mute Pauline Mulvey
    Favourite Pauline Mulvey

May 5th is the day after yet another bank holiday, all the holiday homers will be out in force again and then another three week lockdown will have to be put in place as the virus spreads due to those ‘untouchables’. Its so unfair to all those who are obeying the restrictions.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

Cannot believe the levels of absolute thickness in this section…

Mute Gerard Anthony McBride
    Favourite Gerard Anthony McBride
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:09 PM

@Jay: …..really?

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac

Then why the Fu-k are they not stopping the caravans come over from highly infected England, this government have not got to grips with this virus.

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon

@Jimmy Mac: 12 cars came on the ferry. Fake news

Mute Steve Maher
    Favourite Steve Maher

@Jimmy Mac: are there caravans coming in though? Source? Aren’t there similar restrictions there, they are on complete lockdown and are only allowed out for 20 mins of exercise and essential purposes

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone

@Jimmy Mac: there’s loads of photoshopped bull out there.

Mute Shane Terry
    Favourite Shane Terry

@Eoin Scanlon: Travellers

Mute Patrick Sullivan
    Favourite Patrick Sullivan
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:17 PM

“Doesnt want to turn ireland into a police state”….and yet that’s exactly what he has done! Remember that this is not an elected government we are dealing with.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:30 PM

@Patrick Sullivan: As I said prior, they all begin like that:
    It’s not a police state
    We are not asking you to snitch
    I am not a crook

Mute gerardfleming
    Favourite gerardfleming

Close the ferries and stop the Brits who dont care about or people or their own. This is a must and why is Gov not acting?

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin

I wonder will babies born in 9 months be known as Coronians?

Mute Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet
    Favourite Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet

@Noel Martin: beter then to be called Fine Gaelers.

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:27 PM

@Christopher Mulrooney #WeAreStarfleet: At least they wont be called Shinners, they have disappeared.

Mute Krista Clem O'Sullivan
    Favourite Krista Clem O'Sullivan
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:41 PM

This is OUTRAGEOUS with ferries loaded with UK plates cars coming in unrestricted! So apparently this ONLY APPLIES TO IRISH CITIZENS?! And THEY HAVE NO MANDATE TO MAKE THESE REGULATIONS!!!

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy
    Apr 10th 2020, 4:51 PM

@Krista Clem O’Sullivan: loaded really?

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Krista Clem O’Sullivan: fake news.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp

@Krista Clem O’Sullivan: you have been down the docks to see this I presume?

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Seaniecp: I often wondered how people could be so stupid to fall for scams they get via email, now I know, utter stupidity.
    There’s an article going around that’s completely fake and people are falling for it.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard

@Laughable: I use to think America had the monopoly on stupidity but this pandemic has shown me that we are still in the race. The social media pit crew must be excellent.

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly

Just wondering, when we open up on May 5th, and lock down again around the end of May – because that’s what the models predict in a population with low immunity – will the “Stay At Home!” crowd be quite so vocal?

The only way we can avoid repeated lockdown is getting test turn around time down from 2 weeks to 12 hours. Is that possible in a global pandemic with enormous demand for reagents and what-not? We’re small fry, i don’t think we can compete against larger countries in the market, and Tony Holahan indicated as such on Wednesday.

I do believe there are 2 groups of people – one very large group that are embracing the lockdown thinking that that’s that on May 5th, we’re good to go, and a much smaller group who realise this is the first of many lockdowns – given the low population immunity strategy – and want alternative strategies that don’t destroy every small business in the country to be considered. And there are alternatives. https://medium.com/@wpegden/a-call-to-honesty-in-pandemic-modeling-5c156686a64b

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Mark Kelly: Mark, sadly we live in a fact free society and the top health advisor is Coco the Clown, so what do you expect? It’s the crowd size and amount spent in the proximity of an infected person that counts. Far greater risk while shopping than hiking or walking, as long as distance is maintained. It’s not like it hasn’t been proven already e.g. South Korea. Some here seem to be more concerned with shows of force for the sake of showing off force. Will be interesting to see when the first holiday home is set on fire. How long can they keep this up?

Mute Mark Kelly
    Favourite Mark Kelly

@Stan Papusa: There’s an awful lot of the baying mob screaming “do something! do something now!” What that something is doesn’t really matter. So FG are obeying, and are soaring in the polls. It’s been a media and public lead lockdown – with no thought of what happens when the lockdown is released and the 99% of people with no immunity start going outside.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:11 PM

@Mark Kelly: The insanity of the situation is that probably 99% of the police is mobilized to “send a message” to 1% of those who don’t get it (since by most account the vast majority is already complying). How many test kits and PPE could have been purchased with that money? When all of this will be behind us, nobody will ask ‘how many cops did you deploy” but “how many lives did you save”. Who am I kidding, nobody will ask anybody anything.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

3 more weeks to grow out my Jesus hair and my soon to be wizard beard is it? I think so.

