Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

There's one man on the front of every newspaper today

Meanwhile, Robbie Brady briefly had a new middle name.

mirror

THE COUNTRY IS still celebrating this morning after Ireland made it through to the final 16 of Euro 2016.

It’s the first time we’ve progressed to this stage of the football championships and it’s primarily thanks to one man: Robbie Brady.

His 85th-minute header was replayed up and down the country last night. President Michael D Higgins was among the Irish fans celebrating in France.

michael d Twitter Twitter

Brady graces every national newspaper’s front page today. From ‘The Italian Rob’ to ‘You Lille Beauty’, there are some excellent puns to be had.

4 others

French sports daily newspaper L’Équipe have a great image of Brady, Wes Hoolahan and captain on the night Seamus Coleman celebrating with Irish fans inside the stadium on their front page:

The headline reads ‘Que la fête recommence!’ or ‘Let the party begin!’.

‘Jesus Christ’

Meanwhile, shortly after the goal, Brady’s Wikipedia page was edited so his name was listed as Robert ‘Jesus Christ’ Brady.

saviour

Thanks to the eagle-eyed fans who sent us photos of the page. Sadly, it’s now back to normal.

Read: One of the greatest moments in Irish football history and more talking points from the Italy win

Read: Michael D praise for Irish defeat of Azzurri and ‘ambassadors’ in the stands

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:25 AM

The standard of refereeing last night was very poor it could have cost us dearly for the last 16 I hope this guy is not on Sunday next ,

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:59 AM

The Brady bunch…..……..

Mute Alan Gregg
    Favourite Alan Gregg
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:13 AM

The French will be concerned, no doubt. I reckon Ireland could surprise Les Blues, so I wouldn’t be surprised if the ref showed partiality to the French on Sunday. Think of the consequences if the hosts were dumped out of the tournament…

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:30 AM

Was anybody else a little bit concerned that some of the players seemed to go on the pi$$ after the game last night. There’s a video doing the rounds of the lads singing “Come on you boys in green” and Darren Randolph is clearly swigging away on a bottle of beer.. A few more days and we’re playing France in the last 16 of the Euro’s, plenty of time to be drinking when we get back home.. But surly to god in this day and age professional athletes should stay away from alcohol during a major football tournament…

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:40 AM

Better get them some gloves..don’t want them dropping the ball.

Mute Andrew Halpin
    Favourite Andrew Halpin
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:45 AM

No I wouldn’t. They need to be able to relax and the next game is over three days away. It takes about 12 hours get your BAC from .2 to 0 so I’m fairly sure that they’ll be grand by this evening. They’ll be feeling the pressure again about facing the French so any chance to divert from that would be good, imo. I really would love if we get a result, karma for the Henri goal back in the day.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:55 AM

Anybody who watched the recent Crossmaglen documentary would have seen that one of their top players was dropped from the panel because he was spotted holding a pint at a wedding during the week of a match. You ask any Dublin Footballer and they’ll tell you that drinking any alcohol is a big no no during the championship and especially four days before the biggest game of your life.. This video is being shared hundreds and thousands of times and young lads will be watching and they’ll see professional athletes celebrating a win by drinking beer four days before playing France.. As I said its grand when you finish up the tournament, but four days before the biggest game Irish Football has experienced in over 20 years is ridiculous..

Mute A McGabhann
    Favourite A McGabhann
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:07 AM

Jaysis man, they are all entitled to a few cans after last night. Today they will do their recovery sessions and get back to business tomorrow.

Mute Robert O Farrell
    Favourite Robert O Farrell
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:12 AM

I’d nearly create a fake account just like yours so I could dislike your comment twice. On a night after those exertions a few beers will do them no harm whatsoever. The Irish players are as fit as any in the tournament plus some of the established players who were dropped will be fresher. If they get beaten it will be because they’ve been outclassed by more talented opponents. Not because they had a few beers Wednesday night. I’d suppose you’d have them drinking green tea after one of the greatest nights in Irish football history. Relax with the trolling lad and enjoy the moment.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:16 AM

They are entitled to go out on the lash and get banjoed all they like when the tournament is over. But anybody serious about winning a marathon or any sporting event does not go drinking a few days before it.. It goes to show our obsession with alcohol by the way people are defending it.. Any sports scientist would have a heart attack looking at that video..

Mute A McGabhann
    Favourite A McGabhann
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:39 AM

Cosmo you are minus craic altogether man.

