You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

O'Halloran family

Irishman Richard O'Halloran leaves China after three-year travel ban lifted

The father-of-four had been prevented from leaving China since February 2019.

LAST UPDATE | 28 Jan 2022

DUBLIN BUSINESSMAN RICHARD O’Halloran has begun his journey home to Ireland tonight after a deal was agreed between Chinese authorities and the Department of Foreign Affairs which lifted an almost three-year travel ban.

O’Halloran’s flight home left Shanghai Pudong Airport this evening, according to a family spokesperson. He is due to arrive in Dublin tomorrow. 

The O’Halloran family is understood to be delighted with the news and is looking forward to having him home finally. 

In a statement this afternoon, Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney confirmed that the travel restrictions placed on O’Halloran in China had been lifted.

“This has been a difficult time for Mr O’Halloran and his family. The Government has been actively engaged on the matter throughout and is delighted it has reached a successful result,” the statement said. 

“The Minister wishes to acknowledge the recent cooperation of the Chinese Embassy in Ireland and of the Chinese authorities, and to thank all those who have assisted in achieving this positive outcome.”

The Chinese Embassy in Ireland said in a statement that O’Halloran is expected to “fulfil his pledges and commitments” as part of the deal brokered for his return to Ireland.

“The related court in Shanghai handles Mr Richard O’Halloran’s case according to law, and the exit ban on him has already been lifted,” a spokesperson for the Embassy said.

“We notice that Richard O’Halloran has left China. It is expected that he continues to fulfil his pledges and commitment and undertake his corresponding legal obligations.”

Welcoming O’Halloran’s return home, Taoiseach Micheál Martin tweeted: 

I acknowledge the work of the many people in Ireland and in China who have helped make this day happen.It has been a very difficult journey for him and his family. Thinking of them today.

The father-of-four has been prevented from leaving China since February 2019 when he travelled to Shanghai to resolve an ongoing commercial and legal issue involving the Chinese owner of the firm he works for – Dublin-based aircraft leasing company China International Aviation Leasing Service (CALS Ireland).

Min Jiedong, the chairman of CALS Ireland and main shareholder of CALS Financial Leasing (Shanghai), was arrested by the Shanghai Public Security Bureau (PSB). Min Jiedong had been detained as part of an investigation into his involvement in a peer-to-peer and crowd-fundraising scheme.

He was later jailed on allegations of fund-raising fraud and illegal acceptance of public deposits.

Among the investments made by Min was one in CALS Ireland for the purchase of an aircraft that was already on lease to Finnish airline, Finnair.

O’Halloran travelled to Shanghai in February 2019 to meet with authorities who were looking for the money returned to Chinese investors in Min Jiedong’s operations. 

There were no allegations of wrongdoing against O’Halloran, but Chinese authorities refused to let the 45-year-old leave the country. O’Halloran’s time at CALS Ireland predates the time of the fundraising scheme and when the commercial agreement was concluded to acquire the aircraft.

Among the demands of the Chinese PSB (Public Security Bureau) were that CALS Ireland returns the currently-leased aircraft, and pay €36m to secure O’Halloran’s release.

With reporting from Jane Moore.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Louise Tracey
    Favourite Louise Tracey
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:49 PM

Brilliant news

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:28 PM

@Louise Tracey: this is just an attempt by Simon Coveney to distract us from the enquiry into some of his staff drinking a bottle of champagne when Ireland won the seat on the Security Council of the UN. You would have to be cynical. One law for the elite and another one for the rest of us.

Mute ED209
    Favourite ED209
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:36 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: You’re giving the government too much credit. I don’t think they had such foresight to keep this guy stuck in China for three years in case they needed a distraction from some future enquiry..

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute John A. Dixon
    Favourite John A. Dixon
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:05 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Ah stop will you.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:29 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Ciaran there is some swill posted on here day in and day out, but what you just said there beats all.

Mute Míchael Búrké
    Favourite Míchael Búrké
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:33 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: what flavour of fruit loop are you?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:40 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: don’t be silly

Mute John Rowan
    Favourite John Rowan
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:08 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: will you give the phone back to a responsible adult please and go do your homework.

