You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Argentina’s newly sworn-in President Javier Milei speaks outside the Congress in Buenos Aires PA

Right-wing economist Javier Milei sworn in as Argentina’s president

The overwhelming victory of the self-declared ‘anarcho-capitalist’ in the August primaries sent shockwaves through the political landscape.

RIGHT-WING ECONOMIST Javier Milei was today sworn in as Argentina’s president.

Milei, 53, rose to fame on television with profanity-laden tirades against what he called the political caste. He won a congressional seat and then swiftly ran for president.

The overwhelming victory of the self-declared “anarcho-capitalist” in the August primaries sent shockwaves through the political landscape and upended the race.

meili Argentina’s incoming President Javier Milei waves after his swearing-in ceremony at the Congress in Buenos Aires

Argentines disillusioned with the economic status quo – triple-digit inflation, four in 10 people in poverty, a plunging currency – proved receptive to an outsider’s ideas to remedy their woes and transform the nation.

He won the election’s November 19 second round decisively – and sent packing the Peronist political force that dominated Argentina for decades.

This morning, Milei was sworn in inside the National Congress building, and outgoing President Alberto Fernandez placed the presidential sash upon him. Some of the assembled politicians chanted “Liberty!”.

sworn in Javier Milei receives the presidential cane from outgoing President Alberto Fernandez at the Congress in Buenos Aires

As a candidate, Milei pledged to purge the political establishment of corruption, eliminate the Central Bank he has accused of printing money and fuelling inflation, and replace the rapidly depreciating peso with the US dollar.

But after winning, he tapped Luis Caputo, a former Central Bank president, to be his economy minister and one of Caputo’s allies to head the bank, appearing to have put his much-touted plans for dollarisation on hold.

Milei had cast himself as a willing warrior against the creep of global socialism, much like former US President Donald Trump, whom he openly admires.

But when Milei travelled to the US last week, he did not visit Mar-a-Lago but took lunch with another former US leader, Bill Clinton.

He also dispatched a diplomat with a long history of work in climate negotiations to the ongoing Cop28 conference in Dubai, Argentine newspaper La Nacion reported, despite having insistently rejected humanity’s involvement in global warming. And he backtracked on plans to scrap the nation’s health ministry.

His moderation may stem from pragmatism, given the scope of the immense challenge before him, his political inexperience and need to sow up alliances with other parties to implement his agenda in Congress, where his party is a distant third in number of seats held.

He chose Patricia Bullrich, a longtime politician and first-round adversary from the coalition with the second most seats, to be his security minister, as well as her running mate, Luis Petri, as his defence minister.

However, there are signs that Milei has given up neither his defiance nor his radical plans to dismantle the state.

After his swearing-in, he intends to break tradition by delivering his inaugural address not to assembled politicians but to his supporters gathered outside the National Congress building – with his back turned to the legislature.

He was expected to refer to the economic travails he is inheriting from the outgoing president and to announce his first executive actions, including a drastic cut to public spending.

argentina crowd Supporters of Argentina’s President Javier Milei gather outside the Congress prior to his swearing-in ceremony in Buenos Aires AP AP

Argentina has a yawning fiscal deficit, a trade deficit of $43 billion (€39.9 billion), plus a $45 billion (€41.8 billion) debt to the International Monetary Fund, with $10.6 billion (€10 billion) due to the multilateral and private creditors by April.

“There’s no money,” is Milei’s common refrain.

Already he has said he will eliminate multiple ministries, including those of culture, environment, women, and science and technology.

He wants to meld the ministries of social development, labour and education together under a single ministry of human capital.

However, Milei is likely to encounter fierce opposition from the Peronist movement’s MPs and the unions it controls, whose members have said they refuse to lose wages.

Following his inaugural address, Milei plans to proceed in a convertible to the presidential palace and later meet foreign dignitaries.

Prominent far-right figures will be among them: Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban; the head of Spain’s Vox party, Santiago Abascal; former Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro and Bolsonaro-allied lawmakers, including his son.

Milei reportedly sent a letter inviting Brazil’s current president, Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva, after calling the leftist “obviously” corrupt last month during a televised interview and asserting that, if he became president, the two would not meet.

Brazil’s president dispatched his foreign minister to attend Milei’s inauguration.

Also expected was Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, who is making his first visit to Latin America since Russia’s invasion of his country in February 2022.

57 Comments
    Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:27 PM

It seems anyone who goes against the liberal consensus is going to labelled by the media is right wing

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:53 PM

@Paul Maguire: you mean anyone who’s on the opposite end to left is right wing…? Well colour me shocked… next you’ll claim someone who has opposing views to the right is a liberal.

