You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE INCREASE IN road deaths in Ireland since before the pandemic is the worst in the EU, new figures show.
Ireland is also among a minority of countries where road deaths increased last year relative to 2022, according to preliminary data from the European Commission on the number of road deaths per million inhabitants.
Across the EU as a whole there was a 1% fall in road deaths last year, with the Commission warning that progress was “stalling” in “too many countries”.
The trend in Ireland was among the worst, with a 19% increase in road deaths here last year, when 184 people lost their lives, a large majority of them men.
This was 33% higher than before the pandemic in 2019.
Ireland was once a European success story in reducing road deaths. In 2006, 365 people died on Irish roads. This fell by almost two thirds in the years to 2018.
However, since the pandemic, Ireland has diverged from the EU norm of falling numbers of road deaths. Already in 2022, Ireland was one of only six EU countries where road deaths were higher than they had been pre-pandemic in 2019.
Ireland still has one of the lowest road fatality rates per million inhabitants in the EU, with only the Nordic countries, Germany and The Netherlands doing better.
However, Ireland has slipped in this ranking too over time – from fourth best in 2021 to seventh best last year.
Across the EU, there was a 10% fall in road deaths in 2023 compared with 2019. Ireland had the fourth highest increase in road deaths in 2023 relative to 2022, behind the three Baltic states of Lithuania (33%), Latvia (27%) and Estonia (20%).
Overall, few member states are on track to meet EU and UN targets of halving road deaths by 2030 relative to 2019, the Commission said.
Over half of fatalities happened on rural roads across the EU in 2022.
Cyclists most at risk
The Commission expressed concern at the number of cyclists killed on EU roads in 2022 (as detailed 2023 data was not yet available).
“This is the only main road user group not to see a significant drop in fatalities over the last decade, notably due to a persistent lack of appropriate infrastructure and unsafe behaviour of all road users such as speeding, distraction and driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs,” the Commission said.
Related Reads
One in 10 admit drink-driving - and those doing so are 'way over the limit'
Almost 20% increase in road deaths last year with 184 people killed on Irish roads
Preliminary road deaths data for 2023 EU CARE database; national sources; Eurostat
EU CARE database; national sources; Eurostat
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
93 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
In the past few years, the bizarre event is that the hard right, represented by many posters like you here and on the echo-chamber airwaves, have begun to borrow the most vile and disgusting habit of the 1920′s – painting yourselves as victims
The media is bad
Political signs are bad
Right-wing nuts are bad
Reporters hate Republicans..
You on the other hand are pontificating from an isolationist position, Paddy.
No I am not a Unionist. I am an Irish Republican who was ashamed to describe himself as such when psychopaths who hijacked the name, murdered hundreds of their fellow Irishmen, who didn’t share their point of view.
No paddy growing up as in not making a joke out of people being shot….. You say your Irish republican can you explaine what this means thanks and just bear in mind the whole notion of republicanism comes from military action be it American , French , Irish ect , what part of all that are u proud of thanks ??
No paddy growing up as in not making a joke out of people being shot….. You say your Irish republican can you explain what this means thanks and just bear in mind the whole notion of republicanism comes from military action be it American , French , Irish ect , what part of all that are u proud of thanks ??
Darren,
Dictionary definition: 1.
of, pertaining to, or of the nature of a republic.
favoring a republic.
fitting or appropriate for the citizen of a republic: a very republican notion.
a person who favors a republican form of government.
Give us a shout when you come across the bit about no- warning car bombs, disappearing people, sectarian massacres and murdering children.
Paddy I never agreed with and never will agree that car bombs or killing of children are anything other than wrong simple as that ……
However you need to leave your hatred of certin people where it belongs in the past….. As we all move on
P.s paddy your definition of republican was wonderfull except the part about how the actual republic was formed bombs guns killings all the stuff from which most republics come from …..
Again leave your hatred in the past where it belongs !!
You are confused. I hate nobody. I hate murder.
Criticism or even condemnation do not translate into hatred. Shooting men dead at Teebane and Kingsmill does. And don’t say it’s in the past because it’s not for the families.
You don’t get it do you? Of course it doesn’t mean fighting. It means stop spending your time waiting to be offended by slightest little thing. Get on with it. Help the disadvantaged. Use your considerable energy to help others. Patriotism is wonderful. Nationalism is a curse.
You as a Labour Party Supporter , One would have expected a little more rationality from a person with Socialist and your stated in further blogs – your stated Republicanism, instead of a Labour Party personal anti SF rant.
Are Labour Party Members so afraid of the future of the Party arising from your Coalition contamination with FG , that you are already pre-electioneering , by attacking below the belt, the sole Socialist principled Party left in the Country – all 32 Counties, I might add!
Oh. So murder is ‘principled’ is it? Kneecapping? Bank robberies? Killing gardai? Is Three Homes Adams, who flies First Class to the States at socialist?
My God Paddy – as a declared Republican , you appear to have forgotten that the war is over – with an Internationally recognised treaty in place – SF are sharing Government in The Six Counties and are gradually rising % wise, in most every Poll taken in the 26 Counties – you as a Labour Party man surely knows the effect that this will have on what will remain of the Labour Party – when then have been further contaminated by Coalition with FG – like after the 1997 election.
