You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

A man's been arrested over that robbery Leo Varadkar was caught up in

The 21-year-old was arrested by detectives this morning.

A 21-YEAR-OLD man has been arrested by gardaí investigating a robbery in Carpenterstown, Dublin 15 on Tuesday.

A number of election candidates got caught up in the raid at the Spar shop, including health minister Leo Varadkar, who saw one of the thieves flee the scene.

The men, armed with what was described as a gun and a machete, entered the shop at Carpenterstown Shopping Centre at around 7pm threatening staff and customers.

Cash was removed from the tills and items were taken from a number of customers before the men fled on foot.

According to a statement from gardaí today:

“During a search and arrest operation in Dublin this morning a 21-year-old male was arrested by Gardaí from the Blanchardstown Detective Unit.

“He is currently detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1984 at Blanchardstown Garda Station.

“The investigation is ongoing and further updates will follow.”

Varadkar said staff had been shaken by the incident. He spoke with justice minister Frances Fitzgerald after the event, on Tuesday night.

Read: Mary Lou had a row with a concerned citizen on Grafton Street this morning

Read: Teenager critically injured as helicopter crashes at Hawaii tourist spot 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 19th 2016, 12:53 PM

And what about the other two candidates caught up in it as well, Biased reporting again.

Mute TDV
    Favourite TDV
    Feb 19th 2016, 12:59 PM

Leo was caught up in nothing, he entered the shop some 5 mins after the raiders got away! Never let the truth get in the way of a good story eh!!

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:27 PM

Leo was all caught up in himself, like he always is

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:01 PM

Leo was NOT caught up in it!! He went up an hour after to buy a walnut whip and a Wispa gold! End of!!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:08 PM

Any chance of arresting FF FG and Labour members for robbing the futures of Irish children with their 84 billion theft of Irish wealth.?

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Feb 19th 2016, 5:24 PM

Fear none of them where there during the robbery.

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:22 PM

I can’t believe you’re trying to make this a story about Leo Varadker, you’d swear he was held at gun point or something the way this is being reported.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Feb 19th 2016, 4:49 PM

The only robbery Leo is caught up in is that of the Irish people.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Feb 19th 2016, 8:21 PM

He didn’t even arrive until long after the thieves had fled. Roderic O Gorman was actually there and yet he’s not getting a mention at all. Disgraceful!

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Feb 19th 2016, 12:49 PM

And if Leo wasn’t there? There’s be nothing. There’s houses robbed uo and down the country and the guards dont even show in some casee (but if your shatter or varadkar….)

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:16 PM

This particular incident is the poster boy for some Irish Media. The government have little credibility as it stands and this is why. We know he wasn’t there. We know he arrived later on – by chance or plan it matters not.

Look at the Indo today – and the article about the former national basketball coach. But underneath it the “xxxx,xxxxxxxxx, an election tallyman”. This is what caught my interest. For which party. Not SF as he headline wouldn’t be about basketball. Not FG – probably wouldn’t have been reported. FF — of course. The media are fast losing credibility.

On the plus side – Journal have been more balanced than II and IT. The debate of course is the best here. The comedians and the muppets keep it entertaining.

Mute Paul Bennison
    Favourite Paul Bennison
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:28 PM

How was he caught up in the robbery, oh let me guess he was in the same town the same time as the robbery. There are more important headlines instead of this one! like the state of our health system, lack of homes, removal of benefits for disabled children, people being made homeless etc etc etc come on the journal you can do better than that!

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 19th 2016, 12:49 PM

Leo was trying to rob the shopkeeper’s vote at the time.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:06 PM

Don’t vote for open borders Merkel loving Irish people hating FG

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:31 PM

Nobody cares the loser Leo saw a robbery. Who gives a crap. I’m sure with all that’s going on in Dublin and even the country you can come up with a better story than Leo sees a crime happen. Leo buys a newspaper. Leo is a great lad. Who cares.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:52 PM

I hear he’s gay….There’s also a scurrilous rumor doing the rounds that he might be the minister for health but I’m finding it very difficult to believe that one….

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:04 PM

That’s what happens Paddy, you go into hospital with say a broken finger and you come out with gay. I’ve heard that there’s a support group that meet up on George’s street somewhere?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:13 PM

he is coping well with his condition, support group have been fabalus,

hse are conducting an internal review should be concluded circa 2019 followed by a published report circa 2025

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:20 PM

ciaran, have to say – luvvit :-)

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:21 PM

And in 2025 fg will start implementing their plan to fix the hse and it will take 5 yrs to complete. All they ask of the electorate is that they keep voting for the recovery (cough cough) and they will take care of themselves, ugh i mean they will take care of the rest

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:23 PM

Would ask him better to go and sit in Blanch A&E for a while and observe the chaos, misery, anguish and despair that he calls a health system. This mans incompetence is second only to his bosses. Don’t let them scare you with tales of economic disaster get them out to be fvcked.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:38 PM

I know a friend of mine woke up after a operation screening doctor i cant feel me legs. I know said the doctor we’ve cut your arms off.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:42 PM

I’d ask him to go into A&E , pull on a set of scrubs and actually do some work. At least he’d be helping because at the moment he’s doing more harm than good. Remember Leo.. “First do no harm”….

