You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The seizure. Revenue

Over €6 million worth of drugs seized at Dublin Port

One man was arrested.

REVENUE OFFICERS TODAY seized cannabis and cocaine worth over €6 million at Dublin Port.

Officers seized 93 kilos of herbal cannabis with an estimated value of €1.9 million and 62 kilos of cocaine with an estimated value of €4.3 million.

The drugs were discovered following the search of a curtain-sided trailer which had arrived into Dublin Port from Rotterdam.

The search, with the assistance of Revenue’s mobile x-ray scanner and detector dog Robbie, led to the discovery of the drugs concealed within a number of hot water cylinders.   

A spokeswoman for Revenue said: “A Northern Ireland based haulier was arrested at Dublin Port by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau. A UK registered truck and trailer were also seized by Revenue officers. Investigations are ongoing. 

“These seizures are part of Revenues ongoing operations targeting the importation of illegal drugs. If businesses or members of the public have any information regarding smuggling, they can contact Revenue in confidence on Confidential Phone Number 1800 295 295.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Dec 10th 2016, 7:20 AM

We should wait till the new year. Won’t have to buy a Christmas present then.

Mute Benjy Mooney
    Favourite Benjy Mooney
    Dec 10th 2016, 8:00 AM

Cuba could teach the E.U much about sustainable development and human rights like access to healthcare and education. Neither does the E.U appear to mind a total absence of democracy when it’s tugging the forelock to wealthy totalitarian regimes like Saudi and China.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Dec 10th 2016, 8:55 AM

Yea, it’s bliss in Cuba http://www.havanatimes.org/?p=83287

Mute Ken Gleeson
    Favourite Ken Gleeson
    Dec 10th 2016, 8:59 AM

Have you ever travelled to Cuba ?

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Dec 10th 2016, 9:13 AM

Billy thinks human rights violations are ok because others are doing it. Imagine if his ilk came to power here.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Dec 10th 2016, 10:06 AM

Human rights and healthcare? If we paid a doctor here $67 a month , would that be ok?

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Dec 10th 2016, 2:23 PM

I have…many times. Worked there on a job for three weeks too.

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 10th 2016, 7:33 AM

We’ve had a relationship with Cuba for many years now. Thanks to Gerry.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 10th 2016, 8:19 AM

Adams does not represent Ireland when he travels abroad.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 10th 2016, 9:46 AM

@jane: He has his eye on the big job, won’t leave SF until he gets it and wants to be a dictator.

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 10th 2016, 10:18 AM

He does Jane and the fact that you don’t like it will never change that. Sorry.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 10th 2016, 10:51 AM

Eh actually he doesn’t. Maybe in his own head and also the heads of the brainwashed followers but the reality is he represents SF and those who voted for him in his constituency.
    If Michael Lowry went to Mugabes funeral would he be representing you and all of Ireland?

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 10th 2016, 11:07 AM

. Michael lowery is a proven corrupt gombeen. Gerry on the other hand fought for freedom and against oppression his whole life. To compare the two is a stretch even for you Jane.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 10th 2016, 11:12 AM

Both are elected TDs, not the Taoiseach, not the President and do not represent Ireland as a whole and that is my point.

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 10th 2016, 11:29 AM

Nelson Mandela had great time for Mr Adams and I doubt he woukd have had much time for Lowery or the worm Kenny for that matter. People admire a man of principle like Gerry and that’s just a fact.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 10th 2016, 2:01 PM

Maybe so but unless he is part of the Irish government or delegated by them then he is not representing Ireland. Reading this and other threads this week shows that the farce that is Dail Eireann is closer to a true representation of the Irish people than most would care to admit.

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry
    Dec 10th 2016, 7:32 AM

I will deliver the bowl of Shamrock there on the 17 of March

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 10th 2016, 7:23 AM

What an undemocratic, corrupt, 3 world country wants to improve relations with Cuba??

Mute Patrick Norton
    Favourite Patrick Norton
    Dec 10th 2016, 9:35 AM

Cuba is a lovely country, it has its problems with poverty but it’s health care system is second to none and education is free in colleges, went there a few years ago, people are really friendly, it’s fascinating that at the time there was no western commercialism like McDonald’s over there but still could all change. If you where to go into a super market there would only be about thirty products on the shelf

Mute DaVe O'm
    Favourite DaVe O'm
    Dec 10th 2016, 11:13 AM

@Patrick Norton:
    Totally agree Patrick it’s just a real shame that the country was forced into deep poverty by the US for so many years, too little too late from Europe again.
    I hope they can find a way to retain some of the positive aspects of their society, especially in this world run by multi-nationals.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Dec 10th 2016, 8:31 AM

An exchange programme is a priority; Doctors for Medical equipment & supplies.

Mute Rockclimber55
    Favourite Rockclimber55
    Dec 10th 2016, 10:02 AM

Safer than most other Caribbean countries

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:08 PM

Absolutely never once felt threatened over there even wondering around some of the dingier parts of Havana late at night.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:57 PM

Maybe we could open relations with ISIS next. The loony left are totally deluded.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 10th 2016, 2:03 PM

Charlie Flanagan brought this to cabinet ?

Mute Liam John Bradshaw
    Favourite Liam John Bradshaw
    Dec 10th 2016, 10:18 AM

Sure what do we know about Cuba? Why do we always follow America & who comes up with these ideas?

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:13 PM

We know it’s largest most highly populated Caribbean island that has been artificially depressed for decades by as combination of inefficient national policy and the crushing US trade embargo. An island full of genuine, friendly, welcoming, highly trained and educated people waiting for the chance to make a better life for themselves. Seems like a great place to build strong relations with as they start to emerge on the other side

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 10th 2016, 9:47 AM

Dail trying to buy Cuban Cigars, for the elite and cake for the citizens.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Dec 10th 2016, 5:09 PM

@Stephen murphy: and a Rum time for all.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 10th 2016, 7:29 PM

Supermacs do a gorgeous rum and raisin ice cream btw. They should be out there promoting it :-)