It looks like SF will be the second biggest Party electorally on the Island of Ireland in the next five years.
Interesting times ahead towards the uniting of the people living on this Island of Ireland of ours.
Isn’t this really what your hatred of SF is about ?
Paddy your constant oversimplification of the conflict in Ireland would be amusing if it wasn’t so disrespectful. You persistently try to portray the Republican Movement as a group of people who just decided one afternoon to take up arms for a laugh.
We outside the realm of right-wing lunacy know that Republicanism, such as the Republicanism that demanded an alternative to the constitutional arrangements that existed pre-1998 in the occupied 6 counties was legitimate. It is also evident that the armed struggle employed by the Irish Republican Army was undertaken as an option of last resort.
Now nobody in their right mind could support every action of the IRA, indeed some acts where cynical, unnecessary and some just plain wrong, and as a Sinn Féin member I have no problem condemning such actions. But to imply that the Republican Movement as a whole where perpetually hawkish, while ignoring completely the hostile forces of British Occupation, demonstrates either one of two things in my opinion.
Either, you literally have no knowledge of Irish history or more likely that you wantonly ignore the realities of Irish history due to your political opposition of what Irish Republicanism stands for.
Antoin. You might let me know which IRA murders were acceptable to you. Teebane? Kingsmill? Bloody Friday? Warrington? Claudy? You might give me a list of the people who you believe the IRA was right to kill or maim.
I know my Irish history very, very well.
I have never excused or justified the murderous excesses of the Brits. The difference is, that the IRA murdered in my name and they hijacked my flag.
It is wonderful to hear Shinners quoting history while at the same time telling us to ‘move on’ from the death and mayhem perpetrated by the IRA.
Sinn Fein, rightly, wants an inquiry in the murder of Pat Funicane but resolutely fefuses to come clean on its campaign of mass murder.
Remember the IRA killed more Irish men, women and children, than the Brits, the RUC and Loyalist terrorists combined.
Firstly, Sinn Féin have never engaged in armed conflict,it is a political party. Secondly, Sinn Féin have stated that it supports a truth an reconciliation process for all the victims of the conflict. I understand your agenda to imply Sinn Féin and the IRA are the same, but once again your understanding of the situation and the reality of the situation are two very different things.
Its certainly not my place to clarify what actions taken during the conflict were legitimate. My opinion is that the conditions that existed in the 6 counties from the 20s to the late 60s led to a situation of revolt and counter revolt and the logical consequence was armed conflict.
I make no apologies for believing that within that framework, armed struggle was on the whole justifiable.
There is nothing more disrespectful than the taking of human life, few things more hypocritical than endorsing murder and claiming to be Christian.
It IS up to you to justify what murders you think legitimate. It is you who has differentiated between ‘mistakes’ and otherwise. You are clearly no braver than First Class Adams or McGuinness when it comes to acknowledging what the IRA did.
As for your organisation, Sinn Fein, being separate from the IRA, I presume the cross membership, Adams cheerfully telling us they hadn’t gone away and carrying the coffin of the Shankill bomber and other murderers is nothing but an unfortunate coincidence.
Once again Paddy a chara, you are creating your own little bubble of belligerence. Why not address the issues that I have raised, and stop trying to pull on the heart strings to justify your argument.I am aware hyperbole is your bread and butter but still, I hoped for some meaningful discourse. Once again you blissfully ignored the fact that Sinn Féin have called for a Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Martin McGuinness has expressed disgust at certain IRA actions.
My point about the Armed Conflict in general was that it was an inevitability, and Republicanism had no other recourse. When a sustainable peaceful strategy was negotiated the Republican Movement was to the forefront in making that peace work, even today Sinn Féin strives to propagate a lasting peace based on equality.
Presumptions are inherently subjective and considering your proclivities against Sinn Féin, it would be fairly safe to say that your presumptions about Sinn Féin and the IRA are probably a little bit biased.
Well, Antoin, you have me there. I AM biased against murder.
Typically, y ou avoid answering the hard question. Which murders were justified in your eyes?
And as for truth?
You are joking!!
First Class Three Homes Adams won’t admit he was ever in the IRA. McGuinness has admitted nothing at all. This is the organisation which allowed the Birmingham SIx, Guildford Four, Judith Ward and others to languish in jail, while knowing all along who had committed the crimes for which they were wrongly jailed.
Truth and Sinn Fein are not companies.
They are fierce enemies.
Justify murder all you like.
I am done conversing with people like you who justify the taking of human life.
Like all Shinners, you think you have some God given right to applaud the taking of life.
You don’t.
Only God does.
@ Amy Duskwalker . You’d think a Shinner higher-up would take Tim aside and have a quiet word, he’s not exactly improving their standing any. Good name, but the way.
It’s our country. The problem lies with the politicized Roads Service who decided to open up sectarian division by erecting these signs. Hopefully someone uproots them.
I encourage you to READ the history surrounding the annexation of Ireland’s 6 counties and their theft. I don’t know who you are or where you’re from but your reply indicates a distinct lack of comprehension leaving you with a single rhetorical impediment, one of which I will refrain from taking any further advantage.
Tim Jackson, its our country…..really?
Since when does the Irish government lay claim to the day to day operations in Northern Ireland, including job creation, tax collection etc?