Mute Jen Mc
    Favourite Jen Mc
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:25 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: trust me when I say I absolutely despise the government but take a break mate. This is great news, nothing should detract from that.

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:52 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: seriously? Yeah he has been keeping this card in his back pocket waiting for the right time to use it. Is the tin foil hat snug?

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:53 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Grow up this is a great news story for this poor man & you are going on about a champagne party the two are non related

Mute Jerry Slattery
    Favourite Jerry Slattery
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:01 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: so right 20 staff drinking 2 bottles of champagne after months & months of work was outrageous especially with there homeless in Ireland not allowed do the same thing ….yawn

Mute Mary Garry
    Favourite Mary Garry
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:39 PM

@Míchael Búrké: Sour grapes

Mute David Stapleton
    Favourite David Stapleton
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:55 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: yeah, they’re in league with the Chinese, they’re really running the government, running it, I tells ya. If you take Adam Daly’s name, and a good fews shots of vodka, Russian involvement, doncha know, and like, kinda rearrange his name, it’s Coveney. It’s true, bloody true….

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:09 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: Christ. Not another one who can’t just wish the chap well after his 3 years in that k!p going through all sorts. I wonder would you have the liathroidi to say this face to face to his family, no, didn’t think so.

Mute Fergal Doyle
    Favourite Fergal Doyle
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:06 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara: FFS

Mute Emmet Daly
    Favourite Emmet Daly
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:58 PM

Finally a new guest for the Late Late.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:40 PM

@Emmet Daly: who doesn’t work for rte.

Mute Niall Gannon
    Favourite Niall Gannon
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:03 PM

@Emmet Daly: very funny :)

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:38 PM

@Niall Gannon: now tell us Richard what were your thoughts during your darkest hour? It could be worse though. He could have ended up on Ray Darcys show stand up there Richard and see how tall you are compared to me.

Mute Bernie Mcgarry
    Favourite Bernie Mcgarry
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:44 PM

@John Mulligan: Wonderful news for his wife and children , Im sure the relief is unbelievable .

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:49 PM

Thats amazing news. Thrilled for the family after 3yrs of hell. Welcome home Richard.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:50 PM

Welcome home Richard. Long overdue!

Mute Paul Kelleher
    Favourite Paul Kelleher
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:25 PM

3 years robbed for each and every member of the family. 3 years they wi never get back. It will take some time for them all to recover. Traumatic experience just doesnt cover it. I wish them well.

Mute Billybutcher
    Favourite Billybutcher
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:00 PM

@Paul Kelleher: ccp are a shower of thug

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:05 PM

@Billybutcher: & thats the nicest thing you could say about them

Mute Paul Kelleher
    Favourite Paul Kelleher
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:26 PM

@Billybutcher: indeed.

Mute PHB090
    Favourite PHB090

Feck all help from our government they let him languish there for 3 yrs..
    Disgraceful carry on from Coveney and Co..

Mute Niamh Hayes
    Favourite Niamh Hayes
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:56 PM

@PHB090: This deal has been brokered by the department of foreign affairs.Do you think because the diplomacy involved with this difficult foreign power wasn’t on twitter they did nothing?

Mute Jim ***
    Favourite Jim ***
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:05 PM

@Niamh Hayes: Brilliant news, doubt if @PHB090 even knew the man was detained in China.

Mute John ward
    Favourite John ward
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:12 PM

@PHB090: so should we have threatened them with the might of the Irish navy.

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:17 PM

@John ward: the Irish fishing navy yes haha

Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:17 PM

@PHB090: Actually, the Consulate in Shanghai and Foreign Affairs Consular Division have been working on this case from day 1. The issue here is China, they are notoriously difficult to deal with in cases such as this one. They are a law unto themselves unfortunately

Mute Paul Kelleher
    Favourite Paul Kelleher
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:22 PM

@Jim ***: well said. Words fail me.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:23 PM

@PHB090: yeah right the Chinese leadership is famous for their openness, diplomacy & willingness to release people. Get a grip!

Mute Diarmuid Kelly
    Favourite Diarmuid Kelly
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:39 PM

@PHB090: shocking that over a 100 have given you the thumbs up.!