Mute Bleep12345
    Favourite Bleep12345
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:39 AM

Ah give over Cosmo you tool.
    Maybe he had one beer. Maybe he had a few swigs and left half the bottle.
    Ah shut up and cheer up

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:46 AM

Cosmo give it a rest 500ml of beer aint gonna make a difference O Neill played under Clough at Nottingham he encourages the players to have a few cold ones couple nights before the match to relax

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:51 AM

Cosmo I told you we’d beat the Italians. I was clutching at straws, naking illigical arguments, we hadn’t a chance blah blah blah. One or two bottles of Corona and bit of craic after a highly stressful but hugely satisfying victory is going to benefit our lads. They deserved it.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Jun 23rd 2016, 1:14 PM

Cosmo, they had to get a bus last night back to Versailles and they wouldn’t have arrived back til about 3 in the morning, so they are going to be tired one way or another, a couple of mini cans won’t do any harm in helping them to sleep at all, 440 ml of 4% alcohol would have a negligible effect on the body

Mute Philip foster
    Favourite Philip foster
    Jun 23rd 2016, 3:34 PM

A couple of drinks is what the team
    Needs after a game like that to bring them back to normality they need to let a bit of pressure off have a good nights kip rest day today and back at it tomorrow two days of hard work and then France cmon on the boys in green

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Jun 23rd 2016, 4:40 PM

You must be great craic at a party Kramer

Mute СIΔЯΔИ FΔЯЯΞLLY
    Favourite СIΔЯΔИ FΔЯЯΞLLY
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:14 AM

That ref should of went to Specsavers though.

Mute ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Favourite ISBA - Seamus Maye
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:36 AM

We could have had three yellows in first few minutes……..

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:41 AM

Specsavers? …should have had a white stick and a dog.

Mute Sledro
    Favourite Sledro
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:20 AM

A great day to be Irish. Let’s hope karma fcuks the French this time around! COYBIG

Mute yoman
    Favourite yoman
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:41 AM

You mean the time when Ireland shouldn’t even be in that playoff after the numerous cheating against Georgia? Its a professional sports and players are ready to do anything to win a game. I dont particularity agree with cheating but its part of the game. As a supporter just enjoy the performance and the game

Mute I'mthatguy
    Favourite I'mthatguy
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:11 AM

Yomam …. Yomoma wants ya

Mute Dognut Dognut
    Favourite Dognut Dognut
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:23 AM

Yoman is a killjoy.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:33 AM

I’m not a sports fan myself and what I know about soccer you could write on a stamp but what a win !!. What a day for the loyal fans that have and continue to support their team. Enjoy every second folks,you really deserve it (and more). Massive congratulations to the team .

Mute Justin O'Connell
    Favourite Justin O'Connell
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:30 AM

I think it’s wrong to say getting to the last 16 is down to one man. While it was a great goal, it takes a whole team to win anything and that includes back room staff, management and dare I say the fans.

Mute Róisín
    Favourite Róisín
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:12 AM

Freedom of ALL the cities for Brady and Hoolahan!

Mute conex
    Favourite conex
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:47 AM

Oh jaysus imagine if we beat the French …… Oh sweet little baby Jesus can you imagine …. Can’t wait for Sunday . COYBIG!!!!!!

Mute The Tazer
    Favourite The Tazer
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:35 AM

We’ll see how much the French like us now, COYBIG.

Mute yoman
    Favourite yoman
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:43 AM

They still do. Was reading the news in France today and people are quite happy to meet the Irish supporters. Quite a contrast compared to the “karma, let’s f#ck them” brigade , here on this forum.

Mute yoman
    Favourite yoman
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:01 AM

Razer, you are such a hard man using big words (like some soccer fans in this forum). You are not playing Sunday btw, so you won’t f#ck anyone.

Mute AlexOlsenRox
    Favourite AlexOlsenRox
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:22 AM

Stop being a jerk dude

Mute The Tazer
    Favourite The Tazer
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:04 AM

If sledro is still annoyed about Thierry henrys handball and wants revenge then that his buisness. You won’t change that. Enjoy your snails, au revoir. #letsf?ckthem

Mute yoman
    Favourite yoman
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:09 AM

I think you got mixed up here. I will be supporting Ireland on Sunday (even I couldn’t care less about the result) It’s just pathetic to talk again and again about T Henry. It just shows how Immature some people are.

Mute Neil Mcdonough
    Favourite Neil Mcdonough
    Jun 23rd 2016, 1:01 PM

The French just shrug their shoulders and get on with life after losing a football match. After giving their team a massive booing and hissing of course. It would be a disappointment to them in the moment but not such a big deal. It’s only a game after all. They are a nation well used to being on the world stage and don’t need football to enhance the superiority complex they already have :-)

Mute Dave Smith
    Favourite Dave Smith
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:46 AM

it would be cool to get revenge on the French “what goes around comes around baby….. “

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:19 AM

We should’ve had a penalty. But my god Hungary were good weren’t they?