You may want it to be our country but at present it is not and you can’t force it to be either, nothing illegal or wrong about any signs saying its northern Ireland when this is what it says on maps. Are you going to demand that all maps be destroyed?
“Denial and delusion is a common trait in border counties.”
Go away troll……unless of course you’d care to come out of hiding and say where you live so us non-trolls can chastise and demean whatever part of the country you live in….if not then STFU.
Hold on, I thought the signs were erected to show a change in juristition… Don’t they do exactly that?
I’m not here to argue about how the 6 counties came into being partitioned from the rest of the country, but the fact remains that there is a change here and people should be aware that laws change upon crossing this border.
It just seems like a childish thing to complain about, I mean, we don’t complain about signs at the Galway/ Mayo border, do we?
Lads, like it or not its a different country for now so its only right there be signs up showing this to make people aware of it. Grow up you bunch of children!
Exactly. People need to be aware of when they are crossing the border. Apart from our trivial little things like roaming charges, there are more serious issues at hand. For example, a non EU citizen touring Ireland could inadvertently cross the border and therefore be illegally in the UK.
Are people still getting caught out with roaming? Its probably one of the most talked about charges for mobile customers and people still manage to get a surprise.
Sorry Philip. Facts have proven you wrong. Amendment 19 of the Constitution of The Republic of Ireland states: “Allowed the State to consent to be bound by the British-Irish Agreement done at Belfast on 10 April 1998 and provided that certain further amendments to the Constitution, notably to Articles 2 and 3, would come into effect when that agreement entered into force”
Before 1998, Articles 2 & 3 state:
Article 2.
The national territory consists of the whole island of Ireland, its islands and the territorial seas.
Article 3.
Pending the re-integration of the national territory, and without prejudice to the right of the Parliament and Government established by this Constitution to exercise jurisdiction over the whole of that territory, the laws enacted by that Parliament shall have the like area and extent of application as the laws of Saorstát Éireann and the like extra-territorial effect.
After 1998, Articles 2 & 3 state:
Article 2.
It is the entitlement and birthright of every person born in the island of Ireland, which includes its islands and seas, to be part of the Irish nation. That is also the entitlement of all persons otherwise qualified in accordance with law to be citizens of Ireland. Furthermore, the Irish nation cherishes its special affinity with people of Irish ancestry living abroad who share its cultural identity and heritage.
Article 3.
1. It is the firm will of the Irish nation, in harmony and friendship, to unite all the people who share the territory of the island of Ireland, in all the diversity of their identities and traditions, recognising that a united Ireland shall be brought about only by peaceful means with the consent of a majority of the people, democratically expressed, in both jurisdictions in the island. Until then, the laws enacted by the Parliament established by this Constitution shall have the like area and extent of application as the laws enacted by the Parliament that existed immediately before the coming into operation of this Constitution.
2. Institutions with executive powers and functions that are shared between those jurisdictions may be established by their respective responsible authorities for stated purposes and may exercise powers and functions in respect of all or any part of the island.
Yes Philip, Collins did do that in the 1920s but up until 1998 the Republic held a territorial claim to Northern Ireland. They gave that up in 1998 with the above Amendment. Facts are facts. Can’t be disproved
Since when has the Irish state given a hoot about the North? They’re more interested in feathering their own nests, and defending some pseudo independent “state”, rather than an actual viable Irish nation. Just because it’s in “Bunreacht na hÉireann” doesn’t mean it some immutable truth. The articles you quoted are nothing more than connivance with an imperialist British state and the subversion of Irish nationhood.
And that’s why 72% of the turnout (81%) in Northern Ireland voted yes while 94% of the turnout (56%) said yes in the Republic. Idiotic comments Gearóid. Quit living in the past and come enjoy the present with the rest of us
They were voting on a peace agreement, not on the national question. The GFA doesn’t legitimise partition, nor can any other act of underhanded British diplomacy.
The 6 counties are a disputed territory politically. Irish political parties across the 32 counties did Not give up their claim. A fact often overlooked by loyalist settlers like you and your supporters on here.
Political beliefs Rob? Its a sign telling people they are in Northern Ireland! Jaysis, whats the big deal? If a tourist is driving from the ROI up to Belfast for example, why shouldnt there be a sign there telling them that theyve crossed into NI?
I think it was utterly pointless putting them up. I live about 5 miles from the border in Fermanagh I passed sign in Belcoo on Sunday. I think its utterly pointless mainly because there are big signs already saying welcome to Cavan/Fermanagh Already and road signs telling you about the speed changes.
The border is such an arbitrary thing. If you think there is a difference between a field in Cavan and a Field in Fermanagh then you are an idea. Politicians on both sides of this arbitrary line should be working out how to bring the counties of Derry,Donegal, Tyrone, Cavan,Monaghan Fermanagh, Louth and Armagh together instead of pointing out a division that some eejit thought it was a good idea to impose 90 years ago
Louth people have broadly the same accent as Ulster people actually. And there is no difference between Paddy Barnes and John Joe Nevin. Both are proud to be Irish
Any political signs are too much. They are an obnoxious, irritating, constant droning in our faces filled with 1/2 truths, complete fabrications, and super-egos. The time spent watching/listening to political ads is time that will never be recovered.
