You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

What roads will be closed as Biden attends his first events in the Republic?

Phoenix Park will be closed to all access, traffic and pedestrians, from 5pm today until 5pm tomorrow.

US PRESIDENT JOE Biden will no longer travel by helicopter from Dublin to Co Louth due to bad weather conditions, Irish Government officials have said.

Biden is due to travel to his first set of engagements in the Republic of Ireland at around 4pm via motorcade, which may cause some disruption on the M1.

From 6pm this evening there will be traffic restrictions/ temporary closure along the R173, R175, N52 between Carlingford and Dundalk.

Until Biden’s departure late this evening parking restrictions and road closures will commence in Carlingford at the following locations:

• Public Car Park – Tourist Office
  • Dundalk Street
  • North Pier
  • Newry Street
  • Old Quay Lane
  • Castle Hill & Back Lane
  • R173 Greenore Road

As a result of Biden’s planned visit to Aras an Uachtarán tomorrow, Phoenix Park will be closed to all access, traffic and pedestrians, from 5pm today until 5pm tomorrow (arrangements are in place for local access only).

The Office of Public Works (OPW), which operates the park, confirmed over the weekend that all gates, including pedestrian gates, will be closed during the 24-hour period.

Access will be provided to essential park staff.

From 7pm today until tomorrow evening road closures will be in place at the following locations:

• Kildare Street 
  • Molesworth St
  • Merrion Street
  • Merrion St Upper
  • Fitzwilliam Lane
  • School House Lane
  • Merrion Sq West
  • Merrion Sq South

It is unclear if weather will permit Biden to return to Dublin tonight via helicopter or if he will be travelling by motorcade again.

Gardaí have said:

“Members of the Public travelling in the affected areas, Louth 12 April, Dublin (Phoenix Park/ South City Centre) 12/13 April and Mayo 14 April are be asked to plan their journeys during this period to ensure to leave enough time for possible traffic disruptions and to expect some localised delays.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:19 PM

IW is not fit for purpose, creating more problems than solving.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:47 PM

@@mdmak33:

Celtic Anglian Water (CAW) have been the Operations and Maintenance Contractor at the Ringsend Waste Water Treatment Works since 1999.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:08 PM

@Tim Pot: So whats Irish Water for. Ah yes now i remember to hoover up more cash from the hard pressed public.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:54 PM

@Stephen Grehan: perhaps if the public had of actually paid their bills, and before anyone says it, the act creating Irish water removed previous revenue streams for Irish water treatment, then IW would actually have the money to upgrade the plant faster to solve the simple problem that Dublin is growing faster than the infrastructure can handle and has been doing so for years

Mute Oscar
    Favourite Oscar
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:14 PM

@Vocal Outrage: not true. Funding was cut way before iw was established.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 7:14 PM

@Stephen Grehan:

They have spent less cash than the 31 authorities they replaced…

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:55 PM

@@mdmak33: This is just another example of how we struggle to implement infrastructure, there literally isn’t a positive example in the country, maybe Education, but transport, health, housing, etc. We are a pretty good example of how not to do it. Ah well who wants to live on Dublin anyway, it’s a kip.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:57 PM

@Vocal Outrage: Even when IW set up,water services and infrastructure continued to be financed through the LGFs plus partial Exchequer funding into the LGF.
    Following recommdations from Committee re Future Funding of Water …voted for and agreed in Dail certain changes were legislated for.On January 1st 2018 Motor tax is now being paid directly into the Exchequer and water services and infrastructure now paid by Exchequer funding.
    The DBO contracts re Ringsend WWTW Extension had been in place since 1999& those contracts plus another 325 contracts were transferred to IW on 24/4/14.
    In 2012 the Councils had 660 different contracts,schemes&water conservation projects!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:12 PM

@Vocal Outrage: Oh, that explains where all previous revenue went. By that logic we should all pay quadruple fees for TV licences, on the grounds that RTÉ would like to spend more money.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:21 PM

@thesaltyurchin: The EPA and the FSA are doing a good job. Credit where it’s due. Road safety’s improved thanks to the RSA. Em – okay, that’s all I can think of.

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:22 PM

@thesaltyurchin: good point, but I heard (from teachers!) that we’re falling behind on the educational front also. So no good examples there. We’ve a good taxation infrastructure, if you’re a multinational I suppose :/

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:31 PM

@Oscar: Yes,from 2008-2010 even with FF Government achieving 2/3rds adjustment required by Troika CAPITAL expenditure on water on water supply &waste water treatment was €2,17B.With FG Government in 2011, capital expenditure was slashed o €1,32B(2011-2013)!

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jul 4th 2019, 9:29 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: You’re right, I guess my sarcastic posting is more aimed at a government/organisational level, the people that are handed these buckets with holes are hardly the problem, and speaking from experience, (3rd level ed.) these people are usually doing way more than they signed up for just trying to deal with the tsunami of problems (Frustrating, because you can see how it could work really well and the government tell you that they want it to work really well but then the turn their backs and cover their ears,’ in my experience we need to run these institutions like businesses, not privatising but way more transparent, there’s no way you get a job at 20, do nothing for 40 years and get promoted along the way! It’s bonkers). As a young-ish country we don’t yet understand the value in ‘things’. At some point we will have to deal with our ‘Leprechaun economics’ or we’ll have no where to drive our brand new cars. (went off piste a little there).

