You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
GARDAÍ HAVE LAUNCHED an investigation following a fatal road crash in Waterford this morning.
Officers said that from early investigations, it appears that a motorcyclist in his 30s collided with a stone wall. Nobody else was involved, gardaí added.
The incident happened today at 11.40am.
A garda spokesman said: “The road is closed for a technical examination by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators.
“Gardaí are appealing for anyone with information, particularly any road users who travelled in the area and may have dash cam footage, to contact Dungarvan Garda Station on 058 48600 or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
9 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@John brett: 92% approx effective at stopping serious illness. That leaves 8% of what serious illness there would have been. All things considered hospitalisations could be far higher. Probably will rise a good bit over the next month.
@Munster1: waining immunity after 6 months, some vaccine that is hahaha, I got vaccinated for a few different things as a baby 34years later I’m still immune no boosters in that time either would you believe
@Alan Leamy: different viruses and disease have different responses to vaccines. I had to get get a TB booster as do a lot of people. So even the old ones were not 100% effective.
@John brett: Is that really a question or just trolling? Might have something to do with old age as well as other illnesses they may have. Human body doesn’t work as well as it used to as you get older. Surprised to have to explain that to an adult….. News flash as well, people also die from the flu despite being vaccinated. Even a common cold can kill.
@Alan Leamy: Anyway who cares, the sickest thing about this virus is how it’s turned people against each other, fair play to all the people that have taken the jab and fair play to those who havnt, we all decided what was right for ourselves, its when the time comes that we don’t have a choice anymore I worry about
@Seàn Mc: It’s hardly all roses though, is it?! Europe is highly vaxxed and yet cases are dangerously surging across the continent, regardless of vaccination status. The WHO is saying we’re the epicentre of the pandemic and they expect a spike in hospitalisations and deaths shortly which threaten EU counties going back into public health-destroying lockdown (5-10 times worse for public health https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpubh.2021.625778/full). Compare this to major regions of a developing country that we’re not allowed to talk about where Covid cases and deaths have flatlined since July. They only achieved 10% vaccination by September. Whether it’s because they treat their sick or because they rapidly build innate immunity, they have gotten rid of it without vaccines and with enviable deaths per million in the process.
When are we going to start treating the sick on positive diagnosis with all the existing therapies, supported by dozens and dozens of studies, that are known to significantly reduce hospitalisations?
@Conor Brady: Conor that is wrong, I wont even try and argue figures with you as your stats all suit your argument.
Vaccines work, herd immunity does not.
@Gary Kearney: feel free to explain this graph using your own stats and figures Gary. It’s innate immunity and/or treatment (check out how quick those cases fell away, none of our waves look like that), and again they weren’t 10% vaccinated until 3mths after flatlining. 241mil people, safe now. https://www.google.com/search?q=uttar+pradesh+covid+cases
@Conor Brady: oh it’s the Conor Brady “delete this thread show!’ (needs a snappier title)…do you only lie? Every comments thread you are on gets deleted. India is suddenly a paragon of virtue whose data is impeccable. Their caste system treats some people as barely human. Do you honestly think they care and record what happens to those in the lower castes…
…of course you don’t…
@Conor Brady: Yes, Uttar Pradesh reached herd immunity, 90% or above were infected by July 2021, due to an uncontained outbreak.
We’re vaccinating instead, because letting COVID-19 rip though our unvaccinated population last year would have resulted in 13,000 to 20,700 deaths (IFR of 0.56% to 0.84% and 50% infected, pre-Delta Infection Fatality Rate). Is that possible? Yes, if we had an uncontained outbreak we could have ended up like Peru, Bulgaria or Brazil etc.
Peru – equivalent to 29,800 deaths here.
Bosnia and Herzegovina – equivalent to 18,000 deaths here.
Bulgaria – equivalent to 18,000 deaths here.
Hungary – equivalent to 16,200 deaths here.
Czech Republic – equivalent to 14,410 deaths here.
Brazil – equivalent to 14,200 deaths here
Romania – equivalent to 13,135 death here
Also, looking at the SCOPI antibody survey, that found that 1.7% of the population aged 12 – 69 caught the virus after the first wave (1000 deaths).
Our ICUs would not cope if we let loos. Also, immunity after infection wanes, 27% of cases in Delhi were reinfections, due to waning immunity and new variants.
“Seropositivity of an employee and family cohort increased from 42% to 87.5% between March and July 2021, with 27% reinfections, as judged by increased antibody concentration after a previous decline.”