Mute Paul Kelleher
    Favourite Paul Kelleher
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:13 PM

@Diarmuid Kelly: not really. He probably pays people to give him a thumbs up!

Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:52 PM

@PHB090: you have to remember that the CCP are a pack of w ankers.

Mute Padraic Burke
    Favourite Padraic Burke
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:16 PM

@Niamh Hayes: they did almost nothing. 3 years? Did Coveney every bring it up with Chinese authorities when he met then face to face….absolutely disgraceful. Government jet sent to Egypt to collect a criminal. I hope you never have to deal with the DFA because they are about as competent as the ADAA (American dodgeball association of America)

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:29 PM

@Niamh Hayes: You might want to look further into this. His wife and family had to fight tooth and nail to get someone to help them. They were constantly ignored by Simon Coveney and Dept.of Foreign Affairs. They went on t.v and radio to highlight his case. A lot of pressure was put to bear on Coveney and Dept.during the Afghanistan withdrawal of Irish citizens maybe this helped. Whatever the reason its great news for him and his family its been a long 3 years.

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:51 PM

Fantastic news… I can only imagine the hugs between him and his family when they finally get to see him again…

Mute Mairead Conroy
    Favourite Mairead Conroy

Delighted for his family, it’s been a tough time for them

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran

Fantastic news. I’m delighted for him and his family.

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel

Chinese “diplomacy” at it’s finest

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:49 PM

Don’t dispute , the government were working behind the scenes but still China has a lot to answer for . What was the deal that got him released? Did someone pay something? Or did China realise that the bad publicity was not worth it? Did our seat on the UN work in terms of getting him out? Bottom line is that he appears to be on his way home finally. Safe travels

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:04 PM

Fair play to Peadar Toibin TD for lobbying for him.

Mute Míchael Búrké
    Favourite Míchael Búrké
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:36 PM

@Brian Lenehan: with who?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:41 PM

@Brian Lenehan: that would be the kiss of death, for sure.

Mute Una Dwyer
    Favourite Una Dwyer
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:02 PM

Great news

Mute Diarmuid Dorney
    Favourite Diarmuid Dorney
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:02 PM

Im delighted that Richard O Halloran has finally been released by the Chinese authorities. Been held for three years with no charges against was disgraceful. Now Richard has to try and reconnect with his family. Hope the media will give them space.

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:56 PM

Delighted and relieved for his family. Great news

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh

About time, ridiculous it’s gone on this long, some people have a lot to answer for.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:55 PM

@David Keogh: Completely. If he was a British or US citizen do you think those countries would have let him be detained for that of time? Not a chance. Makes them look weak.

Mute David Shaw
    Favourite David Shaw
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:06 PM
    Mute Ciaran Lehane
    Favourite Ciaran Lehane
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:13 PM

@Stephen Foster: Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe has been detained in Iran since 2016…..what have the British managed to do to get her free?

Mute Baronvoncass
    Favourite Baronvoncass
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:58 PM

@Stephen Foster: amazing that you got 29 likes for your opinion being ill informed as it is.

Mute Paul Kelleher
    Favourite Paul Kelleher
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:14 PM

@Stephen Foster: thats because we are weak.

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:19 PM

@Stephen Foster: perhaps you are unaware that there are numerous British and US citizens being held by various governments around the world – Iran, China, Russia and others- and their Governments are struggling to get them released. Dealing with dictatorships who don’t care what other countries think is difficult. Dept. of Foreign Affairs deserve some credit for continuing to pursue the issue and getting a good result , eventually.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:50 PM

@Baronvoncass: feel like a big man now? Others replied with informed information that I didn’t know, you on the other hand decided to be a keyboard warrior. Nice and small….

Mute John Duffy
    Favourite John Duffy
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:12 PM

@Stephen Foster: well in the case of British yeah they would. Nazarin situation was made worse by bojo the

Mute Colin O'Connor
    Favourite Colin O'Connor
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:53 PM

The Chinese: a great bunch of lads.

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:57 PM

Good stuff. And did you know he’s a father of four, don’t think the article mentioned it.

Mute Clare Ryan
    Favourite Clare Ryan
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:24 PM

@Mark Byrne: yes it does, at least twice.