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:35 PM

Off topic, I know – particularly since Leo only came on the scene AFTER the events, but, Dear Friends, can I ask you to support tomorrow’s protest? C’mon, we’re Irish, we have experienced rain all of our lives. Please demonstrate to those who are insulated from the realities of life in this country that we have had ENOUGH, the needs of the multinationals and the hedge funds HAVE to come second to those of the people. Otherwise, we are lost. Keep on trucking and Nil carborundum de illegitimatati!

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:18 PM

If only his own department was as efficient.

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:04 PM

Was that the theft of BILLIONS from irish citizens to pay the bond holders…….that’s the arrest I want to hear about, anything to say Mr Noonan.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:45 PM

I’ll be there Rashers with a bunch of my friends whatever the weather. This country is crying out for change as we mistakenly voted in the most cynical & abusive govt this country has ever had. Now is the time to stand together & vote them out. A well attended protest tomorrow will be a nice precursor to the 26th.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 1:49 PM

Big love to you, Setrakian. I’m actually fighting for the people who come after me (as I’m on the downward slide :-)) This shit has to be fought – let the European revolution start here.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:43 PM

As someone said the other night said, When Leo met the robber,
    R – Hands up, give me all your money
    L – Do you know who i am? – I am Leo Varadkar, Government minister for health,
    R – In that case so, Hands up, Give me all MY money

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:09 PM

I’ve been to most of the protest marches Rashers & it’s always a privilege to do so with ordinary, decent folks from all arts & parts of our great country. We really do need a revolution as we can’t continue to allow the establishment a$$holes who have bankrupted this country & sold us down the river for bondholders / bank debt to continue the sham. Anybody who hates the establishment party circle jerk charade that’s been going on for decades now, needs to get up & get on the streets of Dublin tomorrow. There’s nothing on the box anyway!!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:53 PM

Good man, Setrakian, we all know what’s at stake – let’s go for it. If this doesn’t work (other methods ‘ have to be looked at. I don’t want to even think about that.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:09 PM

I`m currently waiting on IV`s to bring home with me today the last weeks supply i need, should be out of Vincents hospital in the next hour or so, Just in time for the March tomorrow.
    I`m totally looking forward to the day with genuine decent people who have the courage to stand up for the rights of the less privileged and vulnerable.
    Not a penny Enda Kenny!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 4:49 PM

Hang on there, Mother. Ypur support is valuable, but there’s no need to put your health at risk – you have the ballot box – and further marches, if they become necessary. Good luck to you.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:15 PM

‘A man’s been arrested over that robbery Leo Varadkar was caught up in’

Finally, Kenny gets whats coming to him!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:11 PM

Just looking at the UK news. Tsipras, whose country has been RAPED, by the EU, is suddenly a BIG favourite with the UK who are looking for his support!! They have been bankrupted, the refugees of the world have been dumped on them, but they are to become cheer leaders for the UK?!? They forgot to ask “what’s in it for meeeeeee” – they should ring Micky Noonan.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:18 PM

mickey noonan was the main aggressor against Greece in their plight to reduce their debt burden despite them getting us a better deal (he has got form)
    wonder how warm a welcome the greeks will have for fg’s poster boy mr. austeriety himself when they meet in downing st. never.
    yes I do detest him and make no apologies for it

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 19th 2016, 2:23 PM

ciaran, the man is a blemish on the arse of humanity.

Mute B McQ
    Favourite B McQ
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:14 PM

This Noonan??
    http://imgur.com/To7IpL0

Sure, he has a lovely face………to lampoon and ridicule :)

Mute B McQ
    Favourite B McQ
    Feb 19th 2016, 3:15 PM

^^ @ Rashers

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Feb 19th 2016, 6:13 PM

And again with this boll0x! He was caught up in nothing but a publicity opportunity. 5 minutes after the fact…

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Feb 19th 2016, 9:32 PM

Leo’s got away with it again

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Feb 19th 2016, 8:59 PM

No prison for him either. No space. It’s only his 572th conviction — he needs to clock up a few more as his solicitor, barrister , senior council all need the money.