Mute Declan O'Neill
    Favourite Declan O'Neill
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:36 PM

“Plumes will continue to appear” …. why not say it as it is …. “shît will continue to spill”

Jul 4th 2019, 10:07 AM

@Declan O’Neill: plume? Sounds almost poetic…

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:37 PM

What is the point of Irish Water? What do they do other than soundbite ridden press releases and driving around in taxpayer funded Audis?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:51 PM

@Shakka1244:

Incorporated in July, 2013 as a company under the Water Services Act 2013, Irish Water brought water and wastewater services of the 31 local authorities together under one national service provider. We are responsible for the operation of all public water and wastewater services including:

-Management of national water and wastewater assets
    -Maintenance of the water and wastewater system
    -Investment and planning
    -Managing capital projects
    -Customer care and billing

We are also responsible for all of the capital investment decisions and implementation of the capital programme delivery across the country.

… via https://www.water.ie/about-us/our-company/

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:15 PM

@Tim Pot: Lately you are using the word we in most of your comments, so one can assume you work for Irish Water and hence the biased agenda.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:55 PM

@Stephen Grehan: or perhaps he was simply quoting from IWs mission statement, generally in quotes the words ‘I’ or ‘we’ are quite common

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:06 PM

@Stephen Grehan:

its a direct copy and paste from the website stephan. feel free to do a background check.

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:23 PM

@Tim Pot:
    Thanks for that George Lee
    Any hosebans …broken pipes.
    On the horizon???

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:38 PM

@Kerry Evans:

tend to be in the ground not on the horizon…

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:53 PM

@Tim Pot: From 2008-2013(5 years) the Councils got 199 supplies off the EPA Remedial action lists from 339 supplies in 2008- 140 supplies in 2013.
    Why did IW just get 61 supplies off the EPA Remedial action lists in 5 years?There’s still 60 supplies on the latest RAL on last Report this year & 63% of those supplies have THM exceedences.In August last year didn’t the European Commission take a case against Ireland re THMs!?Will IW have those supplies with THMs reduced to 20 supplies by end of 2019 as promised?

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Jul 4th 2019, 1:26 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: What are you asking him for? Maybe ask IW?

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 4th 2019, 1:40 AM

@Gavin Conran: Tim Pot knows…..

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:34 PM

Can’t be too healthy living on that part of town with a questionable incinerator and a dodgy treatment plant close by.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:04 PM
    Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:16 PM

@Tim Pot: who’s Peter Darvas and where does he say fact? He says widely held beliefs at least twice.
    Who’s paying you to post this shite?

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:57 PM
    Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:35 PM

@Tim Pot: Here’s another fun fact for you.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BowD6dAJKvo

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:19 PM

@Hardly Normal:

his email is in the report you can ask him yourself.

i am not being paid to post this brown plume.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:37 PM

@Stephen Grehan:

Thanks stephan thats a good video.

1)cost of billing in 2015 was only covering itself as there was only a portion of the households paying at the time.
    2)If Ireland would achieve even half the savings that scotland managed when they created a national utility then that could save 20% of total costs. However Mr. Donnely did not assume any increase in funding for services. As we now see is required.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:44 PM

@Tim Pot: you are stating his hypothesis as fact when he uses the words ‘widely held beliefs’ .

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 7:12 PM

@Hardly Normal:

Might I ask why you are not as thoroughly verifying others statements on here?

anyway i’ll agree it’s not the most convincing paper. here is one from the US EPA instead. Again, waste to energy plants produce less emissions than diesel cars.

https://archive.epa.gov/epawaste/nonhaz/municipal/web/html/airem.html

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jul 3rd 2019, 7:51 PM

@Tim Pot: Donnellly’s figures were based on the fact that if every household in the country paid Irish Water it would barely cover the cost. At the time it was looking for around 260euro per year for the average household for starters. But hey lets face it we all know what happens with new charges (bin charge) in this country it skyrockets out of control and before long the cost will be 1000 to 2500euro per year and rising.
    The only good thing about Irish Water is that it awakened people to the gross incompetence of politicians, cronyism, back hand deals and so on.
    Make no mistake about it this will still be very much an issue when the next election comes around.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:02 PM

@Tim Pot: yours was the first, you stated it as fact when the author said it wasn’t. If others had put forward a link stating it was a fact and the first line in the link said it was a widely held belief I’d have done the same.
    Truth is I didn’t click on the others because everyone can find a link supporting their agenda or personal beliefs and it just didn’t interest me all that much. Saying that the epa allow fracking to take place in America without a huge amount of grief so I wouldn’t take their word for gospel either.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:12 PM

@Hardly Normal:

ok so because the epa allow fracking, their recording of emissions data on municipal waste to energy plants must be flawed?