I am less likely to visit the north with signs like these.
Rob, its not political its the area’s name.
Whatever you do don’t use google maps and search for “Northern Ireland, United Kingdom” you’ll get very upset.
I suppose the paranoid people out there might think Google are siding with the english government on all of this and other such nonsense,
There is some nonsense on here about road signs, what we should be doing is applauding all those people from all parts of the island who come together to play rugby, cricket, hockey boxing , athletics, equestrian motorsports , golf and many more sports . The can all play on one team and are all irish of one degree or another, despite the politicans on both sides continually stirring it up. And despite 3 bigoted rowers from coleraine. . I think that a compromise flag and anthem is the way to go in these sport and then see what happens.in soccer . But keep the sinners and the dup far away from these sports people.
I think it’s disgraceful that ‘Northern Ireland’ is written entirely in BLOCK CAPITALS. That’s precisely the kind of SHOUTY RHETORIC I thought we’d all voted against…or something.
And I’m really not sure about that font. Comic Sans would be more welcoming no? Might take the edges off the whole block capitals thing.
And what’s all this black text on a white background? That’s just laughing in the face of health and safety so it is. Everyone knows that black and yellow provides optimum visual contrast.
I remember when people instantly knew they’d crossed the border because the road surface suddenly improved. But those days are long gone now so they are…
Ha! Ha! Wait for Tim Jackson to reply to this he’s relying to all funny comments reminding people of the serious signs that nobody actually cares about ….
Font used appears to be “Transport” which is the standard font for, err, the UK. Black text on a white background is widely used for roadsigns. They should do what the Scots do and have a more elaborate signs.
At the end of the day since we ceded Articles 2 and 3, it is Northern Ireland and they can really put up whatever signs they like.
‘Transport’ eh? What sort of foreign fangled nonsense is that then? I’m only saying they should have gone for a font which was cuddlier and more welcoming. The kind of font you might see over the door of a creche…or an amusement arcade. It would take peoples minds off the inherent cultural and political questions these signs raise.
If black on white is what the kids are into now who am I to argue, but I notice Brian you say NOT ONE WORD about the shouty capital letters? Your omission speaks volumes.
@Tim – I pointed out your SF loyalties because you have ‘liked’ three separate SF groups on you FB profile. You say I’m ‘right wing’ but if you knew anything you’d know that right wingers are traditionally opposed the change (conservative) and its the shimmers in this thread that seem most opposed to changed.
But reading your contributions I am reminded of the Mark Twain quote “never argue with a fool, they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience”
Paul: I could swear some of your political leaders idolize Adolf Hitler. Maybe I’m wrong, but they sure seem to be following some of his policies on these controversial signs.
“I presume you were dropped on your head as a baby”
“How placid are you?”
“It’s our country. The problem lies with the politicized Roads Service who decided to open up sectarian division by erecting these signs. Hopefully someone uproots them.”
“Northern Ireland is a disputed territory”
“Were you born yesterday Kevin?”
Profound contributions from a supporter of Sinn Fein Youf.
You mean the one with the lovely British protestant name, Tim Jackson???
The one who seems to hate the Brits but has a very British name unless hes hiding his true self??
Shameless sectarianism Tommy. What just because someone has a “British protestant name” they can’t be a republican? – Tone, Emmet, Mitchel, Pearse ring any bells?
And having nationalist/republican views does not equate to “hating the Brits”.
Gearóid, I couldnt care less where someone is from or what their religion is.
NI is separate to the Republic and the beauty of NI is that the people who live there can determine for themselves if they are irish or British. They can even be both and more power to them!
What i cannot stand is sectarianism and this ‘its our country’ crap is utter bull too. The 6 counties are part of Britain. The majority of people in NI in recent polls seem happy to stay as part of Britain too. Let them decide their own fate, it should not be decided by people in ROI as we are not affected by how those in NI live their lives.
The Irish nation is homogeneous group that has historically inhabited the 32 counties of Ireland, hence “it’s our country”. You might find that fact banal, but it’s true. If people consider themselves British, let them at it, but they have no right to impose an arbitrary border and maintain a military presence in Ireland. The 6 counties are not “part of Britain”, Britain is a separate island. As regards polls, the very existence of this arbitrary border ensures a Unionist majority, thus denying the nationalist community a fair and just say on the national question. Furthermore, why shouldn’t we have a say in how the 6 counties are run? Roughly 40% of people who live there are Irish citizens, and god knows Britain have been meddling for long enough. Also, the border has had an adverse affect on the Irish economy, the border area in particular, and any potential United Ireland we will all have to live in, so it does affect us.
Sometimes it’s best to shorten my comments for stupid people. For example, you and your right-wingers on this forum see me as being a SF supporter just because I oppose these signs. That in itself is a form of intellectual stupidity. But I do NOT care what you or anyone like you thinks…. I will not be subverted by intellects. I shall give my view if I see fit. Not to satisfy you or any right-winger like you.
Gearóid. Your assertion about the Irish people is twaddle. We are from all over, not just Britain but Asia, Eastern Europe and, significantly, Northern Spain. The strong Spanish connection was recently proven throughDNA research. I’m not at all surprised that you have it utterly wrong. But do us a favour. If you’re going to bang on and on about something, at least do us the courtesy of checking your facts.