Mute Bopper Bops Holland
    Favourite Bopper Bops Holland
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:37 PM

@Mark Byrne: eh, anyone that read the article knows

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:45 PM

@Bopper Bops Holland: @clareryan: whoosh!!

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:06 PM

@Clare Ryan: really, must have missed that bit.

Mute Breda Appleby
    Favourite Breda Appleby
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:43 PM

I remember hearing about this mans detention in China and Im really delighted to hear that he is coming home
    Such good news for his family.

Mute louie mac
    Favourite louie mac
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:15 PM

Fantastic news, long overdue

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:47 PM

So effectively they took him hostage and demanded ransom to let him leave, or did I read the article wrong?

Mute Niall Smyth
    Favourite Niall Smyth
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:54 PM

Fantasy news

Mute Aurelio Na Fodhla
    Favourite Aurelio Na Fodhla
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:00 PM

@Niall Smyth: No. It’s reality..

Mute Niall Smyth
    Favourite Niall Smyth
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:54 PM

@Aurelio Na Fodhla: apologies should have spell checked…fantastic news I meant

Mute Niall Smyth
    Favourite Niall Smyth
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:55 PM

@Niall Smyth: spelling error! Fantastic News

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:16 PM

I love yo know the details of the deal and what about the €36m they wanted back. But a good news story today for a change

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:39 PM

Its a disgrace that democratic western countries are and doing business with china .
    Their human rights record is abysmal , olympics should be boycotted and the west should turn its back on them

Mute Diarmuid Dorney
    Favourite Diarmuid Dorney
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:38 PM

@blue exile: in a utopian world we all should boycott China but the world would grind to a halt.

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Jan 28th 2022, 10:29 PM

@Diarmuid Dorney: as would china. No natural resources to speak of.
    All it would take is our leaders to show some courage and determination to pull it off.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:57 PM

Great that he is returning home but never forget what this represents; state sponsored kidnapping by the CCP of foreign citizens and held to ransom for the flimsiest of reasons, with the embassy here being passive aggressive and doing nothing to help. China should be boycotted until they live in the 21st century and actually cop on with their awful human rights record.

Mute Geoff Dolan
    Favourite Geoff Dolan
    Jan 28th 2022, 6:21 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara:

Yeah, so the govt secretly colluded with the Chinese to have Richard O’ Halloran released in order to “distract from ” the champagne party?

I lived in China four years. It is akin to having teeth pulled trying to argue with them over simple things like a complimentary coffee that was supposed to be included in a meal.

I would love to know what quid pro quo was worked out with those @$$h○les so as to facilitate this “distraction” you allege

Mute Margaret
    Favourite Margaret
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:43 PM

SUCH good news!! Why did it take so long??

Mute Barry Griffin
    Favourite Barry Griffin
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:23 PM

Absolutely delighted for Richard and his family. Really terrible how China thought they could hold this man without due reason.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:46 PM

“Recent co operation”. I think that says it all.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:06 PM

Incredible news!! He can finely put his nightmare behind him and continue with his life. Up you the CCP

Mute Scarletrose
    Favourite Scarletrose
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:32 PM

Just saw about the eye watering 36 million?! This is so weird. I wonder did we pay it. Glad he’s home anyway, must be traumatised

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Jan 29th 2022, 4:40 AM

@Scarletrose: wonder did we ask for a Covid discount? The amount of Covid PPE that we have shelled out should have well covered it

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:44 PM

Should have been sorted out after 3 months

Mute Scarletrose
    Favourite Scarletrose
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:31 PM

Jaysis the Chinese are just strange folk to be honest.

Mute Rowan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Rowan Fitzgerald
    Jan 28th 2022, 11:05 PM

This is great news!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:38 PM

Terrific news, Irish citizen returns home after all these years away.

Mute Ciarán Byrne
    Favourite Ciarán Byrne
    Jan 30th 2022, 11:12 PM

Would have been home earlier if the Cork Fishermen were on the case

Mute Roisin Sheridan
    Favourite Roisin Sheridan

Delighted for you Richard

Mute Shane Dempsey
    Favourite Shane Dempsey
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:40 PM

We want to thank the Chinese government for accepting our 36 million pay off to return our “Kidnapped” citizen. Great news though , happy for him and his family.