Come on that makes no sense.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:43 PM

@Tim Pot: ya, you’re right I ballsed up my point. Till next time Tim Pot :@

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jul 3rd 2019, 10:22 PM

@Tim Pot:
    1)If all households had paid IW charges,it would have just covered IW billing cost,& related costs.
    2)How will billing for excessive water use be practical financially re cost involved when Ireland uses less water than many other European countries as was highlighted to Expert Commission on Water & Committee on Future Funding of Water?
    3)There are just 600 water meters re water users in Scotland out of 2.4m households as they use district metering instead as they told Committee on Future Funding of Water so there are significant savings there as there isn’t the initial costs of instillation, maintenance and replacement costs.
    Also water is paid for through the Council tax banding structure so affordability is an important factor for Scottish Water.Ireland formally paid for water services through motor tax revenue put directly into Local Government Fund into which the Exchequer put some funding into LGF also.So there was no costs involved re billing expenditure &related costs.
    At end of 2017 there were 4300 staff re water services in Ireland:3,500 Local Authority staff +800 IW staff.IW said there would be a reduced workforce of 3,300 in a single utility which means loss of 1000 staff re water services ,a significant loss of experienced staff!

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:33 PM

Aptly named area for this plant to be…

Mute southside
    Favourite southside
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:37 PM

What worries me is that (correct me if I’m wrong here) two out of three spills were only reported because a private citizen spotted it with a drone, meanwhile IW are telling us all is well. I wonder was the brown river running the days when the drone enthusiasts were at home.

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:28 PM

It’s not just near Ringsend. It’s a 5 mile radius of odour. Disgusting. The city smells like an open sewer.

Mute Arya
    Favourite Arya
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:32 PM

@gerard carey: Really? You can smell it in the city? That is just all types of wrong.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:49 PM

@gerard carey: funny, I live and work within this 5 mile radius and can’t smell it

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:08 PM

@Arya: no you cannot, there is more white coming from some people than the sewage plant.

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:09 PM

@talkingsense: I can smell it in Clontarf, Rathmines, Monkstown, and all over the inner city, well the inner city could be the bags of rubbish strewn all over the place. Not sure.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:16 PM

@gerard carey: that’s the natural smell of Dublin

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:38 PM

@gerard carey: funny how the smell seems to follow you around, odd that.

Mute gerard carey
    Favourite gerard carey
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:55 PM

@Darius Guppy: Not as odd as your nose.
    You might want to get that checked out. Nice teeth.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:57 PM

@Hardly Normal: Its fairly obvious in the IFSC.

Mute Sinéad Ní Ógáin
    Favourite Sinéad Ní Ógáin
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:09 PM

@talkingsense: I live in Grand canal dock and can smell bad smell from the water

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:43 PM

@gerard carey: it’s near Ringsend lol

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:24 PM

@Sinéad Ní Ógáin: theres a run-off directly into the grand canal basin. Seems bizarre but apparently that’s true.

Mute Oretani Wildlife
    Favourite Oretani Wildlife
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:36 PM

Reminds me of a song by Bagatelle.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 3rd 2019, 9:15 PM

Except that they could jump on a bus to Dún Laoghaire to escape the smell :-) Such progress!

Mute Greg Dunne
    Favourite Greg Dunne
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:53 PM

Cover ups and lies to try and breath life in to IW and eventually allow the FFG to privatise water..

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:47 PM

Two words spring to mind, brewery and pi?s up!

Mute Alan Fahy
    Favourite Alan Fahy
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:34 PM

They can’t even get their euphemisms right. A “plume” is a feather or something resembling a feather, such as a helmet ornament or a “plume of smoke”. It goes upwards, not outwards. In this case, the correct euphemism would be a “brown fan”.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jul 3rd 2019, 5:00 PM

Suppose car tax will be increased again to fund the upgrade…

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:18 PM

I can smell the bullsh*t from the constant press releases from here…….

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:45 PM

What a joke . Thought Albania was the only country in Europe with open sewers

Mute Christopher Millar
    Favourite Christopher Millar
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:54 PM

s b r s can be really tricky especially if there overloaded .

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:11 PM

funny smell from ringsend ( * )

Mute Christopher Millar
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:34 PM

Sounds like m l s s

Mute Mary
    Favourite Mary
    Jul 3rd 2019, 3:46 PM

@Christopher Millar: mixed liquor suspended solids? Certainly looks like it

Mute Christopher Millar
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:50 PM

@Mary: your right mary prob 2 high I would waste a bit more ..

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Jul 3rd 2019, 7:37 PM

By plumes they mean tons of raw Shite.

Mute Gerard Gildea
    Favourite Gerard Gildea
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:46 PM

This phenomenon is due to a overload of bullshit coming from the Dail mixing with hot air carried by the ffg winds.

Mute Boris Becker
    Favourite Boris Becker
    Jul 3rd 2019, 8:31 PM

You can smell the $hyte over in Sutton ffs

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jul 4th 2019, 12:34 AM

“Odour near ringsend.” Headline of the year!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jul 3rd 2019, 6:07 PM

I’m begining to think this is just a load of crap.

Mute Christopher Millar
    Jul 3rd 2019, 4:46 PM

Correct mary