I’m well aware of the origins of the Irish people. It’s a rich tapestry, as are all nations.
By going back into pre-history, essentially what you’re saying is: that there is no basis for modern nation states, thus no need for borders – Surely you find the border in question absurd then?
Both. Our origins are diverse, but over time these differences become subsumed into one homogeneous group. Unless you’ve seen any Normans or Vikings around lately?
SO by homogeneous you mean we can have red hair, blonde hair, brown hair, black hair and we can have green, grey,blue,brown,hazel eyes? Some of us can have pale skin, sallow skin, freckles? Yeah thats real homogenous. Pretty much like the spanish or Italians who actually do tend to be homogenous.
Culturally homogeneous. I wasn’t eluding to any kind “ethnic” nationalism, which I strongly disagree with. Anyway, this could go on all night so this will be my last comment.
Back to actual article in question, perhaps a compromise could be if the sign read “Fáilte go dtí Thuaisceart Éireann!”
Who? The biggest mass murdering terrorist group in history – The British Army.
Planting British colonists doesn’t make it any less part of Ireland. No more than areas of Britain with significant Irish communities makes said areas any less part of Britain.
Well that’s strange Gearóid because I just spent the weekend in NI and didn’t see a single soldier. Just saw plenty of people going about their normal business and getting on with life.
What was done two or three hundred years ago can’t be changed. What would you like to do, send them back to Scotland or wherever they cam from? Time for a dose of reality for you Gearóid!
They are pulling it over eyes without you realizing. It’s part of a slow process of institutional sectarianism which most posters on here are too dumb to even realize.
So because you didn’t see any British soldiers they don’t exist? Impeccable logic there Reg. The British Army, MI5 and all their other colonial apparatus still maintain a presence in Ireland.
And what part of my argument suggested sending people “back to Scotland”? The Unionist community have every right to be here, but not to subvert the will of the Irish people. The partition of Ireland was created by a criminal act of gunboat diplomacy, it is unjust and illegitimate. Perhaps it’s time for you to take the quasi-unionist blinkers off.
Oh I’m sure they exist alright Gearoid. Using emotive language like occupation is just emotive nonsense. Is Scotland occupied because BA soldiers are based there?
How is it “emotive nonsense”? When exactly were the British Army invited into Ireland? It may not suit your apologetic point of view but the facts bear this out. I suppose your one of those people who think the British Army was some kind of benevolent peacekeeping force in Ireland.
One could arguably make the case that Scotland is under occupation. I wouldn’t though, as Scotland has had a completely dynamic within the Union which doesn’t equate with Ireland. However, Alex Salmond famously said the British government was “a government of occupation” imposed on Scots.
You seem to be in a bit of a time warp Gearoid. Fast forward to 2012 and you will find that both Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own parliaments with many devolved powers. Still a work in progress though. The status of NI has been settled for the time being and until the people decide otherwise. That’s democracy.
I think they should take the offending road signs down, and as as a sign of equal good will, the Welcome to Free Derry wall should be painted white, for peace. Will the Sinn Fein supporters please get ALL the chips off their shoulders and try to catch up with the real world of 21st Century Ireland where people north and south voted unanimously for peace.
Tim, Ireland signed a treaty ceding claim over Northern Ireland, this is not a disputed territory any longer, the Republican movement were involved. I was there watching Gerry Adams and Sinn Fein and a big precession celebrating it through the streets of Dublin, mostly Republicans. Time to move on.
They should read welcome to the UK. It is part of that jurisdiction. Personally I’d prefer if they’d erect a wall and seal off the place. It’s a cesspit of human misery, bigotry and xenophobia.
Actually you’re wrong Damocles, you’ll see signs saying welcome to Louth/Cavan/Donegal no mention of Republic of Ireland. Last time I checked my passport it says Ireland only, Republic of Ireland is only used to appease Fifa, this is the island of Ireland all 32 counties!
And the world says that we are stupid. (US)
When I am driving in Ireland, I love seeing signs that tell me where I am.
What is the big deal about a sign telling you where you are?
You sound like a group of teenage girls.
Good Lord you can’t even erect a small simple road sign in that place and a huge sectarian row brakes out that rakes over the coals of the past, I’m sick to the teeth of the lot of them.
The 6 counties make up an area known as Northern Ireland regardless of anyones political affiliation, thats what its called. If you dont like it, tough!
If Alistair Ross and other Unionists were really willing to extend a welcome to people residing in 26C he might consider speaking out re burning of our national flag at their 12th July “celebrations”! I’d like to see Unionists start giving a bit rather than trying to antagonise republicans.
Peace on our island is still very fragile. I’m not really feeling the “welcome”. Must try harder Alistair.
When you enter Wales and Scotland from England are there signs? Everything has to be anylised and taken apart. Northern Ireland is a seperate country so let them have their signs. Third world problems
Most of the posters on this article are stupid. Institutional sectarianism is rearing its ugly head again yet YOU support it blindly. Tbh, you right-wingers are part of a dying breed anyway. Look at the polls and all the disgruntled blueshirts threatening to emigrate if SF win the next election. You can do everyone a favor and emigrate to Britain. Nobody is stopping you.
