You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rickshaws in Dublin city. Sam Boal

Regulations to crack down on Dublin rickshaw drivers could be on the way soon

Transport Minister Shane Ross said discussions have recently taken place between Dublin City Council and the National Transport Authority.

REGULATIONS COULD BE on the way for rickshaw drivers operating in Dublin city centre.

Following calls for the sector to be licensed, Transport Minister Shane Ross said discussions have recently taken place between Dublin City Council and the National Transport Authority who have agreed a proposed approach to regulating pedal-powered rickshaws.

Regulating the sector would require the drafting of legislation, said Ross, who added that his department is now engaged with the NTA “to clearly frame the policy to guide any detailed legislative drafting”.

Progress

“I will consider the legislative proposals which emerge when this work has been progressed, following which I should be in a position to outline an indicative legislative timeframe,” said the minister.

Last year there were calls from Dublin City Council for the sector to be better regulated.

Meanwhile, earlier this week, Independent.ie reported that a number of rickshaw drivers in the city are selling class A drugs while they work.

Asked about the matter in the Dáil this week, Taoiseach Enda Kenny said reports of drug dealing in the city would be matter for the justice department and gardaí.

This is not the first time rickshaws have come to the attention to the authorities. Last year, gardaí conducted over 100 night-time inspections of rickshaws in Dublin.

Sinn Féin’s Dessie Ellis TD also asked the minister if the NTA has received legal advice regarding rickshaws carrying passengers for hire “that are operating without a licence, in some cases without insurance, proper driver vetting or roadworthiness certificate”.

Ross said the key focus of any regulations introduced would be on “passenger safety”.

Read: A China power plant has collapsed, with local media reporting 67 people dead >

Read: Steven Gerrard announces his retirement from football at 36 >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Nov 25th 2016, 7:46 AM

They’re banned in Galway City, they were found to be a nuisance.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Nov 25th 2016, 1:34 PM

@Brian Lenehan: Do these clowns even have Insurance? Do they even pay tax on their profits??????

Mute Michael McGuinness
    Favourite Michael McGuinness
    Nov 25th 2016, 7:39 AM

About time.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:00 AM

Dublin City council is a joke. 30 km speed limits and practically banning cars yet these guys who aren’t even Irish have a free run of it with no insurance running amock all over the city and now it’s been shown some are drug dealing s(€m too. Sort it out lads ye clowns

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:06 AM

@John Reese:

Always someone quick to play the race card. And you blame Dublin City council yet it is they who is working to resolve the issue.

Mute Mary Gray
    Favourite Mary Gray
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:08 AM

@John Reese: A song comes to mind everytime I read something that requires the gov or a council officiL to sort out is from the Wizard of Oz The song is sung by the scarecrow If I Only Had A Brain.

Mute Rothar Man
    Favourite Rothar Man
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:13 AM

Troll comment – racist and wrong
    Because cars have speed limits we should regulate rickshaws? Logic?!

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:17 AM

Was waiting to be called racist but really I’m not. If they were Irish drivers I would have the same opinion I was just nearly pointing out the fact they weren’t and don’t have insurance. How long would an Irish person last at a stunt like that abroad? They need to come down heavy like they would me or you breaking a red light etc.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:27 AM

You weren’t merely pointing out that they are not Irish you said “aren’t EVEN Irish”. If you were just pointing it out you would say they “aren’t Irish” but because you use “even” it gives the game away.

Mute Mary Gray
    Favourite Mary Gray
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:28 AM

@John Reese: Totally agree. It doesn’t matter who you are if you are providing a service to members of the public you should have insurance. Every shop, office, taxi, bus or business in Ireland has insurance why should they be any difference. They are running a business they should be regulated with insurance.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:41 AM

Let’s be clear Mary there is zero lawful obligation on businesses to have any insurance to protect customers, motor insurance is the only one required and is not necessarily for the protection of customers. Many countries around the world do not have mandatory motor insurance, and nor does Ireland have mandatory rickshaw insurance. What’s next cyclist insurance? Pedestrian insurance?

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:00 AM

@John Reese:

“Was waiting to be called racist but really I’m not. If they were Irish drivers I would have the same opinion I was just nearly pointing out the fact they weren’t and don’t have insurance.”

If you would say the same thing about Irish drivers then why mention the race?

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:14 AM

@Nick Allen: Just pointing out a fact. The PC brigade are out in force early today. I have made many comments here before and mentioned “Irish” people are this and that. I witnessed one of those “drivers” knock a lady down at the bottom of Grafton Street one night a few months back. I helped her up, luck she was not hurt. One for the driver sped away I would have dragged him of that contraption.

Some people love to go around looking to be offended. Happy Friday.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:32 AM

I agree that rickshaws can be a pain and something needs to be done about it but that is irrespective of the race of the person operating it.

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Nov 25th 2016, 10:10 AM

@John Reese: Would have been a good comment if it wasn’t for the stupid “aren’t even Irish” crap.

Mute Rockclimber55
    Favourite Rockclimber55
    Nov 25th 2016, 11:09 AM

That’s for staying the obvious. Mandatory anything has socialist overtones. Motor insurance is only mandatory because most people don’t have €1-2m to spare when they put someone in a wheelchair.