Mute Lisa Rowe
    Favourite Lisa Rowe
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:21 PM

@Aaron O’Leary: Ah come on now aaron you can do the beard yourself

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay

Yes sir yes sir three bags full sir

Mute Bopper Bops Holland
    Favourite Bopper Bops Holland

Cause I’m free to do what I want, to be what I want, any old time, and I’m free, to be who I choose, to get my booze, any old time

Mute Lukevic101
    Favourite Lukevic101
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:38 PM

At least open the hardware shops and garden centres. Give us something to be doing ffs

Mute Brian Kane
    Favourite Brian Kane

Please cancel the passenger ferries

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Brian Kane: they carry freight ffs

Mute Mary Clarke
    Favourite Mary Clarke

Very disappointed that we are letting in ferry loads of visitors, while ristrict ourselfto our home and 2 km from our home.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Mary Clarke: stop sharing fake news

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok

@Laughable: feck off you stupid paid yoke. Its not fake news.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:22 PM

@Tiktok: it is. You’re thick, a simple google at reputable news sources. Extra.ie is a copy paste non-fact check joke of an information site.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness

There doing all they can but may 5th optimistic ,let’s take each day as it comes and enjoy life and our families, I did a lovely workout in my back garden today , old skool

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:44 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: I think the idea is to follow the lead of others, Austria, Denmark, Norway are all lifting the lockdown starting next week and fully by May 1st. Spain and Italy are lifting the restrictions on non essential workers come may, so I assume they will be watching these countries very closely https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/apr/10/coronavirus-live-news-global-deaths-near-95000-as-boris-johnson-leaves-intensive-care

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary

I wonder if the garda powers are being extended? I would presume so

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh

@Aaron O’Leary: if not it cannot work

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:22 PM

@John kavanagh: That’s what I am thinking as well, it wouldn’t make sense to reverse that

Mute Nicola Monaghan
    Favourite Nicola Monaghan
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:31 PM

Seen a uniformed guard leaning in the passenger window of a car lastnight having a great aul chat with a fella. Sure what hope have we?!

Mute Annarr Ægir-Unnr
    Favourite Annarr Ægir-Unnr
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:37 PM

What about people travelling to here by plane and ferries

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:14 PM

@Annarr Ægir-Unnr: They’re opening the pubs for them, that was the plan all along.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

Makes no sense to have a lock down with a 2km when ports are open to passenger travel.
    https://extra.ie/2020/04/10/news/irish-news/ferry-passengers-lockdown-ireland

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Koochulan: how about using a reputable news source?

irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/quiet-ferries-suggest-holidaymakers-have-heeded-lockdown-warnings-1.4225484

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

@Laughable: But the Irish Times article is from yesterday, this is today.

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:42 PM

@Koochulan: As a rule of thumb, don’t read extra.ie

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna

Some people tone deaf, blind or cant read? God lads. 95% that’s NINETY FIVE percent of our airports are shut. 5% for irish citizens coming home. Ferrys? A very very small minority of UK citizens have come in yes, totally blown outta proportion though as there’s 100s, the majority is freight and goods.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:28 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: the same argument (very small minority) applies to those ‘flauting the rules’, yet nobody is allowed out, period. Why the double standard?

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan

I’d like to hear him make a statement as to why ppl are are fully eligible for the emergency covid payment, received an email late yesterday evening saying they no longer qualify for the payment ..especially as there are no government offices open until Tuesday to query why…regina the unelected witch and her slimy party , are driving ppl into poverty , and the only party addressing tis issue are sf ..

https://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/56474

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Apr 10th 2020, 8:22 PM

@alan nolan: Have you contacted your employer, they may have agreed to join the wage subsidy scheme and as such will pay your wages so you wouldn’t be entitled to both. Might be something else entirely but worth a shot.

Mute Pedro de la Rosa
    Favourite Pedro de la Rosa
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:07 PM

If you are worried about this lockdown and the impact it has on society, here are some questions the government isn’t answering but are relevant, only read if you are an interested in asking questions and not coming to immediate conclusions

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:20 PM

For all the fools.

irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/quiet-ferries-suggest-holidaymakers-have-heeded-lockdown-warnings-1.4225484

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Laughable: maybe do some due diligence before spreading fake news about holidays makers coming on ferries from Britain.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Apr 10th 2020, 5:23 PM
    Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable

@Koochulan: fake.

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Laughable: it won’t matter how many times you say it, the same fools will just rehash the same BS. Caravan parks were closed 3 weeks ago. 95% of hotels are closed. Why would anyone risk being stranded in another country. The only non commercial traffic on ferries are Irish people coming home. The only passengers in the airport are Irish people coming home.
    The biggest problem with May 5th is the same fake news been repeated on social media.

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:15 PM

@Laughable: how much money you getting paid for every time you say the words fake news. ?? ..

Mute Lynda O Gorman
    Favourite Lynda O Gorman

Need to Shut down the ports to Cargo ONLY.
    Lots of tourists from UK arriving in on Ferry’s ,
    TOTAL MADNESS
    When we are all doing our best .

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy

@Lynda O Gorman: oh god stop

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Apr 10th 2020, 7:45 PM

I am prepared to do another 3 weeks cocooning. If it means staying healthy it will be worth it

Mute John C
    Favourite John C
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:13 PM

We can’t go out, fair enough, but why are the ferries still bringing in camper vans and cars from UK ????????

Mute Louisa Anna Harley
    Favourite Louisa Anna Harley
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:59 PM

If the governents supplied masks and sanitizers to everyone, lives would have been saved, no commonsense :(

Mute Keith k
    Favourite Keith k

So another few weeks of not exercising more than 2km form my house but yet anyone can go to a garden centre to buy plants that they could do with out for the next couple of weeks i was with all restrictions up to this point of stupidity

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:41 PM

And I hope people realise it will be another 3 weeks after that AT LEAST.

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Apr 10th 2020, 6:20 PM

The act giving powers to enforce travel restrictions and increased garda powers is dated until may 31st so I guess the fortnightly incremental stay at home advice will continue to them at least.

Mute @jayhennessy350
    Favourite @jayhennessy350
    Apr 10th 2020, 11:31 PM

No disrespect to the author of the article but the comments section is where its at tonight ladies and gentlemen oh yes!!!

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Apr 10th 2020, 9:21 PM

Hard to take restrictions I have always loved my beach walk.. Sure again I get to the beach if I walk more than 500m I am breaking the law, but area is completely empty so I walk it. Big risk taker.