It is part of the republic that’s a fact, Donegal uses the euro and is not governed by the UK so no, it’s not Northern Ireland. I’m not even from Ireland and I know that…
I see what’s going on here. Catherine, I think the lads here are basically looking at Ireland as the whole island, so Donegal is in the north of the country (no doubt about that), so is in Northern Ireland (like York is in Northern England)… as opposed Donegal being in the state (or whatever the appropriate term is) of Northern Ireland… they are saying this as dramatic way to demonstrate that they don’t think Northern Ireland should be separate from the Republic of Ireland…
Given that Kevin Dillon used a small n for northern Ireland, the replies were unintentionally hilarious. Of course Donegal is in northern Ireland, in fact the most northernly part of Ireland is in Donegal.
This gets so wearisome! Up in arms over road signs ! Everywhere you go in the world there are signs telling you when you are entering a different jurisdiction. Why are these simple things such a problem with some people. They must have little to worry about. If I was a tourist I would certainly like to know when I have driven into a different jurisdiction.
Disgrace. Hopefully people frequently vandalize them so that it costs more to replace them than is deemed worthwhile. The Roads Service clearly has blue noses working for them.
Rob relax there and reel your neck back in. You know nothing about my beliefs or political views so dont judge me. I can clearly see where you stand and that is your right, whether or not I agree with it does not give you the right to call me or others stupid. Let them put up signs, will it change anything, no. Has anybody ever asked the people of Northern Ireland what flag they wanted to salute?
You get a text on your phone to let you know and the road markings are different. It would fit them better to invest money in improving the roads along the border. The bog lands have destroyed the road between Newtownbutler and Belturbet for instance. Furthermore, there are usually flags erected to let you know either! The signs are pointless and an attempt to ignite futile arguments.
It’s a terrible shame that the comments section of anything relating to NI here is always reduced, almost instantly, by the uninformed, to arguments on whose grandad was at fault or who said what first by those who’ve never read, never mind know the details of, the Good Friday Agreement which was democratically accepted in 1998.
Is no one else a bit pissed that it cost £1700 to put up nine signs??
you could have filled a dozen potholes for the cost of each sign. And im not factoring in the weekly cost to the roads service putting the signs back up and cleaning them of Graffiti.
The sign in Belcoo has already been taken down it seems. This is great news when the roads in Fermanagh have potholes big enough to hid a couple of Chilean Miners down them, the Roads Service will waste its money putting this sign up every time the locals of Belcoo decide to take it down every time they leave the pub.
Why didn’t they replace the Welcome to Fermanagh signs instead? they were looking a bit dirty.
Silly nonsense by Alastair Ross – who knows full well that a consensus must be achieved between both sides , before any signs are agreed and erected .
Northern Ireland “a Country” ! – he is a laugh and needs to learn his geography and read The Good Friday Agreement too.
It’s neither a Country nor a Province , nor Ulster, as he well knows.
The Six Counties only represent two thirds of the Ulster Province, one of the Four Provinces of Ireland .
And the area is still called Northern Ireland and not the 6 counties.
Have you ever met someone on holidays who told you they were from ‘one of the 6 counties’when asked cos I havent. I have however been told that they were from Northern Ireland, regardless of their surname.
As a matter of fact, I overheard someone say they were from county Derry yesterday. I also overheard that some were planning to pull these signs to the ground and sold to a scrap metal merchant afterwards.
The country is called “Northern Ireland”. It has a de facto Capital. It is one of the countries of the sovereign state, “The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland” and is recognised as a country by the United Nations.
For “Ulster”, all of the counties within Northern Ireland are a part of the province of Ulster, which is a non-political entity, similar to a “parish”, or “region” and has no standing outside of private organisations (i.e. rugby and GAA) that use the historical names of provinces to group historical counties.
The country to the south, west and north of Northern Ireland on the island of Ireland is “Ireland”
I remember hearing someone mention that too. They said they used a steel blade to permanently scrape/engrave out the ‘London’ part so that the Roads Service couldn’t simply come along without forking out several £££ on a new sign!
I’m not against these road signs per se, but a lot of people do seem to be very upset by them. A lot of people in the areas obviously aren’t ready yet to accept such signs, so instead of them being put up and taken down over and over again, just stop wasting money on them. No need to create a problem where there was no problem in the first place. They are not essential and can be lived without… now a much bigger issue was the mad idea to change all the signs that said Dingle to An Daingean!
Rob you should be careful what you wish for. What would you do with all your free time if Ireland were ever to get back the 6 counties? Where would all that anger and indignation at inanimate objects go?
When I was going into China they took my Lonely Planet guide book and tore out the pages that referred to Taiwan as independent and separate. This furore is far more amusing. But just as pathetic.
small minded people seem to think that if you state that your a republican that your automatically either sf ira or both, i am neither and i support a united free ireland 32 counties under the irish goverment for the support of the irish people and all who choose to call her home
And I wish more irish people learned their own language and culture than spent time worrying about the 6 counties.
I think theres more chance that NI will become an Independent state than part of a united Ireland but as Im not from there, nothing that happens there politically, socially, tax wise, education wise, health wise etc affects me so leave it up to those who live there.
Ah right, so you just want the ‘natives’ in Ireland but the one thing that makes them unique ie the language, you dont want any part of? Without a separate language, we are no different from the non native populations.