Refs.:
Dhar, M.S., Marwal, R., et al. 2021. Genomic characterization and epidemiology of an emerging SARS-CoV-2 variant in Delhi, India. Science, eabj9932, https://doi.org/10.1126/science.abj9932.
Definitely finding the people on the 2 extremes of this argument the hardest to deal with now. I don’t know which are worse at this stage, the anti maskers or the self appointed Covid police. Can’t people just do what they can and keep to themselves? We’re all finding it hard. Don’t be d!cks.
@Elaine Phelan: Absolutely, but I think the point made by DJBERMO is spot on. Anything can happen going forward. People need to be a bit more philosophical and flexible. But right now; we can be optimistic. Being optimistic hurts no-one.
How is this still making headlines, its here now to stay like the flu so forget about it and get on with it, why the constant hysteria about it, it’s old news, are we going to be reporting daily cases in 12 months time, think hard people, figure this out
@Hugo Bugo: Flu,,, did you not see the article about no flu being reported,,, it just disappeared,, and before anyone goes to comment about mask wearing and washing hands,,,, don’t bother….
@David Jordan: It is interesting, but the usual cycle of this lesser strain of flu, virtually dissappearing for years, only to later re-emerge, could also be in play, in addition to the lockdown induced lack of infection opportunities, causing a similar outcome.
@Finn Bar Regany: I heard the flu and covid had a big showdown, one on one, there were no fans in attendance, just a few very rich billionaire’s witnessed it and covid knocked out the flu in 30 seconds with a left hook and ordered the flu to never come back here again, to be honest this story is just as believable as some of the other rubbish the public are swallowing
@Hugo Bugo: when it is like the flu then fair enough – but it is killing over 25 times more people than the flu does in a full year.
it is also having serious health implication for some individuals and putting health workers at risk – and if we have to report cases in 12 months time to remind people to stay at home if they have symptoms and to wear face masks in certain circumstances then it might sink into some people heads.
If 8 people a day were dying on the roads do you not think that would also be news worthy?
@Hugo Bugo: It is not like the flu apart from the fact it is a virus. Completely different type and completely different way to deal with it.
The one good thing is the massive fu outbreaks have not happened due to covid as people stayed apart and wore masks.
@Conor Brady: The over sanitation of hands, particular in young healthy children caused me concern from the beginning.
The myriad of bacteria young people are exposed to daily all feed in to a strong healthy immune system.
I wouldn’t have thought that relative short period of cleanliness though would have such a quick effect. However that article makes interesting reading.
Need to get them back to the nose picking and ass scratching.
@Conor Brady: That was always around. There’s a surge at the moment because young kids that would have ordinarily picked it up last year, didn’t due to lockdowns. As a result there’s double the amount of kids with it this year. The doctor explained it to me as the cold virus getting into the lungs. Our 10 month old has it at the moment, is very sick, and can’t shift it. It may not be well known by the name RSV but it’s always been around.
@Hugo Bugo: That is essentially it. You won’t hear it at a NPHET press conference but smarter scientists have studied it. Once you get a new dominant virus on the scene and it quells the others into neay extinction. It was entirely predicted based on years of epidemiological research. Check out Hope Simpson if you’d like to read up. Of course, it could re-emerge but for now Covid is the new kid in town.
@Gary Kearney: Yet according to you yesterday the rise in covid cases was down to nobody obeying the rules. You said mask wearing had decreased no one was social distancing and people were doing what they pleased. So which is it you can’t have it both ways. So what is your “argument ” now for no massive flu outbreaks??
@Hugo Bugo: 10 times the deaths of the worst modern flu year, and nearly the same proportion of all deaths as in the 1918 flu year. 30 times the average road deaths, and almost half as many Covid deaths as deaths from ALL cancers, our number 1 cause of death. And that’s WITH restrictions, and latterly vaccines.
“So forget about it”.
If you take yesterdays figures and add the admissions and subtract the discharges then the difference between these and today’s figures in usually the number of people who have sadly died in ICU with covid.
Yesterday there were 90 in ICU and today the government (and covid app) report 76.
90 + 2 admissions = 92
92 – 11 discharges = 81
Did it ever occur to you that the difference between 81 and 76 could be as a result of 5 deaths in ICU assuming these figures are correct.
Now how many times does this need to be explained to people like you or are you just too lazy to think or care ?