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:33 AM

What do you expect ? Nobody in charge of our capital city. No Garda presence, no directly elected mayor, no metro to airport, nearly 30 years to build the M50, dereliction rampant, Liffey Boardwalk a no go area. LUAS red line like the Wild West and on and on – and these rickshaws an uninsured hazard – only a matter of time before someone is killed on one or by one!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:05 AM

If you are depending on Shane Ross to legislate for that you will probably be waiting, he is better at telling every other Minister what to do.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 25th 2016, 7:41 AM

What about horses and carriages

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:02 AM

That’d be racist boss

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Nov 26th 2016, 2:43 AM

Is rickshaw driving ‘ethnic’? If so, they are going nowhere.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 25th 2016, 10:27 AM

Ban them now.They ARE drug dealing, Going up one way streets,no lights, Breaking traffic lights,and are very aggressive.Also ripping get off tourists charging way over the top for 2 mile journey. Get rid of them now.

Mute Lisa Dorothy
    Favourite Lisa Dorothy
    Nov 25th 2016, 10:56 AM

@Gerry Fallon: Normally I wouldn’t be so quick to condemn people trying to make a living, but yes there is a very dodgy element and it is the perfect coverage for standing around on street corners late at night.

Mute Brian O'Loughlin
    Favourite Brian O'Loughlin
    Nov 25th 2016, 1:24 PM

‘Breaking traffic lights,and are very aggressive.Also ripping get off tourists charging way over the top for 2 mile journey’….but that’s enough about Taxi drivers

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Nov 25th 2016, 6:02 PM

You hit the nail on the head, every taxi driver is the same, as I’ve been in every single taxi in Ireland, and I know every single tourist who has been ripped off by a taxi driver. Your comment is stupid.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:48 PM

Every fare is put on the meter Mr know all.its a sealed meter so you are talking absolute horseshit .

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Nov 25th 2016, 10:31 AM

Should be banned in dublin. Absolute dangerous on the roads

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Nov 25th 2016, 7:43 AM

Typical Shane Ross, resorting to a split infinitive to make a spurious point.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:41 AM

I thought shane Ross was still in Rio.very quiet.

Noel
    Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:55 AM

2 things you have to do in your for certain

1 . Die

2.Pay taxes

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Nov 25th 2016, 12:29 PM

Horse & cart too regularly see kids in the city centre going around with no lights pulling out in front of traffic etc

Rob
    Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Nov 25th 2016, 8:36 AM

Regulate it but don’t allow the Taxi lobbyists to stop it. These lads fill a gap that Taxis won’t bother going near… all the short journeys.

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:07 AM

Why would we stop it they are going around carrying people with no insurance and if somebody gets hurt they won’t be covered and let’s not forget they are dealing drugs but if you are happy to pay for that go ahead and use them but dont get on here moaning when some poor person is murdered due to drugs

Rob
    Mute Rob
    Favourite Rob
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:44 AM

Don’t be a moron James if course I don’t want them dealing. But we need something to fill the short gaps that taxis won’t bother with. The 7up rickshaws were great at that, these could be too with regulation.

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Nov 25th 2016, 6:03 PM

Yeah Rob, but some of these Rickshaw drivers are charging the same, if not more than what taxis charge for the same distance.

Mute Carol Lynch O'Toole
    Favourite Carol Lynch O'Toole
    Nov 25th 2016, 2:15 PM

I live beside croke park and these rickshaws are a nuisance when events are on. Every ine if them gies the wrong way down our one way street. One of them tried to charge a friend of mine €10 for a 30 second ride because he had 2 kids with him and its that price for 3 people. They have no regard for people’s safety. I’be seen them with 4 or 5 people crammed into them sitting on each other’s knees. There is no way that is safe. They should be regulated for the public’s safety.

ISSA
    Mute ISSA
    Favourite ISSA
    Nov 25th 2016, 10:56 AM

Taxi won’t take you in for a short distance on busy weekends tho

Mute Lisa Dorothy
    Favourite Lisa Dorothy
    Nov 25th 2016, 11:42 AM

@ISSA: They can’t legally refuse so if this happens take down the taxi driver’s number and report them.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 25th 2016, 6:17 PM

These nuisances belong in the third world…not the first.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 25th 2016, 6:19 PM

If donkeys were pulling them the RSCPA would be up in arms.

Mute Anne Warren
    Favourite Anne Warren
    Nov 25th 2016, 9:21 PM

@Frederick Burden: i agree. Am I the only person that objects to human being being used as beasts of burden? Dragging other human beings around by the force of their muscles. Surely that belongs in another time and another place?

Mute David J Delaney
    Favourite David J Delaney
    Nov 25th 2016, 2:25 PM

I doubt anyone here has used one, I have and they are a great addition to the city.

Mute TheGateFlorist
    Favourite TheGateFlorist
    Nov 25th 2016, 1:54 PM

Dessie ellis , SF ,TD asks if they even had a roadworthiness cerificate?? Dessie they are bikes ar the end of the day. Ive never know a bike to have one of them roadworthiness cerificate.

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Nov 25th 2016, 6:40 PM

And taxi drivers don’t rob any passengers

Mute David J Delaney
    Favourite David J Delaney
    Nov 25th 2016, 2:27 PM

I also haven’t been run off the road by a rickshaw in the same fashion as I have by a bloody taxi.

Mute monkeysocks
    Favourite monkeysocks
    Nov 25th 2016, 4:42 PM

I think their great. Spin across town and handy for scoring some grass or pills if you want them. Friendly too. What’s the problem?