What do you want? Ireland in name only?
I spent some time in “Northern” Ireland last year and live in the US. I thought it a slap in the face seeing the Union Jack flying high throughout these Counties and a stark reminder that the Orange walk mentality is so pervasive and the deep hatred towards the “real” Irish persists.
Paddy I definitely think your responses are from a very threatened and fearful group of “Orange Walk” folks and it is a pointless argument. Let’s remind these folks Ireland belongs to the Irish and these folks should be respectful of it!!!!
The Unionists excel at flagwaving. Take a drive through Carrickfergus and take a look. But what actually hits you is that it’s a huge case of insecurity. As for the “oh, im not from there, doesnt bother me” brigade, do try think of your fellow Irish people who have to put up with this and the burning of our flag on a ritual basis.
A slap in the face? Seriously, an American on here moaning about land being taken from the natives.
Dont make me laugh Virginia. There are enough rednecks in your country for you to concern yourself with rather than concerning yourself with the one I live in.
I see the American flag flying high all over the US. Is that a slap in the face for the native Americans? Are you going to stop flying the US flag incase it insults the natives?95% of posters on this topic are from the Republic of Ireland. DO not tell us how we should feel or act.
All this grandstanding and blustering! Bloody hell! I’m a nationalist but I would rather the North remain under British rule if it meant that there was peace on this island.
Fact is, it is a separate country. The signs should be there. I’m at a loss to come up with any argument to support why the border should not be indicated.
There is a great article in the latest Phoenix magazine on how Nationalists will soon outnumber Unionists in the six counties. We will see a United Ireland in our lifetime, thank God. I know that will disappoint the assorted Fine Gaeler’s, Unionists, royalists and Norman west-brits who post here. We can count them by the number of thumbs down.
I wonder what would happen if that happened. The people of Northern Ireland voting to join the Republic of Ireland. Will it happen peacefully or will it lead to a long period of shootings, bombs and death? Is it something the Unionists will resist that way? Just a question, not a view one way or the other. Also, in any vote to separate from the UK, would they/should they also have the choice of becoming their own independent state? I really would like to know the views from people in Northern Ireland on this, because I have noticed there can be a fair bit of animosity shown towards the people from Northern Ireland by some people in the South (including Catholic/Nationalists)… so should we take it for granted that all the people in Northern Ireland we would expect to vote to join the Republic, will actually do that?
Virginia you are also hanging out in a country you don’t belong in- it is a native Indian land that was also colonised by England, all the Indian communities were destroyed, your legacy is the same as Dylan’s, your a decendent of a colonising force. You are also adding uneducated fuel to a fire. I am not living in the north, I was born and raised in Dublin and I know that being antogonistic is NOT THE WAY FOrWaRd. Do people shout at you for living in a country that was colonised by people you never met cause that’s your situation too
Haha. Some of the most ridiculous posts I’ve ever seen on Journal. It’s a sign that indicates a change of territory where the laws, currency and many other things are different. Like it or not it’s Northern Ireland all your little shouting and bullsh1t rhetoric won’t change that. Get over yourselves.
It is changing. Population shift from 60% to just over 50% means the unionists can no longer proclaim an outright majority. This will continue to shrink over the coming years. Becoming desperate by erecting these signs as your last hope :-)
Cool, couldn’t care less mate, there’d still have to be a vote in the Republic for it, and as much as I’m not arsed either way unification would never happen. Also I ain’t no Unionist either I’m simply Irish. sorry if I don’t conform to your belief or desires for Ireland. I’m sure you’ll come back with some comment slagging this and saying I’m this and that, but sadly for the people who want a unified Ireland it won’t happen for a good while yet. For the moment the sign simply serves purpose saying you’re entering a territory governed by different people to the one you’re leaving, makes sence. Take care man.
Dylan does it not bother you the English transplanted you in Ireland for the sole reason as a “buffer” between the real Irish and the English.. The real Irish should start erecting signs saying” welcome to the “Real Ireland” in the Republic and in the North… “welcome to buffer country” as a reminder of your status. You are people without a Country hanging out in a Country you don’t belong in!!!!
She is home! Shes in the US. Pretty much like anyone who is from NI is home regardless of them being a Republican , Loyalist or whatever. What happened in the past is done and for an American to claim that a person from NI of English, scottish heritage or whatever is a ”foreign settler” is the pot calling the kettle black.
Many of the above comments show that there are two things in life that the Ulster Loyalists can always depend on…(1) The Orange Order (2) The contempt that west-brits in the free state have for the nationalists they abandoned in the north.
That’s the beauty of my version, Tim. (my modesty knows nom bounds)
Take from it whichever meaning you want.
These signs, like life, will encourage some people to go out of their own way just to be offended and outraged.
Actually, I just thought, and correct me if I’m wrong, while driving I have seen signs such as Welcome to the (sunny) South East and Welcome to the South West… just saying like
Tommy C. That’s hilarious being called a Redneck. Actually, I was born and raised in Donegal and carry an Irish passport. I am returning to Ireland this year to take up the cause LOL
To take ‘up the ’cause’? Oh here we go! Another migrant with romantic notions of how Ireland should be. Is the Quiet man your favourite film too? I think redneck actually suots you even more now. Poor Donegal. And to think, I was cheering for them at the weekend.