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 10:46 PM

@Martin Mongan: I’d say I’m very much in the middle but because I think the fat left are doing much more harm than good I’m classed as far right.

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:04 PM

@Thomas Reddy: the skinny left are grand though.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:33 PM

More and more going right. centrist policy’s are not as appealing as they once were

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:28 PM

@Argus Romsworth: right propaganda simple. Doesn’t require any thought. Just trot out the cliches. Keep things black and white. Overwhelm social media. And you’re in.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:32 PM

@Alan: Exactly what Peter Murray/John Terry/ Mary Kearon/ Tom Tom/ Harry Cock do on here 24/7, peddle, their far right views to try and influence younger readers into becoming thugs.

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:10 PM

@Alan: Isn’t this what our government have done for years now??? You should put those rocks down in your glass house.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:12 PM

@Argus Romsworth: It’s all a game of snakes and ladders, one minute you’re up the next you’re down. the question is who really wins.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:54 PM

@Thomas Reddy: unless the guy your replying to is the government your glass house analogy is totally redundant

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:57 PM

@Martin Mongan: In more instances than not these fake accounts always tend to be government related.

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:01 PM

So this we can comment on but actual things in Ireland that affect us massively we don’t get a say. And it’s the elusive non existent right wing that’s the problem…

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:09 PM

@Thomas Reddy:
    The journal will happily alow you and anyone else to say anything you like about anything you like if you will personally indemnify them for all legal costs and issues that arise from subsequent comments.
    In other words, put your money where your mouth is.

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:05 PM

@P.J. Nolan: The same could be said for this post but here we are making comments on it so your argument is null and void.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:55 PM

@Thomas Reddy: are you trying to claim the right doesn’t exist now?

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:44 PM

Define far right

Mute Patrick Cadogan
    Favourite Patrick Cadogan
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:52 PM

@mainmsam: Fascism….simple

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:52 PM

@mainmsam: Umm, somebody who graduated from the Ministry of Silly Walks, lives in a palace and abhors the non rich?

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:41 PM

@mainmsam: EG someone with an dislike of immigrants, like yourself

Mute David Owens
    Favourite David Owens
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:42 PM

@mainmsam: according to McEntee they hate women lol

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:21 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    Good lad Kevin, keep on defending them no matter what they do. As long as it’s not your kids getting stabbed right ?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:24 PM

@Regular John: Yes I will continue to defend our general immigrant population from the likes of you. No matter what crime an individual commits.

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:38 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Lots of Ukrainian gang rapes currently happening up in Cavan. Maybe you’d like to bring any female family members up and let them have a stroll around once the sun goes down.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:16 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    Nobody has a problem with the “general immigrant population” It’s the ones that stab, rape, murder and scam we have a have a problem with. The ones coming here with no passports and being given housing before our own kids. The ones that cross multiple safe countries to arrive here and claim asylum, claim the dole and any other freebie they can get their hands on. The creepy ones that leer and follow our daughters around, making some streets no go areas for them.
    Time for “the likes of you” to cop on and stop the childish virtue signalling.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:22 PM

@Regular John: effing unbelievable. You don’t get to say that you have no problem with the general immigrant population when you constantly associate crime with immigration. Own your prejudice, you coward

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:58 PM

@Regular John: johns argument of the day virtue signaling while virtue signalling. You’ve come full circle. Still too afraid to use your real name and own your own opinions though

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:16 AM

@Regular John:
    Nope, immigrants are net contributors always are and always will be….your dickied up crime and faked rapes guff and passport discarding etc is just that and if the Dept of Justice can’t be arsed vetting certain ropey sorts then tough titties!
    Sure we have enough of our own bogies here and all around the world from the Whitey Bulgers to the Krimahans et al! The housing and health crises well well ensconced long before immigrants were here in any significant numbers!
    It’s the library/pharmacy louts and looters that need rounding up, digitally detoxifying and deprigramned from their sick non-gaelic mantras and so-called belief systems…either that or exile them blighty where they belong if they so want to like s¢umb@g sassanachs that they mimic so pitifully and fervently!!

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 11th 2023, 7:04 AM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    The only cowards here are you and your buddies that constantly defend criminals just because they are non-Irish. You wouldn’t dare say out loud the nonsense that you type.
    I have never had a problem with immigrants, I have a problem with criminals. We have enough of our own without importing more.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 11th 2023, 7:10 AM

@Martin Mongan:
    How does anyone know your name is real ? I good give myself any name I like ! There are lots of reasons for not using your name online anyway and most on here don’t.
    Not sure you understand virtue signalling either, bit of a silly comment altogether….