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:11 AM

I think it helped that Portugal were so bad

Mute Paddy Byrne
    Favourite Paddy Byrne
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:23 AM

COYBIG!!!!! Bring on the frence. We owe them for that Henry handball. Lets put them out on there asses

Mute Larry Smith
    Favourite Larry Smith
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:44 AM

Beat France, then beatEngland in a penalty shootout in the last 8 and win, carlsberg don’t to dreams but if they did ……. .

Mute mark
    Favourite mark
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:52 AM

England won’t get past Iceland. Tough side of the draw with Germany Spain and France…

Mute Honest Tom
    Favourite Honest Tom
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:12 AM

It wS fantastic last night. I’m a fairy level headed chap, I don’t get carried away, I don’t do hyperbole, and I don’t get swept away with emotions. Last night however I felt very proud of the lads. I was and am delighted for them. Delighted for a bunch of players who some people in this country and on this site had called embarrassing. Delighted for a bunch of players who while they’re not the most talented group we ever had are a group who always give everything.

A mate of mine who is not a football fan came to my house to watch the game last night, he asked before the game if we had a chance. I said I’m not sure, we’re not great but they have a lot of heart and they’re capable of a big performance. They delivered it last night, and I’m delighted for them, hope they enjoyed it.

Mute Gerry Fitz
    Favourite Gerry Fitz
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:20 AM

Brilliant to see Michael D there, he’s a true Irish soccer supporter.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:19 AM

Football, passion, love, sweeps the nation once again, as a kid I remember everyone in the area go to their local club to watch the football as few had TV’s in color.

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:02 AM

Think the mafioso paid a visit to a certain ref before last nights match

Mute Dave Smith
    Favourite Dave Smith
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:32 AM

You think everyone would want Ireland to win , to kick the Turks out if nothing else? the idiot ref needs to go to specavers for sure

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:19 AM

I wouldn’t mind but from what I know of each, the Romanians despise the Turks, and the feeling is more than mutual.

Mute Dave Smith
    Favourite Dave Smith
    Jun 23rd 2016, 12:35 PM

they were ruled by the Ottomans so yeah not great fans.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Jun 23rd 2016, 8:47 AM

He’s not the toast of the town. He’s the toast of the country. Ole ole ole ole

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:52 AM

Another Brady legend immortalised in Irish soccer!

Strongest 11 started yesterday. Whelan, O Shea, Robbie Keane have given us great service over the years, but it’s high time for new blood in the form Keogh, McClean, Duffy and Murphy, with their Jack Russell type intensity in attack and defence.

The elite soccer nations in europe won’t fancy an encounter with IRL based on last night’s form.

Having Hoolahan, with his silky ball and crossing skills, enter late as a super sub
    was a master stroke by Keane and Chief O Neill last night.

The Magic of Brian Clough lives on with this management duo.

Well done all!

Mute Ed O Malley
    Favourite Ed O Malley
    Jun 23rd 2016, 9:22 AM

An epic performance yesterday.. COYBIG .. Bring on France

Mute Mally Wooney
    Favourite Mally Wooney
    Jun 23rd 2016, 11:23 AM

To be honest couldn’t give a toss about soccer but throughout the whole competition the Irish fans have made me extremely proud to be Irish. They have done more for tourism here than any one else ever. You can keep your fighting Irish stereotype. The behaviour of the fans is the new face of the island

Mute Gary Radford
    Favourite Gary Radford
    Jun 23rd 2016, 10:18 AM

Great result tears of joy watching the interviews from the lads and our fans #proud #COYBIG

Mute Patrick JDoherty
    Favourite Patrick JDoherty
    Jun 23rd 2016, 2:40 PM

Yo! Adrian…we did it!!!

Mute Paulo mclawlor
    Favourite Paulo mclawlor
    Jun 23rd 2016, 3:34 PM

Lovely hurling laaaad.

Mute Jeffre Tomred
    Favourite Jeffre Tomred
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:23 AM

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS….It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about l 5days ago ..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I’m rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get $2,000 daily and now i have $10,000… Everyday I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (cindytedder767@yahoo.com) Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That’s the simple testimony of how my life changed for good…Love you all …the email address again is (cindytedder767@yahoo.com)

Mute Ollie Watson
    Favourite Ollie Watson
    Jun 23rd 2016, 3:50 PM

Brady’s family ham

Mute Christy Brady
    Favourite Christy Brady
    Jun 23rd 2016, 12:46 PM

Great 2 C da Dublin branch of da Brady Bunch is saving da Vitners again

Mute Patrick JDoherty
    Favourite Patrick JDoherty
    Jun 23rd 2016, 2:37 PM

The Italian job, was pulled off by Irish Rob!