Why you are just as racist!!! and running scared knowing that day will come when your walking papers will be handed out to you. I live in a neighborhood where Black, Arab, Polish, Italian, Hispanic, Irish, French American Indian live together sharing each other’s culture. I hang the American flag and the Green white and Gold flag together blowing in the wind. Americans have enormous respect for the Irish flag and the Irish people… Such a sharp contrast to what I experienced as an Irish Catholic in Ireland where people’s Civil rights were non-existent,treated as 2nd class Citizens in our own Country, where deplorable hatred from the Protestants was practiced on a daily basis. The English have you in their pocket and laughing at you for being so easily manipulated for hundreds of years.. Now you are a monkey on their shoulder… Insecurity leads to Agression and Agressors you are. Are the real Irish getting to close for comfort. A cornered Rat you are LOL
Thats great! So you live in a mixed area but youre going to come to ireland and insist that its not mixed! Youre the worst kind of migrant, a hypocrite and a bigot.
You hang the green white and gold? Its green white and Orange Virginia. Do yu have a clue what the orange represents? The protestant people of this Island. They belong on this island as much as the rest of us regardless of religion or political affiliation/
.My surname is O’Murchu by the way, just in case you were interested. Dad from Cork, Mam from Monaghan and Im born and raised in Dublin.
Remeber that you and all those people you share a community with are settlers on native American land. How does that feel?
Americans do not have respect for the Irish people.I have seen that joke of a website irish central. The worst kind of bigots are on that site. Complaining about British people, Irish people having kids outside marriage, claiming the church has nothing to hide, complaining about contraception, migrants into Ireland. Disgusting.
The fact that we have cars and electricity seems to upset them.
They wont be happy until we are living in the Quiet man set. The might respect the irish of the 1950s but heaven forbid we have a contemporary culture!
People like you just cannot see how you being a settler in the US is no different to those people of British lineage. You have more in common with them than anyone else.
the fact that you even use the term ‘real irish’ is disgusting.
So I bet jason Sherlock, Paul McGrath, Phil Lynnott wouldnt be the ‘real irish’? What about our legend of a sports person Katie Taylor? her dad is from Yorkshire. Does this mean Katie isnt one of the ‘real irish’?
Tommy C is a loyalist in disguise. They frequent this website anytime the issue of our 6 counties arises. Irish people LOVE America and Irish-Americans. Sometimes, loyalist protestants are referred to as blue-noses over here. They are basically part of a shrinking minority. They once represented 60% of the population. Today, they are just over 50%. I bet Tommy C is going out of his way because he knows we are maddening him!
Amy:
It DOSENT feel good when the tables start tipping in the opposite direction. Can you get an inkling of how an Irish Catholic felt in NI back in the day.
I find it interesting that a sign can spark such a hefty discussion, the sign is indexical surely, the sign is never just a sign. The border is a psychological one, and this needs to be remedied too, the psychological border is one we negotiate ourselves. In this way the sign you are discussing is a decoy which diverges from the psychological aspect we should all be addressing. Think a moment about the geography of this island then travel north or south and you will reach a border, this border of the mind is harder to cross, So Virginia it is just as hard to cross for the ” real Irish” as you call them as it is for somebody living in the north as part a of great Britain
Your lack of Historical facts is unpresidented and it’s impossible to respond to such Rhetoric. If you want to get the last word in to feel better about yourself Fine. Knock yourself out. It’s so typical of the mindset that prevails amongst Scotch/Irish. Always having to be right unable to think things through by yourself. Youre a dime a dozen. The English are mocking you for your overwhelming stupidity…
One has to look inside the mentality of the Scottish settler. They were traditionally diagnosed with different mental disorders (including autism).
Ireland will always remain close to Irish-America. There is nothing any unionist can do about this except go on a commentary blather. Usually, the ilk of Tommy C receives their weekly entitlements where working for a living is optional. He proves your point.
darren u may ha ha at it but for someone who came from the north to live in the south financialy and political the north are better off. even the brits could do a better job of running the country than ur so called lot of gombeans.
Actually Alister Ross, DUP MLA for East Antrim comment is incorrect. He states “It’s high time that those who are stuck in the past in Sinn Féin realise that Northern Ireland is a country and the Republic is a different country” he said. “They’re fighting a political battle that their electorate has abandoned.” Northern Ireland is not a country. By his and his own parties admission, he wishes Northern Ireland to remain part of the UK. Ergo Northern Ireland is not a country it is part of a country, As for a political battle that their electorate has abandoned,that is subjective reasoning. Sinn fein’s mandate has not changed and they continue to be elected both north and south in increasing numbers. If “their” electorate had abandoned the political battle as Alister stated then sinn fein would no longer be in government. As it stands and with their stated aims in place they continue to grow on both sides of the border. I am forced to wonder what reality Alister Ross is living in
Over €13m spent by OPW on controversial Cork flood defence scheme before construction begins
Conor O'Carroll
5 hrs ago
Knock airport
Fresh appeal for information after cyclist dies from injuries sustained in hit and run
6 hrs ago
Courts
Three men jailed for 'cruel and depraved' rape of woman they encountered in Dublin nightclub
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say