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 11th 2023, 7:17 AM

@Joe Meade: I’m just gonna 2nd what margiemurph said : Yawn…
    Too much gullible nonsense in your post to dismantle line by line this early in the morning.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 11th 2023, 9:42 AM

@Regular John: my god you’re back tracking big style. From Friday, on the Shane MacGowan article you stated: “the fact that you are comparing the Irish to what arrives on our shores shows your level of intelligence”. I don’t see any distinction in your comment, rather just referring to immigrants in general.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Dec 11th 2023, 4:56 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts:
    Not backtracking at all, have been commenting in the context of crime and nothing more. All you are doing now is trying to play the race card which is all your kind do when you have no answers to legitimate issues.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 11th 2023, 5:37 PM

@Regular John: Except you weren’t commenting in the context of crime. The discussion was about Irish immigrants versus immigrant who come to Ireland. It was a discussion about immigration in general, and you made your position quite clear.

Mute David Owens
    Favourite David Owens
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:39 PM

Hopefully he gets the country back on its feet after decades of failed left socialist policies. It’s a great country and the people deserve better.

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:20 PM

I suspect that he will turn out to be all mouth like Italy’s Georgia Meloni . His party has very few seats in either house of Argentina’s Parliament . In order to govern he will have to do deals with people who detest him . The price is likely to be high . Argentina’s business elite have already told him to take a run and jump . President Melie is going to do a lot of climbing down in the next few months .

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:19 PM

All hail Javier

Mute Snacktoshi Nachomoto
    Favourite Snacktoshi Nachomoto
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:51 PM

@David O Brien: bitcoin is coming to save Argentina

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:12 PM

@Snacktoshi Nachomoto: Great news

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Favourite Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:38 PM

Another Pied Piper

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:25 PM

“The harder I work the luckier I get” is that right wing or far right or normal ? “Those who work hard and succeed are creating inequality”. Is that right or left wing ? Genuine question.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:33 PM

@thomas molloy: I would pick option C = none of it, only soundbites.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:58 PM

@thomas molloy: “work will set you free”

Mute Harry Cock
    Favourite Harry Cock
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:09 PM

Ireland stands with Ukraine

Mute Hugh De Payans
    Favourite Hugh De Payans
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:29 PM

@Harry Cock: And Israel

Mute Harry Cock
    Favourite Harry Cock
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:47 PM

@Hugh De Payans: yes!

Mute Thomas Reddy
    Favourite Thomas Reddy
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:02 PM

@Harry Cock: Actually we don’t. I wouldn’t confuse politicians and real people as having the same opinions.

Mute Harry Cock
    Favourite Harry Cock
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:08 PM

Zelensky was there

Mute Corporal clegg
    Favourite Corporal clegg
    Dec 10th 2023, 5:31 PM

@Harry Cock: Begging for something no doubt.

Mute Patrick Cadogan
    Favourite Patrick Cadogan
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:51 PM

@Harry Cock: why shouldn’t he be??….

Mute Colm Mcmahon
    Favourite Colm Mcmahon
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:05 PM

@Harry Cock: probably stashing some of the billions of dollars that he creamed off the aid to Ukraine.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:32 PM

@Colm Mcmahon: Probably not the best country to hide your cash in with the state of their financial system.

Mute Wombleman
    Favourite Wombleman
    Dec 10th 2023, 6:00 PM

Meh, it’ll turn out like all of the others – nothing will improve for the people at all. After a while, they’ll realise that and vote him out.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:43 PM

He’s far right…if you Muppets are saying that he must be a hell of a guy!

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Dec 11th 2023, 1:18 AM

@damien leen:
    He’s a grifting far-rightard goon just like the Drumphster….will be gone in a year tops!

Mute Ham Hat
    Favourite Ham Hat
    Dec 10th 2023, 7:10 PM

They all said Trump, Bolsonaro will make every single poor citizen well-off safe under a shelter with health care and better job. Unfortunately those Right win send their tax money to their master state. ISnotREAL

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Dec 10th 2023, 8:20 PM

@Ham Hat: If if was really spellt re instead of rae, it’d be clever. But its not.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Dec 10th 2023, 9:02 PM

I wish him well, thankfully he’s only like trump in bravado and not a failure in life.