@FrustratedASDMum: yeah the media narrative which of we remember from weeks and weeks ago was when we reopen cases wi rise but the icu numbers should be manageable and this is what living with covid will look like – the hospital numbers this past week have actually fallen below 500 and the icu numbers have also fallen to 76 – and so the headlines everywhere today are Dr Tony Holahan is concerned and the Taoiseach is warning the pubs and blah blah blah – it’s kinda pathetic imo – they can’t keep pointing to cases if the health systems icu is able to manage – which it is when it’s 76 icu ffs
@Niall Ó Cofaigh: No. The reason being during a NPHET briefing last year a journalist from either Virgin or Newstalk( can’t remember which one)asked that question. It was put to Tony Holohan regarding the discharge numbers, if they had recovered or passed away. It was explained that discharged from hospital meant discharged. Discharged from ICU meant moved into general hospital wards. Deaths were reported separately. It was also explained on here by others several times. As for your mathematical equations maybe the best way to get an accurate and factual explanation is to contact HSE.
@Sequoia: Primary school children are bringing home COVID-19 and they are infecting parents at home. End of October (last epidemiological update I saw) there was a clear double peak at ages 5 – 12 and 35 – 44, children and their parents.
While vaccines approx. halves the time a person is infectious, so outbreaks in bars and restaurants etc. are reduced, they do not reduce infections by as much in home settings, where people spend 24/7 with each other. They are bound to be infectious at some point when someone is at home.
I think the government dropped the ball on this, should have kept up school testing of asymptomatic cases (that said, several countries drop this too). They might change their mind.
@David Jordan: why do you think this…schools are safe we were told..transmission is outside school…would it not be untested vaccinated parents without symptoms spreading it to their children instead since they are out and about in pubs or at work with other infected people
@Gary Kearney: It has all the hallmarks of a seasonal virus. Big peak last December/January also due to seasonality while this summer and last summer it dipped. Of course, too early to say for certain given how new it is but early trends point to it being the case as well as looking at how other coronavirus react. Even mainstream virologists like Paul Moynagh have stated as much.
At least COVID is helping to reduce the greenhouse effect. Now it only needs to kills few billion of us and it will receive the medal of merit for saving the planet.
@Merlin Lancelot: not so sir Lancelot. Because of vaccines plus science we have an overpopulated world. Vaccines save more than they kill by a long shot.
@Eoin Hennigan: crass but true. Human greed is destroying the world. Nature is seldom allowed to intervene in controlling our numbers. The virus only wants to survive. COVID thinks only of its own survival just like humans.
@Patricia MC Namara: you are absolutely right. The normal vaccines are a God send to humanity that was developed by Europeans (together with antibiotics etc…) This mRNA vaccine is a different kettle of a fish.
@Mags Murphy: Yes. But if the test gives you a false negative and you are unvaccinated, the risks you will take as a result would inevitably have far greater consequences, for yourself mostly. ICU figures prove that.
@Mags Murphy: I think the biggest problem we have with this virus by far, is the inability to see this whole thing as a numbers game… which it absolutely is.
@Vonvonic: giving an unvaccinated person the option to do an antigen test means there is a much greater chance that they will know it is covid and not a cold and thus to take the necessary steps, I really dont understand why not giving antigen tests to unvaxxed people is a good idea……
@Vonvonic: if I had symptoms, took a antigen test and was positive, I’d isolate. The way govt are treating the 8% that have declined the vaccine makes us more likely to not play ball at all…….if it was about stopping the spread of covid antigen tests would be plentiful and freely available to all as another tool…….
All of Europe is having the same problem. So it is the reopening and people not following the remaining few rules.
Even Denmark has had this problem Israel had it when they opened up and rushed out the booster shot.
Strangely we are staying in the same spot on the daily new cases graph and today we have moved down a spot or two.
Germany is thing of going back into lockdown and the Dutch already have Personally I just want to get a booster shot and be able to move around freely again. Being very high risk is a pain. Especially when people only consider themselves and do as they please. It means a lot of people are unable to do very much.
@Gary Kearney: “People only consider themselves and do as they please.” What do you think people who aren’t high risk have been doing for the last two years; but completely altering their lives to protect those that are? Come down off it a small bit.
@David Jordan: why???. It was a good post. I have had my posts deleted also. They were not offensive. I am considering quitting the journal if that carries on…
Pronatalism on the rise: Collapsing birth rates do not threaten civilisation — the opposite is true
12 mins ago
United States
Tánaiste says Conor McGregor 'doesn't speak for Ireland' as MMA fighter arrives at White House
Updated
4 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say